Greyling out for fortnight

Dean Greyling has been handed a two week ban for his forearm smash on Richie McCaw.

Greyling pleaded guilty to the charge, which saw him flying into a ruck and driving his forearm into the face of a defenceless McCaw.

Greyling has been suspended from all forms of the game for two weeks up to and including 30 September, which means he is available, if selected, for the final Test against the Blacks in Soweto on 7 October.

116 Comments

• 51.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Saw this comment in the Week-end Argus….

“In anger, Morne Steyn kicked the wall in the SA change room in frustation….. but he missed”.

• 52.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-46: That’s because you pronounce it sockism. Confuses the hell out of us.

• 53.viewer: Reply to this comment

He couldn’t hit the target on a Las Vegas hooker if he tried

• 54.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup-52: my mistake

I should have pronounced it

“shorchasm”

• 55.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@wls1-2: that was my immediate thought too, they’re thinking ‘we need this guy in the Bok team’ :)

• 56.Hondo: Reply to this comment

He should have done a better job, but the blame is squarely on the coaching
    Staff
    There was no attempt throughout the test to curb McCaw’s illegal activities in disrupting and slowing down the Boks ball at the breakdown and at the rucks, hard men like Robbie Kempson, James Dalton, Kobus Weise or
    Bakkie Botha would have taken care of McCaw’s transgressions in the appropriate manner :-D
    Not so the Choir boys of the Stormers: Louw, Vermeulen or Bekker and the rest of the forwards.
    Greylings’ now in a unique club of James Small, Johan Le Roux, John Allan, Andre Venter and Bakkie Botha of those who tried something to stop the cheaters at the absence of the referee action.

• 57.Nils: Reply to this comment

I guess okes should appeal for him to get at least twice as much, thus reducing any possibility for Heyneke selecting him again in near future.

Farken ANZAC conspiracy again to get the Bokke any way they can.

• 58.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@sparticus-42: I agree totally!! Greyling can’t scrum properly: look at his head come scrum-time – he is scrummaging wide – that is: his head almost always stays on the outside of the opposing tighthead. It means BLUEBOY that the power of the lock behind him is forced to the outside and not forward as it is supposed to be !! If you can’t see that you know nothing about scrums!! Speak to anybody that has played in the front row!!
    Therefore: if Greyling can’t sort out his basics, he should not be picked at International level!! I’m not even speaking about his “penalty awards” to the opponents!!

• 59.BULLET: Reply to this comment

@Cane 41 – LOL! I liked that one.
    But seriously, was there any evidence that he was playing dirty, or was it just stupidity by my Bokkies again.

• 60.The Donkeys Egg: Reply to this comment

Have they cited Habana for cheating yet ? When he’s not constantly offside or hitting rucks from the side, now a spilled take on the sideline ‘wasnt touched’. Why must a gifted player stoop so low ?

• 61.bokgat1: Reply to this comment

@The Donkeys Egg-60: So you must be saying that he did it intentionally? What ****. Perhaps he should have owned up – please think

• 62.The Donkeys Egg: Reply to this comment

Greyling will feel hard done by given that Vermeulen got away with a flying headbutt, also on McCaw. McCaw had a blinder, regardless of the targeted thuggery.

H.Meyer ” I pride myself on my team discipline” ?

• 63.bokgat1: Reply to this comment

Even though its bad sportmanship, would prefer it on rather than off the field. Npt sure all the pressure piled on HM is quite justified. He is more of a disciplinarian than most and can’t make changes that quicly either given the inexperience in the team. Stabalise the ship first then take it to the next level. Goosen, Lambie, with some of the old guard in Schalk, Smith. Just wait!

• 64.Tuna: Reply to this comment

JC Janse Van Rensburg….
    Give that man a Bok jersey.

• 65.DAS: Reply to this comment

@The Donkeys Egg-62: Agree, regardless of what anyone says, McCaw is still performing at such a high level considering the amount of first class rugby on his body over the years.

• 66.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@Tuna-64: SPOT ON

Will OUTSHINE all the other LH’s currently plying their trade.. and leadership credentials in spades.

• 67.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Who cares if its 2 weeks or 2 years

• 68.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

And for the record Mc Caw will always be a target when he keeps playing the ball on the ground on the wrong side of the ruck

• 69.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-68: …while off his feet

• 70.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-69:
    Hi there
    Yes and grabbing an opposition player with the other hand, while still on the ground and on the wrong side of the ruck

• 71.RL: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-69: @CoachPete-70:

That is why we call him McCheat. :grin:

• 72.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@RL-71:
    Well they say you are only a cheat when you get caught
    I am not sure what some Refs see sometimes
    he was sitting on his in the middle of a ruck trying to play the ball and the opposition
    Now I dont like what Greyling did at all, and there is no place for it but i can understand it.
    And just before greylings transgression Vermeulen tried to clean him out of there too
    How could the ref miss what he was doing?

• 73.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

sitting on his butt

• 74.John Galt: Reply to this comment

What an unbelievable opportunity to beat the ABs in Nz…blown because of 1 player pretty much.

That is the last time we’ll see MS in a bok jersey methinks.

If not, my faith in HM will have evaporated. Really thought he was more flexible and less blinkered than this. Thought he had moved on from the game as it was 3 seasons ago. Apparently not.l

• 75.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-73: Watch the replay, he was on his feet a split second before until Vermeulen headbutted/shouldered him in the head to the ground.

• 76.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-75:
    The definition of a split second is:
    When you are stopped at a red light in Rome and there is a guy in his italian sports car behind you The time from when the light turns green to when he hoots at you is a split second :)
    In other words no time so RM was never on his feet :)

• 77.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-74:
    Three players and one coach actually

• 78.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@Tuna-64: @fitz1ella-66: Fully agree. By far the best LH this season. Giving everybody a torrid time at scrumming. Give the guy a chance..
    Fitzy, some very good posts in the previous article. YOUR BEST EVER !

• 79.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Two weeks seems a bit light…..but thats the way it goes sometimes…..I’m sure Greyling will learn an important lesson from this, especially the responsibilty of trying to never let your team mates down because of brainless acts. I think he will come out of this a better player if…..lesson learnt.

• 80.Boksarenumber1: Reply to this comment

Greyling is not a Bok
    Pity its only 2 weeks

• 81.thegreatanubis: Reply to this comment

SANZAR Are Pretty Clever, Im Sure If It Was Gurthro Or Beast It Would Have Been More Than 2 Weeks. Only Reason They Gave Dean Two Weeks Is So He Can Screw Us One Last Time.

• 82.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Some of you guys are a joke.
    One minute you complain as the banning of a player is always longer for South African.
    Then when it seems a banning is not long enough you all complain that we are trying sabotage your team

• 83.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-76:
    Coach, point is Richie was on his feet,and for those who are a bit blind and sour, Richie was NOT off his feet nor was he on the wrong side.
    Fact is both Bok players came in from in correct entry.

• 84.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-69:
    Don’t bother BH. You missed the game obviously.
    Richie was knocked off his feet by an incorrect entry from Vermeulen.
    Don’t go around and playing with your SA friends, that don’t need another one eye fool.

• 85.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-83:
    Well we disagree. He often plays the ball in the rucks while off his feet
    In this case he was trying to do the same but was also on the wrong side of the ruck.
    So i guess you see it in favor of RM we see it different
    And so do many other rugby fans around the world
    But if he can get away with it then good luck

• 86.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-84:
    Maybe he sees it like all of us do
    Funny how RM is never at fault but some many know he is.
    Vermeulen tried to clean him out from behind a legal entry or he would have been blown too, because RM was trying to win the ball while on our side of the ruck
    Whats sad is he still continued to

• 87.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-85:
    Have you seen the replay at all?

• 88.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-86:
    He a hater.
    Its fine but when someone hates a player, course he will find anything that player does is illegal.

• 89.Greenies: Reply to this comment

Richie cheats left right and center. He just happens to have all the refs licking his balls, sooo
    he is allowed to get away with it. But we are all waiting patiently, his time will come…

• 90.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-85:
    Vermeulen cleans out Richie who was on his feet and ends up on his backside away from the ball and Greyling comes flying in with the forearm to finish him off.Its obvious that Richie is a marked man and opposition sides are targeting him for special treatment, yet he still goes about his business and leads by example and long may he continue.

• 91.Manona: Reply to this comment

@Greenies-89:

I thought that was Pocock… or was it Phil Waugh… or Kronfeld…

• 92.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Greenies-89:
    Richie will continue to torment you guys up to his last game in the black…..his greatness will be put to song for the Saffas…..”Don’t blame it on Ihe IRB……Don’t blame it on the referee….Don’t blame it on poor handling………Blame it on Richie”

• 93.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Greenies-89:
    Waiting patiently?
    Not what it seems like so far.
    All we have seen is SA play 4 games in the RC and 2 players been caught head butting and elbows to people on the ground.
    IS that you guys waiting patiently….lol

• 94.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-93:

Get off your high/moral horse doos, little Kevie was headbutting recently as well, and he connected……….young Eban did’nt even connect.

@Te Rangatira-92:

Then he will continue to cop it on the shnoz…………jeez even with our c rap gameplan you boys still need to play against 14 to win :)

• 95.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-90:

Don’t think he will walk when he’s 35 though…………….

• 96.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@whatever-94:
    Well mate thats the price you have to pay when the opposition target you as the best.
    @whatever-95:
    As long as he can still moonwalk….

• 97.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-96:

He may have to see a plastic surgeon as well…………

Can’t fault his commitment and a bigger engine in a 7 is yet to be seen!

• 98.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-88:
    I am not a hater read my other posts I think he is a great player
    but he get away with some cheating on the deck
    I am not the only one who says this.
    We should do the same
    Yes a saw it a few times Te Rangatira confirmed vermeulen’s clean out was fine
    Greylings was not

• 99.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-98:
    Only variation is after been cleaned out by vermeulen legally,
    RM started moving back again to stick his paws in the ruck , thats when he got nailed by Greyling illegally

• 100.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@whatever-94:
    Mealamu recently?
    2 years ago now.
    But carry on trying to cover what we can all see. Your team does not have a very good record. And no one else is to blame.
    Doos, this doos that, ******* childish garbage

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.