Catrakilis joins Kings

WP flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis has signed a two-year deal with the Southern Kings.

Catrakilis has featured for Province during the Currie Cup over the last two seasons, but failed to make the match-day squad for the Stormers during this period. The lack of opportunities in Super Rugby is believed to be the main reason behind his decision to join the Eastern Cape franchise.

Cartrakilis will compete with George Whitehead and Wesley Dunlop, who have impressed in the Currie Cup First Division, for the No 10 jersey next season.

The 23-year-old follows Cheetahs centre Andries Strauss and Sharks lock Steven Sykes as the Kings’ new recruitments. Director of rugby Alan Solomons is happy with the quality of players his team has signed so far.

‘Demetri is the more experienced player among our flyhalves,’ Solomon told keo.co.za. ‘He’s shown great form during the Currie Cup Premier Division over the last two seasons for WP. His kicking at goal and out of hand has been excellent. I’m surprised he hasn’t played Super Rugby for the Stormers.

‘Steven Sykes and Andries Strauss also add plenty of value,’ he continued. ‘Steven has had a stint with Leinster in Europe and did very well for the Sharks during Super Rugby and the Currie Cup. He’s also a EP local boy, having gone to school at Marlow.

‘Andries will offer us plenty of experience and leadership. He’s shown his quality for the Sharks and Cheetahs in Super Rugby and travelled with the Springboks to Europe in 2010.’

Solomons added that the Kings have a recruitment plan in place to ensure they will be competitive in 2013. They only have a one-year guarantee in Super Rugby, and will have to feature in a promotion-relegation play-off against the Lions should they finish last in the South African conference next year.

‘We have a good recruitment plan in place, which will help strengthen our squad. Things have been going really well since it was confirmed that we will play Super Rugby in August. I’m confident we will have a team that can do the job next season.’

Meanwhile, Solomons confirmed that flank Luke Watson will be the first-choice captain going into Super Rugby. Watson leads the EP Kings in the Currie Cup First Division.

The player missed the opening rounds of the domestic competition due to a shoulder operation and a following quad strain. But he has shown great form in his four appearances, scoring eight tries which include two hat-tricks.

‘Luke is a player that will score plenty of tries for your team,’ said Solomons. ‘But it’s his general play that has been very impressive. He’s been in great form since coming back from injury.’

Watson’s form could be a boon for the Springboks, considering Heyneke Meyer’s team has struggled with injuries in the loose forward department. Meyer confirmed during his first interview as head coach that all South African players, including those playing in the Currie Cup First Division, will be in contention for national selection.

Solomons believes that Watson can add value to the Boks.

‘Luke has proven he is a quality player and he can make an impact at higher levels. But it’s up to Heyneke Meyer to decide on who he wants to use in his team.’

408 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 » Show All

• 301.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@katman-300:

No I dont

• 302.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@blue and white stripes-284: bwahahahahahahahahahaha :mrgreen:

• 303.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-302:

Nogal!

Kuk funny

• 304.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-299: I’m not coloured Dawn but I have been to Galaxy, but the last time was some years ago.

I’m only coloured in the sense that I”m sure that if you traced my ancestry back far enough on my mom’s side you would find a “skelmpie” in there somewhere. In fact i have and it goes back to a very famous family who originated when a farmer adopted the illegitimate son of a servant girl and gave him his name.

• 305.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-304:

No problem

Katman has it in his fur encrusted head that if you coloured you go to this place called Galaxy

I want to test the theory

• 306.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Where’s Skeppie

• 307.blue and white stripes: Reply to this comment

Stormersboy on the Cape Flats you will be referred to as a “halwe naatjie”.

• 308.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@blue and white stripes-307: Boet if your family has been in this country for more than 7 or 8 generations you would in all likelihood have something in there that Verwoerd would have disapproved of.

• 309.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@blue and white stripes-307:

Have you ever been to this Galaxy

• 310.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-305: If you went to Galaxy you would see mostly coloureds there, it’s true.

But I think it’s reaching to say that all coloureds go there.

I must say though, some of those guys and girls can dance!

• 311.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-310:

Yep

Given the dearth of any other productive skills, we move everything to the hips.

• 312.blue and white stripes: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-308:
    That is is very true.

They say coloureds only arrived 9 months after Jan Van Riebeek.

• 313.blue and white stripes: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-309:
    Met my wife there.

Was part of the furniture.

But haven’t been their in years……

The hot ladies look at you as if you old or something.

• 314.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@blue and white stripes-313:

Aha

So katman is right

ALL coloureds go or have gone to Galaxy

• 315.blue and white stripes: Reply to this comment

Yoh, with this blue and white persona I can just be myself……..

• 316.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@blue and white stripes-312: Exactly. And the Afrikaners were the worst of the bunch.

Kind of makes that whole Verwoerd and Malan business rather ironic doesn’t it??

• 317.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-311: :D

• 318.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-311: You know it’s funny, I went back a few years ago to my old High School for my 20th reunion. I looked at the awards photos on the wall and the rugby and swimming pictures have been replaced by awards for ballroom dancing, jazz quartets and the like.

Times change.

• 319.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@blue and white stripes-313: I may have “met” your wife there too.

What’s her name???

:D :D :D

• 320.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-318:

Diversity!

• 321.katman: Reply to this comment

ET was part of the furniture there too. I think he was a pouf.

• 322.blue and white stripes: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-319:

You were probably one of the white okes that took all the lekker coloured girls from us.

• 323.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-320: Yes indeed.

@blue and white stripes-322: :D Sorry couldn’t help myself.

• 324.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Some juicy little Cape Malay numbers running around…

• 325.blue and white stripes: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-324:
    Cape Malay women are some of the most beautiful women in the country.

But they were untouchable.

• 326.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-324:

Fern

Is that you

• 327.katman: Reply to this comment

EIsh, Zimbos kakking against our bowling attack. This is more lopsided than a Skoppie lavatory installation.

• 328.viewer: Reply to this comment

Trans, they’ve got you working overtime on Kings threads. “In defence of . . ” :D

• 329.blue and white stripes: Reply to this comment

Hey I’m outta here.

Will be back again when the Bokke win…….

Hopefully next week or the week after, if not then the Year End Tour.

Don’t worry, Goosen and Hougaard will take us to the promise land.

• 330.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@blue and white stripes-325: Untouchable…As in caste untouchable or farkme jislaaik untouchable…?

• 331.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-326: No, Stawmy… Why would you ever ask that… other than the fact we both Sharkies through and through…?

• 332.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@viewer-328: Nah, we got R40 mill now, they can fokkof :D

• 333.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-331: the lecherous nature of the post reeks of C.unt du Fernly!

• 334.David: Reply to this comment

@blue and white stripes-325:
    You sure? :wink:

• 335.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-333: Oh…Are you also Dawny now aka Tranny aka Megatron?

• 336.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-326: not sure if i’ve ever met a Cape Malay woman, anyone i would know who is Cape Malay?

• 337.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-335: according to Victoriabok i’m also aka Poppa aka Rossoneri :mrgreen:

some okes need kopdokters on this blog hehhe

• 338.katman: Reply to this comment

Kallis has taken 3 wickets for 2 runs at an economy of 1.2 an over. Now those are T20 figures.

• 339.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-336: I reckon I might like a bit of that dark honey complexion mopping the kitchen floor of my humble hut in a decent slinky maid suit… Had to put up with milky striking Gypsy complexion for the rest of my life…

Maybe a bit of a change will be as good as a holiday

• 340.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-337: Oke that need kopdokters are those professional blogsurfers who obsess about the true ID of bloggers and have this desperate need to meet eachother in actuality… Those are the real little devious fckers…

• 341.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-340: are you talking about Sheriff? :D

• 342.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-341: Maybe Sheriff and others… Farken obsessive devious little punks masquerading as the purveyors of moral blog behaviour… Those okes.

• 343.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-342: Sharks_Lover?

• 344.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-343: Huzzit Pielneus… How are you, my girly?

Cant stay much longer… Back later for my no.1 fan, okay?

• 345.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-65: Have you ever fired a gun in anger?Have you ever been fired upon?.Have you only ever seen white on
    black atrocities?You bandy “running away”and cowardice” with
    reckless disregard for the truth.HG is correct on “Revisionist his tory”

• 346.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-344: Oh I shudder with joy…..and then realise I’m on a fuckingpowerplate.

• 347.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-345: I like to think that I am actively non racist.I also like to think that I am fair.
    Transformation.Do you actually practise it or do you just talk about it?
    Like so many others here.Passively anti rascist..

• 348.grant10: Reply to this comment

Kings ask for rule change
    2012-09-20 16:47

Cheeky Watson (Gallo Images)
    Related Links
    Ackermann proud of Lions Luke Watson to skipper Kings SARU unveils Community Cup Cape Town – The Southern Kings have asked the South African Rugby Union (SARU) to allow them to use more than the two allowed foreign players in next year’s Super Rugby competition.

The Kings will play in next year’s event at the expense of the Lions, and have started building their squad for next season’s Southern Hemisphere showpiece.

On Thursday they confirmed the signing of Western Province flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis. Other notable recent signings also include centre Andries Strauss from the Cheetahs and Sharks lock Steven Sykes.

Kings president Cheeky Watson told Eyewitness News Sport on Thursday that they’re in talks with a further nine players, both local and foreign, and that while a South African player would be first choice, they have asked SARU if they could sign more than two foreigners if the need arises.

“It’s a decision that has to be made as we go along, because we may just land up being in a position that we don’t have to sign any foreign player,” said Watson. “So it’s a situation that one will know in the next two weeks.”

This comes after Watson revealed to the Rugby 365 website that they’re in talks to sign more high-profile names.

Watson said he was talking to a number of European-based players and several players in Argentina.

“We are talking to players all over the place,” Watson said on Wednesday. “We are talking to South African players based overseas and there are a couple of technicalities which we are looking at as we attempt to bring players on board,” said Watson.

Twelve players from the current Eastern Province team, including captain Luke Watson, have signed contract extensions through 2013. Luke Watson will also skipper the team in the Super Rugby competition.

• 349.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-125: Rough & tough and they came from the Bluff.Did you play with Keith Thompson?

• 350.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-137: Have you heard of the black
    elite?.Think Aurora.Ea ting sushi from a white womans naked body.Joe Modises offspring?F uck the poor.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.