Toulon refuse to release Botha
11 Sep 2012
Toulon are adamant that Bakkies Botha will play for the French club this weekend and not for the Springboks.
With a suspension to Eben Etzebeth looming, Botha was placed on standby by Bok coach Heyneke Meyer on Monday. It was hoped that Botha would join the Boks in New Zealand in the event that Etzebeth was banned for a headbutt on Nathan Sharpe.
Etzebeth has since been banned for two weeks, but the Boks will need to replace the Stormers lock with somebody other than Botha.
Botha’s club, Toulon, has decided to block the big lock’s return to international rugby. Toulon coach Bernard Laporte was quoted in French newspaper L’Equipe saying Botha would play for the club against Montpellier this Friday.
The Boks will have to make do without Botha’s services, and it now seems likely that Flip van der Merwe will join his Bulls team-mate Juandre Kruger in the second row.

335 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 » Show All
11 Sep 2012, 18:30 pm
@Jinx2-99: YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS! Jeez here I am a Shark Supporter and forgotten to mention him. He has been outstanding for Sharks.
11 Sep 2012, 18:34 pm
I’m at odds whether its the right call to have Bakkies in the team. In one hand Bakkies have been extremely dissapointing in the last couple of years amongst other seniour boks. So when I hear names such as bakkies, Dupreez, Fourie being thrown about I don’t know to smile or frown. On the other hand I am very happy if these players are better than the ones we have available and can play at their best. So far Meyer has’nt justified the continued selection of Hougaard, Steyn, Kirchner, Potgieter, Spies even though they have played for him for many years. These are the players that should make a huge difference and should stand out under Meyer games plan, but it hasn’t been the case.
So rather than bringing in veterans with serious question marks, use the players in your squad. Move Alberts to lock. It worked for the sharks and it should work for the boks. Not sure who our props are in the squad.
Based on what we have my starting 8 would be 1. Beast 2. Strauss 3. Greyling (No other choice) 4. Alberts 5. Bekker 6. Louw 7. Coetzee 8. Vermeulen
11 Sep 2012, 18:34 pm
@stormersboy-94:
He will probably be required to play number 4 at WP/Stormers even if Bekker is unavailable as they have recruited the junior Bok Ruaan Botha who is a number 5 specialist (6 feet eight plus).
11 Sep 2012, 18:36 pm
@Robzim-103: Ja i saw that. He’s a good buy. Eben is happy at 4 and plays the hard man role very well. YOu can’t teach that, it must come naturally. Eben has it, just as Bakkies did. Danie too.
Quinn Roux is another player who “has it”. Pity we lost him.
11 Sep 2012, 18:38 pm
@Puma-100: Ja i was thinking of Franco Van Der Merwe. He was in the greater squad so it looks like HM has him in mind. I like him. Good all round player.
11 Sep 2012, 18:39 pm
@Robzim-93 it’s simple really a 5 lock needs a cool head. Why? Well because his duties require him to focus on a number of more important things to do on the field (organise kick offs, make lineout calls and therefore setup quality fixed play) than getting into unnecessary tussles for one or by letting the opposition get under your skin as in the Mendoza game. I am a big fan of Eben don’t get me wrong. I just think he is not our answer at 5. He has made a good impact on 4 and should be kept there to grow into the position and become a pillar for the boks.
Kruger did ok on Saturday but not enough yet, I would like to see how he performs against New Zealand on the weekend.
11 Sep 2012, 18:41 pm
@Puma-101:
I was hoping they would fly Bressler out as that will even matters up on Saturday (WP versus Sharks) especially now that Malherbe is joining the Boks and Elstadt is injured.
Elstadt btw is playing brilliant rugby at the moment- he is arguably the closest to Bakkies (at his best) as a real enforcer- and he has dropped a lot of that nonsense since he came back from suspension- I don’t think he conceded a penalty against him during the last 3 matches or so.. Out injured now anyway.
11 Sep 2012, 18:43 pm
@stormersboy-105: Yes, remember he was in the squad now. What about Bresler? He has been outstanding for Sharks this year. Actually one of our stand out 5 locks in our conference to be honest.
11 Sep 2012, 18:43 pm
Hier kom n verskriklikke ontploffing saterdag. Ooh kak.
11 Sep 2012, 18:46 pm
There’s always a temptation for a coach to bring back the past but Bakkies’s best years are behind him. No matter what HM was thinking at the time. And even Matfield said in his book that the rugby in France is far removed from what he experienced in SA. And that is what he thought of the training sessions. No ways would Bakkies be ready to play against the AB’s this weekend. Flip will more than likely start with Alberts covering 4.
@stormersboy-104:
I seem to recall that Quinn Roux went on a short 6 month contract. Similar to Kanko.
11 Sep 2012, 18:47 pm
@Robzim-107: hahaha. Knew you would have said that. We have lost far too many Sharks from the start. Almost our whole team. So you losing a few more now kinda evens it out just a bit….hehe.
Elstadt was just a penalty machine at one stage. Have not watched all the cc games and some only a bit. So have not noticed Elstadt how his discipline is now.
11 Sep 2012, 18:48 pm
@lieflingblou-106:
OK, i take your point but i think you are a bit harsh on Eben. I think he has quite a cool head in general for a 20 year old who obviously gets provoked a lot. He would also have learnt from Saturday.
Anyway, he seems to prefer no4 and will probably not be used at number 5 by is franchise as they are well covered in that position so hopefully he can make number 4 his own as you suggested.
11 Sep 2012, 18:50 pm
@Puma-108: Played every game for the Sharks too! He’s done well for sure.
@cab-109: I think so too Cabbie. Also read that it will be a “fast” game between the two traditional rivals. Well not sure how “fast” it will be from our side….haha. Remember we playing in a stadium with a closed roof. They coming for us there I am dreading it.
We have too many key players out injured now too. Never mind just the game-plan. No Eben is a massive loss.
@Robzim-112: ja if it was Cliffie he would have taken Sharpe’s head clean off.
11 Sep 2012, 18:52 pm
Lemme tell you Saturday was fantastic – he is a future no 4 thru and thru – right now they shoulda picked elsdstadt and fourie and brussow and hougaard at 9 and they would taken the ABs might close, if nit down, as it stands tge mediocrities in selection are likely to get punished by the AB machine, and my guess is heavily.
11 Sep 2012, 18:53 pm
@stormersboy-113: He sure has bud. Has grown as a plyer this season hugely. Never hides away from the hard graft either. Also never misses a tackle ever that I can remember either. Been great for Sharks.
11 Sep 2012, 18:55 pm
@stormersboy-115:
Cliffie is probably very disappointed with that failed headbutt- probably cannot wait for Eben to return so that he can teach him the finer intricacies of the technique
Pumes – I see u just selected Bresler, I think u now got the entire sharks team pencilled in including some reserves..
@cab-116: Elstadt is injured again. Not playing in the cc this weekend never mind for the Boks Cabbie.
11 Sep 2012, 18:59 pm
@cab-119: Yes, then Bresler deserves a mention. He has been outstanding for Sharks this season. AND there I forgot my own Shark player when we were talking about 5 locks. Check Jinxie 2 post (99) reminding us of Bresler. Jinxie 2 is a Stormer supporter bud. So there you have it, not just me that sees Bresler as a excellent player.
11 Sep 2012, 19:00 pm
Okay out of here. Catch up tomorrow.
Cheers everyone.
11 Sep 2012, 19:03 pm
Pumes – I believe Durban high school have a lock with 2 legs – why not give him a shot?
11 Sep 2012, 19:14 pm
@Puma-121:
Bresler is a future Bok. Just need a new coach to “get it”. Ask Mark Andrews. I would have Bresler at 4 and Eben at 5, with Elstadt as first lock replacement. Massive power and athleticism in all three. Bekker at 8 (off the bench
) as Vermeulen’s replacement. Hostile takeover of the series.
11 Sep 2012, 19:14 pm
@Robzim-103: Also anybody who would of watch all the junior bok games would of seen that it was the most terrible display of a bok lineout ever. Not so sure if Ruan Botha is the answer at 5. The thing is we have a big problem here. Bekker has had all the chances imaginable and couldn’t do anything with it, and Kruger well he still has to show us much more. After witnessing his Great S15 debut I truly hope he stands up in the postion and gives us the show he gave us in the S15. He could of done better on the Alexander tackle but then again he had to come from the side to stop a prop at full charge who should not of been let through by Mvovo and alberts in the first place.
11 Sep 2012, 19:56 pm
@lieflingblou-125: Kruger should have put his shoulder in, instead he jumped on Alexander’s back schoolboy style
Anyhow, if Argentina can hold NZ for 70 minutes the Boks should have a sniff of winning if their backline keeps it in hand and puts a couple of tries on the board.
However, if they kick, kick, kick the Meyer way then they may as well not bother playing.
11 Sep 2012, 19:58 pm
Eben got out-psyched by a veteran lock who has got every single t-shirt. It is why I love this game.
11 Sep 2012, 20:05 pm
@PissAnt-127:
Sharpe milked it big time. And I don’t recall him even touching his forehead after the so-called incident.
Unfortunately for Eben, he is just paying school fees.
11 Sep 2012, 20:11 pm
Ja schoolboy error. He’ll learn.
11 Sep 2012, 20:11 pm
@Big Hit-126:
> However, if they kick, kick, kick the Meyer way then they may as well not bother playing.
We’ve got a no 10 standing so deep, the inside center would get the man and the bal at the same time
Our centres won’t pass a ball if their lives depended on it
We might as well pick two more brawny tackle-and-crashball centres on the wings as well, they’re not going to score tries anyway
11 Sep 2012, 20:25 pm
Well it looks like the Lambsteris about to pop!
Frustrated Lambie wants to impress Meyer
Patrick Lambie expressed his frustration on Tuesday with his bit-part role with the Springboks during this year’s Rugby Championship but said that he would do everything in his power to prove to coach Heyneke Meyer that he is ready for a role in South Africa’s starting XV.
11 Sep 2012, 20:45 pm
@RL-131: What’s your story, RugbyCuntie? Why the fancy for Lambieghini?
Not enough Pussycats left at Ellis to follow, now that they all leaving like rats off the sinking ship?
Lol
11 Sep 2012, 20:57 pm
No one mentioned lights went out@half time@the stadium for the All Black for 20 minutes
Heaven forbid that happened here in SA!
Can only imagine the uproar
11 Sep 2012, 21:09 pm
from hero to zero in 12 and a half easy hours….
man
i really wanted to see bakkies back so badly
what a let down
11 Sep 2012, 21:12 pm
@I am a stormer-128:
Paying school fees is the best description I have heard!
Eben will learn from this, and hopefully in 10 years time be around to inflict the same lesson.
11 Sep 2012, 21:18 pm
@RL-131: Btw, some little birdy tweets going around about a few Pussycats on Rudi’s shopping list…
A lock, prop and two smoking backline players.
Maybe you might find yourself supporting your Varkies… You might feel right at home. Looks like your players certainly do
11 Sep 2012, 21:24 pm
@Heavens Game-136:
> two smoking backline players
Will Strauli include some Dubbin Poison in their contract?
11 Sep 2012, 21:29 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-134:
Do you still really believe in Father Christmas?
11 Sep 2012, 21:38 pm
@victoriabok-137: Irie mon
11 Sep 2012, 21:40 pm
The best news ever… Y go 1 step back when we can take 2 steps forward?
1-beast 2-strauss 3-cilliers(saturday)
1-coenie 2-chilli 3-jannie(when @home)
4-vd merwe 5-kruger(saturday)
4-etzebeth 5-kruger(when @home)
6-coetzee 7-louw 8-vermeulen(saturday)
6-brussow 7-alberts 8-vermeulen(@home)
9-pienaar 10-steyn( saturday)
9-hougaard 10-goosen(@home)
11-hougaard 15-lambie 14-habana(saturday)
11-habana 15-lambie 14-basson(@home)
12-fsteyn 13-de villiers(saturday)
12-fstyn 13-engelbrecht(@home)
16-liebenberg 17-malherbe 18-bekker(saturday)
16-strauss 17-jannie 18-vd merwe(@home)
19-alberts 20-goosen 21-de jong 22-mvovo(satur)
19-coetzee 20-pienaar 21-de jong 22-taute(@home)
We have the resources we have the players we have the attitude but surely we(coaching staff) don’t have the believe in our new/next generation… Once they understand the valuer of our laaities they will see the character which they can show… Give em a chance sa coaching staff
11 Sep 2012, 21:40 pm
@victoriabok-130: Steyn is standing deep so as to give himself maximum time to kick. With different gameplan instructions and some quick ball I’m sure he can stand flatter.
Still, I don’t see what SA have to lose by giving Lambie or Goosen a run at 10 (except perhaps goal-kicking but they’re not going to win this test with penalties anyway).
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-134: Bakkies is better off out of it until SA home tests, jet-lag would surely reduce his effectiveness.
11 Sep 2012, 21:43 pm
@I am a stormer-138:
for a while there i farken did.
farkit
i was genuinely ecstatic
this was the best news of the week for me, best news of the month
i was making all these plans in my head about things i would do to treat myself and the loved ones. i genuinely felt that good about life and world again.
fark
i just dont want to hear there was a kiwi hand in this
that would be it for me…i coudn’t take that
my blood pressure is in its moer already
fark
11 Sep 2012, 21:43 pm
@Heavens Game-139:
Cabous always looked like he has partaken in the green stuff before a game
Ian Mac should have, he always looked like he was going to pop a vein in a-ss during a game
Imagine the Bulls` Oom Wynie op Boom?
11 Sep 2012, 21:44 pm
@Big Hit-141:
you’re probably right.
home tests are non negotiable for meyer.
must win no matter what.
11 Sep 2012, 21:45 pm
right i’m off
11 Sep 2012, 21:46 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-142: Lol
11 Sep 2012, 21:46 pm
@Big Hit-141:
MS used to run the ball, he played inside centre for Derrick for a season or more till Liefling got injured
MS ran a lot and we scored a lot of tries
He hasn’t been playing well for two years, both at teh Bulls and Boks, under different coaches.
I think he needs a break
11 Sep 2012, 21:50 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-142:
cheers mate.
11 Sep 2012, 21:50 pm
@Heavens Game-146:
there’s no justice man
cheers boet
11 Sep 2012, 21:51 pm
@victoriabok-143: Ja, Cabous before and after… Old Mad Eye Mac I reckon hits that bong in many moments of reflection…
Oom Wynie? fark that’ll be the day
But probably needs it specially now more than ever with promotion relegation looming
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 » Show All