Meyer defiant on Morné

Morne Steyn will start at flyhalf against the All Blacks in Dunedin.

Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has selected Steyn and made just two changes to the side beaten by Australia in Perth.

Francois Louw starts in the specialist openside role, with Marcell Coetzee among the substitutes.

‘The New Zealanders are good on the ground which is why we decided to go for a specialist openside flank in Francois,’ said Meyer. ‘Marcell has been very good this season and has played a lot of rugby, but in this match we feel he will be more useful as an impact option.’

Meanwhile, Flip van der Merwe starts at lock, Andries Bekker is recalled to the match 22 and tighthead prop Jannie du Plessis has been declared fit. Toulon-based lock Bakkies Botha won’t be involved and the issue with Botha is believed to be medical insurance – a similar situation which hampered Fourie du Preez’s return to Test rugby this season.

Johan Goosen is again among the substitutes and there’s a match squad call-up for Juan de Jongh and Dean Greyling.

Steyn kicked all 18 points in the Boks’ 18-5 win against the All Blacks in Port Elizabeth a year ago and holds the record of most points against the All Blacks when he scored all 31 points in the Boks’ win in Bloemfontein in 2009.

However, the Boks, with Steyn at flyhalf, have not enjoyed the kind of success that warrants continued selection. Steyn has played flyhalf in the Boks’ last 30 Tests and have won just 16.

South Africa’s rivalry with New Zealand is considered the fiercest in the game, but the All Blacks have been dominant in the professional era. Pre-isolation the Boks held a 21-16 winning advantage, but since international readmission in 1992 the All Blacks have won 30 and the Boks just 13. One Test has been drawn, 18-18 in Auckland in 1994.

Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jean de Villiers (c), 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Dean Greyling, 18 Andries Bekker, 19 Marcell Coetzee, 20 Johan Goosen, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie.

784 Comments

Pages: « 16 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 » Show All

• 551.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-545:
    i know, i shouldnt.
    will be shatt on for late deadlines.

i really want to stay anonymous dawn, if you could respect that. (i know its lame, sorry)
    but its close to the oil industry.

• 552.nama1: Reply to this comment

@gunther-548:
    Is this a break up???

• 553.gunther: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-551:

Petrol pump attendant?

• 554.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-550: did a Welshman moer you in London? :D

oh don’t answer is was a Zimbo :mrgreen:

• 555.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-545: Hmmm Dawn would it be inappropriate (based on the current drama) if we all pictured you as Lisbeth Salander?

• 556.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sharkie10-392: we can make all the excuses we want but the all blacks themselves have changed personel over the years and continued to WIN! since ’07 they have introduced : read, kaino, conrad smith, dagg, jane, kahui, h.gear, savea, aaron smith, liam messam, luke romano, sam whitelock, brodie retallick, sam cane, owen franks, ben franks, wyatt crockett and sonny bill williams

that is 18 players introduced and NO the win ratio never dropped because they only lost to australia, sa and france in 4 years.

when do they ever accept losing to us because they’re “rebuilding”?

• 557.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-550:

that’s a ****** life experience for anyone to go through.

• 558.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@gunther-541:
    Lisbeth is from Sweden, smartass

• 559.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@gunther-553: Olive/sunflower squasher?

• 560.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-530:

This is very true.

Experienced that myself there.

• 561.nama1: Reply to this comment

Rob Louw (@roblouw6) “At this stage our love and support for our beloved Boks is being tested. Might just go 4 a surf.”

I wonder if Divan is going to work in his garden like he did when JW was coach!

• 562.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gunther-553:
    hahahaha

not that there’s anything wrong with being a pomp jonnie.

but no, a lot higher up the food chain.

• 563.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-554: No. Never. Partial to Welshmen… But fark me Welsh woman are rougher than your Keo chicarita at the wrong time of the month…

• 564.gunther: Reply to this comment

@nama1-552:

Maybe some counseling is required.

You don’t just throw years away just like that.

• 565.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff-547:

No way in hell

• 566.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gunther-560:
    there you go.

life is a funny old girl.

• 567.Transformation: Reply to this comment

it’s amazing that dropping people’s names is seemingly frowned upon on the blog when repeatedly Wooden Spoon and HG have taken turns to drop mine, even though HG got his intel wrong…

• 568.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-555:

I take no prisoners

• 569.gunther: Reply to this comment

@TooMuchRugby-558:

Ahhhh.

Are you feeling left out plank?

• 570.gunther: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-562:

Ah.

The carwash.

You fukkers have lot to answer for.

The radio reception is shatile ever since I used your wash and go service at Constantia Village.

• 571.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-557: No such thing as transformation or EE… People don’t understand a Saffa properly and its “Speak English!”. No mercy.

• 572.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@gunther-569:
    Not as left out as you must have been during the formative years.

• 573.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

as bad as things can be some days here in the good ol R S of A its still a good place to call home. thers is absolutely nothing like an african sunset or summer shower or to feel the beat and pulse of all its people getting along (on a good day :lol: ) we’ve come a long way folks… we’ve come a long way…

cue: toto :lol:

ok i’m out for now
    cheers folks

• 574.katman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-567: No, it’s definitely wrong.

But far worse is digging up your children’s names and leaving them here as some kind of sinister hint. You have to be really fcked in the head to do that. And then still try to laugh it off here as no big deal. As if we’re all just having fun.

• 575.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-567: Ag shame, Chumi… Completely innocent, hey cuntie?

• 576.Hondo: Reply to this comment

I can’t remember when last time The Boks went to a Test in NZ with the odds 1:11 against them
    Not even with PdV or Staraulie.
    Like a wreck train pulverising itself to debris

• 577.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-567:

I see Julius has called us a Banana Republic.

Very embraboer.

• 578.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gunther-570:

ok gunner just for you

i’ll wash the farken thing

but just this once

@Heavens Game-571:
    yip, pretty much.
    and the discrimination over there knows no colour wrt the saffa on the receiving end.

• 579.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-577: Of which he desperately wants to be King Louis.

Oh yes it’s true…

• 580.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-575: Wrong intel. that’s not my name :D

• 581.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-568: I beleive that!

• 582.gunther: Reply to this comment

@TooMuchRugby-572:

It’s during YOUR formative years.

Plank.

• 583.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@gunther-577: he is thinking of the clothing store in London…

• 584.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-578: Nope, but generally if you competent and you integrate, instead of ghetto-ing with just Saffas, then its all good.

• 585.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@nama1-561:
    Wisdom comes with age for Rob :)
    Did Divan do the same during Straulie/Viljon/PdV Tests?
    Or John Williams for that matter?

• 586.gunther: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-578:

Go easy Bakkies.

I’m still paying the Piccanto off for another three years.

• 587.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-576: And we seem comfotable with that talking up the opposition to a froth! We should not be happy untill we are the worlds best

• 588.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-584:
    ja, which is reasonable to expect i guess.

ok, thats me

• 589.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-583:

He still hadn’t taken the labels off.

• 590.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Bakkies you dont find that story sad, you enjoyed it. What odds did you get on that bet you placed?

• 591.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gunther-586:
    ok, well use your one time valet service voucher whenever you’re ready. its good for three years :lol:

cheers for now.

• 592.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-580: Chumi, despite your elevated opinion of yourself, I dont really care as much as you might think I do whether its your name or not…

Not as much as you seem to care where I you think I come from, what I do and who I am.

Fark, maybe I just call you Juliaas. More appropriate.

You seem to definitely be as much a stalker as Katman thinks Sheriff is…

• 593.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-586: I’d go for a coffee somewhere inside the centre until the car is ready. Bakkies likes to wash in ultra short ripped off jeans and a shirt knotted above the belly while Summer of 69 is stuck on repeat.

• 594.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-592: deflection, deflection…

blaadyshit Whenwe

• 595.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-590:
    hand on my heart china, i dont enjoy it and didn’t post it for kicks.

its makes me sad because his life was second class here and his dignity taken from him, he could not provide in a way he wanted for his family. only to take them all the way over there and it goes so wrong. sjoe.

its a **** experience for any man to go through and could have happened in many other countries for that matter. we still have a long way to grow i suppose.

• 596.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

right that is it

cheers for now

• 597.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-588: Yup. Best thing for Saffas is to have a stint elsewhere, if just to broaden their farken insular horizons…

Highly recommended for the likes of Chumi, Dawn, Sheriff and Doggy. Bit farken far too wrapped up in their Saffa superiorities :lol:

• 598.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@katman-593:

thats a white card offense right there

i’m putting you on review mister

you’re playing it like a kiwi

for thel ast time cheers :lol:

• 599.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-594: Deflection? I addressed exactly what you were saying.

My use of Chumi was in response and after YOU had dug up what you thought was all my true biographic information from my regrettable short time on Sharksworld, and then proceeded to lay it out all here.

You devious littleshit.

• 600.Seismic: Reply to this comment

Anyone got a spare second and wanna see some of the best “defense” every by Morne Steyn, check out between 0:41 and 0:46, farking Hilarious ballerina impression on Adam Ashley Cooper;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hTksn-Cbgu0

Pages: « 16 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.