WP cruise past Griquas
22 Sep 2012
GARETH DUNCAN watched WP deliver a commanding first-half performance as they thrashed Griquas 45-21 at Newlands.
It was a slick opening 40 from the hosts, who secured the four-try bonus point before the break and led 31-7 at half-time. They had the upper hand in the forwards battle and their backs impressed with a good running game, which was enough to end Griquas’ three-match winning streak.
The visitors’ errors and ill-discipline were also punished, especially during the first stanza.
Scrumhalf Louis Schreuder, who did very well in the No 9 jersey, created the opening score as his quick penalty tap and dart caught the opposition defence napping, and a well-timed pass put fullback Joe Pietersen through in the corner.
Inside centre Marcel Brache and wing Gerhard van den Heever exploited Griquas’ poor passing to grab intercept tries, while skipper Deon Fourie capitalised on a strong rolling maul.
Flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis added all five conversions, while Pietersen slotted a penalty.
Griquas scored their only points via a try by flank Marnus Schoeman.
In the second half, hooker Scarra Ntubeni and No 8 Jebb Sinclair crossed the chalk to seal the convincing win. Catrakilis finished with a flawless goal-kicking display by converting all the extras.
Griquas were awarded a penalty try from a 5m scrum, while wing Rocco Jansen cracked WP’s defence at the death with a fine finish. But this proved to consolation as Province eased to their fourth victory of the Currie Cup campaign.

55 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
22 Sep 2012, 15:13 pm
do it griekwas dragons
22 Sep 2012, 15:17 pm
go griekwas!
22 Sep 2012, 15:17 pm
aw no, try wp.
22 Sep 2012, 15:21 pm
jerseys are too similar, its stupid.
22 Sep 2012, 15:21 pm
griekwas jerseys look better though.
22 Sep 2012, 15:27 pm
steyn is unplayable.
the lankis seeming a bit tentative.
22 Sep 2012, 15:27 pm
wicket steyn!
south africa seem like they are gonna sew this one up quite nicely.
22 Sep 2012, 15:30 pm
Come on Griquas. You can’t beat the Sharks and then lose to these mofflords. This should be a walk in the park.
22 Sep 2012, 15:31 pm
dammit
22 Sep 2012, 15:33 pm
another intercept try.
willie le roux for the boks? not at present.
22 Sep 2012, 15:36 pm
The fudgies will be here soon to come gloat.
22 Sep 2012, 15:37 pm
lankis need 3 runs per ball to win.
soon it will be 4.
the pressure ratcheting up by the minute.
22 Sep 2012, 15:38 pm
@Dusky-11: last week will be forgotten and forgiven.
albie drops a lanki. useless.
22 Sep 2012, 15:38 pm
what about a bok jersey for deon fourie?
22 Sep 2012, 15:40 pm
go WP.
Go.
Kick the **** out of the Griquas.
22 Sep 2012, 15:41 pm
@mathew333-14: what about it?
is he a hooker or a 6?
either way, he is not a bok.
22 Sep 2012, 15:42 pm
@cane-15: do you get the game there in nz cane?
22 Sep 2012, 15:42 pm
lankis now need 4 per ball.
game over imo.
22 Sep 2012, 15:48 pm
ok, lankis despatched.
now for the lions.
i am out, cheers all.
22 Sep 2012, 15:49 pm
Deon Fourie at it again. Sharkies want Keegan in the Bok team yet Fourie pummels the opposition week after week!
22 Sep 2012, 15:55 pm
deon fourie may not be heinrich brussouw but hes certainly in the same mould!
rate him above stegmann!
22 Sep 2012, 15:57 pm
hes a better option at openside flank than hooker
22 Sep 2012, 15:58 pm
whatever happened to rooting for the underdog, cane.
22 Sep 2012, 16:00 pm
you rate cane above hooper?
22 Sep 2012, 16:01 pm
What does Cane have against the poor little Griquas union?
22 Sep 2012, 16:03 pm
Come on WP…give Griquas a bonus point….and send the Bulls to the B section.
22 Sep 2012, 16:04 pm
@W.P-20: I will give you that Deon is a decent player, but then you give me that Deon Fourie has a way to go before he does for WP what Keegan has done for the Sharks. Also, just try not be a typical WP doos and admit Keegan has worked hard for his Springbok caps. Much harder than some other players that have worn green and gold.
And I dont want any Sharks with the Boks at the moment. From the comments they are obviously no good, so send them back to the Sharks. The Boks will clearly be better off without them.
22 Sep 2012, 16:15 pm
@Honesty Box Seymour-25:
They are a breeding ground of filth.
Always have been.
(my apologies to those peoples of Griqualand who are reasonable human beings…………………………………………………..both of you).
22 Sep 2012, 16:20 pm
@cane-28: eish! All this time I thought Bulls country bred filth.
@cane-28: how bizarre. Have you ever been to Kimberley?
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-23:
Sometimes the Underdog is just a mut that needs a boot in the groin.
22 Sep 2012, 16:21 pm
@cane-28: Geez, someone from Kimberly take a dump in your breakfast ? Shag your wife ?
Which player originating from Griquas has ever been dirty ?
Its Grey College that turns out the thugs. Them and anyone that comes from KZN midlands…..those okes have to fight at school or become someones biyatch I think…..
22 Sep 2012, 16:23 pm
@RL-29: No thats Bloemfontein. AJ Venter and the Du Plessis brothers are case in point.
22 Sep 2012, 16:25 pm
Who did the game schedule for Keo ?
Keo – I know you fond of the Capetonians but stay away from the tik addicts. You chops had the Griquas game wrong this week, and last week there was a mistake as well.
Catch a wake up, and say no to drugs.
22 Sep 2012, 16:26 pm
@Honesty Box Seymour-30:
No……………………………………………………I have never had the inclination.
Though I do imagine, the man in the street in Kimberley, is a far better human being, than their rugby Team …………………………………………by far.
22 Sep 2012, 16:27 pm
@Dusky-33: Bakkies, the ear biter forget his name, the killer, Tromp, etc…
22 Sep 2012, 16:28 pm
@Dusky-32:
Ask any Touring Team.
22 Sep 2012, 16:30 pm
@cane-35: That’s funny dude. Griquas are the altar boys of SA rugby. Everyone likes Griquas.
I would love to see them win the Currie Cup this year for Oom Bushy. He isn’t going to live forever and I would love it for him to see Griquas win a Currie Cup again.
Honestly if Griquas played the Sharks in the final. I would be cheering for Griquas.
Unfortunately you can see from this game that they lack the killer instinct. They just cant get up enough to drive home their advantage.
22 Sep 2012, 16:31 pm
@RL-29:
Bully Boys are Angels compared to the Kimberley Killers.
22 Sep 2012, 16:32 pm
What a sad case WP rugby have turned into – Canadians who are bare knuckle fighters playing – no name brand Americans and a little Scarra running around – did the WP forward factory run out of material?
22 Sep 2012, 16:35 pm
@RL-36: Bakkies Botha is from Newcastle. He is actually a Shark.
Johan Le Roux (the ear biter) was from Vereeniging (sp ?). He belongs to you lot.
Henry Tromp and his brother from Namibia (or South West Africa as they called it then)
Any others ? No boet – Pretoria doesn’t breed thugs. They might find a place to ply their trade at the Bulls but the breeding comes from the smaller ‘dorpies’. Newcastle is rough boet. You have to bliksem your way through school.
22 Sep 2012, 16:35 pm
Griquas getting pumped..
22 Sep 2012, 16:44 pm
@RL-40: Lions still relegated from Super 15 and no childish bickering will bring them back.
22 Sep 2012, 16:47 pm
@heboric-43: let me guess, you are a toothless brokeback.
22 Sep 2012, 16:49 pm
cane spouting off about filthy rugby teams… oh the irony…
22 Sep 2012, 16:51 pm
@RL-44: let me guess you are a mullet waring loser whose sister is also your wife with 3 broken down bakkies on the front yard. And spends time on forums taking pops at other teams because there own team is sh i t
22 Sep 2012, 16:54 pm
@heboric-46:
that’s exactly what I thought about you.
22 Sep 2012, 16:55 pm
@cane-37:
They have nothing on the old Western and Eastern Transvaal sides when it came to reducing the size of touring parties.
22 Sep 2012, 16:57 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-45: next up battle for the wooden spoon and the right to play the kings in a relegation/promotion match. Hold thumbs Bakkies.
22 Sep 2012, 16:58 pm
Aussie T20 team rocking the Rasta trim
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All