Weepu to tackle Boks
13 Sep 2012
Scrumhalf Piri Weepu will start for the All Blacks against the Springboks this Saturday.
Weepu replaces incumbent No 9 Aaron Smith, who was ineligible for a starting role at Dunedin’s Forsyth Barr Stadium because of a breach in discipline following last Saturday’s Test against Argentina. According to Fairfax NZ News, Smith’s infraction involved him arriving back to the team hotel after the game past the team-imposed curfew.
Weepu may not boast Smith’s speed but it is his physicality that the All Blacks will look to harness in a bloody battle with the Boks.
In other changes, Liam Messam replaces Victor Vito on the blindside flank, while lock Sam Whitelock and hooker Andrew Hore also start.
New Zealand – 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Piri Weepu, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Liam Messam, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Luke Romano, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Tony Woodcock
Subs: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Charlie Faumuina, 18 Brodie Retallick, 19 Victor Vito, 20 Aaron Smith, 21 Beauden Barrett, 22 Tamati Ellison

71 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
12 Sep 2012, 11:11 am
Piri the pudgy dragon.
12 Sep 2012, 11:18 am
boks catch a break
nice
12 Sep 2012, 11:24 am
strange – resting top players for a boks game … wow
12 Sep 2012, 11:25 am
NZ resting DC and AS for next weeks bye as it is predicted to be a bigger battle.
12 Sep 2012, 11:29 am
@stew-3:
going to be a little funny if the boks win.
anyway, nothing new here. Boks have been resting their best players against the kiwi for years. White did it in 2007, Twakkie did it last year. strauli did it every game.
12 Sep 2012, 11:34 am
Well Aaron hasnt set the world on fire really.
When Piri came on late week, things started to look a bit better.
Its funny but so many give Piri cr@p but really he has been our best #9 for a long time now.
He just got messed around by GH, and we all know why.
12 Sep 2012, 11:34 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-5: Shame because i would personally like to see the best from both these nations playing .. After all AB v Bok games are the biggest hardest nastiest games ever !
12 Sep 2012, 11:36 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-5:
hahaha yeah whatever.
If thats the truth then it is an acknowledgment that the Boks are going to lose anyways.
DC is still not right and Aaron did not have a good game last week, so replaced, simple
12 Sep 2012, 11:39 am
Come on Boks this is an insult!!!
they farken put this fat haka caller for us but not for argies?
this is the last straw!
12 Sep 2012, 11:40 am
Think that this is more a case of rewarding Piri for a solid (best of year) effort off the bench last week. He looked more like the Piri that we want to see rather than the fatboy Piri that we have been getting since the RWC. I thought that Retallick and Romano went bloody well last week and am a little surprised to see Whitelock back starting. Having said that, there isn’t much to pick between them at the moment so I don’t think that particular selection is a major difference. Maybe Whitelocks extra experience gives him the edge against the Boks. Hore as the starting Hooker is normal for the AB’s vs the Boks. If the team looks like predicted I would say that it is the correct first choice team for playing the Boks.
12 Sep 2012, 11:42 am
@Hurricane-6: in both games aaron was superb especially at eden park, the speed of his pass from ruck is phenomenal, he doesn’t even move from the ruck spot let alone take a step!
this is an insult by hansen.
12 Sep 2012, 11:43 am
@Transformation-9:
Aaron played average at best. He has been replaced, simple.
Unlike the Boks where a player can play average for 12 tests and then get
picked for the 13th, ABs you get replaced after a couple.
12 Sep 2012, 11:43 am
Piri is by far the better scrummy in that team, he will own us this Saturday, just watch, the fact that he looks like a retired tellytubby doesn’t really impact his play as he has bossed us when he was very much heavier.
12 Sep 2012, 11:45 am
@Transformation-11:
Rubbish.
Piri looked alot better when he came on against the Pumas. Thats what been said on all the rugby chats, even Justin Marshall said Piri had to start as he looked better and has more variation than Aaron. Yeah sure Aaron pass is quick, but it needed more than that against the Pumas.
He did not deliver.
12 Sep 2012, 11:45 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-2: Would have preferred Smith to start, must be honest.
Piri is a streetwise fellow….and harder to harass.
Pity the Argies succeeded in putting such pressure on Smith last week, otherwise he would have started against us.
I’m not sold on him at all, neither on Piri, I dig Kerr Barlow as the AB’s long termer..
Piri however, is a tough bugger to crack – this makes it tougher for us, not easier. He also makes it tougher for us to crack Cruden in any way.
Nah, this ain’t the best news.
12 Sep 2012, 11:50 am
easy to see Hansens approach, Piri to provide the niggle against Pienaar, Smith to come on when the bokke forwards lack of fitness will be easier to expose at about the 60 minute mark
smart move I think..
12 Sep 2012, 11:52 am
@Hurricane-14: piri looks a lot better when the game is slowed down to his fat pace and the all blacks are hitting channel ONE with alacrity! of course he is experienced in that s.hit, think last 10 minutes of last year’s world cup final where mccaw was at the back of an all black “human centipede” and fat piri passing to channel 1…
piri will be nowhere if he had to run and be swift like Azza!
12 Sep 2012, 11:54 am
against genia hansen will NEVER start piri!
12 Sep 2012, 11:55 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-15:
Horses for courses.
I think it is the right move. I dont see it as an insult to the Boks at all.
Piri has a better kick and is a stronger runner.We all know his pass is not as good but obviuosly Hansen seen Aaron did not play great. We know Morne will be kicking for corners so we need to be able to get out and having another kicker will help. We do not want to get boxed in our own 22 by the Boks.
12 Sep 2012, 11:56 am
@Transformation-17:
Well, seem you know a bit more that Hansen and Justin Marshall.
I shall be quiet.
12 Sep 2012, 11:57 am
Just relieved that Chiefs 9 not playing….Barlow?
That oke scares me !
12 Sep 2012, 12:05 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-15:
so you think the ab’s are gonna slow the game down? and play it in the forwards more?
it would be a sneaky reverse psych but i just dont see it.
12 Sep 2012, 12:10 pm
@grant10-21: you should be more afraid of tj perenara than TKB…
12 Sep 2012, 12:12 pm
Weepu is more experienced and was better than Aaron Smith last week. What Smith needs to do is to stop trying to be the all rounder and keep to what he did for the highlanders.
In terms of Piri Weepu im not suprised he went off the rails following the world cup. He just needs to be backed by his coaches. For goodness sake Henry messed him around so much the guy didnt know where he was at. I think he needs a strong super rugby campaign where he is the starting 9 for the Blues or whatever & go from there
As far as resting top players goes then that is a poor call from bok fans. Andrew Hore made a difference when he came on last week. Liam Messam has had a fantastic season so im not suprised he was rested for argies. Dan Carter is out injured and Sam Whitelock is one fine lock and should be paired with Romano.
12 Sep 2012, 12:17 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-22: That is where Hansen’s one little problem is at the moment……Between he and Foster, they seem to be confused as to whether the AB’s should play the offload game at all costs (high risk all the time), or vary it and keep it tight amongst the forwards when required.
That’s exactly what happened last week against Argentina. The AB’s seemed determined to play their fast paced offload game, and they were smashed playing it in the first 50 minutes due to a combo of the Argies play and the weather. Finally the AB’s started keeping it tighter, and using the forwards more, and voila…….Graham Henry would not have gone into that game with the mindset Hansen did. The AB’s would have played it a little tighter the first half…and if Carter were there, he would have slowed it down.
The Argies, sadly for us, exposed this little ‘lapse’ of AB judgement and I believe the AB’s (closed roof or not) will start off a little more conservatively, and then try and expand on that in the 2nd half.
Even though our Bok team is kak at the moment…..the AB’s will still be fearful of making too many errors early which we could capitalise on (be it on legend only – the AB’s might respect us a little more than Argentina in terms of turnover ball and counter attack..)
Not sure Bakkies – but this is the way I read it (then again, HG says I know nothing and that I am an amateur so….)
12 Sep 2012, 12:24 pm
It’s not good to put Cruden and Piri together. Smith way better scrummie. Hansen will regret this and call on Smith pretty soon in the game I recon. It’s not like Smith needs to be afraid of Ruan the snail.
12 Sep 2012, 12:25 pm
@Rhys7-24: The AB’s are expecting a helluva physical onslaught. That is why the changes have been made IMHO.
I don’t think it’s an insult to the Boks at all – I think they are selecting based on what they are expecting – a huge physical smashfest.
12 Sep 2012, 12:26 pm
its a plan by Hansen to take some of the pressure of Cruden, as Piri adds the extra playmaking ability at this level that Smith hasnt mastered yet..
12 Sep 2012, 12:28 pm
This is the week that they actually should play their speedy off load game. The Forsythe Barr is enclosed, no wet weather to stop them. It should be Smith at half back. Anyway, nothing confirmed yet.
12 Sep 2012, 12:37 pm
@rossoneri-29: Even though as a Meyer induced suffering Bok fan I don’t have much hope for a win, but I am looking forward to the game. Some would call it suckerforpunishmentsyndrome I guess.
12 Sep 2012, 12:41 pm
@poppa69-28: Cruden needs to grow up Poppa. He was dissapointing last week. He needs to be more consistant that he has been. No point in having one great game and one rubbish one. Dan Carter must have been laughing at him last week with the solid knowledge that Cruden is still streets away from threatening his number 10 AB’s starting jersey.
12 Sep 2012, 12:43 pm
@Rhys7-24: weepu played 20 min and apparently he did more in 20 min than what aaron smith did against australia in 2 games…
i wish our coach was as open to change as hansen hehehe
12 Sep 2012, 12:46 pm
@Transformation-23: I like them both.
12 Sep 2012, 12:48 pm
@rossoneri-31: I think hes missing SBW on his outside to relieve some pressure… it is almost a Hurricanes backline if Weepu is picked ahead of Smith, and we know how they fared last time they were all together..
12 Sep 2012, 12:48 pm
@Transformation-32: Hansen grabbing at straws with Piri. I want the hair dresser to play!
12 Sep 2012, 12:51 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-25: not so sure, the last time new zealand lost to australia (i think that was the game) Henry did the same thing, pushed out wide too early and forced it playing to aus’s advantage and then consolidated it in the 2nd half, going through the middle and short offloads…
12 Sep 2012, 12:53 pm
@poppa69-34: Poppa, playing Piri will help the Boks. That’s all I’m saying.
12 Sep 2012, 12:57 pm
State of test rugby not what it used to be
MARC HINTON
Last updated 14:26 12/09/2012
OPINION: There is no way to put this politely. So let’s not beat about the bush. Test rugby sucks right now.
The competitiveness and overall standard of the international game, from where I’ve been sitting this year, is arguably as low as it’s been in the professional era.
And the quality of the rugby being produced in what is supposedly the world’s best annual competition involving the top three sides in the game also leaves a fair bit to be desired.
I hate to say it, because this is our national game, but right now the elite rugby product is pretty poor indeed.
How do I come to this conclusion?
Well I’m pretty sure my eyes aren’t deceiving me, so empirical evidence is as good a place as any to start.
I challenge anyone to put hand on heart and say they’ve been entertained by the rugby that’s been dished up over the last month. Some of it has been turgid, to say the least. Much of it muddled.
Let’s paint the picture. So far in the Rugby Championship – a bland name for what’s been a bland competition – the All Blacks have been far and away the best team.
They have beaten Australia home and away, and taken care of the Pumas at a wet ‘n wild Wellington with a degree of comfort, if not ease.
But all three performances have been flawed to one degree or another.
The All Blacks have committed a high number of basic errors and they’ve been below-par in their execution under pressure, as well as their decision-making.
Their long periods of dominance have not produced the tries they should have, and so far the renowned All Black attacking game – remember that? – has been seen only sporadically.
But they’ve still been too good for anyone they’ve faced thus far, and than in itself should have alarm bells ringing somewhere.
If the world champs are this far ahead of the pack when they’re playing badly, imagine what it will be like when they find some form.
It’s not all doom and gloom.
There have been some things worth getting excited about – the speed and intensity of Bledisloe II, and the defence in all three tests to name a couple – but if we’re honest we would acknowledge the All Blacks have been able to win all three matches without going near their best rugby.
Hopefully it’s coming, and all indications are that Steve Hansen’s side are poised to take their game to a new level. But so far it’s all been gloriously imperfect.
But for Exhibit B in the case against test rugby at the moment look no further than this fact: the Wallabies are the No 2 side in the world.
Yes, Robbie Deans’ Wobberlies, with all their weaknesses, flightiness and lack of depth, are still the second best team in world rugby.
That’s a sad an indictment of the international game, if ever there was one.
With the Springboks well and truly immersed in rebuilding mode – and a distant shadow of their usual selves – gloriously gritty, but severely limited, Argentina still finding their feet at this level, and the northern hemisphere cursed to play second fiddle to the south, somehow the awful Aussies have managed to cling to the second rung on the ladder behind the All Blacks.
This is a team which has lost 14 of its last 17 matches against the New Zealanders, and yet still can lay claim to be the next best in the business.
That, dear people, is a disgrace.
And there are no signs that the northern hemisphere is set to spring a revolution. Their teams were competitive enough in June, yet at the end of the three series against the Sanzar nations the final score read the South 8, North 0, one draw.
Wales have the makings of a pretty competitive outfit and certainly have some impressive talent at their disposal, but they still have a mental block against the southern hemisphere heavyweights.
England have the resources and numbers to demand respect, but that’s more on potential than anything tangible.
France have to be respected for their ability to rise to the occasion, though their glory days of Gallic flair seem to be a deep and distant memory.
The rest, in terms of test rugby, are chopped liver. Ireland should have beaten the All Blacks in Christchurch in June, but let a glorious upset escape them and were thrashed in the first and last tests.
Scotland and Italy are making no headway at all.
Which brings us to Saturday night at Dunedin’s new indoor stadium – the first time either the All Blacks or Springboks will have played there.
Test rugby needs not so much a command All Black performance, but a competitive, captivating test match full of skill, commitment, derring-do and athleticism.
If Hansen’s men deliver the breakout display they hinted at on Eden Park, all the better from a Kiwi perspective.
But most importantly rugby must remind its watching public that the test game can still be entertaining and invigorating.
Now seems like the perfect time to start that process.
- © Fairfax NZ News
12 Sep 2012, 12:57 pm
@rossoneri-37: all good Rossi, I think hansen wants to tighten up around the fringes, hence Piri’s inclusion… guess until the team is actually named it is only conjecture on our behalf
12 Sep 2012, 12:58 pm
@poppa69-34: strange you say that about “missing sbw” as wayne smith is quoted elsewhere saying..
“Not every team has got a Sonny Bill. In fact no one has got a Sonny Bill. It’s a package there that’s probably unique. He’s as big as a big 6 and 8, and [has the] skills of a 10, apart from his kicking skills, and I don’t think he’d mind me saying that. He’s definitely got the eyes, the understanding of a 10; he makes a lot of our [Chiefs'] calls.”
12 Sep 2012, 13:04 pm
@poppa69-39: Yes. Hansen might surprize us and stick with the hairdresser after all.
12 Sep 2012, 13:04 pm
@Transformation-40: whats strange about it
SBWs biggest threat is not with the ball, but the attention he commands from the opposition, that extra half second allowed Cruden more time to operate imo..
and no, I hadnt seen that quote of Smiths..
12 Sep 2012, 13:15 pm
@rossoneri-38: He has a point about the state of rugby. I was watching highlights of Australia vs Lions in 2001 – now that was exciting!
Perhaps it’s just a sign of post-world-cup suckiness from all teams
12 Sep 2012, 13:40 pm
@Hurricane-6: TJ Perenara (forgive spelling) and Kerr-Barlow are looking like interesting prospects too.
12 Sep 2012, 13:42 pm
@Kaizan-44:
Never before in my living memory,
have NZ had so many good prospects at 9 and 15.
12 Sep 2012, 13:43 pm
p.s. spelling looks pretty good to me.
12 Sep 2012, 15:15 pm
The Hurricanes scummy, Perenera, looked to be the goods in super rugby. Big test careers ahead of him.
13 Sep 2012, 01:58 am
Reports in this morning’s NZ press suggest that A Smith was benched for breaking team protocols – got back to hotel too late after the previous game. Hansen said it didn’t matter whether he was the “form pick” or not for the Boks game – he broke the team-set protocol, so couldn’t be in the starting XV. (And management only enforce these protocols – the team sets them).
That’ll learn him! How to build a tight team culture…..
13 Sep 2012, 07:54 am
@BillTong-48: How I wish M Steyn would break team protocol…
13 Sep 2012, 08:20 am
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All