From boy to man
18 Sep 2012
Frans Steyn returned to South Africa a more mature person and a better rugby player.
In the new issue of SA Rugby magazine, Steyn talks candidly about:
- How he got ‘swept away’ by his early success with the Springboks
- His ‘difficult’ relationship with former Bok coach Peter de Villiers and why he feels more at ease under Heyneke Meyer
- How being in Europe helped him to learn about the world and himself
- Why money was a factor in his move to French club Racing Metro
- People who questioned his loyalty
- Why he performed poorly when he was called up to the Boks to play Wales in 2010
- What he still wants to achieve in the game
- His struggle with the decision to return to South Africa this year
BUY THE NEW ISSUE NOW FOR JUST R5.95 (DIGITAL EDITION)
– Keo on why Heyneke Meyer needs to rethink the Springboks‘ game plan and get his selections right
– Adriaan Strauss finally has the chance to make his mark in the Springbok No 2 jersey
– All Blacks loosehead prop Tony Woodcock steps back for no one these days
– Ewen McKenzie on why the All Blacks are the best attacking team in the world
– Digby Ioane may clown around with his team-mates off the field but he gets serious when he pulls on a Reds or Wallabies jersey
– Pumas wing Gonzalo Camacho is part of a large rugby family
– French Top 14 clubs have had to release their Pumas players for the Rugby Championship – and they’re not happy about it
– The Springbok Sevens need support from Saru and the provincial unions if they are to be successful at the 2016 Olympic Games
– The Southern Kings need to field a competitive team in Super Rugby next year and show a big commitment to transformation
– Sharks centre Paul Jordaan has what it takes to play at the highest level
– Blue Bulls centre Jan Serfontein has achieved everything he aimed to in 2012
– SA Schools were too good for their European opposition in August
– Bakkies Botha is enjoying his time with Toulon, but he hasn’t given up hope of playing for the Springboks again
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter
Like SA Rugby magazine on Facebook

103 Comments
18 Sep 2012, 12:19 pm
@Skeppie-49: agreed.
but haters gonna hate.
18 Sep 2012, 12:23 pm
@NZINCHINA-50: when did i say i dont rate them?
i said both are overrated.
and nonu got bounced by fransie PROPER.
go watch again, i laughed and laughed and laughed.
18 Sep 2012, 12:24 pm
@rangerman-47:
Let’s wait and see then.
Some people are hoping that it will be the case (Fransie performing better with Goosen at FH) purely because Fransie hasn’t done anything up to now since coming back from France but they are not yet willing to admit to themselves that they might’ve been wrong about him as the back line savior.
yer but Ranger who had the last laugh?
I’m going to name my son Frans Steyn, Steyn being his second name.
18 Sep 2012, 12:25 pm
@NZINCHINA-50: Hmmm for my money Nonu was very, very good a few years back but has gone a little off the boil for me. SBW was brilliant, I hesitate to call him a great becuase he only played union for a couple of years but he certainly had the makings of a great. Fran Steyn also have the potential to be great
18 Sep 2012, 12:36 pm
Skeppie correct SBW was getting there, Steyn is over weight and not there at present, Nonu past his best we’ll have to wait for the AB back factory to churn out another star.
18 Sep 2012, 12:41 pm
@Skeppie-56: @NZINCHINA-57: i’d rather have SBW in my team than francois steyn any day!
18 Sep 2012, 12:43 pm
@NZINCHINA-57: I am not sure what Fransies ideal conditioning should be but either way I am sure the right people have their eye on it. I cannot call him great yet by any stretch but I do think he has the potential. Especially once he is playing within a different game plan with a different 10
18 Sep 2012, 12:44 pm
@Transformation-58: Yes for now but I would like to see Frans play outside a proper 10 first before I make final judgement
18 Sep 2012, 12:45 pm
@nama1-53: ja lets see nama.
it has been said ad nauseum that a flyhalf playing as deep in the pocket as morne does, does not give his backline any front foot ball or space to work but yet frans steyn haters still keep pointing fingers as though anyone else would do better?
i find it endlessly amusing
18 Sep 2012, 12:50 pm
@Transformation-58:
what would frans steyn be doing in your ab team anyway?
18 Sep 2012, 12:54 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-62: i’m talking a “franchise” cheese balls
18 Sep 2012, 12:55 pm
@Transformation-63:
cheese balls.
thats funny.
18 Sep 2012, 13:04 pm
SBW on present form would be selected at 12 ahead of Steyn everytime, that could change in the future when he returns in 2014.
18 Sep 2012, 13:07 pm
@rangerman-61:
…or maybe lovesick Fransie supporters thought all he needed to do was to pitch up and the Bok back line woes will be solved.
Last year JdV played next to Morne and he was blamed for our kak back line play. Nothing was said about “a flyhalf playing as deep in the pocket as morne does,” or him “not giving his backline any front foot ball or space to work.”
18 Sep 2012, 13:10 pm
The golden one needs to up his game in the Bokke jersey if the hype is to become reality.
@nama1-66: you see thats the kind of deflection that makes me laugh.
now its about last year and jdv
nama you are a funny guy.
@Transformation-63:
in that case, what would frans steyn be doing in your chiefs team anyway?
how you like them cheesy balls…
18 Sep 2012, 13:12 pm
SBW was hyped and delivered in his second season.
18 Sep 2012, 13:13 pm
@NZINCHINA-67: much like cruden?
18 Sep 2012, 13:17 pm
Yip but nobody in NZ is calling him a superstar the best around etc big difference
18 Sep 2012, 13:18 pm
@NZINCHINA-72:
could have fooled me.
18 Sep 2012, 13:24 pm
@rangerman-61: I have tried to get
this point accross so many times.Bacline play 101.BUT
drip…drip…. drip….innuendo.
18 Sep 2012, 13:27 pm
We dont tend to hype our players SBW the exception like you guys do, lets take Goosen he’s already taking the Bokke to the promised land ( AB win ratio) and then some aftet 12 seconds in the Bokke jersey.
18 Sep 2012, 13:33 pm
@NZINCHINA-75: China you are correct but I think a lot of the hype is based around his school career and some quanitfiables eg the 65m penatly he slotted when a schoolboy. Also remember we have not had a lot of 10 options over the last few years, this is one of our first real talents at 10, so obviously there is hype and excitement.
18 Sep 2012, 13:37 pm
@rangerman-68:
Deflection, you say?
Hahahaha……….
Facts boet. Last year JdV was criticized to no end for not delivering at inside centre. Nobody mentioned that he was playing outside of Morne.
Why should Morne be an excuse for Fransie’s lack of performance now?
One can also say that Fransie lovers who are currently saying, “Just wait for Goosen to be FH,” is defecting big time.
You’re the joker here, Ranger. You and the other who are still into the Fransie hype.
18 Sep 2012, 13:39 pm
Skep too much pressure on the young mans shoulders, how can he possibly live up to expectations, if he doesn’t perform hes going to get crucified.
18 Sep 2012, 13:44 pm
58.?Transformation
Exactly, but some don’t see why. For one, SBW picks a line to run (into space to draw defenders or beat the defence). But there we go, in Frans the Legend we have a bigger version of de wet barry
18 Sep 2012, 13:49 pm
* Some of the traits of de wet barry, to be fair
18 Sep 2012, 13:49 pm
@nama1-77:
deflecting although some of his disciples will be defecting in the near future imo.
18 Sep 2012, 14:34 pm
The ABs are on course to break the record of consecutive wins. SA better beat the ABs in 2 weeks time and stop this, because I don’t think it is a very good AB team. I think it’s more of a case of theer not being much resistance. The std of world rugby is pretty low at the momement and NZ are capitalising on this along with all the injuries in the SA and Aus camps.
18 Sep 2012, 14:36 pm
@blik-82: sound assessment
18 Sep 2012, 14:38 pm
@nama1-81: you’ve got him nama but he’s going to obfuscate like most guppys when caught…they said jdv was a “donkey” and indeed no mention of msteyn “in the pocket” was offered as a reason for jdv’s apparent poor performance but francois can’t be kak, it is either meyer’s rigid instructions or morne but never frans himself!
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-69: be original for once…
18 Sep 2012, 14:40 pm
@blik-82: are you admitting that our teams are kak compared to them?
18 Sep 2012, 14:45 pm
Blik we’ve been capitalising on it for decades don’t try and make yourself feel better about your shite record this year.
Big T it you are coming up to the 10 year mark without a victory against the world champs, you must be getting a little excited could be your year next year champ.
18 Sep 2012, 14:51 pm
@NZINCHINA-78: Hence my calls to manage him. Bok rugby has probably had the best locks, loosies and maybe at a strech best centre combinations in the world for a while now (pre 2011 WC). But we have not had the best front row, back three or most definitely halfbacks. While Fourie du Preez was world class he never played with someone as good as Carter. Hence why we get so excited about a really talented number 10
18 Sep 2012, 14:53 pm
Frans Steyn is over rated (in my opinion Ranger)
18 Sep 2012, 15:25 pm
@Transformation-84:
voetsek!
18 Sep 2012, 18:00 pm
Frans is an over-sized farm boy. He’s loved though by the Pseudo-Liberals & those hankering for the old days
18 Sep 2012, 18:04 pm
@Transformation-84:
> they said jdv was a “donkey” and indeed no mention of msteyn “in the pocket” was offered as a reason for jdv’s apparent poor performance
So Morne played for the Stormers as well for the last two years as Donkey didn’t score many tries either as did their backline?
Maybe it’s Grant’s fault this time?
Donkey can’t do no wrong
18 Sep 2012, 18:11 pm
@87 skeppie: boks have certainly had world class locks and looses over the last 10 years. Best in the world? That
Would be a big call apart from matfiield when he was at his peak.
There will be seasons when particular players might be the best in the world. But you can’t claim that your locks and looses have been consistently head and shoulders above players like Martin Johnson, mccaw, kaino, pocock, the French no 8 and no6, brad thorn etc etc.
I get that you woul prefer to have your beloved Bok players in your Dream 15 over these foreign players. But that doesn’t make them the best I the world.
18 Sep 2012, 18:17 pm
@ skeppie: your current locks are just average, yoruba looses are good but hardly the best in the world. And your centre pairing is weak – Fran’s is over weight (and IMHO overrated), and jdv is out of position and past it. Neither of them have the pace to create or take a gap.
18 Sep 2012, 18:17 pm
Damn iPad auto correct….
18 Sep 2012, 18:19 pm
@viewer-90:
> Frans is an over-sized farm boy
You wish
Frans isn’t into that stuff
Which position did you play for the Polsmoor Shower team, Hooker or FULL-back?
18 Sep 2012, 18:30 pm
82.?blik said: ?
18 Sep 2012, 14:34 pm
I’ve been thinking the same thing; ABs are dominant without hitting any sort of heights. The players that have been lost in the past 5 seasons include Jack,A Williams,So’oialo,Collins,Muliana,Howlett,Hayman,Somerville,Oliver,Sivivatu,Rocokoco,Rico Gear,Thorn,McDonald,Mauger,Kaino,SBW to name a few. All quality internationals
18 Sep 2012, 18:34 pm
What stuff? Do you read too quickly
18 Sep 2012, 19:09 pm
Frans is average. JDV is poor but if MS is making Steyn look poor then the man inside JDV is doing likewise.
I agree with Nama. Its convenient to blame MS for Frans’s failings yet JDV wasn’t afforded the same luxury. Steyn isn’t a bad player – just above average. He aint no SBW – he aint even in the top three in his position in the world. Adequate.
18 Sep 2012, 19:28 pm
@viewer-90: is that why nama doesn’t like him?
18 Sep 2012, 20:56 pm
Frans Steyn’s only opportunity for greatness lies in him playing at 15. He is not going to set the world alight at 12 – regardless of who plays at 10. He is too big – no footwork and not enough explosive power. At 15 his vision, strength, unpredictability, huge boot and strong defense will make him a world beater.