Wallabies edge brave Pumas

GARETH DUNCAN watched the Wallabies overcome a 19-6 second-half deficit to beat Argentina 23-19 in the Gold Coast.

Argentina had the better of the hosts for most parts of the match, while Wallabies wasted many of their opportunities and were errant on defence. This saw the South Americans hold a 6-3 half-time lead, before an impressive second-half blitz built a 13-point buffer.

However, the Pumas’ fight died down in the final quarter and the Wallabies managed to build vital momentum during the closing stages. Tries from inside centre Pat McCabe and wing Digby Ioane proved to be the telling scores, with the boot of Berrick Barnes and Kurtley Beale sealing victory.

Robbie Deans and his team will be very relieved as they avoided a shock defeat against Argentina, who haven’t won on Aussie soil since 1983.

And it looked to be the Pumas’ night early on.

Hardly anything went the Wallabies’ way in the first half, which included a nightmare start to the game. After flyhalf Juan Martin Hernandez kicked an early penalty, Australia lost a man to the sin bin as McCabe was punished for a professional foul after chasing down an Argentine counter-attack.

The Wallabies still created scoring opportunities with a player down, but No 8 Radike Samo and skipper Nathan Sharpe butchered their chances, while Barnes missed his first two shot at goal. It took the hosts 24 minutes before Barnes finally slotted a three-pointer.

Hernandez secured Argentina a slim advantage at the break thanks to his second penalty.

Then came the Pumas blitz.

After Barnes levelled the scores shortly after the second-half restart, replacement flank Toms Leonard charged down flyhalf Quade Cooper’s clearance from the resulting kick-off to score the opening try of the game.

This inspired the tourists, who went on to break the Australian defence several times thereafter. And it was a run from speedster Juan Imhoff that created the Pumas’ second try.

The reserve wing broke away down the right side of the field, and his offload saw flank Julio Farias Cabello cross the whitewash. Although replays showed Imhoff’s foot hit the touchline, the try still stood. Hernandez missed both conversions, but his third penalty gave Argentina a comfortable 19-6 advantage.

The Wallabies then enjoyed an impressive spell of play, which began after McCabe’s try. The No 12 powered through after running on to Cooper’s pass 5m out from the chalk.

Argentina began losing grip, especially as their forwards tired up front, and it wasn’t too long before Ioane dotted down following scrumhalf Nick Phipps’ break. Barnes added both conversions before Beale slotted a late penalty.

It was a good comeback win for Australia, but Argentina will be encouraged following three impressive and competitive outings against the top three nations in world rugby. They will definitely be targeting an Aussie scalp at home.

204 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All

• 151.carol: Reply to this comment

@Puma-140:

Not a typical Saffa song ‘Ole’….. Perhaps we can get the bloggers to construct some lyrics set to a well known Saffa tune and get Ryan and Keo to sing it on Keo TV.

Nikita and Lucy backing vocals and Percy doing the dance!

Just a thought!

• 152.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-144:my head muscle says Aussie are ahead of you, its you who needs to understand that you dont win the game by being the better team on the field, you win the game by having the most points on the scoreboard at the end of the game

its a very simple concept, do try to grasp it, it really is important .

I am having a great life thanks..

my team played like rubbish and won, on the scoreboard..

do you see how it works now?

• 153.Puma: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-143: I think they are, but still need to tour here and Arg. Don’t think Wallabies will beat the Boks at Loftus and if the game between our teams today is anything to go on, the Boks will beat the ABs at FNB.

Morne cost us today and I really can not see him starting again. We sure as heck will not have Greyling either. JPP will be back too.

• 154.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

John Kirwan, please sign Juan Martin Fernando Lobbe and the whole Argentina pack por favor señor

• 155.Puma: Reply to this comment

@carol-151: We sang ‘Shosholoza’ during world cup 95 and for quite awhile after, before just singing this daft ‘ole’ thing.

Just enjoyed the Arg supporters. They make this tourney a whole lot better. And their team that is…lol.

• 156.cane: Reply to this comment

@Puma-148:

My son just looked over my shoulder to see the final score.

And asked……………….. who are these Guys?

I went down the list and got to you………………………………………….and said, ” this is a really good Guy”.

• 157.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Puma-153: who knows Puma, I think Meyer will still play Steyn..

give him a chance to redeem himself..

• 158.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@CSI:Rugby-150: Same here. Thank the rugby angels that there are 3 Currie Cup games coming up here. I must be honest, I am enjoying the Currie Cup and what I have watched of the ITM cup a helluva lot more than the Rugby championship.

• 159.cane: Reply to this comment

P.S.

I told him carol was a Princess.

• 160.grant100: Reply to this comment

Apartheid is a myth ; -)

• 161.Puma: Reply to this comment

@carol-145: You got that right Carol. Definitely our players are like actors playing to the script.

We better than that and hope Meyer can bring something more to our game than just the kick game.

We will have Goosen starting at Loftus and that should change a bit, unless he has to play according to this game plan, then it will be a waste to have him. Lambie too should be starting at fb.

• 162.Puma: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-157: I doubt it Poppa. I think Morne is gone after this game. Will be Goosen. Hope Lambie can get more game time than just sitting on the bench thehwole game too. What good is 5min?

• 163.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-157: If he does that, I will have to plant a sniper in the stadium. Desperate times….desperate measures and all that?

One sniper with a Propofol dart…..Steyn will be sleeping in seconds. After Steyn, my sniper gets to shoot one his darts into the coaching box….)

• 164.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma-162: meant = whole

• 165.rocco: Reply to this comment

Argies full value for what should’ve been a historic win. We could do with a solid workman-like pack like theirs. No superstars, just an honest group who do the basics of protecting possession while consistently getting over the advantage line. Also don’t commit one ball-in-hand screw-up after the other..

• 166.Puma: Reply to this comment

@cane-156: hahaha. Thanks Cane…lol.

• 167.Puma: Reply to this comment

@rocco-165: Good post. Agree.

• 168.cane: Reply to this comment

@Puma-166:

I was not so complimentry regarding Bakkies/Houston.

• 169.hsark: Reply to this comment

@Puma-161:

true if we use the same game plan goosen and lambie will be render useless at least we know the forwards are good to go if we play a fetcher in the loose trio either brussow or flo and of course duane at 8th man no spies pleaseeeeez!

• 170.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-163:
    you are a lot like dawn.

• 171.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Puma-162: his hand may be forced Puma, but he has been ignoring someone like Lambie all season?

I still think he thinks Steyn will come right, especially at home..

• 172.Puma: Reply to this comment

Sharks/Province cc game later gonna be played in really wet, wet conditions. Has not stopped raining here since yesterday.

• 173.cane: Reply to this comment

@Puma-162:

A new generation is arriving for SA .

Heyneke, must surely see it.

everyone else can.

• 174.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-168:
    no skin off my back, cane.
    say what you like, believe me my world will not end.

for what its worth i still think of you as the least worst of a bad lot and my offer still stands to send you some saffa gifts by post. give me a postal address i can send it to?

• 175.Puma: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-171: I hope so Poppa. He has to make changes now. I feel Goosen will start. Not sure why he is not playing Lambie. He will offer more at fb that Zane does. He might have another player in mind and don’t want to get Lambie’s hopes up and then to drop him. That is the only thing I can think of. Lambie is class. So having sitting on the bench is just a huge waste. Or unless he needs a class player to cover 10/12/15. For me that is a waste. I would start him or bring him on with 35min go. Bringing on a player for 5min is just daft.

• 176.Puma: Reply to this comment

@cane-173: I know Cane. We have some top class youngsters coming through now. But we need the game to be more than kick and chase with these talented players coming through.

Have to wait until the eoyt and see. He surely needs to take plenty youngsters on that tour and try a different game plan there. Or he might not. Have to see.

• 177.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-170: I will take that as a compliment then Bakkies :)

• 178.Puma: Reply to this comment

Okay I am out of here.

Cheers everyone.

Go Sharks for later….lol.

• 179.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-174:

I love you too Bakkies.

but not enough to get a parcel bomb in the post.

(just kidding).

• 180.David: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-171:
    Nope. Goosens 20 minutes will become 80. Even HM must realise that the kid can carry the responsibility of starting. Especially now that he’s over his injury.

• 181.carol: Reply to this comment

@cane-159:

Princess …. :lol:

• 182.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@carol-181: careful Cane, she is a blou bulle princess..

she hasnt acquired the refined taste of supporting decent teams

yet..

• 183.cane: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-182:

I know Popps and I have the Topless pics to prove it.

• 184.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-177:
    ok

good….

@cane-179:
    well then give me centralised postal office address or something similar which i can mail it too.

• 185.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-179:
    i could give you an email address if you wish?
    send me postal details with name of ‘any’ person i can send it to

• 186.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-185: dont have heynekes or Mornes postal address… perhaps you could send it via SARU?

• 187.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@cane-183: topless pics? of Carol?

is her middle name Kate? excuse the pun, it was intentional.. and, dont you now what the cold does to those things? :D

• 188.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-186:
    this isn’t any of your business so give it a rest pest.

besides, thats ridiculous? and just how to give it to farken who? the ‘blogger named cane’..?..

• 189.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

anyway, the offer stands for now.
    if you change your mind then i would welcome you taking me up on it.

• 190.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-188: ohhhhhhhhh the keyboard warrior wants to post parcel bombs?

hahahahahahahahahahaahahaha

is this a “meltdown bru”?

send it to

whythefarkcantwebeattheallblacks.com
    c/o
    paranoiarus.co.za
    p.o.box
    loserville.

ciao for now, bakkies

vatso katvis.

• 191.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-190:
    hehe you’re a chop poppa.

i am sincere about the gift to caner though. i would like to make the gesture because i remember him looking the keo crew up in some caravan/car park in nz during the wc and giving them some gifts. those two chops were probably broke or were not taught good manners growing up and did neither respond in kind or thank him properly.

very bad hospitality i would like to set straight.

cheers you cretin :grin:

• 192.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-184: @i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-189:
    @i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-185:

Bakkies.

One day, I will come to SA. And you and I will sit together at a Test match.

And when your Jappie mates pepper me with empty castle ale cans, you will shield me with your body.

And I will be gladened that you feel pain.
    And you will feel good also.

Because I will pay for all alcohol purchases from that point on.

(I acknowledge your generousity Bakkies, and I am humbled, truely).

But the exchanging of gifts will have to wait.

• 193.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-191:

Ryan and JC did thank me, Bakkies.

I have nothing but RESPECT for those two fine young men.

• 194.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Where the Bulls thread

They going down

• 195.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@cane-192:

Seffricans don’t throw empty castle cans! But rather choose Loftus for that experience. I always battle to buy a beer at that ground. No one i know throws empty coke cans. :D

• 196.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-194:

Cancelled due to lack of interest.

• 197.grant100: Reply to this comment

Bulls fans throws castle blikksies…. Capies steek mes….

• 198.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-192:
    its a deal
    chop

@cane-193:
    ok good glad they did.

• 199.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Nils-138: Sorry Boet, that’s life!!!

• 200.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@cane-173: “There are none so blind as those who will not see…”

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.