Meyer must make most of lost cause

JON CARDINELLI writes a depleted Springbok side cannot be expected to win in Dunedin and yet there’s still much to be gained in terms of developing a new starting flyhalf.

The unavailability of key forwards as well as the inexperience of the likely starters and combinations suggests that Saturday’s Test will be more about damage control than anything else.

Last week’s forward performance against Australia was poor, and there’s little chance that this week’s showing will be much improved.

How can there be any expectation of a better performance in Dunedin? Injuries and suspensions have hit the Boks hard this week, and the pack that starts at the Forsyth Barr Stadium won’t boast one established Test combination.

But let’s back up a bit and consider what Heyneke Meyer had to work with at the start of the season.

Victor Matfield and Bakkies Botha were not available, and neither was jack of all trades Danie Rossouw. Andries Bekker was injured. Schalk Burger was crocked. Juan Smith had made a decision to give rugby a break for a year. It wasn’t an ideal situation to start with, and has got worse as the season has progressed.

Bismarck du Plessis has been the biggest loss in recent weeks. Other players that have been injured include Coenie Oosthuizen, Pierre Spies, and Chiliboy Ralepelle while Ryan Kankowski has moved to Japan. The unavailability of this latter group has been a blow to the Boks’ forward depth.

Then Eben Etzebeth went and got himself suspended with a mindless headbutt on Nathan Sharpe. Then Jannie du Plessis and Pat Cilliers succumbed to injuries in the most recent Test in Perth. Going into this week’s clash in Dunedin, the Boks will be wanting for quality, synergy and experience in that starting pack.

In the past, there have been strong teams that have gone to New Zealand and been soundly beaten. What hope does this side have of succeeding where superior sides have failed?

A new front-row combination will start due to Jannie du Plessis’s injury, and Etzebeth’s suspension will also see a new face starting at lock.

Francois Louw is likely to start at openside flank given the challenge of the All Blacks’ loose forwards, but that would see Meyer making a further change to the starting pack. And while I believe Louw can be highly effective in this role, he is only into his second week playing under Meyer and the new structures. Don’t expect miracles from a new-look tight five, and don’t expect dominance from men like Louw at the breakdown.

It’s at times like these when some coaches will look to retain as many fit players as possible so as not to disrupt the team dynamic any further. It’s been reported that Meyer will stick with the backline that started against the Wallabies last week. That would be a mistake.

What can Meyer gain from such selections? The changes up front will compromise the Boks’ potential to play a more balanced game, and I’m sure they’ll keep things as simple as possible. However, it would be interesting to see how a new flyhalf performs. It’s a game the Boks are unlikely to win, and this may ease the pressure on less established flyhalf options like Pat Lambie and Johan Goosen.

Lambie shone in last year’s Tri-Nations when he started at flyhalf against the All Blacks in Wellington. A rag-tag bunch of forwards were soundly beaten by their New Zealand counterparts, and still Lambie managed to impress.

Meyer sees Lambie as a fullback but it’s at flyhalf where he can provide the Boks with more options in terms of attack and defence. He’s played there for the Sharks this season with some success, exhibiting a skill set that includes taking the ball to the gainline, sending it through the hands when the wide strike is on, and playing his team into good field positions via a great tactical boot.

Goosen showed the same all-round skills when he featured for the Cheetahs in Super Rugby, and has been tipped as the future Bok flyhalf. Meyer could make a powerful statement by starting Goosen this Saturday, but if he truly believes that the experience would do the 20-year-old more harm than good, then Lambie should wear the No 10 jersey.

The Boks will struggle to keep the All Blacks at bay, but that doesn’t mean that nothing can be gained from the fixture. Changes need to made, and replacing flyhalf Morné Steyn with somebody more equipped to meet the demands of a modern day 10 is a step that needs to be taken sooner rather than later.

Follow JC on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

229 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All

• 151.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Jerald you boys are desperate, throw on the Goose and lets really see what he’s made of, if he’s got the goods he’ll still go well behind a beaten pack.

• 152.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-145: (Blushed) Why, thank you.

• 153.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nama1-147: Well, Mr Brightside Rugby Fundi from the Richtersveld… Please tell me how forwards from the Sharks, Bulls and even the Stormers were able to more than hold their own in the tight against these same ANZAC players during S15 just this year… Despite their lack of experience.

The Bok whole here is definitely not greater than the sum of its parts…

• 154.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-151:
    Still got nightmares about the 28-0, China.

Gaffie Du Toit and Dave Von Hoeslin was the future of Springbok Rugby at the time and Mallet through them in the deep end.

That game scarred them for life. Psychologically they were farked.

• 155.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-127: Morning Hurricane. I got lambasted on another thread yesterday for saying exactly this. Playing Goosen behind a new pack against the AB’s in Dunedin is crazy, rather save him for the NH tests and give Lambie the starting jersey on Saturday. Barret was able to be pushed into the AB’s because he came into a settled team at the top of their game…..very different situation we find ourselves in now.

• 156.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-144: Frankly, I do understand him regarding to that Cheetahs game. IMHO, chances of Cheetahs scoring 7 points ang getting 2 log points were way smaller than Crusaders turning over and denying Cheetahs even that one log point.

So that may be not that crazy decision after all.

• 157.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Bakkies according to you there isn’t a single NZ player that wouldn’t be had for breakfast by a SAFFA player, hard to take your posts seriously when you post this type of stuff, we all know the imaginery Bokke 15 would destroy NZ in Dunedin but they aren’t playing.

• 158.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-150: Maypoles of glory? I do believe I protested Duane’s original call up – due to him not being match fit. In fact, I called it as Heyneke setting him up to fail…..see?

I can find the posts if needed….

Bekker was very poor, and has been for yonks, I can find you the posts in which I have said that as well, if needed…….

Fact is: so many people round here have been and ARE so desperate to protect their provincial interests (players in the Bok squad), that Heyneke’s woeful man management (which amateurs such as I have been questioning since 1st squad announcement) is being neglected, by scribes, fans and ‘morons’ alike.

You seem to be getting it, but only after a Shark or two suffered. Now educate your mates please.

• 159.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Jerald understand but if hes that good he’ll bounce back from any potential black rogering he may receive in Dunedin, who knows he might win it for you.

• 160.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Nils-156:
    Naka Drotske the coach was pissed.

He didn’t give Goosen the instruction to kick.

So it was a brainfart by the youngster.

• 161.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-148:
    lmao

• 162.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-155: Gosh no… Why must Pat be the sacrificial Lamb for the Golden Goose…? Fark that… Either let Morne show the world his experience and excellence against the Rigged World Champs, or the Golden boy his scintillating world beating talent (despite a definite tackling weakness rivalling Morne’s which will be exposed at the highest level)… Let Pat sit on the bench gathering splinters because we all know that Pat “is a better 15 than a 10″… He can make a Cameo in the last 10 after one-two-skop Zane has kicked his one leg right off.

• 163.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-161:
    Thats actually not funny Bakkies. Its a serious issue…

• 164.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-154: Owen Nkumane aked Mallett on Saturday after the test about Gaffie. According to Mallett he had 2 flyhalves on tour: Gaffie who had flair but did not provide any physicality and Braam Van Straaten with no flair but with physicality. He gave each one a test match. Unfortunately Gaffie couldn’t tackle but Goosen can and therefore he’ll pick Goosen (according to Mallett)

• 165.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

but we know your ab’s filthy play is real… not imagined…

china

• 166.nama1: Reply to this comment

I can just imagine Goosen (if he gets selected) receiving the ball inside his 22 from the SH and passing it on to a team mate who starts running only to be tackled on the half way line. Meyer then send the physiotherapist to the touch line to tell Goosen: “If you ever pass the ball inside our 22 again, the coach will sub you. You must kick the ball out, he said.”

Does not matter who plays FH, the leather will be kicked off the ball. Stop discussing the fly half position. You look stupid doing it.

• 167.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-162: Because Pat has been in the system longer and is better suited to handle Saturday than Goosen. I am a huge Lambie fan and reckon he will be a great bok but the honest truth is that Goosen has the potential to be better.

• 168.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-164:
    I heard saw that Charles. Yes Gaffie couldn’t tackle.

I don’t know the answer to whether HM should choose Lambie or Goosen.

Lambie is a risk free choice and HM prefers it that way.

He also might just stick with Morne.

• 169.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-158: I think you overrate your Rugby acumen…

Especially since you have probably never thrown a ball in anger, or cauliflowered an ear after a couple of thousand engages with a couple of tons of pressure squeezing that ear through your arsehole while having it sandpapered by the chin stubble of a 115kg Prop called Baksteen, or heaven forbid, Lood.

But nevertheless keep having fun demonstrating your obvious practical onfield ignorance despite all the faux pretensions of amateur quackery expertise of being able to “get into their heads”.

I do have fun watching :lol:

• 170.Nils: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-165: Hey, Bakkies, how’s your blood pressure? You seem to be slightly agitated.

• 171.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-167: I dont want Lambie as a scapegoat in this current scorched earth policy… Let Goosen show his potential now, despite me seeing his potential get outshone one fine day against a Pommy midget called George Ford…

Let the Golden Goose shine against the current best in the business… Lambie for the bench… Its only right and fair.

• 172.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@nama1-166:
    Moet nie so negatief wees nie Nama. Sal jou gou oud maak.

Goosen is ‘n baie gooie speler en HM weet van sy sterk punte.

• 173.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Bakkies foul play is not unique to SA it happens to all teams, SA is the only country with this imaginery 15 though its a ripper consisting of off shore players, permanently injured players, retired players who if all got
    back together would conquer the world ,
    now thats funny

• 174.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

“The dream(ers) team!”

• 175.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-153:
    I think we agree.

Different coaches, different game plans. different strategies. :wink:

• 176.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-151: no! let heyneke and his “warrior” favourite figur this one out! aaron cruden and beauden barritt can handle morne plus i want to see morne try and tackle liam messam.

• 177.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Tranny we want to see attacking running rugby thats why we watch the game, i’d love to see the Goose play and attack the line etc Morne has served his country well though he shouldn’t be getting so many personal attacks pretty sad to read.

• 178.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-172:

Die huidige Bokke met hul spel doen alreeds ‘n goeie werk met die vinnig oud raak. :lol:

Eks besig om apaties te raak teenoor die Bokke van Meyer. Regtig.

As hulle so voortgaan, dan weet ek nie of ek vorentoe eens sal traak of hulle wen of nie. Sal nou nie juig as hulle verloor nie, maar ek weet nie hoe opgewonde ek sal raak as hulle wen nie, want ek weet die volgende kak wat hulle gaan opdis le net om die draai.

• 179.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-169: Well the scorecard at this stage states otherwise :)

Amateur uninformed me: Accuracy re: Bok decline 10

Expert and DOR in heaven you: Accuracy re: Bok decline 2 (and only because you are finally seeing what has been clear as this CT day from day one…)

@Heavens Game-171: And here you go again. The Baby Boks game against England in 2011? So your opinion on Goosen is based on that game? Do you recall any of the other Baby Boks in that tournie? One in particular…….grassburn on the face stuff? Also overhyped, or not really, because he happens to play for the colony now?

Hard to take you seriously….but great fun watching you flip flop.

• 180.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-177: who is opening him to that if it is not the coach?

there was a similar clamour (remember piri’s mom decrying the fact that kevvie was honest on radio sport about how fat piri was) in new zealand when piri was favoured above all even though he was as huge as a waka.

hansen shielded him and all of you quitened down and another thing piri is NOT starting in front of a talented youngster and fecking the all black works!

there is NO WAY piri would keep up with the lightning quick pace of the all black game as displayed @ Eden Park!

• 181.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@nama1-178:
    Nama wat ek nie verstaan nie is dat albei van ons is Stormers ondersteuners
    en die Stormers speel met dieselfde spel patroon soos die Bokke.

Ons het geen probleem gehad met AC se gamplan nie maar ons sukkel om vir HM te ondersteun.

• 182.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

keep trying to convince yourself of that, china

your team is filthy

old news

move on

• 183.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-179: Jordaan has proven himself… as a Junior Word Cup winner, out of position nogal, and an S15 finalist where he demonstrated his ability clearly at the highest level on a jet-lagged losing team. He does have an injury problem and needs to toughen up and maybe mature a little to become a Bok, but a Bok he WILL be guaranteed.

Goosen has yet to do similar… Other than an admittedly brilliant 1st half against the Highlanders after which he has been fcked for a couple of months… He is even more brittle than Jordaan.

Now what was that, again?

Its clear you have no idea what you are talking about – but the fanboy or fangirl enthusiasm is good, admittedly…

(PS… Flip flop = TM HG… )

Stick with HG… and keep learning

• 184.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-176: @NZINCHINA-177: Those placing ALL the Boks current woes on Morne’s shoulders are also delusional. Unless he selects himself of course? There are many so called senior/experienced players puffing around the field like incompetent aid workers at the moment: Jannie, Beast, Ruan P, Jean Div, Alberts, Frans Steyn….not one of them is assisting the Bok cause at the moment.

The Bok ‘selectors’ also need to start feeling the heat…or does Heyneke truly select on his own?

Ian Mac is a Natalian fellow….a hero to the dynamite…why is he not under fire?
    Jooste?

Total cockupsfromstarttofinish. Top to bottom.

• 185.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-183: Oh c’mon……..Now Jordaan has proved himself and is a worthy Bok, but Goosen isn’t?

Mate, I won’t be sticking with you in anything. (You have the flies for that…)

All you are able to ‘teach’ anyone, is how to backpeddle when the bike you are riding gets etotallyfuckingstuck in the fresh mud.

Bok bed of roses, keeping the faith and living on a desperate prayer indeed.

• 186.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-184:
    Quite bizarre how the selectors remain under the radar.

Ian Mac and Piet Jooste have been in that same positions for the past 8 years.

• 187.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-186: The only thing I picked up about the selectors, was the postponement of the Bok touring squad to Australia and NZ…apparently they delayed it by one day because there was disagreement about Keegan Daniel or something to that effect.

Apart from that, they have said nothing, done nothing and seem to be untouchable – when they too should be accountable in some way.

For that matter – where the dogbox is Rassie? Sitting like a chesire cat next to Heyneke for the Pom tests, and now he is MIA? Unless he stood up to the Meyer, and was banished?

Nah, I’m no Meyer fan and never have been, but the rest of these dimwits also need to start talking and facing their demons…The public deserve it.

• 188.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-185: Dont be disengenuous… I reckoned Jordaan is not ready to be a Bok yet… But will be in the future.

Now either read and engage with some honesty or dont read and fuckrightoff.

• 189.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-181:
    Die groot verskil in my opinie is die feit dat die Stormers in die losskrums gekompeteer het deur die bal te probeer wen of die bal stadig te maak vir die teenstanders. ‘n Mens sien niks hiervan by die Heyneke Bokke nie.

Verder het die Stormers altyd probeer om die opposisie agter die voordeellyn te tackle en in die lug probeer hou sodat ‘n losgemaal ontstaan en nie ‘n losskrum nie. Dit het beteken dat die Stormers die bal kry as die opposisie dit nie kan uitkry nie. Meyer se Bokke tackle dan nie eers nie!! Hoeveel keer het jy nou al gesien dat die baldraer deur die eerste linie verdediging hardloop asof daar niks/niemand is nie?

As ons ons gatte in rat kry onder die voorspelers, dan het ons moontlik ‘n kans, ten minste by die huis.

• 190.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-187:
    Saw Rassie driving in Durbanville a few weeks back and thought to myself surely you should be with the Boks.

Don’t think Keo and Co. is doing their job properly. Did Rassie and HM fall out.
    Could be a juicy story.

• 191.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-188: You said he has “proven” himself, while Goosen hasn’t.
    And what you base your opinion on makes no sense to me at all….

Jordaan the ‘real deal’ because he has a JWC winners medal and did well for the Sharks.

Goosen overhyped because he does not have a JWC winners medal and according to you only had one good half of rugby in the S15 before injured.

By your reasoning fellows like Spies and Olivier must be up there with the best? Medalsfuckinggalore…..and have been good for the Bulls.

Just don’t get how you can whack Goosen on a game in 2011…

• 192.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Wonder where the Storming, disco lights, pingpong bat wielding Rassie is… Rat running from the sinking ship…?

He ran like a rat from that eminent non try scoring Newlands barge earlier in a blaze of glory….

Maybe Rassie sees a couple steps ahead… Maybe he sees these losing hands being dealt and folds quickly before the sinking ship or barge goes down in ignominy…

WP with their false Blue Bull beating prejaculated Dawn and now Battleship Bok…

Run Forrest Run… Rassie was right and is right to GTFOT both times.

• 193.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-190: Very juicy indeed :)

@Heavens Game-192: So where is the dynamite’s hero in all of the Boks woes? Ian Mac? National selector…..Where is he? Where is he? Where is he? Maybe he doesn’t rate Keegan and Lambie either? Maybe he too has run away? Find out for us why don’t you…and ask him about the selections….

All involved with the Boks are phucked.

• 194.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-191: It wont make sense to someone who isn’t a real rugby person… You know, a Jim Telfer “Honest Rugby Player”, or honest supporter.

Dont be hard on yourself…

I apologise for this admittedly rather patronising approach to these little interactions of ours, but in humouring you I take an approach similar to say a US Marine in Helmand demonstrating the firepower of a 50 cal to a rather cute embedded journo from Elle magazine… Smirk on my face, while pulling the trigger… :lol:

• 195.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-193: Old Mad Eye probably made the initial selections along with Jooste and in consultation with Meyer… After that, its been Meyer’s baby, along with some his selections made in response to the big noise from the “Traditional South” like Fatty Vermeulen and JdJ, Godbless his soul.

Ol’ Mad Eye can only take the Bull to the water, but he cant make the Bull drink if it doesn’t want to… Unnerstand?

• 196.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-194: Nice paragraph. But where are the answers to my very legitimate questions?
    Can’t answer them is my guess. Later flipflopper. I leave with one of your very own patented; Heyneke green and gold one fingered salutes.

• 197.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Dog food you are correct so many not pulling their weight, take the golden one as an example F Steyn who can do no wrong in the eyes of the KEo majority , he might not do anything wong but he does fark all on the park, plenty here reckon hes better than SBw head in the sand stuff there’s the problemw

• 198.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-195: So he is weak? Typical.

Cheeriooodles.

• 199.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-190: I have heard from 2 different and reliable sources that Rassie is only “allowed” to make contributions in as far as HM allows him to……..no expansive play etc. Rassie is fairly frustrated with the situation. He has to “operate” within the “high kick and charge” game plan: how stupid is that !!

• 200.capetown: Reply to this comment

@nama1-166:

So what we’re actually saying is that Rene coaches the boks

It’ll probably come in the next few months. Then the devotees will blame the evil ANC for their AA/EE policy of wanting to push a a brown, female in the bok coaching role

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.