Goosen bides his time

Johan Goosen says Heyneke Meyer has clearly communicated his reasons for delaying giving him a Test start but says that he feels ready to go.

Goosen has shifted into the national consciousness in recent weeks in light of Springboks’ flyhalf incumbent Morné Steyn’s poor form. Meyer had identified Goosen as a successor to Steyn from the outset of his tenure, but injury prevented him from using him earlier. However, with Goosen fit and showing glimpses of his potential in two cameos off the wood against Australia and New Zealand, there are mounting calls for him to replace Steyn for the home leg of the Rugby Championship.

Meyer has held his cards close as far as Steyn’s immediate future is concerned but he certainly has a sense of the pressure he is under to cut the player. He has consistently explained his rationale for holding Goosen back, stressing that how he is introduced into that Test fold will be decisive in shaping the player he will become.

Goosen said, having been briefed on Meyer’s reasoning, he was content with his role at present.

‘The coach has been great in how he has dealt with me. I’ve always known his plans and I believe those plans are in my best interests,’ Goosen told keo.co.za. ‘He has been very careful, especially in terms of my exposure to the media and so on. I’m patient. I know what the purpose of the plan is. But I also feel like I can make the step up to start if the coach asks me to. I feel ready.’

Meyer is unlikely to veer from his kick-chase approach for the Loftus and Soccer City Tests, which brings into question Goosen’s aptitude in executing the skills necessary to succeed within this framework. He is a player who enjoys standing flat to the line, taking that line on himself or keeping ball in hand in a bid to create opportunities for those on his outside. Goosen reckons that he will have to temper his natural instinct slightly if he starts, but scoffed at the notion that Meyer is conservative.

‘Of course you have to be a little more careful about your attacking play in Test rugby, defensive systems are so good and teams punish small errors. But that doesn’t mean the coach doesn’t encourage me to run the ball when it is on,’ he said. ‘I work hard on my tactical kicking, even though we don’t kick that often at the Cheetahs. I feel I can fit into the plans from a kicking perspective. But of course my strength is running the ball. There’s a lot of room for that with the Springboks and the coach encourages us to express ourselves. It is about assessing the opposition’s defensive set up quickly and taking that split second you have to go wide. I think that is the biggest adjustment you have to make from Super Rugby – the time and space you have is so much less.’

Asked what he thought of the vitriol that has been aimed at Steyn in the last week, Goosen said: ‘I feel deeply sorry for him. He is a great guy, so humble and he works so hard in training. He has won many, many Tests for the Boks. He is going through a difficult time now, we all do, and he deserves better than what he is getting from some people and the media.’

Follow Ryan on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

118 Comments

• 51.GI POT: Reply to this comment

@Kaizan-8:

Yeah, that is the whole issue, isn’t it; there are other better candidates than Steyn who are ready and have proved themselves over and over.

I see a future backline with Goosen at 10, Lambie at 12 and F Steyn at 15. The other positions can be filled by a myriad of talented, strong and fast youngsters who are knocking on the door.

My frustration is therefore not aimed at Meyer for not selecting Goosen; it is for sticking with Steyn when guys like Lambie and Jantjies do not get a look in – that is criminal

• 52.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@2k3-44:

the bulls are superkak at the minute. I have no idea why. I would hypothesize that the lack of a defense coach at the moment is telling for them.

oh, and our locks are playing supershit.
    and double oh….the CC is not over yet.

• 53.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-49:

maybe, but that smit oke also looks pretty decent for the cheetahs. So he is fighting it at for backup flyhalf in the cheetahs superrugby squad.

again, not quite the calibre that will win you a superrugby medal. Like the 2 Morne has anyway.

• 54.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Please let this be the team:

15 Francois Steyn 14 Gio Aplon 13 Juan DeJongh 12 Jean de Villiers 11 Bryan Habana 10 Johan Goosen 9 Francois Hougaard 8 Duane Vermeulen 7 Marcell Coetzee 6 Francois Louw 5 Andries Bekker 4 Flip Van Der Merwe 3 Jannie Du Plessis 2 Tiaan Liebenberg 1 Tendai Mtawarira

16 Adriaan Strauss 17 Pat Cilliers 18 Juandre Kruger 19 Willem Alberts 20 Ruan Pienaar 21 Pat Lambie 22 Lwazi Mvovo

• 55.David: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7-54:
    Oh dear, even as a WP supporter I can’t agree with that backline.

• 56.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-53: riaan is a wing that dabbles with flyhalf…why was naka playing tewis de bruyn on saturday?

• 57.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

Goosen and Jantjies, that’s the future…
    Say, is Elton staying behind on the sinking Bismarck (GLRU)? Could really just pop over the Jukskei, and form a half decent partnership with Francois Hougaard.

• 58.GI POT: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7-54:

I tell you what – I will take on anyone with that team. You can play any kind of game with them as well. Defense will be well organised in the backs because of the centre combo.

Frans at the back can attack with his strength or can make opposition pay with his big boot.

Brilliant loosie combo. Locks won’t stand back for anyone.

• 59.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7-54:
    De Villiers @ 12? Nah…
    Rather keep Fran Steyn there, De Jongh on 13 and either Aplon or Taute @ 15.
    She’ll come together nicely.

• 60.GI POT: Reply to this comment

@David-55:

Any centre will battle with Grant standing still when receiving the ball. The only option left to the centres is to crash ball. The same happens when your flyhalf stands too deep ala Steyn. Neither scenarios commit the defense.

• 61.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

Good news - Etsebeth should be available for the Aus clash @ Loftus.
    Better news - Greyling is not available for the Aus clash @ Loftus.

• 62.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@David-48: so the conference cup is a competition?

haha, like i said, only to the desperate buddy :lol:

• 63.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-11: I am certainly worries about that. It would be criminal to force Goosen into the same ultra-conservative mould that Steyn plays. I hope it doesn’t happen, but Heyneke has shown himself to be a limited coach in many aspects and I think turning Goosen into a Steyn-clone is a very real concern… You couldn’t be more right.

My point earlier was simply that Goosen needs to be eased into the Bok set up. Meyer has made a lot of mistakes, but at least he is not hitting the panic button and throwing the Goose in the deep end.

Steyn should have been dropped ages ago. Meyer should be held accountable for that, no doubt, but there should be a contingency plan with Goosen. He is too special to be thrown in the deep end.

@trupisero-10: “Old enough is good enough”… A lot of people parrot that same chant, but I would suggest that not all players are the same and a ‘one-size-fits-all’ approach is never a good way to manage players. Don’t forget, players are human beings, not commodities. Schalk Burger was brilliant when he hit the scene and so was Habana, but they play different positions. Flyhalf is a KEY position which demands much more technical precision and mental strength. For this reason, I would say we should ease young flyhalves into the Bok set up…. It’s just my opinion.

• 64.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

@Kaizan-63: Haha meant to “Good enough is old enough”. :-)

• 65.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Was Eben banned for 2 weeks or 2 matches?

Ie after this weekend will he have served his ban or must he sit out the Aus game as well?

• 66.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-27: You sharkies want to have a bunch of players waisting their prime years on the bench! Nah, Estebeth is fine where he is, thank you.

• 67.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-38: The lions won the CC and was last in the SR, so yes CC is nowhere near an achievement compared to toping the Super rugby log!

• 68.David: Reply to this comment

@GI POT-58:
    When was the last time you actually saw Frans attack effectively from the back?

• 69.David: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-65:
    2 weeks.

• 70.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-66: he would start for the sharks bud.

@goodstuff-67: its not a competition bud, sorry.

no matter how hard you wp fans want to punt it.

• 71.GI POT: Reply to this comment

@David-68:

A counter question: When was the last time you saw F Steyn distribute the ball with any intelligence, break the line at pace, create opportunities for his outside backs?

We are talking about potential here buddy. We are talking about what people are capable of when they are coached properly and the structures are put in place for them to fulfil their potential. That is what I want to see from a coach. All I see in Heyneke at the moment is that he is banking on certain players to take the lead on the field and do something extraordinary just to ease the pressure on him as coach. He has no proactive plan.

My suggestion that F Steyn plays at 15 is partly because I believe he has the potential to be a great 15, and partly because I want him out of the backline because his distribution, vision and creativity in that channel is about as good as Morne’s kicking. He has never had it. He at least showed some moons ago that he can be dangerous from the back on attack and defense.

• 72.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

SAD DAY.My all time favourite commentator,Murray Mexted has retired.

• 73.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-70: You said silverware, last I checked we have a two trophies in our cabinet, where is the Sharks silverware?

Also, what I ment by having players waste away on the sharks bench is your bloated teamsheet, and the sharks fans wanting every player to kom to durban and get screwed around. Deysel would start for any of the S15 teams, but is now on the bench more often than not. Riaan or Ludik would start for any number of S15 teams but either one is on the bench see Bosman etc. But that is not enough for you sharks fans.

Sorry, but Etsebeth was descovered by Oom Bekker and nutured at WP, so no, he’s no sell out ALberts.

• 74.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@GI POT-60: Preach the gospel my man.Some people just do not understand that a deep lying flyhalf affects
    the entire back line..Have been say this ad nauseam.Glad that you have taken the baton.Good post.

• 75.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7-54: Nevermind the backline, what the hell is Flip doing there? Ysterbeth is the future not 5 penalties a match Flip.

• 76.blik: Reply to this comment

15.Lambie
    10. Gooseneck
    5. Etzebeth
    4. Flippie

Jantjies on the bench
    Bekker on the bench

• 77.blik: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-72: Justin MArshal is the best comentator. He says it as he sees it. He is very unbiased, unlike most aussie & kiwi comentators.

Murray Mexted and Laurie Mains complained about food poisoning in 94 when Greegan tackled Jeff Wilson in the corner to win the Bledisloe cup. You tube it. … can only cry wolf once haha

• 78.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-72:

Why would he retire?

Also like his commentary.

• 79.David: Reply to this comment

@GI POT-60:
    I agree. As an ex 10 myself I always wanted the ball as flat as possible on attack, to be able to hit it at almost full speed.

• 80.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@blik-77: yeah I didn’t like Marshall as a player but he is an outstanding commentator, a breath of fresh air from other sneering one-eyed nitwits.

• 81.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@GI POT-71:
    Some of Fran Steyn’s “frailties” are……;
    1. Morne Steyn
    2. Lack of dominance at the tackle point post 2011.., think Bakkies, Matfield, Schalk, Guthro
    3. Poor Backline coach / or backline coach confined to Heyneke’s gospel.
    4. Impotent 13 in Jean De Villiers
    All of these can be remedied.

• 82.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-74:
    Not the case w.r.t. Peter Grant and Dewaldt Duvenhage at the Stormers.
    Grant, still playing flat could not create anything of substance – this is the exception to the rule though.

• 83.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@blik-77: I agree! I must admit I never liked him as a player and running into him at 80′s after games at KP never left me with a great view of him but he really does seem unbaised and fair. Listening to him he also seems like a top guy.

• 84.PielNeus: Reply to this comment

Holy Kak, Morne has about 50% winning with Boks ne?
    vokken Goosen klapping the Meyer Koolaid big time.

Listen Mense, did u know Meyer said Morne was GORGEOUS sometimes?
    Did you know he vraaged “Heaven or ***?” into the Walkie Talkie?
    Did you know he tryd order Nando’s in OZ test?

If you did not kno this, and much more terrible stuff – here is an entjie (small smoke)
    for you:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U38cRToxkSI&feature=vmdshb

• 85.PielNeus: Reply to this comment

SsEeXx – hoooooo waaaa

• 86.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@Pot Blou Gevaar-81: That post is dumb on so many levels.

• 87.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Would also pick Etzebeth at 4 but I thought he was injured & I had not been impressed with Flip until last week when he had a good match

• 88.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@PielNeus-84: hahahaha, thats very funny even if it is ****** offensive :lol:

• 89.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup-86:
    The floor is yours young man?
    :sad:

• 90.blik: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7-87:

4. Flip
    5. Etzebeth
    Bench: Bekker

That’s a very physical combination which allows you to have a faster lighter looseforward like Heinrich Brossouw and still have the physical dominance HM is looking for.

• 91.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-78: So did I.Cannot stand
    that other twit (Not JM) with the perpetual sneer in his voice.

• 92.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@Pot Blou Gevaar-89: Frailties are inherent All of those factors are other people. Of all the outside backs Fran’s is probably best suited to the gameplan HM is employing. We were fine at the tackle point against the ABs last week….what we need is a change in mindset and we will see talents of all our players being utilized better. I agree about Morne though. I still feel Fran’s offers us his best value at fullback.

• 93.Freerider: Reply to this comment

@blik-77: The most unbiased commentator ever. He’s the best.

• 94.nama1: Reply to this comment

@GI POT-71:
    “When was the last time you saw F Steyn distribute the ball with any intelligence, break the line at pace, create opportunities for his outside backs?”

Good question.

His supporters will just blame Morne, on his inside and JdV, on his outside for him not doing any of the above. :lol:

Btw, he is not the answer at 15 either. Apart from the odd booming clearance, he offers nothing special…definitely not as an attacking FB.

Play him of the bench ekse.

• 95.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@nama1-94: francois steyn is more hype than action these days! all this poppycock about a deep-lying flyhalf is just excuses…

the guy is taking the wrong options lately. i was at newlands and he BASHED & BASHED & BASHED the entire game…last week he wanted to steamroll over aaron cruden instead of taking the big gap next to the puny pivot and voila, he got tackled and turned over…dom dom dom!

• 96.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-80: The sneering nitwit is Grant
    Nisbett.Some classic Mexted one liners.

LIKE A BLIND M AN IN A BROTHEL.JUST GROPING.

“ANDY eLLIS”THE 21 YEAR OLD WHO TURNED 22 LAST WEEK.

I HAVEN,T HAD A KNEE OPERATION ON ANY OTHER PART OF MY BODY.

HEY ED,CAN YOU GET THAT ****** A D WITH THE FUCCIN SH.T RAVE
    MUSIC TO SHUT UP.i CANT HEAR THE RUGBY.

hE,S LOOKING BFOR SOME MEANINGFUL PENETRATION IN THE BACKLINE.

SPENCERS RUNNING ACCRO SS THE FIELD CALLIN OUT”COME INSIDE ME,
    COME INSIDE ME”

THE ALL BLACK SECOND ROWERS ARE HUGE MEN BOTH OVER 1 METRE TALL.HANG ON THAT WOULD MAKE THEM MIDGETS.

TAKEN FROM MURRAY MEXTED. FRIDAY FUNNIES

• 97.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-96: MEXTED QUOTES
    http://WWW.RUGBYDUMP.COM

• 98.Zandberg Jansen: Reply to this comment

I would play Frans at Full back. In the current setup he doesnt add any value at 12. Al least at Full back he can join in on the kicking frenzie or perhaps score 1 or 2 lucky drop kick from half way.

• 99.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-95: Still Transie it’s not fair to judge any 12 playing outside MS, I would rather judge FS after a few games playing outside Goosen.

• 100.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup-92:
    Understand, although last week was probably the first game of the RC 2012 (and even the English series) where we had notable stability at the tackle point; clearing effectively, turning over possession, and providing Ruan with clean phase ball. Hell, Pienaar looked like the 2007 player we admired.
    Fran offers more at 12 IMHO, like his strong performances hints to during RWC’s 2007 & 2011 – similar to Aaron Mauger next to Carter, he also offers another kicking option.
    Like M Steyn, De Villiers also has to go. Offers nothing on attack (chronic from his Stormers performances for a while now), and is slipping tackles at an alarming rate.
    With a dominant pack, I’d change the backline as follows;
    10. Goosen / Jantjies
    13. * De Jongh at the moment.
    15. Aplon / Taute
    *** we can look to bring through any of the emerging talents, like Serfontein, Venter, Jordaan, in the midfield.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.