Kings start at home

The Kings will kick off their 2013 Super Rugby campaign with a match against the Force in PE on 23 February.

Super Rugby was last played in the Eastern Cape region 13 years ago. The Coastal Sharks played one match in Port Elizabeth in 1998 and a second in 1999 as well as one match in East London in the latter year.

Last season’s finalists, the Sharks, travel to Bloemfontein to meet the Cheetahs while the season opens in South Africa with the North-South derby at Loftus Versfeld with the Bulls hosting 2012 conference winners, the Stormers.

The fixtures were announced by Sanzar on Friday in a new-look draw which features a staggered start, and staggered resumption after the June internationals, to accommodate the British & Irish Lions’ tour of Australia. The Australian teams kick off one week earlier, and close one week later, as well as resuming two weeks later in July after the international window, in order to manage the extended Lions’ schedule.

South Africa’s conference is unaffected with the Kings going into the bye week SA’s first round and then hosting the Sharks in the third round of South African action. They then host the champion Chiefs in round five before heading overseas for the first time for matches against the Crusaders, Hurricanes, Brumbies and Rebels.

The Sharks have their first home match in South Africa’s second round when they face the Stormers, who play their first home match in Cape Town on 9 March.

The tournament actually kicks off on 15 February but only Australian conference teams will be in action. The same will occur in round 17 (just before the Super Rugby season breaks for the June Tests), while rounds 18 and 19 (after the break) will feature only New Zealand and South African conference teams.

2013 SUPER RUGBY FIXTURES

ROUND 1 (Australian teams only)
15 February – Rebels vs Force, Melbourne
16 February – Brumbies vs Reds, Canberra
Bye: Waratahs

ROUND 2
22 February – Highlanders vs Chiefs, TBC
22 February – Rebels vs Brumbies, Melbourne
22 February – Bulls vs Stormers, Pretoria
23 February – Hurricanes vs Blues, TBC
23 February – Reds vs Waratahs, Brisbane
23 February – Cheetahs vs Sharks, Bloemfontein
23 February – Kings vs Force, Port Elizabeth
Bye: Crusaders

ROUND 3
1 March – Blues vs Crusaders, TBC
1 March – Reds vs Hurricanes, Brisbane
2 March – Chiefs vs Cheetahs, TBC
2 March – Waratahs vs Rebels, Sydney
2 March – Bulls vs Force, Pretoria
2 March – Sharks vs Stormers, Durban
Bye: Brumbies, Highlanders, Kings

ROUND 4
8 March – Hurricanes vs Crusaders, TBC
8 March – Rebles vs Reds, Melbourne
9 March – Highlanders vs Cheetahs, TBC
9 March – Brumbies vs Waratahs, Canberra
9 March – Stormers vs Chiefs, Cape Town
9 March – Kings vs Sharks, Port Elizabeth
10 March – Blues vs Bulls, TBC
Bye: Force

ROUND 5
15 March – Highlanders vs Hurricanes, TBC
15 March – Waratahs vs Cheetahs, Sydney
15 March – Kings vs Chiefs, Port Elizabeth
16 March – Crusaders vs Bulls, Christchurch
16 March – Reds vs Force, Brisbane
16 March – Sharks vs Brumbies, Durban
Byes: Blues, Rebels, Stormers

ROUND 6
22 March – Chiefs vs Highlanders, TBC
23 March – Crusaders vs Kings, Christchurch
23 March – Reds vs Bulls, Brisbane
23 March – Force vs Cheetahs, Perth
23 March – Sharks vs Rebels, Durban
23 March – Stormers vs Brumbies, Cape Town
24 March – Waratahs vs Blues, Sydney
Bye: Hurricanes

ROUND 7
29 March – Highlanders vs Reds, TBC
30 March – Hurricanes vs Kings, TBC
30 March – Chiefs vs Blues, TBC
30 March – Brumbies vs Bulls, Canberra
30 March – Cheetahs vs Rebels, Bloemfontein
30 March – Stormers vs Crusaders, Cape Town
31 March – Waratahs vs Force, Sydney
Bye: Sharks

ROUND 8
5 April – Blues vs Highlanders, TBC
5 April – Brumbies vs Kings, Canberra
5 April – Sharks vs Crusaders, Durban
6 April – Hurricanes vs Waratahs, TBC
6 April – Force vs Rebels, Perth
6 April – Cheetahs vs Stormers, Bloemfontein
Bye: Bulls, Chiefs, Reds

ROUND 9
12 April – Highlanders vs Brumbies, TBC
13 April – Chiefs vs Reds, TBC
13 April – Blues vs Hurricanes, TBC
13 April – Rebels vs Kings, Melbourne
13 April– Force vs Crusaders, Perth
13 April – Stormers vs Sharks, Cape Town
13 April – Bulls vs Cheetahs, Pretoria
Bye: Waratahs

ROUND 10
19 April – Hurricanes vs Force, TBC
19 April – Waratahs vs Chiefs, Sydney
20 April – Crusaders vs Highlanders, Christchurch
20 April – Reds vs Brumbies, Brisbane
20 April – Sharks vs Cheetahs, Durban
20 April – Kings vs Bulls, Port Elizabeth
Bye: Blues, Rebels, Stormers

ROUND 11
26 April – Hurricanes vs Stormers, TBC
26 April – Reds vs Blues, Brisbane
27 April – Chiefs vs Sharks, TBC
27 April – Brumbies vs Force, Canberra
27 April – Bulls vs Waratahs, Pretoria
27 April – Cheetahs vs Kings, Bloemfontein
28 April – Crusaders vs Rebels, Christchurch
Bye: Highlanders

ROUND 12
3 May – Blues vs Stormers, TBC
TBC – Rebels vs Chiefs, Melbourne
4 May – Highlanders vs Sharks, TBC
4 May – Force vs Reds, Perth
4 May – Kings vs Waratahs, Port Elizabeth
4 May – Bulls vs Hurricanes, Pretoria
5 May – Brumbies vs Crusaders, Canberra
Bye: Cheetahs

ROUND 13
10 May – Chiefs vs Force, TBC
10 May – Reds vs Sharks, Brisbane
10 May – Cheetahs vs Hurricanes, Bloemfontein
11 May – Blues vs Rebels, Venue
11 May – Waratahs vs Stormers, Sydney
11 May – Kings vs Highlanders, Port Elizabeth
Bye: Brumbies, Bulls, Crusaders

ROUND 14
17 May – Hurricanes vs Chiefs, TBC
17 May – Rebels vs Stormers, Melbourne
17 May – Force vs Sharks, Perth
18 May  – Crusaders vs Blues, Christchurch
18 May – Waratahs vs Brumbies, Sydney
18 May – Bulls vs Highlanders, Pretoria
18 May – Cheetahs vs Reds, Bloemfontein
Bye: Kings

ROUND 15
24 May – Chiefs vs Crusaders, TBC
24 May – Rebels vs Waratahs, Melbourne
25 May – Blues vs Brumbies, TBC
25 May – Force vs Highlanders, Perth
25 May – Kings vs Cheetahs, Port Elizabeth
25 May – Stormers vs Reds, Cape Town
25 May – Sharks vs Bulls, Durban
Bye: Hurricanes

ROUND 16
31 May – Crusaders vs Waratahs, Christchurch
31 May – Brumbies vs Hurricanes, Canberra
1 June – Highlanders vs Blues, TBC
1 June – Reds vs Rebels, Brisbane
1 June – Stormers vs Kings, Cape Town
1 June – Cheetahs vs Bulls, Bloemfontein
Bye: Chiefs, Force, Sharks

ROUND 17 (Australian teams only)
7 June – Brumbies vs Rebels, Canberra
9 June – Force vs Waratahs, Perth
Bye: Reds

ROUND 18 (South African and New Zealand teams only)
28 June – Chiefs vs Hurricanes, TBC
29 June – Highlanders vs Crusaders, TBC
29 June – Sharks vs Blues, Durban
29 June – Bulls vs Kings, Pretoria
29 June – Stormers vs Cheetahs, Cape Town

ROUND 19 (South African and New Zealand teams only)
5 July – Crusaders vs Chiefs, Christchurch
6 July – Hurricanes vs Highlanders, TBC
6 July – Cheetahs vs Blues, Bloemfontein
6 July – Kings vs Stormers, Port Elizabeth
6 July – Bulls vs Sharks, Pretoria

ROUND 20
12 July – Crusaders vs Hurricanes, Christchurch
12 July – Rebels vs Highlanders, Melbourne
13 July – Blues vs Chiefs, TBC
13 July – Waratahs vs Reds, Sydney
13 July – Force vs Brumbies, Perth
13 July – Sharks vs Kings, Durban
13 July – Stormers v Bulls, Cape Town
Bye: Cheetahs

QUALIFIERS
19 July
20 July

SEMI-FINALS
26 July
27 July

FINAL
3 August

201 Comments

• 1.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Go you Western Force Dragons!!!

I’m behind you all the way!!!

• 2.Puma: Reply to this comment

So Stormers will start exactly the way the Sharks did this year. Two away games against Bulls and Sharks. Tough start. We Sharks had to do it this year but still landed up in the final.

Good luck to the Kings. They gonna need it.

• 3.RL: Reply to this comment

The Kings will kick off their 2013 Super Rugby campaign with a match against the Force in PE on 23 February. a bunch of foreigners, some no name brand white players and one or two token Xhosa’s in their mix in PE on February 23.

• 4.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@RL-3: Puke will be the only xhosa in the side.

• 5.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

All this hate. :lol:

• 6.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@RL-3:

Aaaah shuttup

• 7.RL: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-6: whatever you say oh mighty toothless brokeback. :lol:

• 8.viewer: Reply to this comment

Kings are going to see their own hindmost parts

• 9.viewer: Reply to this comment

The chiefs & crusaders are amongst the teams to loosen their bowels

• 10.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

2013, the year of the shark

• 11.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Farking hell. Every second thread on this site is about the Kings. Mark whats Cheeky paying you for this.

• 12.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-10: Dit **** ons ook elke jaar…..

• 13.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

So I have to wait until round 18 to see a cricket score on Loftus……

• 14.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@RL-7:

Yes. I say.

So shuttup.

• 15.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-11: I would also like to know…

• 16.Winesy83: Reply to this comment

Wow that is one opening weekend I will not be watching.

• 17.RL: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-14:

:grin: = me showing teeth.

:???: = dawn showing teeth.

• 18.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

Kom Cheeky, wys hulle soos jy altyd gedoen het.!!!!!

• 19.skunk: Reply to this comment

Lions fans getting pissed because someone else has taken the hounor of the wooden spoon from them. Grow up and move on…

• 20.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri-5: don’t worry… we must just bliksem those blokes from perth who will be sans pocock and sharpey!

i’m getting excited :mrgreen:

• 21.viewer: Reply to this comment

RL!!

• 22.viewer: Reply to this comment

That’s Lowest Common Denominator type of stuff

• 23.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@RL-17:

Hahahaha

• 24.Puma: Reply to this comment

Just looking at the schedule of the Kings. They play:

Chiefs in PE
    Saders in Christchurch
    Canes – TBC

Now that is tough. 3 of New Zealands best one after the other.

Depends now who Kings are still to sign. I still think it don’t matter who they get, that is a tough 3 weeks for them.

• 25.Puma: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri-5: @Transformation-20: Who are both of you gonna support when Chiefs are playing Kings in PE? Chiefs or Kings? Be honest now.

• 26.jigga: Reply to this comment

The Kings will be the biggest joke to South African rugby. Waste of time

• 27.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Puma-25: who do you support when Chiefs play Sharks? be honest.

• 28.GI POT: Reply to this comment

Kings are going to surprise a couple of teams – they have a bloody good coach and they will be rearing to go. They will do better than the Lions

• 29.GI POT: Reply to this comment

@jigga-26:

Come now jigga – we have always had a joke in the S15 – the Lions, like all repeated jokes, are becoming a bit stale. Let’s have some fresh humour for a change

• 30.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@jigga-26: our waste of time jigga, the lions have had EIGHT fcking years of being a waste of time with “drie jaar plans” and “winning ways audit” all amounting up to NOUGHT!

pipe down…and enjoy the party…

champers in the box :D

• 31.jigga: Reply to this comment

@GI POT-29: Agreed , the bigger joke will be the 50 fans in the stadium watching them get their butts kicked.

• 32.grant10: Reply to this comment

Kings with my man Luke Watson are now officially my second team….

Hope to make a plan to get to PE to attend the first historic match.

Bllody exciting times for PE and the Eastern Cape….all the best …

• 33.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-27: So you answer a question with a question as usual, no manners.

I will answer anyhow. SHARKS always. But now who will you and Rossi support come the PE game. Chiefs or Kings? I think you may support Kings but not sure. Rossi supports Saders so will she be supporting Chiefs?

• 34.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Puma-33:

What does it matter

• 35.Dawn: Reply to this comment

You getting yourself into a froth over vokkol

• 36.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Stormers start Bulls Shark Cheifs……oooooouuuch.

• 37.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7-36: That is a very tough start for Stormers. Sharks had to start against Bulls and Stormers away this year, we made it to the final.

• 38.nkqo6: Reply to this comment

@Peter Mkata-18: baxelele mfowethu , abasifuni kakade asizubacenga

• 39.grant10: Reply to this comment

Just hope Stormers adapt a more attacking game plan this year…..

or Kings will be my adopted team….!

Cant take another skop en jag season AC…please boet..

• 40.RL: Reply to this comment

@Puma-33: the official PE All Blacks supporters club, with members like Rossi will be fine tuning their impromptu haka’s for the visit of the Chiefs and Highlanders – it going to be moerse party. Thousands of capesaders will be there too supporting their kiwi heroes. :wink:

• 41.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Puma-33: yeah a stupid question deserves derision!

i’ve ALWAYS supported the EP KINGS!

• 42.nkqo6: Reply to this comment

you can call him puke and all you want but fact remains he’s one of our braz ,dismantles that supremacy thing that come with that s h i t bok badge . crusaders and kings lets go

• 43.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@nkqo6-42: Farking idiot.

• 44.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-41: You always answer a question with a question. I find that bad manners and yes, rather stupid.

• 45.nkqo6: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-43: truth makes you uncomfortable ,i see

• 46.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@nkqo6-45: For the truth refer to post 43

• 47.David: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7-36:
    Nah, one easy warm up game is nice preparation for playing the Sharks. :lol:

• 48.SuperStirrer: Reply to this comment

@nkqo6-42: “…… s h i t bok badge”, yeah the same badge his father was willing to stalk the Bok coach for so that his son could be selected and wear it. Go figure.

• 49.Puma: Reply to this comment

@RL-40: That is the thing. Lions supporters all supported the Lions. I and everyone knows that there will be huge amount of support in PE for the Chiefs. Sad that actually because this is for THEIR people. Will Cheeky like that or Watson? I bet not that it is against THEIR team now. It will happen.

Look I feel for the Lions. I know they have not played well in Super Rugby, but really this was not the right way to bring Kings in. Kings should have played Currie Cup first and got ready for Super Rugby after 2015. It was for the huge talent that is in the Eastern Cape. I agree that Kings must be part of Super Rugby but they should have done it the proper way by having plenty of their local talent that we know are there. Two years in Currie Cup was all that was needed to help them for Super Rugby come 2016.

• 50.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@nkqo6-42: hey sukusiqhela wena!

the bok badge is a symbol unity, transformation and excellence!

phambili iKINGS!

• 51.nkqo6: Reply to this comment

@SuperStirrer-48: hahaha the aim was to get rid of that piece of s h i t masquerading as a badge .these craven torch bearers need to chill

• 52.Puma: Reply to this comment

@David-47: Hey! We have your number now….. :)

• 53.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Puma-44: stop asking inane questions and you won’t find your little sensibilities bruised…

• 54.capetown: Reply to this comment

@Puma-49:

Following that argument, now pls remind us how the Sharks got into Currie Cup rugby

• 55.nkqo6: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-46: stop smoking in the morning , aint good for you

• 56.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-53: Grow up. You are extremely juvenile.

• 57.SAfan4life: Reply to this comment

@grant10-32: WAATSSONN!! What a player. Said some arguable things no doubt but still a mighty fine player. As long as he is not ruck inspecting

• 58.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@nkqo6-55: Ask mommy to make you a samie and go and watch Disney channel son.

• 59.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Puma-56: look who is talking :roll:

• 60.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

So the Kings will be joining the Stormers at the top of the ‘most hated’ rankings?

Suits me :) (Although the poor old Bully boys seem to have climbed a few spots since June as well….thanks to the Sharks/Bulls divorce and ‘Meyer angst’.)

I’ll be cheering the Kings on all the way, can’t see why anyone would actually want them to fail…..sick.

• 61.David: Reply to this comment

@Puma-52:
    We’ll have our injured players back by then, like you did in the final few games, so I doubt whether this seasons results will be a yardstick.

• 62.spoiler: Reply to this comment

Don’t know why there’s so much hating of the Kings. They can’t do worse than what the Lions have been doing in all of Super Rugby (even as the Cats with the Cheetahs) they finished last or there about, except for the Super 10 which Transvaal won in 19voetsjek.

• 63.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Puma-49: SARU have had a decade to integrate the Kings in the way you would have liked it to happen. They DIDN’T do it, so whythefuck must the Kings pay for that? No, the Kings should not suffer ANY longer for SARU’s sh y te.

So stop wasting your time coming up with ideal scenarios and slow integration as that ship sailed and sunk years ago.

They are here, and they deserve the same support as any other SA franchise – the end.

• 64.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@spoiler-62: siyabulela spoiler! :D

• 65.charo: Reply to this comment

everybody wears their bok jerseys with pride in this part of the country.

united we are.

• 66.shebeen: Reply to this comment

so once again we get the kak deal, even though we’re the ‘big partner’ in SANZAR?

SA teams have 4 week tours.
    Aus and NZ get 3 week tours(chiefs get a 2 week one)

and ja, what’s this got to do with the Kings especially, bias is a bit too obvious.

• 67.Puma: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-63: I do support having Kings in Super Rugby. However, they will never be ready. Should have had 2 years of Currie Cup first. That way we would have seen more of the talent from the Eastern Cape coming through. It is mostly for that region.

Also not fair to them having to play a relegation game against Lions in the first year. They would have been far more ready for Super Rugby come 2016. Also is it fair for Lions to play that relegation game then? By that time they would have lost most of their players.

I feel for the Lions and their supporters too. I know they have not been great in Super Rugby, but they at least have won a Currie Cup. Also this year they lost many players to injury, so really could not be as competitive as they would have been. Joburg too needs a Super Rugby team. Our largest city now without a team? Saru went about this the wrong way.

• 68.Puma: Reply to this comment

@charo-65: :)

• 69.capetown: Reply to this comment

@Puma-67:

once again, pls remind us how Natal got into the currie cup

• 70.David: Reply to this comment

@Puma-67:
    It’s a chicken egg situation. Even if the Kings played CC, they’d still lose youngsters and their better players to an S15 franchise. As you point out, the Lions will be at a disadvantage because their best players will have left because of lack of S15 rugby. That’s exactly the same situation the Kings provinces have suffered over the last few years.

• 71.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Puma-67: I feel very little for the Lions to be honest. They have had years to sort out their incompetence, mismanagement and intestinal cancer….. They have had opportunity to resolve their issues, but have faiiled to do so (purely because they were under no pressure from anyone to do this….)
    The Lions, as a business, are ‘bankrot’ – financially and morally. SARU should have taken away their franchise licence years back – and I guarantee you they would have been better off for it. But no, the Lions just ASSUMED they were important enough to get away with anything…….entitlement.

Let them sort their sh y te out, and then get another bite at the cherry. For those thinking they simly have to pitch up to beat the Kings in the relegation match, I reckon a surprise awaits.

The Kings and the Lions FANS (no-one else from that union) are the only ones who have geen dealt a raw deal…everyone else has deserved exactly what they have been given.

• 72.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@spoiler-62: I personally think the Lions have received the short end of the stick here but in saying that the EC area definitely needs a top level rugby side, it can only be good for our rugby. I hope the Kings can make it happen for their sakes.

• 73.gunther: Reply to this comment

@SuperStirrer-48:

And it was stalking.

on that overseas leg of the tri-nations Cheekster wouldn’t leave Divvie alone.

Poor guy had to hide in his bathroom for some peace and quiet.

• 74.motomouse: Reply to this comment

Sharks have what looks to be a fantastic draw, only four games Australasia and that near the end of the comp.

• 75.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-71: i don’t know why Puma “feels” for the Lions when his Sharks were pilfering Deysel, Alberts and Ludik from the Lions willy nilly to make themselves look good. :roll:

he says we should’ve been eased into Currie Cup, imagine siya kolisi turning for the Kings in Currie Cup and playing well, what would stop any of the franchises offering him money to bounce?

Heyneke came to PE and promised Jacque Potgieter a Bok jersey and he was off to the Bulls in a second (phew, no that we minded :D )

• 76.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-75: Is Siya an EC boytjie? He has more the look of a man from the valley of a thousand hills.

• 77.SuperStirrer: Reply to this comment

This is going to be fun, and could be a real eye opening, groundbreaking era in our history – a lily white team, carrying the dreams of most non white Western and Eastern Cape blacks and Eastern Cape whities. This could be a shining example of how the rainbow nation could be.

• 78.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-75: Reading the sh y te being written on various social platforms about the Kings, I have come to the conclusion that 85% of those dribbling out their ‘hatred’, have ZERO clue, ZERO, as to the history of the Kings struggle for Superugby participation.
    Most are joining the ‘revolution’ purely because it seems fashionable to do so, and because they have been asked to on Facefuckingbook or Titter…..

The Lions have been raped by ALL the SA franchises over the last decade, and certainly didn’t see any Sharks, Stormers, Bulls or Cheetahs fans living in Gauteng RUSHING off to Ellis Park to support the Lions at their home games, purely because the Lions have a proud history…..

This wave of support for the Lions is asfuckingfake as the congratulations I give to Sharks fans when they beat the Stormers. :)

None of these ‘revolutionaries’ give a sh y te about the Lions, the only thing they give a sh y te about, is feeling part of the crowd in bashing the Kings….peer pressure is a bastad.

• 79.touch.pause.engage: Reply to this comment

There simply has to be consequences to failing every year. The Lions only have themselves to blame for being the bottom feeder for years now.

This has placed them in the position they find themselves. Only time will tell if the Kings are going to suffer the same fate, how they got into Superugby is no longer relevant, they are there.

The Lions need to everything they can to get back into the top echelon, no amount of bitchin g is going to help, they need to roll up their sleeves and produce off and on the field or face the consequences.

Just because you have a big city does not entitle you to play in any given tournament, if Manchester Utd finish in the bottom 3 they are relegated, simple as that. If a small club like Wimbeldon finishes top of the league played below the Premiership they are promoted, the size of the club or region has no relevance

• 80.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@SuperStirrer-77: If the Kings had been given a 3 year Superugby ticket from the getgo, they would not have to resort to pulling players in from all over the galaxy. It’s a short term solution to a problem that they have been forced into by SARU…….

Transformation and development can only take place if they stick around for more than a year.

That means they have to beat the Lions in that little relegation number, to do that they need a competitive team. Simple logic.

SARU need to have their heads shoved in buckets of water until they choke for the manner in which they have set the Kings up to fail.

• 81.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@shebeen-66: Tell us how you would change the schedule to make it more even

• 82.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-76: born and bred in Zwide township!! played EP unders before being bought by WP.

• 83.GI POT: Reply to this comment

@jigga-31:

Dude – you clearly underestimate the Eastern Cape supporters. Packed stadium weekend after weekend – we are not as fickle as the other regions’ supporters.

• 84.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-78: :D F ja, put the Watson surname in the press release and deep-seated, ignorant revulsion surfaces quicker than a great white in Hout Bay…

• 85.jigga: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-30: Lions had it but what makes you think the Kings will do any better , will the kings have one player who would be good enough for a bok selection or will it be a team of Varsity Cup and Currie Cup stars. Send them packing.

• 86.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-84: I just find it amusing that so much Kings hate is focused on the Watsons…….Cheeky is seen as Prime Evil and a threat to decency, whilst the same people sit back and ‘wish’ the Dr Luyt was fit enough to take over the reigns at the Lions again :) Am I the only one who find this absolutelyfuckinghysterical? All that is wholesome, pure and moral: Luyt. All that is evil: Watson?

These folk are either absolutely blind to the wheeling,dealing, stealing, backstabbing and opportunism taking place in their OWN unions. Show me a ‘clean’ franchise in SA…..
    In fact, show me anything related to SA rugby full stop that is ‘clean’ :)
    Roids, assaults at school games, tenders arghhhhhhhhhhhhhh – those who will not see and want to focus on the Kings – allow them their ignorance.

• 87.umkhonto: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-75: This is a valid point the Lions were playing Super Rugby and they still lost their top players to the Sharks, maybe these EC supporters will realise it has nothing to do about where you come from, it has to do with how much you can get in your pay cheque.
    The Lions are not going to be back until we have the Super 100.
    There is one rugby person in the executive of SARU, Kevin DE KLerk the rest are politicians, shows you why SARU runs rugby like a political party.

• 88.RL: Reply to this comment

@GI POT-83: that’s right – you guys in PE do haka’s :razz:

• 89.RL: Reply to this comment

@umkhonto-87: Kings are just doing what is best for them – no hard feelings but it is going to be fun slapping them with in the face with the fake “transformation” promise.

As for the loser Lions, they dug their own grave and will have to sleep in it.

• 90.umkhonto: Reply to this comment

Well Just heard a rumour that the Sharks are the team trying to help out the Lions to keep their players, so it seem Jantjies, Taute and Van der Merwe will be with the Sharks next year, and it looks like they will have first choice if there are injuries in the Sharks, from what I hear the Lions are happy and the Sharks are happy.

• 91.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@umkhonto-87: Isn’t the point though that through the high profile S15 team the region will attract local youngsters to rugby?

• 92.RL: Reply to this comment

@umkhonto-90: Guppies could very well win it next year.

• 93.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@umkhonto-90: Of course this is what the Sharks have been planning all along. The Lions want their players to go to Durban, because the Sharks are prepared to make the players available for the Lions/Kings relegation game. Silly Sharks though….this might cost them a few of their messiahs. Lambie is really going to sit happily on the bench for Jantjies….and Taute is really going to sit happily on the bench if Lambie/Ludik/Viljoen plays 15……

What happens if the Sharks finish last in the SA conference, and have to play the Lions in the relegation match :) Canuimaginethefuckingchaos.

• 94.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Sharks are the vultures about to feast on the leeus-ers carcass..

SA rugby sure is funny, its entertaining in its madness..

long may it continue I say :D

• 95.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@RL-92: If they don’t win it next year….they are never going to win it. I doubt they will have AS good an opportunity ever again.

• 96.RL: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-95: I’m just glad that Jantjies is not going to that brokeback team – can’t offord to have a flyhalf that can get their backline going.

• 97.grant10: Reply to this comment

The grapevine is abuzz ahead of Saturday’s crunch Currie Cup derby between the Lions and the Sharks and while much of what follows is far from confirmed, I’m reliably informed that the information is genuine.

Sources tell me that both Elton Jantjies and Franco van der Merwe will join up for the Sharks for the duration of next year’s Super Rugby tournament, before returning to fulfil their contractual obligations to the Lions later in the year. The deals I’ve heard about would appear to be rather amicable, with the Sharks essentially helping the Lions to not lose the players to other unions ahead of their key Currie Cup and promotion/relegation matches next year.

We expect to hear of a number of similar loan deals in the next few weeks, though, with virtually every “Super Rugby quality” player on the Lions books scrabbling to get onto the roster of one of the other teams who will actually be playing in the competition next year.

We expect to be able to confirm the Jantjies and van der Merwe moves soon, but for now, as far as I’m told, the rumours that they are indeed on their way to Durban seem to be gathering momentum rather rapidly.

• 98.RL: Reply to this comment

Cilliers should go to the Bulls, replace that kak fat Kruger. Coetzee can replace sideshow Bob.

• 99.grant10: Reply to this comment

@grant10-97:

Bloody Stormers Suits are a bunch of useless wallys of distinction.

We needed Jantjes man!

Feel for Lambie….hope we shift our attention to him as our 10 fix now.

• 100.RL: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-94: pops no decent player wants to go to PE. :wink:

• 101.grant10: Reply to this comment

@grant10-99: that from Sharksworld

• 102.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@RL-96: :) What a compliment…..

@grant10-99: Can’t blame the Stormer suits for this one mate. This little ‘kind and caring’ Sharks lifeline was in play the day after the voting. The Bulls too voted for the Lions, so I guess they were hoping for a similar ‘deal’, but alas…..the charitable Sharkies were cunning & quick :)

On a very serious note, Potential Springbok flyhalves and fullbacks are going to be screwed in this deal one way of the other. The worst case scenario is Jantjies, Lambie, Taute, Ludik and the Coetzee kid all end up underplayed or out of form.

• 103.RL: Reply to this comment

@grant10-101: Bulls and Guppies will gain the most from the loan deals. Players for mahala adding to their their depth. Taute and JC Janse to the Bulls too. Mapoe will be snapped up real quick, maybe use him to replace Oupa Odwa or Oupa Aikona.

Cheeky’s poaching from the Lions lying in the dirt. :grin:

• 104.poppa69: Reply to this comment

RL – I honestly hope the Kings do a Melbourne Rebels type thing…

I mean, surely this was all arranged by SARU to bolster the weakest conference?

speaking of cheating, where is that man Bakkies? is he hiding low after his foot in mouth disease with the “level of racism in NZ rugby” rant?

• 105.RL: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-102: it was an insult to Grant, van Aswegen, Francis and Coleman – all of them useless 10s :lol:

• 106.RL: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-104: fark that idea – they the ones who pulled the transformation card claiming to have two hundres thousand locals crying for a chance to play superrugby.

• 107.grant10: Reply to this comment

Lambie must wonder what has happened, and why all of this is happening, in his career….

First Michalak and as soon as the Frenchman climbs on a plane the sharks run to get Jantjes?

Come to CT Lambie….

• 108.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-102: i heard KdK say the Sharks and WP voted for them.

• 109.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@jigga-85: Sometimes a hard working team is better than one with stars. Look at how the Stormers pulled together with an injury streak which would have killed off any other team. One thing can be guaranteed with a Super team which has alan Solomon in overall charge: they will pull together and they will fight to the bitter end on the field.

• 110.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@RL-105: But a compliment to the rest of the backline none the less :)

@RL-106: And then sadly, SARU whacked the Kings with a “you have ONE season to prove yourself” deadline. Not the Kings fault…..

• 111.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@grant10-99: The suits couldn’t organise a piss-up in a brewery.

Let us hope that AC doesn’t go for Duvenhage and Grant again as the halfback pairing…

• 112.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-108: WP? Not what I heard. Then again, this is the TRUTH that is SA rugby :) Wheeling, dealing, lying and stealing :)

• 113.Rooibaard2000: Reply to this comment

@RL-103: YEP!! Cannot even begin to describe the glee I feel when I contemplate the Kings getting SMASHED week in and week out. Disgusting Deployees that they are.

Kudos to the Bulls and Sharks for standing by KdK while he tries to sort out the ruins left behind by Reyneke et al. Lions keep the bulk of their players for next year, but plenty of scope for good S15 exposure during the year. Bulls and Sharks squads get a replacement pool with quite a lot of promising new talent.

Then us Lions fans have the added bonus of watching our “CC” team wallop the filthy Kings, by that stage depleted through injury and utterly tormented from the a** raping they have received in their first and only year of S15. Woop Woop!

• 114.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@grant10-107: Very tragic for the kid. He must be wailing to the gods of rugby.

• 115.grant10: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-111: The WP and Stormers suits are our own Western Cape version of M Steyn

A bloody huge handbrake and albatross around our teams success….

I despise them .

• 116.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@grant10-97: Jantjies/ Lambie will be getting too much bench time, what a waste. Looks like all the young FH’s in this country are brainless. Grant is nearing the end of his career, whoever makes an impact this season could be the next Stormer 10, but they would rather sit on the bench while Lumptree shifts them to full back/centre or the bulls coaches the game out of them. So sad.

• 117.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@grant10-115: I second that, but we are handycapped by all the semi-profffesional clubs we have to support in the Western Cape. And why Pollard would want to go to a team that will turn him into a impotent attacker is beyond me. Jantjies will waste his talent on the bench at the sharks.

Jantjies would have a garenteed start for the stormers for the first 4 games as Grant only comes back from Japan later in the tourny, he would be able to stake a claim for the starting spot and then become the main FH for Stormers going forward. Instead he wants to stay with losing lions?

• 118.grant10: Reply to this comment

News
    Lions give Kings the finger
    Fri, 21 Sep 2012 10:21

PrevNextThe Lions refused to entertain our request to loan us players
    Super Rugby rookies the Southern Kings have spat the dummy, claiming their ability to recruit players for 2013 has been “severely hampered”.

They also revealed that the relegated Lions franchise has effectively given them the finger, refusing to entertain a request to loan the Kings players for their debut in Super Rugby next year.

In a statement in which they set out to explain why they want the South African Rugby Union to give them special dispensation to recruit more than the regulation two foreign players, the Kings claim they have had to embark on the route of “recruiting players in an abnormal manner”.

They slam SARU for the delay in announcing their entry into Super Rugby, adding that the one-year window afforded to them is not enough to secure players who are keen to obtain long-term contracts.

The statement, headlined ‘Trying to contract in an abnormal environment’, highlighted the “uncertainty and delay” of the announcement of the Southern Kings’ participation, as well as “financial constraints” as the main reasons for their problems with recruiting.

The Southern Kings’ statement in full: “Trying to contract in an abnormal environment

“The decision of granting us, Southern Kings, participation in Super Rugby from 2013 has been met with a welcome relief. However, our ability to recruit Super Rugby players for 2013 has been severely hampered:
    * the uncertainty and delay of the announcement of the Southern Kings’ participation meant that many players were reluctant to sign their names of the dotted line
    * the financial constraints (Super Rugby financial revenue streams and uncertainty regarding basis (amount and term) has limited our ability on how long we could contract players for

“We have been very vocal about our desires to develop and promote local talent, and in particular to accelerate the transformation of South African Rugby and to develop quality black Springboks. As a result we have put a strong focus on developing and maintaining an Academy which is made up of predominantly home grown talent, with a strong commitment to a bottom-up transformation strategy.

“Despite being unable to retain the most of our local talent without the attraction of Super Rugby until now, we are confident with the strides that our Academy has made and it is evident already that it is starting to bear fruits. Already we have a number of players in the Academy who will be part of the Super Rugby squad for 2013. Soyiswapi Siviwe (15) Yamkela Ngam (14) Kuhle Sonkosi (4) Lizo Gqoboka (3/1), Thembelani Bholi (6) and Shane Gates (12) have all been identified by our Management team (who all have Super Rugby and international experience) as players who have the technique, acumen and physical characteristics to become quality Super Rugby players.

“There is a precedent in place that SANZAR member countries are only allowed to field two international players. The ARU (also members of SANZAR) have made an exception to this rule by allowing heir newly formed Melbourne Rebels to field more foreign players in their team. The motivation for this was to prevent the destabilizing effect of initial mass recruitment from other franchises, when a new franchise starts. Due to SARU making the announcement of our participation on 16/8/2012 it has led to us having difficulty with recruiting players due to:
    * The European window period for recruiting players being closed (with the only available players being those out of contracts)- interested South African players are only available in May 2013, by which time we’ll be too deep into the competition
    * The delayed announcement has seen many local players whose contracts expired this year renew their contracts
    * The Lions refusing to entertain our request to loan us players for the 2013 Super Rugby campaign
    * The one-year entry into Super Rugby and without a track record, has impacted our ability to recruit players

“It is in light of the above, that we have had to embark on the route of recruiting players in an abnormal manner, and with our desire and aspirations of having long-term participation in Super Rugby we are requesting SARU to extend/ alter the current ruling of only fielding two foreign players, for a short-term, thus allowing us the time to adequately prepare our young players for the demands and pressures of Super Rugby, as well as giving us the opportunity to contract players in a normal manner going into the future.

“It is important that we field quality players who will be able to see us through the 2013 Super Rugby competition, and with the current plethora of challenges facing us we have no alternative but to make this urgent request to SARU

• 119.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-112: KdK s.sht on the Cheetahs and pat WP on the shoulder!

De Klerk was also disappointed with the behaviour of some of the other franchises – who initially stood together and sent a letter to SARU as a unit, saying: ‘That none of the existing franchises shall be eliminated from the tournament in 2013 or at any stage thereafter as a result of the inclusion of the Kings.’

“The other guys ran, just like we expected them to run, especially my ‘pal’ there in the Free State … he is known for that,” the Lions boss told this website.

However, he had kinder words of the Stormers hierarchy, who are believed to have been one of only two unions who supported the Lions that lost heavily (6-23) in the vote.

“We never really knew where we stood with Western Province, but since the change in leadership this year they showed their true colours and we know exactly where we stand [with them].”

THELO WAKEFIELD!!!

• 120.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@grant10-107: Lambie being abused by Lumptree!

• 121.RL: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-108: bullshit, it was the Bulls and Guppies. Nc nc nc nc

• 122.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@RL-121: calm down :lol:

• 123.RL: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-119: oi you are thick and don’t get sarcasm … KDK thanked the Bulls and Guppies. Google that stament and paste it here transformer.

• 124.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-119: Wheeling, dealing, stealing, lying, backstabbing and payoffs….Like the sands of the hourglass, those are the days of our lives :)

• 125.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@RL-123: if i’m think then you’re solid :D

• 126.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@grant10-115: Come now Grant, not even Steyn is playing terrible enough to be compared to our administrators.

• 127.RL: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-125: think before you drink before you type. :lol:

• 128.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@RL-127: :mrgreen: it seem the guys at rugby365 are also think judging by their reporting, hey clearly only you RedLion can get the unique Leeu-sers “sarcasm” tl tl tl

• 129.RL: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-128: I own the “leeusers” patent. Don’t abuse my IP. Capiche. :grin:

• 130.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-128: @RL-129: de Klerk was ‘thanking’ Wakefield for making it clear as hell that the WPRFU didn’t feel 2 sh y te for the Lions – there was no longer any room for confusion :) Titus made all the right pro-Lion noises, which had the Lions confused. Wakefield didn’t even try to hide the fact that the WPRFU wouldn’t be supporting the Lions in the vote.

Now he knows where they stand, in his own words.

To be honest, the WPRFU and The Cheetahs crew always seem to vote the same in any event, regardless of what the vote is….ditto for the Bulls and Sharks (and I guess the Lions fellows).

I’m guessing the EC voting will always be in line with the WP and Cheetahs moving forward. Lions, Bulls and Sharks will stick together, out of the ‘larger’ unions.

• 131.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@RL-129: Will Lions fans be supporting the Sharks next year?

• 132.RL: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-131: hell no – won’t even be supporting SARU by donating my R651.00 a month to Supersport to NOT watch my team. Fark em all I’m downgrading to the R99.00 p/m package.

• 133.theOracle: Reply to this comment

Third force in play… one of the two, Jantjies/Lambie will be playing Vodacom Cup next year :lol:

• 134.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Franco to Sharks

Jantjes and Taute to Stormers

CJ to Bulls

Cilliers to Cheetahs

Mapoe, Murray, Maku & Minnie to Kingd

• 135.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7-134: Is this a “IMO” or fact?

• 136.Jeez: Reply to this comment

Perhaps the Lions should just stay away from Super Rugby all together… If their new tournament is a success (same pay or more, less rugby, less travel, European tours) why would the players want to go back…? With the Heineken cup nearing its demise it could be an ideal opportunity to start something now and then invite the rest of the Clubs to expand the comp in 2014…

Then they will retain their players and remain one of the most competitive teams in the Currie Cup…

• 137.Puma: Reply to this comment

Francois Louw back with Bath.

What now? Will we be getting Brussow back? Or will Louw be back in Pretoria next week?

• 138.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma-137: Will we = Will he

• 139.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Puma-137: Really? Where did you hear that, Puma?

• 140.Puma: Reply to this comment

@willievz-139: Hello Willie,

Just read it on Rugby365. Wonder what this means? Will we be getting Brussow or will Flouw have to fly back on Monday? Have no idea. Or will Keegan be back for Boks? Not sure.

• 141.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Robbie Deans just wants Morne to start! I guess the whole world wants Morne to start except us here who know why they want him in the team. HM actually believes what everyone says except for us Joe public…

Well he must get what he deserves if he continues to select Morne and Niknaks

• 142.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Puma-140:

No wonder we are so c rap at the moment. No one knows left from right…

• 143.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-142: Howzit Bill,

Have to agree with you. Have no idea what is going on. Flouw was not one of the names released. So have no idea why he is back with Bath. Mystery really.

• 144.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Puma-140: HI Puma,

Personally, I hope for the former, but I think it will be the latter. Flo will pass South African immigration on Monday again.

• 145.Puma: Reply to this comment

@willievz-144: Could be. Why was he released to play for Bath this weekend then? They never mentioned his name in the 5 that got released. Unless it was a deal made with Bath first.

If Flouw as allowed to play a game between the tests, then why not Lambie against the Lions? He needs plenty game time. Just not sure what to make of it.

• 146.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Puma-145: Lambie would be a no brainer. He’s getting no game time at the moment, makes sense to keep him match sharp.

• 147.David: Reply to this comment

@Puma-143:
    SARU got a special discount on a Quantas return ticket from London to Sydney. :lol:

• 148.Puma: Reply to this comment

@David-147: :lol: Good one David…. haha.

@stormersboy-146: Lambie should have been allowed to play against the Lions this weekend. Have no clue why he was not released. With Flo could be it was a deal made with Bath so Meyer had no choice but to let him play. With the others he may not want them to pick up injuries it seems.

• 149.David: Reply to this comment

I see young Julius has an arrest warrant issued against him. Looks like he’s really in for a long weekend.

• 150.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Puma-148: Ja I cannot work out what is going on in that Dutchie’s(HM) head sometimes…….

• 151.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@grant10-107: @The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-114:
    First of all, none of this is confirmed.

Secondly, even if it is, Lambie will be the Sharks 1st choice FH. Jaintjies will happy just to be part of a S15 team for the year and will play off the bench.
    No way Plum would allow Jaintjies to build a partnership with any of the Sharks outside back only to then fark off at the end of the S15 season.
    Only reason why Michalak played at the end of the season this year is because Lambie damaged his ankle and Fred started playing great rugby.
    Otherwise Lambie would have started every game at 10.
    Seems like the Sharks are just doing the Lions a favour here.
    Thirdly, Lambie wont go overseas.

• 152.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

The EP Kings project is potentially one of the best things to happen to South African rugby in ages. If we play our cards right, it could have the following benefits to rugby in our country:

- Development of local talent
    - Sparking a love for rugby in black areas
    - New black role models which will instill a sense of belief and optimism in poor communities
    - A new dimension to South African rugby (which to be honest, has been guilty of lacking creativity in the past)
    - A new rugby fraternity for us to welcome into a tournament (the same way we welcomed Argentina into the Rugby Championship)
    - Increased unity through rugby… Something South Africa could be leveraging more.

I feel there are too many people who have not given the Kings a chance. There also seems to be a (small) minority of bad eggs who have racist feelings about the Kings…. Whilst I appreciate that the administration of the Kings entry into Super rugby was handled badly and the Lions can feel hard done by, the truth of the matter is that this project will bring benefits to South African rugby and benefits to South Africa as a whole.

Living in South Africa can feel tense with all the different race groups so deeply segregated. Projects like this serve to bring us together through a common love for a sport which we are passionate about.

Go Kings!

• 153.Transformation: Reply to this comment

there’s big consternation in shark land with the rumour that elton is going bananas, everyone and their dog are crying that lambie won’t be guaranteed the flyhalf spot if elton moves to Debben :lol:

anything for the wooly-haired anti-dandruff boy wonder :mgreen:

• 154.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-94:
    Actually Poppa, if these runmours are true, this is a remarkable show of solidarity and support between 2 Unions.

The Sharks get some great backup players for a very long and physically demanding S15 and in return, the Lions get to hang on to Jaitjies and a few other good players for the forseeable future.

• 155.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-153:
    Only constenation Ive seen so far is from G10 and Pedgree.

Personally Im very confident Lambie will play ahead of Elton.
    First of all because I think he is a better flyhalf and secondly for the reasons outlined in 151.

• 156.David: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-154:
    You’re assuming that the Lions would beat the Kings in a playoff. I can’t see any real benefit to Jantjies either, as he has an out in his contract and isn’t dependent on the Lions to arrange his future. How would playing 2nd fiddle at 10 to a man who HM sees as a 15, help his Bok asperations?

• 157.willievz: Reply to this comment

What a foolish decision by Elton to go to Durban.

He won’t see any game time there.

• 158.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@willievz-157:

The plan is to let him play 15 min each match to keep Lambie fresh, and let him start against weaker competition like the Kings.

• 159.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-158: That “plan” is to the detriment of SA Rugby and the Boks.

• 160.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-155: have you been to SW…toys are flying :mrgreen:

• 161.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@willievz-157: ja, but he won’t p.iss off kevin de klerk and play for unions that didn’t vote for them!

• 162.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@willievz-159:

Some would say letting the Kings play Super rugby is also to the detriment of SA rugby and the Boks

• 163.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@willievz-157:

I think he is the preferred 10. Lambie will play off the bench…

• 164.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-163:

:-) I think you think wrong. :-)

• 165.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

Ok Transie, off to gym. See you there a bit later.

• 166.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-164:

Lambie is becoming a utility player. I feel for him, but that is exactly what is happening…

• 167.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-163: The point is that 2 of the 3 best flyhalves in the country will not see consistent game time.

@Mr Black-162: We don’t have the player depth to have 5 Super Rugby teams.

• 168.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@willievz-167:

I agree!

• 169.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-165: hahaha i was there @ 05:00 this morning :D

• 170.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-160:
    haha, really?

Will have to go there and calm some frayed nerves.

@willievz-157:
    My thought exactly.

Thought he should have gone to WP. Now he’ll be just be warming the bench at the Tank.

• 171.grant10: Reply to this comment

So F louw playing for Bath tomorrow…I am getting nervous about this squad announcement tomorrow night…

dont let me down Heyneke….ffs

• 172.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Go the Mighty Elephants

• 173.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@grant10-171:

Brussouw to return maybe? Coenie too

• 174.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Patrick Lambie should played more tests in 10 jersey by now. wasted talent

• 175.grant10: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber-173: that will make me a very happy man….

but in a squad of 30 there is room for both Brussow and F Louw imo…

• 176.RL: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-166: Lambie has the tag utility back stuck to him big time – Elton is a much better flyhalf and Plum rates him big time. Guppies should not be upset. Elton can use his “get out” to land a contract at the guppies, with his usual clause saying that he is a 10 and only a 10.

Lambie to fullback where Elton pushed him to at u20 level and where he will push the Lambster to next year.

• 177.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10-171: apparently Flo gave away 3 penalties, that’s 3 too much for Heyneke.

• 178.cab: Reply to this comment

I am very dissapointed that the Lions have been ruined, but that is not the Kings fault.

I hope the Kings do well and that the massive potential of black rugby talent in the EC is developed.

• 179.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Lambie is going to play fullback chaps….the decision has been made that he will stick to the Nr 15 jersey so there is place on the field for Jantjes as well. No problem.

Michael Rhodes is returning to the Sharks and Franco vd. Merwe is coming across. I think Pat Cilliers is going to the Stormers or overseas. Jaco Taute to the Bulls. There will be more movement than that, but these are the rumors at the moment.

• 180.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-177: Heyneke has lost it. I think from all that head shaking, saying ‘ag f*kkit boys’ all the time and screaming into the back and forth walkie talkie – he did himself some form of aneurysm which has killed of the part of his brain which helped him bring the Bulls back from the biggest joke in super rugby to title holders.

• 181.Dusky: Reply to this comment

I say let the Kings sign as many international players as they want, but if the rule changes for them it must change for everyone. It is mos what they stand for right ? Equality ?

• 182.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-177: Fark ….will be madness if he leaves fetcher out….1 of those was a legitimate steal as well….pity if HM farks this call up

• 183.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Watsup Dusky

Equality indeed

• 184.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-183: Hey Dawn. How’s your balcony ? I hope you aren’t out there with the bottle again ?

• 185.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Nope, no bottle.

On couch!

• 186.Dusky: Reply to this comment

So I get an e-mail forwarded to me from our public liaison division.

One of the clerical staff in South Africa falling under my part of the global organization has been putting comments on Facebook. Heavy, militant, racist comments (with atrocious spelling and grammar). Unfortunately when you click on his profile, he displays the company as his employer.

What do I do with this person ? Fire them ? If they make statements that they would love to shoot and kill a certain race group, can I keep them employed in a company where they work with a lot of people in that race group ? How do these people get hired in the first place ?

I think someone is about to get fired. That will be number 3 this year.

• 187.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Jinne

What maltrap company is this

• 188.Dawn: Reply to this comment

One I can understand, but 3?

• 189.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

I am so sick of this ****.

• 190.numba4lock: Reply to this comment

Kaizan, great post. Nice to see some optimism around here

as a sharks supporter id welcome jantjies to the tank, with fred gone home we have a place for him in the team. Plum actuali knws how to rotate a squad to in a balance manner to ensure that momentum is maintained and players dont burn out

thats if the deal goes through

• 191.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-188: Yep unfortunately so. The other two were for different reasons.

You will be surprised – its a big multinational. Top 3 in our field globally. Highly specialized services, employing predominantly individuals with very specific, advanced level tertiary qualifications. Amazing hey ?

• 192.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

Libberate the Eastern Cape with more rugby. Get behind the new structure for people to have a leading example of community organization. We need to believe.

• 193.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-188: Total number of dismissals I have ever seen in my career = 3…..all in 2012.

What on earth is going on with people ?

• 194.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@KeurboomPark-192: There are a few ‘villains’ in this scenario of which the Kings and the Watson probably carry the lowest percentage of responsibility.

In my opinion, the biggest villain in SARU. The way the Kings inclusion in and the Lions exit from Super rugby was handled is shameful to say the least. For this part at least the Kings are not responsible. This was really a circus.

The second biggest villain is SANZAR. From what I understand, absolutely no consideration was given to the affect the inclusion of the Kings would have on the value of the Super 15 as a sporting tournament. If the Kings are not at all competitive – this will still emerge as an issue. For one, it actually makes the SA conference ‘easier’ which will mean more years with 3 of the top 6 slots taken up by SA teams.

After that comes the smallest of the group which is subjective for most people. I myself, cannot trust the intentions of Cheeky Watson. But I could still be proven wrong.

Lets hope that despite all this – there will be some value in this for South Africa, the Super 15 as a tournament and rugby as a whole.

• 195.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-194:

Ja. There are people exploiting the situation. Cant argue. I just know that it will be those people who will have to answer to everyone when they fail. But I know that more exposure will help mix coloured, whites and blacks around a better “family” identity in the big picture. I have family in PE who see a lot of excitement at local and community levl.

• 196.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Kaizan-152: What a load of soppy subjective sh.yte disguised as reason…

• 197.katman: Reply to this comment

On the Pendorings stage: Gugulethu Tenors singing rousing rendition of Liefling. Epic doesn’t begin to describe it. Tacitus would approve.

• 198.Dawn: Reply to this comment

If the employees are so advanced at tertiary level and super intellectualised, why are they acting like infants on Facebook?

• 199.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

NikNaks, anyone?

• 200.Greenies: Reply to this comment

So the Southern Kings play the 2nd worst team in the compo FIRST.
    If they loose this one, will they win another match through the season?

Yea I dont believe in Foreign players in SA at all. We have enough players going around and if depth is a problem for a team they should be searching and grooming younger talent in their regions anyway.

• 201.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@Greenies-200: The problem is not that in the medium term; they are already doing it. They only have 1 year and so need to be competitive from the word go which requires having a few players who have already played at the highest levels to handheld the newbies.

Winning 1 match would be better than what some other SA teams have done in the past :-)

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.