Meyer defiant on Morné

Morne Steyn will start at flyhalf against the All Blacks in Dunedin.

Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has selected Steyn and made just two changes to the side beaten by Australia in Perth.

Francois Louw starts in the specialist openside role, with Marcell Coetzee among the substitutes.

‘The New Zealanders are good on the ground which is why we decided to go for a specialist openside flank in Francois,’ said Meyer. ‘Marcell has been very good this season and has played a lot of rugby, but in this match we feel he will be more useful as an impact option.’

Meanwhile, Flip van der Merwe starts at lock, Andries Bekker is recalled to the match 22 and tighthead prop Jannie du Plessis has been declared fit. Toulon-based lock Bakkies Botha won’t be involved and the issue with Botha is believed to be medical insurance – a similar situation which hampered Fourie du Preez’s return to Test rugby this season.

Johan Goosen is again among the substitutes and there’s a match squad call-up for Juan de Jongh and Dean Greyling.

Steyn kicked all 18 points in the Boks’ 18-5 win against the All Blacks in Port Elizabeth a year ago and holds the record of most points against the All Blacks when he scored all 31 points in the Boks’ win in Bloemfontein in 2009.

However, the Boks, with Steyn at flyhalf, have not enjoyed the kind of success that warrants continued selection. Steyn has played flyhalf in the Boks’ last 30 Tests and have won just 16.

South Africa’s rivalry with New Zealand is considered the fiercest in the game, but the All Blacks have been dominant in the professional era. Pre-isolation the Boks held a 21-16 winning advantage, but since international readmission in 1992 the All Blacks have won 30 and the Boks just 13. One Test has been drawn, 18-18 in Auckland in 1994.

Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jean de Villiers (c), 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Dean Greyling, 18 Andries Bekker, 19 Marcell Coetzee, 20 Johan Goosen, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie.

784 Comments

Pages: « 16 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] Show All

• 751.gunther: Reply to this comment

@carol-749:

I know angel.

That’s why you are putty in my cultured hands.

• 752.katman: Reply to this comment

Ah what the fck. Let Albie have some fun now.

• 753.gunther: Reply to this comment

Severe tactical miscalculations here.

Shouldn’t have bowled Osceola at the end and shouldn’t have waited so long to send jallis and Morkel in.

• 754.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@katman-752:

Would like to have seen more of Albie this tour. Pity about his injury. But if he and Levi come off we could be the biz.

• 755.carol: Reply to this comment

@gunther-751:
    Behave, or Sheriff will start another rumour!!

You know how painful that can be!

• 756.gunther: Reply to this comment

@carol-755:

Don’t worry my lovely.

The DA have promised to stay out of it.

• 757.katman: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-754: Other than that one innings of 117, has Levi done anything for the Proteas?

• 758.katman: Reply to this comment

That “catch” is like a freshie in golf. Surely a round of drinks for the team.

• 759.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-758:

Shirley Temples all round.

Bollocks.

Still we won where it mattered.

• 760.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-759: Yeah. On paper. They were rubbish there.

• 761.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@katman-757:

Other than the other ton against the Lions, not really.

But one always expects a repeat at some stage. THe guy has talent. But I think the expectation is getting to him. That he has to prove himself.

• 762.carol: Reply to this comment

@katman-758:
    Why do you want me to bash Broad anyway?
    I like a lefthander, they make the wicket look more interesting!

• 763.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-760:
    And the tests.

Fuckadilly predicted this.

• 764.katman: Reply to this comment

@carol-762: You like lefthanders. Gunther likes the ladies with small hands. Each to his/her own.

• 765.katman: Reply to this comment

@carol-762: But to answer your question – because he’s go “bash me” written all over his smug little face. You’ll be doing society a favour.

• 766.PielNeus: Reply to this comment

ooo daar is iets net hierso, net wag a klein bit longer. Lekker breinbraai rooostytoooosties. You will not be jammar. When you see this, everyting will make cents.

• 767.carol: Reply to this comment

Night Chaps..Not having Mr Murdock’s Sky TV I see no cricket.

Shame, having a short attentions span, I like Twenty 20 Cricket! :-)

• 768.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-763: Fuckadily has predicted just about everything, including steam powered cars, the rapture and the reunion of Jefferson Airplane. So he’s bound to be right from time to time.

• 769.carol: Reply to this comment

@katman-765:

He went to Oakham School, quite a modest Public School in what was Rutland now Leicestershire!

Nothing to write home about! :-)

• 770.viewer: Reply to this comment

96.?capetown said: ?
    12 Sep 2012, 08:56 am
    Rene Naylor, Bok Physio, Coaching The Boks

What? I’m calling bullsh*t on your suggestion. Rene said in the Sunda Times that she has an additional task of relaying messages from the coach to the players on the field. She said the coach sometimes tells her to inform a player that he’s off if he repeats a certain action. BUT (here’s my legal background kicking in) she’s been physio with the boks since 2008 & much longer with WP. Therefore It is open to interpretation whether its HM that’s said that to her or whether its any of the other coaches that have been her colleagues. Admittedly what she said was too revealing but at best she’d be able to spot signs of premature fatigue and inform the coach accordingly. That’s not coaching

• 771.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@PielNeus-766:

Nothing makes cents. Your brain is fried.

• 772.carol: Reply to this comment

@gunther-763:

Whats the small hands ‘thingie’?

Is it something to do with Pilates?

• 773.PielNeus: Reply to this comment

@katman-768: ja maar elke kont kan seen katterslet ou maat, manneer het seun by die korrelkop balless sooooooo diesel-vas.. einaaaaai is die word. moenie wrinkals he, gebruik mit vreiheid, nie copyrightered

• 774.gunther: Reply to this comment

@carol-769:

Minor public school.

• 775.gunther: Reply to this comment

@carol-772:

I think Katters is saying that your dainty digits will make my membrum virile seem bigger.

It will be like like parking a pantechnicon in an Easter Egg.

• 776.katman: Reply to this comment

@carol-772: A bird in the hand is worth two if the hand is tiny…

• 777.carol: Reply to this comment

@gunther-775:
    @katman-776:

Yikes, I’m off…… Getting scary here lol ;-)

• 778.katman: Reply to this comment

Cheers all.

• 779.gunther: Reply to this comment

Be good Pielneus.

And if you can’t, try not to leave any fingerprints.

• 780.PielNeus: Reply to this comment

@carol-772: De door was oped by a tea-stained wreck, wearing de flayed remains of a bread-loaf vest, a small handed white tie and both feet in one sock

• 781.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-502: That’s a kak story bud,and you know it.

• 782.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Cheers folks. Been fun.

• 783.PielNeus: Reply to this comment

@carol-772: good night

• 784.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Liverpool supporters still crying i see.People in England can sometimes be so precious at times.

Pages: « 16 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.