Griquas blitz Bulls

JON CARDINELLI reports on Griquas’ 49-34 bonus-point win against the battling Blue Bulls in Kimberley.

It may not have been the most convincing performance, as there were times in this fixture where Griquas allowed the Bulls back into the game, but the victory and the bonus point were desperately needed at this crucial stage of the season. Having achieved that, Griquas have kept their play-off prospects alive.

The result is a massive setback for the Bulls. It could be viewed as a brave fightback, as at one stage they were 23-0 down and on the brink of a serious hiding. They managed to claw their way back into the contest with a strong second and third quarter, but ultimately that poor opening 20 minutes had proved too much of a setback.

It was during that first quarter that the attacking threat of Griquas was most prominent. Wing Rocco Jansen had a hand in two of the tries, scoring the first and sparking the second. Flyhalf Francois Brummer was in fine goal-kicking form, and also contributed a try. It was during this period where the Bulls defence was at its most generous.

But the men from Pretoria hit back right before half-time with two converted tries. A further eight points right after the break saw the Bulls trailing by just seven points. It was an unbelievable scoreline considering what had transpired in those opening 20 minutes.

Jean Stemmet scored an important try in the 55th minute. It ensured Griquas secured the bonus point for four tries, but more importantly extended the hosts’ lead to 34-22. As the game approached the final quarter, Griquas enjoyed a substantial advantage.

The Bulls grew desperate, and this only served to play into Griquas’ hands. The hosts punished some poor Bulls defence with another seven-pointer, and this served to further inflate the lead.

A try by Werner Kruger and subsequent conversion by Louis Fouche narrowed the deficit to 12 points, but it was a gap they were never going to close in 10 minutes.

What Kruger’s score did give the hosts was a bonus point, and this log point could prove so important in terms of their play-off ambitions, as well as their intention to avoid the promotion-relegation match.

89 Comments

• 1.cane: Reply to this comment

Go Bully Boy Dragons.

• 2.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

must win game

time to get the campaign back on track

• 3.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Important game in terms of relegation oponent for the EP Kings.

• 4.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Go Kwas.
    Make them level to the gravel (on that cement pitch)
    Great opportunity to ex matie captain Wesley Wilkins to show what he is made of.
    Very underrated player, should have played for Province.

• 5.willievz: Reply to this comment

Komaan manne, lyk goed sover!!

• 6.phil72: Reply to this comment

Bulls 1st division and Kings will be playing currie cup next year……….

• 7.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Bulls going to be smashed for the 2nd time today……

Ironic that Meyer when DOR for the Bulls discarded players like Brummer, because they didn’t fit into his ‘new vision’ for the Bulls :)

Marnus Schoeman another Bulls discard….

Oh dear.

• 8.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

o fok

• 9.phil72: Reply to this comment

What a joke of a once strong union… cant wait for the kings to replace them in compo

• 10.willievz: Reply to this comment

Willie le Roux – klas!

• 11.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-8: Don’t worry Bakkies. Soon you will have Morne, Pierre, Zane, Jacques Potgieter and Greyling back (oooops, nope cancel Greyling…..) to play for you.

• 12.willievz: Reply to this comment

Dink die Bulle kan dalk ‘n doughnut 0 terugneem Pretoria toe…

• 13.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Kings might still fancy their chances against a full-strenght Bulls team.

• 14.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Fightback Bakkies, fightback :)

• 15.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Hattingh looks like another testerone aggressive Bully

• 16.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-14:
    its not over yet

the lady

she must sing

are you fat?

just curious

• 17.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-16: Fat? Your clue: I train 140 minutes a day.
    Someone else will have to do the singing.

Maybe MacGuyver Greyling? – fat ladies and all :)

• 18.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Not watching now but whenever I’ve seen that pitch in the past a slab of concrete looks softer.

• 19.phil72: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-16:

Fat singing very loudly…………………….

• 20.phil72: Reply to this comment

The bulls with this clueless game plan and untalented players, the worst couching team i have ever seen has serious problems… they must fire the bunch of them and start getting their act together before their relegation matches against the Kings!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 21.phil72: Reply to this comment

Surely the Kings cant be this Rubbish!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 22.skunk: Reply to this comment

Bulls making my day.

• 23.grant10: Reply to this comment

gO gRIQUAS….GO BOYS….MOER hULLE!!

• 24.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

hAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

• 25.grant10: Reply to this comment

F Louw

Come home boy….Stormers need you….

And Jantjes

come home !!

• 26.grant10: Reply to this comment

fark….bulls gonna have to play off…..LOL

Tacitus gonna support jukskei and chess…

Bakkies jou ou bliksem !

• 27.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

When last did the Bulls have 50 put past them?

• 28.Bierpens: Reply to this comment

Well played Griquas!

• 29.sandeno: Reply to this comment

F@k the bulls, they f@ked up the boks now they should reap what they sowed. Goddamn morons.

• 30.grant10: Reply to this comment

never ever seen such absolute rubbish from Bulls…..

• 31.grant100: Reply to this comment

Jantjies is kak…. Griquas killes him a few weeks ago. He has great games against kak teams…

• 32.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@grant10-30:

Especially when Griquas have the confidence to run at them from inside their own 22.

• 33.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@willievz-12:

Well done with your team mate. They were superb. That said what a rubbish Bulls team. So much money they spend and dish up this c rap…

Well done Kwas

• 34.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Sorry but this Bulls team looks absolutely clueless. Very similar to the Boks I think…

Any connection?

• 35.phil72: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-27:

2 weeks ago……

• 36.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Can the Bulls get any k akker?

• 37.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Bulls get klapped week in and week out. Serious problems me thinks.

Must be internal problems too…

• 38.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

The Bulls are going to miss CJ Stander. But then again, they have an able replacement in Spies.

• 39.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

Meyer in for Pine Pienaar/ Mallet in for Meyer. Kill two birds with one stone and make both parties happy.

• 40.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-38:

Ja CJ the best player on the park. They want to convert him to a hooker but he showed them the finger and is leaving.

• 41.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-39:

Now that makes sense…

• 42.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Can’t wait for Tacs take. It is always my highlight…

• 43.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Time to open a can of whoopass

• 44.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-42:

He”l probably come out and say that the Bulls are deserved basement dwellers and then disappear for the rest of the season.

• 45.Rage: Reply to this comment

@36 they can… if Morne joins them

• 46.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Rage-45:

@I am a stormer-44:

Nope he will say it is a young team that has lost a lot of experience. Pretty much the same as the Boks I think…

The poor oke must be slitting his wrists as we speak…

• 47.Rage: Reply to this comment

it must be real tough being a Bulls and Bok fan now (Tac,Bakkies, etc).Couldnt have happened to a nicer bunch

• 48.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Rage-47:

I feel for Whitney… Man it must be devastating… Ouch…

Remember they have won three super titles though… ;)

• 49.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

Well done Griquas! Maybe you should go the Kings route and replace Cheetahs next year.

• 50.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

Bulls must now start recording the matches of the EP Elephants. They will be dead ducks in a promotion-relegation battle. They are paying the price for persisting with a useless coach and a bunch of has beens. Ndungane and Wepener should have been on the scrap heap many moons ago. At least 5 other players who started today don’t belong in the Currie Cup.

• 51.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Shame I hate kicking someone when they are down. Never get joy out of anothers sorrow! ;)

• 52.Rage: Reply to this comment

Gumboots

Past glories count for nothing now… Sh*t just got real for them! Bakkies was already losing it on the Bokke thread… hehehe.. probably blaming the Bulls loss on the kiwis too.

• 53.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Rage-52:

I know! Ja he has lost it mate. I think he needs some counseling.

Tac is the one who is hyper-ventalating I think!

You have to feel for them NOT ;)

• 54.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-51: @Rage-52:They got big sh y te. Their U/19′s and U/21′s (with all those bought schoolboy stars, and U/20 Baby Bok stars) got beaten last night by the WP teams :)

Read somewhere that the U/19′s have massive issues with the union.

The fellow who wrote this, also mentions that the problems lie with Meyers promise to all of these kiddies: Come to Pta and be a Bok…..

Nope, the Bulls are reaping what they sow :)

• 55.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-54:

Ja huge kakkies at Moftus… Imagine how bad it will get when the rejects get back to the union… Ouch eina…

• 56.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

Heyneke Meyer is not a Bok coaches ARSEHOLE

Where are all the Heyneke Meyer chorus of f’ng hail the Messiah worshippers? This f’ng outright DOOS has practically destroyed what was left of any Boks resolve now even the captain must be reeling with the goddamn disaster that is goddamn hanging over his head.

This MORON must GO!! He is KILLING any Bok resolve from within. If ever there was absolutely cancerous cataclysm coming down in crescendos this f’ng useless HOPELESS goddamn DOOS is DESTROYING BOK rugby from WITHIN.

If he had ANY idea about what comprises creative or at least common sense rugby selection and strategical decisions he would play this Willie Le Roux at full back ahead of either Kirchner or Lambie and as back up 10 behind Goosen, with Andries Coetsee as utility back on bench.

And Janse van Rensburg as bok LH prop on bench

• 57.phil72: Reply to this comment

Pine Pienaar………….. which rubbish dump did they scratch him out of?

• 58.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-56:

Skop remember the insults we got when we commented on his first Bok sqaud? We were called all names under the sun. Now the world sings with us… LOL

• 59.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@phil72-57:

The Messiah Church of Followers… ;)

• 60.Rage: Reply to this comment

@ Skop and Pedigree and Gumboots

This Bulls uber alles/Maak di Bulle almal
    Bokke approach is leaving Heyneke and his Blue disciples with vrot egg on the face…yuck…

• 61.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

W. Le Roux
    JdV (c)
    De Jongh
    F. Steyn
    Rhule
    Goosen
    Hougaard
    Vermeulen
    Louw (vc)
    Brussow
    Etzebeth
    M. Vd Merwe
    D. Fourie
    Beast

Janse Van Rensburg, Strauss/Chili, Bekker, Elstadt, M. Coetsee, Pretorius, A. Coetsee

• 62.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-61:

Hmmm not bad at all… Habs didn’t do badly at all. Eager and losing the ball at times, but he had heart and tried really hard…

• 63.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@Rage-60: @Gumboots-58:

Yip and it was only but a few weeks ago all the guppyuppie soul singers were singing along with the HMM chorus, which singsong are they singing now?

• 64.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-58: Remember some of the nics at the time? My personal fave was the Sharks fellows who used: “StormersupporterssupportEngland” and then changed it to, “SharkssupportersaretrueBoksupporters”.
    Yes, they’ve lost that loving feeling……

Every Bulls affiliated person on display today, (except Hougie and Flip to some extent) has been shown up.

Barend and Wynie must be close to collapse.

• 65.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-63:

Some take longer than others to believe! :lol:

• 66.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-63: Oh they be well and truly phucked now…..(evident from their posts…)

• 67.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-64: ‘

I do too! I know HG is at the knitting pattern exchange day today, so don’t be too harsh on her…

• 68.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

HG will be back later to remind us that the Sharks have our number…

• 69.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-67: Dame Edna is smoking packet after packet of Craven A menthols….Only stopping the desperate sucking to shout BOOM every 8 minutes or so…
    Maythegoodlordhelpus if the Sharks beat us later :) Her return to the site will be triumphant, silver catsuit and all.

• 70.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Boom boom

• 71.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-69:

She will be back! :lol: Read post #68

• 72.Rage: Reply to this comment

@ 64 pedigree

you on first name terms with the Bulls mngmt?

impressive ;-)

• 73.phil72: Reply to this comment

About ten years ago the bulls got written of….. They came back with 4 cc and 3 super rugby titles…… The lions came back with 1 cc title and super rugby relegation….. Still waiting for the stompies comeback…..

• 74.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

@phil72-57: They bought him from Bloemfontein but couldn’t find a place for Pote Human or Jimmy Stonehouse.
    What a joke! Bulls will certainly be out of the Currie Cup next season. Mark my words. Barend van Graan’s inner circle is reaping the rewards for their Broederbond tactics.

• 75.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@phil72-73:

Yeah well done Phil! Proud of your team. Done us SAFFAS proud… A pity they have slumped since then…

• 76.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Lang Giel-74

Eina!

• 77.phil72: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-75:

Not enjoying their play at all!!!!!!!! but they will fix the problems and be back. A year playing 1st division will be good for them…………….Will get their act together

• 78.phil72: Reply to this comment

They must clean out again!!! get rid of coaching staff and blue eyed players. Will take about 2 years but there is nothing current to build on…….

• 79.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@phil72-77:

Mate all my friends are Bulls… We love to chirp each other. I’m in Pretoria and know the pain and passion you guys have for the Blue(Pink). I think the Pink has destroyed everyone’s soul really. Bulls will always be a force and all teams go through a bad spell….

• 80.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-79: A valid point Gumboots but the Bulls are in denial. The fans still can’t understand why Ludeke is getting a six months sabbatical every year. Everybody knows he’s a slow thinker but six months is a long time.

• 81.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Lang Giel-80:

In Pretoria they think denial is a river in Egypt!!! :lol:

• 82.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-17:
    @phil72-19:
    @grant10-26:
    @Rage-47:

adversity builds characters :)

@Gumboots-48:
    this is a jericho moment
    bulls will regather

@Gumboots-43:

whoopass hey… they dont bottle em like they used to….

• 83.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Rage-52:
    @Gumboots-53:

take your shots ladies…. take your shots….

• 84.phil72: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-83:

The fat lady singing the blue bulls song?

• 85.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@phil72-84:
    fairtytales only happen in kinder sprokies.
    dont fool yourself thinking the kings can hit a jackpot
    this show is not over

*whispered* stupid bulls :grin:

• 86.willievz: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-27: Almost today… ;)

• 87.phil72: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-85:

This aint no fairy tale… more like a horror movie………..Bulls on this form do not deserve to play vodacom cup!

• 88.phil72: Reply to this comment

And to put a cherry on the cake, bulls are playing with a scrumhalf on loan from the Lions W T F…………..

• 89.phil72: Reply to this comment

@phil72-88:

It is like borrowing money from my 12 year old?

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.