Meyer defiant on Morné
12 Sep 2012
Morne Steyn will start at flyhalf against the All Blacks in Dunedin.
Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has selected Steyn and made just two changes to the side beaten by Australia in Perth.
Francois Louw starts in the specialist openside role, with Marcell Coetzee among the substitutes.
‘The New Zealanders are good on the ground which is why we decided to go for a specialist openside flank in Francois,’ said Meyer. ‘Marcell has been very good this season and has played a lot of rugby, but in this match we feel he will be more useful as an impact option.’
Meanwhile, Flip van der Merwe starts at lock, Andries Bekker is recalled to the match 22 and tighthead prop Jannie du Plessis has been declared fit. Toulon-based lock Bakkies Botha won’t be involved and the issue with Botha is believed to be medical insurance – a similar situation which hampered Fourie du Preez’s return to Test rugby this season.
Johan Goosen is again among the substitutes and there’s a match squad call-up for Juan de Jongh and Dean Greyling.
Steyn kicked all 18 points in the Boks’ 18-5 win against the All Blacks in Port Elizabeth a year ago and holds the record of most points against the All Blacks when he scored all 31 points in the Boks’ win in Bloemfontein in 2009.
However, the Boks, with Steyn at flyhalf, have not enjoyed the kind of success that warrants continued selection. Steyn has played flyhalf in the Boks’ last 30 Tests and have won just 16.
South Africa’s rivalry with New Zealand is considered the fiercest in the game, but the All Blacks have been dominant in the professional era. Pre-isolation the Boks held a 21-16 winning advantage, but since international readmission in 1992 the All Blacks have won 30 and the Boks just 13. One Test has been drawn, 18-18 in Auckland in 1994.
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jean de Villiers (c), 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Dean Greyling, 18 Andries Bekker, 19 Marcell Coetzee, 20 Johan Goosen, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie.

784 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 16 » Show All
12 Sep 2012, 10:33 am
@race of tan-196:
Well isnt Rassie suppose to play that role? But I dont think he and HM is on the same page. I doubt Rassie is convinced that the boks are on the right track… He’s not in the coaching box any more…what does that tell you ?
12 Sep 2012, 10:34 am
@Dawn-175:
It’s essentially background material for why I speak out against racism and religion.
The reader will keep this in mind for future purposes.
12 Sep 2012, 10:37 am
What worries me is the lack of intensity from our players. When they play the way that they are (looking lethargic and clueless) that is usually a sign of unhappiness in the camp. Something is wrong. Players are not putting their bodies on the line for the jersey or the team or the coach.
12 Sep 2012, 10:38 am
@Jeez-199(MONGOL OF THE WEEK: Brian Mujati????
Really??
12 Sep 2012, 10:38 am
@Jeez-192: Mostert is Playing in France at the moment.
12 Sep 2012, 10:39 am
Pops just need the last pass to stick and look out below.
12 Sep 2012, 10:42 am
@NZINCHINA-206: will be the same tired excuses here though..
refs in NZ pockets, conspiracy against SA, tokoloshes etc..
12 Sep 2012, 10:42 am
@mako-203:
Ive noticed it too. Perhaps they dont believe in the over coaching they are receiving or dont believe in the holy game plan.
Every excuse HM has dished up was that the players lacked mental toughness and that if they implement the game plan correctly then things will improve. Its all a bit condescending and cant be good for their confidence. And obviously they arent deaf to all the criticism the coach is receiving and they probably agree with it all !
And you cant blame fatigue, cause all the teams are in the same boat!
12 Sep 2012, 10:44 am
Pops you’d hope not but its enevitable from Houston and co.
12 Sep 2012, 10:45 am
Hahahaha guys please check this out!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OqchQuIpUt0&feature=g-vrec
12 Sep 2012, 10:46 am
@NZINCHINA-209: the loss of Carter is a worry, not sold on Crudens ability to control a tight game yet..
12 Sep 2012, 10:47 am
@NZINCHINA-209: I actually dread it more than losing and I’m a farkin saffer!
And of course, it creates the situation where if the ref does have kaka game, you can’t point it out because then you’re whingeing.
12 Sep 2012, 10:47 am
@stormersboy-204:
He’s playing good rugby apparently. Im just stating that a whole lot can be done to strengthen the squad.
@Puma-205:
I know and so is oupa Bakkies, so why not pick Mostert? Flip’s not the answer.
So far nothing has been done to build for the future. And picking those players with fewer caps wont necessarily make the team lose, its just an excuse IF they do.
12 Sep 2012, 10:48 am
@mako-203: Except for habs….
12 Sep 2012, 10:48 am
@Jeez-213: Flip and Greyling are good for 3 penalties, easy
12 Sep 2012, 10:49 am
@Bagel-210: Damn funny, love when they do Zuma and Mantashe
12 Sep 2012, 10:50 am
I think there is more to lose by starting Goosen behind a retreating pack against the worlds number 1 team. We’re gonna lose this regardless of who we play so rather let Morne shoulder the responsibility. Remember what it did to Gaffie Du Toit when we threw him in the deep end? Yes start Goosen against the All blacks in SA but not in NZ when he is also short on match practise!
12 Sep 2012, 10:51 am
@Atreides-215:
And perhaps a 10 minute powerade break.
12 Sep 2012, 10:52 am
if the argies can smash these all blacks like they did on saturday then we can too!
Brodie Retallick was quoted saying he was happy with the power outtage because the argies were moering them and smashing into them ferociously, now we need to come out with that same attitude.
we HAVE to smash aaron smith and i don’t mean bakkies botha style but the little tyke must KNOW he is playing the Bokke! Cruden too was flustered by JMH shooting up and closing his space leaving him no room to dance.
Go Bokke!
@flanka-54: You can ask that question and debate that for any coach. How good was Henry when he coached Wales? The French coach even reminded him about it when Henry went on another arrogant rant as ABs coach.
The perception that a coach is good counts on many factors.
While I am not crazy about everything about him – I think this shows Jake White’s abilities in 2004 – he identified and picked a young team full of relative unknowns and most of that team remained until 2007 and up to 2011.
But even then – Jake had the “luck” or good timing of Percy’s goal-kicking. But Jake was the one who got Percy and Os to come back…
Jake also had the good fortune to be coach with the emergece of Matfield, Bakkies, Du Preez, Schalla, Juan Smith, JdV, Fourie and Smit as a BRILLIANT captain.
Although – many of them had already been capped under Straeuli…
On the flip-side of that argument though – Jake was still the one that identified those players (another good example was Habana) and stuck with them.
We will all remember the public clamouring for Gary Botha at hooker (for example)
And so we can go on….
Thats why the whole claim that PDiv “inherited” a world Cup team p1sses me off – if anything that was a poison chalice! And lets not forget – some of those players had left. PDiv was the one with the foresight to bring them back.
And so we can debate that one too…
A coach like Gatland deserves a lot of credit – but again – he is looking very good now thanks to a Golden generation of Welsh players…
Morne Steyn is a warrior, Heyneke is coaching him to form hahahaha.
12 Sep 2012, 10:54 am
The reader may wonder: what on earth does this have to do with rugby?
Quite a lot actually. We grew up in an apartheid SA that provided the moral basis for what that Govt was doing. It told people that based on the Bible, some are just superior than others- this is what God wanted…
This the ‘dominees, ouderlinge and diakens’ reminded their flock every Sunday and when having ‘koek en tee’ while doing ‘huisbesoek’
Afrikaner leadership went so far as to draw parallels between themselves and the Jewish people and the phrases like ‘chosen people’ were standard terminology in apartheid days.
So if we are to dismantle this mindset that a non-black player is better than a black player then we have to start at the beginning. We have to unmask the lie that is its foundation. And that lie resides in the religious domain.
Religion is the impostor. It pretends to represents Elohim (God) but in reality stands for directly the opposite.
12 Sep 2012, 10:55 am
Coetzee to the bench?
No cover at a Tight Head??
Flip to face the ABs in the Starting line up???
More of the same again: Morne Styen will frenetically kick possession away as if there is no tomorrow, Kirchner will turn the ball over 4 out of 5 of his ‘Counter Attacks’, the Beast will hang wide out and far behind on the fringe of the defensive line, at least HM spared us the embarrassment of watching Mvovo. Could we ask for more?
The ABs by the way are 1:10 to win it
12 Sep 2012, 10:55 am
Meyer made clear his philosophy long ago
“It’s easy to say throw people out and pick new ones, but that’s not coaching, that’s picking”
So nothing new to be disappointed.
12 Sep 2012, 10:56 am
@Bagel-210:
Check this out. You have to log into you tube though as it contains some foul language.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ae2mSo2ORts&oref=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fresults%3Fsearch_query%3Dchooper%2Band%2Brugby%26oq%3Dchooper%2Band%2Brugby%26gs_l%3Dyoutube.3…152028.157606.0.157929.25.20.4.0.0.1.213.1961.10j7j1.18.0…0.0…1ac.1.iC15JNY0doc
12 Sep 2012, 11:02 am
@Jeez-213: His from is a moot point. He is disqualified from playing for South Africa because he is not a citizen. We need to move away from him as an option.
12 Sep 2012, 11:02 am
Atredies if the ref has a very bad game he should be bagged but Houston does if every game, very boring for Saffas as well I would imagine.
12 Sep 2012, 11:04 am
@Transformation-219: I love the gees and the patriotism Transie!
I am struggling to find the same in myself though… it wears me down to have to go every season with drama and heartbreak.
We have to go back 3 years (2009) for the last decent season. After that we had the disastrous 2010 3Nations (which I dont think I will ever recover from), 2011 3Ns was terrible again, the RWC was the twist of the knife in the heart (admittedly not entirely the Boks fault).
The Boks are getting worse and worse every season, not better.
I (and Im sure I speak for many of us) get all excited and get my hopes up and look forward to seeing my heroes play…. and then they play like **** – not much passion, no discernible gameplan, the backline does the SAME thing every time.
Good ball gets kicked away for no apparent reason.
They cant scrum, they cant win lineouts, they cant steal them.
All the scrumhalves apparently have learned to take 2 or 3 steps sideways from the ruck – WHY????
I never played higher than 2nd team in school, and I play Touch Rugby now – I can Pass without stepping!!!!!
For the first time in my life I am starting to lose passion for the Boks and I am considering not watching them anymore. And THAT is the most painful, sad part of this all
12 Sep 2012, 11:04 am
I can’t remember when the Boks went into a ABs Test with the odds firmly 1:11 against them?
It looks more and more the Bafana Way?
It’s really interesting to watch HM’s ‘evolution’: he was Alan Solomons assistance, he was Nick Mallett’s forwards coach and the first coach to bring to SA the Super Rugby trophy in 2007 since Kitch Christie did it in 1993, something must have gone wrong lately?
Does the good man have a counseling?
12 Sep 2012, 11:05 am
Agreed Pops if we are rampaging Cruden will shine, nothing like DC drilling the corners in a tight one though.
12 Sep 2012, 11:05 am
@Hurricane-225: Paedo Wallaby lol….
12 Sep 2012, 11:06 am
@Sheriff-222: Sheriff – dis goed geskryf en baie goeie punte – skryf jy n boek daaroor?
Eks nie seker die’ blad is die plek om dit te aanhaal – van die ouens gaan net kwaad word
12 Sep 2012, 11:07 am
@stormersboy-226:
well getting guys in like BJ Botha cant hurt. There’s just not enough quality debt in this department at the mo
12 Sep 2012, 11:08 am
@Hurricane-225: Ah I do like me some Chopper!
12 Sep 2012, 11:08 am
@Hurricane-225: ha ha – Chopper is a good laugh. Nazi Kiwis indeed.
12 Sep 2012, 11:09 am
@katman-235: Crouch, touch, pause……hardenthefuckup!
12 Sep 2012, 11:09 am
@Sheriff-172: Thanks so much for the insightful look into the life of Judaism….however I fail to see the slightest connection to rugby or Heyneke Meyer……
12 Sep 2012, 11:10 am
@stormersboy-236:
…a team whose mascot is the fcken potato.
12 Sep 2012, 11:12 am
@katman-238: LOL. Snipers. Thats the trick!
12 Sep 2012, 11:14 am
Religion, or perhaps I should say, often religious office bearers are absolutely unbelievable!
So Yeshua heals a man that was sick for 38 years because he could not get himself into the pool that was occasionally stirred by an angel of Adonai.
Yeshua simply told the bloke to pick up his mat and walk. And all the religious auth could say was: It’s Shabbat! This man should not be healing someone on Shabbat!
I mean give me a break!!!
Go and read John 5 v 10 – 16 how they harrassed Yeshua because of that. What would you have done? Would you have rejoiced with the man who was sick for almost 40 years or would you have quoted the Torah (Bible bashed) at Yeshua?
12 Sep 2012, 11:15 am
Reading rugby365 got this off a blogger there. He copied this from a Aussie Blog. This is what the Aussies had to say about our game last week.
____________________________________________________________________________________
” the Wallabies played entirely into the Boks’ hands for the entirety of the match.
They seemed happy to attempt kicking further than their Boks counter-parts, weren’t willing to run it back from deep, didn’t get Ioane involved in any meaningful way and were happy to mostly run through one pass from the ruck.
And the Wallabies won!
That’s the remarkable part: the men in gold effectively played away from most of their strengths and won a Test match against a side playing to their own. ”
“As I said at the top, South Africa had everything go their way to win this match. Why didn’t they?
Meyer prevented them from winning by not delivering the killer blow until it was too late.
In the middle of the second half, the Wallabies were almost out on their feet. I thought it was time for Johan Goosen and Patrick Lambie to enter the game if the Boks wanted to finish the Wallabies off.
Meyer didn’t pull the trigger until Ben Alexander had scored in the 69th minute. Too late.
Once the Wallabies got in front, they were able to repel the fresh green reinforcements just long enough to hold on.
Between them, Goosen and Lambie made 39 running metres from 19 minutes of game time. Contrast that to Morne Steyn and Zane Kirchner who produced 40m across the turf in 145 minutes on the field. That is why South Africa lost this match.
It wasn’t just their own running metres that improved the side either. As soon as Goosen went on his first gallop, Jean de Villiers and Francois Steyn had more room to operate because of the inside threat.
Meyer needs to start Lambie at the back in their next match and bring Goosen on much sooner. That is only if F. Steyn or Goosen are considered too unreliable off the tee to jolt Morne from the starting 15.”
_______________________________________________________________________________________________
So the two young guns in Goosen and Lambie made 39 running metres from the 19 minutes that they both were on. Jeez compare that to Morne and Zane who made 40 metres in the 145 minutes they were on. Makes the mind boggle why Meyer keeps on selecting them. When we have players like Goosen and Lambie on the bench.
Also we playing under a closed roof on Saturday and they expect a fast game. Not sure how fast we will be that is for sure.
12 Sep 2012, 11:16 am
@NZINCHINA-230: You fellows missed Daniel badly in that 1st half against the Argies. He would have calmed things down when all every AB wanted to do was offload, and run.
Still a legend is Daniel. The AB’s are always going to be weaker without him, regardless of how gifted Cruden is for now.
12 Sep 2012, 11:17 am
@Puma-184: Yes…agree…Kanko added some real brute to his game ….the last few Super games Kanko was unrecognisable …..the best 8 in SA by a country mile….I would of made a plan to retain him somehow….hope he gets back to sharks quick…
12 Sep 2012, 11:18 am
@Sheriff-222: Seriously…..?? You’ve now moved from Judaism to Afrikaaners and apartheid? All this on a rugby blog site??
Someone please get this man a pulpit……!!
12 Sep 2012, 11:20 am
@bokfan1-232:
Dankie my ou maat van yster en plaat
Onthou, dit wat ek skryf beskou ek nie as godsdienstige materiaal nie. As ek en jy ‘n vleisie oor die kole gooi dan sal ek sommer oor die goed praat.
Onthou ons praat rugby. So ons bespreek alles wat plaasvind op die veld en spesifiek HOEKOM die dinge gebeur en nie net wat nie.
12 Sep 2012, 11:21 am
@Sheriff-222: Good post.Particularly
final sentence.
12 Sep 2012, 11:22 am
@grant10-243: He gets back to Sharks in December. BUT why did Meyer not try and get him for the two away games against Oz and Nz? Remember SBW got released for two games for Nz. So my feeling if Meyer wanted too he could have. He just done nothing to get Kanko released. He was by far our best 8 in the country at the time. Good skills, fast and bloody magnifincent in the lineouts.
12 Sep 2012, 11:23 am
@Puma-247: typo – magnificent
12 Sep 2012, 11:27 am
Puma – Has anyone taken into account that the roof is closed for Saturdays match, running rugby will be the order of the day!!! Me getting that horrible sinking feeling again. Who knows maybe HM brings The Goose & Lambie at 50/60 and gives them more time!
12 Sep 2012, 11:27 am
@CT Shark-237:
Don’t be so quick to reach a conclusion.
There is to my mind a clear connection; continue to read over the next few months and challenge me where appropriate.
How many kilograms love do you have for your girlfriend? You cannot measure that love empirically but we see the results of that love. I hope you have a girlfriend – get one if not …
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 16 » Show All