Sharks smash woeful WP

RYAN VREDE saw the Sharks comprehensively beat Western Province 43-27 in difficult conditions at Kings Park.

Durban was battered with a sustained torrential downpour which completely waterlogged the surface. This made any sort of skill beyond a high punt or forward-based phase play near impossible and consequently adversely affected the quality of the match. The Sharks mastered the conditions while WP sunk. Furthermore, their discipline was atrocious, with Jebb Sinclair and Tyrone Holmes red carded for punching and Wilhelm van der Sluys (harshly) yellow carded.

Bombs were blended with grinding forward play, the Sharks better at taking advantage of the infringements forced through this method, Meyer Bosman kicking five penalties to go with four conversions for a 23 point haul.

Despite dominating large passages of play, WP simply never threatened to regularly break down a physical and accurate Sharks defensive unit. Their rolling maul got some purchase, but beyond that their tactical kicking game lacked the consistent precision to drive them into good field positions and their ball-in-hand play was uninspiring. The Sharks absorbed the pressure well, refusing to undermine their cause by becoming loose and profited as a result.

Bosman and Demetri Catrakilis traded three pointers to get the scoreboard going before Sharks flank Jacques Botes finished a slick move. The match meandered through dour passages thereafter, Bosman and Catrakilis continuing their boot war to leave the Sharks 16-12 ahead at the break.

Bosman banked six more points after the restart and the odds swung in the Sharks’ favour when Sinclair decked Jean Deysel to earn an early shower. Keegan Daniel scored shortly thereafter, sniping through the middle of a ruck to score.

WP’s rebuttal was good, Louis Schreuder driving over from close range after the defensive line had been depleted, Catrakilis adding the extras. But that good work was undone when Holmes jabbed Botes, who rubbed salt into the wounds by scoring shortly thereafter.

Schreuder intercepted and sprinted 80m to score, giving WP faint hope of what would have been a remarkable result in the circumstances. But Joe Pietersen missed the conversion that would have put them in contention for a draw. The game ended with a five-man WP scrum conceding a penalty try.

272 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 » Show All

• 101.katman: Reply to this comment

Ja-nee, Veldsman. Ek is nou baie beswaard.

• 102.Dawn: Reply to this comment

SHAUN!

Trevor Noah should get hold of him

• 103.katman: Reply to this comment

Lions and Sharks tied at the top.

• 104.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

5 points in the bag and 4 in a row. :-)

• 105.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

15 against 12 and the Sharks rely on a penalty try for the bonus point. What a joke. A total farce.

• 106.Guns: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-99: Dont get me wrong I see truth in what u say and have probably been the most reserved of most forsome time as I dobelieve too the glimpses se saw against Eng plus a starting Goosen with Lambie, Connie & Bismark back in the mix it will be brighter when the time comes Also I actually agree not to have Started Goosen todY his time will come hopefully sooner than later. Would have had him on at 25/30min todY tgough and Greyling well hope the lord he sorts his kak out..

• 107.Guns: Reply to this comment

And I expect to see Lover boy Pierrie back st Curry Cup and Super rugby to prove inclusion into the team like Brussow and every other non Bulld player please!

• 108.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-105:

If wp kept their side up we would have scred anyway.

You cheat you pay.

Wp played like thugs today, shamefull to be honest

• 109.Guns: Reply to this comment

Or change the definition of the use of the term Quota to “Bulls player” ;)

• 110.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Cool Runnings on TV

• 111.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-105: The records dont have a comments section

• 112.OCO: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-105:
    Yes it was, with the ‘I didn’t see that’ try that Reinach scored plus WP thuggery on the field you can be greatful that Wp were’nt on the losing side of 50 points.
    Would be nice if WP could play with just 15 men and win wouldn’t it.
    Bad loser.

• 113.saru1983: Reply to this comment

******* Y O U meyer i was the only one with issues in my household now youve gone and turned my son into an ALL BLACK supporter as well.
    well played you D O O S

• 114.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

So the question should be asked, is WP the new dirty boys of SA rugby, and wil they try to give Greyling a contract?

• 115.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

Is WP’s new motto, “if you can’t beat them, beat them up”?

• 116.charo: Reply to this comment

@viewer-11:

that was the isipingo lagoon farknut – a bit like the liesbeek river.

no sane person goes near it.

• 117.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Grateful OCO, grateful

• 118.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@OCO-112: Wouful.Kak game

• 119.phil72: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-114:

Not a pretty blue eyed boy…. will never happen?

• 120.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

Wouful = woeful

• 121.phil72: Reply to this comment

On the plus side??????????????? who can heyneke cal on?????????

• 122.phil72: Reply to this comment

not one of them could even land a solid punch………………….

• 123.phil72: Reply to this comment

Will have to stick with Greyling?????????????

• 124.katman: Reply to this comment

@phil72-123: Pat Cilliers should be fit again. Better to have a second tighthead on the bench anyway.

• 125.Guns: Reply to this comment

@saru1983-113: fok nee bru! U need to sort him out chop chop! Get him a dvd of boks greatest hit ever or something! Replay the trinaTions winz and RWC winz over a few times and dont let him watch anotherbok game until Goosen Starts!

• 126.saru1983: Reply to this comment

actually jebb landed a pretty decent ice hockey punch,put deysel on his *** should have followed it up though with a kick to the groin and a few hammer fists to the temple and that would b all she wrote folks

• 127.phil72: Reply to this comment

@katman-124:

But does he have a solid right hand?

• 128.charo: Reply to this comment

weird game….

watersports pitch…

goofed tmo…

and a timid little touchjudge.

could have been a good game otherwise.

• 129.katman: Reply to this comment

@phil72-127: Dunno. But Pat spelt backwards is tap, and tap is slang for punch. So draw your own conclusions.

• 130.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

@saru1983-126: ja and then he’d be banned for life x_x

• 131.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

@saru1983-126: Deysel undoubtedly has a glass jaw.

• 132.katman: Reply to this comment

Klaasen and v/d Merwe have already blown 4 match points in the Davis cup double against the Canuks. Just finish the fckers off already.

• 133.charo: Reply to this comment

is it fair to say that…….

wp/stormers are the shark’s bunnies this season?

just asking.

• 134.phil72: Reply to this comment

@charo-133:

Break back mountain………….

• 135.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

@charo-133: no but the bulls are wp’s bunnies

• 136.Guns: Reply to this comment

@saru1983-113: Hmm. You may want to.also try convince him Morne’s great grandmother is part of die Broederbond and he hadabsolutely no choice and his families lives depended on it.. Ja thats may be ur best bet.. Tell him the ANC were also involved.. If theres a chance its a slim one..

• 137.Nanashi: Reply to this comment

Jebb’s jolly jab jeopardises jubilation. Meh, I suck at this.

• 138.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Guns-37:
    @Dawn-41:

sorry

no time for losers

‘Cause we are the champions of the world

We are the champions – my friends

And we’ll keep on fightin’ till the end

We are the champions

• 139.phil72: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-138:

Province…………….. die currie cup kom weer………………………

Bunch of wannabees ( dean greyling impersonators)

• 140.Guns: Reply to this comment

U may also want to show him the Bulls Super R win over the Chiefs and convince him they can speel & add Pierrie’s pappa also a big shot in die Broederbon.. ;)

• 141.charo: Reply to this comment

on to more important matters….

so hm has reportedly said that he might have screwed up by keeping morne on as the goalkicker?

does this mean that frans should have kicked?

or, better still……

that goosen should be the kicker?

hopefully the latter.

and…. that he sees a future at 15 for lambie

• 142.Nanashi: Reply to this comment

Player’s punch Province’s Pitfall.

• 143.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@phil72-139:
    sorry

this is a song for champion teams only

• 144.phil72: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-143:

Will have to exclude WEE PEE (aka Stompies) then………………

• 145.Guns: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-138: Spies, Morne, Greyling, Kirchner still currently a bunch of moffies! Its no secret they share beds! Part of Meyers training! ;) U know i may even cut Morne some slack he has been a good servent of the game till now! But the otheres eish… And thst blarry one dimensional Potsmacker!

• 146.Guns: Reply to this comment

• 147.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-108:
    @trupisero-111:
    @OCO-112:

If you read my earlier comments, i said that the behaviour of the players out there – Sinclair and Holmes – was dof and totally inexcusable. And they will more than likely get a suspension.
    Very much in line with Greyling’s earlier in the day.

The Sharks adapted to the conditions better today and deserved their win. And bear in mind that the U/20′s was called off because of the appalling conditions.

• 148.phil72: Reply to this comment

@Guns-145:

Stop watching back break mountain……… Getting old now!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 149.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@charo-141:
    morne needs to have two options put before him.

1. the moerse uitkak ‘kry jou kop reg’ hairdryer treatment option.
    2. quietly drop him to the bench or right out the match day 22.

one of these two will lead us to the promised land.

frans needs to get fitter and i have no faith in lambie as fh or fb.

goosen or jantjes at fh.

hougaard or the cheetah (not sarel) at sh.

pienaar, hougaard or jp at fb.

• 150.katman: Reply to this comment

Goosen to 10, Morne out of 22.

Jean to 12, Frans to 15, Zane out of 22.

De Jongh to 13.

Pietersen to get better fast.

That’s the backline sorted. Let me think about the pack for a moment.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.