Jantjies back with Boks
23 Sep 2012
Four players have been called up to the Springbok squad of 30 for their final two Tests of the Rugby Championship.
They are the uncapped Golden Lions duo of utility back Jaco Taute and flyhalf Elton Jantjies, their experienced provincial team-mate, prop CJ van der Linde, and Cheetahs prop Coenie Oosthuizen.
‘I’d always wanted to include Jaco in the squad but an untimely injury meant we could not select him earlier. Jaco is big, strong, fast and versatile and it will be good to get him involved,’ said Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer.
‘Elton was part of the squad before this season, against England in June and in the first part of the Rugby Championship. He only missed out when we had to cut the numbers of the squad and it’s good to have him back.
‘CJ, who took part in our training camps earlier in the season, brings a lot of experience to our pack and he is no longer injured. Apart from being the second most experienced prop in Springbok history, after Os du Randt, he is versatile and can play loosehead and tighthead.
‘And it’s great to have Coenie back with us after he picked up an injury on debut in the first test against England in June. He is a world class prop and losing him was a big setback.’
Meyer added only two scrumhalves had been selected for the Tests, which meant Jano Vermaak misses out. The national selectors felt that Vermaak is familiar with the game plan and can easily be brought back in should his services be required.
Springbok squad – Willem Alberts, Andries Bekker, Craig Burden, Pat Cilliers, Marcell Coetzee, Juan de Jongh, Jean de Villiers (c), Jannie du Plessis, Eben Etzebeth, Johan Goosen, Bryan Habana, Francois Hougaard, Elton Jantjies, Zane Kirchner, Juandré Kruger, Pat Lambie, Tiaan Liebenberg, Francois Louw, Tendai Mtawarira, Lwazi Mvovo, Coenie Oosthuizen, Ruan Pienaar, Jacques Potgieter, Frans Steyn, Morné Steyn, Adriaan Strauss, Jaco Taute, CJ van der Linde, Flip van der Merwe, Duane Vermeulen.

291 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 » Show All
23 Sep 2012, 11:33 am
The next test is at Loftus so if you ask me there is no way Heyneke won’t include Morne and Kirchner in the 22.
I hope he will start with Goosen.
But then Morne will definitely be on the bench.
And Kirchner will likely be the starting fullback to make up what they claim is not official but appears to be tacitly implemented policy of having three previously-disadvantaged representational players in the starting 15 (just writing that sentence feels ridiculous, but it’s part and parcel of the circus that is SA rugby).
I reckon Meyer will also want to take a look at Taute who he rates highly, so there’s a good chance Taute will be on the bench.
Where this leaves the likes of Jantjies and Lambie, I don’t know!
But I am very worried that these two very talented young players may fast become the next Brent Russels of the test arena.
I think the Boks will be better with bolder choices. And I believe Goosen, Jantjies, Lambie and Taute all offer more than Morne and Kirchner.
But it is quite clear Meyer values Morne and Zane, just like he seems to see value in Jacques Potgieter.
So I am hoping for the best of a bad scenario, which is:
Loftus: Goosen at 10, Kirchner at 15. Morne and Lambie on the bench.
Ellis Park: Goosen at 10, Lambie at 15. Jantjies and Taute on the bench.
23 Sep 2012, 11:34 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-46:
says the follower of eye gouging, head butting and cheap a$$ elbows.
Carry on but you are looking stupid again.
23 Sep 2012, 11:35 am
@Hurricane-22: do you know that Poppa is actually a South African pretending to be a kiwi?
@Brigadier Van Zyl-43: the last time I checked a rugby team consisted of 15 players. And the Lions are ahead of the Bulls on the CC log.
@XV-36:
Strauss is pretty much the same player imo. Its a pity Stander is going abroad…
Hopefully when Schalk comes back that will be the end of Potties inclusion… Or I hate to say it he’ll probably make way for Spies…
@Hurricane-50:
but minnie is also apparently better than bulls flankers.
according to supporters outside of the bulls at least half the lions side is man for man better than the bulls.
so again I ask….how on earth is it the bulls actually win any games
@Brigadier Van Zyl-39:
yip, agreed on brussow.
@XV-41:
more likely cj and coenie to get game time against oz. nz.
the other two should perhaps play on the eoyt imo.
23 Sep 2012, 11:36 am
@Liewe Luiperd-53:
Nope. Do you actually know that?
23 Sep 2012, 11:36 am
@XV-36: I thought that the brokeback fans were being paranoid when they accused Heineken of being bull biased when he left out Kolisi for the plank Potgieter. I see now that they were not nuts – anybody ahead of Potgieter will do, anybody!
23 Sep 2012, 11:37 am
Why wasn’t Greyling selected, broken forearm?
@XV-54:
of course the lions are ahead of the bulls in the cc…..it’s their frikken superrugby squad.
lets wait and see what happens in superrugby….no, wait,lol…
fu
@Brigadier Van Zyl-56:
I will do the Bakkies way of explinning wins that should not happen. Its obvious, the Bulls team cheats.
23 Sep 2012, 11:38 am
@Jeez-55: Strauss similar to Potgieter? I see Strauss as a captain and he breaks the advantage line often. Potgieter is just all brawn and no brain. Stander has impressed me too….that is a big loss.
23 Sep 2012, 11:39 am
@NZINCHINA-60:
banned for 2 weeks.
ironically, give me greyling over cj any day of the week.
but just you wait and see…..CJ will never receive the same sort of abuse that greyling does.
@Hurricane-40:
I cant believe McCaw still manages to put in the performances he does. he hobbles around during stoppages like an old man, but when in play is as effective as ever. incredible stuff. he needs a break and deserves a break. after the championship they should let him rest till march/april.
still i cant see him lasting to the next world cup.
@Brigadier Van Zyl-61:
23 Sep 2012, 11:41 am
@Hurricane-52:
on the subject, i rewatched the bok game and can tell you that filthy little no.15 got away with a nice little intentionalflying knees to the back of a player competing for a high ball. he really is making a habit of those.
your accusations are ridiculous because any incident involving a bok player was and is always punished accordingly, unlike you filthy lot.
@Brigadier Van Zyl-61: fu you plank. I have my opinion and yo have yours….mine just happens to come from a higher IQ. fo
@munkiboi-65:
you are right. It is funny after stoppages, the way he walks around lol.
I hope he does make it but it would not surprise me if he calls it a day end of 2013
@RL-59:
interesting…isn’t kolisi actually out injured at the moment…and potgieter will not play for the boks anyway?
don’t let common sense get in the way of spewing forth.
23 Sep 2012, 11:42 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-64:
if CJ elbows mccaw in the face for a yellow card, gives away 4 penalties in 25 mins and gets a two week ban all after coming on as a sub then CJ will cop the same abuse.
Greylings contribution was just about the worst i have ever seen. he was the ABs super sub. i hope to never see him in a bok jersey again.
23 Sep 2012, 11:43 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-67:
my accusations?
You accuse us of everything. Yet when i say about elbows and head butts its like they are false.
You are the Keo clown, i hope Keo pays you or even some South African comedy company, you really deserve it.
23 Sep 2012, 11:43 am
@Jeez-47:
clearly you do not know the meaning of deadweight, look it up.
agreed on lambie, another reason why the other two wont get game time.
23 Sep 2012, 11:44 am
I liked the look of Botha at 8 yesterday for the Bulls. My kind of player. How good was that long range penalty by the Bulls kicker?? (I forget his name).
Potgieter still not up to scratch, but it shows that HM is looking for big 7s in the Alberts mold. For me Elstadt is a better bet than Potgieter at 7.
Keegan confirmed for me yesterday why I wouldn’t have him in the Springbok squad. Just not up to that extra 10% that’s required.
On the WP front, Siya Ntubeni (Scarra) is getting better and better at 2. Makes me feel better about losing Fourie to overseas. Schreuder is looking better and better too. The greek had a good game too, the Kings challenge awaits him. Good luck.
23 Sep 2012, 11:45 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-67:
Did you see pienear cheating all game?
Can you tell me what he was doing?
23 Sep 2012, 11:46 am
And what about JJ Engelbrecht?
He took his opportunities well at test level only to be left out in the cold.
He did far more than Jacques Potgieter IMO and yet Potgieter is there but Engelbrecht isn’t?
23 Sep 2012, 11:47 am
@XV-36: Trade-off between building a team versus winning a few. Couldn’t imagine a young team with no experience and no results. THis blog would probably lynch them
23 Sep 2012, 11:48 am
@RL-59:
see, this is why the lions have gone down the way they have.
you okes really have no clue do you….
23 Sep 2012, 11:48 am
@puff-51:
another dreamer
wow
23 Sep 2012, 11:50 am
@munkiboi-71:
hold on a minute, greyling was copping abuse long before he actually had his nightmare cameo. And well you know it.
Greyling was a way better performer than cj this past season and was a logical call up as 4th best prop availible.
My argument is that if players like greyling and potgieter were wearing jeresys other than they bulls none would bat an eyelid at their inclusion.
23 Sep 2012, 11:50 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-70: he wan’t injured for the June internationals yet that idiot Heineken picked Potgieter and not the better Kolisi – fckn bulls are in decline with only J Kruger and Hougaard (both WP boys) worthy of their Bok jerseys.
23 Sep 2012, 11:52 am
@bokgat1-77: I know what you mean….but I think we can win with youth as well. Its not mutually exclusive…albeit I agree higher risk…..
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-78: lol just yesterday you were saying how kak Potgieter was.
@munkiboi-71:
And then again, when skalk eye gouge in the opening 30 seconds of a test match, or bakkies butted or even Etsbeth headbutted just a couple of weeks ago…….they have never recieved the sort of abuse that greyling has. Hell, even jean devilliers copped a 2 week ban a couple of seasons ago for a tip tackle in an ab vs nok test match.
23 Sep 2012, 11:53 am
At Loftus:
1. Mtawarira 2. Strauss 3. Du Plessis 4. Van Der Merwe 5. Kruger 6. Louw 7. Alberts 8. Vermeulen 9. Pienaar 10. Goosen 11. Hougaard 12. Steyn 13. De Villiers 14. Habana 15. Kirchner
16. Liebenberg 17. Oosthuizen 18. Etzebeth 19. Coetzee 20. Steyn 21. De Jongh 22. Lambie
At Ellis Park:
1. Mtawarira 2. Strauss 3. Du Plessis 4. Etzebeth 5. Bekker 6. Louw 7. Alberts 8. Vermeulen 9. Pienaar 10. Goosen 11. Hougaard 12. Steyn 13. De Villiers 14. Habana 15. Lambie
16. Liebenberg 17. Oosthuizen 18. Van Der Merwe 19. Coetzee 20. Jantjies 21. Taute 22. Mvovo
23 Sep 2012, 11:53 am
@Hurricane-72:
please, i need you to think things through before replying to me. i dont have the time or energy for this.
any bok player who plays dangerously is unreservedly punished as a matter of course, in fact sa players are routinely punished even when they have not played dangerously too. whats your point on this.
nz players are filthy and get waved on by, by the arsecreeps.
i dont want to talk about this.
23 Sep 2012, 11:54 am
@RL-81:
…is kolisi not an opensider and potgieter a blindsider?
heyneken selected coetzee ahead of kolisi and not potgieter.
please use the brain
23 Sep 2012, 11:55 am
@stormersboy-74:
agreed on everything.
very sensible assesment.
23 Sep 2012, 11:56 am
@puff-51:
“… of having three previously-disadvantaged representational players in the starting 15″
Unfortunately that is probably one of the underlining reasons for Kirchner’s inclusion…
This is unfortunate… And its unfortunate that Chill is injured… Id pick him ahead of Strauss as he is another scavenger in the ruck and slows down the opposition’s ball a lot more than Strauss…but he will probably remain the number 2 hooker with Bismark obviously first choice….
And selecting Hougaard at wing doesnt really help with the political numbers game either… But losing a quality player like Guthro Steenkamp is also unfortunate as he could be picked on merit any day and rotate with Beast off the bench. That way there will aways be a ”previously disadvantaged’ player at 1….
And a guy like Kolisi, and Jantjies for that matter, will have to start making the match 22 on a regular basis in the next few years…
There really is no reason to play the ‘number’s game’ if you pick the right quality players… At this point HM is playing quota roulette by selecting Kirchner…
23 Sep 2012, 11:57 am
@Hurricane-75:
good grief, are you actually going to compare a player toeing the ball back into the base of the ruck with a player intentionally jumpimg with flying knees into an oppostion player…?…
kry jou kop reg meneer.
23 Sep 2012, 11:59 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-73:
Dead weight: ‘a heavy or oppressive burden’
23 Sep 2012, 12:00 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-80:
Greyling is a powerful ball carrier.
His scrumming is kakkk though.
And he concedes far too many penalties.
Coenie also concedes penalties, but he offers so much more in numerous aspects of play.
As for Potgieter – please, don’t talk twak.
There are scores of loosies better and more refined than him.
This is only his first year at S15 level.
Yes, it’s Goosen’s too – but Goosen is a superstar.
Potgieter is not.
23 Sep 2012, 12:00 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-87: Actually, all 3 are 7′s in my opinion. None of them are genuine 6′s for me.
6′s are players like Brussow, Minnie, FLO, (perhaps Daniel), Deon Fourie (when he plays 6). Players with great hands and a desire to play more to the ball.
HM initially selected Coetzee as 6 but I think we can agree that it wasn’t effective and the balance suffered as a result. I think personally it would have been the same if Kolisi was selected.
23 Sep 2012, 12:01 pm
4 flyhalves in the squad?
3 players capable of playing fullback (oh, and Kirchner).
Potgieter? The most overrated player to pull on the green and gold since Jorrie Muller.
Meyer has TRULY lost the plot.
I’m teetering on the edge of a call for P.Divvy to be reinstated.
@stormersboy-74:
the bulls cc are shot of any sort of confidence at the moment.
I have no idea why none recognise potgieter, I thought he put in a pretty decent effort yesterday. He picks excellent angles for a big ball carrier and folds okes in half in the tackle. He is also way out of luck at the moment, I like that ref because he is articulate…but he is also half blind. Twice he blew potgieter up and on both occassion Potgieter had nothing to do with the infridgements.
The flyhalf is okay….he can be pretty good but he can also be superrkak.
I would really like to see more of blommetjies and mastriet , in fact, I rate all the bulls backs yesterday they just need to get some confidence and will be fine.
@Brigadier Van Zyl-87:
Burger
Smith
Coetzee
Louw
Vermeulen
Kolisi
Elstadt
Deysel
Strauss
Would start any of these players at 7 ahead of Potgieter.
But then I’m not you nor am I Heyneke Meyer.
23 Sep 2012, 12:02 pm
@RL-83:
he was kak yesterday. he brought nothing to the team as far as i’m concerned, nothing. always takes the wrong options, has very poor ball protection skills and goes to ground in contact as if he has the body of a giant with the mind of a 5 year old… it makes no sense the way he goes to ground when you consider his size…
wtf he was trying in the movement before stander’s (pure class) try was just mystefying to me.
23 Sep 2012, 12:03 pm
@stormersboy-93:
well, I’ll tell you now, if kolisi is going to stick at 7 he will not be a bok anytime soon.
23 Sep 2012, 12:05 pm
@puff-92:
look, I don’t see Potgieter being a superstar, he is not as poor as you would make him though.
23 Sep 2012, 12:06 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-90:
As said, all foul play is foul play.
Habana fouled big time to the point of lying his a$$ of, yet he got away with it.
Now you think Dagg is a dirty player?
Kicking the ball into a ruck constantly put your players offside. Yet you think its ok but jumping up with kness in the air is illegal….lol stupid man
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 » Show All