Meyer admits Morne mistake
16 Sep 2012
Heyneke Meyer says he may have erred in keeping Morne Steyn on the field against the All Blacks in Dunedin.
Steyn, whose missed penalty kicks cost the Springboks wins against England in PE and Argentina in Mendoza, had a poor first half with the boot at the Otago Stadium and many expected him to be replaced by Johan Goosen at half-time. Meyer, though, kept faith in his No 10 and it proved costly as by the time he was subbed in the 59th minute he had been successful with just one attempt out of five.
‘Sitting here afterwards it is easy to make calls but it is a life and death situation for me and maybe I made the wrong call but Morne usually comes back and kicks well,’ Meyer told a news conference after the match. ‘Frans Steyn is a great goal-kicker and Ruan Pienaar can kick as well. You don’t just take a guy off for his goal-kicking.
‘I’ve always said that I am going to bring Johan Goosen through and give him game time. But Johan had struggled with his goal-kicking in training during the week and he is still only 20-years-old and he hasn’t played for almost three months. I thought he did superbly for the 25 minutes he was on the field.
‘But we could have changed the goal-kicker. We talked about it at half-time. I thought Morne would find his rhythm.’

378 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 » Show All
16 Sep 2012, 21:41 pm
listening to mallet and mitchell in the studio has been bloody enthralling…..
16 Sep 2012, 21:43 pm
dont care what anyone says, the french played well in the RWC 2011 final, but they were never going to beat the ABs and neither were the aussies, the Boks however had the talent to match the ABs, and i reckon tho it is probably biased to say so, that the Boks would have beaten them – it was an outstanding team.
16 Sep 2012, 21:45 pm
Guys I feel optimistic
Just talking about the loosies and locks and the change at 9 and 10
With new centers like Ebershon , Jordan and Serfontein and wings like JJ, Le roux and A Coetzee and Full back like taute
and with Bismark back and some good prop selections
Add to that HM putting his stuborn pride aside, vary the game plan
We will have a great team
16 Sep 2012, 21:47 pm
Flo is the missing ingredient in the Boks loose trio..
Flo should have started the WC quarter final and burger should NEVER have been given the be all end all ball carry role
F. Louw is the correct candidate for Boks captain once JdV bows out..
I said almost 2 years ago that out of all the players currently in SA after the J. Smit era that F. Louw and Jean de Villiers were the 2 captaincy credible options as national leaders going forward.. and it should have happened PRIOR to the WC 2011 .. J. Smit was a liability and disruptive interference we could NOT afford.
Keegan Daniel is next in line behind them.
16 Sep 2012, 21:47 pm
@David-299: I watched every stormers game at newlands for years….still do….
Flo and schalk played left and right often…..
Before that there was a ‘ behind the scenes war ‘ with Luke and Schalk…..
Schalk wanted the 6 jersey , even though Luke was streets ahead of him at the time….
Ended up with Luke at 8…..playing amore to the ball role…..as schalk was never good enough in the opensider role….
Schalk had 2004…..
But after that the pitbulls destroyed him consistently……
Flo saved his hide a few times as he naturally played to the ball as well……
Schalk is many things….an opensider he is not….
Flo played left and right with Schalk…..
16 Sep 2012, 21:49 pm
PdV vs:
England
Played: 2
Won: 2
Lost: 0
Win percentage: 100%
France
Won: 1
Lost:1
Win percentage: 50%
Ireland
Won: 1
Lost: 1
Win percentage: 50%
Australia
Played: 12
Won: 4
Lost: 8
Win percentage: 33.3%
16 Sep 2012, 21:50 pm
@CoachPete-303:
I wouldn’t bet on HM changing his game plan to any great extent. What you’re suggesting is that we an succeed despite HM, because of the players.
16 Sep 2012, 21:50 pm
The most frustrating time for me was when stormers had JoeV N ….Luke and Schalk…..
and egos ruined it….
16 Sep 2012, 21:51 pm
@fitz1ella-304:
I wont disagree with that too much
So you would have ?
6. Louw (capt)
7 Daniels
8 Vermeulen
or
6 Louw
7. Coetzee
8. Daniels
or
6. Louw
7. Alberts
8 Daniels/ vermeulen
16 Sep 2012, 21:52 pm
@grant10-305:
you been speaking alot of sense, but luke watson was never ‘streets ahead’ of schalk burger. Watson was perhaps v unlucky not to be selected for Boks, but i dont think he was a fetcher in the brussow mode – watson was actually probably closer to mccaw. If we had a tight 5 that dominated like the ABs, then maybe, but i would pick Burger over him every time. When Burger was injured, then there probably was a case for Watson as Mallett pointed out, but Burger was IRB player of the year in 05 and was in phenomenal form.
16 Sep 2012, 21:53 pm
@nama1-300: I didn’t count home tests otherwise all those easy victories against Namibia and Welsh and Samoan and Italian and Scottish touring teams give the impression these coaches know what they doing
When we faced England in Paris 2007 WC they were NOT top 5 nations anymore they were ranked 7th behind AB’s, France, Aus, SA, Ireland, Argentina, England and then Wales.
16 Sep 2012, 21:53 pm
@David-307:
Yes I am. ultimately they play the game not the coach
Players just need to slip him is bi polor meds to calm him down
16 Sep 2012, 21:54 pm
@cab-310:
He played one game V Samoa
16 Sep 2012, 21:55 pm
My take on HM is that if he plays Goosen he will have to stop the skop en jag…..I cant see Goosen being effective playing that brand of cowardly rubbish….
It is not in Goosens DNA….he is a Cheetah….his natural instinct is heads up…..scan and look for space ….
Seen this kid enough to know we have something special…..fark maybe our very own Carter
16 Sep 2012, 21:57 pm
@CoachPete-313:
yes, but the whole thing was shrouded in controversy, he didnt want to play and so we didnt see what he could really do – but no ways was he streets ahead of burger as these guys like to suggest.
Burger in his prime was phenomenally good.
16 Sep 2012, 21:58 pm
@grant10-305:
I’m not arguing about the left/right roles, just how Flo operated. Smith, Waugh and Ritchie were both tackler and similtaneously the contester, whilst Schalk was the tackler and Flo the contester at the breakdown.
There is no reason that Flo and Brussouw cannot be in the same run on team. Flo is a strong ball carrier but means that we’d rule the breakdown with Biz included. That means the game is half won already.
@cab-310: In 2006 till about 2008 Luke was a brilliant fetcher….but you right, more like a mc caw than a Brussow….Luke is masquerading at 8 now…..posing and modelling sportsclothes….I want to see him get down and dirty like he used to…havent seen it yet….
As good as schalk has been, he has never impressed me as an opensider in the ‘ fetching ‘ sense….ever.
16 Sep 2012, 21:59 pm
@grant10-314:
I agree
HM will just have to embrace it
Just let s not have pienaars slow service.
Thats why we need Daniels to keep up with him
16 Sep 2012, 22:01 pm
@grant10-318:
i think thats probably right, altho i have seen burger fetch the odd ball, so not as inept as many make out, but no he didnt have the subtelty of watson, but not nearly as doff and one-dimensional as many on here suggest just because of his style of robust play.
16 Sep 2012, 22:01 pm
@garth-317:
We would rule the breakdown with Brussow and Biz, and even with Vermeulen if he was at 8, and if Daniels was 8 he is not to shabby at the break down
16 Sep 2012, 22:02 pm
@CoachPete-309:
Nope Daniel is best off bench not starting.. the ultimate loose forward sub .. but then so is Coetsee and Kolisi
Daniel is VERY much like a Luke Watson type operative when Watson was at his prime in 2005 / 06 only quite a bit faster but less combative and strong in the direct breakdown efficiency, but faster and big threat in open play and linking with backs.
I would always start Vermeulen at 8, to back up Vermeulen off bench would be one of Coetsee, Daniel or Kolisi
7 would be a horses for courses scenario.. if its brutal and tough then Alberts or Elstadt.. if its open and fast then Coetsee or Kolisi or perhaps Louw if Brussow starts at 6
Open side its a straight trade off between Brussow and Louw.. one to start , one off bench
Louw would be my next captain ahead of Daniel who is perhaps the only other candidate for captain now after Louw and JdV
Burger don’t make my team.. there is far too much better talent around than waste it to accommodate Burger who will never be the player he was back in 2004 – 2007
16 Sep 2012, 22:02 pm
@David-316: okay….sorry…misunderstood you a bit there….you are correct….Flo was a master after the initial tackle….
Yesterday he was tremendous….got pinged once after a classic steal, ref was wrong and to there credit the kiwi commentators were pretty vocal about the poor call…
16 Sep 2012, 22:04 pm
“Maybe i made a mistake”
Huge mistake douche bag
16 Sep 2012, 22:06 pm
yep Burger is now past it, but in his prime he was immense.
Still vital to Stormers who need a full squad system as was shown this year.
16 Sep 2012, 22:06 pm
@garth-317: fark….imagine those 3 pitbulls at the breakdown….kiwis will kak themselves boet….throw in Vermeulen who also gets down and dirty….
6 love…goodnight nurse …all over rover..
16 Sep 2012, 22:07 pm
@fitz1ella-322:
Yes makes sense for the 2 6 fetcher specialists Would there be place for to fetchers on bench?
And the 7s depending on ground and team
Possibly have Daniels and Alberts on bench too
Alberts to cover for lock as well as 7
16 Sep 2012, 22:08 pm
@cab-320: I believed the Brussow / schalk combo at 6 and 7 showed huge potential Cab….
16 Sep 2012, 22:10 pm
Ok boys very nice civil discussion I must say. Quite refreshing actually gentlemen
Cheer Skoppie , Grant, Cab, and David.
16 Sep 2012, 22:12 pm
Coenie Oostuizen led the fetching stats i believe, by quite some distance, so if thats your thing you could have him, bismarck, fourie and brussow and louw. Gotta watch the balance – The argies dont have a fetcher and they fking everyone up, hooper mccaw and all all – just plain old simply counter-rucking and hard strong forward play by the Pumas whove not conceed anything to the other teams thus far – great stuff – probably improve all our rugby too, was getting too loose.
16 Sep 2012, 22:12 pm
schalk knee is bad…wont play again this year……heard stormers after michael rhodes for depth next year
16 Sep 2012, 22:15 pm
@cab-330: Balance is essential Cab…agree with you…..
But its farken frustrating when HM sommer leaves all the fetchers out the squad….every 1 of them…..
Not even Brussow in a 40 man squad…
kILLED ME i TELL YOU….
@CoachPete-312:
I reckon a lot will depend on whether HM sees the 9 or 10 as the backline decision maker. If it’s the 9 as he seems to prefer, then Goosen’s talent will be compromised.
Brussow and Schalk was a flop at WC 2011
a Rassie styled flop
Brussow shouldn’t have started against Australia should have been Louw..
Brussow couldn’t protect Burger when Pocock dislodged the ball from his hands with his toe and Elsom crashed into him with Samo and Horwill scooping up the loose ball and easy against run of play try…
If it were Louw covering Burger at that critical moment don’t know if Aussie would have scored then..
Brussow is an out and out fetcher with a tough low center of gravity ball carry ability but Louw is a better hybrid for the heavy ball carry role.. better than Burger in most facets of either left or right flank in modern day rugby.
@CoachPete-329: so long coach.
16 Sep 2012, 22:16 pm
COENIE MAY PLAY NEXT WEEK AT 3 FOR CHEETAHS….WOULD BE PLEASING IF HE COMES THROUGH AT 3….WE LACK BRUTES THERE…AND THAT OKE IS HUGELY EFFECTIVE AT BEAKDOWN AS WELL
Fark…..sorry caps
16 Sep 2012, 22:17 pm
@CoachPete-329: cheers
16 Sep 2012, 22:18 pm
@grant10-332:
ja you are right, louw made a massive difference and brussow non-selection is plain simple crazy after what we’ve all seen him already do. if brussow plays badly and then u drop him, fine, but i mean the oke has a been a revelation for the Boks and now he’s right outa the entire squad ?!
16 Sep 2012, 22:19 pm
cheers all
16 Sep 2012, 22:19 pm
@CoachPete-329:
Night Pete
16 Sep 2012, 22:20 pm
Michael Rhodes a very good viable utility option for 7, and 2nd row much better than the Canadian or Tyrone Holmes.. shouldn’t have lost Quinn Roux who should have played against Sharks in the S14 semi.. that was outright STUPID of A Coetsee to switch Fourie from 2 to 6 and then to 8 when he had BOTH Armand AND Roux in his squad but used Fourie at 8 instead…
Would have whacked Sharks otherwise..
16 Sep 2012, 22:20 pm
yep toodle loo me off too, gdam aussies at loftus, what he gonna do.
16 Sep 2012, 22:21 pm
@cab-337: Criminal that by HM…..I threw the ducky right out the bath I tell you…
16 Sep 2012, 22:23 pm
@grant10-342:
LOL – i can imagine.
16 Sep 2012, 22:25 pm
I see your poor Oregon self styled independent thinker is STILL paranoid and sh’t scared to allow open debate on his censored site
what kind of closed minded cowardice pretends to champion open minded ‘independent’ thought but censors and manipulates every post or comment made?
16 Sep 2012, 22:27 pm
he’s a funny bugger that – i dunno why he doesnt let it go – u obviously pissed him off intensely.
16 Sep 2012, 22:32 pm
there’s a laidback surfer dude if ever there was one, i quite like him and big wise old T who talks **** about the walrusses and such-like – better be off.
16 Sep 2012, 22:38 pm
I thought I come rev him up a bit I haven’t been on there in maybe a year and I check it out today and they are STILL going flat out trying to discredit the values that actually put them all in the know as to where they think they are at now…
but each and every one of them are fighting with their own reactionary internal gremlins of trying to figure out what actually makes themselves tick
So I put some stuff out and he published a couple things but blocked the rest because it was getting FAR too close to the bone.. thing is I can’t even comment from my computer at home because he’s permanently blocked it so if I want him to open his mind to any idea then I gotta go and spend time and money from an alternate IP address.
Anyone putting themselves up as open minded free thinkers who censor and manipulate comments to suit their own agenda are seriously screwed up and tied up in their own form of self deception..
16 Sep 2012, 22:43 pm
Anyone who criticizes the Bok pack after Saturday’s display is purely biased. They were awesome. Except of course that bonehead from Pretoria who cost us the game.
Flo and Vermeulen were immense at the breakdowns and Alberts tackled the **** out of the AB’s.
Flip was outstanding in the loose, but I think that Kruger was a little out of his depth.
Beast was back to his old self and even Jannie’s defense around the fringes was superhuman. Just a pity he left it to said bonehead to defend there when Smith scored his try.
Strauss was everywhere and was leading that pack with distinction.
Problem, as has been said a gazillion times, lies with 9 and 10. The rest of the backline cannot be judged fairly if these two keep mucking it up. Maybe chucking Hougie out was premature – it is the gameplan that is making him look silly. Hougie and Goosen to combo when Pieterson is back.
16 Sep 2012, 22:48 pm
@GI POT-348:
There you go right ON the money..
And I was screaming BLUE bloody murder when they chucked Hougaard out of 9 and shoved Pienaar in instead..
turns out I was 100% right… Hougaard should have STAYED at 9 without ANY doubt… and play his NATURAL terrier style RUNNING quick distribution game…
FORGET the ou doos FdP up and under GARBAGE it has done us NO FAVORS in 3 years..
Go and CHECK the record books .. ALL those who STILL want to disagree..
16 Sep 2012, 22:55 pm
I think I know why JdV is playing poorly and feeling KAK generally most of the time in this goddamn poison chalice ‘caretakers’ role
If you read Keohanes twitter page he is saying FdP is being groomed for ok captaincy by Eoyt and is re structuring his *** deal
If that is the case then I don’t support HM whatsoever and I hope he sees his gat before the Eoyt even kicks off…
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 » Show All