Steyn blows Dunedin lifeline
15 Sep 2012
RYAN VREDE reports on a deeply disheartening 21-11 Springboks defeat to the All Blacks in which Morne Steyn surely kicked his way into the Test wilderness.
Heyneke Meyer’s painful education as a Test coach continues. Tonight’s lesson was in accountability for selections and it was a harsh one. Meyer didn’t swing Steyn’s rudderless boot, which pushed four crucial goal kicks wide. But he did put him in a position to take those kicks when there were alternatives, one of which, Johan Goosen, embarrassed the incumbent by landing a 50m penalty and nearly sinking a near on 60m effort. Yet it wasn’t only his goal-kicking which vexed. So far was he in the pocket for most of the match that he may as well have been back in Pretoria.
Then there was the mistimed introduction of Dean Greyling, the prop whose inadequacies at Super Rugby level made his initial selection to the squad perplexing. Greyling would further entrench the widely-held perception of Springboks players as thugs with a cowardly forearm smash on Richie McCaw. Then he coughed the ball up with the tryline beckoning in the dying minutes and conceded a string of penalties. He must be heavily punished for his assault on McCaw and never see a Springboks shirt again.
There were others who failed – his beloved Zane Kirchner didn’t inspire once more, hooker Adriaan Strauss looked like a tanked up darts player, Juandre Kruger had no presence at the lineouts.
Where there positives? Perhaps. The forwards were outstanding in the tight exchanges on attack, setting a platform. But it was one that was never exploited thanks to a now chronic lack of attacking imagination. Defenders are seen as targets for rampaging Springboks carriers. Over and not around seems to be the law. The Blacks attack space so well and consistently free their hands to look for an offload opportunity. These things can be coached. The Springboks have the players with the capacity to play this way. That they are reduced to brainless machines that show no ability or desire to veer from a directive doesn’t bode well for the future.
On review they will primarily lament a butchered 7th minute opportunity and Steyn’s poor goal-kicking. The former was particularly frustrating in light of how few clear scoring chances they create. This one could not have been clearer, with Bryan Habana free on the wing. But passer and recipient lacked composure. Habana would, however, later score a try that was a throwback to his best form – break, chip, collect, brilliant.
Outside of the Blacks’ try that was birthed from a poor box kick, the Springboks were undoubtedly the better side for the first half – dominant in the forwards, competitive at the breakdown, sharp to loose balls and desperate on defence. They rumbled and roared through the heavies, driving into good field positions and forcing a string of penalties.
Here was the much-maligned Steyn’s opportunity to repay and justify the faith Meyer had showed in him in the face of severe criticism. Kicking all the points against the Blacks in Port Elizabeth in 2011, Steyn had saved his Test career. It was ironic that his kicking effort tonight, the primary strength of his game, would almost certainly end it, or, at very least, cease it until he rediscovers his form of 2009. There is no strong argument Meyer can mount for his retention. His time is up.
The Springboks trailed 5-3 at the break, but should have lead comfortably. Yet, for all their endevour, nothing about this game was unexpected. The Springboks were always going live with these Blacks for 60 minutes. The final quarter was always going to be the decisive period of the match.
The Blacks grabbed the initiative through a soft Aaron Smith try. Greyling should have been defending the fringe yet was caught in the backline. He further undermined the Springboks’ cause five minutes later when he stupidly, inexplicably, nailed McCaw, who was not involved in play. Idiocy appeared to have found it’s home in Greyling.
To their credit the Springboks redoubled their efforts, but the Blacks grew in confidence and while they never looked fluid on attack, they certainly had the measure of the predictable Springboks on defence.
There were opportunities to cause an upset, but those were squandered. Oh what could have been. This Blacks side is not the force they have been made out to be. They were there for the taking. Meyer’s education continues, but he cannot keep failing examinations through faults of his own.

345 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 » Show All
15 Sep 2012, 15:43 pm
@fantasyrugbyscout-146: Hate this sort of thing.Dont like the oke but neither do I like vendettas.The game is over.We lost.He will be dropped.As will Ruan.
15 Sep 2012, 15:53 pm
The guy has already blown his lifeline. The bomb exploded a long time ago. We’re really just looking at the fragments remaining of the Steyn creature.
15 Sep 2012, 15:56 pm
@ryecatcher-149:
And I only count 3 injured players and one suspended….
Not to mention, Stander,Coetzee, Kolisi, Daniel, Kanko, Kitshoff, Mostert, Fourie, Chilli, Burger.
The selections so far is actually starting to become mind boggling.
Mental toughness my asss. Just pick the best and you have won half the battle!
15 Sep 2012, 16:03 pm
i really wish a journalist could get a real question in at a press conference.
1: why do you persist with Steyn?
2: why do you persist with Knick Knacks?
I think without those two we would have a far better bok squad.
and well then there is Greyling? WTF LMFAO, i swear that oak got paid a shedload of money from the Bookies to throw that game.
15 Sep 2012, 16:12 pm
@Jeez-153: and Lambie.Hell we could almost put together 3 very strong teams.
15 Sep 2012, 16:13 pm
@wls1-154:
The backs looked clueless with ball in hand, that is more worrying that team selection. You can have the best backs, but if they arent coached how to read situations and have confidence in their training regarding: creating space, running good lines, offloading etc, then they will never do much better.
The boks need the best backline coach they can find. A guy with some decent credentials and experience. Eddie Jones did wonders for the boks because he had the knowledge and experience earned over a career of coaching creative play. Cant say the same for Loubscher….
15 Sep 2012, 16:22 pm
The problem is the coach did not or most probably would not see what the rest of the country did ages ago.
Not only did he only release him after 60, he left Lambie on the bench until 65, insulting at best. Then of course there is the substitution of Beast for no reason and it blue (spelling on purpose) up in his face.
He is showing now that he is at best stubborn, at worst a Blue Bulls Steyn lover. Best he changes drastically for the next match or there will be boos at Soccer City.
The gameplan is also a disaster – in that he is not alone, it appears JDV, who managed to lose a SuperSemi at home, thinks it’s also the golden ticket.
Pathetic.
15 Sep 2012, 16:24 pm
@ryecatcher-155:
Yep its ridiculous, to put it in even more bizarre context.
MSteyn is probably ranked 4th best 10.
Spies, before getting injured, 74th ranked 8.
Potgieter, wow what is he doing in a bok squad?
Flip definitely not one a test lock.
Kirchner probably the 4th best 15… but just not a test player.
And not too long ago Wynie Olivier was in the mix!
JDV also really needs to admit that he is at the end of his career…
So there you have 7 players who shouldnt even make a bok C team! How does that work?
15 Sep 2012, 16:29 pm
Imagine if the biggest culprit for today’s Bok loss – Dean Greyling – was a player of colour. This website would have been full of thinly veiled comments about the quota system and how transformation is killing South African rugby and how this marked the beginning of the end of South Africa as a force in world rugby.
As it happened, Greyling came on for a black player (who almost every pundit has suggested did very little wrong when he was on the field) and ended up making a fool of himself. Amazing how life can be ironic sometimes isn’t it.
The other big culprit – Morne Steyn – well imagine if he played for WP. Do you think Meyer would have been as patient with him – especially when there are two very able replacements on the bench in Goosen and Lambie ? Elton Jantjies has also in my view done more than enough to merit selection. Fact is Steyn is currently 4th choice among fly halves in SA; so why he is in the starting line up is a real mystery.
Maybe it is just me. But, I do detect a grading system for selection by Meyer of which the major tenets in respective order are: 1. Size and gruffness; 2. Lack of intelligence; 3. Afrikaans speaking; 4. Blue Bulls player. Form and ability seems the furthest thing from Meyer’s mind at the moment.
By the way, if anybody sees him, please tell him to do away with that walkie talkie. He looks like a real prat every time he speaks into it.
15 Sep 2012, 16:50 pm
@Crazyone-159:
Who the hell does Meyer shout to? If my boss shouts for 80 minutes at me, I wouldn’t pick up much besides a couple of key things. Or is he shouting the same thing over and over, which means all he is saying is Follow The Gameplan.
15 Sep 2012, 16:52 pm
I am sick of Meyer and all of his useless Bull picks – Steyn, Kirchner, Potgieter, Spies, Greyling, Werner fat Kruger and Flip vd Merve are all kak to a man – tested and failed in all of Meyers matches. None can claim to be the best in their positions in SA and all are fugging stupid.
Farku Meyer for choosing those ******** players from your union.
15 Sep 2012, 16:54 pm
Meyer into that walkie talkie- Bravo 16, Bravo 16 kom gou hiers groot k@k!!!
15 Sep 2012, 16:55 pm
@RugbyStudent-160: Thats probably exactly what he is saying ‘follow the vokken game plan, vollou the donnerse gameplan, volg die dekselse vokken gameplan!!!!’
There is no evidence that he could be shouting anything else. At some point HM will have to realise that the players are capable of more than just a kick and chase game plan and for that he will have to appoint a better backline specialist/ coach..
15 Sep 2012, 16:58 pm
@Jeez-163:
If I was Supersport, I’d hire a lip reader. Would probably provide a lot of insight.
15 Sep 2012, 17:06 pm
HEYNEKE
F O K JOU
15 Sep 2012, 17:09 pm
@RL-161:
Forku?
Meyer is a p o o s
15 Sep 2012, 17:10 pm
Meyer “I thought mornes kicking would come right in the second half” seriously, seriously that’s your response. Where thefuck have you been the last 3 months
15 Sep 2012, 17:11 pm
Enough is enough. And to think I was one of the guys singing meyers praises before he started
15 Sep 2012, 17:11 pm
Bok forwards were great. Totally dominated the AB pack.
Then we have yet another Heyneke moron coming on Greyling.
Goosen is the answer to Bok rugby
Heyneke is retarded
15 Sep 2012, 17:14 pm
False hope.
15 Sep 2012, 17:19 pm
@Bok fan-167:
Where did you read that quote? He seriously needs to admit that the backline is to blame for this loss and they are to blame because they tried to implement a dinosaur game plan with a flyhalf who has no confidence. I pity MS because he has been overplayed and is just not the answer for the boks. The coach should make the tough but simple call and drop him. Im sure he will take it like a man.
Jantjies deserves to be in squad too and be the deputy 10 from now on.
15 Sep 2012, 17:20 pm
Kick chase, kick chase, kick chase — how is this strategy working out? Welcome to The blue bulls brains trust!
15 Sep 2012, 17:20 pm
@NZINCHINA-170:
Hey NZ in yellow ****** land. The Abs were k@k.
Lucky for you the Boks have a retarded coach
15 Sep 2012, 17:21 pm
yellow m o n k e y land
15 Sep 2012, 17:23 pm
Hey **** f ace there was nothing lucky about it, coulda shoulda woulda pal.
15 Sep 2012, 17:23 pm
F O K HEYNEKE
15 Sep 2012, 17:24 pm
Change your approach orfuck off. My beloved boks are too nb to me to have a stubborn idiot coaching them.
Even the Meyer diehards must have lost their patience by now
15 Sep 2012, 17:24 pm
@NZINCHINA-175:
LOL you belong in yellow m o n k e y land sicko
15 Sep 2012, 17:25 pm
Kom Heyneke…….. Pine Pienaar for new back-line coach…………..
15 Sep 2012, 17:28 pm
thing is you fuckers think you’ll beat us in SOWETO no chance
15 Sep 2012, 17:29 pm
All the obscenity!
Where are the CC game threads
15 Sep 2012, 17:30 pm
@Dawn-181:
Look a little more carefully and you will find them.
15 Sep 2012, 17:31 pm
Griekwaaas!
15 Sep 2012, 17:32 pm
Really?
15 Sep 2012, 17:35 pm
@Dawn-183 Griekwas the new Free state? Best running rugby team in the country.
15 Sep 2012, 17:42 pm
@Crazyone-159
lease leave the “race” card out of this. Most people on this site are decent people talking rugby. Go somewhere else with this rubbish!
15 Sep 2012, 17:50 pm
171 Jeez. Agreed, I stopped blaming morne ages ago. Can only blame the selector when the player keeps doing the same thing week in and week out and then you act surprised when it happens again. Sounds a lot like a definition of stupidity.
Quote was on supersport.com
15 Sep 2012, 17:50 pm
171 Jeez. Agreed, I stopped blaming morne ages ago. Can only blame the selector when the player keeps doing the same thing week in and week out and then you act surprised when it happens again. Sounds a lot like a definition of stupidity.
Quote was on supersport
15 Sep 2012, 17:53 pm
14 straight for the black machine
15 Sep 2012, 17:56 pm
Man-o-man but Elton is a genius and is in the same class as the Goose – what a pass what an amazing try.
The players not in the bok team but much better than those fckuking pathetic Bulls mentioned earlier
Elton beats Morne any day of the week.
Kirchner is dogshit and should be replaced by Taute, le Roux or Coetzee.
Potgieter is kak but apparantley “better” that Brussow, what a joke that piggypotty is.
Spies is a poor mans Whiteley.
Greyling must be flogged to death and replaced by KIitshoff or JC Janse v Rensburg.
That fatty Werner Kruger is gone now and should never, ever have been selected ahead of Cilliers.
Flip vd Merwe fark him, give me Franco vd Merwe any day.
15 Sep 2012, 17:59 pm
Rl… Yes elton plays a decent game in a kak std competition where griquas farks up every team even elton and his lions… Biggest difference between elton an goose is the boot… Goose puts it over from his own tryline… Elton only takes kicks in the opp 22
15 Sep 2012, 18:00 pm
A full strenght bulls team will beat griquas by50 plus… Even in kimberley
15 Sep 2012, 18:07 pm
26 out of 26 votes cast in my website poll on whether to keep Morne Steyn want him gone. It’s unanimous!
15 Sep 2012, 18:10 pm
@grant100-191:
Still is way better than the offerings from Pretoria. Take off your blue tinted glasses and see the game for what it is.
15 Sep 2012, 18:21 pm
On a possitive, Vermeulen; Alberts; Louw, were sublime for the most of it
15 Sep 2012, 18:24 pm
@BokkeYouBeauties-195:
I don’t take positives from any loss mate. They are happening far to frequent…
A positive is winning with a team chosen on merit – not different rules for different dudes…
15 Sep 2012, 18:28 pm
@grant100-191:
Elton has kicked 7 out of 7 today. Now what is your point? What a troll! What a doos you are.
15 Sep 2012, 18:37 pm
hehehe Greyling flogged to death….lol
ah, dont we just love it when we play shoulda woulda ifa games.
They are the best, I lost half my hair,… nearly an ear, poked my eye, hurt my foot, ..broke my hand and a window while watching this game! Who says supporting the boks was not as physical as playing for them!
ahhh…
15 Sep 2012, 18:46 pm
@grant100-191:
Hei, why dont you VOKKOF for good.
Wat het jou base Morne, Fransie, Jean, Ruan, Dean, Flip en al daai kak spelers vandag gedoen?
VOKKOF, dom
15 Sep 2012, 18:50 pm
@BokkeYouBeauties-195:
Agree somewhat. I thought they would go MIA in the 2nd half but they played their hearts out.
Well done to them.
Now if only HM will start Brussow (6), Flo (7) and Vermeulen (8) with Alberts and Coetzee on the benh in the return leg, I think we’ll have a chance of winning our two home games.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 » Show All