All Blacks 21 Springboks 11

GARETH DUNCAN brought you live commentary from the Rugby Championship Test in Dunedin..

FULL TIME: ALL BLACKS 21 SPRINGBOKS 11

80 mins: ALL BLACKS PENALTY! Cruden denies the Boks a losing bonus point with the scoring act of the match. The ball sails over the crossbar and the final whistle blows. ALL BLACKS WIN 21-11!

79 mins: Cruden has a late shot at goal, but hits the post. And a rushing McCaw gets the ball and creates some late drama. But the Boks restrict the New Zealanders, but illegally so and the All Blacks have a late penalty.

78 mins: Boks find themselves in All Blacks’ danger zone, but they’re errant and can’t capitalise. New Zealand escape thanks to a big Dagg clearance. The fullback shows his big boot

73 mins: ALL BLACKS PENALTY! Cruden converts another penalty soon after Goosen’s three-pointer. All Blacks in a very, very comfortable position now. ALL BLACKS LEAD 18-11!

70 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! Goosen lands his second kick at goal, from the right touchline. Wonderful attempt. ALL BLACKS LEAD 15-11!

67 mins: Replacement flyhalf Johan Goosen gets his first chance at goal – from 55m out! Gets some good distance, but falls short. Good try from the young Bok.

65 mins: All Blacks get a penalty in a kickable position, but Cruden misses this time.

63 mins: BIG BLOW! Greyling costs the Boks a man as he gets a yellow card for foul play on Richie McCaw. All Blacks against 14-man South Africa.

60 mins: ALL BLACKS TRY! Brilliant stuff from replacement scrumhalf Aaron Smith. The ball spills out of the breakdown, but he picks it up and has dart. He beats three defenders as he dives over for a telling score. Cruden adds the extras. ALL BLACKS LEAD 15-8!

57 mins: Poor kicks from Pienaar and Morne Steyn costing Boks the ascendancy. Morne Steyn tries to find some space behind the All Blacks line, but Dagg punishes the Bok 10 with a big clearance.

50 mins: ALL BLACKS PENALTY! Replacement prop Dean Greyling gives away a silly penalty at the breakdown, and Cruden punishes the Boks. THE SCORES ARE LEVEL AT 8-8!

48 mins: SPRINGBOK TRY! Individual brilliance from Habana. The speedster breaks the line, and chips ahead before chasing it down to score. What a try. Morne Steyn doesn’t convert. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 8-3!

42 mins: Boks gaining good metres, and hit All Blacks hard on attack. But Habana loses the ball in the tackle, and it’s another butchered opportunity in the opening minutes of a half.

41 mins: Springboks get a deep kick-off to start the game. All Blacks kick a poor clearance in return. Good attacking position for the tourists early on.

HALF-TIME: ALL BLACKS 5 SPRINGBOKS 3

40 mins: All Blacks prop Tony Woodcock concedes a late penalty at the lineout, taking out a jumper in the air. Morne Steyn gets the final chance to score points before the break. But he misses … again!

36 mins: Lucky let-off for Habana, as he makes a hash of fielding an up-and-under. He clearly touches the ball as the kick goes out on the full. But the assistant referee misses it, and takes the play back 30m and gives the Boks possession.

32 mins: ANOTHER MISSED PENALTY! From five penalty attempts, the Boks have now missed four. Morne Steyn pulls his third shot at goal – and it wasn’t a difficult one.

30 mins: Boks win a penalty 58m out from goal, and Frans Steyns argues he can do it. He gets a good strike, but it falls inches short from the crossbar.

28 mins: Boks do well to put themselves in good attacking positions, but their backline play has been so uninspiring.

26 mins: Boks defend the All Blacks rolling maul well, and force the tunrover. Kruger does well coming through the middle and wins the visitors a scrum, relieving the pressure.

24 mins: BIG HIT! Read welcomes Vermeulen to New Zealand with a big, big tackle. And the All Blacks win a penalty at the breakdown.

22 mins: Springboks are doing well in contest at the breakdown on defence. No 8 Duane Vermeulen does the job on this occasion, and Morne Steyn gets his second chance at the posts. But he misses as he slices the goal attempt, which fades to the left.

19 mins: ALL BLACKS TRY! Offloads galore, punching holes in the Bok defence. Lock Sam Whitelock’s offload to No 8 Kieran Read puts the hardman into space and he sucks in two defenders. And during the tackle, he offloads to fullback Israel Dagg, who has a clear run to the whitewash. Cruden misses the conversion. ALL BLACKS LEAD 5-3

17 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! Morne Steyn finds the target from his first attempt. the Boks are finally ahead. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 3-0!

16 mins: Bok pack doing good work with some strong and effective ball carries. They milk a penalty against the All Blacks defence, and flyhalf Morne Steyn will get a shot at goal.

14 mins: The All Blacks find good field position from the resulting touch finder, but knock the ball forward at the lineout. Then they concede a penalty at the following scrum. The Boks are dominating the set-pieces.

12 mins: Frans Steyn carries the ball against Cruden, but the New Zealand No 10 does well to take down the big man. All Blacks contest well, and the Bok support concede a penalty at the breakdown.

9 mins: Habana wins a penalty in a kickable, but difficult position. Inside centre Francois Steyn steps up for his first shot at goal, from about 48m out. He strikes … but it’s wide.

7 mins: The Boks are enjoying most of the possession and playing the game in the All Blacks’ half, but not making much of this early ascendancy.

4 mins: MISSED CHANCE!!! Wing Francois Hougaard puts the boot to a loose ball and finds space behind the All Blacks line. Possession is recovered and the Boks are 5m out. After a couple of drives, the ball is spread wide but fullback Zane Kirchner’s pass to wing Bryan Habana is spilled, and the hosts escape. The Boks butcher a clear try-scoring opportunity.

KICK-OFF: All Blacks flyhalf Aaron Cruden starts the game with a high kick-off. And it’s a good start as lock Juandre Kruger takes it in neatly. Scrumhalf Ruan Pienaar clears to the halfway line.

All Blacks – 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Piri Weepu, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Liam Messam, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Luke Romano, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Subs: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Charlie Faumuina, 18 Brodie Retallick, 19 Victor Vito, 20 Aaron Smith, 21 Beauden Barrett, 22 Tamati Ellison.

Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jean de Villiers (c), 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Dean Greyling, 18 Andries Bekker, 19 Marcell Coetzee, 20 Johan Goosen, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie.

1,080 Comments

Pages: « 112 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 » Show All

• 851.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Taking Beast off for the biggest knobhead in the history of the game will haunt Meyer for the rest of his career.

• 852.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@boktillzero-841: Outstanding. But he’s a Bull, so expect to see more of him once his lengthy suspension is finished – perhaps in a starting role.

• 853.willievz: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-845: We can play, Pops.

We just can’t kick.

• 854.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-788:

#justsayin

@Hurricane-799:
    its a commentary on the game, hurri

thats all@poppa69-811:
    you must have been moered a lot on the brain, boet.

• 855.wnbb: Reply to this comment

I hope Sanzar fcks up Greyling real good.

• 856.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Flo OUTPLAYED mccaw clean job today…marcell must bench…

vermuelen was massive, Alberts was a wrecking ball tackling anything that moves

• 857.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-836:

He then said this was a weak AB side, yet they won by 10. The best opportunity SA would ever had. Something is wrong… He said it with anger all over his face…

• 858.trollZA: Reply to this comment

can someone please tell me what mallet is saying?

• 859.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-829: what is Mallett saying?

• 860.rangerman: Reply to this comment

F u meyer you ?d?ot.

Sorry but ? am fum?ng

Morne and greyl?ng lost us the game and lamb?e gets 5 m?ns meyer you d?chead?

Ser?ously meyer wake up.

• 861.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Foster is HM of NZ rugby.

• 862.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@willievz-853:
    Spot on Willie.
    Kicking and foul play ruined it tonight for the boks

• 863.rangerman: Reply to this comment

F u meyer you ?d?ot.

Sorry but ? am fum?ng

Morne and greyl?ng lost us the game and lamb?e gets 5 m?ns meyer you d?chead?

Ser?ously meyer wake up.

• 864.Guns: Reply to this comment

All boks need to that mix is a Bismark, prop depth. GOOSEN & LAMBIE starting and bobs ur uncle.

Shew feel really nausious watching that game.

• 865.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-856:

He was awesome and so was Vermeulen. The loose trio is spot on now…

9,10,12,13,11,14,15 not so sure… :lol:

• 866.Transformation: Reply to this comment

hurricane…piri is s.hit compared to aaron smith…deal with it :D

• 867.W.P: Reply to this comment

Francois Louw was immense today. A couple of the penalties against him were baffling. He did very well!

• 868.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@trollZA-858:

I have read my comments… :lol:

• 869.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-866:
    I know you dont like him, so your opinion does not count.
    :-) smiley cos i have to

• 870.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-825:
    Greylings got the yellow because Flouw refused to do his job to contain McCaw :(
    Simple

• 871.spartan: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-856:
    Bullsh!t

• 872.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-777:
    Thats just sad man…..

• 873.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-859:

In a nutshell! Mallet is a p rick and has no idea… :lol:

• 874.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

All Blacks were atrocious, the boks were phenomenal at the breakdown, today’s win is testament to the AB’s being the championship team but they were negated today very badly!

• 875.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-857: Thanks man. There’s no way in hell this game would have turned into a loss under Mallet.

• 876.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-866:
    Piri better kicker, better defender ( Smith let Habana through for try)
    I watch more kiwi games than you so lets keep it real
    I have no problem with smith at all. He is a good player, but still new.
    I know he will get better and i said that this was Piris last year.

• 877.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

@CSI:Rugby-861: Very true.

• 878.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Mallet said the obvious things, such as that SA probably would have won if Goosen had started.

• 879.spartan: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-875:
    Thats like saying blacks by 50 under Henry
    its all speculation

• 880.Brads: Reply to this comment

That was a terrific game, once again the Bokke raise their game when the opposition are the AB’s.

• 881.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-875:

Ja he was really mad. He said the Boks would have won with Goosen. He was great when on and he kicked superbly at goal. His love affair with Steyn has cost the Boks and his Blue Bias with Greyling. Ashwin says HM needs to talk to Mallet sooner rather than later…

• 882.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-797: will agree, not as bad as the others but he did not have a good game, and it seems though he too is now forced into this kicking at all cost game, rubbish

• 883.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

Summary:
    Steyn should be thanked for his past contributions and told to ply his trade overseas and earn some real money
    Kirchner had a nightmare today. He’s played better. Not a bad player. BUT…he is not the best FB we have. Lambie should be the run on, or Fransie. They’re exciting. K isn’t.
    Greyling should try another sport. Jukskei perhaps. Certainly not rugby. Ever again.
    Pienaar is a good player. Had a shocker today. His place is up for grabs. He wasn’t good behind a dominating pack.
    A proper fetcher. Flou played well. Probably very well. Brussouw would be even better.
    JDV is a great captain. Probably a good bloke too. He’s past his sell by date as a player though.
    Fransie. Well he’s a far better 15 than a 12 I think. Unless its simply this gameplan that’s not working for him.
    The rest played rather well. Some brilliantly well and would be gutted at the loss of a game that was there for the taking. They really outplayed the AB’s this time. And they ARE a great team. Just slightly outplayed today by a losing Bok team.
    Meyer. Well he needs to take responsibility. Really. This one should instruct him to change some personnel and the rigid kick and chase game plan. Its not working brother. NOT.

• 884.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Campese just said the same thing and that we need a couple of centres that can run off him. Campese also wants Coetsee to start.

• 885.NZRugby: Reply to this comment

@ I love bakkies: change your name to dean, you infected ******.

• 886.wpforever: Reply to this comment

Greyling i really hope you get cited ! Referee i thought was good.Lambie should have started with Goosen………..that youngster oozes class,takes the ball at pace.

Beast was okay,did not need to be taken off for the likes of Greyling.How did he ever get handed a Bok jersey ? wt….f.Mauls were good too,Scrum was okay.I just knew Greyling would stuff up…………..Blou Bulle laager mentality !

Francois Louw was immense,Habana what a try………..time to give Lambie a chance Meyer you fool !

• 887.viewer: Reply to this comment

Lol @ naas botha during halft-time using the word “annoying” . Cutting straight to the chase.

• 888.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

HM down to 33.33% win ratio

• 889.poppa69: Reply to this comment

this next week is going to be hilarious.

how’s the bokke gaining 30 metres when Habs took the ball into touch?

ABs. world champs. 14 straight win when they shouldn’t have sign of a good team.

SA rugby is k@k

has anyone, anyone seen HG??? hahahaha

• 890.wpforever: Reply to this comment

That said,congrats to the All Blacks fans too

• 891.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

First of all well done AB’s.

Also well played Bokke. I believe in Bok rugby again.

Finally, bring FDP back and we will beat anybody. ……..

• 892.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-833:
    you make believe all you want hurri.

its a game

i commented on it.

@Nils-840:
    i called the bok infringements.

@PielNeus-843:
    jou afrikaans is gruwelik en wreedaardig.

• 893.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-856:
    Agreed….F LOuw and or Brussow must start every game….F Louw was immense….I hope every Saffa now knows that you have to fight Pitbulls with other Pitbulls…..You cant fight Pitbulls with hybrids like Alsatians cross Dalmatians….

that breakdown specialist is a non negotiable….if you dont have a farken snarling salivating rabid ugly pitbull you just farken dom…..

And Boks have 2 of the best in Brussow and Flo…..lessons have to be learned once and for all….

• 894.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-876:
    Weepu was **** in the first half and was the reason the AB’s were under the cosh.

He is an impact player these days, that is it.

• 895.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Pops your team wasn’t that flash

• 896.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-888:

When selected he said judge him on each game. We have to win, whether ugly or not…

He needs to step down…This SA team has tallent and with good coaching it can go far…

Mallet is the right man…

• 897.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-870: BS. Vermeulen had already cleared Richie out. Then Mr Greyling decided to come in and do his bit.

• 898.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

SA were phenomenal at the breakdown today. I guess we have found our loose forward combination. Though I think Coetzee could be brilliant at 8.

• 899.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-889:
    HG is a joke.
    Spewing his cr@p and laughing about the Maoris in WW2.
    Disgusting individual. Him and Bakkies both having a laugh

• 900.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-856: Tell that to Hondo

Pages: « 112 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.