All Blacks 21 Springboks 11
15 Sep 2012
GARETH DUNCAN brought you live commentary from the Rugby Championship Test in Dunedin..
FULL TIME: ALL BLACKS 21 SPRINGBOKS 11
80 mins: ALL BLACKS PENALTY! Cruden denies the Boks a losing bonus point with the scoring act of the match. The ball sails over the crossbar and the final whistle blows. ALL BLACKS WIN 21-11!
79 mins: Cruden has a late shot at goal, but hits the post. And a rushing McCaw gets the ball and creates some late drama. But the Boks restrict the New Zealanders, but illegally so and the All Blacks have a late penalty.
78 mins: Boks find themselves in All Blacks’ danger zone, but they’re errant and can’t capitalise. New Zealand escape thanks to a big Dagg clearance. The fullback shows his big boot
73 mins: ALL BLACKS PENALTY! Cruden converts another penalty soon after Goosen’s three-pointer. All Blacks in a very, very comfortable position now. ALL BLACKS LEAD 18-11!
70 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! Goosen lands his second kick at goal, from the right touchline. Wonderful attempt. ALL BLACKS LEAD 15-11!
67 mins: Replacement flyhalf Johan Goosen gets his first chance at goal – from 55m out! Gets some good distance, but falls short. Good try from the young Bok.
65 mins: All Blacks get a penalty in a kickable position, but Cruden misses this time.
63 mins: BIG BLOW! Greyling costs the Boks a man as he gets a yellow card for foul play on Richie McCaw. All Blacks against 14-man South Africa.
60 mins: ALL BLACKS TRY! Brilliant stuff from replacement scrumhalf Aaron Smith. The ball spills out of the breakdown, but he picks it up and has dart. He beats three defenders as he dives over for a telling score. Cruden adds the extras. ALL BLACKS LEAD 15-8!
57 mins: Poor kicks from Pienaar and Morne Steyn costing Boks the ascendancy. Morne Steyn tries to find some space behind the All Blacks line, but Dagg punishes the Bok 10 with a big clearance.
50 mins: ALL BLACKS PENALTY! Replacement prop Dean Greyling gives away a silly penalty at the breakdown, and Cruden punishes the Boks. THE SCORES ARE LEVEL AT 8-8!
48 mins: SPRINGBOK TRY! Individual brilliance from Habana. The speedster breaks the line, and chips ahead before chasing it down to score. What a try. Morne Steyn doesn’t convert. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 8-3!
42 mins: Boks gaining good metres, and hit All Blacks hard on attack. But Habana loses the ball in the tackle, and it’s another butchered opportunity in the opening minutes of a half.
41 mins: Springboks get a deep kick-off to start the game. All Blacks kick a poor clearance in return. Good attacking position for the tourists early on.
HALF-TIME: ALL BLACKS 5 SPRINGBOKS 3
40 mins: All Blacks prop Tony Woodcock concedes a late penalty at the lineout, taking out a jumper in the air. Morne Steyn gets the final chance to score points before the break. But he misses … again!
36 mins: Lucky let-off for Habana, as he makes a hash of fielding an up-and-under. He clearly touches the ball as the kick goes out on the full. But the assistant referee misses it, and takes the play back 30m and gives the Boks possession.
32 mins: ANOTHER MISSED PENALTY! From five penalty attempts, the Boks have now missed four. Morne Steyn pulls his third shot at goal – and it wasn’t a difficult one.
30 mins: Boks win a penalty 58m out from goal, and Frans Steyns argues he can do it. He gets a good strike, but it falls inches short from the crossbar.
28 mins: Boks do well to put themselves in good attacking positions, but their backline play has been so uninspiring.
26 mins: Boks defend the All Blacks rolling maul well, and force the tunrover. Kruger does well coming through the middle and wins the visitors a scrum, relieving the pressure.
24 mins: BIG HIT! Read welcomes Vermeulen to New Zealand with a big, big tackle. And the All Blacks win a penalty at the breakdown.
22 mins: Springboks are doing well in contest at the breakdown on defence. No 8 Duane Vermeulen does the job on this occasion, and Morne Steyn gets his second chance at the posts. But he misses as he slices the goal attempt, which fades to the left.
19 mins: ALL BLACKS TRY! Offloads galore, punching holes in the Bok defence. Lock Sam Whitelock’s offload to No 8 Kieran Read puts the hardman into space and he sucks in two defenders. And during the tackle, he offloads to fullback Israel Dagg, who has a clear run to the whitewash. Cruden misses the conversion. ALL BLACKS LEAD 5-3
17 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! Morne Steyn finds the target from his first attempt. the Boks are finally ahead. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 3-0!
16 mins: Bok pack doing good work with some strong and effective ball carries. They milk a penalty against the All Blacks defence, and flyhalf Morne Steyn will get a shot at goal.
14 mins: The All Blacks find good field position from the resulting touch finder, but knock the ball forward at the lineout. Then they concede a penalty at the following scrum. The Boks are dominating the set-pieces.
12 mins: Frans Steyn carries the ball against Cruden, but the New Zealand No 10 does well to take down the big man. All Blacks contest well, and the Bok support concede a penalty at the breakdown.
9 mins: Habana wins a penalty in a kickable, but difficult position. Inside centre Francois Steyn steps up for his first shot at goal, from about 48m out. He strikes … but it’s wide.
7 mins: The Boks are enjoying most of the possession and playing the game in the All Blacks’ half, but not making much of this early ascendancy.
4 mins: MISSED CHANCE!!! Wing Francois Hougaard puts the boot to a loose ball and finds space behind the All Blacks line. Possession is recovered and the Boks are 5m out. After a couple of drives, the ball is spread wide but fullback Zane Kirchner’s pass to wing Bryan Habana is spilled, and the hosts escape. The Boks butcher a clear try-scoring opportunity.
KICK-OFF: All Blacks flyhalf Aaron Cruden starts the game with a high kick-off. And it’s a good start as lock Juandre Kruger takes it in neatly. Scrumhalf Ruan Pienaar clears to the halfway line.
All Blacks – 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Piri Weepu, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Liam Messam, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Luke Romano, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Subs: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Charlie Faumuina, 18 Brodie Retallick, 19 Victor Vito, 20 Aaron Smith, 21 Beauden Barrett, 22 Tamati Ellison.
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jean de Villiers (c), 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Dean Greyling, 18 Andries Bekker, 19 Marcell Coetzee, 20 Johan Goosen, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie.

1,080 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] Show All
15 Sep 2012, 14:51 pm
@cane-1048:
yes, i am happy with the progress meyer and the team are making.
granted we have lost two but i think this time next year we’ll be likely champs.
with one or two old hands.
15 Sep 2012, 14:53 pm
@poppa69-1047:
@cane-1050:
in the words of george dubya: ‘i aint concedin nuthin’…
15 Sep 2012, 14:56 pm
I must congratulate the boks forwards effort, the ABs should not have won at all. The ABs are becoming complacent. The ABs were totally bullied at the breakdown, we usually play in front of the ball and today we were just slovenly, we weren’t moving bodies at the breakdown, the boks were molesting us at the collision point, I put down to arrogance, laziness, complacency, and huge bok effort that must be commended. We’ll get whacked at soccer city if our approach doesn’t change quickly!
15 Sep 2012, 15:43 pm
@mpundulu-1053:Your obviously one of those stupid African AB fans,why don’t you support your own country,we don’t want you supporting our team There’s nothing worse than seeing a bunch of Africans in AB jerseys who have never been to NZ. WE DON’T WANT YOU. GO AWAY and take your political posturing with you. I suppose you support Man united as well.
If you were a real kiwi AB fan you’d know complacency isn’t part of the AB psyche.
Looking forward to playing at soccer city,it will be up to the boks to bring the game to us and we’ll smash them on the counter.
Anyway, go out today and buy yourself (if you can afford it) a nice pretty Springbok or is it Proteas rugby jersey and support the country of your birth..
In conclusion, jump off the band wagon.
15 Sep 2012, 15:46 pm
Yeah blacks should stick with soccer
15 Sep 2012, 15:55 pm
@bokke baiter-1054: Boom!!!
15 Sep 2012, 17:34 pm
Ooo
Nasty in here
Smelly
Lemme go somewhere else
15 Sep 2012, 18:43 pm
@Hondo-808:
“Greylings does what he usually do with SA referees where he gets away with it, but he is much stronger than the Beast and contributes to the rucks immensely”
You’re joking!!! Surely!!!
who can take you seriously after this comment.
Not even YOU.
JOKER
————————————————————————————————–
The Boks actually played well for a change but **** me, if they play well and lose to an AB side that play kak, we really have problems.
What say you boys about Fransie’s game today? One line break and that was it, of hoe?
Other than that, he was freakin nowhere.
Drop die dom bliksem.
15 Sep 2012, 18:52 pm
CONGRATULATIONS to the ALL BLACKS and their fans.
You’ll admit that you did not outplay us but you did BEAT us in the end.
Well done.
15 Sep 2012, 19:05 pm
@Hurricane-1038:
Yeah, he’ll probably say it is the refs fault that Morne and Fransie left 15 points on the park before half time.
Ignore the fool.
Btw, Well done on the win.
15 Sep 2012, 19:25 pm
@mpundulu-1053:
its ok boet, we’ll take you back at the boks.
just tell this doos to p i s s off.
15 Sep 2012, 19:26 pm
15 Sep 2012, 20:43 pm
Congrats ABs
Boks you need to change up your plan and selections – fourie having another stormer
15 Sep 2012, 21:41 pm
@bokke baiter-1054: Thank you
15 Sep 2012, 21:47 pm
joker.If your flyhalf slands deep,then your 12 & 13 have to stand deep
Far more difficult to get over gain line.Back line play 101
15 Sep 2012, 21:52 pm
@cab-1063: Deon Fourie so much better than Strauss & Liebenberg.
15 Sep 2012, 23:35 pm
@bokke baiter-1054: out of line dckhead… Mpundulu is nothing but a gentleman and this kiwi is more than proud that he chooses to support our team…
@mpundulu-1053: My apologies for the rabid rant of NZs very own Fern/HG/Bakkies evidenced above.. I do think your point is valid, the Haka imo was poor last night and reflected their play… with all the talk all week by the media and fans, complacency imo was a real issue…they wont be so lax next time at Soccer city
16 Sep 2012, 00:30 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-1061: @i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-1062:
Laughing at your own “jokes?”
Nou raak jy heeltemal bevok in jou kop.
16 Sep 2012, 01:02 am
@bokke baiter-1054:
You just proven that you are not a Kiwi.
Mpundulu is a supporter of the game,he like ABs ….so be it.
Myself,i think its great that the ABs have supporters over the world.
I find Mpundulu a very nice guy that blogs with his head and heart,unlike you that blogs with your a$$ and v@gina.
I think its you that should show face and log onto your own true user name….we all know you are a Bok supporter just trying to bait the Boks supporter here. YOU ARE NOT KIWI, now pi$$ off.
16 Sep 2012, 01:04 am
@mpundulu-1053:
Spot on.
We will get beaten up in SA if our approach does not change.
In fact we will be beaten in Argentina as well.
This AB team is not playing good at all,but we are winning. I would rather play well than rely on the other team to play bad..
16 Sep 2012, 01:16 am
Bakkies, saw this on another blog, please add it to your very long post about cheating…. ta
“Dagg beats Habana and Sideshow Bob and belts the ball downfield from inside his 22 and one of the Bok props is in the ARs face shouting at him trying to convince him he has got it wrong.
Very unpleasant.
Habana in the field of play touches the ball as it goes out then clearly stands there gestures to the officials that the ball went straight out.”
boks got advantage of 30 metres AND the ball..
only NZ get away with it
16 Sep 2012, 01:29 am
@Hurricane-1069: obviously a saffa multinic… HG? Wooden Spoon? Predawn? Fern?
it has that reek about it
16 Sep 2012, 03:09 am
No doubt, Blacks were fortunate to win, long way to go before their supporters myself including can be anywhere near complacency. Unlike previous few games Boks looked more like old foe used to be – strong and uncompromising. They certainly could have won this time and if not squandered their many opportunities – should have. Despite Heyneke Mayer.
16 Sep 2012, 03:13 am
@poppa69-1071: That was just as good as Morne trying to steal good five or six meters for his penalty kick vs Aussies. That time ref (Owens) spotted the blatant cheating and made him go way back, and so poor wa out of his range sod had to give the kicking to Frans. Priceless.
16 Sep 2012, 03:20 am
@Nils-1074:
#start bakkies mode#
no Nils you must be mistaken, the Boks are the cleanest team in rugby and that sounds like something that only the filthy cheating kiwis do..
#end bakkies mode#
16 Sep 2012, 10:44 am
Nothing like an afrikan in a bok jersey ,nausea to the max. Ask craven. Mpundulu bra we was really no where and lost and made these lames think they’re making progress with their chip and chase. Soccer city ,let’s be there and numbers and make them naar :’)
16 Sep 2012, 10:49 am
Nobody will tell us who to support ,even in their overly excited manner. Brand of rugby playes by allblacks is exciting and appealing to us except the last 3games but allblacks for life
16 Sep 2012, 12:13 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-777: the fact you left out Habana’s blatant cheating knock on into touch where he claimed it was out on the full totally destroys ANY credibility this list might have had.
16 Sep 2012, 13:17 pm
Our problem is still the same thing it has been this hole time, against England in PE, Argentine in Mendoza, the Wallabies last week and this week New-Zealand. We are sticking to our “not working” game-plan of kick and chase. Yes our penalty strategy game was good, but when we play that game plan we need to get those Penalties.
Australia has a Fly-half that can’t kick, but he’s a play-maker and a key player in the Australian back-line and there fore they keep him on Fly-half playing Barnes on inside-center as their goal-kicker. Dan Carter for the All-blacks is not just a great runner but a great goal-kicker which has the prefect combination of both. Morne Steyn is there for his kicking capabilities, yet he hasn’t shone any of it lately. He’s never been a running player and will never be. The only good thing he has is his tactical kicking.
Our kick-and-chase game-plan worked this weekend, we just should’ve converted those penalties and we would’ve won. But for we don’t have a good enough goal-kicker at the moment, our game-plan has to change. The only chances we had for tries where from loose balls and from players like Habana, De Villiers and Houggaard who in the game-plan doesn’t get the ball ones for each time we go to the back-line from a ruck, it’s crashball from Francois Steyn or up-and under from Morne Steyn.
Goosen played an excellent 25 minutes, not only being a great runner and play-maker for the back-line but also kicking-wise good. Him starting against the Wallabies won’t be a bad idea, yet Meyer will never go for that. Zane is bringing the same deal to every game. Drop-goal attempted was of no-use and did not get the high-ball ones. Our back-line stars, Habana, Hougaard and De Villiers we’re the ones with the least ball in their hands. De Villiers only touching the ball twice.
Our forwards we’re great, dominating at the rucks, winning those penalties in the first-half, good line-out but unfortunately got lost with Flip their. Bekker showing his great line-out capabilities. Louw, Vermeulen, Alberts and Coetzee great games which shows we have no problem at the Loosies unlike the WP. Kruger once again solid and good game. Struggled a bit with the scrums but with 2nd choice hooker we can’t expect better. Dean Greyling having a terrible patch, conceding 4 penalties, yellow-card, miss tackle on Aaron Smith resulting into his try and conceding the last penalty costing us to loose the bonus point. Don’t know why Cilliers was dropped, maybe injury but getting him back into the game is a must.
Meyer still needing to make some changes, but already seeing some improvement
16 Sep 2012, 19:29 pm
@poppa69-1067: @Hurricane-1069: Oh know ,I’ve upset a couple of dickheads. You two are an embarrassment to NZ,slithering around this site with your over sensitive girly protestations. These Saffies are right, you are a couple of twats.
No wonder one of you ran away to Oz,probably due to a lack of friends in NZ.
I’ve had many a discussion in the workplace about Africans supporting the ABs and the majority think its wrong,so get of your high horses. Oh by the way I’m from Tok,Bro,but you probably wouldn’t know where that is……
Pages: « 1 … 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] Show All