Griquas blitz Bulls
15 Sep 2012
JON CARDINELLI reports on Griquas’ 49-34 bonus-point win against the battling Blue Bulls in Kimberley.
It may not have been the most convincing performance, as there were times in this fixture where Griquas allowed the Bulls back into the game, but the victory and the bonus point were desperately needed at this crucial stage of the season. Having achieved that, Griquas have kept their play-off prospects alive.
The result is a massive setback for the Bulls. It could be viewed as a brave fightback, as at one stage they were 23-0 down and on the brink of a serious hiding. They managed to claw their way back into the contest with a strong second and third quarter, but ultimately that poor opening 20 minutes had proved too much of a setback.
It was during that first quarter that the attacking threat of Griquas was most prominent. Wing Rocco Jansen had a hand in two of the tries, scoring the first and sparking the second. Flyhalf Francois Brummer was in fine goal-kicking form, and also contributed a try. It was during this period where the Bulls defence was at its most generous.
But the men from Pretoria hit back right before half-time with two converted tries. A further eight points right after the break saw the Bulls trailing by just seven points. It was an unbelievable scoreline considering what had transpired in those opening 20 minutes.
Jean Stemmet scored an important try in the 55th minute. It ensured Griquas secured the bonus point for four tries, but more importantly extended the hosts’ lead to 34-22. As the game approached the final quarter, Griquas enjoyed a substantial advantage.
The Bulls grew desperate, and this only served to play into Griquas’ hands. The hosts punished some poor Bulls defence with another seven-pointer, and this served to further inflate the lead.
A try by Werner Kruger and subsequent conversion by Louis Fouche narrowed the deficit to 12 points, but it was a gap they were never going to close in 10 minutes.
What Kruger’s score did give the hosts was a bonus point, and this log point could prove so important in terms of their play-off ambitions, as well as their intention to avoid the promotion-relegation match.

89 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All
15 Sep 2012, 17:06 pm
Shame I hate kicking someone when they are down. Never get joy out of anothers sorrow!
15 Sep 2012, 17:07 pm
Gumboots
Past glories count for nothing now… Sh*t just got real for them! Bakkies was already losing it on the Bokke thread… hehehe.. probably blaming the Bulls loss on the kiwis too.
15 Sep 2012, 17:09 pm
@Rage-52:
I know! Ja he has lost it mate. I think he needs some counseling.
Tac is the one who is hyper-ventalating I think!
You have to feel for them NOT
15 Sep 2012, 17:13 pm
@Gumboots-51: @Rage-52:They got big sh y te. Their U/19′s and U/21′s (with all those bought schoolboy stars, and U/20 Baby Bok stars) got beaten last night by the WP teams
Read somewhere that the U/19′s have massive issues with the union.
The fellow who wrote this, also mentions that the problems lie with Meyers promise to all of these kiddies: Come to Pta and be a Bok…..
Nope, the Bulls are reaping what they sow
15 Sep 2012, 17:20 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-54:
Ja huge kakkies at Moftus… Imagine how bad it will get when the rejects get back to the union… Ouch eina…
15 Sep 2012, 17:20 pm
Heyneke Meyer is not a Bok coaches ARSEHOLE
Where are all the Heyneke Meyer chorus of f’ng hail the Messiah worshippers? This f’ng outright DOOS has practically destroyed what was left of any Boks resolve now even the captain must be reeling with the goddamn disaster that is goddamn hanging over his head.
This MORON must GO!! He is KILLING any Bok resolve from within. If ever there was absolutely cancerous cataclysm coming down in crescendos this f’ng useless HOPELESS goddamn DOOS is DESTROYING BOK rugby from WITHIN.
If he had ANY idea about what comprises creative or at least common sense rugby selection and strategical decisions he would play this Willie Le Roux at full back ahead of either Kirchner or Lambie and as back up 10 behind Goosen, with Andries Coetsee as utility back on bench.
And Janse van Rensburg as bok LH prop on bench
15 Sep 2012, 17:22 pm
Pine Pienaar………….. which rubbish dump did they scratch him out of?
15 Sep 2012, 17:24 pm
@fitz1ella-56:
Skop remember the insults we got when we commented on his first Bok sqaud? We were called all names under the sun. Now the world sings with us… LOL
15 Sep 2012, 17:25 pm
@phil72-57:
The Messiah Church of Followers…
15 Sep 2012, 17:33 pm
@ Skop and Pedigree and Gumboots
This Bulls uber alles/Maak di Bulle almal
Bokke approach is leaving Heyneke and his Blue disciples with vrot egg on the face…yuck…
15 Sep 2012, 17:35 pm
W. Le Roux
JdV (c)
De Jongh
F. Steyn
Rhule
Goosen
Hougaard
Vermeulen
Louw (vc)
Brussow
Etzebeth
M. Vd Merwe
D. Fourie
Beast
Janse Van Rensburg, Strauss/Chili, Bekker, Elstadt, M. Coetsee, Pretorius, A. Coetsee
15 Sep 2012, 17:41 pm
@fitz1ella-61:
Hmmm not bad at all… Habs didn’t do badly at all. Eager and losing the ball at times, but he had heart and tried really hard…
15 Sep 2012, 17:42 pm
@Rage-60: @Gumboots-58:
Yip and it was only but a few weeks ago all the guppyuppie soul singers were singing along with the HMM chorus, which singsong are they singing now?
15 Sep 2012, 17:44 pm
@Gumboots-58: Remember some of the nics at the time? My personal fave was the Sharks fellows who used: “StormersupporterssupportEngland” and then changed it to, “SharkssupportersaretrueBoksupporters”.
Yes, they’ve lost that loving feeling……
Every Bulls affiliated person on display today, (except Hougie and Flip to some extent) has been shown up.
Barend and Wynie must be close to collapse.
15 Sep 2012, 17:44 pm
@fitz1ella-63:
Some take longer than others to believe!
15 Sep 2012, 17:45 pm
@fitz1ella-63: Oh they be well and truly phucked now…..(evident from their posts…)
15 Sep 2012, 17:46 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-64: ‘
I do too! I know HG is at the knitting pattern exchange day today, so don’t be too harsh on her…
15 Sep 2012, 17:51 pm
HG will be back later to remind us that the Sharks have our number…
@Gumboots-67: Dame Edna is smoking packet after packet of Craven A menthols….Only stopping the desperate sucking to shout BOOM every 8 minutes or so…
Her return to the site will be triumphant, silver catsuit and all.
Maythegoodlordhelpus if the Sharks beat us later
Boom boom
15 Sep 2012, 17:52 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-69:
She will be back!
Read post #68
15 Sep 2012, 17:52 pm
@ 64 pedigree
you on first name terms with the Bulls mngmt?
impressive
15 Sep 2012, 17:59 pm
About ten years ago the bulls got written of….. They came back with 4 cc and 3 super rugby titles…… The lions came back with 1 cc title and super rugby relegation….. Still waiting for the stompies comeback…..
15 Sep 2012, 18:02 pm
@phil72-57: They bought him from Bloemfontein but couldn’t find a place for Pote Human or Jimmy Stonehouse.
What a joke! Bulls will certainly be out of the Currie Cup next season. Mark my words. Barend van Graan’s inner circle is reaping the rewards for their Broederbond tactics.
15 Sep 2012, 18:03 pm
@phil72-73:
Yeah well done Phil! Proud of your team. Done us SAFFAS proud… A pity they have slumped since then…
15 Sep 2012, 18:04 pm
@Lang Giel-74
Eina!
15 Sep 2012, 18:07 pm
@Gumboots-75:
Not enjoying their play at all!!!!!!!! but they will fix the problems and be back. A year playing 1st division will be good for them…………….Will get their act together
15 Sep 2012, 18:10 pm
They must clean out again!!! get rid of coaching staff and blue eyed players. Will take about 2 years but there is nothing current to build on…….
15 Sep 2012, 18:12 pm
@phil72-77:
Mate all my friends are Bulls… We love to chirp each other. I’m in Pretoria and know the pain and passion you guys have for the Blue(Pink). I think the Pink has destroyed everyone’s soul really. Bulls will always be a force and all teams go through a bad spell….
15 Sep 2012, 18:26 pm
@Gumboots-79: A valid point Gumboots but the Bulls are in denial. The fans still can’t understand why Ludeke is getting a six months sabbatical every year. Everybody knows he’s a slow thinker but six months is a long time.
15 Sep 2012, 18:28 pm
@Lang Giel-80:
In Pretoria they think denial is a river in Egypt!!!
15 Sep 2012, 18:54 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-17:
@phil72-19:
@grant10-26:
@Rage-47:
adversity builds characters
@Gumboots-48:
this is a jericho moment
bulls will regather
@Gumboots-43:
whoopass hey… they dont bottle em like they used to….
15 Sep 2012, 18:59 pm
@Rage-52:
@Gumboots-53:
take your shots ladies…. take your shots….
15 Sep 2012, 19:03 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-83:
The fat lady singing the blue bulls song?
15 Sep 2012, 19:15 pm
@phil72-84:
fairtytales only happen in kinder sprokies.
dont fool yourself thinking the kings can hit a jackpot
this show is not over
*whispered* stupid bulls
15 Sep 2012, 19:27 pm
@I am a stormer-27: Almost today…
15 Sep 2012, 19:33 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-85:
This aint no fairy tale… more like a horror movie………..Bulls on this form do not deserve to play vodacom cup!
15 Sep 2012, 19:36 pm
And to put a cherry on the cake, bulls are playing with a scrumhalf on loan from the Lions W T F…………..
15 Sep 2012, 19:39 pm
@phil72-88:
It is like borrowing money from my 12 year old?
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All