Jantjies back with Boks
23 Sep 2012
Four players have been called up to the Springbok squad of 30 for their final two Tests of the Rugby Championship.
They are the uncapped Golden Lions duo of utility back Jaco Taute and flyhalf Elton Jantjies, their experienced provincial team-mate, prop CJ van der Linde, and Cheetahs prop Coenie Oosthuizen.
‘I’d always wanted to include Jaco in the squad but an untimely injury meant we could not select him earlier. Jaco is big, strong, fast and versatile and it will be good to get him involved,’ said Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer.
‘Elton was part of the squad before this season, against England in June and in the first part of the Rugby Championship. He only missed out when we had to cut the numbers of the squad and it’s good to have him back.
‘CJ, who took part in our training camps earlier in the season, brings a lot of experience to our pack and he is no longer injured. Apart from being the second most experienced prop in Springbok history, after Os du Randt, he is versatile and can play loosehead and tighthead.
‘And it’s great to have Coenie back with us after he picked up an injury on debut in the first test against England in June. He is a world class prop and losing him was a big setback.’
Meyer added only two scrumhalves had been selected for the Tests, which meant Jano Vermaak misses out. The national selectors felt that Vermaak is familiar with the game plan and can easily be brought back in should his services be required.
Springbok squad – Willem Alberts, Andries Bekker, Craig Burden, Pat Cilliers, Marcell Coetzee, Juan de Jongh, Jean de Villiers (c), Jannie du Plessis, Eben Etzebeth, Johan Goosen, Bryan Habana, Francois Hougaard, Elton Jantjies, Zane Kirchner, Juandré Kruger, Pat Lambie, Tiaan Liebenberg, Francois Louw, Tendai Mtawarira, Lwazi Mvovo, Coenie Oosthuizen, Ruan Pienaar, Jacques Potgieter, Frans Steyn, Morné Steyn, Adriaan Strauss, Jaco Taute, CJ van der Linde, Flip van der Merwe, Duane Vermeulen.

291 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 » Show All
23 Sep 2012, 12:07 pm
@Jeez-91:
burden…? graig burden..? ja, i dont think he should be in the squad either.
23 Sep 2012, 12:07 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-95: Potgieter is a big strong guy but for me lacks any real effectiveness. I see him as a player who makes a big show of being really bustling but when you look at him it’s all show and no (real) go,
He didn’t have a bad game yesterday, but Botha impressed me more than Potties.
That was my impression anyway.
I must say, Raymond Rhule is impressing me more each game.
Great runner, superb balance and great acceleration. he is becoming what Lionel Mapoe never has but was expected to be.
23 Sep 2012, 12:08 pm
@Jeez-89:
End of year tour.
1. Mtawarira, Steenkamp
2. Strauss, Ralepelle
3. Du Plessis, Oosthuizen
4. Etzebeth. Van Der Merwe
5. Bekker. Kruger
6. Burger, Kolisi
7. Alberts, Coetzee
8. Vermeulen, Spies
9. Du Preez, Hougaard
10. Goosen, Jantjies
11. Habana, Mvovo
12. Steyn, De Jongh
13. De Villiers, Engelbrecht
14. Pieterson, Basson
15. Lambie, Taute
10 coloured/black players – all there on merit.
Would rather see Louw ahead of Spies, Le Roux or Aplon ahead of Mvovo and Jacques Fourie ahead of Engelbrecht but I don’t see it happening.
23 Sep 2012, 12:11 pm
@stormersboy-102:
The problem is you can be a big strong guy like Potgieter.
Or you can be a big strong guy like Messam or McCaw or Read or Pocock.
The question is can you be big, strong and effective.
Potgieter ticks 2 boxes.
23 Sep 2012, 12:13 pm
Potgieter and Spies are prime examples in SA rugby of having the bodies of a colossus and the balls of a eunuch.
23 Sep 2012, 12:13 pm
@Hurricane-100:
no, you are the false fool here, but you are incapable of understanding this.
bok players are routinely punished for any individual instances of cheating and dangerous play, as they should be. there are few and far times between that they get away with that sort of thing.
and again, a player touching a ball when its going out or a player toeing a ball into a ruck is not the same as a player using his knees to wound an oppostion player in the back. that is just pure filthy play by filthy people… after damaging a sa players intestines, to the point of needing emergency surgery, in the same way you’d think you could behave better.
if you want to make a straight comparison with the sa cheating then maybe compare the forward pass kieren read try with the examples you cite.
you are tireing me.
23 Sep 2012, 12:14 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-99:
I contend that he is not better than the ten looseforwards I listed who I would prefer ahead of him at 7 for the Boks.
He has positive attributes, sure.
And I believe his game will be refined in time.
But would he be anywhere near my current Springbok squad, even with injuries to Smith, Burger and Kolisi and with Danie Rossouw playing in Japan?
No.
23 Sep 2012, 12:15 pm
@Vetkoek-104:
From what I’ve seen, he only ticks one.
Potgieter and Spies.
Bodies of colossus.
Balls of a eunuch.
Brains of a goldfish.
@Vetkoek-104:
you’re just listing a bunch of filthy players, so is your point that he should learn to play filthy.
23 Sep 2012, 12:16 pm
@puff-108:
True. I was trying to be nice.
23 Sep 2012, 12:16 pm
@Vetkoek-105:
Hahahahahaha!
No, Potgieter’s ALL balls and no brain.
23 Sep 2012, 12:18 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-110:
Nope- I’m listing a bunch of damned good players. Some of the best ever in a guy like McCaw.
And calling McCaw filthy is ridiculous. He’s an absolute ambassador for the game and his country.
If he were South African, more of us would recognise that, but I suppose there are none so blind as those who will not see, hey?
23 Sep 2012, 12:18 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-87: you know fokol about players – Kolisi is an 8th man who has the skill an intellect to play anywhere in the backrow – the same as Coetzee. The bonehead Potgieter us a dof doos with zero skill who plays for crashball team.
23 Sep 2012, 12:22 pm
Okes like Pocock and McCaw basically grin from ear to ear when they see a Bok side with Potgieter in it.
You see, coaches in SA need to start appreciating that this isn’t 1965 and we are no longer bigger, stronger and harder than most of our opposition. In fact, we have remained much the same, whilst the oppo have gotten bigger, stronger, smarter, faster and more skillful.
23 Sep 2012, 12:26 pm
HM is appeasing the masses by selecting Elton, he has no intentions of playing him.
23 Sep 2012, 12:29 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-95:
i disagree.
his ball protection going into contact and the way he presents the ball once on the ground is always poorly effective to my mind. he never gets clearly or overwhelmingly over the advantge line when taking it up into contact but intead crashes and flops down without the defense neading to make any real realignment or retreat on the backfoot.
for his size and weight his meters gained are pathetic and he does not seem to even draw any extra defenders to him considering his size, which you would think is what would happen if oppostion feared him for his bulk.
and the way in which he could not barrel over for a try from three meters out only for stander to come off the bench and show him how its done is just the pits for me.
vir my is jacques potgieter is nie n breker nie.
he needs coaching on technique and he needs to learn how to actually do damage on players.
23 Sep 2012, 12:30 pm
@Hurricane-22: I’m a boxing fan hurricane, I know about Davy Tua too. In his prime, Sanders stopped current pfp and heavyweight champ Wlad Klitschko in a huge upset and many think he is Wlad’s brother Vitali’s career best win.
23 Sep 2012, 12:30 pm
Interesting to hear John Mitchell’s thoughts on his choices for Bok backline moving forward.
9. Hougaard
10. Goosen
11. Habana
12. Lambie
13. De Jongh
14. Pieterson
15. Frans Steyn
23 Sep 2012, 12:33 pm
HM is/ was surely thinking Potgieter to be the kinda Daniesourus type player the Boks like to play with.
He had alot of impact in his early games. I agree though that he should not be playing right now -for the Boks.
He will eventually become a consistent contender for some sort of place in the Bok team… on the bench probably – given ,,, until or if,,, he raises his game on a couple of levels.
23 Sep 2012, 12:34 pm
vir my is jacques potgieter nie n breker nie.
hy noding afrigting in hierdie departement.
n helse klomp afrigting.
23 Sep 2012, 12:35 pm
@XhosaKid-116: ‘Elton was part of the squad before this season, against England in June and in the first part of the Rugby Championship. He only missed out when we had to cut the numbers of the squad and it’s good to have him back.
23 Sep 2012, 12:37 pm
Backline bench could well be Jantjes, Lambie, Taute if they’re going 4/3 like they probably would. Hougaards scrummie back-up as usual.
23 Sep 2012, 12:40 pm
@XhosaKid-116:
you are probably right. it is stupid really. he should just have waited until the eoyt and capped him then.
23 Sep 2012, 12:40 pm
Imagine a full strength bok team
15 F Steyn
14 JP Pietersen
13 J Fourie
12 J De Villiers
11 Bryan Habana
10 Pat Lambie
9 Fourie Du Preez
8 Duane Vermeulen
7 Schalk Burger
6 F Louw / Brussouw
5 Bekker
4 Etsebeth
3 Jannie Du Plessis
2 Bismark Du Plessis
1 Tendai Mtawarira
16 Schalk Brits
17 Gurthro Steenkamp
18 Danie Russouw
19 Willem Alberts
20 Ruan Pienaar
21 Johan Goosen
22 Gio Aplon
23 Sep 2012, 12:42 pm
it would have had better pr look to it because then he would actually have played and maybe even done well.
but dont think this is and has not been done to many bok potentials all before.
23 Sep 2012, 12:43 pm
@shooter-122: which means what?
meyer didn’t play elton in PE against an inexperienced England that had 3 u21 players on the field & his reason was that there were too many inexperienced Boks on the field and he didn’t want to “throw elton in that situation” but goosen apparently can be thrown in the thick against Aus & NZ with the same inexperience around him but he’ll be fine
meyer says a lot of bullshit!
23 Sep 2012, 12:44 pm
@@Hurricane-42: the toulon boss is talking about a big name global signing in January, i would not be surprised at all if it is McCaw. He would probably earn up to £1m for 6 months work so it’s difficult to see why he wouldn’t.
23 Sep 2012, 12:46 pm
@Rhys7-125: full strength and full form. never happens.
something on paper.
and not all those in your team would neccesarily be the team selected by Meyer.
But i can can live with this part: Imagine a full strength bok team – (( playing the good rugby their talent and names imply ))
23 Sep 2012, 12:48 pm
@shooter-123:
Goosen starts…Morne not in the 22?
Morne starts…Goosen not in the 22?
Is that what you’re saying?
23 Sep 2012, 12:50 pm
@Transformation-127: I don’t think Jantjes plays meyer’s style of game, I recall at Tigers meyer talking about how it was good to have derick at 10 over flood because of his tactical kicking and “ability to play in the right areas of the field”. He has a certain style and while certain players fit others don’t.
23 Sep 2012, 12:52 pm
CJ van der Linde???
Jaques Potgieter???
What?
23 Sep 2012, 12:55 pm
@Transformation-127: if you were HM, would you have selected Jantjes in place of Morne – at that point?
We’re talking real world here matey mate. not fantasy league. live and die stuff.
sure, he could’ve gambled. maybe EJ would’ve had better games. Point is,,, it was never on the cards. never was.
The principle of to be anti HM is laughable by some you guys.
It begins with this…. boo-hoo-hoo frikin – he is just a blue bull coach first and foremost. ironically,, what those people are doing, is exactly what they are accusing him of… which is being non-objective.
ffs. if he picks or backs a blue bull, the toys go out of the cot.
just be equally critical of the other provinces’ players who also did badly.
Two losses against – Aus and Nz. obviously he is working towards getting it right.
That is why in every instance he is pointing out to you guys who want to claim that he is moving the fielders to where the ball goes,,, that these players are recognized. If you played rugby since 0/8 level… the coach already then had to tell some players…. sorry dudes… there only 15 spots in the team. nothing’s changed.
23 Sep 2012, 12:55 pm
@Big Hit-131:
Why then call him up if he does not suit his style of play?
Jantjies will now not any play rugby for the next two weeks.
23 Sep 2012, 12:56 pm
@nama1-130: Morne to take a bit of a break. goossen starts.
23 Sep 2012, 12:59 pm
@nama1-134: because he has to pick bleck players and your cuzzie divvy didn’t help matters by sticking the knife in last week. It is window dressing.
23 Sep 2012, 13:01 pm
@Vetkoek-113:
lets just agree to disagree.
i have no high regard or respect for macaw, read or pocick. messams 50/50 imo.
and he most certainly is not an ambassodor for the game, he may be an ambassador for his country and that;s about it.
23 Sep 2012, 13:01 pm
Does anyone know anything about Rosario, where the argies take on the kiwis?
Is the pitch the same sort as mendoza, eg: not much width.
I fancy the argies a little at home against the kiwis.
23 Sep 2012, 13:02 pm
@shooter-133:
Any objective rugby supporter would’ve REPLACED Morne with Jantjies in the 2nd half of the 3rd test against England.
Morne was utterly kak on the day, wasn’t he?
What, in your mind, is the reason for Elton’s call up now? Meyer won’t select him ahead of either Morne or Goosen.
23 Sep 2012, 13:02 pm
I call it the ‘Love to hate the Bulls’ mentality…
why do so many people hate the best.
“they” hated Naas.
in general…
That mentality extends to people who just love to hate. They say they aspire to greater things, but when it is achieved,, there they will be.. still attempting to bring some sportmen down… like Tiger is hated,, like Schumacher was being hated, Naas and quite a few others…
23 Sep 2012, 13:03 pm
@Big Hit-131: You are obviously not a very clever man.. Tory I presume?? I think that they all are twats but I am sure that you know that… Now with regard to you thinking that Meyer has has some rational explaination for excluding the best Flyhalf in the country from his starting lineup or playing the worst for every game so far..and he will do so in the next game too and you know that too. There was a huge delay in this announcement because Meyer’s job was at stake regarding Elton Jantjies. I presume that your judgement at work and in the home is also similarly impaired by this kind of moronic thinking??… or does it just happen when you judge black competence
23 Sep 2012, 13:03 pm
@nama1-139: Why are you asking that question?
Are you saying is not picking him because he is black?
23 Sep 2012, 13:04 pm
john smit was an ambassador for the game as well his country.
same for victor.
23 Sep 2012, 13:05 pm
i hope you get to live down your paranoia.
23 Sep 2012, 13:06 pm
@shooter-135:
Morne will start boet.
He had this weekend off . Was his “mental break.”
@Liewe Luiperd-136:
Amen on the window dressing bit.
23 Sep 2012, 13:07 pm
@Jeez-89:
If Kirchner is there for political numbers, why the hell is Potgieter in the team? For your information there is no such thing as quotas in SA rugby, if that was the case we wouldn’t be watching newly lily white teams running out every weekend in a CC that is basically a glorified version of the VC.
@Xhosakid-116:
True mfethu…
23 Sep 2012, 13:08 pm
@shooter-142: No ,he is not picking him because he has found a link between pigmentation and rugby skills.. He has based his analysis on well researched studies into pigmentation… fking twat!!!
23 Sep 2012, 13:13 pm
@nama1-139: I’m saying that HM knows more about rugby than the combined rugby knowledge on this site.
In fact, 99% of those coaches at S15 level know more than the people on here.
You have stats. On the web. those guys analise every move, moment, practice session, history, personal fitnes, mental aspect and compatibly and 1000 things more to get to their decisions.
And then they make them.
Even then – on the day – they have to make decisions as they see it.
Did we lose the tests? No.
it’s not a playstation game where you can sub and play and see and have disregard for the greater picture.
Morne’s form was unfortunate. Added to that, Elton at that time, was not neccesarily in the form he is now.
23 Sep 2012, 13:13 pm
Meyer needs a proper rugby kenner in his stable just like White needed one otherwise Meyer is going DOWN and probably rather sooner than later..
Meyer don’t know squat about effective rugby strategy or selection and is building his team around dumb fck knee jerk reactionary trial and error non reality.
Willem Alberts, Andries Bekker, Pat Cilliers, Marcell Coetzee, Juan de Jongh, Jean de Villiers (c), Jannie du Plessis, Eben Etzebeth, Johan Goosen, Bryan Habana, Francois Hougaard, Elton Jantjies, Juandré Kruger, Pat Lambie, Tiaan Liebenberg, Francois Louw, Tendai Mtawarira, Coenie Oosthuizen, Ruan Pienaar, Frans Steyn, Adriaan Strauss, Jaco Taute, Flip van der Merwe, Duane Vermeulen.
Craig Burden, Zane Kirchner, Lwazi Mvovo, Jacques Potgieter, Morné Steyn, CJ van der Linde
That is SIX places unnecessary and Elton Jantjies, Pat Lambie, Johan Goosen, Jaco Taute, Frans Steyn, Ruan Pienaar all pretty much utility options around similar positions with Francois Hougaard, Jean de Villiers playing out of position.
23 Sep 2012, 13:14 pm
“if you were HM, would you have selected Jantjes in place of Morne – at that point?” was what you ask.
My point is that Jantjies was on the bench against England and Meyer did not use him despite the fact that Morne played kak that day. Remember that Jantjies was the 2nd fly half in the squad back then.
Now there are THREE fly halves which makes Jantjies’ chance to get some game time even more remote which begs the question, why did Meyer call him up now knowing full well that he will not play.
No paranoia here my good man. Just being realistic.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 » Show All