Lions edge errant Sharks

The Lions recovered from a poor start to beat the Sharks 28-22 at Ellis Park.

The Lions produced an inspired last quarter after stuttering their way through the first 60 minutes. The Sharks looked set for the win but they squandered numerous chances early in the match which partly accounted for their defeat.

A two-try blitz in the five minutes before the break set them up, taking a 16-6 lead down the tunnel. The Sharks were simply the better side at the gainline in that period, which gave their loose forwards (Keegan Daniel was outstanding) and back division a platform to exploit.

The Lions struggled to stifle their recycle at the gainline and found their defensive assignment to be an arduous one as a result.

They did, however, found their defensive and attacking groove in the second half, building their challenge on a more potent tackle fight. The pressure they exerted forced a string of penalties, Elton Jantjies slotting three to cut the deficit.

Meyer Bosman bagged a double with his boot to take the Sharks out to a 22-15 lead with a quarter to play, but Jantjies wouldn’t be outdone and when Ruan Combrink broke down the touchline to score an excellent solo effort, the Lions looked favourites for the win.
There had been some debate over an apparent knock-on in the build up to Combrink’s try, but there was no such uncertainty about Jaco Kriel’s 45m effort two minutes later.

Jantjies missed the conversion, leaving the Sharks within six points of them. The Sharks piled massive pressure on in search of the victory, but the Lions were resolute, resisting their advances to secure the win that takes them to the top of the log.

140 Comments

• 1.Hop Hop Spinnekop: Reply to this comment

Top of the table dragons.

• 2.OCO: Reply to this comment

Not too worried who wins. 4 tries apice and no more than 7 points in it at the final whistle would go down well.

• 3.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

a draw

no tries

would go down better

• 4.RL: Reply to this comment

Taute to replace sideshow Bob – according to Andy Cap.

• 5.Hop Hop Spinnekop: Reply to this comment

@RL-4: Hopefully a space for JC too.

• 6.Hop Hop Spinnekop: Reply to this comment

Mapoe has a boss step on him.

• 7.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Boss step?

• 8.Hop Hop Spinnekop: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-7: Switch on your tv. You’ll see.

• 9.Dawn: Reply to this comment

It is on!

• 10.RL: Reply to this comment

Elton kicked that ball 65m.

• 11.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@RL-10:
    not a mathematician..?..

• 12.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

Elton will always be third best while Heyneke is coach

• 13.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

Keegan Daniel knows howto Getty to the touchline

• 14.RL: Reply to this comment

Guppy scrum mashed!

• 15.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

sharks scrum put in school

• 16.RL: Reply to this comment

Too many Michael House spuds playing for the red and white.

• 17.Richie_7: Reply to this comment

Wow, like watching paint dry

• 18.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

Sharks are definitely the most pleasing to watch of all the SA sides, the most skilled, high tempo, off loading style of the lot.

• 19.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Good grief look who’s back.

Reeechie!

• 20.RL: Reply to this comment

Guppies are damn good – leusers getting moered now.

• 21.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@RL-20: Well said :mrgreen:

• 22.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

bulls – sharks in the final.

• 23.OCO: Reply to this comment

Any idiot can see why keegan should be the first pick at #8 for the Boks. Can tackle, explosive speed and an all-round great player (not to mention the best captain in the country by a huge margin).

• 24.papashanga: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-22: You wish!

• 25.papashanga: Reply to this comment

@OCO-23: Yawn.

• 26.grant100: Reply to this comment

Jy sien…. Lions verloor teen sharks se b span…. Die kak kan nie so aangaan ni….. Bring net die kings….. Ooooohhhhhhh its true….. Ep kings on the rise

• 27.Richie_7: Reply to this comment

Hi there Dawn. What’s cookin’?

• 28.grant100: Reply to this comment

Keegan had chance and has nowhere… Non existent… Good cc player.. But no bok… Kinda like wayne fyvie of old…

• 29.Richie_7: Reply to this comment

@grant100-28: To be fair Grant, none of the loose forwards have really blown us away during the past few games in the Rugby Championship

• 30.XV: Reply to this comment

@grant100-28: he was given one chance….when his whole pack was going backwards. How many chances has Morne Steyn been given?

• 31.grant100: Reply to this comment

Elton haal sy tipe se maniere uit… Sies

• 32.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Sharks constantly threatening to rip the Lions to shreds.

• 33.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Richie_7-29: The Bok loose forwards blew the AB loose forwards away in Dunedin.

• 34.grant100: Reply to this comment

Flo and duane was awesome vs nz

• 35.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Eggs and fried bread in butter

Am lazy tonight

• 36.grant100: Reply to this comment

Keegan having a awesome game… But he wont fit in heynekes game plan

• 37.Richie_7: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-33: Matter of opinion

• 38.Richie_7: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-35: Yeah, know the feeling. Avo on toast

• 39.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Richie_7-37: Matter of fact, acknowledged by Kiwis.

• 40.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Still wanna know what Boss step is.

If it’s what I think it is, coloured players own it!

• 41.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Listen you nwatas

Don’t all pick on Richie cos he the only kiwi here

Let’s have a fair fight

• 42.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Let’s pick on OCO!!!!!!

• 43.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Shurrup keegan it’s a try

Moangat

• 44.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

WHAT? CLEAR KNOCK-ON!

• 45.RL: Reply to this comment

This TMO shitt is bull and a time waster. Pfffft.

• 46.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

VERY CLEARLY A KNOCK-ON!

• 47.grant100: Reply to this comment

Shocking call…. Refs and tv refs was kak 2day

• 48.Dawn: Reply to this comment

WOWZA!

• 49.Guns: Reply to this comment

None of the boks played well bad a couple when keegan was given a chance. I do prefer current trio though. Maybe with Goosen off the bench daniels would do better who knows..

• 50.RL: Reply to this comment

ROAR!

• 51.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

That dude is quick!

• 52.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

Shocking TMO call, and now….

Chadwick is pathetic.

• 53.cab: Reply to this comment

Lions to sneak it – eta manji

• 54.Lions_Soutie: Reply to this comment

Pace!

• 55.cab: Reply to this comment

Ehe aha

• 56.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Meeoow.

• 57.RL: Reply to this comment

Butchie my boy – guppies played well but my Lions killed them :cool:

• 58.grant100: Reply to this comment

Elton almost cost lions the game…. Hoop almal aien die afro balhareopdiekop is overrated….

• 59.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Good determination shown by the Lions.

• 60.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

Well the TMO COCKED that call up.

Clear as day knock-on and the Lions win through his incompetence.

• 61.OCO: Reply to this comment

Well done Lions. Could have gone either way. At least it’s less than a 7 point difference.

• 62.Lions_Soutie: Reply to this comment

Lions backline has some seriously good talent

• 63.Transformation: Reply to this comment

yho!!!!!!!!! lions blank the guppys again @ ellis park….hoooodoooo ground

• 64.grant100: Reply to this comment

Supersport trying to get jantjies in the bok team… He was very average 2day… Missed vital kicks at the end and was like a cry baby….

• 65.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

nice comeback lions

lucky calls

but well done all the same

• 66.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@papashanga-24:
    you’re right

bulls – lions final

• 67.cab: Reply to this comment

Roarr..

• 68.umad: Reply to this comment

wah wah wah wah wah TMO wah wah wah wah wah TMO

• 69.cab: Reply to this comment

Uyaphi – bangers and mash oustanding

• 70.RL: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-60: hehehehe take away the so called incompetence and 5 points and the Lions still win the match.

28-5 is greater than 22 :wink:

• 71.umad: Reply to this comment

@grant100-64: You’re the crybaby

• 72.poppa69: Reply to this comment

BOOM!!!

• 73.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-60: Clear as day? ***** please…. did you see Kriel’s fingers on the ball with that footage that was shown? Also look at it again Jafta was pointing backwards and he was right there on the point. You don’t mention Reinach’s try after the scrum went through the 90 just before halftime? Mmmmmmm……..

• 74.cab: Reply to this comment

WTF is it with keo and these *** ads

gdam there’s now more **** on the homepage – xtrasmooth – fkn poefdashit – this is a rugbysite not for gdam paraplegics – if some poor twat got no woodie in his ****** who gives a fk

• 75.cab: Reply to this comment

What’s with all the censorship?

There’s more sterrerjies then a scope magazine – peckerwood.

• 76.Horings: Reply to this comment

Taute straight into Bok 22. This week I mentioned he was Heyneke Meyer’s long term choice at fullback for the Boks. Now HM must show some guts and select both Taute and Goosen for the Aus test. Pienaar, Goosen, Hougaard, Steyn, JdV (c), Habana, Taute is a very well balanced backline with BIG boots that can win any game of territory. They can also play an attacking game.

• 77.Horings: Reply to this comment

Very risky selection that may pay off will be Lambie at 15, Taute at 13 and Goosen at 10. With Pienaar and Francois Steyn also there we will at least win a world cup qualifying kick off. HM however will not drop Kirchner, Steyn and JdV in one go.

• 78.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Well played Lions.

• 79.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

http://www.sport24.co.za/Rugby/RugbyChampionship/Boks-reward-Elton-Jantjies-Jaco-Taute-20120922

Taute, Jantjies, Oosthuizen new caps and CJ Van der Linde

4 called up for Bok squad

Taute is no Fullback in my opinion, and Jantjies or Lambie both mediocre at international level

Meyer still floundering in the wilderness. 2 more losses in this competition and where he gonna go from there?

• 80.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-79: Taute 1000 times better than Sideshow Bob and Lambie/Jantjies needs to be given a fair crack at international level to be judged.

• 81.super_adi: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-79: Jantijies mediocre at international level based on what? He’s excelled at the levels that he has played and surely deserves a chance. Taute’s best position is fullback.

• 82.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

Kirchner, M. Steyn, should be dropped. Pienaar shouldn’t play scrum half unless off bench, Hougaard should. There are a few better full backs in the country than Taute starting with Willie Le Roux who can also fill in at 10 in emergency better than either Jantjies or Lambie.. so can Andries Coetsee or Aplon cover 15 or wing

So Meyer got a 30 man squad and at least 8 won’t even feature in either of the 22′s in next 2 games

• 83.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

I don’t rate Jantjies or Lambie as top international class fly halves.. neither of them

only top 10′s we got are Goosen and perhaps Willie Le Roux who I would start at 15 ahead of Taute or Lambie or Kirchner. Andries Coetsee would also make my 30 man squad ahead of quite a few other players there.

• 84.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

dont bet on either of them getting capped in this series, at best a few minutes at the end of either of the two games whether boks are winning or losing.

more likley cj and coenie to feature.

• 85.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

Jantjies played an entire season at 10 for Lions in S15, and Taute played some of the time at 15 or 13.. where did Lions finish in that esteemed competition.. I kinda lost track of my bearings for a minute?

CJ Van der Linde is a walking hospital case how many minutes he going to step up and play 3 off bench?

• 86.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@super_adi-81:
    haha you mean at the cc level against oppostion teams missing their bok and super squad players at times.

he’s not wrong, jantjes is mediocre at super rugby international level.

• 87.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-85: Andries Coetzee also played for that team and yet you would like to see him there? Regarding CJ… well I would have loved to see JC there.

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-84: I would put money on it that Taute will start one of these tests.

• 88.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-86: Any day over Steyn. Nuff said.

• 89.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cab-74:
    you need to understand the majority of repeat bloggers to this site are cape peninsular bleeding heart lilly liberal metrosexual (and quite possibly h o m osexual) types…. guys like toomuchrugby comes to mind.

its a target market.

you’re smart enough to understand that at the end of the day its a business, and a good business makes money.

this isn’r rock science.

• 90.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

JC Janse Van Rensburg should have had a call up but he’s a loose head and Meyer is short at tight head.. though I would still have had Janse Van Rensburg ahead of CJ because he now has opted for CJ and Cilliers and JdP and Oosthuizen all covering TH with only Beast as the outright Loose head prop.. the others are all hybrid LH / TH options.

• 91.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Tuna-87:
    start a test against oz or nz?

i dont think so.

@Tuna-88:
    correct me if i’m wrong, but i am pretty sure steyn has succeeded at international super rugby level far more often than jantjes has…no..?..

• 92.RL: Reply to this comment

Greyling shown the door, good. One less bully cow in the squad. Why that pathetic Potgieter is ther and not Brussow? Taute to replace sideshow Bob and Jantjies in as cover for the Goose who must start at 10. Morne is rubbish and must carry the teams luggage.

Willem Alberts (Sharks) – 15 Test caps
    Andries Bekker (Western Province) – 27
    Craig Burden (Sharks) – 0
    Pat Cilliers (Golden Lions) – 3
    Marcell Coetzee (Sharks) – 7
    Juan de Jongh (Western Province) – 10
    Jean de Villiers (captain, Western Province) – 79
    Jannie du Plessis (Sharks) – 37
    Eben Etzebeth (Western Province) – 6
    Johan Goosen (FS Cheetahs) – 2
    Bryan Habana (Western Province) – 81
    Francois Hougaard (Blue Bulls) – 22
    Elton Jantjies (Golden Lions) – 0
    Zane Kirchner (Blue Bulls) – 19
    Juandré Kruger (Blue Bulls) – 5
    Pat Lambie (Sharks) – 15
    Tiaan Liebenberg (Western Province) – 3
    Francois Louw (Bath, England) – 12
    Tendai Mtawarira (Sharks) – 39
    Lwazi Mvovo (Sharks) – 7
    Coenie Oosthuizen (FS Cheetahs) – 1
    Ruan Pienaar (Ulster, N Ireland) – 58
    Jacques Potgieter (Blue Bulls) – 3
    Frans Steyn (Sharks) – 53
    Morné Steyn (Blue Bulls) – 41
    Adriaan Strauss ( FS Cheetahs) – 16
    Jaco Taute (Golden Lions) – 0
    CJ van der Linde (Golden Lions) – 73
    Flip van der Merwe (Blue Bulls) – 18
    Duane Vermeulen (Western Province) – 2

• 93.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

Andries Coetsee is a far more exciting prospect at 15 than Jaco Taute who’s only real forte is his size.. Coetsee and W. Le Roux are the type game breaking talents Boks need along with Goosen at 10 and Hougaard at 9 Not at wing..

Lambie and Jantjies are mediocre and Taute is not a great full back option, neither is Kirchner or M. Steyn any good.

So more dross of the same dead end rugby coming up.. just the same one dimensional garbage we gonna be treated to on the home leg.. I ain’t holding my breath for no fireworks.. none at all.

• 94.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

gurthro steenkamp

if i have to say it a thousand times….

• 95.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

its the dreamers

singing their make believe springbok squad songs again….

shame

• 96.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-91: How many chances did Steyn get at international level compared to Jantjies? Also how did Steyn do in this year’s S15? Better than Jantjies? I don’t think so. Give Jantjies the same amount of chances like Morne then we can compare.

• 97.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

agreed on potgieter though

he brought nothing to the bulls in tonight match

nothing

• 98.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

just like Gurthro Steenkamp is one big dream sailed away long ago over the horizon.. same as your love interest Bakkies Botha.. if anyone is dreaming here its gotta be you

• 99.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-94: Funny Meyer did not rope in Gurtho yet… he was a proud wearer of the blue blazer.

• 100.cab: Reply to this comment

Yep cj prob shoulda got a callup but that’s cos cilliers not ready – cilliers woulda ramped boks up 10% no doubt

• 101.RL: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-94: guilty of consuming too many pies – sporting an massive boep (like yours only smaller) and cannot get a start for tolose. Did you see him play last night?

• 102.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

I play Jantjies ahead of M. Steyn,., and probably ahead of P. Lambie.. but then that is just covering some mediocrity with slightly better mediocrity.. dunno why these Bok coaches and their side kicks are such brain dead cowards.

• 103.cab: Reply to this comment

Gurthro was a marauding gdam Viking in his prune I wouldn’t be so sure he past it – u got he and beasty in your tight 5 and god help the oppo.

• 104.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

Cilliers is in and so is JdP and CJ and Oosthuizen all covering TH with only Beast as specialist LH.. so Coenie going to be LH off bench with CJ backing up if Cilliers not ready to cover JdP.

• 105.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-102: We need a backup for Goosen. Meyer cannot play Goosen into the ground like they did with Steyn. Lambie and Jantjies will do just fine… just give them game time.

• 106.cab: Reply to this comment

Prune = prime , god help the oppo he starts passing prunes.

• 107.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Tuna-96:
    that makes no sense.
    they are two players from different periods of time and age. and this is not a comparison between them per se, in any case.
    all i’m saying is morne has been on the side of winning far more often that elton has, even if just comparing them for the two seasons that elton’s played.

morne has been instrumental in winning games for the bulls in this time, we cannot say the same for elton who at best has been mediocre.

not the worst and not the best.

• 108.UptheGuts: Reply to this comment

I have this recurring nightmare the last couple of nights with Morne Steyn running out at Loftus, in what appears to be his 50/100th match for the Boks. The only Bokplayer on the field that seems like for ages, he goes thru allkind of stretching and warming up routines, much to the delight of a raucious Loftus crowd. The idiots cheer and scream with every new stretch he comes up with. After a while he starts placekicking balls into the stand and at one stage points to a lady in the crowd who he’ll kick it to but lines up the kick a good 20mtrs to the right. Funny thing is, the ball woer-woer in her hands perfectly. Next thing I’m in the coaches box overhearing HM shouting in his walkie, ” ek het die donners mos gese…” Weird indeed! :lol:

• 109.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

Kirchner, Lambie, Mvovo, Jantjies, M. Steyn, Pienaar, all middle of the road mediocre at international level

Burden, Liebenberg, Potgieter, Strauss, JdP, CJ also not made of the right international stuff

• 110.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-98:
    i really did believe bakkies would play, skop.
    wow, was i wrong on that.

@Tuna-99:
    its mystefying, trully.

• 111.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@RL-101:
    did you see gurthro almost singlehandedly destroy the toulon pack (with bakkies in it) to win the top14 final for toulose?

gurthro steenkamp would sleepwalk a nz or oz side. meyer has missed a trick there.

• 112.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@RL-101:
    besides, gurthro has always played with a boep.
    its hardly gotten much bigger.

@cab-106:
    if he’s passing prunes expect the shitt to start flying.

• 113.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-107: Surely that’s not Elton’s fault. You just need to look at his performances in last year CC semi and CC final. He stepped up to plate was under huge pressure and he delivered. Put that kid in a team like the Sharks or the Bulls of old surrounded by all that experience he will only get better. Steyn reached his ceiling… he needs to adjust or move out. Steyn has been playing Meyer’s gameplan for years and he is struggling. Jantjies can defend.. better attacker and kicking wise he is on par with Steyn (when he gets them over). BTW I’m not a Lions supporter, I’m a Bull if you think that’s why I’m calling for Jantjies.

• 114.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

i suppose we should look at this as a very, very, very extended bok trials run by meyer.

this time next year new caps will be few and hard to find.

• 115.RL: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-111: only cause he was fresh and against a tired Bakkies. :grin:

• 116.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

So if he got any balls this will be his starting line up

Taute
    JdV
    JdJ
    Steyn
    Habana
    Goosen
    Hougaard
    Vermeulen
    Louw
    Etzebeth
    Vd Merwe
    Cilliers
    Strauss
    Beast

Oosthuizen, Liebenberg, CJ, Bekker, Coetsee, Pienaar, Lambie

But it will look more like this

Kirchner
    Habana
    JdV
    Steyn
    Hougaard
    Steyn
    Oienaar
    Vermeulen
    Louw
    Kruger
    Etzebeth
    JdP
    Strauss
    Beast

CJ / Oosthuizen, Liebenberg, Vd Merwe, Coetsee, Lambie, De Jongh, Taute

• 117.RL: Reply to this comment

But yes Guthro ahead of the (average) beast anyday.

• 118.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Tuna-113:
    same kid in super rugby and he’s barely nmade the world turn, thats all i’m saying.
    this isn’t an argument in favour of morne steyn over jantjes… rather it’s am argument against jantjes at international level over steyn.

• 119.Tuna: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-116: Still think he should use Alberts as an impact player…. will be more than effective.

I’m out pll.
    Well done Lions… keep give SARU the finger.

• 120.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@RL-115:

funny gurthro in the post match interview of that game said it was the without doubt the hardest game of rugby he had played in his life and looking back appreciates the fact he had bakkies on his team at the bulls, rather than in the oppositions.

true story.

• 121.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

of course most of it was in french

and my french is rusty

but that was the gist of it

• 122.katman: Reply to this comment

Go Lions.

• 123.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-116:
    yes, more or less
    but expect forwards on the bench
    and if bekker’s not injured he will be there.

• 124.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@RL-117:
    exactly, even a fool can see that.

• 125.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

i really do not think the kings should be allowed to field more than two foreigners in their team. we are already losing players to overseas teams and now to have a whole lot of foreigners turning up in sa teams is just dangerous imo.

i would prefer to see them incur a bigger wage bill by recruiting foreign based sa players to play short term contracts for them next year rather.

• 126.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

ok, quiet night.
    cheers ppl.

• 127.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-72:
    ssssssssssss……..boom………crash……….thump……..cry :-)

• 128.Joe Maher: Reply to this comment

“They did, however, found their defensive and attacking groove…”

I’d have thought even basic proficiency in English would be a requirement at The Keo Propaganda Company. Seems not to be the case, if dear old Ryan’s latest error is anything to go by.

Hell, Ryan, you never cease to amaze!

• 129.RugbyFit: Reply to this comment

I hope who-ever plays in the promotion/relegation match against the Kings, will smash them to bits!

• 130.Sir Watson: Reply to this comment

Jantjies is the next best Flyhalf after Goosen, as a Stormer fan I know that Stormers wants him, he will be far better at Sharks, his game will be stiffled by the Stormers defensive preference and non-existence backline gameplan.
    As for Morne Steyn, he is one dimensional and in a dead-end interbational career stage unless he changes his way of play.

• 131.Rage: Reply to this comment

BOKKE SQUAD announced… where’s the thread???

• 132.The Bok Identity: Reply to this comment

Lionel Mapoe is such a pleasure to watch. Always puts players around him into space. Defensive organisation will come with time but on attack he is phenomenal. Clever running lines, always on support, always offloads to his support and he is a deadly finisher as well.

• 133.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Sharks lost dammit!

Seems the Lions save their very best only for the Sharks in S15 and CC. Pity in S15 they lose their collective ballas and quake at the mere sight of Anzacs. If they even played half as well as they play against the dynamite they would still be in Super Rugby.

Pity in the CC they seem to do the same away at WP…

The Sharks vs Lions game was 5 x superior than both previous games on the day… I had the unfortunate pleasure of going to Loftus for the 3rd time this year… and fark me do I dislike the atmosphere – doof duff wiggle wiggle boermusiek, interspersed with “Die nasionale lied van die Blou Bulle” and “Marching to Pretoria”…

Farkenhell dismal, dreary place in such a farken pristine stadium…

Will be back this Sat for the Wobblies… Entrance gratis because fark knows I would not pay to go to this farken Blou Gothic Cathedral…

• 134.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

The Cheetahs and Bulls must play the most predictable dumbfck rugby on the planet…

Following their respective systems and structures to the letter are fuckingup the players ability to think and be aware of space beyond the first 2 steps they take with ball in hand…

Dismal sh.yte.

• 135.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Chadwick better learn to look after the ball better or fckoff back to Club rugby…

• 136.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Ludik is playing better at FB than anyone in CC and anyone in the Bok squad at the moment…

If he continues in this vein Meyer better take off his “traditional power” blinkers and open his eyes…

• 137.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Every game Keegan Daniel plays like last night and the week before is a goddamn embarrassment to the selection credential buck stopping right at Meyer’s door…

There is NO REASON why Daniel should NOT be a starting Bok whether at 6 or 8.

• 138.Wanderer: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-86: Now Lets look at the really inexperienced team that the LIONS played against in this game;

15 Louis Ludik, S15
    14 Odwa Ndungane, Springbok and S15
    13 Tim Whitehead, S15
    12 Meyer Bosman, Springbok and S15
    11 Lwazi Mvovo, Springbok and S15
    10 Riaan Viljoen, Springbok and S15
    9 Cobus Reinach,
    8 Keegan Daniel (captain), Springbok and S15
    7 Jean Deysel, Springbok and S15
    6 Jacques Botes, S15
    5 Anton Bresler, S15
    4 Steven Sykes, S15
    3 Wiehahn Herbst, S15
    2 Craig Burden, Springbok and S15
    1 Dale Chadwick S15
    16 Monde Hadebe, S15
    17 Julian Redelinghuys,
    18 Jandre Marais, S15
    9 Brynard Stander,
    20 Charl McLeod, Springbok and S15
    21 Paul Jordaan, S15and 7′s Springbok
    22 Sbura Sithole
    I count 18 players with S15 experience and 9 players with National colours, all the so called supporters of the SHARKS that say this is a depleted side do not know their rugby.
    The LIONS lost 17 of their starting line up for the S15 comp and started getting the players back recently, the S15 would have been so different had the players been there.
    Stop moaning about the refs, the try by Cobus should have been disallowed as the srum had gone through 90 and Chadwick and the piss poor Burden stood up and Walked the scrum side ways, result should have been a penalty for the LIONS.
    The only reason poor Keegan threw a tantrum is because the LIONS showed maturity and did not react and showed their discipline, he was disappointed that the LIONS did not get any cards.
    LIONS4LIFE.

• 139.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Wanderer-138:
    If that is aimed at Bakkies, you might as well put your nuts in a vice and turn the handle……that is as clueless as trying to talk sense into Bakkies.

• 140.Riaan26: Reply to this comment

The writer of this article has failed to mention what an incredibly exciting game it was. It was real edge-of-your-seat stuff.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.