Jantjies back with Boks
23 Sep 2012
Four players have been called up to the Springbok squad of 30 for their final two Tests of the Rugby Championship.
They are the uncapped Golden Lions duo of utility back Jaco Taute and flyhalf Elton Jantjies, their experienced provincial team-mate, prop CJ van der Linde, and Cheetahs prop Coenie Oosthuizen.
‘I’d always wanted to include Jaco in the squad but an untimely injury meant we could not select him earlier. Jaco is big, strong, fast and versatile and it will be good to get him involved,’ said Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer.
‘Elton was part of the squad before this season, against England in June and in the first part of the Rugby Championship. He only missed out when we had to cut the numbers of the squad and it’s good to have him back.
‘CJ, who took part in our training camps earlier in the season, brings a lot of experience to our pack and he is no longer injured. Apart from being the second most experienced prop in Springbok history, after Os du Randt, he is versatile and can play loosehead and tighthead.
‘And it’s great to have Coenie back with us after he picked up an injury on debut in the first test against England in June. He is a world class prop and losing him was a big setback.’
Meyer added only two scrumhalves had been selected for the Tests, which meant Jano Vermaak misses out. The national selectors felt that Vermaak is familiar with the game plan and can easily be brought back in should his services be required.
Springbok squad – Willem Alberts, Andries Bekker, Craig Burden, Pat Cilliers, Marcell Coetzee, Juan de Jongh, Jean de Villiers (c), Jannie du Plessis, Eben Etzebeth, Johan Goosen, Bryan Habana, Francois Hougaard, Elton Jantjies, Zane Kirchner, Juandré Kruger, Pat Lambie, Tiaan Liebenberg, Francois Louw, Tendai Mtawarira, Lwazi Mvovo, Coenie Oosthuizen, Ruan Pienaar, Jacques Potgieter, Frans Steyn, Morné Steyn, Adriaan Strauss, Jaco Taute, CJ van der Linde, Flip van der Merwe, Duane Vermeulen.

291 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 » Show All
23 Sep 2012, 10:00 am
Great dragons!
23 Sep 2012, 10:02 am
Taute Dragon.
Hope he shifts in to the 15 asap so we can be rid of Zane. Hope it’s not long before we see Raymond Rhule and Willie le Roux join the Boks as well.
23 Sep 2012, 10:03 am
@corporal punishment-1: Beat me you sly dog you. : (
23 Sep 2012, 10:03 am
Nice looking team. Very exciting back line options, tho what is morne’s role now?
23 Sep 2012, 10:05 am
@ja ja: I couldn’t believe my luck – only just logged on to keo, very surprised to see a chance to be first. Hence the rather lame dragon line!
23 Sep 2012, 10:06 am
@JA-JA-2: ja Taute is the boss – can play centre, wing or fullback and with the inclusion of Jantjies into the squad Heineken is sending a clear message that the Goose is his #1 and Elton his #2. Morne is just a filler for now but will have to be replaced by a more permanent solution.
23 Sep 2012, 10:06 am
And HM continues to show faith in Potgieter and MS. Numbnut.
23 Sep 2012, 10:11 am
@XV-7: Potgieter got a haircut in an attempt to look “clean” and professional – a mask if you will in order to please Heineken. Only problem he is still kak and did fokol for the Bulls yesterday.
23 Sep 2012, 10:15 am
Still no Brussow….
Farkit man…
23 Sep 2012, 10:16 am
sad news about corrie sanders
23 Sep 2012, 10:17 am
Have not too many problems with that squad only changes I would have liked to see would be
Aplon in for Kirchner
Brussouw or Minnie for J Potgieter
Willie Le Roux for Morne Steyn (Lambie Jantjes and Goosen 10′s)
Also Frans Malherbe must be annoyed…carted all the way to Down Under and back for no game and especially after Greyling’s poor showing and then dropped for CJ. Imo they should have taken CJ to Aus to cover both sides of the scrum.
23 Sep 2012, 10:23 am
Heineken, take note and take off you bull cap.
Springbok squad – Willem Alberts, Andries Bekker, Craig Burden, Pat Cilliers, Marcell Coetzee, Juan de Jongh, Jean de Villiers (c), Jannie du Plessis, Eben Etzebeth, Johan Goosen, Bryan Habana, Francois Hougaard, Elton Jantjies,
Zane KirchnerAndries Coetzee , Juandré Kruger, Pat Lambie, Tiaan Liebenberg, Francois Louw, Tendai Mtawarira, Lwazi Mvovo, Coenie Oosthuizen, Ruan Pienaar,Jacques PotgieterThe Brussow, Frans Steyn,Morné SteynWillie le Roux, Adriaan Strauss, Jaco Taute, CJ van der Linde, Flip van der Merwe, Duane Vermeulen.23 Sep 2012, 10:24 am
Taute is a great inclusion. The Greyling creature is gone and hopefully soon the slithery Steyn and zonky Kirchner will be back in currie cup.
Oh and I wouldn’t go replacing Brussouw with Louw. No ways. If only he’d have been swapped with J. Potgieter.
23 Sep 2012, 10:24 am
15 Lambie
14 Taute
13 De Jongh
12 Steyn
11 Habana
10 Goosen
9 Hougaard
8 Vermeulen
7 Coetzee
6 Louw
5 Bekker
4 Etsebeth
3 J Du Plessis
2 T Liebenberg
1 T Mtawarira
16 A Strauss
17 CJ Van Der Linde
18 Juandre Kruger
19 Willem Alberts
20 Ruan Pienaar
21 Jean De Villiers
22 Lwazi Mvovo
23 Sep 2012, 10:36 am
Why are Zane, Morne and Potshitter still there? We have way better players around and this just again shows that HM is a fuc_kin plank.
23 Sep 2012, 10:44 am
Biggy, did you see that they plan to extend McCheats career by letting him skip 6 months of rugby – in the hope that a near 35 year old can lead them to glory in 2015.
23 Sep 2012, 10:49 am
@RL-16: I wonder if he really will take 6 months off or play for a French club for big money.
He could make 2015 but let’s be honest he’ll be more hanging in there rather than being the McCheat of his heyday, so good luck to him.
23 Sep 2012, 11:02 am
@Big Hit-10: Very sad !! Senseless killing!!
23 Sep 2012, 11:03 am
14. Rhys7
I like your squad…Can you just dream what a team like that would be with JP and Bissie fit. Move Taute to 13. And I would have Coenie on the bench instead of CJ – but thats a close call.
23 Sep 2012, 11:05 am
HM’s likely starting XV vs the Wallabies:
Kirchner
Mvovo
Frans
Jean
Habs
Goosen
Hougaard
Vermeuen
Flo
Kruger
Etzebeth
Jannie
Strauss
Beast
Maybe Taute in place of Mvovo but thats it.
23 Sep 2012, 11:06 am
@RL-16:
And?
@Big Hit-17:
I dont think he is going to a french club. I believe he needs a rest.
But if he does…good on him. Get the money. He would be worth millions.
23 Sep 2012, 11:09 am
@Big Hit-10:
How do you know about him??
Are you really a south african or do you just take huge interest in there sports?
23 Sep 2012, 11:13 am
McCaw doesn’t need the money he wont play in Europe next year, why would he play in a substandard comp with a rapidly declining Euro.
23 Sep 2012, 11:15 am
Corrie Sanders shot and killed
Sun, 23 Sep 2012 9:39 AM
EmailMore
Eyewitness News can confirm that former heavy weight boxing champion Corrie Sanders has died after he was shot while at the Thatch Haven Restaurant outside Brits, northwest of Pretoria.
It is understood he was shot in the stomach.
He was transferred to the Kalafong Hospital for further treatment but has since passed away.
The boxer’s close friend, musician Kurt Darren, says he was shocked when he learnt the news.
“It’s not speculation; he definitely passed away at 4am. He fought hard for eight hours. He was shot in the stomach by armed robbers at his nephew’s 21st birthday.”
AfriForum Chief Executive Officer Kallie Kriel on Sunday described to Eyewitness News how he witnessed the robbery.
Kriel was told three men stole cell phones and other items before they opened fire outside the venue.
“My children and their friends were playing outside and suddenly they came running in and said shots were fired and they hit trees above their heads. I ran outside and came across the sad situation, where Corrie was wounded.”
Meanwhile, the owner of the restaurant, Johan de Jager, described how a group of men entered the restaurant and stole customers’ valuables before opening fire.
“Three guys came inside and just started shooting. During the shooting, they shot Corrie.”
Meanwhile, the local sporting community has expressed shock at Sanders’ death.
An emotional Harold Volbrecht, who trained Sanders, said he could not believe what has happened.
“It’s very sad. My heart is broken. It’s just terrible. I can’t believe it happened.”
Police are investigating the case.
23 Sep 2012, 11:16 am
@Big Hit-17: more cheating news from NZ is that they cook the books with reporting crowd numbers. Something like including ghost season ticket holders and empty corporate seats to the official attendance figures.
In the land of the cheat
23 Sep 2012, 11:18 am
@NZINCHINA-23:
He could play over there, it would be like a holiday to him….nice easy friendys compared to NZ rugby. He could even get on the turps with the English players like they do before a game.
23 Sep 2012, 11:19 am
Heineken is an unrepentant fool. Heinrich Brussouw, one of the few Bok superstars left out in the cold again. The guy who who outplayed Richie McCaw and tasted victory against the AB’s on the last 4 occasions. The guy directly responsible for our finest moments over the last 4 years and has NEVER dissapointed in a Bok jersey cant get a look in- meanwhile we still have dogshiit like Potgieter, Morne, Kirtchner in the squad STILL.
CJ Van Der Linde ? Forget he even existed, certainly hasn’t done anything to warrant selection.
Great to see Jantjies and Taute gettng the nod though, hopefully this signals the permanent retirement of Steyn and Kirtchners Bok jerseys somewhere over the horrizon.
@Big Hit-17:
******* him.
@RL-25:
yeah hahaha awesome isnt it?
You looking for Big hit too back you up with your dumb post?
23 Sep 2012, 11:20 am
@CharlesM-18: Very sad.
23 Sep 2012, 11:21 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-28:
And you too.
23 Sep 2012, 11:22 am
The new call ups confirm that HM sees Lambie as a Fullback.
I agree, and it would be great to see Elton get a run at 10.
On the Brusow issue: As long as Flo is there it’s fine. I think that HM ios settling on a preferred combination of Alberts, Coetzee, FLO and Vermeulen, in one or other combination, with the 4th on the bench.
I agree and think that those are the 4 best we have available at the moment.
Good for Taute, good luck getting a start though. Lots of multi-position players in that squad.
CJ is long past it and has been for a couple of years now.
23 Sep 2012, 11:22 am
brussow looked undercooked yesterday and will need some time to get back to speed.
lots of jokers dreaming around here with regard to elton and taute if they actually believe they’ll get capped against oz and nz. if they lucky they’ll get a few minutes at the end of either game whether boks are winning or losing.
23 Sep 2012, 11:24 am
@RL-25:
does not surprise me in the least.
just look at how they covered up the filthy bollting incident at auckland stadium.
23 Sep 2012, 11:25 am
@Hurricane-31:
freedom of opinion boet
fire away
23 Sep 2012, 11:26 am
@RL-8: we have a stubborn coach. Joshua Strauss is streets ahead of Potgieter. We need to be building towards 2015 with a young team. Like JW did in 2004. JdV and CJ are well past their sell by dates.
23 Sep 2012, 11:26 am
Hurri hes going to take a rest I doubt very much he’ll risk his body for a few Euros he wants more trophies if thats possible as he already has them all.
23 Sep 2012, 11:27 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-34:
Nothing you say surprises me as well.
Who else would say it was a Kiwis fault that Etzebeth was banned?
You say all the Boks losses were the fault of the refs. Even the draw was the refs fault.
Nothing you say surprises anyway here……cuckoo….cuckoo
23 Sep 2012, 11:28 am
@grant10-9:
brussouw hasn’t actually done anything of note lately has he. He was missing for the greater part of the game yesterday.
@stormersboy-32:
I agree, CJ is long past it which really just highlights how short we are in props and in particular a prop on the bench who can cover both sides.
23 Sep 2012, 11:28 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-35:
already have.
McCawsome is a thorn in your jealous hide. love it.
23 Sep 2012, 11:29 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-33: if you took your bulls blinkers off you will realise that Jantjies and Taute are FAR superior players to Steyn and Kirchner. They just happen to play for the wrong provincial team.
23 Sep 2012, 11:30 am
@NZINCHINA-37:
Hansen has said MCaw would be silly not to play overseas for a quick stint, as it is allowed in his contract. Strange he would say that.
But yeah i hope he has a rest.
23 Sep 2012, 11:30 am
@XV-36:
if josh strauss is streets ahead of potgieter and elton is better than morne and cilliers is better than greyling and taute is better than zane and mapoe is better tha jj,etc,etc….
how on earth is it the lions keep getting their arses handed to them in superrugby?
23 Sep 2012, 11:31 am
@stormersboy-32: true….we need competition in every position. Taute and Lambie at FB and Goosen and Jantjies at FH. We have the players to build a very strong squad.
@XV-41:
Bakkies is all blinkers.
@Hurricane-38:
anf nothing your team does surprises either…vuilgat…vuilgat…
Why is J Potgieter still in the squad? After seeing Brussouw and Daniel playing brilliantly compared to that buffoon…
And what does Jantjies and Taute’s inclusion tell Lambie?? The poor kid isnt considered as a flyhalf, plays second fiddle to the one dimensional Kirchner…and now he has to compete with another 10 and 15… granted they deserve to be there.
And CJs inclusion just shows that we are seriously lacking quality depth at prop…
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-33:
If they do get game time and Lambie doesnt… Lambie is seriously being mismanaged.
Its a strong squad but unfortunately still a lot of deadweight hanging around… Just imagine if you could replace players like JDV, Kirchner, MS, CJ and JPot with some quality players…
23 Sep 2012, 11:32 am
@Hurricane-40:
nope… no jealousy boet… just outright disgust and dislike….
i do not want to be rude so lets just leave it at that.
23 Sep 2012, 11:32 am
McCaw will go down as the most decorated player/captain in the history of the game, the best 7 and probably the best to ever play the game.
23 Sep 2012, 11:33 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-43:
A good team takes more that 3 or 4 good players.
You cant say those players are rubbish cos they played in the lions team.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 » Show All