Awful attack kills Bok momentum
15 Sep 2012
JON CARDINELLI writes the Springboks’ poor finishing and option-taking undermined what was a powerful and purposeful showing by the forwards.
Most will lament a shocking goal-kicking performance that saw the Boks miss five penalty attempts in the first half alone. The roof sheltered the Forsyth Barr Stadium from the raging wind and rain and still Morné Steyn and Frans Steyn couldn’t translate the Boks’ forward dominance into points.
The All Blacks went to the break with an undeserved 5-3 lead. Through the wayward kicking of the Steyns, the Boks had left 15 points on the park. The visitors were also guilty of blowing two try-scoring chances. This served to show how dire and in need of attention their attacking game really is.
Morné Steyn has come in for some scathing criticism in recent weeks, and deservedly so. It is not good enough that a goal-kicker of his quality and experience delivers a return of less than 80%, let alone 50% and below. It has cost the Boks in recent matches, and undoubtedly cost them again in Dunedin.
But it is not the only department in which Steyn has under-delivered.
Not much was expected of an inexperienced Bok pack, and in the event that they failed to front in Dunedin, the backs would have been forgiven for a limp attacking showing.
As it transpired, the Boks rocked up in a determined mood, and their heavies out-muscled the All Blacks at the collisions and breakdowns. In this scenario, more would have been expected from the backs. They should have converted those two early opportunities. Steyn and his backline could have done far more considering the platform they enjoyed.
The finishing was atrocious, but so to was the option-taking in that pivotal No 10 position. Steyn took the ball so deep that he allowed the opposition defence time to charge up and negate the Boks’ attacking space. He failed to fix his defender, and crabbed across field, which further cramped and inhibited his team-mates on the outside. It may have a lot to do with his flagging confidence, but Steyn has shown himself to be a shoveller rather than a distributor.
The All Blacks should be thankful that it was Steyn who received the ball early in the first half when the hosts were back-pedalling in their own 22. Steyn picked up a pass on the bounce and barely took a step forward before shovelling the ball on to Zane Kirchner. Kirchner in turn threw a poor pass to Bryan Habana, who then knocked the ball on.
It was a clear example of poor finishing, but you have to look at how Steyn negated the attacking space and allowed the All Blacks defence time to scramble back.
There were too many examples of lateral movement, and the result was often a turnover. Jean de Villiers threw a pass that went straight into touch. Several players received possession in the outside channels and seemed unsure of how to proceed.
Again, these mistakes were made more frustrating by the fact that the Boks were enjoying such tremendous success up front. It was unforgivable that that dominance wasn’t reflected on the scoreboard.
The breakthrough arrived in the 49th minute where Habana produced a piece of individual brilliance. The Bok winger broke the line, chipped the defence, and showed the necessary speed and skill to collect his kick and score.
It was a moment to savour, but again it was an individual snipe rather than an example of collective attacking synergy.
The All Blacks had very few attacking opportunities by comparison. There was an instant in the first half where they produced the most spellbinding display, forwards and backs offloading in the tackle and Israel Dagg rocketing away to score a fantastic try.
Aaron Cruden missed the ensuing conversion, but when he had another opportunity in the 52nd minute, he made it count. That penalty saw the All Blacks draw level with Boks at 8-8.
The Boks continued to dominate at the point of contact, and this continued to force the All Blacks into errors. But the Blacks’ blunders could not compare to those of the Boks.
The visiting pack would smash the New Zealanders back, but then Steyn or Ruan Pienaar would overplay the kick-chase tactic. It was poor option-taking that would cost the Boks another potential try on the hour when Steyn received the ball flat and then changed direction to kick for the corner. The men out to his left, unmarked an in space, went unused and the opportunity went begging.
Steyn was replaced by Johan Goosen shortly after that, and the difference to the Boks’ attack was immediate. Goosen received the ball in almost the exact same position and ran the ball, the result being a Frans Steyn linebreak.
If only Goosen had enjoyed more of an opportunity to run at the All Blacks defence. He was only introduced in the 60th minute, and when Dean Greyling’s brain explosion led to a yellow card in the 63rd minute, Goosen was robbed of the forward platform needed to work his magic.
There can be no more denial, no more defence of Morné Steyn and the Boks’ attacking game. Goosen must be entrusted with the starting responsibilities from hereon in, and the Boks’ attacking option-taking and finishing must be given the attention it so clearly needs.

102 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All
15 Sep 2012, 11:15 am
Well, pilgrims, that’s as good as it gets.
15 Sep 2012, 11:17 am
Sad dragon boks
15 Sep 2012, 11:17 am
Morné Steyn and Greyling should never be in a Boks jersey again. Get rid of Kirchner and Pienaar too.
15 Sep 2012, 11:19 am
Seriously, the boks easily did enough to win that game. More so than against the Aussies. Apart from in the line out, your forwards bossed the abs.
Gutting for the team, but surely that bodes well for the future?
15 Sep 2012, 11:20 am
Morne, Kirchner and Greyling lost the Boks the game today. HM did with his selection and gameplan. What do they all have in common ? Blue Bulls
15 Sep 2012, 11:20 am
Pps – swap dagg for ANY other all black full back in the last 20 years and we would have lost that game. How influential was he????? Must be MoM.
15 Sep 2012, 11:21 am
If Moron Steyn ( note the spelling) starts again i will not be watching the match, why i should i waist my time getting upset because he can not play or kick. get rid of him.
that said, a better game from the boks, things coming together. put pat lambie on too.
15 Sep 2012, 11:22 am
What a dissapointment … well played forwards and Flo and Duane especially.
Greyling I am happy to say will be gone when Conie returns and PatC should be continued .. players with a brain.
15 Sep 2012, 11:23 am
Love it when the ref doesn’t play a role. McCaw had a really good game
I hope this result will bode well for the future and future selections. If not the sooner Meyer is gone the better. Needs to take full responsibility for Mornes last 4 game shockers, just played how he has all season, or past 3seasons for that matter.
vermuluen vs spies, not really a compo as we saw today
The kicking isn’t worth commenting on
Swap goosen for morne, and anyone who can sidestep for kirchner, and bobs your uncle – you’ll be winning the tight ones.
The blue bulls are the cancer of sa rugby
15 Sep 2012, 11:24 am
Boks can take a lot from this game.
1. Morne Steyn is average on a good day. He is useless on an average day. Shovel him back to the Bulls Vodacom Cup side.
2. Dean Greyling should never be allowed near a Bok jersey again. Not even a supporters jersey.
3. Kirchner is like a maltese poodle on attack. Skiitish but ultimately not much bite.
4. Goosen is unpredictable on attack. And for that reason should start.
15 Sep 2012, 11:26 am
The Boks were far superior. The AB’s were lucky.Goodbye Steyn and hello Goosen. As for Habana….well he stuffed up asnd should be dropped. is it the quato systrem that keeps him in the team?
15 Sep 2012, 11:26 am
Before all the self flagellation.
Francois Louw was awesome
15 Sep 2012, 11:27 am
Hopefully Heineken will now realise Morne is not the answer. Why are the Bulls last on the Currie Cup log? Because they play the kak Heineke model. We should have have won 22-21 today. Morne is hond-kak. Francois Louw was very good. Rest of team ok. Get a proper scrumhalf [maybe super sarel] and keep Goosen in at flyhalf. He is not Gaffie
15 Sep 2012, 11:27 am
Flo, Duane, Flip and Bekker showed what we have been missing. Steel.
15 Sep 2012, 11:28 am
@Kietzphat-12: Yes but I knew that already.
Why should Meyer wait 7 test matches to ascertain that?
15 Sep 2012, 11:29 am
Goosen at flyhalf
Lambie at fullback
Greyling did moer Richie – so good one!
Heineke is useless. Read between the lines in JdV’s post match splab. Something rotten…….
“50 Shades of Greyling – All Yellow” – CoachDivvy.
@17 because he is a doos
15 Sep 2012, 11:30 am
If you watch the ab games, SBW made all the difference. Starting to show what a loss he is
15 Sep 2012, 11:31 am
I am not sure I like this team driven discipline regime which resulted in Smith being dropped to the bench.
Better would be financial hits. After all, rugby doesn’t create auto millionaires for players selected to the AB’s.
Weepu was seriously poor in the first half and was the reason the Bokke caught a glimpse that winning the game was a real chance.
15 Sep 2012, 11:32 am
Lets just hope that Morne Steyn and Dean Greyling never play for the Springboks again.
15 Sep 2012, 11:32 am
@Jinx2-19: Told you last week Jean is just saying what he ‘has’s to say. A very unhappy captain, and why wouldn’t he be? I’m betting half the team wanted Morne gone after 15 minutes.
I suggest all true rugby lovers and Bok fans start emailing SARU…en masse. We jam their inboxes, and phone non stop…….
15 Sep 2012, 11:33 am
I don’t understand why any team would play a heavy kicking game against a team with both Jane and Dagg as 2 of the back 3.
15 Sep 2012, 11:33 am
What game shows today is that there is not much difference between teams. What is required is taking opportunities, staying calm, playing to the Ref and kicking your points! Did not do the last one – and we lost
15 Sep 2012, 11:35 am
I’ve never been this close to kicking my new LED TV. Seriously. WTF! Morne should have been replaced way much earlier, it was as clear as day very early on in the match that this was going to be a very poor performance from him.
I’m at a loss for words. What more needs to be said?
15 Sep 2012, 11:35 am
Fully agree. Morne is past his use by date.As for SBW..he is a show pony. Nonu give you 100% plus the flick pass. lol
15 Sep 2012, 11:36 am
How brilliant were F Louw and Duanne Vermeulen….
Lesson 1
F Louw or Brussow must always start…….no question.
Lesson 2
M Steyn must now been consigned to history……
Lesson 3….
Greyling must rather be playing for Bulls…..hope Coenie Oosthuisen gets fit soon….
Lesson 4
Be careful with substitutions….
Thought Boks were the better team….we are not far off, as long as we learned the lessons……
Be bold…be brave…..fark the shackles, break them, we have the players and skills…..just choose correctly and go for it HM…
15 Sep 2012, 11:36 am
Kick the goals and you win the game. Pity SA spent the whole week kicking your kicker….
15 Sep 2012, 11:37 am
I got so angry my wife told me to watch my language. The Books should and could have won this match. Now i have to live with Kiwi bragging for another week.,
Have to say I think that IRB need to get tough on the kind of thing Greyling did today. That challenge has the potential to break a neck and even possibly kill someone. He’ll get 2 to 4 weeks. It should be 6 to 12 months.
Apart from that Steyn needs to go if for no other reason then to go get some rest and confidence.
Liebenberg apparently cannot throw under pressure as a sub and he has thrown to shockers at critical times in two consecutive games. Cant afford that from your impact hooker. He hasnt featured in open play either in the few minutes he had. Need to find someone else.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-25:
Absolutely. Mutiny time. HM is a freak.
My Sig gives my Super 15 affiliation. However when the green and gold jersey goes on, so does my provincial affiliation.
Sad that this doesn’t count for the national coach.
In a short time Heyneke Meyer has shown himself to be a limited man with limited vision. There was so much goodwill after the farce of the previous incumbant.
Meyer should give his team an apology, especially the forwards who played their hearts out tonight to be let down by a flyhalf who is frankly, aweful.
Greyling, another of Meyer’s provincial choices showed his limited mental ability (I suppose he was just imitating his coach) .
And please – why oh why play Kirchner when Lambie is available? Because he’s from Natal?
Give me strength.
lets face it – the ABs were poor. They were shown up by the Argies already, I’m convinced of what we saw from the Boks today shows we have a lot of undeveloped potential, I’m not sure NZ can say the same.
The long range kick misses were just that, misses. They can’t be looked at as the reason the game was lost..
The AB’s did enough and won ugly.
Wow. An absolutely brilliant display of clutching defeat from the jaws of victory. Meyer for president – I actually think he might be stupid enough to do the position justice.
15 Sep 2012, 11:39 am
HM need to go do a Mike Tindall and get his rocks off. He is WAY up tight and verkrampt.
15 Sep 2012, 11:40 am
Something to note is that this kicking game which we pride ourselves on is not up to scratch. Our kicks are going directly to the opposition in space. This is putting tremendous pressure back on us as we now have to defend against players like Dagg running back at an unset defence.
We desperately need to start kicking into space more and finding touch more.
15 Sep 2012, 11:41 am
Lets start playing a quicker game… select Hougie at 9 and goosen at 10 with lambie at 12 and de jong at13 move frans back to 15( way more dangerous when he joins the line) with habs and engelbreght on the wing.
Forwards did ok today but Spies will bring something different to the party…. move Eben to a 5 lock and convert Alberts to 4
15 Sep 2012, 11:43 am
@klingon_x-24: Dean eill go down in Springbok folklore.Maybe we can coin a phrase.
Every time a penalty is given call it a “Dean”
And a mis sed kick a “Morne”
Should have won this.
15 Sep 2012, 11:43 am
@phil72-41:
Spies and Englebrecht. What did you smoke today, Phildo? You hav the perfect choices to 13 and then you hit the bong? Or is it the horn?
15 Sep 2012, 11:47 am
Only one thing lost that game for us – cowardice.
Specifically, Meyer’s – too cowardly to make the right choices when it’s so obvious to every one else that Steyn was having an horrific day. Why not bring Goosen on at half time. Why only bring Lambie on with 5 minutes to go? Why not get rid of Pienaar when his kicking was too often and too farking deep?
Because Meyer was too cowardly to leave his conservative laager mentality.
On the plus side, the guys showed guts and they’re improving. If Meyer can find his balls, and perhaps some intellect from somewhere, maybe we’ll turn the corner soon.
15 Sep 2012, 11:48 am
@stonespirit -7 . I note your spelling as suggested . If you are not going to watch rugby , then watch your waist !!
15 Sep 2012, 11:49 am
@37 brads: yep, we seem to be making a thing of winning ugly. Areas of concern for the AB’s:
- messam is too small/not powerful enough vs the boks. We really missed Kaino tonight
- savea seems out of his depth. He is not a sivivatu type long range try machine, nor is he a percentage rugby type like Jane. Don’t think we have any world class replacements
- surely it is only a mater of time before weepu is moved on?
15 Sep 2012, 11:49 am
Frans at fullback – maybe. Lambie at 12 – definitely not
15 Sep 2012, 11:50 am
@grant10-30: Hi Grant, you were right about the close nature of the game. Flo and Duane played very well. Like Mallett said at the end, why was Beast replaced ? Greyling was ……..well I can’t describe how poor he was. Everybody complained about sending over the inexperienced Malherbe but he would have done better than Greyling. Again Lambie only had a few minutes only – wake up Heyneke !!!!!!!!!!
15 Sep 2012, 11:52 am
Great Game, loved it!
We finally pitched up.
Now faults in the reverse, forwards doing everything and the backs couldnt careless about all their hard work, kicking…kicking…kak.
Was this game about practising our defense line? We get hard earned ball and then give it away. All three kickers performed badly too. I dont think it is wrong Keo bringing in Goosen from teh 60thmin. Just a kid, and the last place you want to do that is in black country. So perhaps in home leg ,now that the championship is over for us, people like Goosen may get a start. He has tasted black blood albeit on the loosing side.
Habanana well fairplay good try, but i’m still not convinced.
hahaha Greyling… now their was a man on a mission! So what was your mission boet? not too much about rugby in it was there…I see he is best buddies with the parrot, Macaw.
Glad to see the ref picking up the essence of black cheating, at the break down.
But then again, if you can get away with it and no one says hey, so be it.
Time to build depth Meyer, theres nothing else to gain now tht the championship is over.
15 Sep 2012, 11:55 am
@klingon_x-36: Seriously, comments like these are silly. Yea the ABs didn’t have a perfect game but who does on a consistent basis. They’re professionals but also humans as well. Sometimes for the human psyche its like the bounce of the ball. And the fact that they’r actually winning their games after a RWC is a feat in itself.
And @ Ez
That’s a little harsh about Habana, he did score a very impressive try way better than Smiths
Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All