Meyer defiant on Morné
12 Sep 2012
Morne Steyn will start at flyhalf against the All Blacks in Dunedin.
Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has selected Steyn and made just two changes to the side beaten by Australia in Perth.
Francois Louw starts in the specialist openside role, with Marcell Coetzee among the substitutes.
‘The New Zealanders are good on the ground which is why we decided to go for a specialist openside flank in Francois,’ said Meyer. ‘Marcell has been very good this season and has played a lot of rugby, but in this match we feel he will be more useful as an impact option.’
Meanwhile, Flip van der Merwe starts at lock, Andries Bekker is recalled to the match 22 and tighthead prop Jannie du Plessis has been declared fit. Toulon-based lock Bakkies Botha won’t be involved and the issue with Botha is believed to be medical insurance – a similar situation which hampered Fourie du Preez’s return to Test rugby this season.
Johan Goosen is again among the substitutes and there’s a match squad call-up for Juan de Jongh and Dean Greyling.
Steyn kicked all 18 points in the Boks’ 18-5 win against the All Blacks in Port Elizabeth a year ago and holds the record of most points against the All Blacks when he scored all 31 points in the Boks’ win in Bloemfontein in 2009.
However, the Boks, with Steyn at flyhalf, have not enjoyed the kind of success that warrants continued selection. Steyn has played flyhalf in the Boks’ last 30 Tests and have won just 16.
South Africa’s rivalry with New Zealand is considered the fiercest in the game, but the All Blacks have been dominant in the professional era. Pre-isolation the Boks held a 21-16 winning advantage, but since international readmission in 1992 the All Blacks have won 30 and the Boks just 13. One Test has been drawn, 18-18 in Auckland in 1994.
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jean de Villiers (c), 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Dean Greyling, 18 Andries Bekker, 19 Marcell Coetzee, 20 Johan Goosen, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie.

784 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 16 » Show All
12 Sep 2012, 09:51 am
@Puma-143:
but we have plenty coming off the bench that has x factor.
ricky was a super sub that day as well if i remember correctly.
I can see pienaar getting benched later in the game with hougaard moving to 9 and lambie to 14. Goosen getting some time at 10 with Greyling and Coetzee coming on in the pack. Add a 20minute cameo from bekker which probably suits him better and we have the potential to finish a lot stronger this week.
They key will be to stay within striking distance.
12 Sep 2012, 09:52 am
@stormersboy-141: Then we should have played Alberts at 8 with Marcel at 7 and Flo at 6. Vermeulen is not match ready. He never had a good game last week. Missed tackles and knocked on as well. Saying that Alberts never had a good game either but he is more game ready than Vermeulen.
Anyhow now there we are with the slowest loosies in the world, that are missing tackles, against the best in the world.
12 Sep 2012, 09:52 am
I almost want to go as far as to say, that PdV wasn’t as stupid, ignorant and naive as Meyer. PdV did some really stupid things in his time as bok coach. But, that Meyer cant even see his own stupidity and mistakes goes beyond any human thinking. The All Black are going to punish the Boks, and what is the bet that Meyer will still stick with Morne and Kirchner. Why, because i get the feeling he secretly promised his fellow Bulls, that they will keep their places in the side, maybe even some money under the table.
If i can take the first Championship game NZ vs Aus as a example. Kurtley Beale had his worst game of his career and was dropped for the next game, because of his poor efforts. This placed huge amount of pressure on him to perform in his next outing. Did not see that particular outing, but point being, when you don’t perform, steps has to be taken.
When you perform poorly at work, any good boss will address the issue and either dish out a warning or **** all over you. Thus putting pressure on you to perform, and any good employee will do what ever it takes to keep his job.
But not addressing the issue, the employee believes, he can slowly carry on in his usual manner, thus becoming a liability to the company. This is exactly what is happening to Morne. He is performing way below par, but yet week in and week out the No. 10 jersey gets handed to him, so his obvious attitude would be, “why must i improve, i will be keeping my spot anyway. That is the very unfortunate thinking of the human race. Why improve if no one is doing anything about my current ways.
Certainly very sad but true.
12 Sep 2012, 09:53 am
@katman-147: Agreed. I’d also play Jantjies at 10.
12 Sep 2012, 09:55 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-151: It will be too late by then. Meyer will bring them on for a 9 minute cameo again. He don’t trust the young guns as they just may not play his game plan.
I will wait for next year. Boks year is over. ABs will win the first RC Cup. We may come 2nd or 3rd.
@Puma-152: I hear you but Alberts isn’t an 8 anymore.
The logical thing to do is actually drop Alberts. Sounds controversial at first but he’s really been quite poor the past 3 games. (If you think about it it’s true) Bring him on off the bench.
I would have started with Vermeulen 8
Marcelle 7 [ he aint never gonna be a 6 ]
Flo 6….
Alberts for last 30 if Vermeulen hits the wall….
@Puma-122: I have to repeat what has been said here numerous times: Vermeulen had to play another few Currie C matches. He missed the one against the Bulls (the Boks left that day for Perth), against the Cheetahs and will miss this weekend’s match against the Sharks. Next weekend Province will be playing Griquas: in total 4 matches to get Vermeulen into shape. But no, HM was desperate to add to the squad. IMO Vermeulen isn’t an impact player – he should start a match. Having said that, he should have stayed at home and should have been used in the home tests only (when being match fit hopefully)
Flo has also only played one friendly for Bath in pre-season – that’s way he isn’t match fit
12 Sep 2012, 09:56 am
@katman-147:
look Katman, I rate jantijies but taute is okay.
I do however get the feeling that meyer does not want to get the hopes up for any other young flyhalf outside of goosen just yet because he just rates him as very special. And from the little i have seen of goosen i must say that i agree, jantjies is very good goosen is more.
much like when heyneke targeted habana in 2004 for the bulls. A completely unknown who he just rated as a “special” selection.
12 Sep 2012, 09:58 am
@NZINCHINA-123:
And Brussouw outclassed him every time !! Can HM think at all?
12 Sep 2012, 09:58 am
@stormersboy-156:
it’s true, if alberts has proved anything with his extended run it is that he’s good for a 20 minute burst from the bench.
12 Sep 2012, 09:59 am
Clearly its Brussow then.
12 Sep 2012, 10:00 am
What where how has Marcel defended
12 Sep 2012, 10:01 am
@stormersboy-156: @grant10-157: Then Alberts should have been on the bench. Marcel HAD to start this game. Bloody stupid to leave him out. Both Vermeulen and Alberts slipped tackles last week. Also now there we are witht he slowest loosies in the world against the best.
Grant I have no problem with Flo starting, we need a fetcher. But why the bloody hell has Meyer left out Marcel? He is so fast as well, also has good skills. Best defender in the team. Stupid from Meyer to leave him on the bench for just brawn. No man this is crazy. Anyhow think we gonna cop a smack no matter who plays. And I don’t think this is the best AB team either. They never looked that great against Arg. Just that we have no clue with Meyer it seems. We have the players some are injured and some are not there. Game plan is dated or just not executed right who damn well knows. But we looking clueless.
12 Sep 2012, 10:01 am
Juslaik HM jy is a regte doos ek se!
12 Sep 2012, 10:07 am
@Puma-164:
164…wow, the coach can’t win can he.
firstly everyone screams for spies and potgieter to go for alberts and vermuelen.
then everyone screams for a fetcher.
he gives everyone exactly the players they have been screaming for and now gets name calling? 4 loosies doesn’t fit into 3.
look, we can’t just pick a sharks team as a bok side,okay?
@Palooka-160: Pocock has bettered him too in the last couple of seasons. I read the SA management are on a charm offensive which may explain Meyer’s comments:
“The Springboks are operating behind a smokescreen of outrageous flattery for the All Blacks as they plot a plan for Saturday night’s test in Dunedin.
New Boks coach Heyneke Meyer was gushing with superlatives for the All Blacks on his first trip to New Zealand.
But he flatters to deceive and the old adage that there’s nothing more dangerous than a wounded Springboks side stays true.
Behind the praise for his opponents lay a frown or two for his own problems. “
Puma – Lets hope M Steyn gets pulled off at 60min or maybe even 50 min and the Gooses comes on!
However i would prefer to start with Lambie at flyhalf but HM seems set on the Goose. When the Goose came on last week, he looked very good and broke the line with ease, so lets hope for more!!
Lambie will get a run at fullback at some stage.
I think the whole idea of starting with Alberts negates his impact as an impact player, but right now we are very light on loosies!!
One thing in HMs favour, he hasn’t panicked, that good be pig headedness or no other plan exists.
@goodstuff-132: Mate….De Jongh is the THE most selfish ball carrier in South African rugby. He is a rubbish center….anyone outside him never gets to see the ball.
Just for fun…during the first few games he played in the Super15 I counted how many times he received the ball and how many times he passed it. If I remember rightly it was somewhere around receiving it 30+ times….and passing it around 5 times.
His distribution skills are less than zero….and this should be the prime skill of a center. He’s also incredibly one dimensional and easy to defend against…..on almost every single time he steps off the right foot and runs back into traffic….while dying with the ball.
Sorry mate…..rubbish center.
12 Sep 2012, 10:09 am
Saw HM on Supersport Blit now….
saying his teamsare always written off in the last and he is used to it….
Interesting…..almost defiantly playing the victim…..Maybe HM needs to listen more and pontificate less….
Jantjes showed last Saturday at the Fortress Loftus what a complete and absolute player he has become….that was a masterclass of a display…..I really felt that was a watershed game for Jantjes…..
I have been 100% behind Goosen after watching him consistently deliver breathtaking performances for the Cheetahs……
That game by Jantjes rivaled Goosen blow for blow….superb !!
12 Sep 2012, 10:10 am
@CharlesM-158: Morning bud. Yeah agree that Vermeulen should have had more game time. I rate Vermeulen though, so don’t get me wrong here. I just feel like you and many he needed more time to play cc after such a long lay off to be test ready. He did play last week so who knows he could be far better this week.
Also Boks could surprise us this week and play well, who knows, for now I doubt it.
After watching the Boks play against England in the first test in the 2nd half and the 2nd test in the first half, it gave me plenty hope. After the PE test all that hope went and it has now gone after our terrible performance in the RC so far.
12 Sep 2012, 10:11 am
Once a certain lawyer stood up and tested Yeshua and said: Rabbi, what shall I do to inherit ‘olam haba’ or eternal life?
I think this is a very good and relevant question, both back then in the 1st century and today.
Yeshua asked him what he read in the Torah, his understanding. The lawyer said that we are to love God with all our heart, with all our soul, with all our strength and with all our mind, and our neighbour as ourselves. Yeshua said: That’s correct, do this and you will live (eternally) in other words, you will inherit ‘olam haba’
It’s quite interesting that the benchmark to love another person is how or the extent you love yourself, that’s the standard. Notice also that ‘olam haba’ is taken as a given, it’s not even explored further.
However the lawyer wanted to justify himself and asked: But who is my neighbour? Then Yeshua told a mashal (parable) with 4 characters. There was a man who got attacked (by implication a Jewish man), a Levite (descendant of Aaron), a Cohen (priest) and a man from Shomron (Samaria)
Now remember, the question was: who is my neighbour? Here Yeshua deals with 2 aspects in one. He deals with the religion and with racism. The Cohen and Levite although solid and respected citizens with appropriate titles in this instance did not show compassion or love but ‘passed by on the other side’.
Now to the man from Shomron… Yeshua is addressing a Jewish audience and hearing that the half-breed/half-caste/coloured/b*st*rd was also in there, they must have wondered what he would do. There were at the time religious and racial issues between the Samaritans and the Jewish, something we can relate to very well -not only in South Africa. The point is the man from Shomron is offensive to the hearers; he does not fit the paradigm of what a ‘good guy’ entails so it’s controversial to bring him up in the first place.
And so this offensive character does a few amazing things… First he overlooks the fact that the injured party is Jewish but feels compassion for him. He does not say a short prayer in his head for the guy but goes over and attends to his wounds, pouring oil and wine, set his on his own animal, brought him to an inn and took care of him. The next day he goes even further and gives the innkeeper money to take care of him and that undertakes to settle the bill upon his return.
Yeshua asks the lawyer who acted in line with the commandments (mitzvot) he himself quoted earlier. The lawyer answers in the third person: he who showed mercy on him. Yeshua says: Go and do likewise…
The mitzvah (commandment) of the Kingdom is to demonstrate love practically because if you were the random guy that got attacked, you would have loved for someone to help you.
There is no room for religion and racism in the Malkuth HaShamayim.
12 Sep 2012, 10:12 am
@grant10-170:
you kidding right?
at loftus? Only 2-3 of those bulls make a fully fit bulls side…..and it is jantjies watershed moment?
ofok.
12 Sep 2012, 10:14 am
@Puma-164:
Alberts from bench would have been ideal…..
Marcelle would have been the first name on my team sheet for this match…..it is going to be quick …..Marcelle and F Louw were no brainers for me…..
Vermeulen should actually have only been selected for home leg…..AC was absolutely crystal clear that he was nowhere near ready…..only reason I would start him is I believe he is a better tail lineout forward than Alberts and Alberts looks tired last few weeks…..
Also would not play Marcelle at 8 against Read …..if HM wants him at 8 best he gets some game time there for sharks first….
12 Sep 2012, 10:14 am
@Sheriff-172:
What?
12 Sep 2012, 10:16 am
Yer you’re right Big *** in the WC semi when it counted McCaw on one foot was all over Pocock, mate things are looking up for you you usually beat us once every 10 years its been 9 years so next year could be your
year.
12 Sep 2012, 10:16 am
@race of tan-168: Just have to wait and see how we go. I feel the same as many here, really don’t think Lambie or Goosen should be thrown in to start at fh if this is the game plan they have to play. Would like to see them playing to their own style. With Meyer doubt that will happen. This kicking game will make both look just as bad as Morne. Play them but allow them to play their natural game.
Anyhow we may win who knows. Even when we playing bad we somehow leave our best sometimes for the ABs. Wishful thinking I know, it could happen…lol.
12 Sep 2012, 10:19 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-173:
Did you watch?
He was a Master….
Up against that Bakkies favorite Fouche…..
Skilful offloads, great distribution….ran the show like a General…..
Loved it….been a long time since I have seen that type of 10 play from a Saffa…..
Throw in Lambie and Goosen…..
and we choose M Steyn….
Lekker dof ne……
12 Sep 2012, 10:20 am
Heineke Meyer is just not up to the job. I would have any other coach who would at least be interested in playing a winning way like our teams do in Super Rugby.
Yes folks, he is more of a joke than PdV, who was really just a puppet who’s strings were pulled my Smit, Matfield & FdP.
If HM refuses to budge from a losing formula in his first season, he won’t be doing anything different later.
Fire the guy before it is too late. I can’t take this **** for 4 whole years…
12 Sep 2012, 10:20 am
I am truly phased by HM’s selections, I know we suffering from injuries, but gosh, is this truly the best team he can assemble with the players available? I think not.
We have a crisis at lock, yet Gerhard Mostert is not the team and he performed with aplomb last season, maybe we can even move Alberts there as he did ever so well for the Sharks there. Beast and Jannie have been played to the ground this season with Sharks constant globe trotting, and it is showing. Guthro comes mind in terms of replacing Beast, at TH we are stuffed till Coeni comes back.
Which brings me to loose trio, Heinrich Where art thou? Kanko was clearly the best number 8 towards the latter part of the S15, why is he not there? Another man (Keegan) who is playing the best rugby of his career is not in the team because he is perceived to be to small (come the fak on). Vermuelen is undercooked.
The less said about MS the better. How he is still the number 10 is beyond any reasoning. JDV is also past his prime, he is a turnstile in defense and offers nothing offense,
This would be my team for the home leg of the RC:
1. Guthro
2. Strauss
3. (If there is a God please help us here)
4. Mostert
5. Juandre
6. Brussouw
7. Daniels
8. Kanko
9. Hougaard (please let him play his natural game, he is no FdP)
10. The Goose
11. Habana
12 F Steyn
13 JDJ
14 Willie le Roux
15 Lambie
16. Burden
17 Beast
18 Bekker
19. Alberts
20 Pienaar
21 Paul Jordaan
22 Taute
There is no Morne Steyn or JDV in my team.
But this all a pipe dream so long as HM is charge
12 Sep 2012, 10:21 am
I firmly believe that Heynecke missed a trick by not bringing Elton into the Bok mix earlier.
Ive seen Elton do more “x-factor” particularly from first phase than any flyhalf currently playing in SA, Goosen included.
Plus he kicks as well as Morne, and from as far out.
Plus his defence is better.
But now is not the time to change that position, that time was when the English toured here.
A wounded Bok is a dangerous animal…..
A ridiculed bok is even more dangerous….
this kiwi team not that flash….
If HM had got the job 4 years ago, he’d be hailed as a genuis today. Because he would’ve had the players with the experience to execute his game plan… plus they would’ve been all too happy to oblige cause the only rugby they knew how to play anyway. He might even have successfully defended the RWC. Unfortunately for him, it’s 4 years too late…
12 Sep 2012, 10:22 am
@grant10-174: I read that Conrad Smith said the ABs want to play a fast game. Remember we playing in a stadium that has a cover over. So the conditions will be great for the attacking team.
I was talking of Marcel playing 8 in the future NOT in this game. Bring him in there slowly. Wish we had Kanko for this game. Jeez he was brilliant in the last 8 games for Sharks. Outstanding. Pity he went off to Japan. That loose trio we had with Kanko, Marcel and Keegan was lightening fast. Awesome to watch. All with superb skills too.
As a sports person you want your coach to believe in you and believe that you WILL succeed.
But the other dynamic is your fellow team mates (most of them are not from Pretoria) do THEY believe in you.
Yes, they playing for their country and they have to forget all other agenda’s but this is a young inexperienced team that want to prove themselves against the best.
Do you think Lambie/Goosen is telling Morne, “Come on Morne you the best player in this position, the team and country believes in you”
I think not.
@Brigadier Van Zyl-166: You most certainly could according to the Shark fans on here. The only problem is, every Bokshark loss would come with a range of excuses, varying from travel to missing players, or the ref.
One thing about the fans of this allegedly magnificent Sharks team: the Sharks have never, and will never lose a match simply because they played kak or becaue the opposition was better. There is always a list of possible reasons as to why they lose: travel, refs, injuries to players. You see, they are the only team in the world who have to deal with these things
Let’s make the Boks all Sharks, and take post match whinging to a whole new level of totallyandutterlyfuckingidiotic.
12 Sep 2012, 10:24 am
@CT Shark-169: Couldn’t agree more. Juan De Jongh seems very predictable. Never really passes, always goes for the step into traffic and 99% of the time he gets easily read and subdued by the defense. On top of this, he doesn’t really have a kicking game, his distribution skills are poor and he doesn’t even bring physicality to the position.
12 Sep 2012, 10:24 am
@grant10-178:
he had a bad night with the boot, grant.
17 points wasted would have won the game.
12 Sep 2012, 10:25 am
Grant we have won 13 straight tests and kept Aus scoreless, don’t kid yourself pal this team also put 60 past the Irish, if they click on Saturday you’re farked.
12 Sep 2012, 10:25 am
Praying that Jantjes will come play for Stormers….
12 Sep 2012, 10:26 am
NZINCHINA – We last beat you twice in 2009, once oh dear at home 2008(tee hee).
So that means we are up for a good womping from the ABs this Saturday!!
12 Sep 2012, 10:28 am
Im done hoping HM will get things right and now im starting to worry if he is going to f@ck up and waste the young talent we have at the moment. The youngsters we have at the moment are great players and can form a world class squad that CAN compete against the ABs for the number one spot for the next 4-6 years.
This game plan is not playing to our ‘strengths’. Our future strength lies with the players and what they are capable of. For example: Goosen is an allround 10 who can attack and kick. Why make him play with a one dimensional game plan? Thank goodness he’s a cheetah and not a Stormer or a Bull. Although AC is starting to change his own boring game plan even if he denies this.
Jordaan and DeJong are great attacking players.
Rhule looks to be the business.
Lambie.
Jantjies.
Taute.
Where is Mostert?
CJ Stander wants to go play for Ireland because HM wants to make him a hooker ffs and Ludeke wont drop Spies!?
The list goes on and on. SA has more flair than it has had in decades! So why shouldnt this become SAs new strength?
12 Sep 2012, 10:28 am
grant10 #190 – THat would be a very good move for Jantjies!!
12 Sep 2012, 10:29 am
@2k3-180: You left out JPP. Think JPP will be back for the home games. He was sensational this year for Boks against England and Sharks. Best wing in the country by far. Pity he broke his thumb, but think he will be ready for the Loftus game.
12 Sep 2012, 10:30 am
Maybe Race of, this is very good AB team which has been let down by a few last second handling errors, we were 40 points better than Aus at the garden of Eden.
Jeez #192 – SA needs a director of rugby of some sorts to look after the huge player pool in SA. Currently there is NO ONE, so players with oodles of talent are falling through the cracks, again lack of professionalism.
@NZINCHINA-189: Grant says this every time, and every time it turns around and bites him..
ABs will win this game because of their counter rucking skills and the quick offloads to supporting forwards on the edge of the fringes..
the slow, unfit bokke players wont be able to sustain the pace..
as always, run the big neanderthals all over the park and wait for the gaps to appear..
12 Sep 2012, 10:31 am
YAwnnnnnnnnnnnn same old ame old
@2k3-180: Good squad, get BJ Botha and Mujati involved too. CJ Stander is a class act too. Rhule keeps on impressing and there is many more that can be contenders.
Picking Steyn, Spies and Kirchner is starting to prove that HM is not such a visionary as some, me included, might believed.
@katman-147: Yep agreed. 20% and we’d take them.
Bring on Goosen with 25 to go, to run at them.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 16 » Show All