Boks’ massive mission
14 Sep 2012
RYAN VREDE looks at the trends that could shape the Dunedin Test, with the stats suggesting the Springboks will struggle.
Attack
The facet of play most lamented among Springbok supporters. Heyneke Meyer’s kick-chase approach has failed to work in the manner he has envisioned and the widely held view is that the Springboks have no Plan B, or at least a very ineffective one. Flyhalf Morné Steyn has kicked the 30% of the time he has taken the ball at first receiver – this compared with the All Blacks’ 16%. The Blacks’ flyhalves have passed the ball nearly 68% of the time, while Steyn is down at 56% and runs the ball 13% of the time. The pace, precision and skill with which the Blacks attack has been their strength. Ominously, the Blacks have broken more tackles than they’ve made kicks and have broken more tackles than any team in the tournament. Furthermore, they have made the most successful offloads and clean linebreaks in the tournament, which has been central to their attacking success. The Springboks pale in comparison in these attacking disciplines.
Defence
It is critical that the Springboks boss the gainline and breakdown in a bid to slow the Blacks’ recycle. Their previous showings in the latter have been poor, while their tackling was mediocre at best against Australia in Perth (it had been good before that). The inclusion of Francois Louw at openside flank is a good one, but his effectiveness rests heavily on the team’s gainline punch. The Springboks average nearly 16 missed tackles per game. Their previous opponents haven’t possessed the capacity to punish them in the manner the Blacks will. They simply have to cut down this figure. The Blacks miss around 11 tackles per match, but very few of those in their 22m. The platform the Springboks’ heavies lay will be crucial if they are to break down this efficient unit.
Errors
In the absence of any attacking creativity or flair, the Springboks will rely heavily on their kick-chase to pressure the All Blacks into penalties and build their score in that manner. However, tellingly, the Blacks’ discipline in their 22m has been exceptional, with the bulk of their indiscretions coming in the zone between their 22 and halfway line (and most of those closer to halfway). Morné Steyn’s goal-kicking form has been inconsistent and from those distances his accuracy will be compromised. Frans Steyn’s gun-boot may be the alternative, although he too hasn’t been too accurate (3 from 8 attempts). The Blacks will want to improve on their penalty count in the opposition’s 22m (24% of their total penalties have been conceded in that zone), while the Springboks are slightly better at 21%. However, they are close to 30% in the zone between the opposition’s 22m and halfway. The Springboks’ biggest problem has been their turnover rate in the red zone, which stands at nearly 43%. That has contributed significantly to struggles and is a facet of play they must improve exponentially to stand a chance of victory. Notably, the Blacks are far better at protecting the ball in this zone, which accounts for their superior try tally. The Springboks have also stolen painfully little (6% of their turnovers) in this area.
The Ref
George Clancy is averaging 3.5 scrum resets per game and is handing out 4.5 scrum infringements (pens and F/K). On average 79% of the time it will be conceded by the defending team. Clancy is handing out an average of 20 penalties per game with the bulk of those coming at the breakdown. On average 7.0 penalties will be inside the 22 and 7.0 penalties will become kicks at goal.
Stats supplied by ruckingoodstats
Follow Ryan on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby Magazine on Twitter
Follow ruckingoodstats on Twitter

267 Comments
14 Sep 2012, 14:59 pm
kak dragons
14 Sep 2012, 15:08 pm
For those who don’t want to read this, let me recap:
Attack:
Kak
Defence:
Kak
Errors:
Too many
The Ref:
A concern
14 Sep 2012, 15:48 pm
George Clancy was also the ref that awarded a yellow card to Jaque Fourie against Australia in 2010.
By doing this, he climbed on the bandwagon of referees giving out yellow cards to Boks in the first 10 minutes of 3 consecutive tests.
14 Sep 2012, 15:49 pm
How does everyone rate Clancy?
14 Sep 2012, 15:53 pm
@willievz-3: Was it undeserved?
14 Sep 2012, 16:03 pm
@gonzo-5: I think so.
Maybe more deserved than Danie Rossouw’s card againt the All Blacks a week earlier, however.
Clancy had a power trip during the Aussie test, also handing out yellows to BJ Botha and Quade Cooper later in the game.
14 Sep 2012, 16:09 pm
@Finfan-2:
Thanks, I thought as much
14 Sep 2012, 16:12 pm
@willievz-6: Has Richie Mac ever had a yellow card?
14 Sep 2012, 16:23 pm
@blik-8: Can’t recall him ever receiving one for the All Blacks.
He has received only a handful for the Crusaders.
14 Sep 2012, 16:23 pm
@blik-8: Unlikely, I don’t think he’s ever done anything wrong
14 Sep 2012, 16:28 pm
@Finfan-2:
14 Sep 2012, 16:28 pm
@blik-8: Think McCaw picked up a yellow card against the Bulls in the semi of Super Rugby 2007.
14 Sep 2012, 16:31 pm
@willievz-9: True, rule 48.1 states that if you are wearing a black jersy, you cannot receive a yellow card.
14 Sep 2012, 16:33 pm
World’s best XV:
15. Chuck Norris
14. Chuck Norris
13. Chuck Norris
12. Chuck Norris
11. Chuck Norris
10. Chuck Norris
9. Chuck Norris
8. Chuck Norris
7. Chuck Norris
6. Chuck Norris
5. Chuck Norris
4. Chuck Norris
3. Chuck Norris
2. Chuck Norris
1. Chuck Norris
14 Sep 2012, 16:36 pm
@blik-13: 48.2 states Boks players may headbutt without being carded
14 Sep 2012, 16:40 pm
Flip and/or Jannie to be carded.
AB loosies will have a field day against a loose trio whose pace reminds one of the famous NZ cricket dibbly dobbler bowlers – Chris Harris, Gavin Larssen and Cairns on one leg.
14 Sep 2012, 16:42 pm
@gonzo-15:
Rule 1.1 – You can do what you like as long as you are not seen. Until they brough sighting commissioners into the game
14 Sep 2012, 16:52 pm
@gonzo-15: You mean Keven Mealamu may headbutt without being carded.
Etzebeth’s “butt” did not even touch Sharpe.
14 Sep 2012, 16:59 pm
@gonzo-15: Be realistic now. Trying to make a case for the ref favouring the Boks is futile. However, it’s pretty simple to make one for refs/officials favouring the dear ABs.
14 Sep 2012, 17:10 pm
@blik-19: depends on where you come from and whether you watch the game with one or two eyes
14 Sep 2012, 17:23 pm
@willievz-18: No doubt, Kevvie should have been carded for the headbutt and he should’ve served a ban for lifting O’Driscoll. But for as many injustices you have against the Boks I could find one against the ABs (although I don”t keep track of them as much as people on here).
14 Sep 2012, 17:25 pm
Have a fantastic weekend chinas.
Just by the by, I have put R1000 on the Boks to win tomorrow. Games against the AB’s are different – reckon the Boks will surprise everyone.
14 Sep 2012, 17:34 pm
Woh! Yoh Yoh Yoh! Great article Ryan! When you are not bragging about how well you know Heyneke, and you actually use some facts and stats, your articles are great to read!
14 Sep 2012, 17:36 pm
@Marty-22: A fantastic one to you too Marty. That is an awesome bet you have placed and Im very proud of you china!
The depth of love we have for the Boks is amazing. On Monday I wanted to bliksem all of them (metaphorically) and by Friday we all believe they are going to win!
14 Sep 2012, 17:36 pm
@blik-14: With The Hoff at 10
14 Sep 2012, 17:46 pm
Well thats what a Bok game feels like ne? Morne kicks mostly, then rarely he passes, then even more rarely the Boks get into the 22. But then when that happens mostly the get isolated and turned or lose it in contact.
Then once or twice in a whole game everything clicks, there is space, there is quick ball and then Morne throws a skip pass to the winger and closes down allt he space the Bok backline had…
Lets hope tomorrow sees improvements all round. Go Bokke!
14 Sep 2012, 17:51 pm
ALLBLACKS BY 30
What do you say guys?
14 Sep 2012, 17:52 pm
@bokfan1-24:
Do you honestly believe the Boks are going to win?
14 Sep 2012, 17:53 pm
BOK side without Brussow is a sick joke and the joke is on us.
Meyer is a d o o s
14 Sep 2012, 17:53 pm
@gonzo-21: “But for as many injustices you have against the Boks I could find one against the ABs (although I don”t keep track of them as much as people on here).”
How can you give examples if you don’t keep track?
I am curious anyway, give me a few examples of where the Boks have been favoured in the last 20 years?
14 Sep 2012, 17:55 pm
@Finfan-2: @gonzo-4:
The Boks have won the last 4 out of 5 matches that Clancy has reffed.
Tomorrow it will be 4 out of 6
14 Sep 2012, 17:59 pm
@Boksarenumber1-28: China! I always BELIEVE the Boks will win. I have no choice
Whether I rationally think the Boks can win and will win is another story
But they always CAN win and I always WANT them to win and I ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS believe they can win
Its not very South African to be sulky and negative before the game has even started! Why would I ruin my weekend by not believing? Rather believe and be excited to see the boys in Green & Gold!
Shoshaloza!
14 Sep 2012, 18:04 pm
Good luck Bokke.
We have nothing to lose and everything to win.
They get flustered when they under pressure. We’ve all seen it happen before.
14 Sep 2012, 18:05 pm
@blik-30: I don’t keep track but I’ll try my best to remember
No need to go back twenty, just a couple: ref not carding two boks for head butting and JdV for a spear tackle on Ranger.
14 Sep 2012, 18:05 pm
Hey just give me the 1000bucks, it will be better invested than the bookies…lol
Wipping, a la cappuchino froth
30 points sounds about right.
But then again the whole world loves to see the All Blacks looooooose…
and yes with this Springbok B team… even better…
Hamba Gashle bobogaish
14 Sep 2012, 18:06 pm
@Boksarenumber1-28: Who thought we would win in 2008?
14 Sep 2012, 18:06 pm
Fark the AB’s. Moer them Bokke (but please change the game plan in the process)
14 Sep 2012, 18:14 pm
@gonzo-34: Are the two head-butts you refer to Etzebeth on the weekend and Bakkies Botha on Jimmy Cowen? Because they both recieved suspensions. And Bakkies got a yellow card for his first transgression of slowing the ball down after the ref saw the head-butt on the big screen. However he warned Richie Mcaw several times for the same offence, but no card.
14 Sep 2012, 18:17 pm
Wonder how many yellow cards McCaw received in his test match career.
14 Sep 2012, 18:20 pm
Not enough
14 Sep 2012, 18:20 pm
@Jeraldjay-39: Not enough! And not as many as he has deserved!
14 Sep 2012, 18:22 pm
@bokfan1-36:
2008 is a long time ago
We have the best fetcher in the world and he is not playing
I hate Meyer and love the Boks
When we lose i really enjoy watching Heyneke retarded face
14 Sep 2012, 18:28 pm
The BOKS need new blood. Many of the under 20 world cup team need to be playing and on the bench.. Goosen needs to start. JJ needs to be at centre and we need a real fullback.
Brussow needs to start
Not sure who is the bigger clown PDV or Meyer?
14 Sep 2012, 18:29 pm
@bokfan1-32:
14 Sep 2012, 18:31 pm
@Boksarenumber1-42: ‘When we lose i really enjoy watching Heyneke retarded face’
bit harsh, he is constricting the Boks with his gameplan but I don’t think you could say he isn’t a thoroughly nice bloke
14 Sep 2012, 18:35 pm
@Big Hit-45:
lol, I am just having a laugh reading some of these comments- should the boks by some miracle or divine intervention win tomorrow then you will see how Heinecke is hailed as the next messiah
14 Sep 2012, 18:41 pm
Anyone got a link to Kate Middleton’s b00bs?
14 Sep 2012, 18:42 pm
@Robzim-46: the turnaround would be something to behold, tacitus might even reappear
14 Sep 2012, 18:46 pm
@blik-38:
eventually they taper off into a resigned accectance of the fact that no matter how many times they say it to themselves it just never rings right when said out loud.
but the brains are washed and the memories fuzzy.
come morning light they’ll say it to themselves all over again… and again…
but still… no… huh er…
it still wont ring right when said out loud
really are a funny lot these kiwis
14 Sep 2012, 18:49 pm
@Big Hit-45:
PDV was a ‘nice bloke’
@bokfan1-32: In that case I advise recording the match and watching it at 10pm on Sunday night. It’s the only way in hell you’ll enjoy the weekend.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-49: Funny but true, delusional me thinks, clowded by their love of their dear ABs. Kind of like a mother will never say anything bad about their precious child.
@Soda-47:
i prefer boobs to boks
14 Sep 2012, 18:50 pm
@Robzim-46:
You damned if you do and you damned if you don’t.
14 Sep 2012, 18:52 pm
Eating Niknaks at Nagmall tonight
14 Sep 2012, 18:52 pm
@Marty-22:
well done.
i’m just a little regretful i didn’t put nearly as much money as i would have liked to on the boks. i did put a lot though.
as well the argies
14 Sep 2012, 18:59 pm
@willievz-3:
they really were determined to do something about their boys being manhandled, albeit legally, in 2009. bothe lions as well the tri natinos experience was just too much. i mean the ab’s 3 – zip imagine that.
its was pretty clear from the get go in 2010 that playing / sporting ability was not going to be the determining factor in those matches. some larfable penalties against the boks and oh so many non penalties against the blacks.
14 Sep 2012, 19:00 pm
@blik-52:
Not all mothers talk good about their kids, mine never does
14 Sep 2012, 19:10 pm
@blik-30: “I am curious anyway, give me a few examples of where the Boks have been favoured in the last 20 years?”
How about BIL series? Nurtured like newborns.
14 Sep 2012, 19:11 pm
I believe that there are coaches out there who are capable of competently coaching the boks, coaches who are capable of handling the useless politicians and screeching, hysterical fans, and that there are coaches who are stupid or arrogant enough to actually apply for the poisoned chalice that is the Bok coaching job, but I don’t believe that there are any coaches that have all three qualities.
14 Sep 2012, 19:15 pm
I wonder what will happen to Heyneke’s walkie-talkie after the game and is it insured against abnormal decibels and smashing.
14 Sep 2012, 19:18 pm
@gonzo-21: Keep your hand in the sand.
Your precious ABs are a disgrace when it comes to infringements.
Please explain to me why there were no cards for the following incidents:
Umaga on O’Driscoll.
Brad Thorne on John Smit.
Two of the most severe infringements in Rugby history.
14 Sep 2012, 19:27 pm
@willievz-62: Yes, BOD incident was a disgrace, no argument, both should have been banned for quite a long time.
However, speaking about “ones of the most severe” how about that same Smit crushing French captain’s Thion’s larynx with his elbow?
14 Sep 2012, 19:38 pm
@Soda-47: Contact Prince William.
This is a rugby sit.LOL
14 Sep 2012, 19:39 pm
Sit =site
14 Sep 2012, 19:54 pm
Just hope kieran eye gouger reid doesnt get away with murder again…
14 Sep 2012, 19:57 pm
@Nils-63:
you dimwit, for everyone of the you and gonzo have listed the boks players responsible recieved hefty suspensions.
smit got a six or eight week suspension, did not appeal because he felt himself guilty enought to be punished and was remorseful. he also unreservedly apologised to the thion.
now show us anywhere near equivalent for thorn, omaga and kevvie ‘i didn’t do it’ mealamu?
that joker then had the nerve to appeal his subsequent one week headbutt saying it was not in his character and he was squecky clean.
and before you desperately grasp, we know thorn got a one week suspension too. one week… hahaha
14 Sep 2012, 19:58 pm
for everyone of the you and gonzo have listed = for everyone of the incidents you and gonzo have listed
14 Sep 2012, 20:02 pm
and if i even remember the incident correctly he never even saw his unintended target due to the fact he ‘lashed out’ / hit his arm out to someone behind him in an attempt to protect the ball from being grabbed out from his arm.
it wasn’t lke he lined someone up. which is what those filthy kiwis do on tap.
14 Sep 2012, 20:03 pm
larfable really when a kiwi tries to deflect filthy play by playing a *** for tat game.
larfable.
14 Sep 2012, 20:26 pm
t i t
14 Sep 2012, 20:26 pm
I have a nephew in Christchurch who has been instructed to sink all the canoes and outriggers should the A.B’s win, in which case none of the AB players will be going home to the islands after the match. L.O.L
14 Sep 2012, 20:40 pm
Posts@72 EVERY single player in the current AB squad was born in NZ. So who’s going home to the islands?
14 Sep 2012, 20:44 pm
Watching the Leopards destroy the Valke. And forget this whole Steyn, Goosen, Lambie, Jantjes debate. The man we should have had in Dunedin is none other than Andre Pretorius. Say what you want, but he’s still pure class. Still peers at the posts from beneath that raised eyebrow before slotting them from all over, in gusting wind. And still that beautiful floated long pass to put midfielders into gaps. A joy to watch.
14 Sep 2012, 21:15 pm
@Delki-73:
you kiwis seem to have a serious complex about the pi issue.
never seen one of you laugh it off as another joke or banter.
always get worked up as if there is an element of truth in it?
14 Sep 2012, 21:15 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-67: Take some valium before you get a seizure.
14 Sep 2012, 21:19 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-69: “he never even saw his unintended target due to the fact he ‘lashed out’ / hit his arm out to someone behind him”
Hehehe, what a plonker. So oke just hits someone behind him with his elbow and it’s all fine.
Please live many many years for my enjoyment every day, here’s sugar for your today’s efforts.
14 Sep 2012, 21:19 pm
@Delki-73:
oh ok, 2nd generation or first?
@Nils-76:
thats lame nils, you can do better
make me wanna spit on you again
14 Sep 2012, 21:21 pm
@charo-75: I’ve noticed that too. It’s like trying to crack a farm invasion joke with a ZANU Zimbo. No matter how funny, they never ever laugh.
14 Sep 2012, 21:24 pm
@Nils-77:
poppa needs to take you in, and teach you how to troll.
are you even phukking trying?
why waste my time
doos
14 Sep 2012, 21:26 pm
yes toulon!
gunther scores hahaha
at least he makes up for butchering an earlier opportunity
14 Sep 2012, 21:26 pm
@Nils-77:
hey nils, i think you might be confusing the actual incident.
smittie fended off the defender with his forearm – quite clearly (there are many photos of it).
unfortunately it connected with his neck – clearly unintended but the suspension was accepted in good grace and an apology tendered.
must say that i have become disappointed with you lately – started off as a level headed blogger who happened to support the ab’s – and turned into a bit of a sniping whinger much like the rest of their fans.
hope i am wrong.
14 Sep 2012, 21:27 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-78: Your repeated desire to spit on me does not worry me at the slightest. I already told you, I do not deal with rabid animals, Bakkies.
For an animal you write pretty well, I must give you that though.
14 Sep 2012, 21:29 pm
@charo-82: Tell me about what I have whinged.
14 Sep 2012, 21:32 pm
@katman-79:
yep, the buggers are far too serious for it to be a minor matter in the recent history of the ab’s.
methinks they know it was the turning point in their national psyche’s desire to be good at something (so the whole world would take notice) for it to be simply laughed off.
@charo-82:
i knew it was something like that from memory but could recall exactly.
i dont think i’ve ever seen smit do anything intentionally or with malice in my life.
@Nils-83:
a little but keep trying.
i am getting there.
sort of vaguely feel like maybe spitting at you, whatever…
but i need to you to earn it, come on… you must work for it you c unt.
whats so goddamn funny about a farm invasion story told to a Zimbo… stupid little plaasjaapie moronic idiot should tell such jokes to a Zimbo in Harare not here in his baby arsewipe betchuwana land see how funny it becomes then .. they sure to laugh so hard they chuck you into a detention cell never to see the light again.
Like Steve Biko telling PW Botha or John Vorster that its funny his boertjie bull mastiff wange look like gobbledigook turkeys bloated up in grotesque greasy grime juice .. no wonder they found it so funny they chucked him down the stairs…
Same as telling a NZder that his AB team is filled with PI’s what EXACTLY is supposed to be so goddamn funny about that.??
14 Sep 2012, 21:34 pm
bakkies so so but lazy at the rucks / breakdown.
he does not bring the legal pain as much anymore.
14 Sep 2012, 21:37 pm
@Nils-84:
are you serious?
go back over the last few months and look at your posts again through the eyes of the “old” nils – the bloke who was a pleasure on keo and who added an eastern/northern european view of rugby.
mate, you have changed a lot. perhaps because there has been a lot of goading from some bok fans but previously you have always been above that and kept your good sense of humour.
my view – could be totally wrong.
14 Sep 2012, 21:43 pm
NZ 54 – 6 RSA
14 Sep 2012, 21:44 pm
So its mighty strange
I wonder how many rabid avid Bokke fans are actually rooting for Boks to klap the AB’s tomorrow..
Strange kinda feeling but I feel absolutely fokol… !!
I wonder how many of the players are feeling kinda like me… where all the old Bokke gees has been sold down the river of no return…
Far as I’m concerned AB’s can stuff Bokke through their one dimensional naughts tomorrow.. there is hardly any patriotic fervor left to even get remotely excited about…
14 Sep 2012, 21:45 pm
@fitz1ella-87: Hey, old balsak. Are we still on for tomorrow morning? How will I know it’s you? Maybe wear a carnation in your lapel. I hope you don’t mind – I’m a bit of a loud rugby viewer. Not everyone likes that in a pub. I’m sure we’ll be fine though. See you tomorrow.
14 Sep 2012, 21:45 pm
@sandeno-90: That might just do the trick.. I’m kinda hoping that’ll be the way it goes.
Otherwise we are in for the most one dimensional boring route to never never land for the next excruciating 4 more years.
14 Sep 2012, 21:46 pm
@charo-89: Charo, I may look irritated sometimes. We all sometimes look like that on either side of the trench, some more some less.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-86: Yawn. I wonder, whether you like that only in safe anonymous cyberspace or in real life, too.
@katman-92: come try your luck fckface see how far you get through the front door.
Every legend must run his course. it is time to take McCaw down. Flo with the Duane, boys.
14 Sep 2012, 21:49 pm
@fitz1ella-95: This is going to be so cool. Like two old penpals finally meeting up. I have a feeling you’re going to learn so much about the game, watching it with me. I get the impression you’re not a very informed rugby fan, from your posts. Nothing wrong with that. You’ve got lots of heart, which is good. But I’m going to expand your knowledge of the game tenfold. We’re going to have so much fun.
14 Sep 2012, 21:50 pm
naughty hands hayman
14 Sep 2012, 21:53 pm
@katman-97: like I said come try your luck.. you won’t get through the front door with the attitude you wear on lapel. Not a fat chance in hell little katmankunt .. stupid runtcunt over aggrandized imbecile.
14 Sep 2012, 21:54 pm
@Nils-94:
oh ok
i dont wonder anything about you, nils
you’re a doos to me all the same, in cyberspace or out.
14 Sep 2012, 21:55 pm
Can’t recall the last time I ever thought the Boks had absolutely no chance of beating the ABs. In fact I don’t think I ever have previously. I do now though, sad how far we have fallen… I think the Boks are going to be humiliated tomorrow. And strangely, I don’t really care a great deal that I feel that way. I think Meyer has turned some of my green blood red.
showdown at victorian times?
fark, here i am sitting in durbs.
going to miss the action.
@Nils-94:
you never seemed to get irritated before?
keo has become a bit of an irritating place lately though – too many idiots expressing idiotic views – and allowed to do so by the administrator.
that’s why you see so little of me.
cheers for now.
Being thrashed in NZ is the greatest insult to every South Africa, Shoot. We have to at least give them a run for their money, and leave the field with dignity. If we lose, JdV should resign as captain, and that will leave HM very exposed. Especially if JdV plays a blinder. And I believe he will.
14 Sep 2012, 21:56 pm
@Honesty Box Seymour-101: I’m hoping they get smacked to hell..
The bigger the loss tomorrow the better.. get it THROUGH this morons THICKER than THICK skull
14 Sep 2012, 21:59 pm
@charo-102: Cheers, have a good evening.
14 Sep 2012, 21:59 pm
@charo-102: you met this pisswilly little piepiejoller that thinks the sun shines out his pisswilly little cleverdick fanny?
I got zero inclination to make acquaintances with peanut brained arsewipes .. especially those little pissarse runts that think they are way more intelligent than they actually are.
14 Sep 2012, 22:00 pm
@fitz1ella-104: nope unlike you I would never be comfortable with wishing a big smack on my team. I hope the Boks win tomorrow.
14 Sep 2012, 22:01 pm
@fitz1ella-104: last year pdv lost 40 – 7 with smit as cappie & msteyn playing 15, what could be abigger smack than that?
14 Sep 2012, 22:01 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-100: So no diffence to me either, animal.
14 Sep 2012, 22:02 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-100:
no, nils is a cool guy.
a bit swayed by the ab’s recent success maybe, but not a doos.
in fact, when he first appeared, some of his english was not perfect but he has progressed impressively.
pity that some of our acidic kiwi mates have influenced him.
14 Sep 2012, 22:03 pm
dammit soft try toulon
defence defence
14 Sep 2012, 22:05 pm
@Honesty Box Seymour-107: well good luck to you
shows you got not all that much courage.. you want the Boks to win but you don’t believe they can..
I on the other hand think they can actually with some assistance by circumstance and ref interpretation and AB’s not being as fully functional as they been lately turn the tables tomorrow, but my inner sense of urgency wants this dead end delusional nonentity of a game plan to get smashed to hell so that it DIES the DEATH it deserves..
14 Sep 2012, 22:06 pm
@Nils-109:
dont be a farken doos, nils
if you’re gonna insult me then have the decency to call me some a little worse than that.
fark you man!
14 Sep 2012, 22:06 pm
@charo-110: Let me be clear, Charo, “swaying” has nothing to do with any teams success of lack of thereof. You won’t see me gloating on and on “blacks dis, blacks dat” or ridiculing “Boks dis, Boks dat”.
But yes, I got slightly pissed off by some pests lately.
14 Sep 2012, 22:07 pm
@charo-110:
oh ok
i seem to recall similarly about him too.
how people fall in love with those people is a mystery to me.
14 Sep 2012, 22:09 pm
@fitz1ella-106:
bugger, am staying up later than i should.
skoppie, as in most of these cyber conflicts, a face to face meeting almost always changes pent up frustrations and antogonists see more common ground than they thought existed.
i have met you both and i know that, in real life, neither are as combatant as you appear on the “interweb”.
toulon losing focus
@Transformation-108: another smack similar to that would do just fine.. even a little worse might be better.
But the Boks might just stand up tomorrow in spite of their archaic dead end game plan.. Ab’s might just choke on the over expectancy and Boks might just decide to pitch up on the occasion.
If its kick and chase then I want a big loss.. if we play archaic kick chase garbage like we have been since 2000 – 2001 then the bigger the loss the better far as I’m concerned.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-113: Bakkies, no way I intend to insult you. How could I, you wouldn’t feel an insult even if it is moved deep into your place where sun does not shine, so I do not even try.
Have a good day, Bakkies. Sleep well and get ready for tomorrow.
14 Sep 2012, 22:11 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-115:
Who is your all time favourite new zeelander?
Not on keo, but in real life, somebody that you admire?
14 Sep 2012, 22:12 pm
@charo-110: Anyway, take care and prepare for resumed hostilities tomorrow. (Nothing personally hostile, I have nothing but respect for you).
Cheers, till the game.
14 Sep 2012, 22:16 pm
@charo-116: yes and no… people say what they mean on the interweb because there are no nicety boundaries that prevent them from doing so.. so I can pretty much ‘see’ where this little cleverdick prick is coming from.. and far as I’m concerned he don’t deserve the input or the good company that he so cravenly seeks…
He still got plenty growing to do.. and I am not in the least interested in affording him that much of an opportunity to come suck up and try grow up face to face when he can’t do it on cyberspace.
14 Sep 2012, 22:17 pm
@Nils-119:
thats probably true nils, i am often told i am disgustingly thick skinned.
but there are times when i have feelings of empathy, and i think i have a leaned reflex which often kicks in to apologise when someone seems really hurt or angry, mostly just to make them feel better.
you have a good day/night too.
14 Sep 2012, 22:21 pm
@Robzim-120:
i dont know if i have one.
i cant say there’s anyone outside of sport who i know or admire.
i suppose i would say jerry collins… the last of a breed…
for the most part a rare example of a kiwi rugby player who played it as hard as it could be and gave everything, no quarter asked… but never played it dirty or low.
ja
i like jerry collins
14 Sep 2012, 22:25 pm
do it froggy
14 Sep 2012, 22:25 pm
missed
14 Sep 2012, 22:30 pm
I think there is an underlying anger in everybody right now. From Bokke befokke to Marikana. How a win in NZ would cool the furnace.
14 Sep 2012, 22:31 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-124:
All right, thanks, that is interesting…. he was indeed one hard bugger.
Mine are Josh Kronfeld, Zinzan Brooke (the best rugbyplayer i have ever seen) Neil Finn (Crowed House) and the freediver William Trubridge.
The prettiest is Rachel Hunter. Fark knows what she saw in Rod Steward, but maybe he has a great personality.
14 Sep 2012, 22:31 pm
fark no!
14 Sep 2012, 22:32 pm
soft try
14 Sep 2012, 22:33 pm
if Bokke win tomorrow by a big fluke or AB’s dropping the ball or the ref turning a blind eye I ain’t going to be impressed on little bit
I can’t see them turning their one dimensional game around.. If Pienaar and Steyn and Kirchner kick EVERYTHING into the goddamn sky.. then I do Not care for an ugly f’ng win.. I want the UGLIEST F’NG LOSS EVER..!!!
14 Sep 2012, 22:41 pm
PDV won two in a row in New zealand so it should be a walk in the park for the Great One heyneke
14 Sep 2012, 22:46 pm
@Robzim-128:
ok
i dont consider kronfeld or brooke to have been clean enough to respect, specially as kiwis. i would rather take cullen at a push (he was one helluva running fb, i’ll give em that) and do not think highly enough of crowded house, the diver or rachel hunter (she’s ok but not that hot) to even consider them in any meaningful way.
i probably am becoming a bitter man with age.
but most of these kiwis are dooses or simply retarded not to understand their behaviour.
if thats where you’re going.
14 Sep 2012, 22:52 pm
still enough to win
toulon stay top of the log
looking to challenge toulouse
14 Sep 2012, 22:54 pm
i’m off
and good luck bokke
14 Sep 2012, 22:54 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-133: what outright trash you talking that a player has to be ‘clean’ in your hyper sensitized imagination
you got some fetish going on in your brain that AB rugby players don’t live up to your self infatuated levels of honor or dignity.. are you somewhat insane.. since when do ANY rugby players live up to that inordinate level of scrupulous ‘cleanliness’ and honor on a rugby field.. If you were damn right HONEST about it SA rugby players are probably the biggest thugs on the planet.. and you want to come preach about AB payers not living up to your false estimation of what comprises ‘cleanliness’..
Get f’ng REAL or else go and watch table tennis .. because there is NO such thing as a ‘clean’ rugby player ANYWHERE in this universe.
14 Sep 2012, 22:58 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-133:
Oh well, we all have our favourites. I visited NZ twice- great place imo, lovely scenery and good people, no-one gave me any grief., i enjoyed the place and people.
Anyway, take it easy, tomorrow is going to be a big one.
14 Sep 2012, 23:00 pm
Bakkies is squeaky clean – he is a gdam saint and yet is persecuted by all.
14 Sep 2012, 23:10 pm
manana, compadres. viva la amabokkebokke
14 Sep 2012, 23:10 pm
quite right he’s so goddamn clean all he gotta do is his three hail Mary’s before he goes to bed and all his sins and transgressions miraculously get wiped out as if they never ever existed…
ain’t rugby (and religion) just grand… you can do your absolute worst but in the eyes of the lord and the doting loving disciples you always were and are most definitely going to heaven.
14 Sep 2012, 23:13 pm
or you can shag five women and say you are leading the nation and advancing women’s rights!
14 Sep 2012, 23:14 pm
quite right – Minor transgressions in the road of life – he makes up for it with his holy penatance and supreme devotion.
14 Sep 2012, 23:15 pm
I’m a wondering how many Hail Mary’s Heyneke is dutifully saying tonight..
and I’m a wondering whether Mary even vaguely gives a bloody toss
Sooner they wake up and smell the goddamn Gorgonzola cheese the better
14 Sep 2012, 23:19 pm
Viva jinxie2
Ribzim, v nice place, my 2 bestest lifelong pals are from oz and nz respectively.
14 Sep 2012, 23:23 pm
lol – I think he is absolutely kakking off for tomoro. Poor oke doesn’t deserve all the pressure we put on him – WTF is it anyway? A gdam oval-shaped piece of pigskin – hell I hope I remember that after we lose tomoro.
14 Sep 2012, 23:24 pm
@fitz1ella-143:
Heineken is an Orange Man with knee caps still in order.
14 Sep 2012, 23:24 pm
lifelong pals wtf is that
just like there no such thing as a clean rugby player and no such thing as a rugby god who gonna be listening to your hail Mary prayers.. there also no such thing as a life long pal .. those are all just fancy day dreams made up in super duper heaven.
14 Sep 2012, 23:25 pm
Stop at Green and Go on Amber
14 Sep 2012, 23:26 pm
@Jinx2-146: whats an orange man.. little over my head that
14 Sep 2012, 23:27 pm
@Jinx2-148: okay ..
14 Sep 2012, 23:28 pm
@fitz1ella-150:
Unionist
14 Sep 2012, 23:30 pm
What u never had a permanent friendship that spans a good part of this life ? I ain’t talking about the next lifetime or otherwirldy dimensions here so don’t get all astral.
14 Sep 2012, 23:33 pm
@cab-145: you know these okes are suckers for getting their heads mashed into pulp.. Poor Jake the Fake didn’t know which goddamn way was north east west or south he was so befuddled confused without a clue in the world.. in desperation he chucked out a hail Mary and out popped Eddy Judas Jones…
fck me Jakey’s Hail Mary’s gotta have more clout than Heyneke’s.. perhaps he goes down on bended knee a little more earnestly and a little less self assured and stiff necked.
That the thing with poison chalices .. they smell so sweet till you sip from it and find out its bitter and deathly as hell… but the funny thing is their ego got to taste that sh’t because they wanna PROVE to the world that they are maestro’s of absolutely nothing
14 Sep 2012, 23:35 pm
@cab-152: no such thing as permanency in this creation .. when you gonna discover that..
make a little hay while the sun shines that as about as permanent as anything ever gonna get.
14 Sep 2012, 23:37 pm
the first page of this thread is a farken classic..
a whole pagwe of complaints about a ref BEFORE the game and about Ritchie McCaw..
farken funny stuff…
the sense of entitlement from Bok fans is ridiculous..
three wins in NZ in the professional era… THREE ? WTF? hahahaha
no wonder so many of our younger generation think Aussie are our main rivals, yep, that same Aussie who have made you guys their Biytaches..
this thread is hilarious stuff…
How about Matfields head high shot on kelleher that went unpunished? just 9one example iof leniency toward the Bokke, but no, its only the ABs it seems..
delusional and chewing on the conspiracy cracker, is it any wonder your rugby is k@K..
14 Sep 2012, 23:38 pm
Blik 38
I nipped out for dinner, hope u didnt think i was ignoring u. Yes, they were banned but the ref and assist ref all missed/ignored the foul play and u asked for examples. I agree there were games when the boks were hard done by but its the same for the abs, aussies, french, brits. The welsh swear their kick went over in the world cup vs boks, the english claim they scored a try in the 2007 final. Everyone does. But if u cant even admit that those are three legitimate examples then you are too far gone down the conspiracy path for me to help u. You are destined for a life of being the victim
14 Sep 2012, 23:40 pm
153 SS
ag they also only doing their best – WTF do we actually know in any case? Maybe this hoof and a prayer is manor from heaven – what I can’t understand is how it is actually meant to score tries – I mean WTF do they think that it’s going to bounce right off daggs pip into the hands of habana? What’s more likely is dagg or jane will catch it 1-handed, beat 3 bok defenders and set up savea for a try.
14 Sep 2012, 23:45 pm
By making hay do you mean hokey pokey – good thinking.
14 Sep 2012, 23:47 pm
yep its downright befuddling idiocy of the highest order.. its like playing black jack.. kick the ball into the sky and PRAY that it comes down SOMEWHERE on your side of the track
I seriously hope Jane, Dagg , Smith and Savea score at least 6 tries from those goddamn hail Mary kicks into the sky..
The ONLY way this DAMN ignoramus IDIOT is going to learn that it Simply DON’T WORK is when he watches it FAIL after FAIL after FAIL
They been watching it FAIL since 2009.. HOW much LONGER are they going to keep watching it FAIL before they REALIZE its a DEAD goddamn DODO DUCK…?
14 Sep 2012, 23:52 pm
They say it’s not blackjack, they say it all about execution. Supposedly if you can land it on a tickie from 50 paces and u pressure with defense you turn that into offence – apparently this is how all the teams are playing winning rugby despite tge fact that they seem to have strikerunners to burn.
14 Sep 2012, 23:55 pm
hokey pokey one way of making hay.. if that the way that grabs your fancy only that’s like making babies… which ain’t always so easy to make merry around.. it gets kinda heavy paying for nappies with hay.
for every action is an equal and opposite reaction.. thus sayeth Zarathustra or one his other side kicks.
I’m out catch up tomorrow .. at Dunedin Desolation Demolition D Day
14 Sep 2012, 23:57 pm
@fitz1ella-147:
“lifelong pals wtf is that”
Funny that this is the question I came across now because I asked myself the question just now.
Background: A good friend of mine just visited me. Now, we were/are friends since we were about 6 years old.
Unfortunately, our lives took different pathways. He is the happy go lucky, good fellow, friends with everybody, drink my dronk, rook boom en tik kind of guy, while I’m not.
So, he came to me tonight and we talk a bit of kak. In the meantime, I knew that he was looking for some money to go on a spree but I did not give him a chance to ask me for it, knowing full well that he will use it for his addiction.
So my question is this: Was I correct in my action and is it better to rather lose a friend that you know for so long?
I know that friendship is a thing of seasons but when you grew up together there is a difference, don’t you think?
15 Sep 2012, 00:00 am
its a Bullshit game plan.. kick and chase .. the most idiotic non reasonable non scientific non executive type game plan possibly imagined by man
outright pathetic stupor which is BOUND to fail…
If they going to pursue it again tomorrow which by all accounts is on the cards I am hoping AB’s run in 10 tries to zip and kill this garbage idea off once and for all
Smit turned PdV into accepting this garbage and because it worked in 2009 with old ELV rules.. they persisted with it and LOST almost EVERY test SINCE then…
and now they continuing it STILL
I hope they lose by HUGE margin tomorrow and let the lesson sink IN once and for all. I hope they get THUMPED with every high kick I hope AB’s score a try.
15 Sep 2012, 00:02 am
@poppa69-155:
“the sense of entitlement from Bok fans is ridiculous..”
Come on now Poppa.
You can at least say, “the sense of entitlement from SOME Bok fans is ridiculous..”
You know we are not all like that, don’t you?
15 Sep 2012, 00:02 am
Gdam nappies don’t sound so good – luckily enough they’ve invented **** which zoro didn’t have for the fencing in his day.
later
15 Sep 2012, 00:05 am
@nama1-162: you did the right thing.. such friends are not friends at ALL…
you on your own.. from the cradle to the grave.. nobody going to get born for you and nobody going to die for you.. best you can possibly do is be a source of strength or comfort for someone in dire need for REAL support or moral assistance .. but basically we are on our own.. from birth to death with some few close associations along the way, and mostly those are with family more so than with so called friends.. though we do on occasion develop strong sincere ‘friendships’ mostly they come and then go.
See you anon.. out for now.
15 Sep 2012, 00:06 am
@nama1-164: apologies Nama, yes, there are quite a few good okes here…
but you have to dig deep to see their posts, I guess the same could be said of me, but its only banter
looking forward to another wonderful installment of Bok/AB rugby.. am very nervous and cant agree with all the talk of a smashing, far from it I think.. a 10 point win would be most satisfying imo..
15 Sep 2012, 00:09 am
@fitz1ella-154:
“no such thing as permanency in this creation .. ”
Not even the ANC governing South Africa?
Don’t let Zuma hear that.
15 Sep 2012, 00:10 am
Yeah it’s bullshit – always was. You can do it every now and again foe some variety but there’s no ways you are going to beat nz and oz with that permanent rubbish.
Only one way tge Boks in with a shout and that’s if our pack takes it to them, we get momentum, control and retain our ball and get quick ball to attack with not to hoof away. Kick kick kick – actually maybe I better not watch
15 Sep 2012, 00:13 am
@cab-169: its deciding when to kick that is the key, and when to run with ball in hand…
NZs advantage is that the backs are also almost as proficient as the forwards in holding up opposition players with ball in hand OR driving through a ruck to create turnover ball…
15 Sep 2012, 00:20 am
Yes Poppa agree on tge variety – you also have better strikerunners but I think we have better forwards tho maybe not for tomoro.
Tomoro Bokke will have to rely on pure gees otherwise could be one holy moly smashing I reckon.
15 Sep 2012, 00:30 am
@cab-171: nah, still plenty of reservations for me… should be a good game and a week is a long time in rugby, as always I think the first 20-30 minutes will be brutal and will decide the outcome.. if Boks are still in it after that, then they can spring the “upset” but if they are behind by more than 7 at that stage they will struggle to stay with the ABs I think..
15 Sep 2012, 00:32 am
@poppa69-167:
I would like to believe that Pops. That the Boks would be good competition for the AB tomorrow. My AB supporting friend said the same thing tonight but I just can’t see it.
For about 50 minutes maybe. Then the Red Sea will open once again.
I think it will be a nightmare for us Bok fans watching this game tomorrow.
(Hope you’re right though)
15 Sep 2012, 00:36 am
Our Bok forwards need to up their fitness levels,they protect the ball poorly……NZ will counter ruck with ease.Kirchner and Steyn so predictable…….forwards also hang off pods to bash forward………..after a few phases bashing up they knock on ….ball handling skills are poorly coached i`m afraid………..Lambie will come on very late …………Jannie Du Plessis will concede a few penalties in the scrum…….the clowns and present coaches running the Boks should hang their heads in shame…………….Give me Mallet and Solomons anyday and see the team progress………….also i would employ someone like Campese to assist with the backline
15 Sep 2012, 00:40 am
@nama1-173: mate, Foster coaching our backline, is it any coincidence that they now resemble the chiefs backline when he had them, all the talent but not being able to finish and sqaundering many chances… imagine if Smith was coaching the backline during the two Aussie tests..
I have not a lot of confidence in our coaching panel, though I must say Hansen has impressed me with his willingness to introduce new players and how he has done it..
also, I see your HTML skills are improving
15 Sep 2012, 00:40 am
@poppa69-170: @poppa69-172:
No Pops, Cab is absolutely right when he says, “if our pack takes it to them, we get momentum, control and retain our ball and get quick ball to attack ”
That’s the only way we can win this game. Unfortunately we sit with a loose trio where one player comes from a long lay-off due to injury (Vermeulen), a 2nd one who is top heavy and only good for 30 minutes (Alberts) and the 3rd one who is still on holiday (Flo).
That’s our loose trio out of the game after 30 minutes and that’s where you’ll moer us.
I’m not even going to the tight five where you obviously have the upper hand..
15 Sep 2012, 00:45 am
Marcelle Coetzee made some great tackles the last game……..Alberts on the other hand was mediocre
15 Sep 2012, 00:48 am
@wpforever-174:
Forget Kirchner and Morne.
They are not going to cost us the game or win it for us if the Boks do the impossible tomorrow.
The game will be determined by the forwards.
@poppa69-175:
I had a good teacher.
STORMERSBOY
WP/Stormers supporters roll like that, you know.
Can’t say the same for Bulls supporters like Dawn.
15 Sep 2012, 00:52 am
@nama1-176: Im surprised we started Whitelock to be honest, I guess Hansen wanted his experience during the early exchanges.. having Retallick come on after half time is a bonus for us, he has size and skill and we are fortunate that Romano has a physicality similar to Thorns ( though nowhere near him yet). Messam has also stepped up this year, proving that some players often take longer to reach the level required…
Hore starting is also an indication that NZ want to win the battle on the ground, he often plays an almost second “fetcher” (hate that word) type of role too… he is somewhat like Brussouw in his ability to retain his feet at the ruck imo..
still not writing you guys off though…
15 Sep 2012, 00:53 am
@wpforever-177:
Apart from his tackles, what else does Marcelle bring to the table?
What he does in the game, is what I expect from a 7 or 8. Not an open side loosie.
Let’s see how Flo goes tomorrow.
Let me just say that I’ve never been a big fan of Flo, even as a WP/Stormer supporter.
15 Sep 2012, 00:56 am
lets see if these work
©
£
™
€
®
South Africa has won just nine rugby matches in New Zealand since 1921
@TheTackler-182: Tests, that is.
15 Sep 2012, 01:00 am
@poppa69-179:
Your selection of Weepu is already an indication of the kind of game we can expect from the AB tomorrow. OK, I know he is there by default because of some indiscretion your SH, but still.
If you quicken up the game in the 2nd half, our boys will be nowhere, I think.
Whitelock vs Flip?
I know who I want in my team.
15 Sep 2012, 01:02 am
@TheTackler-183:
So what?
Before 2008, they won ZERO in Dunedin.
15 Sep 2012, 01:04 am
Springboks do not have a snowball’s hope of winning tomorrow, Morne Steyn does nothing, same with Zane Kircher.
Heyneke Meyer is going to be like Robbie Deans, smash and kick tactics for the next 4 years,.
15 Sep 2012, 01:06 am
@maximus1-186:
Another one putting the blame on Zane and Morne.
How do you think our forwards will do against the AB pack tomorrow?
15 Sep 2012, 01:07 am
Nama
I think Weepu would have been selected even if Smith was a good boy
Argentina played a similar style to SA against us last week, and as such his experience showed in handling the physicality we expect today (it’s say morning here) .. agree Smith will come on to open up the game
15 Sep 2012, 01:08 am
TheTickler…………………Springboks never lost a test series home and away until 1956……..since beating the British Isles in 1903………..
15 Sep 2012, 01:14 am
@poppa69-188:
Yeah, but if Smith was a good boy, I think you would’ve been better off starting with him and make the game fast. That way, you can take Alberts and Vermeulen out of the game early (say after 25-30 minutes). With Weepu starting, you also going to play a pick-and-go type of game and keep the Bokke in the game for the 1st half, I think.
As I said earlier, you’ll run away with it in the last 15 minutes when you make it faster.
HOPE our boys will still be up for it then.
15 Sep 2012, 01:18 am
@wpforever-189:
Was that 1956 series the one when Tiny Naude missed the penalty/goalkick to draw/win the series in NZ?
15 Sep 2012, 01:25 am
@nama1-190: Smith is also quite small, and with Cruden I think it would have been a very profitable point of attack for your big forwards.. the 9-10 channel…Weepu imo is there as much for his playmaking ability as well as his sterner defense (irt Smith at this stage of his career)
Our forwards will look to move yours all over the park, especially because as you highlighted earlier two of your loosies havent had much game time recently (Vermuelen and Flouw)..
15 Sep 2012, 01:27 am
NZ won first one 10-6,SA the second one 8-3…………i think we lost the last one 17-9 or something…………….just going through my shoebox of SA Rugby memorabilia,got heaps of stuff……………..even those orange plastic rugby balls from the British Lions tour to SA in the eighties lol
15 Sep 2012, 01:34 am
@wpforever-193:
1 September 1956 Eden Park, Auckland 11 – 5 New Zealand
18 August 1956 Lancaster Park, Christchurch 17 – 10 New Zealand
4 August 1956 Athletic Park, Wellington 3 – 8 South Africa
14 July 1956 Carisbrook, Dunedin 10 – 6 New Zealand
15 Sep 2012, 01:38 am
Trying to put my predictions on bru for the RC and the CC but can’t access the site. What’s wrong there?
In any case: AB 29-12
15 Sep 2012, 01:39 am
Thanks Poppa………..we also gave a Springbok head to Waikato…………who beat us prior to the Tests…………..
i miss proper rugby tours ……….. i personally think the state of the game worldwide is not in a healthy state……………. and my beloved Boks is one of the main culprits !
15 Sep 2012, 01:48 am
Ja drillbits en aasvoels
sweet donkeys en passbooks
little bo beeping die skaap chops are sleeping
verwurgde worsies le dronk in die deepend
braai sous en spook bene
plektrums en dorings
these are some of my heuningkoek things
Kannie hoop, kannie loop, dra horings bokke.
15 Sep 2012, 01:59 am
WPForever
yep. a famous victory for the Waikato.
I too miss the proper tours, it’s where the rivalry and friendships are truly forged.
15 Sep 2012, 02:28 am
I keep saying it. There is something strange about this stadium in Dunedin.
No one has monstered / thrashed anyone here. This stadium has a very weird feel & I think it will affect the AB’s more than the Boks. It has no atmosphere oddly.
15 Sep 2012, 02:49 am
@PielNeus-197:
You have my attention, Piel. Appreciate the images and the spirit it evokes.
Here’s hoping…..
15 Sep 2012, 02:53 am
@Ricardo10-199: no atmosphere? you havent watched super rugby this year then..
eish, it is the ABs first game at this stadium also, it was built for the WC and teams like England, Argentina and Scotland had their pool games there.. and there was plenty of atmosphere during those games..
15 Sep 2012, 03:03 am
Pedigree, if you read this some news on the Blues..
Woodcock has signed with the landers for next season
Toeava is of to Japan
we will be challenging the Kings for the wooden spoon next year methinks
15 Sep 2012, 03:09 am
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ikQg1k-MBDQ&feature=related
Tuqiri spear tackle on Ritchie Mccaw was pretty bad and escape punishment. You can see his neck twist as his heads driven into the ground.
That was one of the nastiest looking spears I can think of and it went unpunished on the field.
Don’t think that ref’s only miss infringements when NZ does them.
15 Sep 2012, 04:19 am
@Pencil-203: no you’re right, Oz also get away with it
15 Sep 2012, 04:33 am
@Pencil-203:
I believe he got 4 weeks afterwards..
After tht tackle IRB came down hard on spear tackles…i think it was NZ driven as their “precious’ was on the worse end of it.
15 Sep 2012, 04:38 am
@Big Hit-204: so do the “poms”
Wednesday, May 30, 2012
Manu Tuilagi tip-tackle citing dismissed ahead of South Africa tour
The Aviva Premiership final began in frantic fashion on Saturday as big hitting midfielder Manu Tuilagi was penalised for a tip-tackle on Danny Care. He was cited, but that was dismissed, making him available for England’s tour of South Africa.
15 Sep 2012, 04:40 am
@nama1-191: Tiny Naude’s kick on a Christchurch mudbath won the Boks their only test on the 1965 tour. The first and only time the Boks ever WON a series on NZ soil was in 1937. That was also the last time the Boks ever won a test at Eden Park, Auckland.
The Boks lost the 1956 series, and this marked the first-ever series win for NZ over the Boks (home or away), after drawn series in 1921 and 1928 and defeats in 1937 and 1949.
15 Sep 2012, 04:43 am
@Big Hit-204: and the Lions too.
an “accidental” spear tackle?
hahahahahahaha
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lRZRQI_69OQ
15 Sep 2012, 04:51 am
@wallabie.-205:
I think it was a pretty terrible tackle to be put on anyone. I don’t enjoy seeing players necks get bent that way regardless of what colour jersey they have on.
I’m happy they cracked down on them.
Anyway the point was that it went unpunished on the field of play. All teams get their lucky breaks.
15 Sep 2012, 05:32 am
@Big Hit-204: so do South Africa, just for you Bakkies, what cheating filth huh?
JPP getting away with a high tackle
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ugDM1iHuVWw
Matfields High tackle on Carter
http://www.rugbydump.com/2006/11/37/victor-matfield-high-hit-on-dan-carter
and then on Kelleher
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ps7GtXfVZ14
escaped punishment for both too if memories correct.
but yeah, its only the antipodeans who “get away with it” lmfao..
15 Sep 2012, 07:04 am
Well here’s my 2 cents worth on the whole Pacific Islanders playing rugby union in New Zealand thing..in which a lot of the players are born here in N.Z.. and even if we combined all the islands with N.Z. the numbers would only reach a combined total of about 6 to 7 million tops…that in comparison to South Africa that has a population of about 30 million..so the numbers still favour S.A. by a long shot,..therefore it all comes down to hard work, natural talent , confidence in their abilities and natural flair etc etc..that makes N.Z. the number 1 ranked rugby team in the world..also our structures from primary and grass roots all the way up are exemplary….
15 Sep 2012, 07:25 am
@TheTackler-207:
Thanks Tackler
But I remember a photograph where Tiny Naudy hang his head out of disappointment after missing a kick to level/win the series against the AB. I thought it was the 1956 tour.
Maybe you can remember that photo as well?
15 Sep 2012, 07:34 am
@charo-116:
actually, that is bollocks.
perhaps with the exception of one track from deja vu by csn&y….
skoppie and katman have absolutely zero in common.
15 Sep 2012, 07:54 am
@poppa69-206: there was nothing in that Tuilagi tackle which is why the citing was dismissed completely
15 Sep 2012, 07:57 am
Can’t believe Pops rears his head here again after calling Rangerman a rapist
15 Sep 2012, 07:57 am
@Dawn-215: hey, people mock my mothers death still to this day, so whatever dawn..
15 Sep 2012, 07:58 am
Big hit with so many players why do you need to poach islanders like Tuilagi, clearly it doesnt help the England team and you deprive them from playing for their country?
15 Sep 2012, 07:59 am
@Big Hit-214: and the spear tackle on Tipoki?
15 Sep 2012, 08:01 am
Pops you can give it plenty tonight after we beat them, they’ll be wounded and looking to take it out on the nearest kiwi so watch your back…
15 Sep 2012, 08:02 am
@charo-213: I’m curious, which track?
15 Sep 2012, 08:02 am
Hi Guys
Does anyone know of a bar in Saigon District 1 where I can catch the game?
15 Sep 2012, 08:03 am
@NZINCHINA-219: no worries here mate…we’ll see how the game goes first, obviously if they win most kiwis will congratulate them, if we win it will be the refs fault..
thus it will be so..
imagine if they win? will be our first loss in 14 games but it will be a new world order, all sorts of chokes ala the sharks etc…
should be fun either way
15 Sep 2012, 08:04 am
@poppa69-216: No, Fern does. That’s not people. That’s one sicko. But you can’t tell the difference, because you are socially stunted.
15 Sep 2012, 08:06 am
Pops we go 14 straight tonight and march towards the needles 17 straight, that would be a much bigger highlight than winning the RC.
15 Sep 2012, 08:07 am
@katman-223: good morning to you too katman, lookijng forward to the game today?
no jokes about our culture yet? strange, you should up your game some son..
15 Sep 2012, 08:07 am
@NZINCHINA-224: You talking about our record under Mallet?
15 Sep 2012, 08:09 am
Agreed katman.
That’s not everyone.
15 Sep 2012, 08:09 am
No the Needle set the record and Hansens boys will break it.
15 Sep 2012, 08:11 am
@NZINCHINA-228: “Between August 1997 and December 1998, under Mallett’s guidance, the Springboks went on a record winning streak of 17 consecutive test wins. As part of the unbeaten run the Springboks won the Tri Nations Series undefeated and beat several teams by record margins, including a 52–10 against France in Paris, a 68–10 win over Scotland in Edinburgh, a 33–0 defeat of Ireland and a 96–13 against Wales. The run ended when the Springbok team was defeated by England at Twickenham at the end of a long tour on the 5 December 1998.”
15 Sep 2012, 08:12 am
@NZINCHINA-224: not looking that far ahead bro, one game at a time, the record will take care of itself..
happy with a one point win tonight, any more is a bonus..
it is a Bok/Ab test
15 Sep 2012, 08:12 am
@katman-229: Needle is Fred Allen
15 Sep 2012, 08:14 am
Don’t tell me “whatever”
It was a personal slander, and it warrants an apology.
15 Sep 2012, 08:15 am
@poppa69-231: though he won 14 of the 17 tests in charge..
not sure who had them for the other three?
15 Sep 2012, 08:16 am
Yes Katty I know Mallet equalled the Needles record.
15 Sep 2012, 08:18 am
@Dawn-232: sure, once i get apologies for qall the personal slanders Ive endured on this site..
sounds fair dont you think?
you know, us cheating fuilthy scum, us fat maoris etc etc..
hypocrite much?
15 Sep 2012, 08:18 am
Pops im out until later, lets hope we take them to the cleaners – cheers.
15 Sep 2012, 08:19 am
@NZINCHINA-236: cheers NZinC..
regardless, just want the boys to play well, if they lose no shame in that..
15 Sep 2012, 08:19 am
@NZINCHINA-234: Mallett won 17, Allen won 14. So technically he didn’t. But the two unbeaten runs for the teams were the same.
15 Sep 2012, 08:29 am
@poppa69-235: You do realise the incredibly huge gap in your logic, Giulietta? Because A and B insulted you, you’re justified in attacking C through Z because they share a nationality? That’s the stuff that religious jihads and facist genocides are based on. But as I said earlier, your emotional and social development clearly got halted at an early age, so I guess we can’t expect any kind of normal behaviour from you.
15 Sep 2012, 08:31 am
@katman-220:
dunno, southern man maybe?
15 Sep 2012, 08:33 am
@katman-239: is that a personal slander katman? eish..
you do it every time too, is it any wonder I generalise? have you tried to have a decent conversation with me rather than exalt your righteousness?
of course not, try it some time, you may be surprised..
15 Sep 2012, 08:35 am
Another 6 racial motivated farm murders this week! Kak country this! I hope nz kills the boks 2 day…. Cant support a country where boer genocide is ignored….. Come all blacks bliksem us hard!!!, do it for the murdered innocent ones….
15 Sep 2012, 08:35 am
Has anyone ever called you a rapist?
Twat.
15 Sep 2012, 08:43 am
@Dawn-243: nope, but Ive had plenty of references about being maori, and seen my culture ridiculed on this site, often..
dont kick the dog if you dont like it biting back
15 Sep 2012, 08:45 am
@katman-238:
The Boks won 17 in a row but Mallet was in charge for 16 of those matches.
Carel Dup started off the unbeaten run when his Boks beat Aus 61 – 22 before he was sacked.
15 Sep 2012, 08:48 am
@Boksarenumber1-50: he was indeed
15 Sep 2012, 08:48 am
@charo-240: Ah, from After The Goldrush. Great album. I thought you might have had “Old man” from Harvest in mind.
15 Sep 2012, 08:49 am
@grant100-242:
In August I saw an incredibly violent South African production of “Mies Julie” at the Edinburgh Festival. While being filled with pride at the intense teamwork and commitment of the actors, I was haunted and traumatized at the depiction of murder and destruction on the farms in SA.
The production was picked in the Top 10 out of almost 500 productions, and has since gone on to London.
It would not be so successful if it were not true, and the actors would not be so dedicated if they did not feel the truth behind everything they were telling.
Dit is nou ‘n kwessie van oorlewing. Take it or leave it.
15 Sep 2012, 08:49 am
@poppa69-241: You’re not decent, Poeps. Not by a long shot. I’d be wasting such a conversation on you.
15 Sep 2012, 08:51 am
@nama1-245: Indeed, you are correct.
I watched the England game that brought the run to an end in a pub in London. Was not fun.
15 Sep 2012, 08:52 am
@katman-249: theres that moral high ground again, be careful you dont fall off mate, its a terribly long drop..
15 Sep 2012, 08:53 am
@katman-250:
That was such a big let down.
Would’ve been our first grand slam, I think.
15 Sep 2012, 08:54 am
Woke up feeling pretty good about a backs against the wall Bok team’s chances to pull off a good perfomance here…until I started listening to Mallet, Mitchell and Willemse……Feeling kak again.
@nama1-212: That famous slumped shouldered kicker was Jack van der Schyff, the fullback in the first test against the 1955 British Lions. The missed kick cost the game, lost by 22-23, and poor Jack was immediately dropped, never to play for the Boks again.
@poppa69-251: I get the impression you only have a bout 5 posts that you randomly rotate. It’s all a bit wallpaper by now.
15 Sep 2012, 08:56 am
@TheTackler-254:
Ohhh… OK.
Thanks again Tackler.
15 Sep 2012, 08:57 am
@katman-255: funny, i could have said the same for you. I havent slandered you once on this blog, perhaps the moral high ground could be seen as one, but you have continously done that to me..
your halo is slipping katman..
15 Sep 2012, 08:58 am
@poppa69-257: blog = thread..
15 Sep 2012, 08:59 am
@poppa69-258: LOLS. Wasn’t that a telling slip of the typing fingers…
15 Sep 2012, 09:01 am
yeah. I make mistakes , no shame in that.
15 Sep 2012, 09:06 am
Poppa you must behave or take a hike…. Too late to admit your mistakes now boet
15 Sep 2012, 09:09 am
Hey
15 Sep 2012, 09:10 am
@grant100-261: nah, theres a rugby game to watch, no time for hiking..
but hey, at least I support my team no matter what, I see youve deserted your “beloved boks”
isnt that akin to being a traitor?
15 Sep 2012, 09:12 am
Poppa your a maori… Not a real nz’lander right…. So we’re in the same boat
15 Sep 2012, 09:14 am
Your views on the commentary from Mitchel, Mallet and Ashwin?
15 Sep 2012, 09:15 am
@nama1-245: Lithuania currently hold the record, 18 consecutive test wins.
Had Sir Clive not fielded a B-team v France in a WC warm-up, the England 2000-03 side would likely have had a 22 match unbeaten test run.
I think this NZ side could maybe do it but in truth it doesn’t feel like one of the great test sides.
15 Sep 2012, 09:32 am
Sheesh hot chick singing nz anthem…. Goth look…. Nz athem … Aka i would like to fak yah