All Blacks 21 Springboks 11
15 Sep 2012
GARETH DUNCAN brought you live commentary from the Rugby Championship Test in Dunedin..
FULL TIME: ALL BLACKS 21 SPRINGBOKS 11
80 mins: ALL BLACKS PENALTY! Cruden denies the Boks a losing bonus point with the scoring act of the match. The ball sails over the crossbar and the final whistle blows. ALL BLACKS WIN 21-11!
79 mins: Cruden has a late shot at goal, but hits the post. And a rushing McCaw gets the ball and creates some late drama. But the Boks restrict the New Zealanders, but illegally so and the All Blacks have a late penalty.
78 mins: Boks find themselves in All Blacks’ danger zone, but they’re errant and can’t capitalise. New Zealand escape thanks to a big Dagg clearance. The fullback shows his big boot
73 mins: ALL BLACKS PENALTY! Cruden converts another penalty soon after Goosen’s three-pointer. All Blacks in a very, very comfortable position now. ALL BLACKS LEAD 18-11!
70 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! Goosen lands his second kick at goal, from the right touchline. Wonderful attempt. ALL BLACKS LEAD 15-11!
67 mins: Replacement flyhalf Johan Goosen gets his first chance at goal – from 55m out! Gets some good distance, but falls short. Good try from the young Bok.
65 mins: All Blacks get a penalty in a kickable position, but Cruden misses this time.
63 mins: BIG BLOW! Greyling costs the Boks a man as he gets a yellow card for foul play on Richie McCaw. All Blacks against 14-man South Africa.
60 mins: ALL BLACKS TRY! Brilliant stuff from replacement scrumhalf Aaron Smith. The ball spills out of the breakdown, but he picks it up and has dart. He beats three defenders as he dives over for a telling score. Cruden adds the extras. ALL BLACKS LEAD 15-8!
57 mins: Poor kicks from Pienaar and Morne Steyn costing Boks the ascendancy. Morne Steyn tries to find some space behind the All Blacks line, but Dagg punishes the Bok 10 with a big clearance.
50 mins: ALL BLACKS PENALTY! Replacement prop Dean Greyling gives away a silly penalty at the breakdown, and Cruden punishes the Boks. THE SCORES ARE LEVEL AT 8-8!
48 mins: SPRINGBOK TRY! Individual brilliance from Habana. The speedster breaks the line, and chips ahead before chasing it down to score. What a try. Morne Steyn doesn’t convert. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 8-3!
42 mins: Boks gaining good metres, and hit All Blacks hard on attack. But Habana loses the ball in the tackle, and it’s another butchered opportunity in the opening minutes of a half.
41 mins: Springboks get a deep kick-off to start the game. All Blacks kick a poor clearance in return. Good attacking position for the tourists early on.
HALF-TIME: ALL BLACKS 5 SPRINGBOKS 3
40 mins: All Blacks prop Tony Woodcock concedes a late penalty at the lineout, taking out a jumper in the air. Morne Steyn gets the final chance to score points before the break. But he misses … again!
36 mins: Lucky let-off for Habana, as he makes a hash of fielding an up-and-under. He clearly touches the ball as the kick goes out on the full. But the assistant referee misses it, and takes the play back 30m and gives the Boks possession.
32 mins: ANOTHER MISSED PENALTY! From five penalty attempts, the Boks have now missed four. Morne Steyn pulls his third shot at goal – and it wasn’t a difficult one.
30 mins: Boks win a penalty 58m out from goal, and Frans Steyns argues he can do it. He gets a good strike, but it falls inches short from the crossbar.
28 mins: Boks do well to put themselves in good attacking positions, but their backline play has been so uninspiring.
26 mins: Boks defend the All Blacks rolling maul well, and force the tunrover. Kruger does well coming through the middle and wins the visitors a scrum, relieving the pressure.
24 mins: BIG HIT! Read welcomes Vermeulen to New Zealand with a big, big tackle. And the All Blacks win a penalty at the breakdown.
22 mins: Springboks are doing well in contest at the breakdown on defence. No 8 Duane Vermeulen does the job on this occasion, and Morne Steyn gets his second chance at the posts. But he misses as he slices the goal attempt, which fades to the left.
19 mins: ALL BLACKS TRY! Offloads galore, punching holes in the Bok defence. Lock Sam Whitelock’s offload to No 8 Kieran Read puts the hardman into space and he sucks in two defenders. And during the tackle, he offloads to fullback Israel Dagg, who has a clear run to the whitewash. Cruden misses the conversion. ALL BLACKS LEAD 5-3
17 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! Morne Steyn finds the target from his first attempt. the Boks are finally ahead. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 3-0!
16 mins: Bok pack doing good work with some strong and effective ball carries. They milk a penalty against the All Blacks defence, and flyhalf Morne Steyn will get a shot at goal.
14 mins: The All Blacks find good field position from the resulting touch finder, but knock the ball forward at the lineout. Then they concede a penalty at the following scrum. The Boks are dominating the set-pieces.
12 mins: Frans Steyn carries the ball against Cruden, but the New Zealand No 10 does well to take down the big man. All Blacks contest well, and the Bok support concede a penalty at the breakdown.
9 mins: Habana wins a penalty in a kickable, but difficult position. Inside centre Francois Steyn steps up for his first shot at goal, from about 48m out. He strikes … but it’s wide.
7 mins: The Boks are enjoying most of the possession and playing the game in the All Blacks’ half, but not making much of this early ascendancy.
4 mins: MISSED CHANCE!!! Wing Francois Hougaard puts the boot to a loose ball and finds space behind the All Blacks line. Possession is recovered and the Boks are 5m out. After a couple of drives, the ball is spread wide but fullback Zane Kirchner’s pass to wing Bryan Habana is spilled, and the hosts escape. The Boks butcher a clear try-scoring opportunity.
KICK-OFF: All Blacks flyhalf Aaron Cruden starts the game with a high kick-off. And it’s a good start as lock Juandre Kruger takes it in neatly. Scrumhalf Ruan Pienaar clears to the halfway line.
All Blacks – 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Piri Weepu, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Liam Messam, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Luke Romano, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Subs: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Charlie Faumuina, 18 Brodie Retallick, 19 Victor Vito, 20 Aaron Smith, 21 Beauden Barrett, 22 Tamati Ellison.
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jean de Villiers (c), 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Dean Greyling, 18 Andries Bekker, 19 Marcell Coetzee, 20 Johan Goosen, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie.

1,080 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 » Show All
15 Sep 2012, 11:46 am
but still won
all that matters. I said all week that it would be a 10-12 point game.
we shouldn’t have won, but we did.
believe me, if Steyn had kicked and SA won, do you think the majority would have been gracious in victory???
methinks not.
15 Sep 2012, 11:47 am
@kaksioek-898:
Wait till Spies is back…He will be back in the team too… Don’t be too confident. He is a huge love child of some coaches…
15 Sep 2012, 11:47 am
The amount of cheats the ABs got away at the rucks with the Irish referee was a mind boggling with only one attempt to ‘curtail’ his destructive efforts
15 Sep 2012, 11:48 am
@Brads-894:
First half the ABs were outplayed. Cant blame Piri for that.
Our forwards were takin apart.
@Hondo-870:
somebody needs to break that dooses hand.
arabic justice.
@TooMuchRugby-872:
tmr… are you a emo.. ?…
@NZRugby-885:
what are the sterretjies for?
enunciation?
@poppa69-889:
i wouldn’t expect it be anything else pops.
if anything you are one consistent doos.
i’ll give you that.
@Hondo-870: Kak , Maccaw was not part of the play there and the job was done on him , Greyling is a farken moron and should never ever come close to a bok jersey ever again. ABS won comfortably in the end and they did not even play at their best. Well done. Bok rugby is kak , kak selections , kak gameplan.
15 Sep 2012, 11:49 am
Steyn’ steyn, jdv, zane and ppienaar k@k. Greyling pathetic
@poppa69-901:
Well done Poppa. If you were to be honest, this was a poor performance from the AB’s. Just shows how poor our players are now being coached. We should have walked this game, but love children and bias is damaging our rugby big time… A great team wins when not playing well and kudus to the Kiwis…
@Hondo-903:
You are just as much of an idiot as Bakkies. He still does not think HM is to blame or the players.\
Nope, just the refs.
Both losers
15 Sep 2012, 11:50 am
@Gumboots-902: Good point, though supposedly Meyer has started to see beyond Spies’ blue jersey and beach muscles.
15 Sep 2012, 11:51 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-905:
See, so you want a player to break McCaws hand?
Exactly what the world thinks of SA and it shows in how you play the game.
You are a thug and i bet a ******* coward when personally confronted. You and HG, the girly blouses of Keo.
15 Sep 2012, 11:52 am
@kaksioek-910:
Love does silly things mate! Look at Morne – he can do nothing wrong and defends him all the time…
@sharks_lover-888: incorrect he is at 42%.
3 wins from 7.
= 42.9%
Never ever in a million years good enough for the Boks.
(get your facts straight)
HGM “Heavens gone missing”
15 Sep 2012, 11:54 am
@Hurricane-914:
Most of us take our punishment… Sometimes deserving I guess…
@Gumboots-912: Also, if Spies puts on his pink jersey Meyer might find him irresistible.
Anyone else notice that Morne kicked a bomb when there were no chasers to go after the ball? And that this team has nothing to offer after 4 phases
@kaksioek-898: Don’t be too harsh on Duane just yet. For a fellow only playing his 2nd full game of rugga in monthssssssssssss, he was pretty damn effective. Stands up damn well in the tackle, great on defence, and very good at the back of the scrum. The turnovers he makes are just litle bonuses.
(Ok, I’m a Duane groupie….but I can’t see anyone faulting him, and he can only get better, the fitter he gets)
15 Sep 2012, 11:55 am
@Hondo-903:
it was larfable as usual.
i tried my best to make notes but i struggle to keep up with number of times they do tricky hands.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-897:
The TV replay view from the sideline wasn’t too clear to tell if McCaw used his feat to disrupt the ball, earlier the NZ Tv caught McCaw twice while infringing where the penalty went against the Boks for holding and I believe the Crew were reprimanded in real time for exposing it, the Kiwis way
@Gumboots-915:
@kaksioek-916:
Makes one wonder. Powerpuff players are great to some…
Hurri
he who laughs last
laughs loudest
hahahahaha
do you think his plane has landed in *** Paris yet?
15 Sep 2012, 11:56 am
@Hondo-920:
Yet the elbow to the face of a player that cant defend himself is the South African way.
No wonder you are so proud.
15 Sep 2012, 11:56 am
@Hurricane-911:
face it hurri, he is filthy scum and the world has failed to do anything about him.
it would be a small compensation for all the years of filth he’s gotten away.
15 Sep 2012, 11:57 am
@Hurricane-921:
As a Stormer I have developed quite a thick skin.
15 Sep 2012, 11:58 am
consistent like my ABs mate
positive signs for the bok. don’t give up yet mate
@Gumboots-912:
come now, goosen got a good run today.
@poppa69-923:
******!
@Gumboots-912:
That bond of trust between Morne and HM is now broken.
Goosen was born to play test rugby. His composure is unmatched.
M Coetsee perhaps at 7 with Alberts as a 30 min impact player?
dUANNE WAS BRILLIANT TODY
BUT FLO WAS MAGNIFICENT!
@kaksioek-910: Don’t count on it. Meyer is obsessed with Spies. Spies is Frankenmeyer’s monster. Created, hyped and designed by Meyer.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-928:
Can you just imagine if he had the run we all wanted? Huh
15 Sep 2012, 11:59 am
@grant10-931: That’s the ticket right there.
9. Hougaard
10. Goosen
11. Habana
12. Serfontein
13. Jordaan
14. Pietersen
15. F. Steyn
This would be a lethal backline. Getting Hougaard to play his natural game, having a decent flyhalf and solid centre combination who are full of running. Would be great if Bryan can make it to the next world cup. What a backline this would be.
@Gumboots-929:
Oh Dear! S a d i s t is a banned word…
15 Sep 2012, 12:00 pm
@poppa69-923:
We know he is full of it.
When he pulls out jokes about Maoris dying in WW2, you know he has nothing.
Yet even his racist remarks backed by Bakkies laughing about it,you cant put these guys in the same pot as the good South African bloggers on here.
Bakkies and HG are still old school. Bakkies needs to be taken care off, old folks home at least…. he probably already done a doo doo in his pants.
15 Sep 2012, 12:00 pm
@Hurricane-924: Nobody should be proud of Greyling’s brain explosion: it was uncalled for and stupid!! Greyling should never wear the Boks’ jersey again !!
15 Sep 2012, 12:01 pm
@CharlesM-938:
He should never play rugby again…
All Blacks too their chances.
Those blaming it on the ref are pathetic.
Greyling the super sub. Always thought he was just a stupid dirty player as opposed to being a hard player.
Today’s excuse will be that it was too big a game to give a 20 year old youngster a start.
Gumboots
very gracious of you mate. we were extremely lucky. should not have come close. inexperience on your teams part. Boks always lift for ABs. when watching the haka I was worried because you can always tell how well they’ll play by its intensity.
bok fans have every right to be upset. but with many players missing it shows how much the rivalry means.
I wouldn’t have it any other way
Kia kaha boet.
@Hondo-920: Yes Richie was being a pest, but he had already been sorted out, legally. Then Spongbobfuckingjeanpants Greyling comes in and adds his 5 cents…He is dirtyfuckwit and should NEVER don the Bok jersey again, ever. Disgrace he has even worn it at all to be honest.
@pattyfries-935: Serfontein not ready for test match rugby yet IMO
15 Sep 2012, 12:02 pm
@Gumboots-926:
Yeah i can just imagine.
Never have i seen a country turn on it own like some of these guys do.
I think whats needed is more stormers and less Bulls.
Only time i have to say, bulls have no balls
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-919:
The ABs practice it for sure, too efficient and elusive to notice at times
That mean Brussow has to be on the field at all times to counter these ‘efforts’, Flouw had a very good game but he is too nice a guy to deal with McCaw and Read effectively on the ground.
well here’s some consistency for you, you consistent piece of scum you:
obstructive running.
hands playing ball on the ground.
forward pass to read leads to try.
falling onto the wrong side of the ruck.
disrupting in lineouts.
hands in the ruck playing ball.
sa wrongly penalised for leaving feet.
general slowing of the ball in numerous rucks – hands.
woodcock not binding in scrum and arm to the ground.
obstructive running.
playing the ball on the ground.
illegal entry to rolling maul.
rolling onto the wrong side of the ruck.
incorrect scrum penalty against sa.
disrupting in lineouts.
nz tv camera angles wont show the best angles for sa kicks.
nz infringements quickly panned over by tv cameras.
—————– ——– ———————-
legitimate steal kruger – wrongly penalised.
inteference in lineout.
franks not staying at correct distance in lineout.
obstructing chasers.
illegal scrum front row not bound driving through.
detaching early from scrum.
lifting player of his feet.
general slowing of the ball in numerous rucks – hands.
obstructive running.
driving through ahead of the ruck.
macaw playing the ball at ruck off feet.
going of feet at breakdown.
ball lost forward not blown.
the usual hands in ruck.
taking out the jumper.
going off feet at ruck.
obstructive running.
forward pass.
incorrect penalty against louw.
obstruction smith.
not keeping distance in lineout ref still doing nothing.
i stop checking for dirt to start typing up report – 2 min on clock?
15 Sep 2012, 12:03 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-942: AMEN to that !!
@poppa69-941: Great post!
@Gumboots-936:
Boots,watch this place erupt when thr ABs lose against the Argies.
Going on tonights game we will lose against them in Argentina.
You will then notice HG posting again. And Bakkies saying the ref was the best he has seen in a wahile.
15 Sep 2012, 12:04 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-918: I agree, Duane played well – especially considering his recent injury. I am also a fan of his, but equally a fan of Coetzee. Previously I would have said start him ahead of Alberts, who normally runs out of puff, but he was great today. Nice problem to have.
Pages: « 1 … 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 » Show All