Meyer must invest in Louw

JON CARDINELLI writes the past two Tests have shown why South Africa needs a loose forward all-rounder like Francois Louw in the starting mix.

What do Louw, Richie McCaw and David Pocock all have in common? The answer is: Not one thing, but many.

They may differ in terms of the level of competency across the various facets of forward play, but the common denominator is that all three men are not out-and-out specialists. They’re not limited to a ball-stealing or ball-slowing role at the breakdown.

Forget the tag of fetcher, it’s a label that’s far too simplified. A modern-day openside must possess the necessary size and skill to be a good lineout option, ball-carrier, and momentum-stalling defender. Above and beyond that, he should have the ability to manipulate the flow of the game through his exploits at the breakdown.

Louw meets Heyneke Meyer’s loose forward criteria in that he is a ‘momentum gatherer as well as a momentum-stopper’. Meyer spoke of these criteria during the England series, but where the Bok coach got it wrong was in his back-row selections for those three Tests and much of the Rugby Championship.

Between Marcell Coetzee, Willem Alberts, Jacques Potgieter and Pierre Spies, there was not one player capable of playing that fetcher’s role, and thus there was no balance in the Boks’ approach. The absence of such a specialised skill was later exposed in games against Argentina and Australia.

Having a player like Louw in the starting line-up gives the Boks more options. He has the ability to play to the ball, and also meets Meyer’s criteria of what’s required of a Test loose forward. This was clear in last week’s Test in Dunedin, where Louw carried and defended powerfully, but also added that X-factor element at the breakdown.

Louw has long been considered an excellent fetcher, his performance in the 2010 Super 14 leading to his first Test cap. As the laws have changed and the responsibilities of an openside have changed, Louw has been forced to improve his game in other aspects of forward play. Louw can offer more than an out-and-out breakdown specialist like Heinrich Brüssow as a ball-carrier, physical defender, and lineout option.

In short, he’s the kind of player you need if you hope to enjoy sustained success against the All Blacks and Wallabies.

It took a string of loose-forward injuries for Louw to receive this opportunity, as Meyer has been reluctant to field players who are competing in overseas competitions. However, it has become increasingly evident over the past two years that there is no South African openside based locally or abroad that is in the same hybrid category.

The All Blacks have McCaw and the Wallabies have Pocock. Coaches build game plans around these players. It is something for Meyer to consider as he reassesses his playing strategy ahead of the home leg of the Rugby Championship, and the end-of-year tour.

It was unfair to expect great Test performances from Louw in Perth and Dunedin considering the last time he was involved was at the 2011 World Cup. And yet, the 27-year-old delivered when he started against the All Blacks. With more time to settle, with Meyer’s backing and assurance that he is more than just a stop-gap measure, Louw could become an important and game-shaping member of the Bok side.

I’m not suggesting that Meyer should completely dispense with promising youngsters like Coetzee. The 21-year-old flanker has impressed as an individual this season but that Bok back row has lacked balance whenever he has started.

There may come a time when Coetzee is ready to play a hybrid role and when he has fully developed the skill-set to do so, but at this point Louw is the complete package and must be backed.

Follow JC on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

331 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 » Show All

• 251.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@cane-248: nah, the bear would just bite your head and crush your skull in seconds like it does with a seal.

it would be over quick.

• 252.katman: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-249: I know. Nikita has that pair of eyes pointed straight at you.

• 253.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@cane-248: Figure of speech. You know there are no bears in SA, right?

And besides, how do you know they try to shag people? It’s not a big sheep bud, calm down, the hot flush will vanish after a glass of water

• 254.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@katman-252: happens on the other thread.

i see a massive set of….jaws?

its strange.

• 255.Bismarck Burger: Reply to this comment

@Puma-247: The point of introducing them slowly is valid, but only if we fear that we can hurt a player’s confidence – but how do we affect Lambie ngatively if he only needs to catch and kick if asked to slot into the current gameplan?

• 256.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

I still don’t get how a coach can have a 42% win record and still believe he is on the right path?
    I’m sorry, but this hardheaded bliksem is getting on my nerves….and I suspect everyone elses. If he loses both games in SA then surely he must be shown the door.

• 257.rangerman: Reply to this comment

thoughts go out to the familes and loved ones of the south africans killed this morning in kabul by suicide bombers.

3 pilots, 4 engineers and an admin girl were blown up.

my brother in laws mates and colleagues.

he arrived back in sa on saturday.

• 258.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-257: sjoe. close. Sad, saw it on news 24

• 259.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-257: F arkin religious nutcases!!!

• 260.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-242: Me personally want Goosen in there PRONTO, but he can take the cautious approach as long as this is the end of the line for Morne. Elton or Lambie to start then as soon as Loftus. If Morne is even on the bench I’ll be one peeved customer. Time for jokes is over. But to me that would be too much of muchness anyway. Jantjies, or Lambie for that matter, hardly boasts much more international experience at 10 than Goosen. Just get the kid in there. He looked very much at home in his first 30 odd minutes at Test level and can only get better.

• 261.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@Puma-247: Meyer told Lambie hes his No.2 choice at fullback so he prefers Zane

• 262.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-258: @Atreides-259: too hectic.

we are all a little shaken and obviously devestated for the families.

my wife also flew for the same company in kabul so ja, its hectic.

gonna take a break chaps, tjorts.

• 263.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-257: Sorry to change the subject but 2E1 = not A Mac then. No sister.

• 264.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@UptheGuts-260: I have said a few times we need to manage Goosen slowly but I have no problem us starting him at home for the last two games. I just didn;t want them throwing him to the wolves in Dunedin

• 265.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-263:

What

• 266.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-265: It’s in code Dawn

• 267.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-266:

What code is this

CIA
    FBI
    CBI
    NCIS
    Scorpions

• 268.blik: Reply to this comment

The ABs are on course to break the record of consecutive wins. SA better beat the ABs in 2 weeks time and stop this, because I don’t think it is a very good AB team. I think it’s more of a case of theer not being much resistance. The std of world rugby is pretty low at the momement and NZ are capitalising on this along with all the injuries in the SA and Aus camps.

• 269.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

any word if Brussow has / will be added to the team ?
    Louw is good but Brussow’s work rate cant be compared Ive never actually seen him miss a tackle .

• 270.nama1: Reply to this comment

@grant10-184:
    So, JDJ will sit and collect splinter for another three weeks at least.

Damn Meyer.

• 271.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@logie_Jumpbuck-256: jurie roux said they won’t be even entertaining firing meyer, they are there to give him all the tools to make a success of his job, not to sack him!

• 272.grant10: Reply to this comment

@nama1-270: He should start against Wallabies imo Nama….

JDV is no 13 …..HM may as well use Home leg to experiment a bit now….

15 Lambie
    14 Jpp
    13 JDJ
    12 F Steyn
    11 habana
    10 Goosen
    9 Hougaard
    8 vermeulen
    7 alberts
    6 flo
    5 A Bekker
    4 Etsebeth
    3 Jannie
    2 A Strauss cappie
    1 beast….

bench JDV
    KIRCHNER
    pIENAAR
    j kRUGER
    CILLIERS
    MARCELLE

• 273.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10-272: jdj vs aac hhmm

• 274.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@katman-252:

Really.

• 275.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-273: pEOPLE FORGET WHO HAD BEST DEFENSIVE RECORD IN SUPER RUGBY FOR 2 YEARS IN A ROW….

this with so called ‘ small ‘ players like Aplon and Juan De Jongh….

• 276.katman: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-274: I do something wrong?

• 277.nama1: Reply to this comment

@grant10-272:
    Hope so.

5 weeks on the bench can make you real rusty.

If we lose against the Aus next week, I hope HM goes full out with experimentation’s against the AB the following week.

Play Lambie, Jantjies/Goosen, de Jongh, Vermaak (not my favorite but he is there now) and Mvovo in his starting line up and let us see how they go.

We know all there is to know about the so called senior back line players. They really did not impress as a unit so far. The young bucks can’t be much kakker than what they are at the moment.

• 278.grant10: Reply to this comment

@nama1-277:
    We are sadly lacking in ‘ ballas ‘ at the Boks….

we play kak then blame lack of experience ‘

I blame lack of guts….

The serial offenders last few weeks have been JDV, M Steyn , R Pienaar….[ amongst the backs ]…

These so called experienced players are the actual biggest culprits most of the time….

• 279.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@katman-276:

Not at all Katman. Remain focussed.

• 280.katman: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-279: I am nothing but focused, Nikita. Eyes front and all that.

• 281.stapuitdaarvoer: Reply to this comment

Jon says, “A modern-day openside must possess the necessary size and skill to be a good lineout option, ” – Jake white had this argument about why he chose Schalk, for his extra lineout potential, as opposed to an out and out fetcher. How many times did we see Schalk take a ball in the lineout for the Boks? This line (scuse the pun) of argument falls flat. I’d argue the same about Louw – he’s never going to take a ball in the lineout. Taller he may be than Brussouw, but he’s still not lineout material.
    “ball-carrier,” Louw is bigger but size doesn’t necessarily mean you are going to knock over the man in front of you – that’s the philosophy through which the Boks seem to be doing so badly by in their last few tests. And at test level, more than size is needed. If you ask me, Gio Aplon manages to knock back or over more opposition than many bigger players manage.
    “and momentum-stalling defender. …
    Above and beyond that, he should have the ability to manipulate the flow of the game through his exploits at the breakdown.” – Brussouw won us the tests against the Lions with his breakdown exploits, he’s an acknowledged master in this field.
    Louw can offer more than an out-and-out breakdown specialist like Heinrich Brüssow
    “as a ball-carrier,” – isn’t that Albert’s and Vermeulen’s job?
    “physical defender,” – Brussow is an incredible defender, tackles with intelligence, knows when to take his man, makes many tackles and rebounds very quickly from a tackle ready to make the next one, , and have you seen the size of his forearms? Knocking the man back in a tackle looks good and makes the crowd feel nice but does it win the ball? The all Blacks don’t mind being knocked back as long as they retain possession. Watched Richie Macaw get smashed backwards by Juan Smith once but Richie was already resigned to a retreat and just made sure the ball came back on the all Black side. And I remember when the only player in the Australian team who could bring down Jonah Lomu was George Gregan.
    “and lineout option.” – seeing as how Louw never will be thrown the ball in a lineout, I don’t see how this is relevant?
    It’s so disappointing to see HM continue with Jake’s obsession with size at the expense of other attributes, attributes which the Springbok team desperately needs. No good having all your ostrich sized eggs in one basket. Look who scored a try against us last Saturday, the tiny All Black scrummie, look who ran rings around the AB’s in the world cup some years back, the small French winger, Dominici.

• 282.grant10: Reply to this comment

Lambie absence frustrates Plumtree

——————————————————————————–

18 September 2012, 15:14

Springbok utility back Patrick Lambie’s unavailability for Currie Cup duty this week has left Sharks coach John Plumtree a frustrated man.

Lambie was not among the players released by the Springboks for round seven of domestic action, despite playing just 14 minutes in the past six weeks.

His last full match was in the Super Rugby final on August 4 followed by nine and five minutes in the Rugby Championship against Australia and New Zealand respectively.

“I think Pat Lambie is pretty desperate for some game time,” Plumtree said.

“I think there might be one or two others like him as well.

“So it is a little bit frustrating but those are their (Springbok management) decisions.”

The coastal team face the Lions in a top-of-the-table clash in Johannesburg on Saturday.

The Sharks have been boosted by the return of winger Lwazi Mvovo and hooker Craig Burden, who were both training on the Kings Park outfields on Tuesday.

“They always add value and Craig Burden and Lwazi are two great players,” Plumtree said.

“So it just gives us that little bit of extra depth.”

The Sharks have a woeful recent record in Johannesburg, having not beaten the Gauteng team on their home turf in their last three visits.

They were twice ousted on the Highveld last year, including being trumped in the Currie Cup final, while they also lost in 2010.

“We know how tough the Lions are going to be,” Plumtree said.

“We haven’t won up there for a long time now and they’ve found some really nice form.

“So we’re going to have to be at our best and certainly a lot better than the last few times we visited their home ground. It’s a really big game for us.”

Plumtree felt the key to upsetting the Lions was to negate the effect of Elton Jantjies, the stand-out flyhalf in the competition to date.

“Elton’s got a great skill set,” he said.

“He’s a player that can play deep, he can play flat, he’s kicking game is very accurate, he’s goal-kicking is accurate.

“The Lions always play better when he’s playing very well, so he’s someone we’ll have to make sure doesn’t have a big game against us,” Plumtree said.

“There have also been reports in recent weeks linking the young number 10 with a move to the Sharks next season.”

Plumtree confirmed that talks were ongoing with the Lions, but stopped short of naming Jantjies as one of their targets.

“We have been talking to certain players from the Lions, but I’m not prepared to talk about who they are,” he said.

There are no fresh injury concerns for the Sharks, and they have instead been boosted by the return of Steven Sykes

• 283.cane: Reply to this comment

@katman-280:

You are focused alright Katman.

Most deviants are.

(unofficially I agree with you 100% in what you may or may not be alluding to.)

• 284.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@blik-268: That record means little as the current record holders are Lithuania. What a joke!

• 285.grant10: Reply to this comment

@stapuitdaarvoer-281: spot on….Brussow is a rare gem….and we choose to sommer leave him out a 40 man squad!!

Lekker mal en dom!

• 286.katman: Reply to this comment

Cane speaks for himself. I have no idea what he’s referring to. Ever.

• 287.grant10: Reply to this comment

Tyrone Holmes (Gallo Images)
    Related Links
    Bok fans slam Div ‘outburst’
    Much to ponder for WP coach
    Boks freed for Currie Cup duty
    Cape Town – Western Province No 8 Jebb Sinclair has escaped further sanction following his red card against the Sharks in Durban last Saturday.

Flank Tyrone Holmes, who was also issued with a red card for punching during WP’s 43-27 defeat, was handed a one-match suspension, and will miss WP’s next Absa Currie Cup clash against Griquas at Newlands on Saturday.

Kick-off is at 15:00.

Thank goodness…..

I thought I may have to watch WP play Skop at openside and Robzim at blindside this coming weekend…..!

• 288.Jonck: Reply to this comment

WP flanker Tyrone Holmes has been suspended for one week for his red card against the Sharks. Jebb Sinclair received no further punishment ~

The penalty that he will get from WP rugby will be mush harser(a team with one less play for last 28 minutes has about no chance in winning)

• 289.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@nama1-277: no man, the aim is to WIN at home, experiment on the end of year tour!

• 290.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@grant10-285: Netso Grant.Absolutely shocking to think that he is not considerd as one of the top fourty players in SA.

• 291.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-290: Even more shocking is to think that Jaques Potgieter IS considered to be in the Top 40.

• 292.grant10: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-290:
    Brussow must of seriously upset HM at the one on one meeting…..

Because that was the most illogical call I have seen since the continued persistence with Smit over the premier Hooker on the planet Bismarck…..

Just made no rugby sense……

• 293.grant10: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-291: yes…..and JJ Engelbrecht over JDJ….

Aplon omission for Kirchner…..

seriously farked up calls…..

• 294.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-291: True.You can add Dean Greyling to that list as well.

• 295.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@grant10-293: @wnbb-294: The thing is….that oxymoronic coach has now ensured ‘strained relations’ are the order of the day with all of these players.
    Don’t care what anyone says, when a coach snubs world class players like that….it is very hard to build a solid working relationship moving forward. Yes, its a professional era and players should be able to shoulder the blows and coaches selections….BUT: Meyer fuckedupbigtime with a few fellows. His man management has been amateur and superfuckingKAK. (And it’s still going to come back to bite him on his blueballs…)

• 296.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

Wouldnt be surpised if there are rifts forming and cliques developing in the team and in the fringes of Bok selection..

• 297.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-295:
    IMO Meyer was never up to the job and only succeeded at the Bulls because of pure luck and a freakish collection of quality players.
    His high school motivation methods only seemed to work on the some of the planks in snor city.
    It is clear that the current players (JdV especially) are not a happy bunch. They have probably already seen through his thin facade.

• 298.grant10: Reply to this comment

HM bettter get it spot on for the home leg….

I am trying my level best not to get too negative……and the F Louw call made me happy….

But this game plan and love affair with M Steyn is making me seriously question HM acumen….

• 299.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

@TooMuchRugby-297: He’s plainly been way out of his depth so far, but the true measure of his value will be how he adapts from now on. Will he take onboard the lessons that he’s so bluntly learnt firsthand, will he have the guts to replace his anonymous nothing coaching team, to slowly start peeling off the blue blinkers plastered to his face.

There’s a brave new generation of rugby players waiting in the wings, Heyneke has to be equally courageous.

• 300.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-296: There has to be…..it would be the natural order of things. Reading between the lines in the interview Lambie gave last week, it was actually quite clear. He said something to the effect of: “I’m working really hard, in fact harder than some who are starting…” or something in that line.
    @TooMuchRugby-297: If this Meyerfuckerproves me wrong, I am prepared to take every slap coming my way. Funny though, I feel rather safe at the moment :) (Wait until you see Morne’s name on the team sheet…..no ways he is going to be dropped for the Loftus test – oh fun times)

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.