Meyer must make most of lost cause

JON CARDINELLI writes a depleted Springbok side cannot be expected to win in Dunedin and yet there’s still much to be gained in terms of developing a new starting flyhalf.

The unavailability of key forwards as well as the inexperience of the likely starters and combinations suggests that Saturday’s Test will be more about damage control than anything else.

Last week’s forward performance against Australia was poor, and there’s little chance that this week’s showing will be much improved.

How can there be any expectation of a better performance in Dunedin? Injuries and suspensions have hit the Boks hard this week, and the pack that starts at the Forsyth Barr Stadium won’t boast one established Test combination.

But let’s back up a bit and consider what Heyneke Meyer had to work with at the start of the season.

Victor Matfield and Bakkies Botha were not available, and neither was jack of all trades Danie Rossouw. Andries Bekker was injured. Schalk Burger was crocked. Juan Smith had made a decision to give rugby a break for a year. It wasn’t an ideal situation to start with, and has got worse as the season has progressed.

Bismarck du Plessis has been the biggest loss in recent weeks. Other players that have been injured include Coenie Oosthuizen, Pierre Spies, and Chiliboy Ralepelle while Ryan Kankowski has moved to Japan. The unavailability of this latter group has been a blow to the Boks’ forward depth.

Then Eben Etzebeth went and got himself suspended with a mindless headbutt on Nathan Sharpe. Then Jannie du Plessis and Pat Cilliers succumbed to injuries in the most recent Test in Perth. Going into this week’s clash in Dunedin, the Boks will be wanting for quality, synergy and experience in that starting pack.

In the past, there have been strong teams that have gone to New Zealand and been soundly beaten. What hope does this side have of succeeding where superior sides have failed?

A new front-row combination will start due to Jannie du Plessis’s injury, and Etzebeth’s suspension will also see a new face starting at lock.

Francois Louw is likely to start at openside flank given the challenge of the All Blacks’ loose forwards, but that would see Meyer making a further change to the starting pack. And while I believe Louw can be highly effective in this role, he is only into his second week playing under Meyer and the new structures. Don’t expect miracles from a new-look tight five, and don’t expect dominance from men like Louw at the breakdown.

It’s at times like these when some coaches will look to retain as many fit players as possible so as not to disrupt the team dynamic any further. It’s been reported that Meyer will stick with the backline that started against the Wallabies last week. That would be a mistake.

What can Meyer gain from such selections? The changes up front will compromise the Boks’ potential to play a more balanced game, and I’m sure they’ll keep things as simple as possible. However, it would be interesting to see how a new flyhalf performs. It’s a game the Boks are unlikely to win, and this may ease the pressure on less established flyhalf options like Pat Lambie and Johan Goosen.

Lambie shone in last year’s Tri-Nations when he started at flyhalf against the All Blacks in Wellington. A rag-tag bunch of forwards were soundly beaten by their New Zealand counterparts, and still Lambie managed to impress.

Meyer sees Lambie as a fullback but it’s at flyhalf where he can provide the Boks with more options in terms of attack and defence. He’s played there for the Sharks this season with some success, exhibiting a skill set that includes taking the ball to the gainline, sending it through the hands when the wide strike is on, and playing his team into good field positions via a great tactical boot.

Goosen showed the same all-round skills when he featured for the Cheetahs in Super Rugby, and has been tipped as the future Bok flyhalf. Meyer could make a powerful statement by starting Goosen this Saturday, but if he truly believes that the experience would do the 20-year-old more harm than good, then Lambie should wear the No 10 jersey.

The Boks will struggle to keep the All Blacks at bay, but that doesn’t mean that nothing can be gained from the fixture. Changes need to made, and replacing flyhalf Morné Steyn with somebody more equipped to meet the demands of a modern day 10 is a step that needs to be taken sooner rather than later.

Follow JC on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

229 Comments

• 1.Shauny: Reply to this comment

It really is a shame that our coaches right off overseas based player when it suits them. If HM is going to play flo and bakkies then he might as well consider
    BJ Botha, Brian Mujati, Guthro Steenkamp, Joe Van Niekerk, Johan Muller.

All these players still have many good years ahead of them and would add irreplaceable experience and strength to a very desperate & depleted forward pack. Why not play these players and rotate our up & coming youngsters like Coetzee, Etzabeth etc around this experience. Which would enable them to excel and build confidence.

It would be a win for the boks and a win for the future.

But right now we have no hope of competing with the All Blacks. We have this mindset that our players are bigger and stronger than all the other teams… we’re delusional. It’s a professional age where most of the top teams are on the same or similar physical level. We couldn’t dominate England, Wales, Argentina or even Australia let alone NZ. Yet there is still all this talk before every game that we are bigger and stronger, what a load of rubbish.

An experience well oiled unit working together is a different story all together. I don’t see any problem with picking overseas based players, it’s a professional game and they are looking after their futures. All supporters want is a winning team, I don’t care if the players are playing club rugby in France.

• 2.W.P: Reply to this comment

I hate where HM is going with the Boks but I also hate seeing the SB lose. So I’m in a catch 22 situation where I’d love to see HM fail so we can get rid of him (or hopefully by some miracle he picks the right players with the appropriate game plan) but on the other hand I’d rather slit my wrists than wanting to see the Boks lose to NZ.

So for now – even though I don’t see it happening – I’m going with the latter and getting behind the Boks. I hope the sheer blooded determination of a wounded Bok (how often do we have to say this ffs) beats the living daylights out of the AB’s. Argies showed us how – smother the AB and flood the breakdown – and pick Goosen at FH and surprise the filth with ball in hand!

• 3.spartan: Reply to this comment

@W.P-2:
    ‘Surprising the filth’
    I take it your referring to surprising the returning Bakkies Botha

• 4.viewer: Reply to this comment

No ways should Goosen be thrown to the wolves. He deserves 20 – 25 minutes this Saturday. There’s no quick fix here, especially when about 5 players in that touring squad are surplus to requirements in the first place

• 5.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Best you slit your wrists now then.

• 6.hanneslom: Reply to this comment

Don’t get all the fuss. New young team, plenty injuries. New coach, also learning.

Biggest mistake – setting bar unrealistically high, all about expectation mgmt.

Oh and Morne and Zane.

HM will get it right, no doubt.

• 7.viewer: Reply to this comment

Protect the boy

• 8.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Viewer if Goosen is as good as you all say he is ” the best 10 prospect they have ever seen” then he’s good enough to start on Saturday.

• 9.hanneslom: Reply to this comment

Agree with nzinchina – ability should be driver, not age.

• 10.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@W.P-2:
    wow,us filth?
    But that would surprise us a Bok team running at us with heads cocked and fingers in gouging positions.

• 11.viewer: Reply to this comment

No china, the ABs already have this one by at least 10 points. The f/h issue became academic weeks ago. Goosen is for 2013 onwards ONLY. Morne’s confidence will take another hit, no-one cares about him anymore, except his mother
    BTW, hell yeah, Goosen IS that good

• 12.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-8:
    Exactly.
    Give him a taste of playing against the best.
    Surely he cant be as average as Morne at the moment.

• 13.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@viewer-11:
    We shall see how good. I recall the same sort of reaction with Spies when he came onto the scene.

• 14.spartan: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-10:
    thats a pearler

• 15.viewer: Reply to this comment

You see, we don’t want to take the risk of making another Gaffie du Toit. An obviously talented player poisoned by self-doubt

• 16.spartan: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-10:
    Hurricane. still cracking up hard at your brilliant post

• 17.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Shauny-1:
    brian mujati will never play for the boks again. not since the mujatigate affair.

@W.P-2:
    my feelings exactly, they must at this game to win. fark this filth indeed.
    hope the low cowardly creitn move to stitch eztebeth up comes back to bite them with bakkies on the bench.

• 18.viewer: Reply to this comment

Tony Woodcock off to the Highlanders.
    Sarel Pretorius returns to the Cheetahs for 2013 SR

• 19.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

In other breaking news coach Meyer is rumoured to have purchased a large off market parcel of Motorola shares, Meyer was quoted as saying ” I believe Motorola’s walkie talkie division is going to see a massive spike in demand Q3″

• 20.gunther: Reply to this comment

That’s very funny china.

Did you do that all by yourself or did you have help?

• 21.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

The twins helped me out.

• 22.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@viewer-18:
    Ben Franks may also head to the Highlanders, if he does they have an impressive front row of Woodcock..Hore…Ben Franks.

• 23.Transformation: Reply to this comment

if the argies can put the all blacks under that much pressure then we can also SMASH them!

read cruden, savea & retallick were moaning that the argies hit hard and they’re sore, guess what heyneke let’s up the ante on them!

just don’t farken kick our ball aimlessly at dagg & jane but savea is in the mvovo league of highball bunglers so target HIM!

• 24.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-23:

• 25.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-22: woodcock to play behind macintosh?

• 26.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

I am not following your logic at all JC.

Firstly you admit that the forward pack will be disrupted, with a bunch of new combinations and very inexperienced players. In short, it is widely expected the AB’s will absolutely smash a bunch in inexperienced Bok boys upfront.

Then you go out and suggest we select either a Lambie (who I have last seen in a 10 jersey for any team months ago) or Goosen (who played what, 7 SR games, 60 min in CC and 10 minutes last week)?

You highlight a similar rag-tag bunch that went to Wellington in 2011 but fail to mention they got smashed 40-7 and only two of those players are likely to start this weekend in the same positions they played on the day, Mvovo and Pienaar.

I don’t know how much rugby you watch, but if your pack is likely to get smashed, you can play Chuck Norris at 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 and 15 and you won’t be able to accomplish ****.

Now for the love of god, please explain to me what purpose playing very talented but vastly inexperienced players serve?

To perhaps give them experience on what it feels like to get smashed by 40 or 50 points? To have a coach, some media men or supporters later use it as an excuse that they are ‘not ready’ for test rugby yet because they could not stand up to the pressures of the game and/or stamp their authority as an international quality flyhalf should?

Seriously.

• 27.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Yes you can Tranny but it must be done for 80 minutes not 70.

• 28.viewer: Reply to this comment

Te Ranga – Isn’t the ‘Landers captain also a loosehead?

• 29.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-23:
    Mvovo is in a league of his own when it comes to bunglers….in all honesty his international test career should be over after the performance he put in on Saturday……useless..

• 30.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@viewer-28:
    Perhaps Mackintosh is off to the land of the Geisha….who knows but Woodcock definitely starting at loosehead.

• 31.W.P: Reply to this comment

Yes the AB will always be the enemy! Filth, vermin…………..take your pick! I am not allowed to like them! I respect them for their ability but that’s it! I’ve seen SB teams lose to the Ozzie’s but manage to beat the AB’s, who just a week earlier thumped the Wallabies. The AB’s know that the Bokke are the one team to intimidate them. Bryce Lawrence knew it in last years RWC too.

So I for one won’t be talking about how invincible the AB’s are. Fark that! I pick the Boks to beat the AB’s and Wallabies at home. The AB vs SB game will be a close affair too. Moer them Bokke!!!

• 32.gunther: Reply to this comment

Awesome stuff my china.

I thought the English was a little advanced for you.

Great to see you spending some time together even if it’s only on keo.

• 33.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-29: yeah right keep telling yourself that…savea is as kak under the highball…the oirish exploited him quite smartly in christchurch where he also pulled the mvovo “lionel messi” foot trap move…

watch when hougaard puts some heat on him!

:twisted:

• 34.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

PissAnt
    Thank you for articulating exactly my thoughts.

• 35.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-27: ja u right…

heyneke use those subs wisely & keep the intesity…cruden is brilliantly but seriously flaky under pressure where he can’t dance…

• 36.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

that cant be good.

• 37.viewer: Reply to this comment

What happened to mvovo though because he played well when starting vs Arg. His Bok career is over though (it should be over)

• 38.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-33:
    Yes,I know Im right , Mvovo is kak under any ball, as for Savea yes he is shakey under the high ball…but if he gets his mitts on it…he can turn Mvovo into roadkill.

• 39.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

In the good old days I had a real job Q3, was my specialty.

• 40.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

I agree. Definately feel we need a 5-2 bench split

• 41.gunther: Reply to this comment

Sorry man.

Downsizing is a ************.

• 42.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-38: you’re being delusional now…he had a mare for sure but nothing that we haven’t seen before i’n sure heyneke will coach him back to form that’s what he does!

• 43.Manona: Reply to this comment

I can’t believe this.

You are writing yourselves off & talking about damage minisation!?!?

This is c rap.

2 sides will take the field, with 44 guys trying their hardesdt to win. I hope I never see a boks side trying to keep the score down.

I remember what Januarie did to us in 08 down here. It was heartbreaking.

We have pups at 4 & 5, 9 & 10 & a rookie winger (Savea).

If the boks stop kicking the ball to Jane etc & play to their strengths, forward continuity play & big midfield, they will go close or win. If they kick mindlessly & are beaten before the kickoff, look for a hiding.

• 44.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-42:
    OK, I’m probably being a bit tough on the guy… anyways the only delusional idea is Heyneke coaching him back to form.

• 45.papaown: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-8: You to ol!
    Did nZ just throw Cruden in??? No
    Did they do the same with Carter??? No

So why should we sacrifice our own. There’s a right and a wrong way to introduce talent.

PdV didn’t get it right but neither is HM, esp. If he starts with Goosen, the kid just came back from injury dammit

How good do you think Duane would’ve looked if he only played 10 minutes instead of 70??

• 46.John Galt: Reply to this comment

I see Heyneke has called out 2 occasions where the Boks should have scored, one with F Steyn and the other with Mvovo. No mention of the 2 tries M Steyn butchered though.

FROM RUGBY 365.
    “Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer says he will largely stick with the side that lost to Australia for Saturday’s clash with the All Blacks.

After tweaking his side for the Test in Perth, the Springbok mentor said that continuity would be key this week as they prepare for the daunting challenge of facing the unbeaten All Blacks on home soil.

Meyer said that despite going down 26-19 to the Wallabies last weekend, the chances his charges created was promising and demanded for faith to be put in the selected players.

“I can tell you now the team won’t change that much,” Meyer said at a media conference in Auckland on Monday.

“If you really look at the video and take the emotion out we had three or four chances where we could have scored.

“We had a three on one that we skipped away and we had one with Lwazi [Mvovo] where we had a two on one where we ran out of space where we just should have straightened.

“That’s the things we need to work on. We create enough opportunities but we don’t finish those. All credit to Australia as well, their scrum defence was awesome.

“So it’s more a question of coaching those guys and put them in situations to create the right outcome. You only get that by coaching, not just by selecting a different team for every single game.”

Meyer added that they would stick with their much-maligned tactical-kicking game that served them well for the first 60 minutes of the match against Australia.

“You need to create opportunities against New Zealand but you’re not going to outplay them at their own game in New Zealand,” said Meyer.

“You have to be clever, you have to be tactically astute and then obviously take every single chance you have and be very disciplined.”

• 47.Redox: Reply to this comment

JON CARDINELLI says that a Bok team should give up on winning plus
    excuse ,excuse excuse for Heyneke where were all these excuses with the previous coach? I’m sorry Jon your a hypocrite

• 48.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-42:
    sjoe transie, i dunno hey. that was really, really bad. just as bad was his running away from alexander when he scored in the corner.

think two test lubbe.

i would drop immediately and leave it to the union coaches to rehabilitate him.

• 49.papaown: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-29: THAT, IMHO, is more than a bit harsh!

Sure the player made a mistake but to write him off as a test player is going overboard!

This is why we keep saying don’t start Goosen as we SAFFA’s are too fickle.

2 weeks ago we were all clamouring for Mvovo to replace Habana and after 1 mistake he’s not good enough for test rugby???

You’ve just proven we don’t have the patience for newbies to start test games!

• 50.RL: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-26: JC is a confused individual – so Lambie was brilliant in a 40-7 drubbing playing behind an inexperienced pack and should start again this weekend behind another inexperienced pack because he did so well last year starting. Madness I tell you.

• 51.papaown: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-46: HM is just full of excuses and looks for any scapegoat that is non-bulls related!

• 52.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@papaown-49:
    I wasn’t clamouring for Habana to be replaced by Mvovo. Why is Mvovo in the team, what does he actually do? He made more than one mistake,he made three that I remember that were very costly. Yes I was harsh to say get rid of him,what I should of said is don’t play him.

• 53.RL: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-52: Willie le Roux is streets ahead of the average Mvovo who is lacking in basic skill and talent. Don’t know why Heineken bothers with him and it aint like he is some spring chicken either- at 28 years of age (actual not what is EC birth certificate says) he is just standing in the way of more talented players.

• 54.Bouts: Reply to this comment

Hey. I wouldn’t drop Mvovo just yet. He learned a lot from his mistakes… unfortunately it cost us.

Steyn shouldn’t have been selected for any tests this season. We all knew it. His dip was very obvious since the season started. But… he doesn’t choose himself.

I do agree Goosen shouldn’t start because of his lack of game time after the injury. But bring him on after 30 minutes. You can’t expect the kid to save the game in 10 minutes.

Only 2 people are to blame. Meyer and JdV. There’s a reason JdV never stepped up as a leader in the past 8 years. He just do not have the authority type of personality. If you go and watch the game you’ll notice that Strauss made most of the defensive calls. Unfortunately he had to yell at certain players to get their attention and was obviously being ignored by a few. Not gonna mention names.

In other words, either give Strauss the authority position up front, or assign a captain that’s not on the other side of the field… and who can actually lead by example.

• 55.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@RL-53:
    Heres me thinking he was a youngster….you would know what rugby talent is on offer in Sa and after watching my first Currie Cup game of the year Blue Bulls v WP, I was impressed by JP DuPlessis in the centres who looks the goods, great footwork and fend, a bolter in my humble opinion.

• 56.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@RL-53: When I think Willie le Roux I think him imitating a stop sign as Bjorn Basson skins him for pace…

• 57.papaown: Reply to this comment

@Bouts-54: The 1st person here to talk some sense.

I remember when jantjies had a blinder in his 1st season and Mitchell pleaded saying it was too early to introduce him@test level and I agreed.

Jantjies and Lambie would manage far better mentally against the All Blacks if they started@10 cos no matter who plays, we are gonna lose!

HM loves to talk about mental TOUGHness, here we have 2 flyhalves that are seasoned campaigners are tough enough to play in a losing cause and not be mentally scarred from it

• 58.RL: Reply to this comment

@Bouts-54: yeah it was Strauss leading the pack doing most of the talking but one or two fat varkies were not listening. He was trying his best to rally the troops but like you said lacked authority.

Said the same thing the captain has to be a forward.

• 59.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-48: how does this work? mvovo is one of the form wings in super rugby scoring 8 tries this season, he has a one nightmare and he must be dropped but msteyn has a an entire S.HIT super rugby season but he must be coached at the Boks playing week-in week-out.

nonsense man!

• 60.gunther: Reply to this comment

Mvovos defense was an issue in last years tri nations too.

• 61.RL: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-55: I think that JP was with the Rebels two seasons ago – will have to wait for JDV to retire before he gets a run for the Stormers :smile:

@Taahirah-56: never the skinny Basson is usually a speed bump for other players.

• 62.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

starting goosen would be a mistake – unless it is done with no pressure.

just think… gaffie du toit… a talent wasted.

• 63.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@RL-61: Yip. Possibly the weakest defender out wide since Breytie.
    But he made Willie his ******.

• 64.papaown: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-59: Its complete BS.
    Is it because Mvovo is not a Bull or??

Such double standards.

Drop him for sure but to say he should never don a Springbok jersey again is completely uncalled for!

• 65.RL: Reply to this comment

@papaown-57: Jantjies has the better mental toughness of the two – from playing brilliantly in a losing team for years. Will fit right into Heineken’s team.

• 66.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah-63: ***** = bi-atch

• 67.papaown: Reply to this comment

@RL-65: I’ve said before..I’ve lost all trust in HM and don’t believe a word he says

He gave some feeble excuse for why he didn’t give jantjies his 1st cap, then brought Goosen on with 10 minutes to go.

I find myself in an indefensible position esp. With my black colleagues!

• 68.cab: Reply to this comment

Kick kick kick – they will get hammered this time if it’s more if tge same – badly hammered.

Only thing is vermeulen has already made a massive difference and will be 50% better next game. If Louw and Goosen are brought in there might be a shout – the injury to jannie dup might also be a blessing in disguise. I think the injury problems are not worsening the situation (apart from Bismarck) they are improving it.

1. Beast 2. Liebenberg 3. CJ 4. Alberts 5. Kruger 6. Louw 7. Coetzee 8. Vermeulen

9. Hougaard 10. Goosen 15 Lambie

won’t happen

he’s going
    beast Strauss Kruger flip Kruger Coetzee alberts vermeulen
    pienaar steyn

and the tactic will be to kick and pressurise with defense.

• 69.RL: Reply to this comment

@munkiboi-62: oh monkei there you go again boi – I will let Xhosaman educate you and rid you of your ignorance.

And I quote …

153.XhosaKid:
    10 Sep 2012, 14:21 pm @RL-132: I was once took time to kill the ” Gaffie conspiracy”. It doesn’t not exist!!!!, its a myth!!!!, by the time Gaffie was chucked in against the All Blacks, its was a year later after his Springbok debut against Ireland in the incoming tours, had another CC, toured UK, had Super 12 season, Currie Cup, Italy incoming tour, Wales incoming tour, THEN, the Tri-Nations, clearly it had nothing to do with experience but rather temperament or lack thereof

• 70.gunther: Reply to this comment

@papaown-67:

Are you a chick?

• 71.capetown: Reply to this comment

Is Messiah Meyer A Modern Day Moses

In 2007 Messiah Meyer led his people to the promised land of Super Rugby Glory. Messiah Meyer parted the seas by kicking it open and his peoples crossed over to the promised land. The peoples were so happy they even danced on the crossbars on the other side. This pathway was engraved onto stone tablet to be stored at Bulletjie HQ. Hallelujah, the pathway to salvation is known end forever engrained in stone!

In 2012 the Messiah is summoned again.The people must be led. Let us once again kick the seas open and lead the nation to salvation. Go fetch the stone tablet at Bulletjie HQ. Call upon the Messiah’s friends and followers to help.

The Messiah stands at the shores of the sea, stone tablet of kicking in hand, trying to part the seas once again. Alas, this time with no success. What do to, what do. Summons Bakkies, drop Jantjies, drop Juandre, pick Juandre, pick Potgieter, drop Potgieter, summons Daniels, drop Daniels, sms Tromp, turn around, touch your nose, blink twice and raise your hands in the air. Somehow it must and will work. The followers must just learn to follow the stone tablet of salvation. Sigh, and it so it goes.

(Of course, just to Messiah’s left, in full view are the AB’s are crossing the ocean in motorised boats)

• 72.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@RL-61: you talk about basson being a speed bump le roux is not great tackler either :D

mvovo is 26 le roux is 23, mvovo’s already a bok….

• 73.Hoops: Reply to this comment

I have watched the game again….and here are some remarks I feel must be made again

1. Krusty, niks naks, bozo what ever you want to call him kirchner must go. A few good kicks means nothing if you are no threat anywhere else. He missed crucial tackles. The first try he just hanged around. either commit to the sweeping of the back of the line or commit to take on the first guy ……he was also 4 or five times simply driven from the ball. I think Aplon would have given more resistance to the counter ruck from the aussies than krusty…..he goes over the ruck but then simply gets cleaned out with no intention of even trying to take the brunt and fight against the counter ruck.
    2. Ruan Pienaar is either dum as sh.it or coached to waekness……every ruck he stood behind it waiting for forwards to re-treintjie to drive it up. This is obviously the pln but twice their was space around the ruck where he could have exploited it and make meters, instead he passed to the “treinjie” that got derailed so fast it went back in time!
    3. Morne missed, cried and disappeared like casper from the contact situation every time the heat was on….yes he made some cover tackles but mostly after the contact was made…..Casper….that is your new name!
    4. JDV ran off the field at half time faster than any run he made on the field. Was he anxious to hear what mense mens HM had to say? He is no asset to the team in any way! We need some spark and new life in back line! And if FS passed instead of kicked into Cooper we could just have made some points.

Very average and most of this is game plan driven….not EXECUTION of the game plan!!!!!!

• 74.cab: Reply to this comment

lol – motorised boats

• 75.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-72:

RedPussy says Gogo is 28?

What is going on at home affairs?

• 76.RL: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-72: come now Transformer – you know that 2 years must be added to rugby players coming from the Transkei.

KZN school scandal ring a bell?

• 77.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@capetown-71: HAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA :lol:

funny stuff!

• 78.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

i have faith in the boks.
    in fact the boks are the Chuck norris of rugby.
    they are busy swimming across the tasman to nz as we speak.

• 79.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@RL-76: excuse me, where did it say those players are from the Transkei :D misinformed much?

in anycase SARU did an audit all around the country and caught a lot of age cheats and some were from Paarl, Natal Midlands etc and weren’t black…

i guess all Grey College boys should be tested for juice since johan goosen was caught and sentenced on the goo! ne?

• 80.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-78:
    Fark if we win on Saturday I’ll open that bottle of Late Harvest.

• 81.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-59:

transie, edrich lubbe scored 719 points in 114 games for griquas.
    he has the record for most conversions kicked (133) between 95 and 01 as well the record most penalties taken (91), during the same period.

he had a distinguished career at griekwas and in cc rugby.

one show of cowardice and failure of fear was all it took in a bok jersey.

‘two test lubbe’

the rest as they say is history.

i feel mvovo has done a lubbe on himself and the selectors. he must never play again until perhaps redeemed in super rugby. but age is not on his side.

• 82.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@capetown-71:

• 83.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-79:
    I see the Kings have signed Sykes for next season.
    That is a great signing for them. Will definitely make them more competitive if they sign a few more like him.

• 84.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-81:
    Harsh.

Considering M Steyn has been Lubbering the **** out of himself for 2 seasons now.

• 85.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-80:

There is an incentive if ever there was one.

• 86.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-79:
    Transie. I watched the Kings/ Border game.

I see when the Kings saw their was no way through the Border defense they opted for stampkar attack using their forwards.

Jacques Potgieter would have fit into that gameplan seamlessly

• 87.Brads: Reply to this comment

I can see NZ repeating the errors made in the first half against Argentina, attack at every chance, even when it is the half wits option.

This is Foster’s mantra.

• 88.Jeez: Reply to this comment

Some questions imo of importance is:

How will HM fix the problems AFTER this tournament? He’s not going to and cant afford to make too many changes. And at this moment seems to hardheaded to change his belief in a ineffective game plan and flyhalf, to name a few problems.

For the EOTYT: Will he drop a bunch of players and bring in guys he hopes will get the ‘game plan’ to work and win games?

Or will he change his belief in his game plan and listen to the criticism and allow change?

IF he does, does he have the staff to help him evolve and adopt a better approach?

Is Loubscher the best attacking coach?
    Does Rassie have a say in tactics?

All these questions wont be answered now, he’s too deep in the **** he caused and cant back out now, its too late… But a new approach can be implemented at the end of the year.
    imo

• 89.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-84:
    not quite the same to compare.
    morne is a capable kicker and ball player who shown his credentials when it mattered but has gone through periods of indifferent form.

has he ever showed cowardice and fear on the biggest stage?

the answer is no

he may have been outplayed by a better opponent or because of poor form but he has never been afraid to catch a ball when he is the only player around who can catch it or ran away from a prop barrelling towards his corner of the tryline.

• 90.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-86: it’s called being adaptable jerry, all good teams know it :D

all blacks were suckered by the argies into going wide early and pushing offloads only to be smashed back and frustrated…they adapted and played stampkar around the fringes, picking and driving until the argies relented…

it’s called being dynamic.

• 91.sparticus: Reply to this comment

For me Meyer’s problem is not that there is so much injured players , in Matfields and Botha’s case he knew that they were basically not available anyways. SA had the most teams in the S15 knock outs stages and the one team the Stormers ended up in first place on the log.

He had more than enough capable players to chose. Why was players like Keegan ignored ? What about Lambie , De Jongh , Aplon ? One cannot talk about experience and then pick a greenie like JJ ahead of Aplon.

Why was players like Potgieter picked ahead of say Daniels or Kolisi ? Why stick with Steyn when everyone in the country except maybe Pretoria can see he is out of form and also even when in form he is not the way forward ? Why continue with a guy like Zane when its obvious that he is at best Super 15 level ? Its not like we dont have other options. Why play JDV at 13 when he is best suited at 12 and adds zero to the outside position ? As a matter of fact , I would play either Steyn at Fullback and Jean and Juan at centre. Or Lambie at Fullback. What about a guy like Janjies ? He has proven himself over and over and at the very least he is certainly better than Steyn or at least a more accurate kicker currently.

When Peter De Villiers became coach he actually had a similar problem with Smit and Matfield leaving SA shores. He then got these guys back.

• 92.Jeez: Reply to this comment

*are

• 93.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-81: bullshit!

morne should be nowhere near a bok jersey if this is the case, he was kak in tri-nations last year, kak in super rugby, kak in the english series, kak in rugby championship and still sycophants like you say he must be given more chances!

• 94.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

15 Pat Lambie
    14 De Villiers
    13 Juan De Jongh
    12 Francois Steyn
    11 Bryan Habana
    10 Johan Goosen
    9 Francois Hougaard
    8 Duane Vermeulen
    7 Marcell Coetzee
    6 Francois Louw
    5 Andries Bekker
    4 Willem Alberts
    3 Pat Cilliers
    2 Tiaan Liebenberg
    1 Tendai Mtawarira

16 Craig Burden
    17 Dean Greyling (no other option)
    18 Juandre Kruger
    19 Bakkies Botha
    20 Ruan Pienaar
    21 Zane Kircher (no option)
    22 Lwazi Mvovo

• 95.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@sparticus-91: Sorry just to add , I actually feel our best centre combo is Steyn and De Jongh

• 96.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-90:
    Alan Solomons…….

An unassuming guy that will take the Boks to another level.

Most people credit Mallet for the 18 games in row, but Solly was the brains behind those victories.

• 97.kingrichard: Reply to this comment

true reflection of how dire the situation is.
    this is the team heyneke would probably select if he could.
    1)guthro – not available
    2)bismark – injured
    3)jannie – now injured
    4) etzebeth – suspended
    5) bekker – out of form
    6) schalk- injured
    7) juan – injured
    8)spies – injured
    9) du preez- not available
    10) steyn – out of form
    11) habana – ok
    12) jdv – out of position
    13) jaques f – not available
    14) jp – injured
    15) frans – out of position but ok
    16) strauss – ok
    17) coenie – injured
    18) willem – ok
    19) vermeulen – ok
    20) hougaard – ok
    21) goosen – ok
    22) lambie – ok

• 98.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-93:
    i am not saying that at all.
    in morne’s case its a question of ‘well who do we replace him with?’
    see… not so easy is it…

clearly meyer wants to start grooming goosen even earlier than expected because he too understands the effect morne form has on the boks success.

if anything sa is far more the team with ‘the flyhalf show’ than nz is with the ‘dan carter show’. if our kicker is poor we lose, end off. just look at the points morne left on the table against oz on saturday or the points against england and arg for that matter.

our 9 is our playmaker/director.

our 10 is our play winner.

• 99.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-89:
    Absolute bullshite.

He is hesitant when going in for the tackle and when attacking the line. Always has been.
    And quit trying to paint Mvovo as a coward, that was more of a misunderstanding with the guy next to him than Mvovo being fearful.

He actually has huge ballas under the high ball. Go check that clip of him against Masaga from this years S15 and countless others.

• 100.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@kingrichard-97: why is guthro not available if bakkies can be summoned just like that?

• 101.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-93:
    As a Kiwi that wants to win the next game. I think Bakkies is right on it here. Keep Morne.
    Bakkies knows best :-)

• 102.Jeez: Reply to this comment

@sparticus-91:
    So true, every word!

The excuses just dont really add up anymore. Steyn’s kicking was always a life saver, but if a better rounded player like Jantjies kicks just as well, then why ignore him?

And how does your ‘experience’ help the team when you play poorly?

Good point you have with JDV. He’s just not cutting it and what an important position when you want to attack. How long does guys who are playing brilliant rugby on the highest level (super rugby) have to wait until they get a chance?

Steyn and Jordaan are going to be the Sharks’ center combination. It would make sense to pick them or JDV 12 and JDJ 13 who are an established combination… This selection needs a lot more criticism. But id go with Steyn and Jordaan, they are young and could be the future.

Ug and picking Bakkies when you could have gone with any other player. Like Mostert, Bresler or even play Alberts to name a few. Botha will not play for another year, so why bother?

• 103.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-99:
    like i said, edrich lubbe had a long and distinguished career at griekwas.
    there are many tales of his legendary exploits in the cc.

the same can be said for mvovo, who will be remembered for his footwork in super rugby. its the step up to a bok jersey that is the making or breaking of a man.

i may be wrong, but i saw fear in his face in the two worst of his three or four glaring mistakes.

• 104.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-96: Actually I think it was Solly , Mallet and Meyer as a combo. Meyer is a very useful forwards coach. Not sure yet if he is capable as head coach , time will tell.

• 105.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

@Manona-43: Well said. Agreed 100 %, the 2012 AB’s have their own weaknesses that can be exposed by team that plays with a bit of belief (like the Argies did). The Boks kick & chase gameplan is a direct manifestation of Meyer’s crippling fear of the opposition. He was worrying too much about what the (pretty awful) Australian side could do to us over the weekend rather than what we could do to them. His doubts filtered down to the rest of the Boks and we saw most of them just going through the motions when the Australians were 100 % ripe for the picking. Expecting more damage control and kick and hope from Meyer this weekend, All Blacks by 15, it could take a while before Meyer learns how to lift his leg and pi ss with the big dogs.

• 106.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-98: “in morne’s case its a question of ‘well who do we replace him with?’
    see… not so easy is it”

RUBBISH…jantjies and lambie would’ve been more than adequate to play ARGENTINA ffs… keep making excuse for jou doring morne he will be the albatross on the coach…

he is s.hit, period.

• 107.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7-94:
    I must say team wish list are posted on the site, ad nauseam but I always make an effort in checking out your team.

Once again it covers all bases.

• 108.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@Jeez-102: Jaa I would also pick Alberts at lock and fly Daniels over for loosie. Marcel , Daniels and Franscois Louw would be a capable combo I feel. Experience , size (the obsession) , youth and a very hard edge.

• 109.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-100:
    absolutely mystifying really.
    why?

why?

gurthro would work franks over. franks would resort to cheap shot dirty moves for sure.

• 110.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-98: @i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-98: “if our kicker is poor we lose, end off.”

because of our stubborn coach, when our one-dimensional “i can only kick flyhalf” is clearly s.hit our coach doesn’t drop him to play other well rounded FH who can also by the way kick… morne is being mollycoddled back to form because meyer has favourites, you hear it in kak talk like “Listen, Morne is a warrior, he is mentally tough, he very hard working, he is just not striking the ball well” pffft :roll:

let him go get his ball striking confidence in currie cup not against the ABs…

it is favouritism!

• 111.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-106:
    but transie, you know the coach rates patrick as a fb and elton is not even on the radar. i think the reasoning is he wont be able to adapt to the style of rugby meyer wants.

besides, he’s not much of an improvement on morne in any case whereas goosen is.

• 112.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-101: jeez i don’t think i can take watching that game with rossoneri while cruden and barritt are making msteyn look like the punk he is.

• 113.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-109:
    Blah Blah Blah.
    Mind you something needs to be done. Boks forwards were man handled by the Ozzies

• 114.kingcorn: Reply to this comment

My biggest bug bear is that their is no spirit for adventure and endeavour. If you know that you are sending a weaker team then just try to be innovative and hit the All blacks hard with playing an attacking brand of rugby. Instead of trying to beat them upfront, beat them in the loose forwards and the backs. It is simple, pick a team that can spread the ball but that can also play the man into space. Keep the ball away from the all blacks tight 5 and don’t kick the ball onto their back three. Don’t be afraid to kick for touch either. Counter them on their line out.

• 115.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

The Bokke will put up a good fight but we are capable of scoring 3 tries in the last 10 mins against all teams, can’t see this inexperienced Bokke side holding on for the full 80

• 116.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Are the stats correct from last game?
    It says the Ozzies kicked more than the Boks.

• 117.Jeez: Reply to this comment

Players available:

1. Beast (needs to get his form back and probably needs a break)
    2. Strauss (id pick Chilli, how long ’til he gets back? He secures the ruck better than most hookers and is like Bis a great scavanger…plays more to the ground)
    3. Vdr Linde (who else?)

4. Alberts/ Mostert/ Bresler
    5.Kruger/bekker
    6. Brussouw/ Flo
    7. Coetzee
    8. Vermeulen

9. Pienaar
    10. Jantjeis/ Goosen
    11. Aplon
    12. Steyn/jdv
    13. Jordaan/Jdj
    14. Mvovo
    15. Lambie/steyn

Strauss as captain

• 118.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Bakkies Guthro can’t make the starting 15 in France, there is way too much if this player was there we’d do this, if that player was there he’d do that blah blah farking blah keep it real for once

• 119.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-98:

@Transformation-93:

in morne’s case its a question of ‘well who do we replace him with?’
    see… not so easy is it…

Janjies
    Lambie
    Heck if its just to kick goals then Peter Grant as he has a better record anyways and Steyn is there for the longer kicks.

• 120.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-111: no point in talking about this further with you, you drank the meyer kool-aid and bathe in it like those marikana miners…

• 121.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-120:
    Yep Bakkies is in love with Morne as well. You cant take Morne off.

• 122.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-116: they did, but they were not hoists but grubbers by either the 12 or 10 after 4 phases…

from the feed we got, right after halftime rod kafer spoke to deans who said *clearly irritated* “if we can stop the aimless dribbling kicks, then maybe we can put some pressure on them and maybe force an outcome”

and voila the wallabies rallied from 13 – 3 to 19 – 26

• 123.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Manona #42 – PHew. Your comments are greatly accepted. You are very correct in your comment, however the South Africans place too much emphasis on experience etc instead of allowing a youngen to let rip!!

The Boks probably do have the players right now in their squad to run the ABs close but our game plan stinks.

I remember the French sent a C team to NZeland in 2001(Can;t remember), 15 minutes left and the ABs had pretty much sowed the game up, however someone forgot to tell this plucky French team and they upped the ante and scored a few tries, they didn’t win but still put this ***** up the ABs!

So your are right a French C team was able to get stuck into the ABs but the Boks seem scared.

• 124.pompies2: Reply to this comment

I have a couple of questions.Hopefully this provokes more thought.

What are the Boks’ chance of beating the AB’s with Morne?
    What are the chances of the Boks beating the AB’s with Lambie?
    What are thew chances of the Boks beating the AB’s with Goosen?

Who would the AB’s least prefer to play against?

• 125.RL: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-103: bakkies Mvovo is not doing a lubbe on himself it is more like a Hargreaves. Now Hargreaves will not be remembered for being bossed by van Zyl, schooled by Horwill or bullied by Ali no he he will be remembered for that vile act of cowardice when he let our Steggie go into that black ruck without any support at all – Hargreaves stood their turned his back and did nothing.

I think Mvovo will be forgiven for being limited but for being afraid of the ball …

• 126.Jeez: Reply to this comment

It should be simple. Test rugby… yes yes yes is a big step up. But all the best SA players (even those without caps) play against the best from nz and aus.

So you should not worry who cant make the step up, you should just simply choose the best, because if you choose 15 of the best inform players you should have a bloody decent team to beat the best. Especially after a very good super rugby season. And feel good about your chances.

This ‘experience’ BS is the dumbest excuse. What is this so called balance between youth and experience done for the team?

And mental toughness? Give me a break. Youd feel a hell of a lot more confident if you look around you and see guys (the stand outs) who played excellent rugby during a long super rugby season.

• 127.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-124:
    Lambie.
    I think if he had more time in the Bok line up for #10,he would become better and better.
    Goosen is a sort of a nobody in international rugby. As we know super 15 vs international rugby is a huge difference.

• 128.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-124:
    I think Goosen.

They have absolutely no idea what to expect. They will target his channel but we all know he can tackle.

But I would go with Lambie at fly half in this game.

Dunedin is the last place to start the future of SA Rugby. Break him in gradually. I’ll start Goosen at Soccercity.

• 129.spartan: Reply to this comment

@Brads-87:
    Hit the nail on the head
    Get rid of Foster
    5 tests in and our play is starting to consistently suck just like when the Fozzie coached the Chiefs

• 130.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

I am starting to get sick and tired of the Blou Bullying Balletjies and other little jukskei acolytes scapegoating of players, especially if they don’t come from the Loftus Cathedral of outdated kickchase, subdue and penetrate rugby.

Mvovo fcked up on Saturday, no doubt. But he is without doubt probably the most dangerous strike runner, after JPP, that the Boks have – BALL IN HAND.

Problem is – he NEVER gets BALL IN HAND… This is anathema to Bok tactics at the moment – the only place the Boks will ever run with BALL IN HAND is farken in the so called RED ZONE – the opposition 22. Otherwise Braindead STRUCTURE dictates – Moer the ball skywards like an 80mm mortar Bomb.

Mvovo is wasted in the Boks… He needs to go back to KP before he is made more of a scapegoat in this Heyneke scorched earth policy of throwing players in, setting them up to fail, in order to justify his faith in favourites.

Meanwhile certain players will be given many games benefit of the doubt, with countless fckups while every manner of excuse on the planet will given for non performance – or we will just get fed the “I thought he played well” LIE.

I have seen this with Lambie – ever since the beginning of this year – chinese whispers emanating from North of the jukskei kept saying “Lambie is a good player, but a better 15 than 10″… And? The thing is, Lambie is a BETTER 10 than the current 10 despite maybe 10m less on a punt and despite being a better 15 than the current 15 too.

Lambie has been fcked around disgracefully by been made to sit on the bench, behind none other than scintillating Zane… The Blue Heyneke Acolytes must farkoff if they reckon Lambie is a more inferior player to Zane, and more insultingly to Morne at the moment…these myopic fools insult the intelligence of rugby supporters and players from all around SA outside the Pretoria CBD

The problem now is that Golden Goosen is on the scene as a new alternative to Morne. He hasn’t played 15 at the highest level therefore cannot be labelled a “better 15 than 10″ like Lambie has in order to give Morne wriggling room. Sooner or later he will have to be given a chance over abysmal Morne – its just that I worry that he will be SET UP TO FAIL in order to justify Morne.

Fark this

• 131.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@spartan-129:
    Yeah i think Foster is trying a bit much.
    How did he worm his way in there anyways?
    Surely we have better backline coaches than him.

• 132.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-127: I’d also have Lambie. I think he’ll compliment Frans Steyn, who has been rather ineffective, very well. I think Goosen and Frans are too similarly maverick in their approach. A case of 2 nutty professors.

• 133.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-130:
    Yeah. I feel sorry for lambie.
    How many times has he watched for the side line?
    Gets a couple of games, makes a mistake and then gets dropped for a few, while you have a certain few untouchables that are playing way below par, but have multiple chances to better there game.
    Not right.

• 134.katman: Reply to this comment

Jantjes should be starting at 10, with Goosen off the bench.

And Taute should be starting at 15, with Zane on a plane back home.

There’s a 30% improvement in our backline, just like that.

• 135.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

I tell you another thing… Continuation of double standards and scapegoating of players in the Bok setup is opening up a big can of rampant Provincialism never seen since the 80′s and early 90′s, NOT ONLY with supporters but players and coaches too…

In the final stages of the CC and S15 next year, one team will have a target on its back as the team to BEAT, well and truly… Not just away from home but at Cathedral Loftus too…. All coaches from other teams – Free State, WP, Lions, Sharks – will have no problem motivating players… Every team, and every player on these teams will be boiling with Rage at the Double Standards and selectorial luxuries afforded anyone in Light Blue and they will be dying to show that this is WRONG and willing to shove this straight down the throats of everyone who has ever sung Hofmeyers ode to the Noord Transvaal – “Ek Bly n Bul”…

Including the National Coach.

• 136.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-130: Where has this positive specimen gone? Will he ever return?

10.Heavens Game said:
    8 Jun 2012, 11:48 am
    Looking at the Poll it seems we have 124 + 46 + 26 Poms and Treacherous, bittereinde Stormerpoms running around on Keo…

Get ready for the big Heyneke Green and Gold Middle finger, boytjies

• 137.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@katman-134:
    The million dollar question is: why did HM give Goosen 10min against the Wallabies when the game was on a knife edge and he refused to give Jantjies any game time when we were in a similar situation in P.E.

• 138.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-128: Blacks may not know what to excpet from Goosen but they will know what to expect from Goosen directed by Heineke.

KICK (copy+paste) KICK (copy+paste)!

Remember what this prodigy did with a few mins remaining and Boks down by 7? And do not forget a pretty lady with love messages from the coach.

• 139.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-133: I actually reckon he should get the fark out of there… It is doing his rugger and his confidence no good. Soon he gets shoved on against a rampant AB’s with 10 mins left after only 10 mins rugby last week… AND horror of horrors he either drops a high ball… or misses a tackle…

Then he’s farked as a player in the eyes of the Bok coaches, and farked as a player in the eyes of the general brain dead Bok supporter.

Lambie should get out of there and get back to playing for the Sharks – rediscover his worth as a player and regain his S15 form of 2011 where he demonstrated without doubt that he was one of the best 10′s in the southern hemisphere.

He needs to do what Jantjies is doing and has done – embarrass Heyneke and the Blue Bulls in their own Bull Ring.

• 140.katman: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-137: Dunno. But every match winning performance by Jantjes in the CC must surely pose this question again and again. At least he’s using this time to build his CV.

• 141.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-110:
    calm down trainsie

@Hurricane-113:
    gurthro is more than capable of playing franks at th as well standing up to his dirty play. lots of cheap shots unpunished. boks always stand up.

@sparticus-119:
    we all wish it was that simple sparticus, the coach does not see lambie as a fh and elton does not play the right type of game.

• 142.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-136: 8th June… was a different time for sure… Sharks S15 finalists and the Bok world looked eminently merit based and positive…I was 100% right… Heyneke has shown his Green and Gold middle finger… for certain.

Now its about protecting his Boys in Blue and handing out some selectorial sops to the noisy rival “Traditional Giants” of the South…

I reckon your players are welcome to the Green and Gold… Let the Boks be forever packed full of the North South “traditional giants” until the end of heynekes reign… Then the “traditional Giants” making up the Boks under Captain Jean from the Traditional South can wow SA and the rest of the world with scintillating No try 80mm Mortar rugby…

Welcome to the Heyneke and Jean era… A true Traditional North South partnership to farken oblivion.

• 143.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-139: “AND horror of horrors he either drops a high ball… or misses a tackle…

Then he’s farked as a player in the eyes of the Bok coaches, and farked as a player in the eyes of the general brain dead Bok supporter”

Glad you said this. Could you please explain this to a few of your friends who seem to think Bekker and Vermeulen have been resposible for everything that has gone wrong with the Boks thus far (or does your sentiment only stretch as far as Sharks players?) Honest question, from a humble supporter.

• 144.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Nils-138:
    That kick was a Goosen brainfart which can be expected from a 20 year old playing 10 mins. of test match rugby.
    Meyer is kick chase crazy but he would never have instructed Goosen to kick that ball at that precise moment.

Goosen did a similar thing in a Super Rugby game for the Cheetahs. The final hooter went off and they had an opportunity to draw the game but Goosen then decided the kick the ball for touch.

• 145.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Nils-138: “KICK (copy+paste) KICK (copy+paste)!” LOL… So Latvians do know something about something other than Chess after all.

• 146.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

what are you talking about china,
    gurthro is playing the rugby of his life right now.
    has had hayman for breakfast at will.

you clearly did not watch the top14 final.

• 147.nama1: Reply to this comment

Stop discussing the back line. Our main problem lies with the pack. Sort the pack out first. What can we do with our pack to be competitive in the scrums, rucks and mauls. In the line outs, I believe, we will be at least able to win our own ball .

The other point of discussion should be the SH service. Who should play SH to ensure quick service from the set plays? Hougaard, Ruan or Jano? We need to sort that out first before we cry about who the FH should be.

Then of course, what kind of game plan should we adopt to be able to win the AB? Meyer already said that there won’t be much change in the game plan.

Please, stop talking about players who are not in NZ right now. They won’t be playing on Saturday. No need to even mention them.

• 148.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@katman-140:
    “Jantjies verstaan nie die ****** gameplan nie”.

“Hoeveel keur moet ons dit nog aan hom verduidelik….”

• 149.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@RL-125:
    its hard to say RL, honestly. he did look bad and i could have sworn the look was fear when the ball came down and fear when alexander came calling.

but i could be wrong… it could have been just a hargreaves…

• 150.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-143: Honest opinion – dropping Bekker the right thing… He has been shy.te for a while now… Nick Mallet referred to him as a disgrace not long back.

Never rated Vermeulen, but for sure he has copped the short straw 3 games too early…

But “horror of horrors” I said this a couple of weeks ago while you fools were dancing around the maypole of glory when he and Golden Goosen were selected.

Now read properly… You might learn something proper about rugby outside your preconceived little world view of amateur quakery.

• 151.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Jerald you boys are desperate, throw on the Goose and lets really see what he’s made of, if he’s got the goods he’ll still go well behind a beaten pack.

• 152.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-145: (Blushed) Why, thank you.

• 153.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nama1-147: Well, Mr Brightside Rugby Fundi from the Richtersveld… Please tell me how forwards from the Sharks, Bulls and even the Stormers were able to more than hold their own in the tight against these same ANZAC players during S15 just this year… Despite their lack of experience.

The Bok whole here is definitely not greater than the sum of its parts…

• 154.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-151:
    Still got nightmares about the 28-0, China.

Gaffie Du Toit and Dave Von Hoeslin was the future of Springbok Rugby at the time and Mallet through them in the deep end.

That game scarred them for life. Psychologically they were farked.

• 155.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-127: Morning Hurricane. I got lambasted on another thread yesterday for saying exactly this. Playing Goosen behind a new pack against the AB’s in Dunedin is crazy, rather save him for the NH tests and give Lambie the starting jersey on Saturday. Barret was able to be pushed into the AB’s because he came into a settled team at the top of their game…..very different situation we find ourselves in now.

• 156.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-144: Frankly, I do understand him regarding to that Cheetahs game. IMHO, chances of Cheetahs scoring 7 points ang getting 2 log points were way smaller than Crusaders turning over and denying Cheetahs even that one log point.

So that may be not that crazy decision after all.

• 157.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Bakkies according to you there isn’t a single NZ player that wouldn’t be had for breakfast by a SAFFA player, hard to take your posts seriously when you post this type of stuff, we all know the imaginery Bokke 15 would destroy NZ in Dunedin but they aren’t playing.

• 158.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-150: Maypoles of glory? I do believe I protested Duane’s original call up – due to him not being match fit. In fact, I called it as Heyneke setting him up to fail…..see?

I can find the posts if needed….

Bekker was very poor, and has been for yonks, I can find you the posts in which I have said that as well, if needed…….

Fact is: so many people round here have been and ARE so desperate to protect their provincial interests (players in the Bok squad), that Heyneke’s woeful man management (which amateurs such as I have been questioning since 1st squad announcement) is being neglected, by scribes, fans and ‘morons’ alike.

You seem to be getting it, but only after a Shark or two suffered. Now educate your mates please.

• 159.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Jerald understand but if hes that good he’ll bounce back from any potential black rogering he may receive in Dunedin, who knows he might win it for you.

• 160.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Nils-156:
    Naka Drotske the coach was pissed.

He didn’t give Goosen the instruction to kick.

So it was a brainfart by the youngster.

• 161.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-148:
    lmao

• 162.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-155: Gosh no… Why must Pat be the sacrificial Lamb for the Golden Goose…? Fark that… Either let Morne show the world his experience and excellence against the Rigged World Champs, or the Golden boy his scintillating world beating talent (despite a definite tackling weakness rivalling Morne’s which will be exposed at the highest level)… Let Pat sit on the bench gathering splinters because we all know that Pat “is a better 15 than a 10″… He can make a Cameo in the last 10 after one-two-skop Zane has kicked his one leg right off.

• 163.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-161:
    Thats actually not funny Bakkies. Its a serious issue…

• 164.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-154: Owen Nkumane aked Mallett on Saturday after the test about Gaffie. According to Mallett he had 2 flyhalves on tour: Gaffie who had flair but did not provide any physicality and Braam Van Straaten with no flair but with physicality. He gave each one a test match. Unfortunately Gaffie couldn’t tackle but Goosen can and therefore he’ll pick Goosen (according to Mallett)

• 165.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

but we know your ab’s filthy play is real… not imagined…

china

• 166.nama1: Reply to this comment

I can just imagine Goosen (if he gets selected) receiving the ball inside his 22 from the SH and passing it on to a team mate who starts running only to be tackled on the half way line. Meyer then send the physiotherapist to the touch line to tell Goosen: “If you ever pass the ball inside our 22 again, the coach will sub you. You must kick the ball out, he said.”

Does not matter who plays FH, the leather will be kicked off the ball. Stop discussing the fly half position. You look stupid doing it.

• 167.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-162: Because Pat has been in the system longer and is better suited to handle Saturday than Goosen. I am a huge Lambie fan and reckon he will be a great bok but the honest truth is that Goosen has the potential to be better.

• 168.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-164:
    I heard saw that Charles. Yes Gaffie couldn’t tackle.

I don’t know the answer to whether HM should choose Lambie or Goosen.

Lambie is a risk free choice and HM prefers it that way.

He also might just stick with Morne.

• 169.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-158: I think you overrate your Rugby acumen…

Especially since you have probably never thrown a ball in anger, or cauliflowered an ear after a couple of thousand engages with a couple of tons of pressure squeezing that ear through your arsehole while having it sandpapered by the chin stubble of a 115kg Prop called Baksteen, or heaven forbid, Lood.

But nevertheless keep having fun demonstrating your obvious practical onfield ignorance despite all the faux pretensions of amateur quackery expertise of being able to “get into their heads”.

I do have fun watching :lol:

• 170.Nils: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-165: Hey, Bakkies, how’s your blood pressure? You seem to be slightly agitated.

• 171.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-167: I dont want Lambie as a scapegoat in this current scorched earth policy… Let Goosen show his potential now, despite me seeing his potential get outshone one fine day against a Pommy midget called George Ford…

Let the Golden Goose shine against the current best in the business… Lambie for the bench… Its only right and fair.

• 172.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@nama1-166:
    Moet nie so negatief wees nie Nama. Sal jou gou oud maak.

Goosen is ‘n baie gooie speler en HM weet van sy sterk punte.

• 173.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Bakkies foul play is not unique to SA it happens to all teams, SA is the only country with this imaginery 15 though its a ripper consisting of off shore players, permanently injured players, retired players who if all got
    back together would conquer the world ,
    now thats funny

• 174.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

“The dream(ers) team!”

• 175.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-153:
    I think we agree.

Different coaches, different game plans. different strategies. :wink:

• 176.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-151: no! let heyneke and his “warrior” favourite figur this one out! aaron cruden and beauden barritt can handle morne plus i want to see morne try and tackle liam messam.

• 177.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Tranny we want to see attacking running rugby thats why we watch the game, i’d love to see the Goose play and attack the line etc Morne has served his country well though he shouldn’t be getting so many personal attacks pretty sad to read.

• 178.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-172:

Die huidige Bokke met hul spel doen alreeds ‘n goeie werk met die vinnig oud raak. :lol:

Eks besig om apaties te raak teenoor die Bokke van Meyer. Regtig.

As hulle so voortgaan, dan weet ek nie of ek vorentoe eens sal traak of hulle wen of nie. Sal nou nie juig as hulle verloor nie, maar ek weet nie hoe opgewonde ek sal raak as hulle wen nie, want ek weet die volgende kak wat hulle gaan opdis le net om die draai.

• 179.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-169: Well the scorecard at this stage states otherwise :)

Amateur uninformed me: Accuracy re: Bok decline 10

Expert and DOR in heaven you: Accuracy re: Bok decline 2 (and only because you are finally seeing what has been clear as this CT day from day one…)

@Heavens Game-171: And here you go again. The Baby Boks game against England in 2011? So your opinion on Goosen is based on that game? Do you recall any of the other Baby Boks in that tournie? One in particular…….grassburn on the face stuff? Also overhyped, or not really, because he happens to play for the colony now?

Hard to take you seriously….but great fun watching you flip flop.

• 180.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-177: who is opening him to that if it is not the coach?

there was a similar clamour (remember piri’s mom decrying the fact that kevvie was honest on radio sport about how fat piri was) in new zealand when piri was favoured above all even though he was as huge as a waka.

hansen shielded him and all of you quitened down and another thing piri is NOT starting in front of a talented youngster and fecking the all black works!

there is NO WAY piri would keep up with the lightning quick pace of the all black game as displayed @ Eden Park!

• 181.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@nama1-178:
    Nama wat ek nie verstaan nie is dat albei van ons is Stormers ondersteuners
    en die Stormers speel met dieselfde spel patroon soos die Bokke.

Ons het geen probleem gehad met AC se gamplan nie maar ons sukkel om vir HM te ondersteun.

• 182.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

keep trying to convince yourself of that, china

your team is filthy

old news

move on

• 183.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-179: Jordaan has proven himself… as a Junior Word Cup winner, out of position nogal, and an S15 finalist where he demonstrated his ability clearly at the highest level on a jet-lagged losing team. He does have an injury problem and needs to toughen up and maybe mature a little to become a Bok, but a Bok he WILL be guaranteed.

Goosen has yet to do similar… Other than an admittedly brilliant 1st half against the Highlanders after which he has been fcked for a couple of months… He is even more brittle than Jordaan.

Now what was that, again?

Its clear you have no idea what you are talking about – but the fanboy or fangirl enthusiasm is good, admittedly…

(PS… Flip flop = TM HG… )

Stick with HG… and keep learning

• 184.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-176: @NZINCHINA-177: Those placing ALL the Boks current woes on Morne’s shoulders are also delusional. Unless he selects himself of course? There are many so called senior/experienced players puffing around the field like incompetent aid workers at the moment: Jannie, Beast, Ruan P, Jean Div, Alberts, Frans Steyn….not one of them is assisting the Bok cause at the moment.

The Bok ‘selectors’ also need to start feeling the heat…or does Heyneke truly select on his own?

Ian Mac is a Natalian fellow….a hero to the dynamite…why is he not under fire?
    Jooste?

Total cockupsfromstarttofinish. Top to bottom.

• 185.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-183: Oh c’mon……..Now Jordaan has proved himself and is a worthy Bok, but Goosen isn’t?

Mate, I won’t be sticking with you in anything. (You have the flies for that…)

All you are able to ‘teach’ anyone, is how to backpeddle when the bike you are riding gets etotallyfuckingstuck in the fresh mud.

Bok bed of roses, keeping the faith and living on a desperate prayer indeed.

• 186.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-184:
    Quite bizarre how the selectors remain under the radar.

Ian Mac and Piet Jooste have been in that same positions for the past 8 years.

• 187.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-186: The only thing I picked up about the selectors, was the postponement of the Bok touring squad to Australia and NZ…apparently they delayed it by one day because there was disagreement about Keegan Daniel or something to that effect.

Apart from that, they have said nothing, done nothing and seem to be untouchable – when they too should be accountable in some way.

For that matter – where the dogbox is Rassie? Sitting like a chesire cat next to Heyneke for the Pom tests, and now he is MIA? Unless he stood up to the Meyer, and was banished?

Nah, I’m no Meyer fan and never have been, but the rest of these dimwits also need to start talking and facing their demons…The public deserve it.

• 188.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-185: Dont be disengenuous… I reckoned Jordaan is not ready to be a Bok yet… But will be in the future.

Now either read and engage with some honesty or dont read and fuckrightoff.

• 189.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-181:
    Die groot verskil in my opinie is die feit dat die Stormers in die losskrums gekompeteer het deur die bal te probeer wen of die bal stadig te maak vir die teenstanders. ‘n Mens sien niks hiervan by die Heyneke Bokke nie.

Verder het die Stormers altyd probeer om die opposisie agter die voordeellyn te tackle en in die lug probeer hou sodat ‘n losgemaal ontstaan en nie ‘n losskrum nie. Dit het beteken dat die Stormers die bal kry as die opposisie dit nie kan uitkry nie. Meyer se Bokke tackle dan nie eers nie!! Hoeveel keer het jy nou al gesien dat die baldraer deur die eerste linie verdediging hardloop asof daar niks/niemand is nie?

As ons ons gatte in rat kry onder die voorspelers, dan het ons moontlik ‘n kans, ten minste by die huis.

• 190.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-187:
    Saw Rassie driving in Durbanville a few weeks back and thought to myself surely you should be with the Boks.

Don’t think Keo and Co. is doing their job properly. Did Rassie and HM fall out.
    Could be a juicy story.

• 191.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-188: You said he has “proven” himself, while Goosen hasn’t.
    And what you base your opinion on makes no sense to me at all….

Jordaan the ‘real deal’ because he has a JWC winners medal and did well for the Sharks.

Goosen overhyped because he does not have a JWC winners medal and according to you only had one good half of rugby in the S15 before injured.

By your reasoning fellows like Spies and Olivier must be up there with the best? Medalsfuckinggalore…..and have been good for the Bulls.

Just don’t get how you can whack Goosen on a game in 2011…

• 192.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Wonder where the Storming, disco lights, pingpong bat wielding Rassie is… Rat running from the sinking ship…?

He ran like a rat from that eminent non try scoring Newlands barge earlier in a blaze of glory….

Maybe Rassie sees a couple steps ahead… Maybe he sees these losing hands being dealt and folds quickly before the sinking ship or barge goes down in ignominy…

WP with their false Blue Bull beating prejaculated Dawn and now Battleship Bok…

Run Forrest Run… Rassie was right and is right to GTFOT both times.

• 193.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-190: Very juicy indeed :)

@Heavens Game-192: So where is the dynamite’s hero in all of the Boks woes? Ian Mac? National selector…..Where is he? Where is he? Where is he? Maybe he doesn’t rate Keegan and Lambie either? Maybe he too has run away? Find out for us why don’t you…and ask him about the selections….

All involved with the Boks are phucked.

• 194.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-191: It wont make sense to someone who isn’t a real rugby person… You know, a Jim Telfer “Honest Rugby Player”, or honest supporter.

Dont be hard on yourself…

I apologise for this admittedly rather patronising approach to these little interactions of ours, but in humouring you I take an approach similar to say a US Marine in Helmand demonstrating the firepower of a 50 cal to a rather cute embedded journo from Elle magazine… Smirk on my face, while pulling the trigger… :lol:

• 195.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-193: Old Mad Eye probably made the initial selections along with Jooste and in consultation with Meyer… After that, its been Meyer’s baby, along with some his selections made in response to the big noise from the “Traditional South” like Fatty Vermeulen and JdJ, Godbless his soul.

Ol’ Mad Eye can only take the Bull to the water, but he cant make the Bull drink if it doesn’t want to… Unnerstand?

• 196.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-194: Nice paragraph. But where are the answers to my very legitimate questions?
    Can’t answer them is my guess. Later flipflopper. I leave with one of your very own patented; Heyneke green and gold one fingered salutes.

• 197.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Dog food you are correct so many not pulling their weight, take the golden one as an example F Steyn who can do no wrong in the eyes of the KEo majority , he might not do anything wong but he does fark all on the park, plenty here reckon hes better than SBw head in the sand stuff there’s the problemw

• 198.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-195: So he is weak? Typical.

Cheeriooodles.

• 199.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-190: I have heard from 2 different and reliable sources that Rassie is only “allowed” to make contributions in as far as HM allows him to……..no expansive play etc. Rassie is fairly frustrated with the situation. He has to “operate” within the “high kick and charge” game plan: how stupid is that !!

• 200.capetown: Reply to this comment

@nama1-166:

So what we’re actually saying is that Rene coaches the boks

It’ll probably come in the next few months. Then the devotees will blame the evil ANC for their AA/EE policy of wanting to push a a brown, female in the bok coaching role

• 201.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

Even Gaffie thinks Goosen shouls start:
    Kies Goosen, sê Gaffie
    2012-09-10 20:36

Gerdie Karstens

KIMBERLEY. – Johan Goosen is beslis ryp genoeg om die All Blacks se rugbyspan Saterdag in Dunedin aan te durf.

Só sê die gewese Springbok-losskakel Gaffie du Toit oor die moontlikheid dat Goosen in dié toets in die Rugby-kampioenskap kan speel.

Goosen het in Suid-Afrika se nederlaag van 19-26 teen Australië in Perth net sowat 10 minute speelkans gekry, maar sy impak was beslis ’n positiewe een.

Daar is kenners wat glo dat Goosen gereed is om die Bokke se nr. 10-trui nou al oor die kop te trek. Ander vergelyk hom weer met Du Toit en sê dat hy nie soos die Bok-skakelpaar van 1999, Du Toit en die skrumskakel Dave von Hoesslin, te vroeg ryp gedruk moet word nie.

Maar Du Toit meen Goosen is gereed om teen die wêreldkam­pioene sy staal te wys.

“Ek dink dat mense in gedagte moet hou hoe rugby verander het. Ek en Dave het destyds min Curriebeker- en geen Super-rugby gespeel voordat ons aan die diep kant ingegooi is nie. Goosen het weer oorgenoeg blootstelling op daardie vlak gekry en is beslis meer ryp as wat ons destyds was,” het Du Toit gesê.

“Hy het net 10 minute teen die Aussies gespeel, maar het goed gedoen en lus gelyk vir speel.”

As Goosen wel bo verwagting gekies word, moet hy vrye teuels kry om hom uit te leef eerder as wat ’n wedstrydplan op hom afgedruk word, meen Du Toit.

“ ’n Mens kies spelers of grond van hul briljantheid. As Goosen gekies word, gee ’n mens erkenning aan sy manier van speel. Ja, hy het riglyne nodig waarvolgens gespeel moet word, maar hy moet die vryheid hê om te doen wat hy goed doen. Die ander spelers moet by hom aanpas, want hy is die besluitnemer.

“Hy is onvoorspelbaar, iets wat Morné Steyn nie is nie. Morné doen niks meer wat onverwags is nie.

“Goosen kan ons die ruimte aan die buitekant gee wat ons kortkom.”

Omdat Goosen hom in die Curriebeker- en Super-reekse as ’n briljante speler bewys het, beteken dit nie dat hy met die intrapslag die All Blacks van hul voete gaan speel nie, het Du Toit gesê.
    “Die All Blacks sal hom leer ken en dan weet wat om van hom op toetsvlak te verwag.

“Hulle sal ook sy kanaal baie aanval, soos wat hulle destyds met ons groentjies gedoen het. Maar hy behoort speelkans gegun te word. En hy behoort nie met die druk te sukkel nie.”

• 202.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-191: why do you bother arguing with this chap? if the Baby Boks can wint the JWC with Pollard who was 3rd string behind Goosen for that jersey, hey Goosen would’ve “proved himself” too by winning the medal…

• 203.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-196: Legitimate questions? Hehehe… I suppose said embedded Elle reporter from the above also thought “wow Mr Marine, why has your gun such an enormous barrel” was a legitimate question…. To which Mr Marine replied “Ma’am, good question (grin on face lengthening by every word). Why, because it shoots mighty big bullets, Ma’am” :lol:

So to answer, them answers have been long answered already… If you just read and see the words instead of your silly, but sometimes admittedly funny, generalisations, then you may find that the square peg actually goes into the round hole after all…

Now go back, ask your little questions while reading again – you may find that there are big bullets coming out of a farken long, big barrel of HG’s Big Big Gun…

• 204.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-202: So Goosen won the Junior RWC Transie…?

Lol

… and Megatron the Sharksworld “expert” makes entrance… disappointingly without the Wayne Smith gameplan copy and paste gameplan he promised for so long…

Chickenshit :lol:

• 205.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-199:
    The HM now, compared to the person he was as the Stormers assistant coach, appears to be two completely different people.

I remember him being a calm, easy going person under Solly.

• 206.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-204: look who is talking :razz:

you were up Meyer’s bum in june right up to the beginning of rugby championship telling all and sundry that Meyers is the BEEZKNEEZ since he selected a s.hitload of “BullSharks until he dropped your fancy pants captain Keegan “christian cullen of loosies” daniel BWAHAHAHAHAHA :mrgreen: and jerk around your “Lambieghini” now you’ve changed your tune when some of TOLD that s.hit was stinking!

CLASSIC flip flop (you’ve got it trademarked because that’s what you are :D )

• 207.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-206: And so? June is a long time from September in Rugby… Much has happened between the first test against England and now…

I might be a stubborn farker, but unlike Heyneke, when I see evidence that things are very, very wrong then I do make a clear and decisive change to my opinion…

Now as much as you and Doggy are hating the fact that I might be stealing your thunder, meanwhile conveying the disappointment and distrust of exactly how many HONEST rugby supporters, coaches and players are now thinking and feeling after the initial near universal positivity of Meyer’s appointment, you poor fools will now just have to grin and bear it.

I say near universal because initial irrational envy and hate of Meyers appointment by a pocket of ignorant fanboys and fangirls from the “Traditional Rugby Power of the South” just because he is from the “Traditional Rival” of the North – and nothing else at all, especially rugby reasons – is hardly prescient or prophetic…

Ridicule Lambie or Daniel as much as you like – similar to the downright disgraceful ridicule and humiliation Meyer and his crew have done literally in the Bok setup – I will see who truly is prophetic and prescient, for rugby reasons only and not fanboy sentiment – when these same players go one better with the Sharks next year than they did this year and bring that goddamn S15 cup to its rightful home at Dynamite Stadium.

Keegan is the “Christian Cullen of Loosies” no doubt… Revolutionary. Like Cullen was to other backline players of his time – Daniel is faster, more skilfull, and pound for pound stronger and more courageous than any loosie around… Hardly his fault that Meyer and the most of SA, including ignorant copy and paste fanboys like yourself got no idea how to classify him or heaven forbid use him in a “gameplan”)

(Now speaking of gameplans, when you gonna paste that gameplan you were promising… You know, the one from your hero Wayne… That one you next to his picture near your bedroom mirror :lol: )

Come now, Megatron, Sharksworld “legendary expert”, give us a Game Plan… A real one, instead of pronouncing and copy and pasting about the inadequacies of Meyer’s :lol:

• 208.pompies2: Reply to this comment

Keegan is the “Christian Cullen of Loosies” no doubt… Revolutionary. Like Cullen was to other backline players of his time – Daniel is faster, more skilfull, and pound for pound stronger and more courageous than any loosie around… Hardly his fault that Meyer and the most of SA, including ignorant copy and paste fanboys like yourself got no idea how to classify him or heaven forbid use him in a “gameplan”)

HG, how do you quantify or measure this? Remember that he was just as ineffective in his tests as the other Bok loosies.

• 209.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-208: How about some offload, tackling, cleaning stats for starters… Maybe some support play and assists stats for main course and the some individual speed, strength-weight ratio and lineout jumping stats for dessert.

Go look and see… It might even surprise kenners like you.

If you dont know where to go then Transie/Megatron the Sharksworld “expert” always around to give a copy and paste helping hand…

• 210.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-207: “Now as much as you and Doggy are hating the fact that I might be stealing your thunder,”

this is exactly your problem, you are an attention-seeker (the histrionics since Keegan was dropped are evidence) only in your mind is there any “thunder to steal”

you are only a grootbek FLIP FLOP (TM = HG) ;)

and where are your other guppy “acolytes”?

you all were accusing the Stormers supporters of being provincialistic and anti-boks yet here you are now feeling jilted.

Up to the Argentina game at Newlands you were still up Meyer’s arse crowing about how ingenius it is that he has picked the “Dynamite’s loose trio” in its entirery! so stop talking kak about “June to September” :lol:

• 211.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-207: “I will see who truly is prophetic and prescient, for rugby reasons only and not fanboy sentiment – when these same players go one better with the Sharks next year than they did this year and bring that goddamn S15 cup to its rightful home at Dynamite Stadium.”

as for predictions, please don’t even start :lol:

how many *POP*s did you predict and how many false surges up the S15 log never materialised from the wet Dynamite?

no *BOOM*

• 212.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-209: Those are all linear stats. You can’t measure effectiveness of execution because it’s subjective. The fact that your judgment starts off with bias only serves to skew the results even further.

• 213.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@TooMuchRugby-201: hahahaha wel as Gaffie dit se dan moet die beste raad wees :-)

• 214.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-211: A final was good enough for me… especially while you and the rest of the Sharksworld “experts” were forgetting about the game of rugby and busying yourselves filling out Facebook pages calling for Plum to go…

Him, Hugh Reece and Bashford truly embarrassed your rugby forecasting “abilities”…

Megatron the Sharksworld rugby “expert”, my left ballas… :lol:

(Ps… Still waiting for that Game Plan… Dont tell me this is going down the transformation definition route… While you at it go dig some stats for Pompies while he’s waiting… Chop, chop… There you go, my little fetcher… Maybe fetch me a beer at the end of it all, okay?)

• 215.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-214: HG, stick around. We value your contribution. How about how Keegan’s skills could aid the Boks in getting out of their quagmire

• 216.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-212: Who has bias? Come now Pompies…

Keegan Daniels, the Christian Cullen of loosies, has more than a little construct validity….

Out of respect, I have let you discover the convergent validity on your own steam – maybe with a little help from Transie.

Therefore Content Validity and Representation validity are up to you too….

However I reserve Face Validity of the initial statement or hypothesis that Keegan Daniel is the Christian Cullen of Loosies until proven otherwise…

Now where’s that null hypothesis when you need it….

TRRRRRRAAAAAAAAANSIE!!!?

• 217.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-216: Oh gawd, you do have a way of gayifying a simple argument. English please. I understand simple sentences. I’m like a ******……………………………….who understands rugby, rather than a man who understands bananas.

• 218.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-217: what’s wrong with munkey?

• 219.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-217: As “gayified” as this: “fact that your judgment starts off with bias only serves to skew the results even further”…

Results?

Ahem.

• 220.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Okay… I’ve had fun terrorising the assorted “experts” and recent “regulars” for a while now…

Outtahere…

• 221.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-219: you’ve got manlove not me?

• 222.W.P: Reply to this comment

LOL! Its hilarious how one moment HG is having orgasms at the BullShark Bokke and then a couple of WP boykies get thrown in and he moans like a little baby!

• 223.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

I think a new coach should be given 1 season leeway to prove himself if he is not taking over an already proven group of players and is introducing new young players to the team….not a pleasant experience for the supporter I know. Then pull out the big guns and tear him apart.

• 224.mako: Reply to this comment

If Heyneke Meyer plays Morne Steyn at Flyhalf on Saturdy, then he is a confirmed idiot. I can understand selections that are forced onto him due to injuries and unavailability of players, but when a player ina key position is clearly out of form and not good enough, and you have two youngsters who would easily do better to pick from, then it is a no brainer. We are going to lose this game, so why not test some of the players against the best. We already know how poorly Morne is playing.

• 225.mako: Reply to this comment

Oh and play Alberts at 4, he isn’t having the best impact as a loosie and I would rather see Louw, Vermeulen and Coetzee as loosies, with Alberts in the tight this weekend. Thinking of bringing Bakkies back is the kind of backwards mentality that our rugby does not need now. We are supposed to be building for the future. We could accept a ew losses if we were moving forwards, but certainly not in reverse gear!

• 226.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mako-224: Meyer also dismissed suggestions that Steyn’s poor goal-kicking form meant his overall game had suffered.

“Morné played good rugby at times, even though he didn’t kick so well,” the coach said, “Morné is a player that is mentally very tough and it is just a matter of time before he is back to his best.

“It is my job to get him back to his best and I am confident I will get him back there [to his best]

• 227.mako: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-226:
    I am afraid I don’t have much faith in HM. The guys is making an absolute hash of his job. If he said to us that this year is going to be a tough one with all the injuries etc, but he is going to blood young guys and build towards the future, then (most of) the public would probably understand it and back the new blood. But the way he is going about building this side reminds me of Straueli, whom I have always regarded as the worst ever Bok coach.

• 228.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-190:

They had a disagreement.

Rassiw tried to force Nienaber on him

• 229.Manona: Reply to this comment

@race of tan-123:

I don’t think the players, particularly the backs are scared, I think HM & Morne are. He is the single biggest influence on the side, but his strengths are not suited to the rules at the moment, particularly with the safe Dagg & Jane at the back.

I don’t buy into how weak the Boks are, we are playing OK & still winning. Boks are playing ok, won 3, drew 2 lost 1. If either team has one of THOSE nights, they will be impossible to contain.

Just hope its my team that does, not yours…

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.