Toulon refuse to release Botha
11 Sep 2012
Toulon are adamant that Bakkies Botha will play for the French club this weekend and not for the Springboks.
With a suspension to Eben Etzebeth looming, Botha was placed on standby by Bok coach Heyneke Meyer on Monday. It was hoped that Botha would join the Boks in New Zealand in the event that Etzebeth was banned for a headbutt on Nathan Sharpe.
Etzebeth has since been banned for two weeks, but the Boks will need to replace the Stormers lock with somebody other than Botha.
Botha’s club, Toulon, has decided to block the big lock’s return to international rugby. Toulon coach Bernard Laporte was quoted in French newspaper L’Equipe saying Botha would play for the club against Montpellier this Friday.
The Boks will have to make do without Botha’s services, and it now seems likely that Flip van der Merwe will join his Bulls team-mate Juandre Kruger in the second row.

335 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 » Show All
11 Sep 2012, 21:52 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-149: IAAS hit it beautifully
Santa Claus aint coming to town…
Cheers.
11 Sep 2012, 21:53 pm
@I am a stormer-148:
ja, lekker slaap en cheers
11 Sep 2012, 21:56 pm
@Heavens Game-150:
The Bulls management are f-cked in the head
They buy the best talent is SA and a lot of future Boks
Then with the leftover change they shop around for a bargain basement coach
They should have kept Pote Human
Or get Stonehouse, he’s got no big name players but the Pumas play well under his coaching…
Like Heyneke did at SWD Eagleswhen he started out….
11 Sep 2012, 22:02 pm
@victoriabok-153: Still figuring out how they beat the Sharks then got farked up silly by WePee in the space of a week…
11 Sep 2012, 22:12 pm
Any truth to the rumour that Frik du Preez has found his old BG Continentals in the tractor-shed, has fitted them with brand-new bootlaces and is now boarding a Vickers Viscount to fly to Dunedin in time for the test?
11 Sep 2012, 22:13 pm
Okay, in my best Russian…
Do svidanja
11 Sep 2012, 22:14 pm
@Heavens Game-154:
They lack experience, they should have bought an experienced coach, and some journeyman players to anchor the youngstersm, the Bulls did it before with Warren Brosnihan and Wikus van Heerden
As for Pine, I don’t care if he’s from Grey College, a CC coach he ain’t
11 Sep 2012, 22:15 pm
Cape Town – Western Province appear to be mulling over the possibility of signing uncapped Springbok flyhalf Elton Jantjies.
“I’ll definitely have a media conference regarding that very soon…” WP coach Allister Coetzee said when asked about his interest in Jantjies and the possibility of matching the Kings’ offer for Currie Cup pivot Demetri Catrakilis
11 Sep 2012, 22:16 pm
@grant10-158:
Do the deal WP….
Catch a wake up…
11 Sep 2012, 22:23 pm
@TheTackler-155:
Daar’s ‘n rumour dat ‘n doos in NZ se internetverbinding weer aangesluit in na
Saterdagaand se kragonderbreking
Skynbaar moes sy Ouma hom mond tot mond asemhaling gegee het, hy het ‘n paniekaanval gekry nadat die Argentyne amper sy spannetjie pak gegee het voor halftyd en toe dit skielik swart geword het was dit net te veel
11 Sep 2012, 22:36 pm
@grant10-158:
> uncapped Springbok flyhalf Elton Jantjies
Ok, if he hasn’t played no 10 in a Bok jersey how can he be an “uncapped Springbok flyhalf” ?
He should have had a few caps by now though
11 Sep 2012, 23:45 pm
@victoriabok-153: if pine is rubbish then blame Heyneke! he personally went and poached him along with sadie, adongo, engelbrecht, potgieter for his then “new high-tempo-ball-in-hand” approach for the bulls!
11 Sep 2012, 23:50 pm
@victoriabok-161: he startedin a Bok jersey against the Barbarians in 2010 @ Twickenham, as you know players don’t get capped for those games…
12 Sep 2012, 01:02 am
Bugger !!
As a Kiwi I was hoping Botha would play. We love him over here. No brains, no skills & a guaranteed yellow card every game.
Please let him play Toulon.
12 Sep 2012, 01:12 am
@Transformation-162:
Exactly, p-iss poor impulse buying, Pep Stores vs Woolworths, Sadie has done sweet f-all, Adongo left because he couldn’t cut it, Jacques Tarzan-van-Despatch Potgieter f-ing useless all swinging, diving in and losing the ball forward in the tackle, time and time again and Pine.
The gap between high school rugby and professional rugby is a big one, why must the Bulls pay for his learning curve?
The only worthwhile purchase was JJ
Pine’s ball in the hand approach does work, for the opposition that is, because as soon as the Bulls forwards have secured it, the backs would kick it into their hands, guaranteed
Why buy Pine?
The Lions are going belly up, buy Serfontein back, he had lots of success with the Bulls juniors before he left
Maybe the merger between the Bulls and Lions isn’t such a bad idea as Tac made it out to be, they suck at S15 and we at CC, maybe together we would both suck less on average?
12 Sep 2012, 01:13 am
@Ricardo10-164:
A yellow for f-ing up Ritchie is a bargain
12 Sep 2012, 01:39 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-142: Hey Bakkies….word is over here in little old NZ, is that the NZRFU rang Toulon and specifically asked them to hold off releasing Bakkies Botha for the test in Dunedin this weekend. PMSL!
12 Sep 2012, 01:46 am
@NZRugby-167:
Find that hard to believe
12 Sep 2012, 02:38 am
@NZRugby-167: nah. thats not the story
truth is Bakkies asked Toulon to say they wont release him..
its because our halfbacks are bigger than Gio, so he’s scared..
12 Sep 2012, 02:47 am
@victoriabok-166:
And there we have it.
Exactly what the world rugby society expects from South Africans.
Thanks for clearing that up. But i think one of your posters that has issues (we all know who it is) believe South Africa dont do that, they dont go offside, or throw forward passes, they dont even head butt or eye gouge.
NOw if he heard what you just said he would be so annoyed that he would have to blame POB or Richie for you posting that.
12 Sep 2012, 03:38 am
@victoriabok-166
Yes, I agree with Hurricane but let’s forget about the poster with the issues. He seems to be one of those insignificant types that has to post numerous comments to make himself feel good.
As for victoriabok ……… The hatred & sheer jealousy certain Bok supporters have toward Richie astounds me. When I think back over the years the number of Bok forwards that have brought the game into disrepute through mindless thuggery would fill an album.
Make no mistake if Richie McCaw was born in Cape Town, Pretoria or Johannesburg not only would he be your captain, he would also be a national treasure.
12 Sep 2012, 03:46 am
The team’s been released…and once again, it’s kak
12 Sep 2012, 03:47 am
The Springbok team that will face New Zealand in the fourth Test in The Castle Rugby Championship in Dunedin on Saturday shows two changes from the side that played Australia last weekend.
Both changes are in the forwards, where lock Flip van der Merwe replaces the suspended Eben Etzebeth while Francois Louw comes in for Marcell Coetzee at flank.
There are four more changes on the bench, where Coetzee joins Dean Greyling, Andries Bekker and Juan de Jongh amongst the replacements.
“The New Zealanders are good on the ground which is why we decided to go for a specialist openside flank in Francois,” said Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer.
“Marcell has been very good this season and has played a lot of rugby, but in this match we feel he will be more useful as an impact option.”
Jannie du Plessis has been named at tighthead prop despite struggling with a hamstring niggle. Meyer said the Springboks’ medical team is working very hard on the injured players and that Du Plessis will be given until Friday to fully shake off his injury, but if he fails to recover in time, Pat Cilliers will start in the No 3-shirt.
“We will not take any chances with injured players and we have time to get him and Pat (Cilliers) match ready,” said Meyer.
Greyling will be on the bench to provide prop cover, while Bekker takes over from Van der Merwe in the No 18 shirt. De Jongh comes in for Lwazi Mvovo on the bench.
The Springboks’ starting XV have a combined total of 482 Test caps – 136 in the forwards and 346 in the backline.
The Springbok team to face New Zealand in Dunedin is (Test caps in brackets):
15 Zane Kirchner, Vodacom Blue Bulls (18)
12 Sep 2012, 03:50 am
@171, …..well well well, could it be wet pantie in diguise?
Very similar anti saffa hatred and vile,…………if not wet pantie then another of epic proportions!
12 Sep 2012, 03:50 am
The Springbok team to face New Zealand in Dunedin is (Test caps in brackets):
15 Zane Kirchner, Vodacom Blue Bulls (18)
14 Bryan Habana, DHL Western Province (80)
13 Jean de Villiers (captain), DHL Western Province (78)
12 Frans Steyn, The Sharks (52)
11 Francois Hougaard, Vodacom Blue Bulls (21)
10 Morné Steyn, Vodacom Blue Bulls (40)
9 Ruan Pienaar, Ulster, N-Ireland (57)
8 Duane Vermeulen, DHL Western Province (1)
7 Willem Alberts, The Sharks (14)
6 Francois Louw, Bath, England (11)
5 Juandré Kruger, Vodacom Blue Bulls (4)
4 Flip van der Merwe, Vodacom Blue Bulls (17)
3 Jannie du Plessis, The Sharks (36)
2 Adriaan Strauss (vice-captain), Toyota FS Cheetahs (15)
1 Tendai Mtawarira, The Sharks (38)
Replacements
16 Tiaan Liebenberg, DHL Western Province (2)
17 Dean Greyling, Vodacom Blue Bulls (2)
18 Andries Bekker, DHL Western Province (26)
19 Marcell Coetzee, The Sharks (6)
20 Johan Goosen, Toyota FS Cheetahs (1)
21 Juan de Jongh, DHL Western Province (10)
22 Pat Lambie, The Sharks (14)
Stats and facts:
• Saturday’s Test will be the 84th between South Africa and New Zealand.
• The Springboks and New Zealand last met in the 2011 Castle Tri-Nations in Port Elizabeth, which was won by South Africa 18-5.
• The Springboks have played eight Test matches against New Zealand in Dunedin, winning only once – at Carisbrook in 2008 (30-28). This will be the first Test for the Springboks at the newly-built Forsyth Barr Stadium.
• With 39 Tests, Morné Steyn is the most capped Springbok flyhalf. He also holds the record for the most career tries in Tests as a flyhalf (7 tries) and is the Springbok record holder for most career points in this tournament (229 points).
• Steyn’s 56 penalty goals are the most by a Springbok in this tournament and he shares the overall record for most career drop goals in the tournament with André Pretorius (4). He needs 17 points to reach 500 career Test points for the Springboks.
• Steyn has scored 109 Test points for the Springboks against New Zealand – the most by any South African. He also holds the record for the most career penalty goals by a Springbok against New Zealand – 28.
• Bryan Habana, who will play in his 30th Test in this competition, is the most-capped Springbok wing (79 Tests) and the South African record holder for the most Test tries, which he extended last weekend against Australia to 42. Bryan needs one try to become South Africa’s top try scorer in the tournament.
• The referee is George Clancy from Ireland, who has refereed in five Tests involving South Africa. The Springboks have won four of those Tests and lost one.
• Springbok Test match records in Dunedin against New Zealand:
o Most points: 12 by Percy Montgomery (3c, 2p) in 2005.
o Most tries: 1 by eight players on nine occasions. Ricky January scored a try on two occasions, his last in the 75th minute of the match in 2008 which enabled the Boks to win their first test in 87 years at Carisbrook.
o Most conversions: 3 by Percy Montgomery in 2005.
o Most penalty goals: 3 by each of André Joubert in 1994 and Percy Montgomery in 2008.
o Most drop goals: 1 by Butch James in 2008.
12 Sep 2012, 03:51 am
and the missing word is?
Dooooooooooooooooooooooooooooos!
12 Sep 2012, 03:54 am
Zane and morne….in the team again….heyneke….they must give wonderfull blowjobs ….for there spots on the team…
12 Sep 2012, 04:07 am
Hey Whatever ……..
Not sure who wet panties is but Im a 56yr old Kiwi who now lives in Brisbane & since I was a kid I have had to put up with rabid Bok supporters & their media praising everything & anything with a f*cking Springbok emblem on it’s jersey.
When you win you’re laughingly the worlds best. When you lose it’s everyone else’s fault. Cheating refs, cheating coaches, cheating opposition. And finally when you are unable to blame anyone else but your own incompetant teams you turn on them like the rabid dogs SOME (& I note only some)of you can become.
Yes you love your rugby…..who f*cking doesn’t. What sh*ts many rugby fans around the world is that no one can beat SA …… we just score more points. Always an excuse & getting worse !!
What a sad f*cking mess SA rugby has become. De Villiers was hated so you got rid of him. HM has been in the job less than a year & already the knives are out for him.
Do the rest of the rugby world a favour & take up lawn bowls. We’re sick & tired of your one eyed, ill informed viriole you sad bast*rds.
12 Sep 2012, 04:11 am
@Ricardo10-178: Come on dude its just rugby.
12 Sep 2012, 04:13 am
@Gazelle-175: Lambie at 15, Goosen at 10. That’s about as good a team as we’ve got.
Morne – major liability.
Zane less so. But Lambie would add more kop. Zane run like a hare with Tabasco on his ars then kick the ball as high as you can as if it was a live hand grenade.
12 Sep 2012, 04:14 am
@Hurricane-170: @poppa69-169: Hello you KiwiBastards
12 Sep 2012, 04:50 am
Jano Vermark needs start along with Steyn
12 Sep 2012, 06:48 am
@SodaJoe-181:

Hey Soda, how is it going?
12 Sep 2012, 07:11 am
@Ricardo10-178:
Yep you sound like a 58 year ok’d kiwi male.
Mental age 12.
Yao you have a cousin in china?
12 Sep 2012, 07:20 am
I thoughT club players had to be released to play for their country.
12 Sep 2012, 07:58 am
Just been doing some homework on Espn. Of the 22 tests that victor matfield played against the AB’s, the Boks won 8 times (a 36% win ratio. Whilst I agree Matfield was one of the great locks of international rugby, the idea that the AB’s were fearful of the Boks during his reign, which included the 2007 WC win, is clearly wrong.
The posters on this site who want to restore the old guard to the team as a stop gap have a rise tinted view of the matfield\smit/juan/smit/fdp era.
Even if you just take the period from 2009 to 2011, the win rate was only 50/50. Not bad, but hardly the result of a team of supermen.
I think the boks need to salute the old guard, but leave them in france and get in and build a new crop of bok legends. I think that is what the AB’s will try to do.
12 Sep 2012, 08:25 am
Fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuck .. I cant believe that team, it is total shite. I will not be watching and will be pleasantly surprised if we keep it to within 20points.
It is the forwards where the biggest problem lies but we cant seem to get out of our own way with this obsession with MSteyn.
12 Sep 2012, 08:59 am
@Ricardo10-178: Go fuckyourmother you wifebeater!
.co.za is the extension on this site – our place, our conversations, our rules if you wanna talk k@k do it at home! Or are you a little frustrated today cause your big *** wife PO€SED you back this time.
And yes the kiwis are the most dirty and sly of all rugby sides on the globe. Why don’t you do us and the rest of the world a favour and show us how you can win with a clean game for a change, especially when it comes to playing the ball on the ground. But I guess that would be an impossible ask as it’s in your culture to thrive when flat on the ground!
12 Sep 2012, 09:15 am
@lieflingblou-188:
Looks like Ricardo got you right. 100%.
12 Sep 2012, 09:26 am
@cane-189: Coming from another kiwi!
12 Sep 2012, 09:47 am
@cane-189: careful Cane, with his name he looks like on of those smart Afrikaaners.. you know, the ones who know that SA lead the world in domestic violence and as such realise that throwing that type of thing at kiwis only ever comes back to shut him up..
still, with Meyers 60% win ratio it continues the fine trend since isolation of SA’s winning percentage continuing to decline..
lets not be too hard on our SA brothers, for 70 odd years they believed they were the best in the world, hiding behind restricting the opposition from bringing their best players and hometown refs..
now that the truth has been set free, they realise just how ordinary their team is, and it messes with their minds, especially those from the highveldt where thinner oxygen really does create an impact
12 Sep 2012, 09:48 am
@poppa69-191: sorry, Meyers 50% win ratio lol
12 Sep 2012, 10:00 am
Actually who knows – the Boks will probably win – never have I seen the kiwis so arrogant in a build-up before, maybe tge springbok still sticks one of it’s horns up some emu butt.
Black is like red to a bull for a bok – unfortunately most of the boks are bulls.
@lieflingblou-188:
Now Now Liefy………………………………………………………”Go fuckyourmother you wifebeNter! “.
Is NOT nice.
” our place, our conversations, our rules”. WRONG. This the World Wide WEB liefy………………………………………..World wide, get it.
If you want your place, your conversations, your rules. You get yourself off to your local Broederbond Meeting.
@poppa69-191: you know way too little about south africa too make a claim about domestic violence my friend. And your statistics in that field are probably non existant cause the pigs also beat their wifes. Its cultural so will never be reported. Oh and seeing as we are talking about names have a nice day pedo!
12 Sep 2012, 10:02 am
@corporal punishment-186: ‘Even if you just take the period from 2009 to 2011, the win rate was only 50/50.’
those players weren’t available for all the games during this period, very often it would only be 2 or 3 of the players you mention.
They were all available for 2009 however and were pretty impressive against the Lions and in the 3N.
12 Sep 2012, 10:06 am
@cab-193:
I agree cab. On paper not a bad Bok Team.
We will have to wait and see.
@poppa69-191:
careful is my middle name.
12 Sep 2012, 10:07 am
@lieflingblou-195: hahahahahah lmao , yep true intellectual genius you are..
do some research chump, face facts, SA has the highest incident of domestic violence in the world… I just wonder how many incidences ARENT reported, we all know your police force is just as corrupt..
its cultural is it? like Apartheid was also “cultural”
12 Sep 2012, 10:08 am
@lieflingblou-188:
Thats not nice.
Wife beating seems a bit of a joke to you, seems typical.Not really the first on here to make a joke of it.
Anyway Keois part of the World Web.Last i looked the world means……the world. Thank your lucky stars even losers like you is part of it.
So what part of a clean game are you going to show us?
Who has just been banned? By clean is that what you mean?
12 Sep 2012, 10:10 am
caner – nice of u to say but it’s not a great team -this one will have to be won on sheer guts me thinks.
Popps – what happens to the world champ tag if bokke B side win? Do they replay the 2011 semi with barnesey to replace brycie?
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 » Show All