Kings make double swoop
13 Sep 2012
The Southern Kings have signed lock Steven Sykes and centre Andries Strauss for the 2013 Super Rugby season.
Sykes and Strauss will make their exits at the Sharks and Cheetahs respectively. Both moves have been confirmed to keo.co.za and they will join the Kings after the Currie Cup.
The two players are the first to sign with the Eastern Cape franchise since they were awarded Super Rugby status in August. There are rumours that a few Argentine and New Zealand players are set to join the Kings in the near future.
Meanwhile, Cheetahs CEO Harold Verster believes Strauss will be one of the last players to depart from Bloemfontein this year.
They have already lost tighthead prop WP Nel (Edinburgh), No 8 Ashley Johnson (London Wasps) and lock George Earle (Scarlets) after Super Rugby, while flyhalf Sias Ebersohn (Western Force) and lock Izak van der Westhuizen (Edinburgh) will also make their moves following the domestic campaign.
‘We want to build on our achievements from this year’s Super Rugby,’ Verster told this site. ‘We have already extended most of our players’ contracts, while there will be a couple of more contract extensions made over the next few weeks.
‘We will also have some new players available in 2013, like [Blue Bulls] centre Johann Sadie.’

211 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All
13 Sep 2012, 20:27 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-96:
Alles in plek
Al wat ons kort is die mooi smile van Tobie Teethless
13 Sep 2012, 20:28 pm
@Dusky-98:
true, a little.
i mean they knew meyer would get the job so a little earlier than planned contingency planning would have gone a long way.
13 Sep 2012, 20:28 pm
@Dusky-95: A sentence taken out of context has no meaning.
Fair enough. How have you been otherwise?
13 Sep 2012, 20:29 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-94:
You show me one union in this country that doesn’t wheel, deal, steal and appoint family members to lucrative positions…
You should know all of this, you are the King of conspiracy
13 Sep 2012, 20:30 pm
@David-97: The Eastern Cape region have such a love for rugby and a depth of talent that the last time they won the Currie Cup was…….oh…….they have never won it ? NEVER ? Since 1889 !?
13 Sep 2012, 20:31 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-104: unions, companies, political parties… the whole world is corrupt.
13 Sep 2012, 20:34 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-104:
The Lions, they don’t know how to wheel and deal, nothing left to steal and Kevin’s family members won’t work for the union
13 Sep 2012, 20:35 pm
@victoriabok-101:
yip, dis wat my bekommer. en ek wil beslis nie die een wees wat die wereld geeindig het voordat die stormers n super rugby semifinaal op nuweland gewen het.
oh what a travesty
mayan voorspelling…. dis n ding…
13 Sep 2012, 20:35 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-100: Wrong again Bakkies. The Mayans tried their damndest to warn of us the impending doom awaiting Springbok rugby after the EOYT with Meyer, van Graan, MacFarland and Loubscher steering the ship. Ti*fuckingtanic se moer of hoe?
13 Sep 2012, 20:37 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-104:
bulls are clean. not even a mormon to be found. less so a scientologist.
@victoriabok-107:
what a farken bunch of c u n t s
13 Sep 2012, 20:38 pm
@SpringbokSarah-103: I personally dont think it was taken out of context at all. Funny thing is, I dont think the comment had anything to do with the racially related reasons later provided by Watson either.
I actually think the reasons had everything to do with the fact that Watson felt like an outcast and was frustrated by that. He was forced into the Springbok team (Who will forget the Nr 46 saga – never nice when your parents have to phone and find out why you weren’t invited to the party and then you get a pity invite) and when he joined the Boks nobody wanted to speak to him so he was forced to sit in the corner and eat by himself.
He suddenly realised as many other people will still in South Africa that to play with a group, you have to earn your way into that group. Once big daddy isn’t around to tell everyone else to play nicely with you then you are on your own…sitting in a corner….not getting invited to go out etc.
Even the biggest christians, Bakkies and co. saw through him.
After that Puke, being used to having everything his way – had a little temper tantrum and the ‘vomit’ story literally vomited out of him. I would still love to ask him why he never felt like he wanted to vomit on his WP jersey ? A union established LONG before the Springbok ?
13 Sep 2012, 20:38 pm
@SpringbokSarah-106: Exactly. Most individuals are corrupt, and ALL individuals have the capacity to be corrupt…..
13 Sep 2012, 20:39 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-109:
curious question:
are you religious at all and if not do you at the least believe in something bigger than us out there?
13 Sep 2012, 20:42 pm
@SpringbokSarah-106: Anyway doesn’t matter. Puke’s time is done. With the youth and talent in loose forwards we currently have, if Fat Watson’s objective was to get his boykie back into the Bok team – I am afraid it isn’t going to work. Watson wasn’t good enough then, and he certainly isn’t good enough now.
Plus I think it was Heyneke Meyer that had something to say about Pukes ‘vomit’ comments. I doubt Heyneke is his biggest fan.
13 Sep 2012, 20:44 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-102: you forgot nepotism, daddy van graans se seun nestled nicely there as a forwards & even “attack” coach…very cozy
13 Sep 2012, 20:44 pm
@Dusky-111: ag you almost had it. But like you said, let’s agree to disagree
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-112: how deep
13 Sep 2012, 20:45 pm
@Transformation-115: Just following the governments example. Has Mandela’s grandson the criminal been arrested yet ?
@Dusky-105:
Considering that the old SARU clubs weren’t allowed to participate in the CC along with their white ones, what is your point?
@victoriabok-107: No look mate…The Lions gave it their best shot in recent times. They were mighty good at it back in the day of The Luyt)……but fukkinghell they have been woeful since.
Wheeling Lions style: changing a tyre
Dealing Lions style: selling tik at Ellis Park
Stealing Lions style: winning over the hearts of those who love the poor, downtrodden underdog.
They suck.
13 Sep 2012, 20:47 pm
@David-118: Eastern Province didn’t participate in the Currie Cup ? Are you sure of that ?
13 Sep 2012, 20:47 pm
@Transformation-115: The reason for my reference to ‘jobs for family slobs’ in my inital post
13 Sep 2012, 20:48 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-119: Lions do suck and they actually deserve to be ejected, but that does not justify a non-merit inclusion. These are two totally different arguments.
13 Sep 2012, 20:49 pm
Anywho Keolings, I must leave you. Have an awesome weekend
13 Sep 2012, 20:50 pm
@Transformation-115:
agent!
judge him on his merits as an individual, transie. besides he’s moved on so there’s no conflict of interest anymore. the sacrifices such a selfless union has made for this country.
just look at our bok forwards now
@Dusky-120:
I said SARU aligned clubs. SARU was the “Black” rugby union in the EC.
@SpringbokSarah-123: Same to you Saartjie.
Dusty Springfield obviously enjoys his sanitized environs at the polar caps,but black South Africa seemingly still irks him like hell.Picking fights with a young girl like Sarah now is just sad.
13 Sep 2012, 20:53 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-113: Yes Bakkies, I am a Christian, not of the Pentecostal (happy clappy/reborn) sort though.
But in my faith, there is a place for science as well.
No, I’m not a Moonie, a Mormon or a Scientologist
13 Sep 2012, 20:57 pm
@Dusky-120:
Do you not understand that the S15 is a regional, not a provincial, competition?
13 Sep 2012, 20:58 pm
News
Kings looking ‘far and wide’
Thu, 13 Sep 2012 16:17
PrevNextThere are lots of rumours around
The Southern Kings are looking “far and wide” for players to make them competitive when they debut in Super Rugby next year.
Kings President Cheeky Watson told this website in an interview that they are planning a “formal announcement” for next Wednesday, when they will reveal the first batch of signings.
However, he declined to comment on specific players – despite ongoing rumours linking high-profile players like Andries Strauss (Cheetahs), Steven Sykes (Sharks) and Dimitri Catrikilis (Western Province) to the Kings.
“I can’t comment,” Watson told this website, when asked about reports that Strauss has already signed with the Kings.
“We have franchise partners we have to speak to,” he added.
However, he admitted that there is a lot of recruiting going on, both domestically and internationally.
“We are looking far and wide,” Watson said, when asked if that recruiting includes Argentina.
“We are also looking for tall locks in Japan,” the Kings boss quipped.
However, on a more serious note, he admitted that the recruitment drive is in full swing, but there will be no confirmation of any names before next Wednesday.
“There are lots of rumours around,” Watson said, adding: “Like the rumours that we were in Super Rugby, out Super Rugby, on the sideline of Super Rugby, playing in the Heineken Cup … you know what these rumours are like.”
Strauss on Thursday became the latest player linked to the Kings. Most reports have it as fact that he has signed to move to Port Elizabeth in 2013.
This website has it on good authority that Sykes have also signed on the dotted line and that his contract is already in PE.
WP are determined to hold onto Catrikilis, but this website believes they will be unable to match the Kings’ offer and he will join the influx of high-profile players signing with the Kings.
There are rumours of players from Argentine and New Zealand being lined up as well.
13 Sep 2012, 20:59 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-124: I believe SARU paid the Bulls R750 000 for Van Graan. Loubscher was the cheapest at 250k I think….Kafuckingchingforcorruption. Van Graan is worth that?
No Bakkies, the Bulls hit the motherload of corrupt package deals this year. Get rid of 4 kak coaches, 1 fitnessfucklerconsultant = make millions = but better coaches and fitnessfucklers PLUS more WP players….
13 Sep 2012, 21:06 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-128:
good.
now listen and listen carefully
i want you to believe in the boks and believe in the coach
in the absence of any evidence or proof to conclusively show these beliefs to be true
in the face of various and contradictory seeming catastrophic events of tragic and disasterous proportions which will test your faith as one who believes
even though there will be no seeming end or coming to an end of the misery and suffering who undergo and endure
when all seems lost
and there is only darkness all around
i want you to just believe
in your heart of hearts
that there is something more
and good will come of all this
that salvation will one day be your hand
just believe
*whispers* heyneke meyer will free us of the dirty egyptians (who now live across the sea in nz)
when all hope is lost
belief is all we have
believe….
13 Sep 2012, 21:08 pm
All strength to the Kings…..they must do whatever they can to be as competetive as can be….
Cheecky and Co are employed to do a job……a job they are seeming doing quite well currently.
I wish the WP suits applied themselves as much as Cheeky is…..,,
This is a pro era……I want to see someone tell Roman Abromovitz or Alex Ferguson, et al to not go for the best ??
Rugby is no longer amateur…..
Go Kings…..hope you guys build a great squad and that the beautiful Nelson Mandela Stadium is filled to capacity every week….why anyone would want to hope they get hammered week in and week out is simply beyond me….
13 Sep 2012, 21:09 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-131:
and you have the nerve to call me a conspiracy theorist..?..
13 Sep 2012, 21:10 pm
@grant10-133:
“a job they are seemingly doing quite well”…?..
i cant wait for your world to come crashing down granty
13 Sep 2012, 21:11 pm
@grant10-133: I do – I hope they get hammered and I will be cheering for their opposition every weekend. Even if their opposition were the Charlie Manson family – I would be cheering for them.
13 Sep 2012, 21:11 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-131:
> Get rid of 4 kak coaches
We still have Pine left
Does anyone need a coach? low mileage and not much used(or much use), only rode the bus to Loftus and back
> but better coaches and fitnessfucklers PLUS more WP players….
And it helped us how?
13 Sep 2012, 21:12 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-135: Ja – but you know these guys they are signing…Sykes and Strauss…..world beaters those guys hey. The rest of us better watch out.
13 Sep 2012, 21:12 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-124: judge him on.merts you say?
is he responsible for our Boks ruck technique? kudos to him then the argies bliksemed us properly in Mendoza…
13 Sep 2012, 21:13 pm
@victoriabok-137: WP players just come to Pretoria if they dont mind not having their own dressing table in the changeroom. At Newlands each player gets his own fully equipped dressing table, complete with pink padded chair and a mirror.
13 Sep 2012, 21:15 pm
@Dusky-136:
the charlie manson family
13 Sep 2012, 21:16 pm
Andries Strauss??? So Marcel Brache, Wylon Murray and Lionel Mapoe will playing VC rugby while Strauss is playing superrugby? What bullshit!
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-132: That would all be good and true if Heyneke Meyer was God. But he ain’t (even though Taccy has provided us with bibles of Meyer miracles in trying to convince us otherwise)……In fact, Meyer is coming across as more of a fallen angel in the Lucifer mould at the moment. And if he isn’t careful, he is going to end up as the ***** who was stoned at the water well by angry crowds.
Blind faith in God is one thing.
Blind faith in Meyer is a whole different test…….one that I’m not willing to take.
*The Dirty Egyptians who now live in NZ?* – This has to be one of the funniest things I have read in a long time. For all your insanity, you’re actually a laugh a minute.
Have a good evening all.
@grant10-133: Agree 100%
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-132:
> meyer will free us of the dirty egyptians (who now live across the sea in nz)
If they’re Egyptians what do you call the haka then?
Walk like an Egyptian….
And the Aussies?
Philistines?
13 Sep 2012, 21:17 pm
@mxhosa-142: Its transformation. Transformation of fat daddy and some of his buddies into rich people.
13 Sep 2012, 21:17 pm
@Dusky-140:
…. and Omo for the shower, it takes longer to pick up
and a 5kg tub of Vaseline, sponsored by Makro
13 Sep 2012, 21:20 pm
@Dusky-138:
ja, sykes is deadly with a scrum call
13 Sep 2012, 21:22 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-141: I would support a team including Judas, Pontius Pilate, the Pharisees and the roman soldier who administered the cat of nine tails before I support the Kings.
13 Sep 2012, 21:22 pm
@Transformation-139:
the problem is not with what the coaches are saying.
the problem is with the players who are not following through with the instructions.
horse to the water transie… you know this…
13 Sep 2012, 21:23 pm
@victoriabok-146: Correct. I heard from a WP player that came to the Sharks that he left after he was asked which brand of anal lube he preferred or did he prefer it ‘sommer net so droog’
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All