Morné must go
10 Sep 2012
JON CARDINELLI writes that Heyneke Meyer is doing the Springboks, and Morné Steyn himself, a disservice by persisting with the out-of-form flyhalf.
One more point would have given the Boks victory in Port Elizabeth. One more would have made the journey to Mendoza a success in the strictest sense.
Had the Boks converted more drop-goal and penalty opportunities in Perth, they may have built a lead so imposing that the Aussies may have failed to come back.
These are the small margins that have meant the difference between success and failure. It may seem a simplistic view, as the Boks are guilty of inadequacies across the board, but there’s no denying that had they converted more of these shots on goal, they would now be sporting a solid six from six record instead of a mess of statistics that read won three, drawn two, and lost one.
Six from six wouldn’t confirm that all is well with the Bok game plan, but it would indicate that they still have the means to win close games. That they didn’t get the desired and very necessary results in Port Elizabeth and Mendoza confirmed that they no longer had that game-winning edge.
Morné Steyn, South Africa’s Mr Reliable of the past three seasons, has battled with his consistency and confidence. Those erratic showings in South Africa and Argentina boded badly for the all important Tests in Australasia.
Steyn’s problem is a fundamental one. I was in England recently and bumped into a former Bok flyhalf, one of the great goal-kickers of the modern era. Having watched Steyn closely over the last year, he has made some interesting and worrying observations about Steyn’s goal-kicking technique.
Significantly, these flaws were highlighted after the Boks beat Argentina in Cape Town. It was a time when everybody, including Meyer, claimed that Steyn was back to his best. My source shook his head at this assertion. Steyn, he argued, would continue to struggle.
The following Saturday, Steyn missed two goal attempts in Mendoza. Two weeks later, he missed one penalty and two drop-goal attempts.
It wasn’t unexpected, at least not from the former Bok flyhalf, and it once again raised the question that everybody has asked at one time or another: What does Steyn offer the Boks if not a reliable goal-kicking option?
His tactical-kicking game has always been a strength, and to be fair, the Boks were good in this department during the first half of the Test in Perth. But too often his tactical- and goal-kicking strengths have been put forward as the argument for his inclusion, and are the reasons why his limp attacking game and frail defence are so often overlooked.
Teams need a reliable goal-kicker to win tight matches, but the modern game also demands a balance between attack and defence. Steyn cannot offer that balance. He possesses neither the skill set nor the vision to be a force on attack, and is a traditional flyhalf in the sense that he is loathe to put his body on the line in the tackle.
The Bok game plan has been lambasted in recent months. Most have called for a complete overhaul and pointed to the All Blacks as an example of how the Boks should play. I agree that the Boks can learn from the All Blacks, but I don’t think a complete rethink is required.
The All Blacks are the best team on the planet because they boast the best balance between attack and defence. The Chiefs won this year’s Super Rugby tournament because they enjoyed such a balance, and the Sharks were South Africa’s best team because they too embraced a more rounded approach.
This doesn’t mean the Boks should stop kicking for territory; it simply means that they should vary their approach and become a less predictable force. And to do that, they will need to employ a flyhalf who is capable of asking questions of the opposition defence.
Steyn is not that flyhalf, and given his loss of goal-kicking form, he can no longer make a contribution to the Boks.
Persisting with Steyn will do the Boks more harm than good. It would be more prudent to send him back to Pretoria where he can address the problems with his kicking technique.
Let him get to the root of his troubles, let him build some confidence in the Currie Cup. Let him rediscover that trademark accuracy and amass so many points that, as was the case in 2009, he cannot be denied a place in the Bok set-up.
Meyer claims that Steyn is a warrior. They’re cheap words. Let Steyn prove it; let him fight his way back into contention. Don’t reward his mediocrity by picking him week after week. Let him earn his place.
Dropping Steyn will allow the Boks to develop a more balanced approach. It will also force Steyn to address his flagging strengths.
I doubt that installing Pat Lambie or Johan Goosen at flyhalf will bring the Boks immediate success, but it will ensure that they start to move in the right direction.
Goosen earned his first cap in Perth, and in those 10 minutes he offered more on attack than Steyn has in three years. When Lambie has started at 10, he has also posed more of an attacking threat. The Australasian tour in 2011 was a prime example, as Lambie stood out despite the poor effort of his forwards.
There is some value in the current game plan, and it would be foolish to dispense with it completely. What’s needed is variation, an allowance and understanding that attack is an integral part of the modern game, and that no team can defend for 80 minutes.
It’s wrong that Steyn’s loss of goal-kicking form should be the catalyst for change. But change is desperately needed.
Steyn’s inaccuracies have already cost South Africa in three matches. They cannot be ignored whether your game plan is ultra conservative or perfectly balanced. Whichever way you want to look at it, persisting with Steyn would be counterproductive.
That being said, Meyer must avoid the temptation to turn Lambie and Goosen into Steyn clones. Both these players have the potential to become complete flyhalves in the mould of Dan Carter. They must be backed and allowed the necessary room to realise that potential.
Embrace their full skill set and you will embrace a more balanced approach. Only then will the results against New Zealand and Australia come with any great consistency.

215 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All
10 Sep 2012, 09:56 am
@Tbozknows-150: Ignore the “Kind Regards” lol
10 Sep 2012, 09:58 am
@GreenFan-139: Sorry mate, I think Vermullet did ok considering his lengthy absence to injury. We are not getting clean ball from scrum, ruck etc .. and spies will not add to those.
Give Vermullet a few games and then judge him, I want to see options played for Spies, Morne and Kirchner as they have regularly dissapointed.
10 Sep 2012, 09:59 am
@Tbozknows-150:
I still remember fondly the whipping we gave Australia at Ellis Park under Peter de Villiers’ coaching, when he was trying to introduce his “total rugby” concept.
But the “senior players” like Matfield, du Preez and Smit did not like it – they preferred “structure”.
10 Sep 2012, 10:00 am
@garth-148:
@Doughnut-152:
It was also a massive disservice to Vermeulen to have him start so soon after recovering from a long injury lay-off.
@katman-147: To be fair to HM Taute and Goose were on his list but both injured shoulders in S15 .. I agree Taute could even become the next JFourie at 13 if needed he is a talent ..
Goose we all saw how cool this guy was on Saturday, he will not just K&C the ball away ..
10 Sep 2012, 10:01 am
@RL-133:
not entirely true…
jake was also very concerned about experience.
he called os out of retirement
he got percy back from overseas.
He started off with aj venter at flank.
gerrie britz at lock
dewet barry and paulse who had both been around since ’99.
10 Sep 2012, 10:03 am
@katman-147: I agree with Taute at 15.
He’s is the best attacking 15 we have in SA right now. I’d even have him at 13, with his defence and speed. Only Willie La Roux will have something to say about the 15 spot. He’s a creative player, like he doesn’t play like a South African. He looks for gaps, as opposed to crushing everyone.
10 Sep 2012, 10:03 am
@WP-Forever-155: Yup shows how desperate HM is to introduce the players who fit his “game plan # A ” …. that is indeed worrying. More of a concern was the shite ball forwards delivered. Tight 5 needs work ..
In fact you could say outside of FH, FS and Habs none of the players who played on Sat are guaranteed a place going fwd .. !!
10 Sep 2012, 10:05 am
@Doughnut-159:
Our ball security at the breakdown is shocking. We are also not cleaning the rucks out effectively.
10 Sep 2012, 10:06 am
@katman-147:
hold on all you lions supporters. Just because your side looks the buzniz right now doesn’t mean much.
you okes did just finish last in the superrugby and got beat by the quaws last weekend. So,yes, Mapoe is playing well in the current format but lets not get carried away.
best back on the park was still that 15 from the bulls for my money.
10 Sep 2012, 10:08 am
@TAJ BAR-44: I think you’ve hit the nail on the head. Regarding the coach, are you available? Can’t be worse than the dinosaur we have now.
10 Sep 2012, 10:10 am
@fitz1ella-149: Do you seriously think I read any of your Tourettes-ridden garbage? Not that I have any interest in your (unhealthy) rugby knowledge pissing contests, but I’ve been punting Jantjes and Taute for the Boks back when you were still stroking your wittle willy while posting your Grant/Duvenhage punts. And we all know you’ve flip-flopped about six times on your all time bestest bestest most excellently favouritist player ever in the world since then.
So how about you calm the fck down, take your meds, sober up, get straight and stick with one opinion for longer than a morning and we can talk again.
Until then go bother someone else, you crusty old vagrant malkoppie.
10 Sep 2012, 10:14 am
Willie le Roux / Andries Coetsee / Frans Steyn / Pat Lambie
Gio Aplon / Paul Jordaan
Lionel Mapoe / Jacob Taute
Juan de Jongh / Marcel Brache
Raymond Rhule / B. Habana
Johan Goosen / Elton Jantjies
Francoise Hougaard, Sarel Pretorius
Duanne Vermeulen / Marcel Coetsee / Warren Whitely
Reynardt Elstadt, Willem Alberts, Jaundre Kruger, Francoise Louw, Jean Deysel
Heinrich Brussow, Deon Fourie, Francoise Louw, Keegan Daniel
Eben Etsebeth, Andries Bekker
Reynardt Elstadt, Willem Alberts, Jean Deysel
Pat Cilliers, Coenie Oosthuizen, J. Van Rensburg
Bismark du Plessis, Deon Fourie,
Gurthro Steenkamp, J. Van Rensburg, Beast Mtwarira
This mix and match squad will annihilate the one picked by Heyneke Meyer by some almighty distance
10 Sep 2012, 10:15 am
@WP-Forever-153: as strange as it may sound I would take divvy right now and tell him to implement his “total rugby” – can you imagine the chaos and confusion he will sow – not only in his own team but in the enemy change rooms.
He would probably have Groom, Goose, le Roux, F. Steyn, Mapoe, Coetzee and the Lambster as his backline with Brussow as his captain leading a pack which includes Coenie, Bissy, Cilliers. Estebeth, Botha (Ruan not Bakkies) the skipper followed by Coetzee and Spies (just for the sake of having a bullie in the team)
10 Sep 2012, 10:18 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-101: Dig the analysis man, I agree totally. I hate our gameplan, but it isnt why we lost and as kak as morne is, our kicking game was working until half time. I agree, there’s a mentality and personnel problem. I would make the same changes you made but with Lambie at 10, not Goosen. I dont think he’s ready.
10 Sep 2012, 10:19 am
@WP-Forever-153: I agree. Like dont get me wrong, we ended up going back to structure and i dont think we should lose all structure from our game, but we need to move it forward. We play Old-School England Rugby, from the 80′s and 90′s. The only difference is our aggression.
That rugby was effective, but boring as hell.
We should have hammered Australia over the weekend. They were not that good. We were poor.
10 Sep 2012, 10:22 am
@katman-163:
Nope you about 6 light years behind the times, you and most the other ‘kenners’ around here still catching up to what’s cooking around your bragadocio braaivleis byeenkoms, fact remains its as simple as ABC to spot who’s who and what’s what, only for some thick boertjies such as yourself and Herr Heyneke it still takes a little longer than most.
10 Sep 2012, 10:23 am
@katman-163: a most excellent post katters.
snoeky cant decide from one second to the next who to punt next because he is always trying to be “out of the box”.
the reality is that he is the box.
10 Sep 2012, 10:24 am
@fitz1ella-168: yes yes, you told nick mallet too.
you are awesome.
10 Sep 2012, 10:53 am
@WP-Forever-131: “And in other news, at the current rate, the Blue Bulls might be facing relegation in the Currie Cup”
Kings vs Bulls in Currie Cup relegation playoffs?
10 Sep 2012, 10:56 am
@Honesty Box Seymour-104: I think HM just wrote out 3 standard responses after his first game against England, and he just repeats the same thing after every match over and over again. I’m starting to think it is just not worth listening to his post match yadda yadda yadda anymore.
10 Sep 2012, 10:59 am
that’s right Nicky Mallet made one Big Fckupat the 1999 WC and he knows it now, pity he couldn’t see it then where others could have told him CLEARLY who to play in the semi and who not.
Same as Pdv couldn’t see sh’t from reality because he was so bamboozled by that overrated fatfunk lardarse doos hanging round his neck in 2011, similar blind as bat Sa coaching deficiencies as this dumb fck ignoramus doos Heyneke Meyer who listened to all you imbecile morons and played PIENAAR ahead of Hougaard and LOST.
ONE simple little decision to play Hougaard at 9 where he should ALWAYS play and Boks would have won.., how downright THICK can some moronic idiots possibly BE??
10 Sep 2012, 11:12 am
@fitz1ella-164: geez skop….
where are sadie, robert ebersohn, SERFONTEIN etc that you were punting last year, last month, last week?
10 Sep 2012, 11:14 am
@fitz1ella-168: Nee wat, ou poepol, being a compulsive flip-flopper is one thing. But being an exhibitionist flip-flopper is a whole new kettle of fish. With your bipolar selections and schizophrenic rugby opinions on display for the world to see, that kind of kak doesn’t stand up to a whole lot of scrutiny.
You don’t need me to expose you as a big fat wrinkly phoney. You do a super job of it yourself.
10 Sep 2012, 11:15 am
@Transformation-174: Why not, even if they were worse we’d still be making progress by eliminating possible players from the pool.
10 Sep 2012, 11:16 am
Heyneke Meyer moet asb tog nou vir sy volk luister. Jaag al die Bulle in die Bokspan weg en stuur hulle terug Loftus toe. Al is hulle useless, kan die spelers dalk die Bulle help om op te staan in die Currie Beker.
In my opinie het die Bokke goed gespeel en was hulle op koers totdat Beast ‘n sinnelose fout gemaak het. Sy geelkaart het die Bokke ontydig momentum ontneem. Die fout wat Mvovu gemaak het, het ongelukkig direk tot die Ausies se eerste drie gelei.
Vreemd lees ek nêrens van die twee kritieke flaters nie, maar dis net vrot Morne. Morne Steyn was nog nooit ‘n wêreldklas losskakel nie en hy was gelukkig om in ‘n tyd te speel toe hy omring was deur die Bulle se eens magtige pak voorspelers – wat reeds die afgelope twee jaar nie meer bestaan nie. Sy ongelooflike skopwerk teen die Britse Leeus het die reeks gewen vir SA, maar steeds maak dit hom nie ‘n groot losskakel nie.
Heyneke moet verduidelik waarom het hy Louis Koen gekies het as skopafrigter. By die Bokke was dit eers Percy, toe is dit Vlok by die Bulls en nou Louis Koen. Geen wonder Morne is verward nie – met sy skoppe, die res was nog nooit “hot” nie.
Ek sal verseker nie Morne as my no 1 of 2 losskakel kies nie, maar om een speler elke week uit te kak as die rede vir die Bokke se geploeter, kan gerus stop.
10 Sep 2012, 11:23 am
@Transformation-174: Last month? That’s like an entirely separate geological era in the Skoppieverse. You can’t hold him to last week’s selections, let alone last month.
10 Sep 2012, 11:24 am
All Blacks dig deep to beat the Pumas
Article By: Tony, Johnson
Monday, 10 September 2012 10.15 a.m.
The All Blacks are six points clear at the top of the Rugby Championship.
They are unbeaten after six tests this season, only one of which they looked to be in any danger of losing, and they have stretched their winning run to 13.
Any other country would kill to be in that position, and yet there seems to be a growing sense of frustration amongst New Zealanders about the way this team is performing.
New Zealand, it seems, is the one country in world where just winning rugby is not enough to satisfy the masses. We demand perfection in a game that can only rarely, by it’s very nature, be played to perfection. That attitude is one of the reasons New Zealand fans are viewed around the world as being a bit arrogant.
It is true that the All Blacks have not played to their potential, that they are making too many mistakes, and that this could cost them a game somewhere down the line, but the fact is they have still managed to place a firm grip on the Rugby Championship at the halfway stage, and can put it all but beyond reach with a win over the Springboks in Dunedin this weekend.
There were some obvious mitigating factors in their 21-5 struggle against the Pumas. Extremely difficult conditions pervaded the first half in particular, and Argentina came up with a resolute, inspired and extremely forceful effort, especially on defence.
The Pumas are not just “happy to be here”, they don’t just want to prove they deserve to be here, they want to win, and it is commendable to see a side trying hell bent to do that, when others might be satisfied with damage limitation.
The new All Black coaching panel seems determined to put their own stamp on this team, taking things to a new level with a high velocity, quick passing game.
At the moment it is not totally coming off, but it will no doubt be persevered with. When and if it comes together someone will pay a terrible price for it, but on Saturday night the conditions certainly did not suit and a more tempered approach might have produced a better dividend.
Still, it had the effect of running the Pumas all over the place, and they fatigued noticeably later in the game, made a yellow card mistake under heavy pressure and the game was put way beyond doubt.
The All Blacks may get their chance to break out under the roof in Dunedin next week, although the Boks will…or at least should be stung by their failure in Perth.
They threw away a winning position with some poor defence, and some dreadful lapses in judgment, and showed once again that their style of play might be effective when they’re in front, but it is not come from behind rugby.
They are missing some big names, the Boks, but so too were Australia, and it seems to me that they have plumped for a coach who is trying to replicate a style of rugby that was successful in the past for the Bulls, but has been superseded.
The result will have kept the wolves from Robbie Deans door for a while, but more of that from the Boks and they will be howling for Heyneke Meyer.
10 Sep 2012, 11:50 am
Meyer has a 50% winning record.
Enough said.
10 Sep 2012, 11:52 am
@Tjokker-177: Hehehehehe.
10 Sep 2012, 11:58 am
@PissAnt-45: Our kicking game is at the very heart of our problems at the collision / cleanout.
If you know you are going to kick on the next phase, it reduces the urgency to get extra quick ball, because your 10 is deeper and therefore well protected. Hence your cleanout will not be as aggressive as, say, when you want your strike runners to carry on the next phase.
And that is my main gripe with a kicking gameplan. It does curtail a little bit of the physicality.
10 Sep 2012, 12:11 pm
@WP-Forever-153: That was a great game, but the team a year later; 2009, was arguably the best bok team since the 1998 boks of Nick Mallet; Lions triumph, 3-0 against All Blacks and a 5 out of 6 Tri-nations victory, was the best I’ve seen of the boks and a long time.
Legends like Matfield, Bakkies, Habana, J Fourie, JDV, F Steyn, Du Preez, JP, Busmarck, J Smith and Barney himself! That year was also the year of Brussouw. These players played some of the best rugby of their lives on that year.
This bok team just doesn’t have those calibre players yet, even the same players don’t have that edge anymore. Leadership is what is needed; neither Meyer or JDV is doing a good job so far.
10 Sep 2012, 12:14 pm
@Maori_Fulla-28:
This is the sort of comment that makes it obvious the average blogger has no clue. Oz kicked as much as we did from ~22 to ~10m. As dit Argentinia. As do NZ. The only time they don’t is maybe on turnover ball. The Boks don’t kick excessively. They don’t contest some kicks perhaps but the problem is definitely not with us kicking too much.
Soft defence at times, shambles at the breakdown and zero attacking threat from our 10 is the problem.
10 Sep 2012, 12:21 pm
@willievz-182:
Willie what drives me insane his that centipede formation.
I see even the Wallabies did it.
It’s a farce and does a disservice to the game.
10 Sep 2012, 12:22 pm
Morne should have been dropped almost two seasons ago. He is just not up to the standard of test rugby and needs to be axed. Meyer needs to get over his loyalty towards his Bulls players, as it is just moving the boks in the wrong direction. By saying this i am also questioning Zane Kirchners selection. This guy has never, not once been up to Test standard, and frankly to me, he is just plain useless, a waste of space on the field. Ludick, Viljoen, Aplon, Joe Pietersen, Lambie, are just a few guys that deserve the 15 jersey more.
To get back to the No. 10 spot. Morne must be sent on his way. Goosen is a great prospect, but a rushing a 19-20 year old in to that role,could do more harm than good, but i am open to be proven wrong. At this stage, i feel Lambie is the go to man at 10 in the Boks current situation, and even give Jantjies a go, as it seems he is the best goal kicker in SA at the moment, and boasts an exciting attacking game.
The 10 & 15 spots are the boks biggest hurdle at the moment, and need to be addressed urgently. If Meyer sticks with Morne this weekend, and he plays a blinder and wins the game with a drop goal, i fear that the public will be so naive as to suddenly believe Morne is the man and back to his best, so to Meyer. One good game does not make you a great player, and one poor game does not make you a bad player. Need to take his performances of the past seasons and put them in to context.
This is a 22 man squad i would give a go this weekend ( not just picking guys from the current touring squad)
15. Francious Steyn
14. Bryan Habana
13. Juan de Jongh
12. Jean De Villiers
11. Francious Hougaardt
10. Patrick Lambie
9. Ruan Pienaar
8. Duane Vermeulen
7. Willem Alberts
6. Marcell Coetzee
5. Juandre Kruger
4. Eben Etzbeth ( not sure if been cited or not)
3. Jannie Du Plessis
2. Adriaan Struass
1. Tandai Mtwrira
16.Craig Burden
17.Pat Cilliers
18. Andries Bekker
19. Francious Louwe
20. Johan Goosen
21. Lawazi Mvovo
22. Gio Aplon
10 Sep 2012, 12:28 pm
@RL-165: I am having a real kak day, got messed around with some work this morning and have a head cold. But this comment has cheered me up no end. I laughed so hard that I shot snot out my congested right nostril twice. I can just imagine snore marshalling the troops and the panic/fear in the opposing team’s faces with not knowing what the f@#k is coming next.
10 Sep 2012, 12:29 pm
@Jeraldjay-185: Indeed.
Apart from the fact that it gives away the next step, many players are not biding correctly.
And where is the physicality in that kind of formation?
I can see its value as a defensive formation in your own 22, giving the 9 time to kick, but not as an offensive kick-chase mechanism.
10 Sep 2012, 12:38 pm
@willievz-188:
I hear what you saying with regard to the physicality aspect, it is cancelled out with the kick chase.
If you want to dominate physically you have to get over the advantage line with ball in hand.
By kicking the ball away you have to front up physically in the tackle and this will cause player fatigue ’cause you tackling all the time.
So players are pap in the 60th minute already and can’t dominate physically anymore.
10 Sep 2012, 12:38 pm
Rugby is a fluid game, if you are going to restrict yourself to last weeks conclusions and last years selections and last decades strategically inept game plans then you are in for ONE MAMMOTH HIDING.
Some idiots CANNOT read what is unfolding right before their eyes. If you cannot SEE what is transpiring right in front of your nose then you got NO clue what’s happening right before your nonpluss gaze.
There WAS a time that it was APPROPRIATE to play Ruan Pienaar at 10 but NEVER at 9. There WAS a time to play Peter Grant at 10 but that time has LONG PAST GONE by now…
There WAS and Still IS a time to instill Hougaard at scrum half but NOT insist he tries to play a STRUCTURED ROBOTIC FDP CLONED kicking GAME!!
Rugby is a game where reading the SITUATION is a prerequisite NECESSITY and ANY coach who restricts his thinking to archaic dead and buried prehistoric conditioning will NEVER succeed at the top echelons of this game.
If Heyneke Meyer is THAT FIXED in his precondition and false perception of WHAT is actually transpiring before his very eyes then it is better for Saru to do the RIGHT thing and Axe him NOW, before it goes from bad to WORSE !!
Otherwise you are in for a worse infliction of cataclysm than you witnessed under Streauli.. Watch and LEARN!!
10 Sep 2012, 12:51 pm
@fitz1ella-190: Shut up you fool. There was NEVER a time when your opinion mattered.
Fckn flippety floppety herwaarts en derwaarts scattergun rugby phoney.
Call ‘em all and you’ll get it right some time.
10 Sep 2012, 13:06 pm
@fitz1ella-164: Our rugby coaches are seriously identifying and nurturing the wrong talent, Skop.
@Jeraldjay-189: Agree 100%.
10 Sep 2012, 13:38 pm
Great article Jon.
10 Sep 2012, 13:57 pm
@Moerig-81: @rossoneri-86: LOL, you guys making me laugh talking about the Bok’s gameplan and strategy. Too funny.
10 Sep 2012, 14:20 pm
@Tjokker-177: Very good.
10 Sep 2012, 14:22 pm
@fitz1ella-173: Just on Hougaard at scrumhalf, Bad move. he is a winger. Pienaar is the best 9 we have in SA.
10 Sep 2012, 14:51 pm
@Spiesisworthless1-194:
Indeed they are much funnier than you.
Rather than just telling players you don’t like to **** off all the time.
A five year old can do that.
You’re not a five year old are you pal?
10 Sep 2012, 16:13 pm
Ek dink nie ons land se talent is so swak dat spelers met ernstige beperkings op toetsvlak gekies moet word nie.
Dit is wragtag `n hartseer dag indien ons moet erken dat Morne die beste loskakel in Suid-Afrika is.
Die loskakel moet tog die vermoë hê om al die basiese aspekte van sy posisie te bemeester. Dit was hartseer om te sien hoe graag hy die drie wou druk (ten koste van die span) om sy kritici se monde te smoor.
10 Sep 2012, 17:06 pm
@Slartibartfast-12: I agreed with your comments about wanting to break stuff during the game, but your use of stats there is disingenuous. Only 1/4 is playing due to retirement and more due to injuries, nothing to do with PDiv!
Do u think it Fourie, Bakkies & Du Preez were playing, HM wouldnt choose them?
Do you think if Schalla and Juan Smith werent injured they wouldnt’ve played?
I think the results lately show that PDiv was in fact a very good coach! Much better than he was ever given credit for.
Some of the players being called upon he blooded, like Lambie & Flip.
Others like Brussow many Bok fans are begging to be reinstated.
When PDiv tried to get Ruan in the team (admittedly at 10 or 15 – but which coach on Earth would no have picked Du Preez?!) everyone wanted Ruan dropped for Morne.
Moenie laf wees nie man, en ophou om Pdiv te blameer vir alles!
10 Sep 2012, 17:14 pm
@DG-198: Ek moet heeltemal saam stem met jou! Morne het aspris probeer daai 3 allen druk om “almal te wys” ek is oortuig daarvan.
Wat die’ onderhoud ook nie noem nie is 2de drie wat Morne ook opgemors het, toe hy probeer “skip pass” na Habana toe, en al Habana se spasie gemors het. In plass van aangee na Jean, Jean hardloop reguit om d verdediging in te lok en DAN aangee na Habana. Dit was duidelik n drie en het basies rugby agterlyn spel nodig om dit te voltooi. Ek is seker Morne het iets gedink soos hy gaan wys dat hy kan aangee. Maar daai situasie het n normale aangee nodig gehad.
Toe moes Habana “insny” en probeer switch met Jean – Jean verwag dit nie en d bal gaan los. In tussentyd het Morne om gehardloop, hy probeer dit optel, hy kan nie vashou nie en die bal gaan uit.
Haartseer , onnodig en ek het skaam gekry dat die Bokke kan so sleg lyk toe dit eintlik n goeie aanval was!
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All