Sharks smash woeful WP

RYAN VREDE saw the Sharks comprehensively beat Western Province 43-27 in difficult conditions at Kings Park.

Durban was battered with a sustained torrential downpour which completely waterlogged the surface. This made any sort of skill beyond a high punt or forward-based phase play near impossible and consequently adversely affected the quality of the match. The Sharks mastered the conditions while WP sunk. Furthermore, their discipline was atrocious, with Jebb Sinclair and Tyrone Holmes red carded for punching and Wilhelm van der Sluys (harshly) yellow carded.

Bombs were blended with grinding forward play, the Sharks better at taking advantage of the infringements forced through this method, Meyer Bosman kicking five penalties to go with four conversions for a 23 point haul.

Despite dominating large passages of play, WP simply never threatened to regularly break down a physical and accurate Sharks defensive unit. Their rolling maul got some purchase, but beyond that their tactical kicking game lacked the consistent precision to drive them into good field positions and their ball-in-hand play was uninspiring. The Sharks absorbed the pressure well, refusing to undermine their cause by becoming loose and profited as a result.

Bosman and Demetri Catrakilis traded three pointers to get the scoreboard going before Sharks flank Jacques Botes finished a slick move. The match meandered through dour passages thereafter, Bosman and Catrakilis continuing their boot war to leave the Sharks 16-12 ahead at the break.

Bosman banked six more points after the restart and the odds swung in the Sharks’ favour when Sinclair decked Jean Deysel to earn an early shower. Keegan Daniel scored shortly thereafter, sniping through the middle of a ruck to score.

WP’s rebuttal was good, Louis Schreuder driving over from close range after the defensive line had been depleted, Catrakilis adding the extras. But that good work was undone when Holmes jabbed Botes, who rubbed salt into the wounds by scoring shortly thereafter.

Schreuder intercepted and sprinted 80m to score, giving WP faint hope of what would have been a remarkable result in the circumstances. But Joe Pietersen missed the conversion that would have put them in contention for a draw. The game ended with a five-man WP scrum conceding a penalty try.

272 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

• 151.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Guns-145:
    this is a watershed moment, make no mistake.
    there will be blood on the bbc boardroom dance floor at the end of all this.

sometimes you need to hit rock bottom (thats where the best rock science is) to find yourself as a man and as a team. the bulls have been here before, they will build.

• 152.phil72: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-151:

And the stompies has been there or there about for 11 years…………………………..

• 153.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@katman-150:
    you missing a wing and a scrummie.

this isn’t rugby league, have you been drinking.

• 154.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@phil72-152:
    i can confidently tell you wp will never win a competition in my lifetime.
    i once went to see a fortune teller for a larf, but everything she told has so far come to pass… everything….

its wierd i know but there it is. sometimes in life things happen mysteriously and we cant say why.

• 155.phil72: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-154:

Maybe………… they just useless?

• 156.katman: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-153: If I didn’t mention it, it doesn’t change. Try to keep up with the class here.

• 157.phil72: Reply to this comment

Really intrigued by the stompie mind set…………… OK We will never be good enough…… but will always be there ore there about??????????????????

• 158.Guns: Reply to this comment

@charo-141: He said it all before! Needs to Action it! Morne was clearly having a continued bad day at the office under heavy pressure and there should have been a plan if he misses 2/3 he’s off (did not even have to tell him this though obviously!)

But ye hopefully Meyer actions it! He could have pulled off a win in NZ today!

• 159.carol: Reply to this comment

Oh dear, bad weekend for my Bokke/WP friends…….!!

Is there a silver lining?

• 160.rangerman: Reply to this comment

Sharks own wp.

Normal serv?ce has resumed.

• 161.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@katman-156:
    rugby lessons from a lions supporter…ok….

• 162.phil72: Reply to this comment

@Guns-158:

Plan B.. Employ stompie looser attitude and do damage control ????????????

• 163.katman: Reply to this comment

@carol-159: No, it’s all sht. And it doesn’t look like improving any time soon.

• 164.katman: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-161: There will be a test.

• 165.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@phil72-155:
    thing with these mysterious fortune teller gypsy types is you dont ask for explanations and they dont tell.
    all i know is she said wp would never win a comp in my lifetime and that the bulls would have many illustrius years ahead of them, and this visit to the fortune teller was pre 2007 hey.

so there it is, it was one of three rugby related questions i asked her and so far everything else i asked has happened…. everything….

make of it what you will.

@rangerman-160:
    wp discipline was a joy to behold tonight :lol:

• 166.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@katman-164:

i like multiple choice but without any trick questions.

• 167.carol: Reply to this comment

@katman-163:
    Time for Grant10 and Skop to take over the WP Management.

For balance you and Gunther,Robzim and Puma can take over the Bok management!
    See, every worthwhile team is represented there

• 168.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@katman-156:
    cant believe you would keep pienaar at 9.

you’ve lost the match right there.

• 169.katman: Reply to this comment

@carol-167: I can easily see me, Rob and Puma pulling the Boks out of the fire, but putting Grant and Skop in charge of anything is a monumental disaster. Ons is a drama queen and one is certifiable. I wouldn’t entrust them with a bake sale.

But then again, this is WP we’re talking about. It’s not like anyone really cares, as long as the kit looks good and the players get to hang out in Camps Bay.

• 170.katman: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-168: He wasn’t even the fourth worst back today.

• 171.phil72: Reply to this comment

To all the wee pee supporters it is not all lost… I hear pine pienaar has booked a yacht on a cruise past the lovely Somalian coast and has invited all stompies players to join……. It would be something like the camp staalgraad where only the fittest would survive. Maybe only Pine would survive……… but lets look at the bigger picture…….. it is not about winning…….. But about survival!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 172.carol: Reply to this comment

@katman-169:

Honestly, the two of them together are very lucid!

But there is a distinct possibility all Grants meetings would take place in La Med enjoying a sundowner! (Have I got the name right, the open air pub place overlooking the bay at Clifton)?

• 173.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

Pienaar COST the Boks the game TODAY .. and LAST week and the draw vs Argentina

Pienaar was the ABSOLUTE fulcrum of the ENTIRE problem.. and Morne Steyn gets kicked in the groin because his kicking radar has gone to hell

But the GAME was LOST behind the scrum.. JUST like it was LOST last week BEHIND the SCRUM

These Moronic little fucknut rockspiders like this katmankunt here don’t know the BEGINNING of where the problem begins or ENDS

This little rockspider Katmankunt here was one of the front of the queue titillating much better when Heyneke Meyer got the Bok job

Now the little thick as 3 bricks Rockspider turns his stupid idiotic non knowing sing song tune around as if he knows WTF is cutting on a rugby field..

Meyer Fck’d UP by dropping Hougaard to wing and playing Pienaar at 9.. That was his FIRST mistake since switching them vs Argy in Mendoza.. Since then he has gone from BAD to WORSE.. and these THICK as two Planks Rockspiders like Katmankunt STILL can’t see WHERE the sh’t ACTUALLY hit the FAN..

• 174.katman: Reply to this comment

@carol-172: Yep, that’s the place. Gorgeous views to the south down the Twelve Apostle mountains.

Anyway, I think the English definition of lucidity must be pretty much the opposite of ours then.

• 175.katman: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-173: Top of the evening to you, good sir. I looked for you at the Victorian Times, but no one there seemed to know you. frankly, I find this confusing. You had me believe you were a living, breathing legend in the place. Are there two pubs with the same name? Is this why our rugby date didn’t work out? Perhaps we can try it again next weekend. How about we watch the next Lions game together. I can organise you a 1978 jersey along with a red and white woolen cap my auntie knitted in the eighties. You’ll love it. What do you say?

• 176.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-173:
    abso(farking)lutely he did, skop… abso(farking)lutely….

pienaars tactical kicking was beyond atrocious and his base clearance was from the 1950′s. total liability.

that and morne missing all those farken kicks and there’s your winning turnaround game right there.

also the try scoring opportunities lost through lack of composure and calmness in finishing.

• 177.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@katman-170:
    i digress, he was.

• 178.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

little runtcunt rockspider wasn’t anywhere near the Victorian Times..

little runtcunt was squirming up his rockspider backside wondering wtf has GONE WRONG with his blue eyed rockspider hero that LOST the plot so bad in the measly space of 6 weeks.. Poor rockspider runtcunt simply can’t FATHOM HOW his boertjie genetic deficiency turned out such a poor coach that he now has to consult with his bo baas Nick Mallet so that he can re LEARN what this game of rugby is all about..

and there the little rockspider runtcunt was looking down his nose at PdV just the other day.. NOW his rockspider blue eyed genius of a coach don’t have the BEGINNING of any credibility ANYWHERE vaguely resembling any rugby knowledge or rugby strategy…

• 179.katman: Reply to this comment

So I’ll mail you then about next weekend? And don’t worry. I’ll teach you all the names of the Lions players so you can pretend to know what’s going on. I’ll also explain the moves and some of the laws that you’re little fuzzy on. I’ve picked up that you have quite a shallow grasp of the game but that’s fine. All shapes and sizes is what makes rugby great. We’re going to have so much fun.

• 180.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

If Rudolph Streauli was bad.. I reckon Heyneke Meyer is worse…

and some these toss boxes are still hankering for arseholes like Jake White to come and save the day..

shows you just how THICK these idiotic MORONS that parade around SA rugby fraternities are who don’t know the BEGINNING of what goes around this game they supposedly ‘love’ so much called ‘rugby’.

• 181.carol: Reply to this comment

@katman-174:

That is the place! Would be nice to go there in the summer, I saw it in June on a rather bleak afternoon!

• 182.carol: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-180:

“Toss Boxes”, great insult there Skop!

• 183.nikoli: Reply to this comment

Kudos AB’s, closed out the game. Boks better when not kicking it away, but failed to finish.

• 184.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

some ex rugby players like Ashwin Willemse are basically SEETHING with outright rage at the garbage they see unfolding on their TV screens week in and week out..

Heyneke Meyer should be HUNG drawn and quartered for bringing Springbok rugby into disrepute..

What kind of a thick idiotic moron actually CANNOT see the BEGINNING of where rugby efficiency and strategy begins or ends..?

what kind of MORON continues to do what FAILS week in and week out and CANNOT remedy the problem?

Is this thicker than a ROCK moron THAT much of a genius that he continues to repeat the SAME mistake AGAIN and AGAIN and AGAIN…??

• 185.carol: Reply to this comment

I think Morne Steyn misses the guiding hand of Percy these days!

• 186.Honesty Box Seymour: Reply to this comment

Normal service rsumed.

Sharks v Stormers/WP

Played 5 won 4

Damn straight.

• 187.Honesty Box Seymour: Reply to this comment

reeeeeeeeeesumed

• 188.nikoli: Reply to this comment

@carol-185: Missed a few kicks too!

• 189.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

skop, have you been to see the new pirahna 3dd movie?

i hear its twice the terror and double the d’s.

• 190.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Bakkies – perhaps thats the fortune tellers way of telling you that being an old tjoppie you may not live as long as you expect :wink:

Give Morne Steyn a break, I thought he was wonderful last night… even the “great” goalkicker Johnny Wilkinson struggled at Forsyth Barr, and the English team tried to change balls during games… the stadium doesnt like kicking for some reason..

@carol-185: he misses the guiding hand of Percy? :shock: are you saying they are woolly woofters?

• 191.nikoli: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-190: Well done to your boys poppa, hope we at least had you knyping….

• 192.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@nikoli-191: you did indeed… we should have lost no question, and most kiwis will be very worried.. I want to see the ABs play good rugby, they did nothing of the sort last night.. a loss will be interesting, because many of us arent sold on our own coaching staff either..

Foster is a real concern, and our backs apart from Dagg last night looked out of sorts with ball in hand… they have been poor all season, and Shag had to be rescued by Henry at one point when he was head coach by taking over Hansens duties..

• 193.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-190:

wonderful? its a tossup between greyling and steyn for ABs MVP…

• 194.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@munkiboi-193: I thought Clancy was a shoe in for that? :mrgreen:

look to the positives, your team outperformed ours, should have won but didnt take their chances… they are predominantly a young side, the belief and confidence they will take from that game will be huge..

• 195.nikoli: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-192: Israel is awesome, & as for that bliksem Richie, the man is a machine. Thought we had you at a stage but you turned it on when it mattered. Damn I hate losing to you guys…..

• 196.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Nikoli

yep teh try he scored he created. we are fortunate to have Dagg. seems to lift in a black jersey

Ritchie is a phenom. he has lost some of his scavenging skills, but IMO his ball carrying seems to have gotten stronger he still gets around the field well for his age too.

I think we are seeing just how good Dan Carter really is by his absence.

mate, you guys blew numerous opportunities. should have thrashed us really. think the ABs started to believe their own press. time for a new outside centre for you guys too. JDV is hanging on too long, something I worry we may see with McCaw. I would like Cane to start for us against the argies.

• 197.nikoli: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-196: Yea we butchered some opportunities but ifs and buts and maybes don’t change the score. You took your chances and the game. Thought we were good value except when kicking aimlessly. Agree on JdV, need another cappie. Hope we can avenge the loss when you come this side. Have more hope after today

• 198.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@nikoli-197: At this level it is only that 1% that can cause so much damage, but there are many positives for your team to take from this match….sometimes you have to lose a few to learn the lesson

the return match should be a cracker…

for us, I think Smith, Mealamu and Retallick need to start… SBW has also been a bigger loss then most anticipated..

• 199.nama1: Reply to this comment

So, how much did the Sharkies pay that laaitie linesman? :wink:

Congratulations Sharkies. FOUR in a row now, I think. :lol:

• 200.nama1: Reply to this comment

“The Sharks comprehensively beat Western Province 43-27″

15 players against 12, and the difference is ONLY 16???

Yeah right…that is comprehensively.

What would one call the Griquas beating the Bulls with 15 points (49-34) then keeping in mind that both teams finished the game with 15 players?

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.