All Blacks 21 Springboks 11
15 Sep 2012
GARETH DUNCAN brought you live commentary from the Rugby Championship Test in Dunedin..
FULL TIME: ALL BLACKS 21 SPRINGBOKS 11
80 mins: ALL BLACKS PENALTY! Cruden denies the Boks a losing bonus point with the scoring act of the match. The ball sails over the crossbar and the final whistle blows. ALL BLACKS WIN 21-11!
79 mins: Cruden has a late shot at goal, but hits the post. And a rushing McCaw gets the ball and creates some late drama. But the Boks restrict the New Zealanders, but illegally so and the All Blacks have a late penalty.
78 mins: Boks find themselves in All Blacks’ danger zone, but they’re errant and can’t capitalise. New Zealand escape thanks to a big Dagg clearance. The fullback shows his big boot
73 mins: ALL BLACKS PENALTY! Cruden converts another penalty soon after Goosen’s three-pointer. All Blacks in a very, very comfortable position now. ALL BLACKS LEAD 18-11!
70 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! Goosen lands his second kick at goal, from the right touchline. Wonderful attempt. ALL BLACKS LEAD 15-11!
67 mins: Replacement flyhalf Johan Goosen gets his first chance at goal – from 55m out! Gets some good distance, but falls short. Good try from the young Bok.
65 mins: All Blacks get a penalty in a kickable position, but Cruden misses this time.
63 mins: BIG BLOW! Greyling costs the Boks a man as he gets a yellow card for foul play on Richie McCaw. All Blacks against 14-man South Africa.
60 mins: ALL BLACKS TRY! Brilliant stuff from replacement scrumhalf Aaron Smith. The ball spills out of the breakdown, but he picks it up and has dart. He beats three defenders as he dives over for a telling score. Cruden adds the extras. ALL BLACKS LEAD 15-8!
57 mins: Poor kicks from Pienaar and Morne Steyn costing Boks the ascendancy. Morne Steyn tries to find some space behind the All Blacks line, but Dagg punishes the Bok 10 with a big clearance.
50 mins: ALL BLACKS PENALTY! Replacement prop Dean Greyling gives away a silly penalty at the breakdown, and Cruden punishes the Boks. THE SCORES ARE LEVEL AT 8-8!
48 mins: SPRINGBOK TRY! Individual brilliance from Habana. The speedster breaks the line, and chips ahead before chasing it down to score. What a try. Morne Steyn doesn’t convert. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 8-3!
42 mins: Boks gaining good metres, and hit All Blacks hard on attack. But Habana loses the ball in the tackle, and it’s another butchered opportunity in the opening minutes of a half.
41 mins: Springboks get a deep kick-off to start the game. All Blacks kick a poor clearance in return. Good attacking position for the tourists early on.
HALF-TIME: ALL BLACKS 5 SPRINGBOKS 3
40 mins: All Blacks prop Tony Woodcock concedes a late penalty at the lineout, taking out a jumper in the air. Morne Steyn gets the final chance to score points before the break. But he misses … again!
36 mins: Lucky let-off for Habana, as he makes a hash of fielding an up-and-under. He clearly touches the ball as the kick goes out on the full. But the assistant referee misses it, and takes the play back 30m and gives the Boks possession.
32 mins: ANOTHER MISSED PENALTY! From five penalty attempts, the Boks have now missed four. Morne Steyn pulls his third shot at goal – and it wasn’t a difficult one.
30 mins: Boks win a penalty 58m out from goal, and Frans Steyns argues he can do it. He gets a good strike, but it falls inches short from the crossbar.
28 mins: Boks do well to put themselves in good attacking positions, but their backline play has been so uninspiring.
26 mins: Boks defend the All Blacks rolling maul well, and force the tunrover. Kruger does well coming through the middle and wins the visitors a scrum, relieving the pressure.
24 mins: BIG HIT! Read welcomes Vermeulen to New Zealand with a big, big tackle. And the All Blacks win a penalty at the breakdown.
22 mins: Springboks are doing well in contest at the breakdown on defence. No 8 Duane Vermeulen does the job on this occasion, and Morne Steyn gets his second chance at the posts. But he misses as he slices the goal attempt, which fades to the left.
19 mins: ALL BLACKS TRY! Offloads galore, punching holes in the Bok defence. Lock Sam Whitelock’s offload to No 8 Kieran Read puts the hardman into space and he sucks in two defenders. And during the tackle, he offloads to fullback Israel Dagg, who has a clear run to the whitewash. Cruden misses the conversion. ALL BLACKS LEAD 5-3
17 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! Morne Steyn finds the target from his first attempt. the Boks are finally ahead. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 3-0!
16 mins: Bok pack doing good work with some strong and effective ball carries. They milk a penalty against the All Blacks defence, and flyhalf Morne Steyn will get a shot at goal.
14 mins: The All Blacks find good field position from the resulting touch finder, but knock the ball forward at the lineout. Then they concede a penalty at the following scrum. The Boks are dominating the set-pieces.
12 mins: Frans Steyn carries the ball against Cruden, but the New Zealand No 10 does well to take down the big man. All Blacks contest well, and the Bok support concede a penalty at the breakdown.
9 mins: Habana wins a penalty in a kickable, but difficult position. Inside centre Francois Steyn steps up for his first shot at goal, from about 48m out. He strikes … but it’s wide.
7 mins: The Boks are enjoying most of the possession and playing the game in the All Blacks’ half, but not making much of this early ascendancy.
4 mins: MISSED CHANCE!!! Wing Francois Hougaard puts the boot to a loose ball and finds space behind the All Blacks line. Possession is recovered and the Boks are 5m out. After a couple of drives, the ball is spread wide but fullback Zane Kirchner’s pass to wing Bryan Habana is spilled, and the hosts escape. The Boks butcher a clear try-scoring opportunity.
KICK-OFF: All Blacks flyhalf Aaron Cruden starts the game with a high kick-off. And it’s a good start as lock Juandre Kruger takes it in neatly. Scrumhalf Ruan Pienaar clears to the halfway line.
All Blacks – 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Piri Weepu, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Liam Messam, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Luke Romano, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Subs: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Charlie Faumuina, 18 Brodie Retallick, 19 Victor Vito, 20 Aaron Smith, 21 Beauden Barrett, 22 Tamati Ellison.
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jean de Villiers (c), 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Dean Greyling, 18 Andries Bekker, 19 Marcell Coetzee, 20 Johan Goosen, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie.

1,080 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 » Show All
15 Sep 2012, 12:05 pm
@Hondo-945:
Do you guys pump iron with your head and elbows?
Looks like you have done a bit of work on those areas.
15 Sep 2012, 12:05 pm
@Gumboots-933:
pienaar was our weak link today.
and greylings stupidity.
and not keeping compsure to finish opportunities.
15 Sep 2012, 12:07 pm
i did not watch the hakarena this morning
was it any different?
15 Sep 2012, 12:08 pm
Pienaar is useless, Morne pathetic, Frans to slow of the mark, Zane to average, our forwards were ok but still one dimensional…. Saw today that we can play quick ball rugby just have to improve our skill level and learn to off-load!!!!!!!
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-942:
It’s the Bakkie way, always too much too late
I put the blame on the coaching: the whole drills of clean ups and assigned tasks is missing, everything happened out of intuition and panic on the Boks side at the break down
cut and paste of your own posts Bakkies?
must be nice in that ivory castle.
I look forward to reading the same post indefinitely.
Hurri
yep HG is “ole skool”
lol. we won’t see him for a couple of day’s. sad. I wanted his analysis.
can anyone say BOOM !
to all the decent saffa bloggers, truly, we were extremely lucky tonight. head up, you are and will always be our greatest foe, to this kiwi anyways…. JW also had trouble at Forsyth Barr with kicking, that’s why the Engrish tried to cheat st the WC.
@Hurricane-951: Don’t worry about Hondo – he isn’t representative of SA. He is an anomaly.
15 Sep 2012, 12:10 pm
@Hurricane-937:
hg said he would be back here tomorrow after his hangover had eased a bit.
don’t get too excited
15 Sep 2012, 12:10 pm
@kaksioek-957:
Sorry
15 Sep 2012, 12:11 pm
@poppa69-748: Thak you.Well played
All Blacks.
@charo-958:
Sohe has a drinking problem as well?
What time is it in SA?
Thak=Thank
15 Sep 2012, 12:12 pm
@poppa69-941:
Respect mate. Nothing better than a true Bok vs AB match…
We won a few battles but it is the war we are losing… Hard work ahead…
Best part about tonights game was that old fool Bakkies losing money although I doubt he actually placed the bet, he’s all hot air mostly from his backside.
take yout fake commiserations and shove it up your arse pops
i dont need it
i dont want it
your team is filthy
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-952:
Right and Morne was just Morne… He can’t help it that he can’t kick lately I guess…
15 Sep 2012, 12:14 pm
How long will this weeks thug be banned for?
15 Sep 2012, 12:14 pm
@Hondo-955: It’s a fuckingdisgrace that’s what it is. Greyling has always been a dirtyfuckler. One wouldn’t mind if he offered any value in his primary role – scrumming. But he offers absolutelyfucking NOTHING (except possibly brilliant handjobs – because there has to be some reason he is selected….)
No, he is spongebobjeanpants, and a disgrace to the Bok jersey. Anyone saying otherwise is smoking some really good stuff.
15 Sep 2012, 12:15 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-965:
Not so fast Bakkies.
Pops was addressing the real South African fans, sorry bud
@NZINCHINA-964:
That would have been more than dumb. We all knew we would lose and we did. Poor coaching and game plan I guess. We deserve what we got…
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-965: Sorry Bakkies. The only filth on the park tonight came from a certain cocktonsil named Greyling.
15 Sep 2012, 12:16 pm
@NZINCHINA-967:
Well Etsebeth got two weeks for a kiss, I guess life would be justice…
15 Sep 2012, 12:16 pm
@NZINCHINA-967: I hope for life.
15 Sep 2012, 12:17 pm
Gumboots thats rugby mate its only a game.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-971:
Ditto
Cheers Rye
I think we were most fortunate. Smith proved he should be our starting halfback.
I miss Dan. no sleight on Cruden, but we miss probably the best ever first five.
I also think Retallick needs to start. was immense, along wit mealamu. our subs made the difference I think.
I do hope Gooseb starts the next test, SA looked miles better, even Frans started making ground
15 Sep 2012, 12:18 pm
@NZINCHINA-974:
Off course it is a game but fark I’m sick of losing…
15 Sep 2012, 12:19 pm
no china, i lost the money and was even regretful yesterday for not betting more.
guess it worded out in the end.
less money lost.
you got your troll on a roll for tonight?
15 Sep 2012, 12:19 pm
@Hurricane-961:
12.15 i think we are 11 hours behind nz?
15 Sep 2012, 12:20 pm
@poppa69-976: From your lips to Heyneke’s ears
The thing is, the more people tell Heyneke he is wrong, the more he digs his heels in it seems.
Ashwin Willemse said in the studio that Mallett needs to take Heyneke for coffee…….and that he will pay for it
Nothing but a Damascus moment will change Meyer….and I’m stumped as to how that is going to happen.
15 Sep 2012, 12:22 pm
I know the feeling its a terrible pill to have to swallow Gumboots, have a couple tonight you’ll be over it by Monday!
15 Sep 2012, 12:23 pm
@Gumboots-966:
yes of course, the kicks missed too was the game won for us.
its the third or fourth game in a row now we’ve lost because of kicks missed.
to be fair frans was off too.
15 Sep 2012, 12:23 pm
Gumboots
that corner is closer than you think mate. if I was a SA fan I would be proud of the team tonight.
better SA teams have also not won in NZ. this is a young side, they will take al lot out of this performance
Hurri classic, true SA siupporters. that response has me in stitches still
15 Sep 2012, 12:24 pm
Bakkies nah mate im out for dinner shorty, your team played with plenty of spirit (except Greyling) hard luck.
15 Sep 2012, 12:25 pm
@Hurricane-969:
sure no probs, but i’m addressing him
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-971:
could you blame him?
the number of times these c u n t s were playing the ball on the ground and the ref only blows them once.
@Gumboots-977:
Boots, you have every right to be angry/dissapointed.
Boks had tonights game. But like the ABs, their finishing and silly things that dont go there way is thre problem. You have an average coach, we have a joke of a back coach.
ABs and Boks are not looking great.
ABs been lucky 3 times this year to walk away with a wins.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-946: You forgot flatulence in the rucksLOL
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-980:
Did you hear Mallett in the sudio saying that he and HM swop sms’s. And he added that it might be time for a coffee.
HM definitely needs to some alternative ideas and Mallett is one person that he will listen to.
15 Sep 2012, 12:26 pm
@I am a stormer-988:
eish should be studio
15 Sep 2012, 12:27 pm
@poppa69-983:
Yeah I know! The coach needs to put his bias behind him and move on. He is under enormous pressure, lets see if he takes note of what Mallet said and learns from it… I am a huge fan of the AB’s style of rugby and admire their passion to win a game even though they were outplayed. A sign of a great team.
15 Sep 2012, 12:27 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-985:
We were penalised alot.
You saying we only were penalised once?
You still dont see that elbows to players head while they cant get out the way is illegal. In fact it was the diriest part of tinights game. Your dirty play is hands in ruck but not elbows or headbutts, those are fine.
15 Sep 2012, 12:28 pm
yes, hard luck but the signs are there. hope they keep growing.
enjoy your dinner.
15 Sep 2012, 12:28 pm
Pedigree
Don’t discount your injury crisis. I still think Meyer has done the right thing by Goosen. not so much Lambie. Coaches learn from their mistakes. look at Henry. learnt from 07 in 11. bok fans in general expect too much after losing so many world class players.
15 Sep 2012, 12:29 pm
Bakkies you need to quieten down on the filth stuff its starting to bite you in the a rse – cheers im out
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-968: Good morning.What are bob spongejean pants?Intrigued
@Hurricane-986:
I think a few teams are closing the gap, but you guys know how to win. That is the differnce.
15 Sep 2012, 12:30 pm
@ryecatcher-995: Sorry.Spongebobjeanpants.
15 Sep 2012, 12:30 pm
Anyway, well done to the AB’s.
But more a case of lost opportunities for the Boks.
Now is the time for HM to make more hard calls as he likes to refer to them. Actually, right now those calls should be quite easy.
15 Sep 2012, 12:31 pm
@ryecatcher-987:
are you saying there was farting around while naughty hands did their dirty work?
@Hurricane-991:
specifically for hands in the rucks i’m saying.
greylings punishment was deserved but we know where the frustratin come from, dont we. that doos got to do just what the fark he wants on the ground with not a peep from the ref about his behaviour.
15 Sep 2012, 12:32 pm
@ryecatcher-995:
Spongebobjeanpants is Greyling. Dunno why I have always called him that though – just a name that has stuck. Maybe because it’s better than his real name: MacGuyver.
Pages: « 1 … 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 » Show All