Meyer defiant on Morné

Morne Steyn will start at flyhalf against the All Blacks in Dunedin.

Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has selected Steyn and made just two changes to the side beaten by Australia in Perth.

Francois Louw starts in the specialist openside role, with Marcell Coetzee among the substitutes.

‘The New Zealanders are good on the ground which is why we decided to go for a specialist openside flank in Francois,’ said Meyer. ‘Marcell has been very good this season and has played a lot of rugby, but in this match we feel he will be more useful as an impact option.’

Meanwhile, Flip van der Merwe starts at lock, Andries Bekker is recalled to the match 22 and tighthead prop Jannie du Plessis has been declared fit. Toulon-based lock Bakkies Botha won’t be involved and the issue with Botha is believed to be medical insurance – a similar situation which hampered Fourie du Preez’s return to Test rugby this season.

Johan Goosen is again among the substitutes and there’s a match squad call-up for Juan de Jongh and Dean Greyling.

Steyn kicked all 18 points in the Boks’ 18-5 win against the All Blacks in Port Elizabeth a year ago and holds the record of most points against the All Blacks when he scored all 31 points in the Boks’ win in Bloemfontein in 2009.

However, the Boks, with Steyn at flyhalf, have not enjoyed the kind of success that warrants continued selection. Steyn has played flyhalf in the Boks’ last 30 Tests and have won just 16.

South Africa’s rivalry with New Zealand is considered the fiercest in the game, but the All Blacks have been dominant in the professional era. Pre-isolation the Boks held a 21-16 winning advantage, but since international readmission in 1992 the All Blacks have won 30 and the Boks just 13. One Test has been drawn, 18-18 in Auckland in 1994.

Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jean de Villiers (c), 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Dean Greyling, 18 Andries Bekker, 19 Marcell Coetzee, 20 Johan Goosen, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie.

784 Comments

Pages: « 16 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 » Show All

• 651.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-650: Shut up wench.

• 652.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Can’t take these latecomers who think they’re the fecking arbiters of all that is good and right on this blog.

• 653.Dawn: Reply to this comment

No. Why should I.

• 654.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Staggers out of his armchair after his afternoon fecking nap, after his millionth Salinger reading, and tells me to grow up.

Ha.

• 655.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-650: Is that the best that you can do.? After 2 hours of ennui that you and Sherrif subjected. us to.So grow up.Have a good sleep tonight and wake up knowing that confrontation ages and embitters people.I am finding it hard to acknowledge any intelligence in your posts these days..They say that by age 30 you have the face= that you deserve=
    Look in the mirror tomorrow.
    By the way a plane is a type of tree.An areoplane is more correct.
    The nearest lake is quite far away.
    Go and jump in your swamp.Goodnight.(Not the sacred cow any more)

• 656.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Can’t take these grousy “chicas” who reckon they are the judge judies on this blog…

Wobbly wenches.

• 657.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Keo is truly kaka tonight…

Hasta la muerte Boks…

Night night.

• 658.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-654: How is Mills & Boon
    these days.SHAME

• 659.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Listen boet

The fight was between him and katman

Stop picking on me.

• 660.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-659: Listen sus.I agree.Iit was you who started this.Staggers out of arm chair.What the hell.I have had my “afternoon nap” and can keep this increasingly bitter exchange up all night.
    Can you?I have always enjoyed you.Dont spoil it for the sake of KAK

• 661.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-652: When does a new comer(18 months) become an established blogger on this site.Don,t
    be a mother hen.

• 662.gunther: Reply to this comment

Fuckpants we are letting this game get away from us.

• 663.gunther: Reply to this comment

Yussuf Parnell having an absolute nightmare.

• 664.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@gunther-662:

Wayne Parnell is going to wake up in the middle of the night screaming.

• 665.gunther: Reply to this comment

Morkel for the final over.

Huge error.

• 666.katman: Reply to this comment

Fukkenell, time for Parnell to convert to something else.

• 667.katman: Reply to this comment

Jeesus, I hope we’re opening with Klusener and Kemp.

• 668.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@gunther-663: Yussuf????

• 669.katman: Reply to this comment

Steven Kitshoff strolls up to the crease. He’s looking lean and mean.

• 670.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-668: Joseph Parnell????

• 671.David: Reply to this comment

@katman-666:
    I’ve wondered for a while why he’s still there.

• 672.gunther: Reply to this comment

Oh sweet jaysus.

• 673.grant100: Reply to this comment

Quota parnell… 32 in a over…. Crickets answer to PDV…

• 674.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-669:

But can he play tighthead?

We think so.

• 675.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Richard Levi – step up young man. Time to shine.

• 676.gunther: Reply to this comment

@David-671:

Him and Ryan Mclaren.

Bits and pieces.

• 677.gunther: Reply to this comment

@grant100-673:

Shut up.

• 678.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-674: If Parnel can convert to Cat Stevenism, then Kitshoff can convert to the no.3 jersey.

• 679.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@grant100-673: I have been banned from watching.You cannot be serious.32in 6 balls?Thats 4 sixes and 2 fours.
    I hope that it is 6 balls.

• 680.katman: Reply to this comment

Is this the T20 version of the 434 one-day run chase?

• 681.katman: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-679: Two no-balls in a row plus three sixes, a few fours and some small change.

• 682.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-666:

Devil worship perhaps?

• 683.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Fark, they tak!ng th!s bowl!ng form !nto the T20 world cup wh!ch starts next week.

• 684.David: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-679:
    8 balls. 2 NBs.

• 685.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-681:

The bowling equivalent of the pic ‘n mix counter.

• 686.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@gunther-663:
    Actually, it’s Waleed

• 687.David: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-679:
    Follow on http://www.cricinfo.com

• 688.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-682: Well spotted. Not to be confused with 668: the neighbour of the beast.

• 689.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-685: The Salad Valley. Halaal style.

• 690.PielNeus: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-651: hey seuntjie moenie kom hier en vokken biscuit swakte taal, jou pisluishte drie-kleur varkhoend

• 691.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-688:

Ah yes.

He hopes the rugby finishes soon.

He’s tired of mowing his lawn.

• 692.katman: Reply to this comment

Kepler is looking more and more like a potato bass.

• 693.PielNeus: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-655: gaan slaap wetter kak spuiter

• 694.gunther: Reply to this comment

@grant100-673:

If you don’t behave we will make you share a toothbrush with Pielneus.

Who is on the UN’s biological weapons watch list.

• 695.PielNeus: Reply to this comment

Nou het ek a lekker ding. Ooooo dis warm binne, julle sal dit buyer geniet, hmmmm mmmm mmmm

• 696.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@gunther-694:

• 697.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@katman-689: Damnl.Time for a convenient
    Alzheimer moment.

• 698.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

• 699.grant100: Reply to this comment

Amla will be 2 slow in a run chase this high….. Fail

• 700.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-689:

He’s about to get his Junior Tribe status revoked.

Pages: « 16 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.