Meyer defiant on Morné
12 Sep 2012
Morne Steyn will start at flyhalf against the All Blacks in Dunedin.
Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has selected Steyn and made just two changes to the side beaten by Australia in Perth.
Francois Louw starts in the specialist openside role, with Marcell Coetzee among the substitutes.
‘The New Zealanders are good on the ground which is why we decided to go for a specialist openside flank in Francois,’ said Meyer. ‘Marcell has been very good this season and has played a lot of rugby, but in this match we feel he will be more useful as an impact option.’
Meanwhile, Flip van der Merwe starts at lock, Andries Bekker is recalled to the match 22 and tighthead prop Jannie du Plessis has been declared fit. Toulon-based lock Bakkies Botha won’t be involved and the issue with Botha is believed to be medical insurance – a similar situation which hampered Fourie du Preez’s return to Test rugby this season.
Johan Goosen is again among the substitutes and there’s a match squad call-up for Juan de Jongh and Dean Greyling.
Steyn kicked all 18 points in the Boks’ 18-5 win against the All Blacks in Port Elizabeth a year ago and holds the record of most points against the All Blacks when he scored all 31 points in the Boks’ win in Bloemfontein in 2009.
However, the Boks, with Steyn at flyhalf, have not enjoyed the kind of success that warrants continued selection. Steyn has played flyhalf in the Boks’ last 30 Tests and have won just 16.
South Africa’s rivalry with New Zealand is considered the fiercest in the game, but the All Blacks have been dominant in the professional era. Pre-isolation the Boks held a 21-16 winning advantage, but since international readmission in 1992 the All Blacks have won 30 and the Boks just 13. One Test has been drawn, 18-18 in Auckland in 1994.
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jean de Villiers (c), 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Dean Greyling, 18 Andries Bekker, 19 Marcell Coetzee, 20 Johan Goosen, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie.

784 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 » Show All
12 Sep 2012, 15:58 pm
@Jeraldjay-498:
Why would you sing another nations anthem rather than your own is beyond me.
I think they do it for attention.
If everybody ignored it they would soon stop.
However if they abuse out players they should be horsewhipped.
12 Sep 2012, 16:01 pm
@Transformation-493:
Transie a cousin of mine actually witness two big Dutch-man holding down a Cape Crusader dressed in an AB jersey at Newlands and pissing on him.
He and his friend couldn’t do anything ’cause these guys were big.
12 Sep 2012, 16:04 pm
@shooter-467:
bakkies is amazing
the world knows this
12 Sep 2012, 16:05 pm
@Jeraldjay-502: You could dine out on that story for a long time.
12 Sep 2012, 16:08 pm
@Jeraldjay-502:
That’s 100,000 hits on YouTube right there.
12 Sep 2012, 16:09 pm
@Jeraldjay-502: They must have been big to escape a knifing.
12 Sep 2012, 16:11 pm
@katman-497:
“just refrain from ever mentioning people’s names, or their family’s names, or their places of work here like it’s some kind of blackmail bargaining chip. Only seriously fcked up individuals do that.”
GUNTHER…GUNTHER… do you see what your big mate says here?
Take heed, my boy.
12 Sep 2012, 16:13 pm
@nama1-507:
When did I mention your family name poeslap?
And it was someone else here who mentioned your first name originally.
@katman-497:
Here’s the issue: you are offended that I mentioned your son’s name on this blog.
It was probably due to provocation from your side, so you need to understand that if you throw a punch, you’ve got to take one as well.
If I put the insults you have hurl in my direction on this very blog then it’s a nothing really. You therefore need not cry about it so incessantly.
Nevertheless I agree that we should not mention family names etc, so in that regard I apologize. I apologize merely because I want to honour my own principle, you do not deserve it.
I want to assure that there is nothing unique or unusual about you that would get attention. The name was mentioned here and I remembered it and I used it when you threw one of your ( what has now become) regular fits
@Transformation-484:
Ek het nie krag nie
!
12 Sep 2012, 16:16 pm
@Jeraldjay-502: i’d never stand for that kak, i don’t care if the guy is a CapeCrusader!
it seems the non-Cape Crusader people at Newlands are the ones easily irritated…no such kak in PE, you cheer your team i’ll cheer mine and let’s have a jol
12 Sep 2012, 16:17 pm
@Jeraldjay-502:
This AB supporter from my neck of the woods went into the bar at Newlands to buy 12 beers for their group wearing his AB shirt. While the rest of the okes were waiting for him outside, he was forced to down all 12 beers inside.
They are so tolerant, our white brothers.
I have bloggers fatigue
@gunther-505:
Poops would have wet dreams if he read that post.
@gunther-508:
What do you want from me?
Do you want me to acknowledge your existence? There. Happy now?
Can we move on now?
12 Sep 2012, 16:19 pm
Today, for the first time in many moons, I have joined the daytime bloggers.
And now, I have bloggers’ fatigue!!!
12 Sep 2012, 16:20 pm
@Dudeson77-499: Imagine being Cruden this weekend, he might have been concerned with Lambie’s on the gain line style and solid defence or Goosens X factor but now he knows he has a target to run at who defends terribly and will not challenge the gain line. They just need to field high bombs well and tackle our one off runners and they will win comfortably…man it’s frustrating!
@Sheriff-509: I told you we’re done. So save your fake groveling and lame explanations for someone else.
@Sheriff-515:
I was talking to Nama who was feeling left out.
As you were.
@gunther-508:
There we go. Gunther losing his cool.
So, it’s OK for you to do it just because somebody else did it first. I get it.
Jy bly maar ‘n tweegesig etter.
12 Sep 2012, 16:21 pm
@Jeraldjay-502: what kind of person derives pleasure from p.issing on another person?
no i’m not talking about R.Kelly…
12 Sep 2012, 16:23 pm
@nama1-520:
Because I called you a poeslap?
Stop acting like one then!
You seemed quite happy to use mine no?
12 Sep 2012, 16:24 pm
@Skeppie-517: watch nonu take the ball at first reciever and barging through MSteyn only to offload to Cruden or Snakey…
MSteyn is BLOODY lucky SBW is gone.
12 Sep 2012, 16:26 pm
@Jeraldjay-502:
in that vein, imakes me think of this story about this guy who looked and dressed the ‘maori’ AB supporter part. he was so sold on idealised perception of non-whites and their status and relationship to/with whites and maoris in nz (all based around his experiences of seeing the ab’s play rugby of course), that he emigrated lock stock, sold everything and took the whole family along to nz.
unfortunately for him it turned out not quite to be as rosy as his ideas of nz were because of watching the ab’s. he got moered a few times for being a foreigner by maoris and whites alike and experienced more racist abuse there than in his entire life here. also complained that his employers always took him for a ride and never paid him his worth (because he was maybe non white and foreign to boot, by his his estimation).
its a bit sad i suppose but ja, there you have it. the grass isn’t always green hey.
the poor people who support the ab’s locally just have no clue about the nature of things and life and this is in most part due to an outdated misperception about the ab’s and their place in rugby as well the historical experience of supporting them against the boks because at the time they were outsiders. that and perhaps also the fact that a lot of the ab’s are non white, this resonates.
anyway, that my two cents.
i still pity the guy and feel a little sad for him and his family. he was running from one ****** life circumstance only to to get caught out in another.
12 Sep 2012, 16:26 pm
@katman-518:
Can I recommend some anger management classes or pilates?
Get out a bit. West Coast or Route 62 – your choice but I’m firm on that advice.
12 Sep 2012, 16:28 pm
@Dawn-516:
The pace is too hectic for you.
Plus years of wear and tear ; fighting with the world
12 Sep 2012, 16:29 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-524: that’s a bullshit yarn if i’ve ever heard one…
as you were
12 Sep 2012, 16:31 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-524: next thing we’re going to hear that Dusky got mugged in Oslo and that it’s not always green on the other side
12 Sep 2012, 16:31 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-524:
That sounds like an urban legend.
12 Sep 2012, 16:33 pm
Bakkies that not an isolated story happens to expats in Aussie as well.
My brother lives in Adelaide and had a meeting with a client. They had a casual chat and my brother said his from South Africa and he felt that some Aussies never really accept the foreigners that settle down in Australia.
This “bloke” replied “I’m one of them”….
12 Sep 2012, 16:33 pm
@Sheriff-525: Seriously? Are you going to try and spin out of this with witticisms for the sake of the crowd here? After you found out my boy’s names and then posted them here to show me what exactly? That you knew where to find my family? And just what did you have in mind there?
You’re like a sick paedofile: you belong on a register, and your posts should come with a big red identifying mark.
12 Sep 2012, 16:34 pm
@gunther-522:
Hahaha…
Funny that.
When was that??
Ag los maar… eks tog nie lus nie….
12 Sep 2012, 16:35 pm
@Transformation-528:
He wouldn’t tell us that.
12 Sep 2012, 16:35 pm
@Transformation-527:
its the gods honest truth, transie.
i think he was even featured in a tv or newspaper story about saffas who moved to new zealand and their lives in the build up to one of the wc’s.
his is unfortunate because he’s not white and expected a non racial utopia there but there a as many stories of whites moving there to escape the ‘new south africa’ and the experience going pear shaped for them too.
it may or may not be the general experience of emigrants though. i wouldn’t know, i’m just recounting his personal experience.
12 Sep 2012, 16:36 pm
@Sheriff-526:
Aaaw.
Too hectic for me????
Really?
@gunther-529:
nope, the gods honest truth.
Suburban myth.
12 Sep 2012, 16:37 pm
@Jeraldjay-530:
yip, pretty much.
12 Sep 2012, 16:37 pm
@nama1-532:
Ja funny that indeed.
Go and find another leg to hump my boy.
12 Sep 2012, 16:39 pm
Ai Bakkies
@Transformation-528:
Lisbet Salander?
@nama1-537:
no, its the truth nama.
its unfortunate and a little sad but it happened. he also mentioned his children being ill treated and how hard its been for them to fit in.
@katman-531:
Have I triggered another cycle of fits?
When I come to CT again I will buy you a beer to calm you down. Then we can ‘donner’ each other if still not happy. Bring Gunther as back up.
Happy now?
Stop feeling so unsafe. Crime is a reality for all in this country.
12 Sep 2012, 16:41 pm
@Jeraldjay-530:
thing is the world’s a funny and complicated place at the best of times.
12 Sep 2012, 16:43 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-544:
Bakkies what do you do.
You spend lotta time here
@gunther-539:
No problem, my boy.
You ignore me and I will ignore you.
That includes not reacting on my posts to other people.
Sharp!!!
@Dawn-535:
It shouldn’t be, but I think it’s the cumulative effect of all the years.
I will buy you an Infamous Grousse when I come to CT again?
In the meantime, rest, lots of rest …
12 Sep 2012, 16:45 pm
@nama1-546:
Would you like a tissue?
12 Sep 2012, 16:47 pm
@Transformation-523: Yup, he will ride the tackle for 8 metres while allowing Nonu to offload to another runner who will have huge momentum. Then in the stats it will go down as a tackle!
12 Sep 2012, 16:47 pm
Bakkies and Jeraldjay speak truth…
The problem is that Saffas are on the whole farken insular.
That big wide world is very, very different to their preconceptions.
Pages: « 1 … 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 » Show All