Steyn blows Dunedin lifeline
15 Sep 2012
RYAN VREDE reports on a deeply disheartening 21-11 Springboks defeat to the All Blacks in which Morne Steyn surely kicked his way into the Test wilderness.
Heyneke Meyer’s painful education as a Test coach continues. Tonight’s lesson was in accountability for selections and it was a harsh one. Meyer didn’t swing Steyn’s rudderless boot, which pushed four crucial goal kicks wide. But he did put him in a position to take those kicks when there were alternatives, one of which, Johan Goosen, embarrassed the incumbent by landing a 50m penalty and nearly sinking a near on 60m effort. Yet it wasn’t only his goal-kicking which vexed. So far was he in the pocket for most of the match that he may as well have been back in Pretoria.
Then there was the mistimed introduction of Dean Greyling, the prop whose inadequacies at Super Rugby level made his initial selection to the squad perplexing. Greyling would further entrench the widely-held perception of Springboks players as thugs with a cowardly forearm smash on Richie McCaw. Then he coughed the ball up with the tryline beckoning in the dying minutes and conceded a string of penalties. He must be heavily punished for his assault on McCaw and never see a Springboks shirt again.
There were others who failed – his beloved Zane Kirchner didn’t inspire once more, hooker Adriaan Strauss looked like a tanked up darts player, Juandre Kruger had no presence at the lineouts.
Where there positives? Perhaps. The forwards were outstanding in the tight exchanges on attack, setting a platform. But it was one that was never exploited thanks to a now chronic lack of attacking imagination. Defenders are seen as targets for rampaging Springboks carriers. Over and not around seems to be the law. The Blacks attack space so well and consistently free their hands to look for an offload opportunity. These things can be coached. The Springboks have the players with the capacity to play this way. That they are reduced to brainless machines that show no ability or desire to veer from a directive doesn’t bode well for the future.
On review they will primarily lament a butchered 7th minute opportunity and Steyn’s poor goal-kicking. The former was particularly frustrating in light of how few clear scoring chances they create. This one could not have been clearer, with Bryan Habana free on the wing. But passer and recipient lacked composure. Habana would, however, later score a try that was a throwback to his best form – break, chip, collect, brilliant.
Outside of the Blacks’ try that was birthed from a poor box kick, the Springboks were undoubtedly the better side for the first half – dominant in the forwards, competitive at the breakdown, sharp to loose balls and desperate on defence. They rumbled and roared through the heavies, driving into good field positions and forcing a string of penalties.
Here was the much-maligned Steyn’s opportunity to repay and justify the faith Meyer had showed in him in the face of severe criticism. Kicking all the points against the Blacks in Port Elizabeth in 2011, Steyn had saved his Test career. It was ironic that his kicking effort tonight, the primary strength of his game, would almost certainly end it, or, at very least, cease it until he rediscovers his form of 2009. There is no strong argument Meyer can mount for his retention. His time is up.
The Springboks trailed 5-3 at the break, but should have lead comfortably. Yet, for all their endevour, nothing about this game was unexpected. The Springboks were always going live with these Blacks for 60 minutes. The final quarter was always going to be the decisive period of the match.
The Blacks grabbed the initiative through a soft Aaron Smith try. Greyling should have been defending the fringe yet was caught in the backline. He further undermined the Springboks’ cause five minutes later when he stupidly, inexplicably, nailed McCaw, who was not involved in play. Idiocy appeared to have found it’s home in Greyling.
To their credit the Springboks redoubled their efforts, but the Blacks grew in confidence and while they never looked fluid on attack, they certainly had the measure of the predictable Springboks on defence.
There were opportunities to cause an upset, but those were squandered. Oh what could have been. This Blacks side is not the force they have been made out to be. They were there for the taking. Meyer’s education continues, but he cannot keep failing examinations through faults of his own.

345 Comments
15 Sep 2012, 11:44 am
Was worse than Gaffie’s performance in the same city.
15 Sep 2012, 11:46 am
Not much to say… Morne Steyn is a liability and has been for a long time.
15 Sep 2012, 11:48 am
HM. Does not trust his troops. Control freak. Therapy.
15 Sep 2012, 11:51 am
I think the only way Meyer can move fwd is to send out a formal apology to the sa rugby public and explain why he takes so ******* long to learn. Ok maybe we do need a decent fly half and a balanced loose fwd combo. I you guys were right. I just need about 6 tests to realise the obvious
15 Sep 2012, 11:54 am
3 poeple responsible for los: Meyer, M Steyn, Kirchner. Also poor: Pienaar and Greyling! Shocking. Meyer must see the light or go. Simple as that! Enough of Steyn!
15 Sep 2012, 11:55 am
@willievz-1: Ja Willie !! I agree – when will HM see the light ?? Why did he replace Beast. Greyling should be fined and should NEVER wear a Springbok shirt again. I have just said on the other thread that everybody complained about the inexperienced Malherbe, but I’m sure he would have done better than Greyling: not many props would have done worse!!
15 Sep 2012, 11:57 am
@Maljan-5: This time Lambie had even less time than the previous test: I think 5½ minutes !! Why keep Kirchner on for so long ?? Goosen has to start the next 2 tests and Morne should not be in the match 22
15 Sep 2012, 11:58 am
Only you, Ryan, saw this as Morne’s last chance. Meyer has no intention of dropping Morne and the rest of us would have dropped him long ago.
15 Sep 2012, 12:00 pm
@Maljan-5: Couldn’t agree more. Pienaar had a poor game. His tactical kicking was poor. I remember the Kiwi commentator (Grant Nisbet I think) saying about one of his kicks: “That was a nothing kick. Straight to Dagg in space.”
15 Sep 2012, 12:00 pm
Morne should have done the honorable thing, faked an injury and gone off.
15 Sep 2012, 12:02 pm
On the positive Habana is back to his best! And alot of you fools wanted to write him off.
15 Sep 2012, 12:02 pm
Sad thing is no matter what, morne and spies will always be in the plans. Really scary thought. I pray for now that goose and vermuelen stay fit. Seem to be the only 2 players Meyer will make an exception for
15 Sep 2012, 12:03 pm
Meyer’s record this year is Played 7, won 3.
He continues to select Morne Steyn.
Morne Steyn’s record this year is 53%
Could there be a link between these two records?
15 Sep 2012, 12:03 pm
Goosen should have started or at least come on straight after the break. We would have won it. Also need to start Lambie. Why give Lambie 5min? What the heck can a player do in 5min?
15 Sep 2012, 12:07 pm
@CharlesM-7: Goosen and Lambie should have started or at very least come on straight after the break. Why give Lambie 5min? What can a player do in that time?
Ruan also not doing it at all. Might have to move Hougie back to scrummie. Think JPP might be back for the Loftus test.
15 Sep 2012, 12:09 pm
how many kicks did we miss tonight?
fark
i lost count
15 Sep 2012, 12:11 pm
Pienaar I am afraid is one of those really good provincial players but does not have the temperament for test rugby. He has no flair sadly! this kicking the ball back into the loose scrums really freaks me out. Hougaards kicking technique is extremely poor but if we are to play a fast paced game with our back, he would be ideal. We have the players – wrong coach. SA rugby must wake up and smell the Roses!
15 Sep 2012, 12:11 pm
Only person to blame is Meyer. Wake thefuckup
15 Sep 2012, 12:12 pm
Today was an incredibly hopeful sign for SA rugby.
The much maligned Meyer demonstrated how you fluster, dominate and set the platform to beat the mighty All Blacks in their own back yard.
If not for Morne Steyn and Dean Greyling we would have beaten the All Blacks at home today. Both errors can be rectified with the tickmark of a selection pen.
Put Goosen in and send Greyling back to the Currie Cup and this Bok team has the makings of a great one. Especially once the Bismarks and JP Pietersens of this world are back.
15 Sep 2012, 12:17 pm
gurthro as loosehead to rotate with beast and bobs your uncle.
goosen to be given more game time.
pienaar to fall off a cliff somewhere and hougaard back to sh, or the cheetahs sh.
flip for the first time actually had a good game for the boks but etzebeth to slot back in.
15 Sep 2012, 12:20 pm
Meyer,Loubscher,Basil and Van Graan should return to the Blue Cows……….bring in Mallet,Alan Solomons and Campese,Campo would bring value to the backline.Solomons very astute coach too !
17. We have the players – wrong coach. Spot on, that’s exactly what today showed
The buck stops with Meyer. He is the man who cost us the test. He put a badly out of form steyn on the field. He selected kirchner at 15 when we have Lambie. He took the beast off. He need, s to wake the F up now, or just pi$$ off.
15 Sep 2012, 12:24 pm
@Tacitus-19: The much maligned Meyer demonstrated just WHY he IS much maligned – nothing more.
15 Sep 2012, 12:27 pm
@Tacitus-19: Meyer is the only reason the Boks didn’t win today.
15 Sep 2012, 12:31 pm
9. Hougie
10. The Goose
11. Habs
12. Jan Serfontein
13. Paul Jordaan
14. JPP
15. Fransie
Hopefully Meyer will have this as his backline in time (provided he’s still the coach)
15 Sep 2012, 12:33 pm
Can someone rig the walkie talkie like in the James Bond films where the bad guys always have a meeting………then one of them gets shocked by a pissed off villian like Largo…..http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dW9-llaIS-g
15 Sep 2012, 12:33 pm
@Tacitus-19: Talking shyyt Tac, PDV has already showed SA Rugby how to beat All Blacks in Dunedin, he won, Meyer has done diddle-squat chump, go sell your rubbish somewhere else, we not buying it.
BTW, did you notice the line out difference once Bekker came on for Kruger, won’t even mention Morne, Zane and Mean Dean
15 Sep 2012, 12:35 pm
It’s absolutely mind-blowing that everyone except the supposed rugby genius appointed to coach the team can see that Morne Steyn should not be playing. And still, he thinks that everybody else is wrong and he is right.
15 Sep 2012, 12:35 pm
@Tacitus-19: You make as if beating AB in NZ is an impossible task, ask Peter De Villiers he did it , not once.
15 Sep 2012, 12:38 pm
It’s simple. We lost tonight, because of Meyer, Steyn, Kirchner and Greyling.
All 4 from the same franchise background.
All 4 playing a gameplan that was last successful in 2009 or so.
For the aforementioned franchise
15 Sep 2012, 12:41 pm
@Tacitus-19:
The Irish and Argentinians did exactly the same, and the Irish did so with Carter kicking a last minute drop. And the much maligned Meyer wouldnt be so ‘maligned’ perhaps if he didnt continually select Greyling and Steyn.
15 Sep 2012, 12:42 pm
Maak die Bulle almal fokkof.
15 Sep 2012, 12:45 pm
@Vetkoek-31:
We lost tonight because our game plan was pathetic. They did contribute though.
Any other coach woud have ensured we won this game and not let bias get in the way of his pride.
15 Sep 2012, 12:47 pm
The AB’s were poor by their standards today
AB’s will win in Soweto
A gees win against the Aussies at home
And that’ll wrap up the the 1st tourny of the long awaited new dawn of SA rugby
15 Sep 2012, 12:47 pm
I used to get so angry with PdV, but the hype around HM has made him look more pathetic than PdV.
Pieter is p issing himself with larfter…
15 Sep 2012, 12:48 pm
Tacitus Meyers Bulls rugby style is outdated…………..are you perhaps
1-That bloke with the ring in his nose with the bulls helmut with horns….
2-The Bulls Mascot
3-The Bulls wannabe media mogul
Bulle en bokke met meyer vreet van die vloer af !
15 Sep 2012, 12:48 pm
So what has changed since PdV era…
Oh yeah only the coach as all the rest is pretty much the same…
15 Sep 2012, 12:50 pm
Heyneke is taking longer than usual to learn from his mistakes.
Time for that coffee with Mallett.
15 Sep 2012, 12:54 pm
@I am a stormer-39:
HM seems like a guy who doesn’t like being exposed. He wont take up the offer mate. He will continue to validate his Steyn bias. Wait for Spies to return. Imagine the outbursts then. Spies is his life and soul… His bossom buddy – may be the wrong term there…
15 Sep 2012, 12:57 pm
It is about time someone at SARU haul HM before some committee and gave him a dressing down in public. To become coach of one of the top rugby countries you need to be professional in your actions and decision making. The frequent TV shots of him during a game are as embarrassing as his stupid selection decisions. He is as bad as Strueli ever was. His selection of Steyn was stubborn and incompetent… yet he will probably do it again. He needs to apologise for selecting Steyn and Steyn should apologise to the rugby public and excuse himself from international rugby. I am sickened to my stomach by today’s and last week’s performance.
15 Sep 2012, 12:58 pm
@Gumboots-40:
Mallett mentioned in the studio that he and HM are in regular contact via sms’s and Mallett mentioned getting together for a coffee. Heyneke just needs to accept the offer.
As for Spies, he has slippped down the pecking order. Let him play Currie Cup if he really needs to play rugby.
15 Sep 2012, 12:59 pm
surely many saw this coming??
15 Sep 2012, 13:00 pm
@maybe-41:
Would you like your perfomance appraisal done in public?
Ian Macintosh was also an entertainer in the coaches box.
15 Sep 2012, 13:02 pm
@I am a stormer-42:
I listened to Ashwin suggesting they meet for coffee and yes i heard they sms each other. I doubt HM will take any advice from anyone.
@maybe-41:
I stated it last week that I was embarassed with is unprofessional behaviour when the camera pans onto him. It can only affect the players. He was lucky in Super Rugby to have a great team. He is being exposed now…
15 Sep 2012, 13:03 pm
@greatest13gerber-43:
Yes we did. When we showed our discuss in the Cape we were called whiners…
Now the world sees the fake the guy is… Strange how it took three games to realise it. I knew from his first sqaud he had no idea…
15 Sep 2012, 13:04 pm
disgust, sorry
15 Sep 2012, 13:06 pm
@Gumboots-40: Oh dearlord, that is when I molotov SARU’s offices.
But I agree with you, he digs his heels in the more he is exposed. Creeps into his little ‘safe, circle of trust’.
With the way our forwards were doing their thing in the 1st half, there was ZERO reason for him to continue with Steyn. Had our forwards been under the cosh, his “Goosen in so inexperienced” kak would in his mind have been justified. But with the pretty good platform our big boys were getting, Goosen would have flourished. No excuse to not pull Steyn off, and if he didn’t trust Goosen enough after 25 minutes – Lambie was once more sitting RIGHT there. I feel for Lambie, the kids face is a picture of unhappiness, and who the hell can blame him.
Meyer will also have to start answering questions as to why the Bok backline is so neglected. It is obvious there is ZERO focus on them, and they don’t feature in Meyer’s blueprint at all. If he had his way, he would change rugby to 11′s – so that there was no need for those pesky centres and wings.(He would keep a fullback because IT can kick….)
If Meyer admitted he might have been wrong on certain things, and he made a few statements to this extent, he might buy himself some mercy, but if on returning he talks about execution……he will have used up all his lives.
15 Sep 2012, 13:08 pm
@greatest13gerber-43: Yes we did. In fact, quite a few of us have been anti as hell from day 1. Somehow a few of us saw this coming. Yes we did….but we were called traitors, whiners and unpatriotic for our doubts at the time…..
15 Sep 2012, 13:09 pm
@Tacitus-19: Hi Tac. Yes I agree up to a point. But how do you explain Meyer’s thinking in : 1. selecting Morne in the first place for this Test 2. Not taking him off at the half 3. selecting Greyling ahead of other far better players 4. the kick and chase game which clearly isn’t working 6. not playing Lambie ahead of Kirchner
Just kken to hear your view.
15 Sep 2012, 13:11 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-48:
Agree with all! The forwards won penalty after penalty to no avail. I know Frans is a huge hero, but I still don’t see the hype with the guy. He looks like a prop in the backline. I’m not blaming him though, he is just a poor as JdV at the moment. You can’t blame them directly for losing this game. It was lost at 9, 10 and 17. Oh my fark 17 was an embarassment. I would make him swim home to Pretoria…
15 Sep 2012, 13:12 pm
Try the Argies!
15 Sep 2012, 13:13 pm
Nice try Argies…
15 Sep 2012, 13:13 pm
We still have the following boks that will become available:
Guthro Steenkamp
Bismarck du Plessis
Bakkies Botha
Eben Etzebeth
Schalk Burger
Siya Kolisi
Fourie du Preez
JP Pietersen
Who do the All Blacks and Aussies have to call on? We need to get it right.
15 Sep 2012, 13:14 pm
Oh my word what a try Argies…
Respect South African fans will always demand the win, and rightly so. But guys come on. The Boks were AWESOME for much of that test match and have no business being that good in Dunedin. You are two players away from having an amazing side, i.e. drop M Steyn (really, please do) and that meathead prop… and this without half your first choice pack available.
NZ meanwhile rely on McCaw and Dagg and without them would be in real trouble. All is not doom and gloom for SA. This might be a bad season so far but looks to me that the tide is turning in world rugby.
@Gumboots-51: The Argies are making my day here
Honestly, I am leaping on my couch like Tom Cruise did on Orprah’s.
15 Sep 2012, 13:15 pm
@RugbyStudent-54:
Mate it doensn’t matter who he selects. The game plan is what is finding us wanting…
15 Sep 2012, 13:15 pm
I’n loving the Argies in the competition. The fans and players are awesome
The spirit is incredible
15 Sep 2012, 13:16 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-57:
Us Capies are accused of many things. How about supporting the Argies…
Oh dear now the backlash…
Respect South African fans will always demand the win, and rightly so. But guys come on. The Boks were AWESOME for much of that test match and have no business being that good in Dunedin. You are two players away from having an amazing side, i.e. drop M Steyn (really, please do) and that meathead prop… and this without half your first choice pack available.
NZ meanwhile rely on McCaw and Dagg and without them would be in real trouble. All is not doom and gloom for SA. This might be a bad season so far but looks to me that the tide is turning in world rugby.
@RugbyStudent-59:
Yeah they could come second in their first year of top rugby…
15 Sep 2012, 13:17 pm
@BoksSecondBest-61:
The game plan is a train smash mate… How about a new coach to add to the list…
15 Sep 2012, 13:18 pm
Criticising Heyneke Meyer is like criticising Zuma, they are so convinced that they are exceptional but everyone else see the opposite.
Trying to be logical to Meyer is like trying to explain sense to a ******. He won’t get it.
The sad part is that Goosen will single handedly win the Boks the next two games, and Meyer will use the two victories to validate his gameplan as supreme.
15 Sep 2012, 13:18 pm
@Gumboots-58:
hahahaha, where have I heard that before. Exactly what I thought about Heyneke Meyer
has happened. He was always so overdramatic about never getting the coaching job.
But as Robbie Deans showed, sometimes the employers get it right. So all his
moaning over the years, now he has the time to show it and what do we see?
Kicking
Ill time substitutions
No creativity?
At least Pdivvie gave us a laugh.
15 Sep 2012, 13:19 pm
@Gumboots-60: Well it has been spectacular to watch; that backlash you mention
The likes of HG and co have been terribly entertaining in their flip flopping efforts….
15 Sep 2012, 13:19 pm
Oh the Argies are making my day… What a breath of fresh air they are…
15 Sep 2012, 13:20 pm
@Gumboots-62:
I wish they could’ve won the thing. Imagine what that would do for rugby and for the
arrogant rugby world.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-66:
Who is HG? Never heard of her…
ratings IMO:
Kirchner 2/10. Offered nothing on attack and butchered a certain try with a terrible pass. Got HORRIBLY stood up in Smith try.
Habana 8/10. Scored an Habana of old try. Turned over ball and looked hungry.
JDV 6/10. Did what he needed to, but he didn’t see much ball. He needs to get in the refs ear more as well.
F.Steyn 7/10. Carried well and tried hard. Tied Nonu up well.
Hougie 6/10. Some good runs and chased well. Immensely strong little guy! Not much for him in the way of quality front foot ball.
M.Steyn 1/10. Really cannot recall a single thing he did right apart from kick one penalty……. out of 4????
Pienaar 4/10. Poor decision making. Poor execution. Not sure he is best suited to the gameplan he’s being asked to play.
Vermeulen 7/10. Showed he is the number 1 eighth man in the country, by a country mile. Carried well. Stole ball. Defended like a trojan.
Alberts 6/10. Defended well and carried well, but seemed to go missing at times. Fitness maybe a prob???
Flo 7/10. Was a constant threat at the breakdown and if Meyer can not see the benefit of a fetcher now, then he is even dumber than I suspected.
Kruger 4/10. Started well and steadily downhill from there. Lost too much ball.
Flip 6/10. Thought the big guy gave everything he had and tried hard. Missed Etzebeth tho.
DuPle 6/10. Scrummed well. Defended well round the fringes.
Strauss 5/10. Adriaan- you cannot run over EVERYONE, but if you are going to try, at least try and keep the ball up for the support runners you had every time on the wing!
Beast 6/10. Seemed solid enough. Inexplicably subbed for South Africa’s for the only guy in SA stupider than Malema.
SUBS:
Greyling -5/10. Yes, that’s minus 5. Offered ABSOLUTELY nothing of any positive value. Nada, zip, zilch. Was however New Zealand’s best impact player.
Goosen 7/10. Kicked a tough penalty. Just missed an even tougher one. Ran well, passed well. Kicked well. Looked at Morne’s game and basically did the exact opposite. PLEEEAAASSEEE for the love of all that is sane, start him!!!!
Bekker 6/10. Not exceptional, but solid and won all his ball which is more than can be said for Kruger.
Coetzee 5/10. Promising future, but not really much he could do by the time he came on. Gives everything though.
Lambie 10/10….. Only because he hasn’t asked to be released from Springbok duty yet. I mean, the oke is bench warming for the worst Springbok fullback in memory.
15 Sep 2012, 13:21 pm
@Gumboots-51:
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-49:
I just saw HM as being as step-up from Pdiv. Heyneke had insufficent time to select his assistants as the ones he wanted were rightfully all under contract. This was thanks to SARU for announcing it in late January on the eve of Super Rugby. So HM was not able to select his first choice assistants.
It is now time for HM to pull in some consultants – even on a short term basis. The more I see of Mallett and Campese the more I feel wasted talent is sitting in a studio instead of assisting the Boks.
This ship can be turned around. A tweek here, a tweek there. No more Steyn or Kirchner to be precise.
Both the Aussie game last week and today’s could have been won.
I don’t think it is all doom and gloom.
15 Sep 2012, 13:22 pm
@RugbyStudent-68:
They will end higher than both the Ozzies and the mighty Boks mate… They have more balls than many a side… They believe in each other and play as a team. Fark the Boks are sucking big times…
15 Sep 2012, 13:23 pm
This love to pick bulls props cost us today. I would rather have brok the rock than this dean idiot!!! Meyer and his tjommies must stand up and admit he hs cost us. Meyer also picked the wrong captian in my opinion!!!
@greatest13gerber-43: yup we did. I gave us absolutely squat chance of winning today. Decided upon about 4 weeks back. Why? Well, for a start its against the AB’s. Its in their back yard. Dunedin is not our best playing surface. But most of all, our game plan is clueless. Its execution even worse. M Steyn is way off form. Meyer picks his trusty Bulls players first before accounting for performance(its seems to us Bok supporters).
@Vetkoek-70:
Flouw was at least a 9. He was massive…
15 Sep 2012, 13:25 pm
@Hoops-73:
Dean the bellybean… What a waste of a human being…
15 Sep 2012, 13:25 pm
@Hoops-73:
Guys give JDV a hard time here week after week, but I feel for the guy. He’s playing in a relatively unfamiliar jersey with Morne Steyn on his inside.
He’s way better than he’s currently playing. I will lay money down that he will be miles better if Goosen starts.
15 Sep 2012, 13:26 pm
@I am a stormer-71:
There is no medication for stupid mate. I don’t buy it.
Just how far have the Bulls players regressed? The current crop are shameful.
Bekker for Kruger
Goosen for Steyn
Etsebeth for Flip
Lambie for Niknaks
Anybody notice the players I replaced are all Bulls? Juandre Kruger is a lineout jumper and a soft **** in every other department. When Bekker came on he fared way better.
@Gumboots-75:
Yes he was. I hit 7 in error!!!
Thanks for pointing out. He was my bok MOM.
15 Sep 2012, 13:28 pm
@Vetkoek-80:
No probs…
15 Sep 2012, 13:29 pm
Andre Joubert
Percy Montgomery
Zane Kirchner
Really? From 2 of the games finest to Kirchner?
REally?
15 Sep 2012, 13:30 pm
@Vetkoek-82:
Yeah like I said. No pill for stupidy… I think we as supporters are realising it…
15 Sep 2012, 13:32 pm
@Vetkoek-82: And Lambie gets 5 minutes……That poor kid’s face tells a million stories; none of them pleasant.
15 Sep 2012, 13:33 pm
@Gumboots-78:
Heyneke Meyer can take the blame for making the selections.
But he can’t be blamed for Morne missing a couple of sitters in front of the posts. Goosen to start next test.
HM can’t be blamed for that shocking pass from Kirchner to Habana in the 4th minute.
HM can be blamed for putting Greyling on when Beast wasn’t even panting.
Whether people like it or not, we’re stuck with Meyer for a while.
But I would like to see Mallett involved in some way with the Bok set-up. Even if it is to talk a hole in Heyneke’s head.
15 Sep 2012, 13:33 pm
Eish Argies don’t blow this one…
15 Sep 2012, 13:34 pm
@I am a stormer-85:
Mate it is his gameplan and his choice of players. He takes the blame – ALL OF IT!!!
Eish Argies behind…
15 Sep 2012, 13:41 pm
Heineke is very predictable. He will drop Steyn to the bench now for Goosen, but he’ll still stubbornly cling to his hybrid open-side theory, despite the Boks proving conclusively today with Flouw how stupid it was in the first place. He’ll also retain Kirtchner for a while yet and keep Pienaar at 9. He has to slowly prove to himself the things that don’t work first hand before he can go about changing them. This AB side was there for the taking- Heyneke should have just stayed in bed and let his players get on with it.
15 Sep 2012, 13:41 pm
with regards to Greyling I see no reason why he should not be charged with assault and spend a few months in a New Zealand jail cell. His action was not part of a rugby match. McCaw was not in play. Greyling made no attempt to use his arms. He simly ran from 10 meters away dived across a pile of players to land an elbow in a face. If he gets it right next time he could break a neck or kill someone.
I know he would never be charged but he should be banned for many months. How do parents look to encourage their kids to play rugby with that kind of behaviour on the field. And dont tell me its part of the game. Mistimed and misjudged tackles are part of the game and can look very bad and cause injury. Thats a risk we have to deal with. This was neither. This was a total cheap shot. If he did it in a bar in NZ he would be spending a night in jail. Why should it be different on a rugby field?
Sanzar will no doubt be soft and give him 2 weeks.
15 Sep 2012, 13:42 pm
@Gumboots-69: She reminds me of Dame Edna, a grand old blue haired lady….
15 Sep 2012, 13:43 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-90:
larfing my arse off… Just how I see her…
15 Sep 2012, 13:44 pm
@Gumboots-87:
I am not a fan of this kick and chase kak. Never have been. Clever kicking is one thing, aimless kicking is something totally different which sees you going backward.
But Kirchner’s pass to Habana – inexcusable.
JDV’s pass to Hougaard – inexusable – schoolboyish really.
Greling dropping the ball when the Boks won on an AB lineout – the oke should be made to swim home.
Morne only seems to kick decently in still air on the highveld – inexcusable.
15 Sep 2012, 13:45 pm
@GreenFan-89:
Make the Farker swim home. The only punishment that fits the crime…
@GreenFan-89: Greyling is an utter twat. He is unpopular in SA as well (except of course in Pretoria….).
It’s a disgrace that he has even had the chance to wear the Bok jersey, and after what he did today, he made sure he will NEVER wear it again.
It was disgusting. I hope someone elbows him on the plane back home.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-84:
I give him credit for not asking if he can just play Currie Cup…. Just to play some rugby.
Fark the criminals steal a win… Pardon the pun…
15 Sep 2012, 13:48 pm
Once again a quality team wins where they should have lost… The quality thing might be a bit of an overstatement though…
Well done Ozzies
15 Sep 2012, 13:53 pm
@I am a stormer-92: Those passes are only symptoms mate. The cause is a severely neglected backline (or rather the coaching thereof).
The backline is confused, rudderless and unaware of what they should be doing. It is clear as day.
Then again, when the forwards coach (van Graan) is also the attack coach, not much more can be expected of them. Meyer has no interest in what a backline can and can’t do – and he won’t waste much time on them.
15 Sep 2012, 13:54 pm
Looking good for next year
1 Guthro (best tight forward we have by far)
2 Bismark (Fetcher and good all round forward)
3 Coenie (offers more than just scrumming)
4 Etsebeth (our best prospect at lock)
5 Bekker (we need to win our lineout ball)
6 Burger – Captain (world class well balanced loosie. Fetcher and ball carrier)
7 Alberts (Create go forwards ball and good on defense, only a 40min player)
8 Spies (Our best attacking weapon and a very good lineout option)
9 Hougaard (special player has to play his quick ball game)
10 Goosen (Will be one of the best)
11 JP Pitersen (world class finisher)
12 Lambie (Skill at 12! Have the ball carriers run off him)
13 De Jong (good feet and solid on defence)
14 Habana (getting back to form)
15 Frans Steyn (flyhalves do not enjoy kicking at him)
16 Chilli
17 Beast
18 Bakkies
19 Flo
20 Vermeulen
21 Pienaar
22 Engelbrecht
15 Sep 2012, 13:55 pm
It is becoming more and more clear to me that Meyer is only concerned about the Bulls in the Currie Cup.
He removes class players like De Jongh, Lambie, Goosen et al from their respective provinces, but then doesn’t play them? That got my suspicions aroused.
They have however been confirmed by the fact that he is not inflicting Steyn, Kirchner, Greyling et al on the Bulls…..
Conspiracy theories aren’t always just theory.
15 Sep 2012, 13:55 pm
Aussies look like a poor team…. Yet they beat the boks. Time for a rethink meyer
15 Sep 2012, 13:57 pm
@phil72-99:
Britney the worst ever 8 to play for SA and you choose him…
#Farkenhellimstunnedsmiley
15 Sep 2012, 13:57 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-98:
When you choose Ricardo Loubscher as your backline coach (over Pieter Rossouw even), then you signal to the world that your gameplan doesn’t revolve too much around anyone past 10.
15 Sep 2012, 14:02 pm
@phil72-99:
Mate Spies must be huge in an area that us fans can’t see! I suppose it can be called hidden talents. He is the most useless rugby player ever to wear the Bok jersey. Sorry that award goes to Greling. Sorry!
15 Sep 2012, 14:03 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-98:
I know. If the Sharks can use Campo as a consultant backline coach then so can Heyneke. HM needs to broaden his sphere of support. He had to rush to put his assistants together but now that time has passed he must use whoever is available. Just reassess his options. Even if guys are pulled in for the remaining 3 weeks of the comp. I can’t see people turning HM down like they did to Peter de Villiers.
15 Sep 2012, 14:05 pm
the talent in this country should allow us to pick at least two complete teams that can beat any other team, we however always stuff up the coaching appointment which is the critical factor in getting the best from our players. HM has shown his bias towards Bulls players once too often. When players like Greyling and Kirschner get selected then surely he needs to be held accountable, not at the end of the season, but right now. I fear that once Spies is available he will walk right back into the team, even with his poor record at international level.
15 Sep 2012, 14:06 pm
@Gumboots-104:
Have you noticed that since his injury we have not been able to win 1 match?
15 Sep 2012, 14:08 pm
@Banzai-106:
Interesting.
Can you tell me your 2 teams that will beat the world?
15 Sep 2012, 14:08 pm
@phil72-107:
So Spies is the reason we losing? You have lost it mate…
Vermeulen was huge today and in two games has shown just how stupid the coaches have been who have selected Spies…
Sorry mate. He is piss poor
15 Sep 2012, 14:11 pm
@I am a stormer-105: I wouldn’t be so sure of that.
There are quite a few who won’t work with Heyneke because of his ‘control freak’ nature.
Ask yourself why Rassie isn’t more involved with the Boks?
Heyneke sadly prefers YES men, and not ‘devils advocate’ men.
Yes he asked Allistair to work with him when he was appointed(he would have gone beserk if Allistair had said yes)…..he knew Allistair would say no….
He did not approach ONE other coach outside of Pretoria, and the Bulls.
The excuse that all the people he wanted were already in contracts, doesn’t do it for me. All the Bulls coaches he selected were also tied up in contracts, and SARU bought them out of those contracts. If Meyer wanted coaches like Hawies Fourie, Jaque Nienaber and the sort – no doubt SARU would have paid as well……so nah, the Bulls lots weren’t the only ones available, they were the only ones he wanted.
He likes safety in his own numbers, but, he might be forced to pull in some consultants now.
15 Sep 2012, 14:12 pm
@Banzai-106:
You Okes have this petty Provincialism thing.
Get rid of that,
and you are on your way.
But that is not going to happen, is it, Banzai.
15 Sep 2012, 14:12 pm
@Gumboots-109:
Our odds of winning will greatly improve with him in the picture. Their is a reason why our past 3 Springbok coaches (all people that truly understand the game) have been selecting him on an ongoing basis!
15 Sep 2012, 14:13 pm
@phil72-107: No cure for the pucywhipped is there Phil? Spies: she owns you.
15 Sep 2012, 14:15 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-113:
Phil is right though. There must be hidden talents that attract the coaches to him. We just can’t see them for sure…
15 Sep 2012, 14:16 pm
Is this the wake up call HM needed?
It was clear that this pathetic gameplan lost us the game. You cant even blame, Pienaar (who also kicked pathetically and unnecessarily) MS, Kirchner or Greyling.
The forwards did a great job today. The commentators said it best when they mentioned that the forwards do all the hard work for the backs, but what do they do with good ball? They just kick it away.
It was clearly the game plan and it did not work,HM should take responsibility for that. Its a no brainer that a few selections could make a huge difference, but its clear that the boks will NEVER play to their full potential if they stick to this predictable dinosaur game plan. Will Goosen be asked to kick as much? ?
If there was enough belief that our backs (if the right players are selected) can be effective when the forwards lay the foundation then we wouldnt have this pathetic game plan.
HM dont seem to see the value in backline players with skill and ability. And that should be one of our biggest strengths! If it was MS, Kirchner and even JDV would never make the team.
Players like: Taute, Aplon, Lambie, Jantjies, Jordaan, JdJ, Le Roux, to name a few, are players who can play with ball in hand with great effect.. Why not use this strength?
Why o why do they skip pass alll the time?! It just shows that there’s no real plan at the back.
15 Sep 2012, 14:17 pm
@phil72-112:
Yeah Phil PdV and HM go down as great coaches. Okey! Point made then… I have heard it all…
I respect your opinion mate, just don’t agree with it…
15 Sep 2012, 14:18 pm
@Gumboots-114: Possibly because we have never shared a room or shower with him?
Ok, that was nasty of me. Slapped my own wrist to reprimand myself now.
15 Sep 2012, 14:19 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-117:
Exactly my point!
15 Sep 2012, 14:20 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-110:
Did you know that he approached Mitchell as well? How Mitchell must regret his decision now!
The thing is Mallett referred to him and HM as mates. On TV. Just a few hours ago. And I ve heard Mallett say it before. What I’m saying is if Jake White can get Eddie Jones to say yes and save his arse then Heyneke can do the same. God knows, Heyneke needs some guidance right now. And I notice he is alone in the coaches box. Not like Hansen. Maybe because the air is blue!
15 Sep 2012, 14:22 pm
@I am a stormer-119:
Would you sit with him? He is a lunatic…
15 Sep 2012, 14:23 pm
@Jeez-115: It will take a hell of a lot more to wake Meyer up. He is as thick as they come. The only epiphany that may have hit Meyer like a sledgehammer from this match is maybe, just maybe, Goosen might be a better option than Steyn.
He’ll stick to his game-plan though and his hybrid fetching theory which means Pienaar at 9, Kirtchner at 15, and Coetzee at 6 whenever possible for the foreseeable future.
We need a new coaching team to help this oaf see the light or we’ll be blundering in the dark for longer than some of us can take.
15 Sep 2012, 14:24 pm
Watch Heyneke justify Morne and Zane’s continued selection through the next game being at Loftus and it being their home ground.
You read it here first….
15 Sep 2012, 14:25 pm
@Spiesisworthless1-121:
Your view on Spies then? Oh okey your nic says it all.
15 Sep 2012, 14:26 pm
@Craven-122:
May have Kruger at 3 as well. How about Greyling to start? Odds???
15 Sep 2012, 14:27 pm
@Gumboots-123:
15 Sep 2012, 14:27 pm
Fullbacks. Lambie, Ludik, Taute,
Wings. Habana, JP, Mvovo, Aplon,
Centres. Brachie, Juan de Jong, Frans Steyn, Jean de Villiers, Mapoe, Taute, Jordaan
Flyhalves. Goosen, Jantjes
Scrumhalves. Pretorius, Hougaard, Vermaak
Eighth man. Vermeulen, Strauss, Daniel
Loosies. Flo, Alberts, Daniel, Kolisi, Schalk, Brussow,
Locks. Etsebeth, Alberts, Bekker, Willemse ( from jnr team)
Hookers. Bismarck, Chilliboy, Strauss,
Props. Jannie, Beast, Pat Cilliers, JC Janse v Rensburg, redhead from province for future, Coenie Oosthuizen
Some positions like lock would not be the strongest, but other countries have to make do with their own weak options there.
15 Sep 2012, 14:28 pm
does anyone else find it rather ironic that the team that plays skop an jag lost because of their inability to kick?
15 Sep 2012, 14:28 pm
@Spiesisworthless1-125:
Your view on post #99 then?
15 Sep 2012, 14:30 pm
@poppa69-127:
Yes! Where have you been?
@Spiesisworthless1-121:
Luckily he cant place his fingers in his ears and ignore all the criticism. Even professional and coaches HM respects will give him some advice. He’ll have to listen at some point…
@I am a stormer-119: John Mitchell would have lasted exactly one week with Heyneke. He doesn’t like being challenged in any way.
I know he and Mallett still have contact, so heres hoping, and I mean REALLY hoping he does seek some assistance from 3rd and 4th parties when they land back here.
He isn’t doing himself any favours alienating those who COULD very well pull him out of this mess.
I just don’t think the Heyneke Meyer BRAND (cos that’s what he is, not a man – a brand) allows for much input from others.
You know what they say about people with huge ego’s? They always sorround themselves with people who know less than them…..never with people who know more
15 Sep 2012, 14:31 pm
@Jeez-130:
Jeez even the Kiwi commentators were giving him advice. He doesn’t hear mate…
Stuborn boy that one.
15 Sep 2012, 14:33 pm
@Gumboots-128: Not such a bad team TBF. Would have Brussouw/Louw at openside and Burger to 8th man, Steyn at inside centre and De Villiers outside him, (looking to develop the likes of Jordaan, Serfontein) and Lambie/ACoetzee/Le Roux or anyone but Zane at fullback.
15 Sep 2012, 14:34 pm
@Spiesisworthless1-133:
I like the team too. Eight boggles my mind though…
15 Sep 2012, 14:37 pm
@Gumboots-134: Yip. Vermuelen was such a breath of fresh air today, hopefully he keeps the door firmly shut on Spies.
15 Sep 2012, 14:39 pm
@Spiesisworthless1-135:
Oh how I hope so…
15 Sep 2012, 14:42 pm
I’m outta here.
Cheers all. Going to drown my sorrows…
15 Sep 2012, 14:43 pm
@Gumboots-132:
It will just be dissapointing when the right players do come into the team and they can close out and win close games. That will overshadow the problems the crappy game plan provides
15 Sep 2012, 14:46 pm
@Gumboots-137: Cheers. Have a good afternoon. Dont forget, the Goose has arrived!
15 Sep 2012, 14:53 pm
For what it’s worth, here goes.
1. Springbok forwards won that test……….don’t think that the NZ public (or anyone else) would not have seen that. There will be some grumblings going on within NZ, esp leading up to the next AB’s Bokke clash.
2. Love or hate Ritchie McCaw…when a player goes out of his way to take an opposition player out in the fashion that Greyling did, the player pushing all the buttons has done his job.
3. NZ has set it’s hat on a fast paced game. Question for Sth Africa is, How do you guys see yourselves playing rugby, and how do you project your rugby philosophy to the world? At the moment, it looks as if there are two schools of philosophy within the Bokke camp. That try that was butchered in the first 7 minutes, and Pienaar’s keeping the ball in the ruck spoke volumes.
4. I don’t like to see good servants of rugby from any country get hammered in the media and sites like this, because the service they have given has put smiles at one time or another on all of our faces……..but, there comes a time when players have to know their time is up. For you guys, it’s Morne, for us it’s Piri.
5. Rugby once again is probably at a cross roads in terms of sporting entertainment. Rugby is growing stale. Take a good look at the game around the world, sure we’ve introduced Argentina to the southern comp, but 5 years too late………The two biggest rugby nations on the planet have to be at the fore front of entertaining the masses, without compromising the essence of the game. Personally I think you guys have the best mix available to produce a perfect game. You guys just have to work on your head space. NZ have started to push the boundaries searching for the perfect game………it’s about time you lot got started as well.
15 Sep 2012, 15:02 pm
@NZRugby-140:
True words, we need to balance our play, not blindly follow one philosophy as we are currently doing. Only SA coach capable of this at the moment is Mallet.
15 Sep 2012, 15:10 pm
The same mallet whose team talk to Italy was : do everything possible to keep the score as low as possible??
15 Sep 2012, 15:23 pm
@phil72-99: Could not take your post seriously once I saw that you had included Spies and omitted Coetzee from
subs.
15 Sep 2012, 15:24 pm
What’s up with the Bulls
15 Sep 2012, 15:26 pm
If Morne steyn Plays in the next test match i swear ill start supporting Argentina !
what a ridiculous game plan
at one point all we did was kick to them
now we going to hear some statistic about how we kicked less then NZ ect
its just total hogwash, why cant people at this level admit when they are wrong and take the nessesary risk.
15 Sep 2012, 15:31 pm
Should Morne Steyn be dropped? We’re running a poll at fantasyrugbyscout.com. Cast your vote! Let’s see what the nation says
15 Sep 2012, 15:32 pm
Argenteeeeeeenaa!!!!!!!!!!!
15 Sep 2012, 15:34 pm
Grieeeekwas!
15 Sep 2012, 15:34 pm
@Hurricane-108: Our 2,nd team effectively played today.
15 Coet zee or Taute
14Habana
13De Jong/Jordaan
12 Franssteyn
111J.Pietersen
10 Goosen
9Hougaardt
1 Coenie Oos thuiz en
2Bismark
3W P Nel
6 Brussouw/louw
5 Bresler
4 Etzebeth
7 A lberts
8 Vermeulen
That is only 4 players who started today.i
15 Sep 2012, 15:41 pm
Beast, Biz, Jannie, Alberts, Etzebeth, Louw, Kolisi, Vermuelen, Hougaard, Goosen/Lambie, Serfontein, Jordaan, Habana, JPP, F. Steyn.
This is one of the strongest teams Meyer could field barring any injuries. I wish he would select a team this strong.
15 Sep 2012, 15:43 pm
@fantasyrugbyscout-146: Hate this sort of thing.Dont like the oke but neither do I like vendettas.The game is over.We lost.He will be dropped.As will Ruan.
15 Sep 2012, 15:53 pm
The guy has already blown his lifeline. The bomb exploded a long time ago. We’re really just looking at the fragments remaining of the Steyn creature.
15 Sep 2012, 15:56 pm
@ryecatcher-149:
And I only count 3 injured players and one suspended….
Not to mention, Stander,Coetzee, Kolisi, Daniel, Kanko, Kitshoff, Mostert, Fourie, Chilli, Burger.
The selections so far is actually starting to become mind boggling.
Mental toughness my asss. Just pick the best and you have won half the battle!
15 Sep 2012, 16:03 pm
i really wish a journalist could get a real question in at a press conference.
1: why do you persist with Steyn?
2: why do you persist with Knick Knacks?
I think without those two we would have a far better bok squad.
and well then there is Greyling? WTF LMFAO, i swear that oak got paid a shedload of money from the Bookies to throw that game.
15 Sep 2012, 16:12 pm
@Jeez-153: and Lambie.Hell we could almost put together 3 very strong teams.
15 Sep 2012, 16:13 pm
@wls1-154:
The backs looked clueless with ball in hand, that is more worrying that team selection. You can have the best backs, but if they arent coached how to read situations and have confidence in their training regarding: creating space, running good lines, offloading etc, then they will never do much better.
The boks need the best backline coach they can find. A guy with some decent credentials and experience. Eddie Jones did wonders for the boks because he had the knowledge and experience earned over a career of coaching creative play. Cant say the same for Loubscher….
15 Sep 2012, 16:22 pm
The problem is the coach did not or most probably would not see what the rest of the country did ages ago.
Not only did he only release him after 60, he left Lambie on the bench until 65, insulting at best. Then of course there is the substitution of Beast for no reason and it blue (spelling on purpose) up in his face.
He is showing now that he is at best stubborn, at worst a Blue Bulls Steyn lover. Best he changes drastically for the next match or there will be boos at Soccer City.
The gameplan is also a disaster – in that he is not alone, it appears JDV, who managed to lose a SuperSemi at home, thinks it’s also the golden ticket.
Pathetic.
15 Sep 2012, 16:24 pm
@ryecatcher-155:
Yep its ridiculous, to put it in even more bizarre context.
MSteyn is probably ranked 4th best 10.
Spies, before getting injured, 74th ranked 8.
Potgieter, wow what is he doing in a bok squad?
Flip definitely not one a test lock.
Kirchner probably the 4th best 15… but just not a test player.
And not too long ago Wynie Olivier was in the mix!
JDV also really needs to admit that he is at the end of his career…
So there you have 7 players who shouldnt even make a bok C team! How does that work?
15 Sep 2012, 16:29 pm
Imagine if the biggest culprit for today’s Bok loss – Dean Greyling – was a player of colour. This website would have been full of thinly veiled comments about the quota system and how transformation is killing South African rugby and how this marked the beginning of the end of South Africa as a force in world rugby.
As it happened, Greyling came on for a black player (who almost every pundit has suggested did very little wrong when he was on the field) and ended up making a fool of himself. Amazing how life can be ironic sometimes isn’t it.
The other big culprit – Morne Steyn – well imagine if he played for WP. Do you think Meyer would have been as patient with him – especially when there are two very able replacements on the bench in Goosen and Lambie ? Elton Jantjies has also in my view done more than enough to merit selection. Fact is Steyn is currently 4th choice among fly halves in SA; so why he is in the starting line up is a real mystery.
Maybe it is just me. But, I do detect a grading system for selection by Meyer of which the major tenets in respective order are: 1. Size and gruffness; 2. Lack of intelligence; 3. Afrikaans speaking; 4. Blue Bulls player. Form and ability seems the furthest thing from Meyer’s mind at the moment.
By the way, if anybody sees him, please tell him to do away with that walkie talkie. He looks like a real prat every time he speaks into it.
15 Sep 2012, 16:50 pm
@Crazyone-159:
Who the hell does Meyer shout to? If my boss shouts for 80 minutes at me, I wouldn’t pick up much besides a couple of key things. Or is he shouting the same thing over and over, which means all he is saying is Follow The Gameplan.
15 Sep 2012, 16:52 pm
I am sick of Meyer and all of his useless Bull picks – Steyn, Kirchner, Potgieter, Spies, Greyling, Werner fat Kruger and Flip vd Merve are all kak to a man – tested and failed in all of Meyers matches. None can claim to be the best in their positions in SA and all are fugging stupid.
Farku Meyer for choosing those ******** players from your union.
15 Sep 2012, 16:54 pm
Meyer into that walkie talkie- Bravo 16, Bravo 16 kom gou hiers groot k@k!!!
15 Sep 2012, 16:55 pm
@RugbyStudent-160: Thats probably exactly what he is saying ‘follow the vokken game plan, vollou the donnerse gameplan, volg die dekselse vokken gameplan!!!!’
There is no evidence that he could be shouting anything else. At some point HM will have to realise that the players are capable of more than just a kick and chase game plan and for that he will have to appoint a better backline specialist/ coach..
15 Sep 2012, 16:58 pm
@Jeez-163:
If I was Supersport, I’d hire a lip reader. Would probably provide a lot of insight.
15 Sep 2012, 17:06 pm
HEYNEKE
F O K JOU
15 Sep 2012, 17:09 pm
@RL-161:
Forku?
Meyer is a p o o s
15 Sep 2012, 17:10 pm
Meyer “I thought mornes kicking would come right in the second half” seriously, seriously that’s your response. Where thefuck have you been the last 3 months
15 Sep 2012, 17:11 pm
Enough is enough. And to think I was one of the guys singing meyers praises before he started
15 Sep 2012, 17:11 pm
Bok forwards were great. Totally dominated the AB pack.
Then we have yet another Heyneke moron coming on Greyling.
Goosen is the answer to Bok rugby
Heyneke is retarded
15 Sep 2012, 17:14 pm
False hope.
15 Sep 2012, 17:19 pm
@Bok fan-167:
Where did you read that quote? He seriously needs to admit that the backline is to blame for this loss and they are to blame because they tried to implement a dinosaur game plan with a flyhalf who has no confidence. I pity MS because he has been overplayed and is just not the answer for the boks. The coach should make the tough but simple call and drop him. Im sure he will take it like a man.
Jantjies deserves to be in squad too and be the deputy 10 from now on.
15 Sep 2012, 17:20 pm
Kick chase, kick chase, kick chase — how is this strategy working out? Welcome to The blue bulls brains trust!
15 Sep 2012, 17:20 pm
@NZINCHINA-170:
Hey NZ in yellow ****** land. The Abs were k@k.
Lucky for you the Boks have a retarded coach
15 Sep 2012, 17:21 pm
yellow m o n k e y land
15 Sep 2012, 17:23 pm
Hey **** f ace there was nothing lucky about it, coulda shoulda woulda pal.
15 Sep 2012, 17:23 pm
F O K HEYNEKE
15 Sep 2012, 17:24 pm
Change your approach orfuck off. My beloved boks are too nb to me to have a stubborn idiot coaching them.
Even the Meyer diehards must have lost their patience by now
15 Sep 2012, 17:24 pm
@NZINCHINA-175:
LOL you belong in yellow m o n k e y land sicko
15 Sep 2012, 17:25 pm
Kom Heyneke…….. Pine Pienaar for new back-line coach…………..
15 Sep 2012, 17:28 pm
thing is you fuckers think you’ll beat us in SOWETO no chance
15 Sep 2012, 17:29 pm
All the obscenity!
Where are the CC game threads
15 Sep 2012, 17:30 pm
@Dawn-181:
Look a little more carefully and you will find them.
15 Sep 2012, 17:31 pm
Griekwaaas!
15 Sep 2012, 17:32 pm
Really?
15 Sep 2012, 17:35 pm
@Dawn-183 Griekwas the new Free state? Best running rugby team in the country.
15 Sep 2012, 17:42 pm
@Crazyone-159
lease leave the “race” card out of this. Most people on this site are decent people talking rugby. Go somewhere else with this rubbish!
15 Sep 2012, 17:50 pm
171 Jeez. Agreed, I stopped blaming morne ages ago. Can only blame the selector when the player keeps doing the same thing week in and week out and then you act surprised when it happens again. Sounds a lot like a definition of stupidity.
Quote was on supersport.com
15 Sep 2012, 17:50 pm
171 Jeez. Agreed, I stopped blaming morne ages ago. Can only blame the selector when the player keeps doing the same thing week in and week out and then you act surprised when it happens again. Sounds a lot like a definition of stupidity.
Quote was on supersport
15 Sep 2012, 17:53 pm
14 straight for the black machine
15 Sep 2012, 17:56 pm
Man-o-man but Elton is a genius and is in the same class as the Goose – what a pass what an amazing try.
The players not in the bok team but much better than those fckuking pathetic Bulls mentioned earlier
Elton beats Morne any day of the week.
Kirchner is dogshit and should be replaced by Taute, le Roux or Coetzee.
Potgieter is kak but apparantley “better” that Brussow, what a joke that piggypotty is.
Spies is a poor mans Whiteley.
Greyling must be flogged to death and replaced by KIitshoff or JC Janse v Rensburg.
That fatty Werner Kruger is gone now and should never, ever have been selected ahead of Cilliers.
Flip vd Merwe fark him, give me Franco vd Merwe any day.
15 Sep 2012, 17:59 pm
Rl… Yes elton plays a decent game in a kak std competition where griquas farks up every team even elton and his lions… Biggest difference between elton an goose is the boot… Goose puts it over from his own tryline… Elton only takes kicks in the opp 22
15 Sep 2012, 18:00 pm
A full strenght bulls team will beat griquas by50 plus… Even in kimberley
15 Sep 2012, 18:07 pm
26 out of 26 votes cast in my website poll on whether to keep Morne Steyn want him gone. It’s unanimous!
15 Sep 2012, 18:10 pm
@grant100-191:
Still is way better than the offerings from Pretoria. Take off your blue tinted glasses and see the game for what it is.
15 Sep 2012, 18:21 pm
On a possitive, Vermeulen; Alberts; Louw, were sublime for the most of it
15 Sep 2012, 18:24 pm
@BokkeYouBeauties-195:
I don’t take positives from any loss mate. They are happening far to frequent…
A positive is winning with a team chosen on merit – not different rules for different dudes…
15 Sep 2012, 18:28 pm
@grant100-191:
Elton has kicked 7 out of 7 today. Now what is your point? What a troll! What a doos you are.
15 Sep 2012, 18:37 pm
hehehe Greyling flogged to death….lol
ah, dont we just love it when we play shoulda woulda ifa games.
They are the best, I lost half my hair,… nearly an ear, poked my eye, hurt my foot, ..broke my hand and a window while watching this game! Who says supporting the boks was not as physical as playing for them!
ahhh…
15 Sep 2012, 18:46 pm
@grant100-191:
Hei, why dont you VOKKOF for good.
Wat het jou base Morne, Fransie, Jean, Ruan, Dean, Flip en al daai kak spelers vandag gedoen?
VOKKOF, dom
15 Sep 2012, 18:50 pm
@BokkeYouBeauties-195:
Agree somewhat. I thought they would go MIA in the 2nd half but they played their hearts out.
Well done to them.
Now if only HM will start Brussow (6), Flo (7) and Vermeulen (8) with Alberts and Coetzee on the benh in the return leg, I think we’ll have a chance of winning our two home games.
15 Sep 2012, 18:50 pm
@Gumboots-196: LOL, pipe down chaaina, i’m also really frustrated with Meyer but it ends there for me, there’s no point being frustrated with players, they don’t select themselves. I believe there is more positives from this game than any other under Heynecke, incl. the wins. For the record, if ever there was a case in point for a coach losing a game, this would be a prime example.
15 Sep 2012, 18:57 pm
With a bit of luck we’ll finish ahead of the Pumas.
15 Sep 2012, 18:59 pm
@Tacitus-19:
“Today was an incredibly hopeful sign for SA rugby.”
Jy moet totaal en al, heeltemal bevok in jou kop wees om so ‘n stelling te kan maak.
‘n Bok span speel die beste rugby wat hulle kan opdis vir die jaar sover en hulle verloor met 10 punte teen ‘n All Black span wat die kakste rugby vir die afgelope HOEVEEL jaar speel en jy is vokken hoogs tevrede?
Heerlikheid Tac. Hoe lank sal dit jou vat om te besef dat hier is kak in rugbyland?
15 Sep 2012, 19:02 pm
I also cannot believe what i read…
HM says they wanted to give MS more of a chance after the first half because they figured his kicking would come right?
Seriously hey? I honestly figured being a Springbok coach required pretty much a complete insight into rugby and a full understanding of how the game works, how to choose players ect.
I have fockol experience hey and i recon i could have told the whole world MS was going to EFF this up, based on his last 5 games?
15 Sep 2012, 19:05 pm
Argenteeeeena!
15 Sep 2012, 19:05 pm
@Trevorr-202:
You are so right.
We’ll need luck to do that.
15 Sep 2012, 19:07 pm
@nama1-203: LMFAO
, i also cant believe i saw some positives in todays match. I think its just hope that Morne’ has finally played himself out of the setup, i think Morne’ being released completely from bok duty is about 40% of our woes fixed
But our logic has a funny way of eluding our coach, so i guess its a wait and see.
15 Sep 2012, 19:15 pm
Vermeulen a better No 8 than Spies. I think looses ok for now. Flo deserves his place above Brussouw (for now). Frans Steyn at fullback certainly. I would still play JJ Engelbrecht at centre. He played well against England. Ja – Coenie should replace Greyling once he recovered? Pat Cillers can stand in for now.
15 Frans
14 Franna
13 JJ
12 Jean
11 Habana
10 Goosen
9 Sarel Pretorius
8 Duane
7 Willem
6 Flo
5 Andries
4 Eben
3 Jannie
2 Deon Fourie
1 Beast
15 Sep 2012, 19:19 pm
No argument with anything in this article – the strategy works if the goal-kicking is accurate – Heynecke Meyer lost that game with the inclusion of Morne Steyn whose performance was borderline criminal – as for Greyling …
Magnificent forward display – well done boys.
15 Sep 2012, 19:23 pm
@wls1-204:
Morne Steyn has a goal kicking success ratio of less than 50% this year in superrugby and test rugby – only a bonehead (Heineken) will say this “But we could have changed the goal-kicker. We talked about it at half time. I thought Morne would find his rhythm,”
Heineken is alreasdy a failed coach with a win ration of only 43% pathetic man.
15 Sep 2012, 19:32 pm
Twitter: @mark_keohane – they win by 10 & we rubbish them. We lose by 10 & it’s a new dawn. Patronising bullshit. We need 2 bt them consistently.
15 Sep 2012, 19:32 pm
And I thought we would get wipped badly in this game. We did superbly considering.
I think Meyer is like most coaches we have had. He will want to learn and change the hard way, perhaps we should call it, the normal way. Eventually if things are not looking pretty he will be forced to change. Both White and DV had their ideas and exucuted them. Ideas take time to evlove. He wont be going anywhere soon, not in the next two years anyway. So for him been sacked now is pure emotion built from fustration that a support has of him team. It is not logical thinking. Calling for someones head so early is something in the passed and should remain there. Meyer is a smart enough chap, his cridentials speak for themselves.
To have the rugby PDV said he would implement and what many supports are asking now for, probably will never happen with this coach or the next. What will happen is running rugby will be implemented when it is correct to do so. It is more important to win than to entertain spectators. The only way “running rugby” will be implemented is when the culture changes, meaning all stages right from grass level.
M Steyn is well over played, his form shows it. It is pretty logical. However one cant simply put in a kid, and expect him to swim against the Blacks in Black country. Supporters dont realise that pressure exists on players outside the game. Look at PDV family were treated. Were they involved in the Team in any way, no, but supporters gave them abuse- very stupid. You dont do that. Look at parents at school matches, how they give abuse to the refs and others… you dont do that. Its very imature. How may supporters can say when they have had a springbok player or somebody famous sitting next to them in a restaurant or anywhere and give the guy peace, just a nod or a smile but nothing more, no staring, no talking nothing ie just ignore the chap at let him live like a normal humanbeing… how many?
So these kids need a slow introduction into the international stage, too high a pressure at a young age is detremental. Man United, Old Fergie, probably the best coach in any sport in the world, for decades now,( and no i dont like the chap but…) ,when Wayne Rooney, whos from a lower class backround, came into the seen, Fergie introducted him very slowly. I think for the first year the reporters were told to keep away from him and he was shielded away from them, no interviews etc.
Now I dont mean Goosen needs such shielding but, all the kids do to a point. Meyer is smart enough, Goosen, Lambie etc will come more into the fold as the year goes on.
Meyer has to implement what knowledge he knows and this will take all year, time and experience will slowly evolve his style and coaching in the following yrs. The problem is SA rugby frenchise should think about giving coaches 4 yr contracts running from WC to WC. Meyer is the 3rd coach in a row with such a contract. So his main goal, is 4 yrs away when what should really be the focus is maintaining an equal level of talent( finding and discovering the new generation who should be coming through ALL the time not just when we are short)…. The bigger picture….
Our coaches are given politition contracts.
So once the ball is rolling and players and coach are on the same page, which they are not yet, Meyer will then be able to relax and start tinkering. ie do what most of us want done NOW. I just does work that way unfortunately.
15 Sep 2012, 20:10 pm
Home leg (hopefully):
1. Mtawarira 2. Strauss 3. Du Plessis 4. Etzebeth 5. Bekker 6. Louw 7. Alberts 8. Vermeulen 9. Hougaard 10. Goosen 11. Habana 12. Steyn 13. De Villiers 14. Pieterson 15. Lambie
16. Liebenberg 17. Oosthuizen 18. Van Der Merwe 19. Coetzee 20. Vermaak 21. Jantjies 22. Taute
Oosthuizen in for Greyling
Vermaak in for Pienaar
Jantjies in for Steyn
Brussow drafted in for Jacques Potgieter
Taute in for Kirchner
Pieterson in for Mvovo
15 Sep 2012, 20:11 pm
J B you lost nothing magnificent in that, we are 13 ahead now.
15 Sep 2012, 20:13 pm
We better start asking fourie du preez very nicely to make a comeback!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
15 Sep 2012, 20:23 pm
@phil72-215:
Gurthro Steenkamp
Bakkies Botha
Danie Rossouw
Francois Louw
Ryan Kankowski
Fourie Du Preez
Jacques Fourie
All playing overseas and all can offer significant contributions to the Springboks!
15 Sep 2012, 20:28 pm
Those seven players
Plus these six returning from injury
Bismark Du Plessis
Chilli Ralepelle
Coenie Oosthuizen
Schalk Burger
Juan Smith
JP Pieterson
15 Sep 2012, 20:29 pm
And a few stalwarts like
Beast
Jannie
Brussow
Habana
Frans Steyn
Plus some young blood like
Etzebeth
Coetzee
Kolisi
Goosen
Lambie
15 Sep 2012, 20:55 pm
An almost certain try butchered – 5 points.
Steyn missed 3 penalties, 2 of which he should’ve gotten – 6 points.
Another try butchered by Greyling.
Yes, it must have come as a surprise that the throw from Mealamu went awry.
But at this level you should be able to take that opportunity with an open tryline in front of you.
Another 5 points.
That’s 16 points at the very least left out on the field.
15 Sep 2012, 21:15 pm
******* Y O U meyer i was the only one with issues in my household now youve gone and turned my son into an ALL BLACK supporter as well.
well played you D O O S
15 Sep 2012, 21:16 pm
F U C K Y O U meyer i was the only one with issues in my household now youve gone and turned my son into an ALL BLACK supporter as well.
well played you D O O S
15 Sep 2012, 21:29 pm
@saru1983-221: Poor you, that such a well brought up, educated man like yourself, although your grammar sucks, was so disapointed today, hope your son is still to young to read and that his mother is 100% involved in his up bringing.
15 Sep 2012, 21:32 pm
@saru1983-221:
Take it easy on the wife please?
15 Sep 2012, 21:33 pm
OPINION: Morne Steyn is usually a hell of a kicker, a brave defender, and a major reason the Springboks are so mediocre.
With a leaden-footed, awkward-passing No. 10 like Steyn, the Boks are a speedboat dragging a sea anchor.
And, as we saw in Dunedin last night, they do have, in Bryan Habana, a wing with the best strike power of anyone in the position in world rugby.
But the tactics South Africa pursue are deathly dull, as dated as mullets, flared jeans and lava lamps. You can’t lay all the blame for that at Steyn’s feet, but he symbolises how this Springbok team approach their work.
What’s close to heart-breaking is that pushing an opposition team to make mistakes, rather than creating moves of your own, can work. If Steyn had been kicking with anything like his usual accuracy, the Boks would have gone to the halftime break last night ahead by nine or more points.
Referee George Clancy found fault with monotonous regularity, which meant that the match, which promised so much, struggled for an age to get out of first gear.
Of course, parochial-enough fans will put up with any rubbish if it results in a win. Think of the 2003 England team who won a world cup on the back of lumbering but powerful forwards, and Jonny Wilkinson, whose style of play was to excitement what Belarus athletics officials are to even vaguely believable excuses.
Sadly for fans of quality rugby, kick-and-chase tactics can be effective, especially in wet and windy conditions.
But at an indoor stadium, where vagaries of weather are eliminated, as they were in Dunedin last night, you’d hope they’d be shown up for the joyless abuse of the game they are.
But the first requirement to counter such tactics is to make sure you’re winning the forward battle. The Boks too often bullied the All Blacks off the ball, and Piri Weepu was often reduced to pointing to where he believed the ball was being held up, rather than clearing it to a backline starved of action.
Israel Dagg’s first-half try was like a glimpse of iced water across a parched sand dune, a reminder of what we’re missing while the All Blacks struggle to get all the gears to mesh. We all know how much talent these All Blacks have in their ranks, but finding a way to exploit it is starting to feel like a tough, long mission.
Whatever Aaron Smith’s time-keeping misdemeanour off the field in Wellington was, it was apparently a 40-minute piece of mischief, rather than an 80-minute offence.
Thank whatever power you want to for that. Smith, so quick, so daring, so decisive, has a firestarter quality about his play that the more mature, and more deliberate Weepu does not.
Ad Feedback
Smith’s solo try was one of those breath-taking moments that we’ll all remember long after most of the game has vanished from the memory banks.
He has been the most daring selection by the new panel, and he’s been the most exciting inductee into the All Black ranks since Christian Cullen ran out at fullback against Samoa in 1996.
The All Blacks won’t be in raptures over last night’s win, but for anyone who prefers enterprise to spoiling, running to kicking, the rapier of a backline to the bludgeon of a forward pack, there has to be satisfaction that last night the team at least looking to create some rugby artistry emerged victorious.
15 Sep 2012, 21:35 pm
@Black Power-224:
Bring in Fourie Du Preez and suddenly it would be winning rugby>………Such a fine margin!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
15 Sep 2012, 21:49 pm
Well done Boks Well 12 of you
I am so disappointed
Here was a great opportunity to win.
HM must be Bi polar??
Goosen and Lambie there we would have won
and keep beast on the field
WTF is he thinking about greyling?? He should nto have been in the 22 either
15 Sep 2012, 21:49 pm
@phil72-225:
Agree Phil 100%
15 Sep 2012, 21:51 pm
@Black Power-224:
ref was wrong with against louw in 2nd half should have been boks penalty
Basicaly we lost that game ABs never won it .
However it says it on the score board
15 Sep 2012, 22:00 pm
@CoachPete-228: Ten points. Double the tries. By miles.
15 Sep 2012, 22:01 pm
My ratings
15 Kirshner minus 10 He gave the woeful pass which was a certain 5 and then was out of position on daggs try Generally Useless
Wings Both 9s they played their hearts out
Centers Steyn had good line breaks and defence was good
Steyn 7 and Jdv 6
10 M Steyn Minus 15 I dont have to say anything we all saw it
9. maybe a 3 Slow and kickes way to long This aint Irish rugby FFS???. plus he does not defend that well
Put Hougaard there with Goosen PLEASE
Front row all about a 8
Locks Wow Flip well played Kruger was ok
Alberts 8
Vermeulen 8
Louw 10 just what we needed to counter RM initially I give him a 8 but add 2 becuase he is a Bishops boy
Greyling Well here is what he did
1. Gave away a penalty in 1st min on field 3 points
2. Then another
3. Hits RM Ten min and 3 points
4. Useless around the field
5. Scrums go back
6 Gives up penalty in final min and we lose a bonus point
Can HM explain to all of us why he subbed the beast ???
What was the beast doing wrong?
HM is not only arrogant but also dumb
get rid of him now
15 Sep 2012, 22:03 pm
@TheTackler-229:
Not really by miles
We all saw the game
we had 3 scoring moves which should have been tries
And add tot hat all the steyns misses and then greylings gifts
15 Sep 2012, 22:11 pm
We will be playing the skop ad jaag game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Then………. Get Fourie back……. and we will win again……… problem solved!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
15 Sep 2012, 22:33 pm
how many games did you WIN with that THICK f’ng Rockspider FdP running the back line through the last 2 and a half years.. should I count them for you??
vs France Eoyt 2009 – FdP 9, MS 10 – LOST
vs Ireland Eoyt 2009 – FdP 9 – MS 10 – LOST
v New Zealand 3N 2010 – FdP 9 – MS 10 – LOST A
v New Zealand 3N 2010 – FdP 9 – MS – 10 – LOST A
v Australia 3N 2010 – FdP 9 – MS 10 – LOST – Brisbane A
v New Zealand 3N 2010 – FdP 9 – MS – 10 – LOST, Soweto H
v Australia 3N 2010 – FdP 9 – MS 10 – WON, – Pretoria H
v Australia 3N 2010 – FdP 9 – MS 10 LOST – Bloemfontein H
v Australia 2011 3N – LOST – Sydney A
v New Zealand 2011 3N – LOST, – Wellington A
v Australia 2011 3N – LOST – Durban H
v New Zealand 2011 3N – WON – Pt Elizabeth H
2011 WC Pool D v Wales 17-16- WON –
2011 WC Quart v Australia 9-11 – LOST -
Played – 14
LOST – 11
WON – 3
THAT is how FANTASTIC your dumb DOOS of a hero FdP and his kick chase side kick MS have been for the BOKS in the past almost 3 years.
FdP and Pienaar and Morne Steyn must FCK OFF
and Hougaard must play at 9 and Goosen at 10
and the dumbest DOOS of them ALL Heyneke Meyer must FALL on his overrated sword and DO WHAT is RIGHT for SA rugby and FCK OFF BEFORE he does ANY FURTHER DAMAGE than he already has.
15 Sep 2012, 22:50 pm
Game was lost by the Boks, not won by the Blacks. Simple. Meyer I hope you now catch a faarking wake up and get rid of the useless blue plonkers steyn, kirschner and greyliing!!
15 Sep 2012, 22:52 pm
Oh and Meyer, what’s with this giving Richie blowjobs??? Jeez if you love him so much ask him to marry you, you doos!
15 Sep 2012, 22:54 pm
Well done AB’s, took your chances & the spoils. Boks pitched up at least but failed to make the most of their opportunities, dissapointing. Got to kick less & play more
15 Sep 2012, 23:31 pm
So much for the Messiah hey! This has been our game for the last, I don’t know…8 years? Apart from the 2008 when PdV wanted to change our game to a more total, all round game, we’ve been kick chasing and looking clueless when we tried everything else. When Div started his total rugby speak, I said “yes please! It’s about time.” Alot of others called it headless chicken **** at the time. I think, everyone concerned will probably take headless chicken over this monotous, drone-like rugby everyday. Couple of things…
Why is our technique at the breakdown still so inferior to the AB’s? You watch the next time any AB makes a tackle. If there is no clearcut chance of him actualy contesting and winning the ball/penalty, he is up in a flash and pumping his legs furiously in counter-rucking. They’ve been doing this for the last 2 years. Why hasn’t it been picked up on yet? Rassie?
Francois Louw is the poor man’s Brussow and he has showed how rediculous it is to play modern rugby without a fetcher. Any fetcher. Why is Brussow playing CC? Has HM looked at his winning ratio against the AB’s yet? McCaw haven’t been fetching for years and they should realy pay for that fact but have the all round game to still outplay other teams inspite of it. It will come home to roost if their opp starts asking more relevant questions. Which brings me to…
This is surely the last time MS will pull on a Bok jersey. Surely!!. Johan Goosen, having a bad game (as bad as Morne had the last 6-7 games) will still ask a lot more questions of the opposition than Morne ever will. He brings to our game what we have so clearly been lacking the last 8 years. VARIETY!!! And why do we persist with letting the 9 making our decisions? FdP is a one of a kind and unfortunately is playing in Japan now. With Goosen’s coming, I would also like to see him making all our decisions. The ball should be passed to him more often than not. Wouldn’t it be a good variation for him to give the inside pass to Alberts than Alberts recieving it from Pienaar or Hougaard all of the time? And can someone please tell Ruan to stop fckn kicking the ball back into the ruck? I knew when they brought Aaron Smith on at 1/2 time, the AB’s will be that much tougher. That is what a fast scrummie gives you, granted your technique at the breakdown allows him.
Is it just me or is the French PdV paying dividends at scrumtime? Apart from that 1 bad scrum and a penalty that could’ve gone either way, we’re looking solid. AB’s realy had to work to get good ball. In time, we might boss the scrum again. I certainly hope so.
Oh yes, before I forget…the gleam in Andrew Hore and Mealamu’s eyes when they threw the ball in the lineout sorta made me nostalgic in longing for those days Matfield made them ***** their pants. What a player he was. I mean, look at the result when the game situation demanded a good throw from Mealamu near his line? He fcked it up and we damn nearly scored. Matfield to do some vocational training with the boys, pleaseeeee
15 Sep 2012, 23:47 pm
One more thing, did you guys see the result when Habana actualy got the ball other than being the dummy runner all the fckn time? He scored a beauty in the corner. But again it comes down to the same thing…variation. We did something the AB’s didn’t expect and looked a million bucks for it. Why can’t we do this more often? That one word will see us win more than we’ll lose. Every fckn time!!!! I’m sure of it! HM take note
16 Sep 2012, 00:04 am
Changes I’ll make…Brussow in for Louw, Jordaan at 13, Jean back to 12 and Frans to 15. Alberts with a licence to kill for 60 min, bring on Coetzee to continue the carnage and our backline under instruction to run more often than not, from our 10m line. Tighten up our breakdown defense, make it more streamline to get quick ball and Bob’s dating your aunt. Goosen for Steyn is that obvious, I don’t even have to think about it. No doubt, HM is still weighing up his options.
16 Sep 2012, 00:27 am
@CoachPete-230:
” Steyn had good line breaks and defence was good
Steyn 7″
Coach, I always rate you as an objective fan of rugby. But really, Steyn 7/10 because of ONE line break?????
What ELSE did he do for the rest of the match? He missed TWO penalties at goal, remember? So, if he converted that, would you have given him a 9/10?
Come on now man, Coach!!!!
The boy is a joke a 12, PLEASE
@UptheGuts-237:
“This is surely the last time MS will pull on a Bok jersey.”
You THINK?
Don’t bet on that, bru.
16 Sep 2012, 00:34 am
@UptheGuts-239:
“Changes I’ll make…Brussow in for Louw, Jordaan at 13, Jean back to 12 and Frans to 15.”
Ja-nee, There we go.
Fransie has not show anything at inside centre yet, now we must go and look for another position to accommodate the plonker.
Even at FB, he’ll not make it my friend. Not with Goosen in the team who can also kick 60m penalties.
When will you guys GET it, Fransie is MEDIOCRE
16 Sep 2012, 00:37 am
@nama1-240:
Ok maybe a 6 or 5 but he never really made any mistakes
2 good line breaks and if he had support who knows
Yes he missed to very long kicks I dont hold that against him
His defense was solid with Jdv
Who else anyway?
16 Sep 2012, 00:38 am
@nama1-241:
Also i was having a bit of fun there
He was a 7 compared to M steyn Kirshner and Greyling
16 Sep 2012, 00:43 am
@nama1-240: FS looks unfit. Overweight even. Moderately obese the dieticioans call it, I think. I like Frans’ strength in the tackle. It usualy takes 2 to bring him down. An offload or 2 might add to this. As for Morne, one can only hope. The next game is key. If Goosen starts and have the impact I expect him too, that will be it for Morne. As far as his kicking goes, he is as long as Frans and every bit as accurate as the “old” Morne. He shows that at Loftus, Morne won’t have a case. But that’s assuming HM does actualy possess the astute rugbybrain everyone with Div phobia claimed he had.
16 Sep 2012, 00:52 am
@nama1-241: I’m not sure mediocre is the right word, but why does it come as a suprise that Steyn hasn’t shown anything at 12 if the gameplan dictates to look for someone to run into? Only reason why I shifted him to 15 and Jean to 12 is to make way for Jordaan at 13. Tbh, Kirchner has grown on me actualy. Forget the bad pass and being shown up by Higgenbotham and Smith 2 weeks in a row on defense. He’s done allright otherwise. But I’m ok either way. We don’t have a 15 who jumps into the line anymore. or put another way. HM refuses to pick him. Another arrow to our varied gameplan that’s non-existent at present. But Frans mediocre? Fat chance!
16 Sep 2012, 00:55 am
@nama1-241:
You would keep Morne starting ????
and Pienaar?
ok maybe steyn at 15 because Kirshner is not a test 15
Hougaard 9 and Goosen 10 to start
16 Sep 2012, 00:58 am
@UptheGuts-244:
Goosen will takes kicks if Morne is not there
Frans will take the long ones again.
What do you guy s think of W le roux or A coetzee at 15?
16 Sep 2012, 01:13 am
@CoachPete-243:
@UptheGuts-244:
He never made any mistakes but he never made some magic either.
Wasn’t it the reason why Meyer brought him back from Europe?
Remember this conversation, as widely reported by newspapers in SA? Sometime in 2009.
HM: So, Frans, when are you going to play for US again?
Frans: Wanneer oom die Bok afrigter word.
HM: Ek sal dit onthou as ek die afrigter word dan bel ek jou.
Frans: Reg so, oom.
Fast Forward 2011. fransie at the RWC, playing against Namibia and Samoa at inside centre after an injury to JdV:
SA supporters: “Frans must come back. He is the missing link in our back line. Did you see how our back line perform with him at inside centre? JdV is the one holding our back line back. He must retire.”
Now, I’m asking you guys, what has Fransie done in the SIX test matches that he played at inside centre?
In my not so kenner opinion: HE DID VOKKOL and does not deserve to be in the team.
Just like Greyling, Morne.
We don’t need him anymore if Goosen is there who can also kick 60m penalties.
funny thing about the criticism against Kirchner. Any objective observer will tell you that Kirchner was one of the best back line players for the Boks in the RC so far, together with Habana and Hougaard.
They’re the only back line players who played like Bokke in this series. The rest were kak, the captain and Fransie (the Messias???) included.
16 Sep 2012, 01:25 am
@UptheGuts-245:
Why Jordaan at 13? NBecause of 2/3 good games in the latter part of the S15?
Come on man.
Let him learn his craft over an extended period. Do you see if the AB go gaga about Kahui? What would we give to have a centre like that?
Let Jordaan prove himself next year before we talk about him again. He was behind players like JdJ and JJE at WP before he moved to the Sharks. Don’t get carried away by a couple of good performances.
What did you think about the fact that JdJ was collecting splinters on the bench while the rest of the subs got a chance to play. Reminiscent of Jantjies in PE neh???
Even Greyling got a chance to play, albeit for the AB at the end of the day. Nogal substituting Beast who did nothing wrong while he was on the field. I thought it was his best game in the Bok jersey this season.
Ek moet more weer klomp goed verduidelik aan mense wat nie die klas kak verstaan nie. Ek verstaan dit self nie.
16 Sep 2012, 01:26 am
@nama1-248:
Kirshner had a few good moments but i dont think he has been great at all
today his pass cost us a try and his out of position to day partly cost us Daggs try
He is very predictable we and opposition know what he will do and his defense is poor
So I cant agree
16 Sep 2012, 01:27 am
What has happen to his kicking. The only thing he had going for him was his kick and now he can’t even do that. Time for goosen to start. Can kick can run can tackle can direct the team. But to be honest as an ab fan please keep playing steyn!!!
16 Sep 2012, 01:28 am
@nama1-249:
Yes we all could nit understand Beasts subbing??
A HM bi polar moment ?
16 Sep 2012, 01:29 am
@rugbyrugby-251:
Morne has lost all confidence Full stop
You can see it on his face
His terrible short kick back to the opposition when attacking, was the cheery on the top
16 Sep 2012, 01:30 am
@CoachPete-246:
At 10: I will play ELTON JANTJIES, not even Goosen.
He beat WP, Bulls and Cheetahs all on his own since coming back from being chucked out of the Bok squad without any explanation.
Hy is vokken beter as Goosen OP HIERDIE STADIUM
16 Sep 2012, 01:43 am
@nama1-254: that’s great but can he beat the abs, ozzies and the argies? It’s one thing to be good at domestic level it’s a completely different story at international level.
16 Sep 2012, 01:46 am
@CoachPete-250:
” his out of position to day partly cost us Daggs try” wrt Kirchner.
Now, from where I was sitting this was a long distance try.
How do you come to a point where you blame Kirchner for being out of position?
16 Sep 2012, 01:54 am
@rugbyrugby-255:
Can he be better than Morne?
That’s the only question that needs to be answered at this stage.
My answer is an unequivocally fkin YES,/b>
What is yours?
No individual player can beat that teams on their own. Are you freakin mad to even ask a question like that?
Not even FRANS, the Messiah from France,, could do it.
16 Sep 2012, 01:55 am
Sorry Stormersboy.
Ek het bietjie opgeneuk hier.
16 Sep 2012, 01:56 am
@nama1-254: At this point in time I’ll even take Louis Koen over Morne Steyn. You don’t realy have to explain anything to your Kiwi wannabe mates. If you are OK with them supporting another country other than their own, they realy don’t have the right to question anything pertaining to the Bokteam. Not selection, substitutions, gameplan, all that ****. It has boggeroll to do with them and has been since the day they decided to switch allegiance. If you believe its all about colour…still, then you will probably be much happier joining them on the other side. When was the last time you or anyone else saw a prop finish the entire 80? The issue here is not Beast being subbed but his replacement being a ‘no good SOB’ who just re-enforced the widely accepted idea that SA rugbyplayers are thugs. If Greyling came on and had a blinder, HM would’ve been hailed as a genius whose rugby astute brain knows no limits. Tell them to fck off and worry about their own ****.
16 Sep 2012, 01:59 am
@nama1-256:
Go look at it again
Before the try build up
Kirshener was standing making tackles with the forwards
The ball was moved fast to the right and Kirshner was getting up slowly (after a tackle), and jogging slowly watching the try unfold
Thats out of position to me. Had he been there in last line he could have made the tackle there or slowed Dagg and cover could have been there to help
Once Reid had got the off load there was no one in front of him
16 Sep 2012, 02:01 am
@rugbyrugby-255:
“It’s one thing to be good at domestic level it’s a completely different story at international level.”
Hoekom was jy nie al lankal hier dat jy die huidige afrigter dit gese het nie.
Dan het hy nie nodig gehad om manne soos:
Flip vd Merwe
Dean Greyling
Pierre Spies
Morne Steyn
JJ Engebrecht
… en ander spelers wat net op “domestic” vlak “perform” te kies nie.
16 Sep 2012, 02:04 am
@nama1-261:
I thought Flip played well today
he played his heart out and i am not a flip fan
16 Sep 2012, 02:21 am
@UptheGuts-259:
You’ll never get it and I won’t even try.
The people you so easily dismiss, are sometimes brothers, sisters, family, close friends from an early childhood etc.
So, if you then say, I must “Tell them to fck off and worry about their own ****.”, I’ll rather tell YOU, to fck off and worry about YOUR own ****.
GEDDIT???
Don’t try to educate me, please.
“It has boggeroll to do with them and has been since the day they decided to switch allegiance.”
“They” NEVER “switched allegiance.”
They just never supported the Boks for reasons that we both know.
You must sometimes think before you say things.
16 Sep 2012, 02:22 am
Let’s get to my favorite topic tho. How many times did the Kiwi commentators mention and I qoute…” the boks might’ve been hard done there” Not once did I hear them say that about the AB’s. But just like Bryce’s case, the Boks should’ve won regardless. The first time I saw Read have zero impact other than the ofload to send Dagg on his way. Why can’t referees just get it right tho? It’s not that difficult. Ruan shouldn’t be digging over bodies in black jerseys to get to the ball. What I mean by sharpening up our breakdown defense. Our ruck should be rock solid, immovable. If you are going to clean out, do it properly and either blow a mtr past, taking everything black in sight with you or bind solidly to the ruck making sure you can’t be moved. And no cheap shots on the opp captain either. That was just plain dumb! Everyone’s heard the analogy of a rugbyteam being a collection of piano movers and players. And the piano movers is widely accpeted to not be the sharpest. A bloody shame then that all our pianoteacher seem to interested in, is to have his piano moved all around his living room. Just a piece of furniture to him it seems. Unless you can play the tune of “hansie slim”. So I’m thinking Frans Steyn is gatvol of playing/singing along to hansie slim and decided to start moving pianos with the rest of them. Get my drift. You wait till we allow our players to play a decent tune again and judge Fransie then. Ok?
16 Sep 2012, 02:23 am
@nama1-261: Um ok. Note I said I was an ab fan so gotta speak English mate. And yes I know this is an SA site but it’s more interesting blogging on a foreign site than it is a nz site
16 Sep 2012, 02:26 am
@CoachPete-260:
I’ll do that.
Have a look at that try again. From my recollection, that try started from deep.
So if it was, as you say, that “Kirchner was standing making tackles with the forwards,” it means that another player (8th man, wing, SH) should’ve taken up his position at the back, not so?
16 Sep 2012, 02:28 am
@UptheGuts-264:
“Let’s get to my favorite topic tho. How many times did the Kiwi commentators mention and I qoute…” the boks might’ve been hard done there” Not once did I hear them say that about the AB’s. ”
Obviously you missed Habana pointing to where Dagg kicked the ball while suggesting He did not touch the ball. This is an out and out cheat. So did you miss that?
16 Sep 2012, 02:30 am
@nama1-266:
Correct if he was caught up making tackles there should have been cover there
But you will see him just standing there instead of sprinting back
Also he could have backed out of the defense line to get back in position
Just my observation
16 Sep 2012, 02:33 am
@rugbyrugby-265:
Foreign meaning Saffa right?
At least its interesting and very colourful here at times
16 Sep 2012, 02:37 am
@rugbyrugby-265:
Apologies then. I did not know.
Welcome to the site.
This was your question wrt Jantjies: “that’s great but can he beat the abs, ozzies and the argies? It’s one thing to be good at domestic level it’s a completely different story at international level.”
My answer to that was, Why did YOU (SOMEBODY) not tell the current coach that. Then he wouldn’t have selected players like:
Flip vd Merwe
Dean Greyling
Pierre Spies
Morne Steyn
JJ Engebrecht
…and others who did not perform at domestic level.
So, in your opinion, when do you select a player for your national team? Isn’t it after he consistently performs well at domestic level? Granted, you can’t guarantee that he will perform at international level.
My other problem with your question is this: Do you expect from a Cruden to beat the Aussies, Bokke, Argies all on his own?
Why should Jantjies be able to do that?
16 Sep 2012, 02:38 am
@nama1-263: Mate, I know exactly what’s happening. I know that condescneding tone they get! You don’t have to tell me a single thing. And why can’t you tell them to fck off? In the manner of speaking? The reason why they don’t support the Boks, does not necessarily exist anymore. If it did, Beast would’ve been warming the bench getting his customary 30sec-2 min like Shimange. Why would Kirchner be prefered over Lambie or any other more ‘supposedly’ deserved white player then? Africa for Africans? Bokteam for Bok fans then. Simple. Like I said, let them worry over their own ****. We as bokfans have too much worry about ( like when Morne is going to kick his next penalty) already then to give a **** what these wannabees think. It realy is that simple
16 Sep 2012, 02:39 am
I have respect for Morne for his past achievements and yes he has to make way for the younger guys, Goosen and Lambie, but I think he has been put under enormous pressure from Meyer’s reliance on him to carry through his,Meyer’s, game plan and in the end he cracked.
16 Sep 2012, 02:42 am
@CoachPete-268:
As I said, I’ll have a look at that try again.
I’m actually surprised that I haven’t see anybody blaming Kirchner for Smith’s try, to be honest.
He was the last defender there.
@CoachPete-269:
Let’s see.
16 Sep 2012, 02:46 am
@Te Rangatira-272:
We just think he had the chance to make the change some time ago
We all can see M steyn has lost confidence.
Now that Goosen is fit he should have started at least to see if it would be better.
One got the feeling HM just could not help selecting M steyn because he was hoping the “safe” selection may work
@nama1-270:
As for jaantjies too small for HM Go ask Daniels lol
16 Sep 2012, 02:48 am
@nama1-273:
Not blaming him totally just felt he should have been back there.
16 Sep 2012, 02:49 am
@CoachPete-275:
and Brussow
16 Sep 2012, 02:52 am
@Hurricane-267: Ok, I see your Habana cheat and raise you about 4 instances mentioned by the commentators including that penalty kick McCaw collected of the rebound towards the end. There was 1 penalty the AB’s got for sealing off by the Boks only to ignore when it was the other way a couple of rucks later. Not mentioned by the commentators, so you get that 1 for free! Mate it doesn’t matter which way, international referees is a blight on the game and deep down you know it. Or doesn’t it matter this time because you’ve won? Wanna talk about trigger happy Wayne Barnes in the latter game. I counted 8 penalties in the last 10min. He who didn’t wanna award a single penalty to the AB’s in ’07. Ask GH. He’ll know. He wrote a book about it
16 Sep 2012, 02:52 am
@UptheGuts-271:
Maybe people like you are one of the reasons that they cannot bring them so far as to support the Boks.
As I said, you maybe talking about family members of mine so let me just say, **** off you rather.
I don’t know you. I know them, OK!!!
Vok, when will you etters grow up?
16 Sep 2012, 02:53 am
@UptheGuts-277: I’m actauly all for awarding penalties. Want more of it, come to think of it but those scrum penalties last nite was toss of a coin to say the least.
16 Sep 2012, 03:01 am
@nama1-278: So you rather get yourself tied up in knots by your ‘family members’ over something they have no interest in, other than getting under your skin. Do I have that right? Seriously, I think its you who needs to grow a pair and tell them to fck off! Leave Bok matters to Bok supporters! Geddit? SA rugby coaches, including Bok coaches, nowadays select a squad/team who he feels can best execute his way of thinking. Kirchner proves that. If they want to continue living in the ‘good old days’, its your obligation to set them straight. If you concur, best to join your buddies on the other side.
16 Sep 2012, 03:03 am
@CoachPete-274:
According to Brendan Venter, Jantjies is the fly half with the best defense in SA.
Snaaks, it was just the other day that I had to defend him against SL who said that he is a defensive liability.
Funny how different people can see things differently.
What’s your take on Frans Steyn’s performance at inside centre for the Boks in the four test matches so far?**
**Without mentioning Morne
16 Sep 2012, 03:07 am
@nama1-281:
I have not been impressed He has not played up tot he hype we expected
he has not played like he was at WC either
I would have Jdv at 12 and a new 13 and put F steyn at 15 instead of kirshner
until Taute is fit
we miss JF thats for sure
16 Sep 2012, 03:09 am
@nama1-281:
ok and it may have something to do with HMs game plan and
maybe
yes
you got it
due to M steyn’s play
16 Sep 2012, 03:11 am
@nama1-278: And btw, people like me couldn’t give a rats *** who they support and why. What I won’t stand for is said people strutting around like they own the place and telling me that the reason why Beast got subbed was because HM owns a double storey in Orania! We get enough of that BS from the politicians. Why we’ll have to put up with non service delivery and corruption for years to come because people like THEM is still in the ‘struggle’ and feel obligated to vote these fckers in.
16 Sep 2012, 03:13 am
@UptheGuts-280:
I take it then that you have no problem whatsoever that a player like Jantjies sat on the bench in PE while Morne played kak.
…or Juan de Jongh collecting splinters while JdV and FS did not do anything for 70 minutes?
…or that Mvovo was dropped, after performing well vs Argies, to make way for a scrum half
…or that Beast was subbed for a white moegoe who conceded 4 penalties and got a yellow card to boot while on the field.
…or that the Bok try scoring record holder was subbed by a SH at wing for three weeks in a row.
What do YOU read into that?
16 Sep 2012, 03:14 am
@UptheGuts-264: what about when Habs touched the ball before it wen tout and SA got the lineout 30 metres back from where the kick was taken?
did you miss this one? are you bakkies multinic?
16 Sep 2012, 03:21 am
@CoachPete-283:
You are a coach, Coach.
The boy is mediocre.
I said it at the beginning of the international season. This RC is his litmus test but WHEN he fails, his disciples can still plea for him to go and play full back.
Even there, at FB, he is mediocre except for a 50m clearance every now and then.
He is mediocre. You okes should forget about the two drops vs Aus in 2006, his play at the RWC in 2007 or his 3 long range penalties in 2009.
We are in 2012 already.
Do me a favour Coach. Try and watch him as objectively as you can in the two games in SA. His general play. Don’t take long range penalties/drops into account.
Please.
16 Sep 2012, 03:23 am
Possible reason why all the games in TRC havent been as good as they could have been..
NH refs do not let the game flow, they are too pedantic imo… there were numerous times an advantage call could have been used. SH refs should ref this tournament, but then I suppose we’d see the whole ANZAC conspiracy rear its ugky head..
have they stopped using the advantage call? it appears so..
16 Sep 2012, 03:28 am
@nama1-285: None whatsoever. If seen in the backdrop of HM sticking to his plan and the players he thinks will get him there. Doesn’t it tell you something that Juan de Jong and Gio didn’t even make his squad but Kirchner did. Or that Kirchner virtualy played the entire 80 and Lambie coming on for a mere 5 min or so. Does that hold up to your theory? Like I said Kirchner proves, as does Beast, HM’s selections is not racialy motivated. To be frank, I don’t know which one I would prefer actualy. Our game is at such a low at the moment, racial overtones on selection might have been easier to take than a complete numbnuts for a coach. Our 2nd one in a row!! So, you might understand why I get a bit touchy about it all. from a fellow bok supporter I’ll take it but not from a Kiwi wannabee who can’t comprehend that NZ might struggle with similar issues.
16 Sep 2012, 03:29 am
@nama1-287:
Ok i will
16 Sep 2012, 03:30 am
@poppa69-286: Hurricane covered that. That makes it 1 to about 5 to my recollection. Anything else?
16 Sep 2012, 03:31 am
@UptheGuts-264:
“So I’m thinking Frans Steyn is gatvol of playing/singing along to hansie slim and decided to start moving pianos with the rest of them. Get my drift. You wait till we allow our players to play a decent tune again and judge Fransie then. Ok?”
So, when will that be? When the next coach comes along?
In four years time?
Hahahaha….
Anybody but Fransie, neh!!!
Vok man, Fransie is mediocre/average/middelmatig/gemiddeld net soos die res van die Bok span.
Die afrigter is ook maar gemiddeld.
3 games away: 1 draw, 2 losses.
Winning percentage AWAY under Meyer: 00000000000%
16 Sep 2012, 03:36 am
@poppa69-288:
Clancy was just appalling today in the 1st half especially, in my opinion.
@UptheGuts-289:
“Doesn’t it tell you something that Juan de Jong and Gio didn’t even make his squad but Kirchner did.”
You do know of course that Juan de Jongh was on the bench yesterday???
Wat de vok????
16 Sep 2012, 03:55 am
- HM … youre fired .. Bring back Mallet or White please ..
- Ruan must be given a longer chance to settle in at 9.
- Sarel needs to be on the bench
- Beast was looking better than i have seen in a while ..
- Greyling .. yesus dude, regret that game for the rest of your life. **** head
- Morne .. prepare your cv for Japan cuzzie, The Goose must start
- Lambie must start at 15
- De Jongh must start at 13
- JDV .. thanks for the years .. but its time to hang up the boots ….
- we lost .. but there are victories in this loss …
16 Sep 2012, 03:58 am
@nama1-292: Nama, nama, nama…when our top qualifier in SR made it to the play-offs with ZERO 4try bonus points on the back of staunch defense, you have got to ask yourself what did they do the rest of the time? They’ve kicked of course! And with this gameplan they made absolutely no headway against the top teams in the other divisions. On the times they it was only just! How did they do in the play-offs? Got beaten by a team that crossed the Atlantic twice. The boks have been playing the same way for the last 8 odd years. Clearly the way we play/want to play the game is the problem. HM for not seeing the light and STILL wanting us to play this way and appointing asst’s who can not come up with something else even if they wanted to. HM at the top of it all, I might still cope with but then he has to get rid of all the deadwood he surrounded him with and get people who can contribute. I get lambasted every time I say this, but will do it again. I DON’T MIND THE BOKS LOSING. HELL, WE COULD GO THROUGH ALL OF THE RC NEXT YEAR WITHOUT A SINGLE WIN. ALL I WANT TO SEE IS CONSTRUCTIVE PLAY. I’ll settle for slightly dominant scrum, good line-out, well drilled at the breakdown on our ball as well as opp and a backline who knows what to do with the ball in any given area of the field. A gameplan to keep the opposition guessing. And if we still lose, then we’ll have been beaten by a better team on the day. There is no way we have been at our best the last 8-10 years, excl ’07 WC and ’09. There haven’t been a single game in all those years we’ve lost, that I can say we have left absolutely nothing to chance and given it our best shot. For the most part coaching is to blame for that. Our coaches have always sold us up the river. Not ambitous enough, far too conservative. Is it any wonder Frans and all the other Bok players is seen as mediocre, average even? Something has got to give. I’ll live in hope that it will be soon.
16 Sep 2012, 04:03 am
@poppa69-288:
Not a possible reason, it is the reason for the lack of true quality in Championship matches. The NH referees do not have the feel for the game and make it a stop start affair, if an Aussie had of reffed this game the outcome would probably been the same but the game as an entertainment spectacle may have been more pleasing on the eye.
Congrats for picking the points difference, I knew that the Boks could turn it up in the forwards, so was looking towards a tough uncompromising struggle, didn’t think Morne would implode the way he did with his place kicks, lucky he did however cos then we would have been done like a dogs dinner.
I’m still of the belief this game was a good one for the Abs going forward and we will win in Soccer City.
16 Sep 2012, 04:09 am
@nama1-293: pedantic little fokker jy nuh! His initial squad. HIS INITIAL SQUAD! Juan made it as an afterthought. I think HM just doesn’t rate him at all. Is that because he is a POC, like you want me to believe or just that he feels JdJ will not give him what he seeks? What about my point? Kirchner is a POC too. Beast too and he made the starting 15 ahead of Greyling. Played for 50-60 min. How was HM to know Greyling will have a brainfart and think it’s WWE instead of rugby? C’mon Nama, you should be old enough to know that the mind can play some serious tricks. Doesn’t make it true. Tell your Kiwi buddies that HM might have, in fact, DOES have a Bulls bias, but colour? I don’t think so.
Some shut eye for me now. Cheers
16 Sep 2012, 04:28 am
One more thing Nama, what if Morne and Frans kicked all their goals? Chances the AB’s would have lost. Would there still have been an inquisition? Would the player’s skin colour still have come up? One thing I know about these wannabees, they sure like rubbing in a Bok loss. Condascending like I said before. Why I don’t take their ****! I put them straight from the get go. No misunderstandings because if the unthinkable happened and the AB’s lost, there would’ve been peace on earth. Wanna know why? They would’ve been in hiding that’s why!!!! Have a good ‘ne. All is not lost. HM is going to lead us out of the darkness.
16 Sep 2012, 04:32 am
Right about now Greyling gets in his plane chair saying to himself – ag please just get me home pleeze. Oh and ag pleeze let coach not sit next to me.
16 Sep 2012, 05:17 am
@nama1-270: Yeah SA had a lot of great players during the super that we’re picked and it must be so frustrating for you guys. The boks have the players and ability to play running rugby but having steyn at 10 ruins that.
You saw a massive difference when goosen came on. Players like him, aplon, lambie Need to start. Steyn just doesn’t cut it anymore and the kick chase game plan should go its boring and obviously isn’t working.
16 Sep 2012, 05:29 am
@poppa69-288: It’s nothing to do with NH refs, Barnes played long advantages yesterday and Walsh reffed two of the opening games and they were of the same quality. Peyper and Joubert ref 2 of the last 4, I’m willing to bet they’ll be no different.
16 Sep 2012, 05:34 am
When are the refs going to penalize Pienaar for tapping the ball with his boot back into rucks, thus puting the pack off side?
You guys played your best game we still haven’t got out of second gear and you still couldn’t live with us – that’s the cold truth
Habanas try was pure genius. What a gifted player.
McCaw is a legend, he was outstanding, a marvelous All Black, probably the greatest we have produced
16 Sep 2012, 06:14 am
http://www.espnscrum.com/the-rugby-championship/rugby/match/153852.html
Assuming these are accurate, Dagg did not make a single tackle as opposed to Kirchner who had to make 7.
16 Sep 2012, 06:33 am
@UptheGuts-291:
We dont sit back and try and find other reason as to why we lost.
Simple….you guys mucked it up.
Instead of sitting back and complaining about refs look at your team.
You had more than enough chances like RWC 2011 towin. But you find time to blame refs.
If you would like i will go through the game and find how many times Pienear kicked the ball back into the ruck…..Penalty offside. I saw 4 times at least, seen as you so worried about what commentators say, they actually bought that up.
Habana once again offside at every kick from Morne. So if you like i can go through and count but i really dont see the point, do you?
16 Sep 2012, 06:37 am
Hey kiakaka, you boys were flat tack and only just managed to pip a Bok side missing a few of their top players. Think you will get a suprise in the next game. If nothing else just to shut you arrogant fu ks up! The game was lost by the Boks not won by the Ab’s
16 Sep 2012, 06:41 am
@whatever-305:
We have all said the Boks blew it. Seems a few of your country folk( not us Kiwis )
think the ref blew it for them….once again.
16 Sep 2012, 07:16 am
seriously saffas the books are close to winning. this is not the time for massive changes but a serious look at fine tuning.
the bok forwards are looking really impressive and had the ABs reeling in many depts. although HMs game plan does not look to entertain it s very effective. If Morne was firing and same with Frans the ABs would have been given a good hiding. yes it was frustrating to see no points converted but a new coach and new team will take time to get into their groove.
I actually enjoyed the boks effectiveness in the forwards and it will only take a tweek or two and the boks will be winning again but seriously winning. HM needs to keep his cool in amongst this current chaos and heat from the supporters. he needs to be ice man and I think the home games are going to be a terrible time for the wallabies and ABs only if HM sticks to his guns.
16 Sep 2012, 07:36 am
@wallabie.-307:
Yep, I was impressed by the Bok forwards too, playing that physical brand of rugby they’re famous for,was hoping for a game like that as I think the Abs have been made out to look better than they are ,especially from the Aussies and Irish. Is the HM gameplan that effective? If the backs didn’t look so disjointed then possibly it is.So what you’re saying is that HM should stick to his guns and play the same style, well hope he does cause ABs will win in Soccer City then…….mark my words.
16 Sep 2012, 07:39 am
@whatever-305: looks at the scoreboard…
funny, I thought the ABs won the game, didnt they score more points? oh, youre talking about MISSED opportunities…
coulda, woulda, shoulda…………didnt!
14 straight buddy, hows them apples? hahahaha
16 Sep 2012, 07:39 am
@KiaKahaNZ-302: ‘When are the refs going to penalize Pienaar for tapping the ball with his boot back into rucks, thus puting the pack off side?’
People really want to quibble over this? at the end of the day he could leave the ball sitting there at the back of the ruck for as long as he wanted.
It matters little whether or not he kicks it in as refs aren’t going to rule the ball is out until he puts his hands on it.
16 Sep 2012, 07:42 am
@wallabie.-307: I actually have to agree with you. Behind all the frothing at the mouth and gnashing of teeth at the loss it was in fact a decent showing where it counted most, the forwards (well the scoreboard actually, but baby steps chaps…) and this without Bismarck and Eben who surely would have given SA even more grunt. The game plan (still not sure exactly what it was, as who could tell from the execution ) I will assume as having some merit. The execution from no’s.9 and 10 was diabolical however and obviously influenced the rest of the backline. Although still not convinced about JDV at 13 (too one dimensional and dare I say it, limited). In short whilst frustrated, I’m not pinning needles into by HM voodoo doll this morning.
16 Sep 2012, 07:42 am
@Big Hit-310: isnt it part of the laws BH? if the ABs did that Im sure you’d mention it..
Must be hard though, your team played their skins out and the best they could manage was a draw wih SA, NZ played their worst game of the season and beat them..
I understand though, you have had trouble living vicariously through Bok results for quite a while now, why dont you sit in the corner with Whatever
16 Sep 2012, 07:51 am
@poppa69-312: I don’t think it’s worth mentioning Poppa because next time Pienaar just won’t do it and it won’t change a thing. I don’t see how it helps NZ, at most they’d get one penalty out of it and Pienaar would never do it again.
I’m not happy with Stuart Lancaster or the current England team but an away draw with SA in the SH wasn’t a bad result for that young side. NZ did win yesterday, but they also played them at home with about 500 more caps, they will find it tough in SA too.
16 Sep 2012, 07:55 am
@poppa69-312: The way I see it, the AB’s played their worst game of the season because that’s as good as they were allowed to play. Carry on believing how good they might be if things “click” for them and see where that gets you. That’s a phyrric mind-set my friend. But congrats on your team’s win nontheless.
16 Sep 2012, 07:57 am
@Big Hit-313: I agree it will be tough in SA, but I doubt they will play that bad again… was by far their worst performance, but credit where its due they werent allowed to play really.
as for the Pienaar thing, Im not worried by it, its akin to habs knocking the ball out on the full, they got away with it… I really thought only the ABs got away with stuff like that?
meh, being on top I guess it comes with the territory..
16 Sep 2012, 08:00 am
This would definately be my 22 Man squad for the home leg…..
15. Patrick Lambie.
14. J.P. Pieterson.
13. Jean De Villiers (c).
12. Francois Steyn.
11. Bryan Habana.
10. Johan Goosen.
9. Francois Hougaard.
8. Duane Vermuelen.
7. Willem Alberts.
6. Francois Louw.
5. Juandre Kruger.
4. Bakkies Botha.
3. Jannie Du Plessis.
2. Adriaan Strauss.
1. Tendai Mtawarira.
16. Coenie Oosthuizen.
17. Tiaan Liebenberg.
18. Frans Malherbe.
19. Andries Bekker.
20. Heinrich Brussow.
21. Ruan Pienaar.
22. Jaco Taute.
16 Sep 2012, 08:01 am
@wasabi-314: believe me, their performances this season have me dreading the coaching panel we have, the backline is already exhibiting fosteritis, and Hansen proved with the forwards when Henry was head coach that he couldnt fix things..
Im not one for waiting for them to “click” I expect better and they themselves set quite lofty standards
A week is a long time in rugby, as SA proved and as I said before the game..
16 Sep 2012, 08:02 am
@Big Hit-310:
But why is he tapping back in, – is this a ploy because hes not ready to pass, and can therefore create a false play? ie, not too dissimilar to the dummy pass from the base?
I know its pedantic BH, but the AB’s have been accused of everything under the sun so why not ask the question?
16 Sep 2012, 08:06 am
@poppa69-315: Poppa – it wasnt the Boks worst performance at all – in fact it was their best of the year from the forwards, just a horrible display from Steyn at 10, and a mixed from Kirschner at 15.
I thought the Boks forwards physicality was particularly impressive, they played with far more precision, determination and effort than they have for a while
They’re not far off playing a better game, they need more confidence by playing a ball in hand game
Personally I feel the laws are making the game horribly boring and stop start, thwarting any decent launch pad for attack, and becoming too defensive orientated. This years international rugby has not been enjoyable to watch – and that’s across all teams.
16 Sep 2012, 08:07 am
@poppa69-315: Ah my apologies – thought you were referring to SA not the AB’s/.
16 Sep 2012, 08:09 am
@KiaKahaNZ-319: I meant the Abs worst performance of the season, they were bullied off the ball and the tight five simply outplayed comprehensively.. again, credit to the Bok forwards for thier effort, they deserved better.
16 Sep 2012, 08:10 am
@KiaKahaNZ-320: sweet as bro
16 Sep 2012, 08:11 am
@Big Hit-301: There were a couple of times in that game where the ref blew immediately as the tackle was being made – ie Keiran Read for not rolling away was a very tough call as were 3 calls against the Boks .
Point is this ; was it interfering with play -(as you q’d me earlier ) probably not, therefore allow the advantage , which is one area the NH refs do not seem to be in favor of.
16 Sep 2012, 08:13 am
@Big Hit-301: what sort of bet you willing to make on the Peyper and Joubert games?
16 Sep 2012, 08:25 am
@KiaKahaNZ-318: I guess he thinks he’s tapping it back in to slow the game down, but he doesn’t need to, he’s perfectly within his rights just to leave it there as the Argentinian scrum-halves do.
@KiaKahaNZ-323: It’s actually more of a SH ref approach to demand bodies roll away and in the other game Barnes played long advantages.
I’m not sure what the reason is for the ‘boring’ games (for the neutral) but I don’t think it has much to do with refereeing. Let’s not forget NH refs have been taking charge of 3N games for some time now.
16 Sep 2012, 09:09 am
@UptheGuts-244: Frans.People need to ask why Nonu/Smith completeley quiet yesterday.
16 Sep 2012, 09:14 am
@nama1-281: Can you go 2 posts without maligning Frans Steyn?.
16 Sep 2012, 09:15 am
Not a request.Just aa question.
16 Sep 2012, 09:32 am
@KiaKahaNZ-318:
I mentioned it to my mates yesterday as well.
This tapping back of the ball into the ruck by Pienaar should be a scrum for accidental off side. Just like when you kick the ball against a team mate who is in front of you in open play.
@ryecatcher-327:
Jip. That I can do.
I just so want him to be the back line wizard everybody proclaim him to be but it seems everybody was wrong about him.
What was your take on his performance yesterday?
16 Sep 2012, 09:39 am
What’s “meh”?
16 Sep 2012, 09:49 am
@Dawn-330:
A sound made by a goat.
Why?
16 Sep 2012, 09:51 am
@nama1-329: Nana.I think that his
(and Jeans)performance depends to ma large extent as to what position MS
takes up.If MS is 10m deeper than he should be it affects the whole backline
and makes it more difficult to cross the gainline.
Did you notice FS breaking the gain line within minutes of JG
r eplacing MS.?didyou notice how unhappy Jean is?It all starts w ith
the flyhalf.Did you also notice how Conrad Smith ANDnONU WWRERE
16 Sep 2012, 09:56 am
Sorry Nana.Fat fingers.Nonu and Conrad Smith tackled out of game?
There was no defence in the flyhalf channel.Anyway,just a few thoughts.Enjoy
your Sunday.
16 Sep 2012, 09:59 am
@nama1-329: Sloppy typing.Sorry.
16 Sep 2012, 10:06 am
@nama1-254: Af yesterday I agree
on Jantjies.Our flyhalves are a nice problem
to have.Goosen
Jantjies
Lambie.
16 Sep 2012, 10:08 am
@ryecatcher-332:
Yeah, I saw that line break. Was a good one. Pity that our players still struggle to run good, support lines because if he could off load there in the tackle, who knows…
Look, I really am trying to look for the positives from him but it’s just that the negatives outweigh the positives in the RC so far. Not necessary in yesterday’s game.
I thought our loosies were very good. Now, if only HM will start with Coetzee at 7 and bring on Alberts with 25-30 minutes to go.
16 Sep 2012, 10:26 am
These lames always blaming refs for everything and forget how much the refs have helped them in their success 1995 vs France in durbs and 2007 vs England and are quick to force others to support that **** whereas they don’t want to select them or must be forced by the quota system and still select mediocre **** so as to perpetuate the stereotype. Saying Zane should wear the protea not the springbok still shows the **** still embedded in their supposedly well developed minds. We and my bras support the allblacks because they play rugby with brains then strength which is characteristic of us and no dumb *** will tell us who to support. Ekse majita let’s be in numbers in soccer city it annoys their asses and forces them to use that derogatory name they learnt so well. We’re no conformists #ASIJIKI
16 Sep 2012, 11:55 am
Pops always says “meh”
16 Sep 2012, 15:05 pm
@nkqo6-337: No conformists? You’ve literally tried to reference every possible stereotype and you say you don’t conform? Don’t be ridiculous.
I’m sorry, but for all the people commenting on CC being watered down and a **** competition etc… it’s a whole helluva lot nicer to watch than the dreary nonsense delivered in the RC. All 4 teams look pretty terrible… no innovation or creativity.
All Blacks are being physically bullied by everyone and rely on moments of brilliance, Aussies just cling and try to survive, Argies play about as negative as one can, but the Boks, cherry on the cake, are dishing out the worst kind of rugby I’ve ever watched.
CC is soooooooo much better.
16 Sep 2012, 15:54 pm
@nkqo6-337: LOL, dont blame you supporting the AB’s- way less embarassing than watching your useless bra Zane Kirtchner succeed at being the worst fullback in the world week in week out.
16 Sep 2012, 23:26 pm
The sites most boring & tedious comments yet,and that takes some doing.Come Morpheus,Come.
17 Sep 2012, 05:30 am
I have to admit that I didn’t even watch the game. The nature and outcome was a foregone conclusion. HM needs to realise that, at best, his mates in the coaching team haven’t stepped up. At worst they are useless. The players, almost to a man, have proved themselves in previous tests and the S15. He needs some serious help in the coaching department. If he can’t realise that he’s dumber than even I thought and should go; now. Bring back PdV and **** Muir et al!!
17 Sep 2012, 07:56 am
@poppa69-309: 14 straight what exactly?
I have to say the ABs are on the decline, the low quality of Steve Hanson is showing earlier than I would have thought. The AB forwards were as useless as the bok backline. Rischie made some good tackles but was not nearly as effective as he should be, I think FLouw had more pilphers/ penalties forced on the opposition.
We almost won a game against the All Blacks in Duniden even when we missed 7 penalties and Screwed up two overlap try opportunities?
The only players in the AB team that will make it to the next world cup as world quality players is Dagg and Read, the rest look flat.
17 Sep 2012, 08:00 am
@Big Hit-325: The fact is that there is only a couple of proper refs in the SANZAR nations, only Walsh and Joubert are really accurate at test level, while any other NZ/ OZ refs are diabolical!
18 Sep 2012, 15:51 pm
PETITION AGAINST MORNE