Kings make double swoop

The Southern Kings have signed lock Steven Sykes and centre Andries Strauss for the 2013 Super Rugby season.

Sykes and Strauss will make their exits at the Sharks and Cheetahs respectively. Both moves have been confirmed to keo.co.za and they will join the Kings after the Currie Cup.

The two players are the first to sign with the Eastern Cape franchise since they were awarded Super Rugby status in August. There are rumours that a few Argentine and New Zealand players are set to join the Kings in the near future.

Meanwhile, Cheetahs CEO Harold Verster believes Strauss will be one of the last players to depart from Bloemfontein this year.

They have already lost tighthead prop WP Nel (Edinburgh), No 8 Ashley Johnson (London Wasps) and lock George Earle (Scarlets) after Super Rugby, while flyhalf Sias Ebersohn (Western Force) and lock Izak van der Westhuizen (Edinburgh) will also make their moves following the domestic campaign.

‘We want to build on our achievements from this year’s Super Rugby,’ Verster told this site. ‘We have already extended most of our players’ contracts, while there will be a couple of more contract extensions made over the next few weeks.

‘We will also have some new players available in 2013, like [Blue Bulls] centre Johann Sadie.’

211 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All

• 151.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-143:
    cheers man

• 152.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-147: Sykes was good before he went to Ireland. Some players come back better. He came back worse. Not sure what happened or why.

He was mos the one that said he wanted to play for Ireland. Obviously things didn’t go that well for him on that side.

• 153.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-144:
    that sounds about right
    we’re caught between a rock and a hard place with them on either side of us.

need to be smart here, its life of death for bok rugby.

• 154.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-153: The Boks are stuffed. But that said, I am quite pleased to see that Meyer stuck with Morne. There are only two ways for a zit to go away. It must either heal by itself or drain outward. The second is usually a faster option.

The faster way to get rid of Meyer will be for him to stay hard headed and keep Steyn at 10. He is speeding his own demise and Morne Steyns which is great.

• 155.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-148:

well at the rate the bulls are going they might have to play off for relegation with the kings…. who would you support then..?.. :lol:

• 156.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-150:

So klein dit is seker nie nodig nie?

Behalwe Bekker, maar hy doen dit nie(meer?) nie , hy spyker in die park

Hy’t hoeka sy rug seergemaak toe die swing skielik links gegaan het op fyndraai

• 157.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-155: BULLS !

I told you once before. I might give you guys grief here, but the Bulls are my second favorite team believe it or not. The only time I do not support the Bulls is when they play against the Sharks. Trust me on that.

• 158.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-154:
    fokkit!
    when you put it that way.
    is there no other options?
    what about clearasil..?… :lol:

ok
    i’m out for the night
    sleep tight folks and dont let the skop bugs bite :lol:

i’m kidding skop

• 159.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-153:

> we’re caught between a rock and a hard place with them

Of tussen ‘n Brock en ‘n harde vleis? ;-)

• 160.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-155: I would listen to Justin Bieber every day of my life and scrub the inside of my eyelids with the skin of a prickly pear, before I support the Kings.

• 161.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

Why not go after Mthembu, Sithole and Mjekevu at the Sharks; Mbonambi, Blommetjies, Hess and Fudge at the Bulls; Kolisi, Lobberts, Brache, Mbovane, Carr and Hatzenburg in CT; Maku, Murray, Jantjies, Mapoe at the Lions; Raubenheimer and Rhule in FS rather? If the Kings and SARU were truly serious about tranformation these are the players that should be sought by the Kings…

• 162.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-158: Skop has suiped out his salary already this month…..he will only be back here after pay day.

• 163.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-157:
    nice

did you hear that transie..?..

suck it

• 164.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa-161: Dude – those players dont want to play for the useless Kings ?

• 165.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-163:

Hy’s nie meer hier nie, hy’s in sy huis teen die bult in PE, besig om te wonder wat hy volgende met sy R15 000 pm gaan koop

• 166.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-165: LOL….

• 167.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-154:

He’ll play Goosen more on Saturday, he didn’t want him to start yet

He’ll start in SA

• 168.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-167: You reckon ? We will see if that happens. To be fair, I think Bismark’s injury has really stuffed Meyer. That was the one guy he couldn’t afford to lose and he did. One has to be fair where fairness is due.

• 169.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-159:
    wie se vleis, tiaan ‘dirty looks’ liebenberg? :shock:

@Dusky-160:
    respect :lol:

@Dusky-162:
    no way, skop is like ruiter in ‘fokkenn’ swart, boet
    he will be come back in a flash and save his day

• 170.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@Dusky – 164:

Says who? You?

• 171.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-165:

• 172.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa-170: My opinion – yes. The Kings can want all the players they like….white, black, pink or bright green doesn’t matter. Doesn’t mean that those players want the Kings.

• 173.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-149: if that is the case why is Pine called horseshit by VictoriaBok & his ilk?

after all Heyneke HIMSELF appointed Pine as Currie Cup coach to develop a new style of play at Loftus!

double standards? :roll:

• 174.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-171:

Bakkies do you like the “new” Bakkies we’ve contracted, Willemse?

• 175.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-169: I would rather douse myself in women’s perfume and then walk naked into the Stormers changeroom with a tube of KY Gel hanging around my neck (but hanging down on my back) than support the Kings.

• 176.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-163:you think i give feck who lowlife scum like dusky supports as his 2nd team? ;)

nag bakkies.

• 177.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-176: Awww….*sniff*……I really wanted your approval…..

• 178.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-173:

Wipe your tears and snot

There feeling better now?

No more hissy fits

HM appointed Denneboom like he contacted Sadie and Adongo as well, everybody makes mistakes

If you spend less time on Keo and more watching rugby you would have seen the Bulls played more with the ball in hand in the first couple of S15 games, then HM left and as the season progressed they defaulted to the old type of play

Under HM Denneplankie might have succeeded but without him he’s screwed

If he loses…. When he loses on Saturday he’ll be pushed to the background and FL will take over

• 179.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-175:

Transie’s getting “exited”….

• 180.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-173:
    no transie, you are right. the buck starts at the top. the caoches must account for the kak thats going on with the bulls season so far. end off.

@victoriabok-174:
    the boy from the lions? to tel you the honest truth, i dont feel good seeing this vultures circling behaviour towards the lions. yes i was and am a big critic of their kak runnning of the union but i dont want to stand by and be a part of the hyenas tearing its carcass to pieces.

this is not about the player at all. just my feelings on whats taking place wit hthe lions. i was hoping relegation would spur action, but not like this.

@Dusky-175:
    hehe transie not gonna like that

@Transformation-176:
    hehe thats the spirit.
    out of interest, who’s yout 2nd team? the stormers or the crusaders? :lol:

ok good noght for the last folks

• 181.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-180:

> @Dusky-175:
    > hehe transie not gonna like that

Unfortunately he does… too much, there’s a stirring in his Pep Stores g-string as we speak…

• 182.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-178: i don’t know which bulls you were watching :D in their 1st game of the season @ loftus against the sharks they tried the nuwe high-tempo-ball-in-hand” approach and they suckef at it big time! the halftime score was 0 – 0 and the reverted back to skop n jag, so don’t come tell me about watching rugby when your hypocrisy is shown up msunu wengulube :-)

• 183.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

So Dusky, you reckon they’d rather play VC than superrugby? Just because you refuse to endorse the Kings that don’t mean everyone else shares your sentiments… No wonder you won’t support the Kings, the Sharks will only have Bloem to paoch players from, from now on.

• 184.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-182:

Exactly, they would have persisted with it under HM

FL is not exactly the smartest or most innovative coach around

You’ll grunt like a kolobe when I show you my hypocracy ;-)

• 185.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa-183: Not all those players only play VC. Some of those guys have already played Super rugby.

• 186.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@Dusky- 185:

Apart Kolisi the chances of everyone else making the final 22 at their franchises are quite slim if this year’s CC is anything to go by. The Lions are guaranteed VC rugby… LOL

• 187.Dusky: Reply to this comment

So at a pub recently (not in Norway) I took some balsamic vinegar from the table and sprinkled a bit on the floor right between our table and the one next door. Then I put my feet out to the side and kind of waved them back and forth. It didn’t take long for the old farts that were seated next so us to start smelling something which they obviously thought was my feet. They whispered something to the waiter who moved them to another table. LOL ! Damn….I love life !

I had to really fight to stop myself from bursting out in laughter !

• 188.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa-186: You got a point. So why haven’t the Kings gone after these guys ?

• 189.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-184: so why is heyneke making the boks play skop n jag if he was so eager to get the bulls to change? he himself realised that with the exodus of the vokmaarvoort superstars he had to innovate but nowhe was the Boks to stick with the outdated plan…

• 190.Transformation: Reply to this comment

rest in peace to malome peter maimane: technical adviser to the Boks from 2007 to 2011

http://www.supersport.com/rugby/sa-rugby/news/120913/Maimane_passes_away

• 191.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-190: That is sad. RIP.

• 192.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@Dusky -185:

Maybe they fit the Kings’ transformation profile… The only man intent on transforming any SA team is Gordon Igesund, got his eye on a couple of white players

• 193.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@Mxhosa -192:

Maybe they don’t fit the Kings’ transformation profile…

Ideal Kings team:

15 8lommetjies
    14 Sithole
    13 Mapoe
    12 Brache
    11 Mjekevu
    10 Watts
    09 Delport

8 Watson
    7 Raubenheimer
    6 Kolisi
    5 Fudge
    4 Sykes
    3 Adriaanse
    2 Maku
    1 Nyekane

16 Mbonambi
    17 Newland
    18 Hess
    19 Mamojele
    20 Paige
    21 Cronje
    22 Murray

• 194.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-187: So,what is the purpose of this post?

• 195.numba4lock: Reply to this comment

Kings cant jus take any player they want, this is rugby where you hardly ever get tranfer fee’s, not officially anyway. And we’re acting as if all the existing kings players a not worthy. Lets not disregard nokwe, dunlop, mangweni nd co. Kings have stated that they will be lookin at players with ability and expiring contracts. Strauss was able to leave the lions because he wasnt signing for a rival, they likely let him out of his existing contract. Best of luck to the kings

• 196.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-194: Because Y is a crooked letter and your smelly mommy can’t make it straight.

• 197.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Robert must be p!ssed. I thought he and Sias were inseparable?

• 198.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-155: Jislaaik Bakkies, even I would support them against the Kings!!!

• 199.Riaan26: Reply to this comment

Ooh, I just love the irony. If I’m not mistaken, Cheeky Watson wanted the Kings to be an all, or mostly black team, to develop black rugby in the Eastern Cape. And here he is, buying a bunch of white players for the Kings’ first Super 15 season.

• 200.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Riaan26-199: What these “administrators” & “politicians” don’t realise is that for as long as the racist quota system & “transformation” (read Affirmative Action) policies remain entrenched in South African Rugby the richer unions will continue to buy up the best of the “black” EC talent in order to bolster their own flagging supply of quota players.

It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to work that one out, Hoskins/Watson & your ilk.

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.