Toulon refuse to release Botha
11 Sep 2012
Toulon are adamant that Bakkies Botha will play for the French club this weekend and not for the Springboks.
With a suspension to Eben Etzebeth looming, Botha was placed on standby by Bok coach Heyneke Meyer on Monday. It was hoped that Botha would join the Boks in New Zealand in the event that Etzebeth was banned for a headbutt on Nathan Sharpe.
Etzebeth has since been banned for two weeks, but the Boks will need to replace the Stormers lock with somebody other than Botha.
Botha’s club, Toulon, has decided to block the big lock’s return to international rugby. Toulon coach Bernard Laporte was quoted in French newspaper L’Equipe saying Botha would play for the club against Montpellier this Friday.
The Boks will have to make do without Botha’s services, and it now seems likely that Flip van der Merwe will join his Bulls team-mate Juandre Kruger in the second row.

335 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] Show All
12 Sep 2012, 11:51 am
@poppa69-294:
again, whats dodgy here? he offered him a gift post competition on a public platform to thank him for such outstanding services rendered. (you must admit his reffing was good).
lawrence on the other hand is the biggest doos to have graced a rugby field and considering we guys like dickenson out there, that takes some doing.
you shittinng me..?..
the two back to back worst performances in a rwc ever and he gets awarded ref of the year
i dont know yet, but believe me it will come out one day. the truth has a way of doing just that. it wouldn’t any more or less ‘dodgy’ as you say because it will just be in the way of some or other remuneration in the course od some or other duty.
perhaps a jobs for life setup somewhere admin?
12 Sep 2012, 11:53 am
Stew – jeez I dunno rodney had his brainfart in rustenburg but that bugger was 100% committed – I thought he was pretty damn unlucky to get shafted by the kiwi faithful as he did – strange how read is so universally worshipped – I really do not see it – there’s not much too chose between spies and read both imo are a bit overrated, solid players but not really what I think of as a SB or AB.
12 Sep 2012, 11:54 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-301: any coincidence he reffed the Boks? are you really this stupid Bakkies?
12 Sep 2012, 11:56 am
@Hurricane-300:
most saffas are by nature just too kind to say it to you, hurri.
they all feel the same probably but wont. any others are just gutless.
also, there are a lot of bloggers here who do call you kiwis out for your actions wrt rugby. dont kid yourself if you think i am alone.
fix your rugby and the game as a spectacle wins.
12 Sep 2012, 12:00 pm
@poppa69-303:
but we know he rejected the gift and publically stated his views on it not being ethically sound in his opinion.
where is the conspiracy?
you ref screwed up a wc and got rewarded for it..?..
do you see the difference?
12 Sep 2012, 12:07 pm
One thing about the kiwis tho is they seem to get behind whoever is selected or coaching , then again when they lose, albeit less regularly, they go off ten times worse – look at the 20000 page thesis henry submitted after 07 or tge cracking concoction that was ‘suzie’ – u can’t make that **** up if u tried takes genuine creative talent ala peter jacksons lord of tge
kringe. So when old ricky ricardo10 gets on his high-horse about rabid sa posters one wonders exactly which country he think he comes from his good self – other then that welcome ricardo always nice to have another kiwi poster, hopefully u just as rabid and one-eyed as popps and hurricane.
12 Sep 2012, 12:10 pm
Typical post by BaKKies/Houston:
blah blah blah blah blah MccCheat. Blah blah.
blah blah blah blah blah Brycie slippery crook Blah blah.
blah blah blah blah blah sly cheating bastarrds Blah blah.blah blah blah blah.
blah Blah blah.blah blah blah blah blah Kiwi’s low lifes blah.blah blah blah. blah blahKing of cheats MccCheat.
12 Sep 2012, 12:13 pm
@cane-307: the guy has stated on this thread that Burger didnt gouge Fitzgerald, and that the gold watch offered after the tourny is acceptable?
hahahaha seriously thick, the epitome of the dumb saffa stereotype..
12 Sep 2012, 12:14 pm
@cab-302:
Rodney wasn’t shafted cab.
He was just all worn out.
He had given everything to his Club, his Province, his Super Team and his National Team.
He had nothing else to give.
12 Sep 2012, 12:14 pm
The two of you just get a room already
The world’s bloggers are tired of your daily attempts at sparring
12 Sep 2012, 12:15 pm
Gold watch – gdam they musta given norling a farm on aucklands high-street in 81.
12 Sep 2012, 12:16 pm
@cane-309:
How’s things in Hutts today
12 Sep 2012, 12:17 pm
@poppa69-308:
Burger gouged all right Popps.
We all saw it in slow – mo.
1.32 minutes into the match. Premeditated in my opinion.
12 Sep 2012, 12:18 pm
@cane-309:
Are all people in the Hutts nice looking like Corey?
12 Sep 2012, 12:18 pm
Cane 309 – yes maybe u right I think he was a bit buggered at tge end, a cleaner version of corne krige – totally committed player
12 Sep 2012, 12:19 pm
@Dawn-312:
Cold. Windy. Wet.
Make that very cold.
But it’s worse in Dunedin.
Which is good, because, as we all know, The Bokke don’t like cold.
12 Sep 2012, 12:22 pm
Premeditated – come off it – and what about the umagas insertion of bod headfirst into the Dunedin turf?
12 Sep 2012, 12:22 pm
@cane-316:
Leave Bokke out of it
I have no time for Bokke
They fecked with Siya
12 Sep 2012, 12:23 pm
@Dawn-314:
Corey is from The East Coast. North of Gisborne.
The outer fringe of Hurricanes Territory.
We Huttites are not known for our physical beauty. More for our inner harmony and peace loving nature.
12 Sep 2012, 12:25 pm
I think of it as more of a caress then a gouge. Richard Loe was a professional gouger.
12 Sep 2012, 12:25 pm
@cab-317:
He was Irish cab. They thought his head was the safest place to land him.
12 Sep 2012, 12:27 pm
LMAO – classic chirp
12 Sep 2012, 12:29 pm
@cab-320:
I wish someone would land Katman on his head.
12 Sep 2012, 12:35 pm
@cane-319:
But he’s still a Hutt though.
12 Sep 2012, 12:38 pm
@cane-319: So you’re fat?
12 Sep 2012, 12:39 pm
@cane-323: Oh, they’ve tried, Cane. Boy, did they try.
12 Sep 2012, 12:56 pm
@Dawn-324:
No……………………………Corey would have been to Hutt City for sure.
But only because State Highway 2 (the motorway north) goes through it.
I doubt Corey would pass urine upon us Huttites
12 Sep 2012, 12:57 pm
@katman-326:
12 Sep 2012, 12:58 pm
@katman-325:
And bald.
(grass does not grow on a well used track).
12 Sep 2012, 13:32 pm
@cane-316: Bokke will bring the cold! Even if we lose on Saturday you will feel us afterwards! We might have a lot of rookies but they are all blood thirsty and ready to eat some Kiwi, win or lose.
12 Sep 2012, 13:40 pm
@lieflingblou-330:
Lets hope so Liefy.
So many of your compatriots are so negative ……………………… it seems unnatural.
12 Sep 2012, 13:46 pm
filthy cheats
and done…..
12 Sep 2012, 13:48 pm
no wait
and low scum.
there
now we’re done.
12 Sep 2012, 13:51 pm
@cane-328: @cane-329: Ha ha, you sound like the spitting image of me. But I had my first run in ages yesterday morning, so pretty soon you can scratch fat off that list.
12 Sep 2012, 14:10 pm
@cane-331: They are negative because provincialism is blinding them. But I know for sure that provincialism isn’t a problem in the camp, and that the boys there relish the chance snipe some Kiwis especially the youngsters.
By the way you emphasize Liefie I guess your life falls a little short in that department…
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] Show All