Meyer defiant on Morné

Morne Steyn will start at flyhalf against the All Blacks in Dunedin.

Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has selected Steyn and made just two changes to the side beaten by Australia in Perth.

Francois Louw starts in the specialist openside role, with Marcell Coetzee among the substitutes.

‘The New Zealanders are good on the ground which is why we decided to go for a specialist openside flank in Francois,’ said Meyer. ‘Marcell has been very good this season and has played a lot of rugby, but in this match we feel he will be more useful as an impact option.’

Meanwhile, Flip van der Merwe starts at lock, Andries Bekker is recalled to the match 22 and tighthead prop Jannie du Plessis has been declared fit. Toulon-based lock Bakkies Botha won’t be involved and the issue with Botha is believed to be medical insurance – a similar situation which hampered Fourie du Preez’s return to Test rugby this season.

Johan Goosen is again among the substitutes and there’s a match squad call-up for Juan de Jongh and Dean Greyling.

Steyn kicked all 18 points in the Boks’ 18-5 win against the All Blacks in Port Elizabeth a year ago and holds the record of most points against the All Blacks when he scored all 31 points in the Boks’ win in Bloemfontein in 2009.

However, the Boks, with Steyn at flyhalf, have not enjoyed the kind of success that warrants continued selection. Steyn has played flyhalf in the Boks’ last 30 Tests and have won just 16.

South Africa’s rivalry with New Zealand is considered the fiercest in the game, but the All Blacks have been dominant in the professional era. Pre-isolation the Boks held a 21-16 winning advantage, but since international readmission in 1992 the All Blacks have won 30 and the Boks just 13. One Test has been drawn, 18-18 in Auckland in 1994.

Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jean de Villiers (c), 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Dean Greyling, 18 Andries Bekker, 19 Marcell Coetzee, 20 Johan Goosen, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie.

784 Comments

Pages: « 16 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 » Show All

• 701.PielNeus: Reply to this comment

Wil niemand weet wat lekker eetes ek gekookamabarrow… rugby eetes. A swell entjie vir die nousies and kenners?

• 702.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-692:

I swear I saw his face in a Lays chip the other day.

Him or Frankie Pienaar.

• 703.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@grant100-699:

jou piel, pel.

• 704.David: Reply to this comment

@grant100-699:
    9 off 5 balls. Parnells over the 2nd highest in T20 history. :roll:

• 705.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-702: There’s a similar oil stain on Voortekker road. Kepler fans come from as far as Gordons Bay to lick it.

• 706.katman: Reply to this comment

Fok. Daar kak die levis.

• 707.David: Reply to this comment

Sh*t. Think I’m off to bed.

• 708.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

No not Faf.

Faf ?s cr?cket’s equavalent of Morne Steyn.

• 709.grant100: Reply to this comment

Amla is a good test player.. But for us 2 win this game… He must go out, let wonderkind ab win it for us…. Lets all drink to that

• 710.PielNeus: Reply to this comment

ooo vok waar die ouens, julle lekker gerook vannaaand

• 711.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Looks l!ke Faf !s prov!ng me wrong.

• 712.gunther: Reply to this comment

Shot fafster.

• 713.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@grant100-709:

Ag. you know what?

Ontong or Peterson might also score the winning runs. Who cares.

• 714.katman: Reply to this comment

Where’s Hersch when you need him?

• 715.gunther: Reply to this comment

@grant100-709:

Sounds like you’ve been drinking to everything.

• 716.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-714:

I miss that guy.

Cricket isn’t the same without him.

• 717.grant100: Reply to this comment

Ontong is the kakkest protea in history…. The zane of cricket

• 718.katman: Reply to this comment

Faf it.

• 719.grant100: Reply to this comment

Amla put to much pressure on faf…. Amla batting for his average again….

• 720.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-716: Yep. And he’d know what to do now. Either that, or he’d forget the game plan and hit 6 6′s in an over by mistake.

• 721.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@katman-714:

Probably having a smoke in the car park. But i know what you mean.

• 722.grant100: Reply to this comment

Ab must run out amla and hit the winning runs with king kallis

• 723.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-720: :lol:

• 724.katman: Reply to this comment

@grant100-719: There’s no hiding from stupid comments like that.

• 725.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-724:

To be fair his family have been hiding from comments like that for years.

• 726.grant100: Reply to this comment

Amla costing us big time here…. Throw his with a beer can….

• 727.gunther: Reply to this comment

Stuart Broad brings the teapot out again.

The biggest bratwat in world cricket.

• 728.katman: Reply to this comment

@grant100-726: Throw his with a beer can? Does it get more bonehead than that? I don’t think it does.

• 729.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-727: The one guy I’d most like to see in the ring with Coenie Oosthuizen.

• 730.grant10: Reply to this comment

Go Amla…..

• 731.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@katman-714: Unlike Symcox,not a Gunston.

• 732.grant10: Reply to this comment

fark….need Kallis and amla to gooi here man…

• 733.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

vokkit.

• 734.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-728:

Throw his wiv a beer can perhaps.

He’s in the 98th percentile though.

• 735.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-734:

Frow his wif a beer can?

• 736.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

uh-oh

• 737.katman: Reply to this comment

Sweet lord. That’s surely the end.

• 738.grant10: Reply to this comment

great tour Amla…what a Legend!

• 739.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@gunther-734:

with an IQ to match his shoe size.

• 740.carol: Reply to this comment

Funny old day on Keo I see.

• 741.katman: Reply to this comment

@carol-740: You’re only welcome here, Carol, if you join in some Broad bashing. You up for it?

• 742.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-735:

At least 12 times a night.

• 743.carol: Reply to this comment

@katman-741:
    We thought it had been rained off!

• 744.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-741:

He’s a good home counties boy.

The lovely Carol is a sucker for a public schoolboy.

• 745.katman: Reply to this comment

@carol-743: No, it’s been rained on.

Our parade, that is.

• 746.carol: Reply to this comment

Edgbaston on a cold September evening…. Humm…!

• 747.katman: Reply to this comment

Well fielded by Steven Kitshoff. Great play in the tight loose.

• 748.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-744: Probably not the best choice of words there.

• 749.carol: Reply to this comment

@gunther-744:
    My achilles heel!

• 750.carol: Reply to this comment

@katman-748:
    I glossed over his ‘slip of the tongue’ ! ;-)

Pages: « 16 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.