Jantjies back with Boks
23 Sep 2012
Four players have been called up to the Springbok squad of 30 for their final two Tests of the Rugby Championship.
They are the uncapped Golden Lions duo of utility back Jaco Taute and flyhalf Elton Jantjies, their experienced provincial team-mate, prop CJ van der Linde, and Cheetahs prop Coenie Oosthuizen.
‘I’d always wanted to include Jaco in the squad but an untimely injury meant we could not select him earlier. Jaco is big, strong, fast and versatile and it will be good to get him involved,’ said Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer.
‘Elton was part of the squad before this season, against England in June and in the first part of the Rugby Championship. He only missed out when we had to cut the numbers of the squad and it’s good to have him back.
‘CJ, who took part in our training camps earlier in the season, brings a lot of experience to our pack and he is no longer injured. Apart from being the second most experienced prop in Springbok history, after Os du Randt, he is versatile and can play loosehead and tighthead.
‘And it’s great to have Coenie back with us after he picked up an injury on debut in the first test against England in June. He is a world class prop and losing him was a big setback.’
Meyer added only two scrumhalves had been selected for the Tests, which meant Jano Vermaak misses out. The national selectors felt that Vermaak is familiar with the game plan and can easily be brought back in should his services be required.
Springbok squad – Willem Alberts, Andries Bekker, Craig Burden, Pat Cilliers, Marcell Coetzee, Juan de Jongh, Jean de Villiers (c), Jannie du Plessis, Eben Etzebeth, Johan Goosen, Bryan Habana, Francois Hougaard, Elton Jantjies, Zane Kirchner, Juandré Kruger, Pat Lambie, Tiaan Liebenberg, Francois Louw, Tendai Mtawarira, Lwazi Mvovo, Coenie Oosthuizen, Ruan Pienaar, Jacques Potgieter, Frans Steyn, Morné Steyn, Adriaan Strauss, Jaco Taute, CJ van der Linde, Flip van der Merwe, Duane Vermeulen.

291 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All
23 Sep 2012, 14:43 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-196: heres another by that stupid **** snor…
“ja injuries is part of the game its like if somebody does in a car accident you just replace them”
“What we try to tell them is when you point your finger into the sky, don’t concentrate on the finger because you’ll miss all the heavenly glory out there. Concentrate on the heavenly glory you can bring and make yourselves so fulfilled.”
what a fkin clown theres more out there bud
23 Sep 2012, 14:46 pm
@youknowwho-177: meyers teams scored tries you stupid fkin anal flap you are so fkin stupid its ***** sickening.
23 Sep 2012, 14:46 pm
@Blitzbok-201: *** if somebody DIES
23 Sep 2012, 14:47 pm
@Blitzbok-198:
.. with tears streaming down my face.. fkit, did you poep while typing that.. might as well go take a wan k while you at it… get rid of all that tension
I have been trying to convince the world that HM supporters are either dumb or stupid.. thanks for helping out
23 Sep 2012, 14:49 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-153: @shooter-162: hahaha and how was morne’s form in super rugby?
you lot lost against the kak blues & were wiped out by the saders in the quarters & morne was putrid for all to see but hey meyer wanted us to believe that HE could “coach him back to form” well how did that go?
when he landed back from nz he had to swallow hard & offer excuses about “mental breaks” but still you’d rather we swallow the nonsense whole hehehe
23 Sep 2012, 14:50 pm
@youknowwho-204: your the stupid fk supporting snor you handout ******. i dont need to prove your kinds stupidity you do it every day and the whole world just fkin laughs. you might need to wank that ccock between your eyes to eejaculate the **** out of your head.
23 Sep 2012, 14:55 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-197: hahaha if morne wasn’t kak in PE why did meyer IMMEDIATELY say “i’m worried about morne’s form”?
none are more blind than those who don’t want to see
@Blitzbok-206: Let it all out young man.. but there is no guarantee that it will make you grow a brain cell to add to the other one..
How’s them toe nails?? Have a chew
Still don’t understand the exclusion of Brussow, and I will struggle to support the Boks in his absence.
23 Sep 2012, 14:56 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-197: 2-0 was not good enough.
Any thoughts on how Morne is playing at current, Brig?
23 Sep 2012, 14:57 pm
@willievz-209: then your not a fan are you? thought you were a ***** kiwi anyways in the end who the fk cares what you support
23 Sep 2012, 15:01 pm
Big, strong…. That says it all!
23 Sep 2012, 15:02 pm
@youknowwho-208: fk you and worry about those knuckles you drag along seven feet behind you.
23 Sep 2012, 15:05 pm
@willievz-209: no, we can’t have that! we support the bojs regardless of who the coach is or what his selections are.
23 Sep 2012, 15:10 pm
@Blitzbok-213: with morons like this supporting the boks they deserve to lose their holy cow little razzmatazz badge .. its only by some magnanimous decision by the country’s presidency that allowed these Boks to retain their identity.. by the way arseholes like this carry on they may as well get culled into the extinction they deserve. With Meyer leading the charge into obscurity.
23 Sep 2012, 15:15 pm
CJ is kak!!!!
absolute rubbish and played way too many tests for my likening. He has never being a dominating scrummaging. Only there because he can play both sides and the number of tests beside his name.
absolute rubbish
23 Sep 2012, 15:15 pm
HM can pick as many new players as he pleases, the question is whether he will choose the RIGHT ones for the starting XV, as well as picking the right players for the bench. We MUST win these two remaining Championship games.
23 Sep 2012, 15:16 pm
we have not seen the best of Jacques Potgieter,
23 Sep 2012, 15:19 pm
@Blitzbok-213: I think my work is done here… thanks
.. btw, are you Phillip Van den Bergh of HSM… sounds like him.. Hows Mark these days..
23 Sep 2012, 15:26 pm
@youknowwho-219:
23 Sep 2012, 15:26 pm
IRB rank Oct. 2003 Streauli
1(1) ENGLAND 89.95
2(2) NEW ZEALAND 89.80
3(4) AUSTRALIA 84.76
4(3) IRELAND 83.92
5(5) FRANCE 82.85
6(6) SOUTH AFRICA 80.92
IRB rank Oct. 2004 White
1(1) NEW ZEALAND 89.63
2(2) AUSTRALIA 87.86
3(3) ENGLAND 87.30
4(4) FRANCE 86.05
5(5) SOUTH AFRICA 85.49
IRB rank Oct. 2005 White
1(1) NEW ZEALAND 91.95
2(2) SOUTH AFRICA 88.99
3(3) AUSTRALIA 84.85
4(4) FRANCE 84.13
5(5) WALES 83.08
6(6) ENGLAND 82.81
IRB rank Dec. 2006 White
1(1) NEW ZEALAND 94.59
2(2) FRANCE 85.87
3(3) AUSTRALIA 85.50
4(4) SOUTH AFRICA 84.69
5(5) IRELAND 84.67
6(6) ARGENTINA 79.07
IRB rank Sep. 2007 White
1(1) NEW ZEALAND 93.37
2(2) AUSTRALIA 87.00
3(3) FRANCE 86.83
4(4) SOUTH AFRICA 85.36
5(5) IRELAND 80.99
6(6) ARGENTINA 80.71
7(7) ENGLAND 78.83
IRB rank Sep. 2008 De Villiers
1(1) NEW ZEALAND 92.04
2(2) SOUTH AFRICA 87.75
3(3) AUSTRALIA 85.69
4(4) ARGENTINA 83.36
5(5) ENGLAND 83.16
6(6) WALES 80.12
IRB rank Sep. 2009 De Villiers
1(1) SOUTH AFRICA 91.69
2(2) NEW ZEALAND 89.61
3(3) AUSTRALIA 85.15
4(4) IRELAND 83.27
5(5) FRANCE 81.48
6(6) ARGENTINA 81.29
7(7) ENGLAND 81.23
IRB rank Sep. 2010 De Villiers
1(1) NEW ZEALAND 94.77
2(2) AUSTRALIA 85.56
3(3) SOUTH AFRICA 85.22
4(4) FRANCE 82.75
5(5) IRELAND 82.03
6(6) ENGLAND 81.82
IRB rank Sep. 2011 De Villiers
1(1) NEW ZEALAND 90.55
2(3) SOUTH AFRICA 86.71
3(2) AUSTRALIA 84.84
4(4) ENGLAND 83.99
5(5) FRANCE 83.78
6(8) IRELAND 82.50
IRB rank Sep. 2012 Meyer
1(1) NEW ZEALAND 92.43
2(2) AUSTRALIA 86.62
3(3) SOUTH AFRICA 84.20
4(4) ENGLAND 83.09
5(5) FRANCE 83.03
6(6) WALES 82.26
23 Sep 2012, 15:44 pm
221 pretty conclusive stuff, black then daylight most years.
23 Sep 2012, 15:51 pm
@Transformation-214: Yes but it is a farce, we can be so much better if not for the arrogance of the people running the show.
I cannot accept forced mediocrity.
23 Sep 2012, 15:59 pm
Still missing Brussow, Deon Fourie and Elstadt.
23 Sep 2012, 16:24 pm
Why didn’t the SA team of 09 have a much bigger lead in the rankings like NZ do when we have a good year,makes you wonder.
23 Sep 2012, 16:50 pm
Time and time again our friend Skopskiet has proven to be very selective and unreliable – perhaps devious – with the stats he chooses to display.
His stats need to be scrutinised as they are often very misleading.
He cannot be trusted to provide an objective account.
For example:
IRB rank Sep. 2007 White
1(1) NEW ZEALAND 93.37
2(2) AUSTRALIA 87.00
3(3) FRANCE 86.83
4(4) SOUTH AFRICA 85.36
5(5) IRELAND 80.99
6(6) ARGENTINA 80.71
7(7) ENGLAND 78.83
Skopskiet, could you please post the same stat 20 days later as at 20 October 2007, the day SA won the RWC?….
I think you will find 20 days made a huge difference.
Thank you (p.s. I will be watching you and your stats).
23 Sep 2012, 16:56 pm
Would be my run on 22 to face the Aussies…..
15. Jaco Taute.
14. Francois Hougaard.
13. Jean De Villiers (c).
12. Francois Steyn.
11. Bryan Habana.
10. Johan Goosen.
9. Ruan Pienaar.
8. Duane Vermuelen.
7. Willem Alberts.
6. Francois Louw.
5. Andries Bekker.
4. Eben Etsebeth.
3. C.J. Van Der Linde.
2. Adriaan Strauss.
1. Tendai Mtawarira.
16. Jannie Du Plessis.
17. Tiaan Liebenberg.
18. Juandre Kruger.
19. Marcell Coetzee.
20. Keegan Daniels.
21. Lwazo Mvovo.
22. Patrick Lambie.
23 Sep 2012, 16:58 pm
@cab-224:
LOL Deon Fourie! He is skeef man, very skeef. In Cape Town for ever skeef guy their is a q.ueer guy – yes Deon is taken. I will pick Scarra ahead of the amazing skeef Deon anyday.
xl xl xl xl
Trying too hard to be a brokeback.
23 Sep 2012, 17:38 pm
“The gag reflex” dedicated to Blitzbok and the Keo team:
It all starts with a thought (Goosen), leading to an uncontrollable and sometimes unjustified throb in the pants.
The giver (black & dragging 7 feet of cut meat) in the presence of the receiver (Blitzbok), gently teases the outer walls of the lips with the head anxious to put it all in the mouth.
Now its important that all 7 feet of the meat be thoroughly lubricated (justified) so as to allow easy entry. The meat should then pass the length of the tongue with the receiver’s head tilted @ a slight angle. At which point it will collide with a shut throat, or larynx.
Proper and regular exercise can enhance the receivers ability to manipulate how deep the meat travels down the throat without engaging what is known as the “gag reflex”.
You see sometimes a throb is so strong that you can’t help but want to shove it down the throat of a ‘willing’ receiver. I have a very active gag reflex and am ‘unwilling’ to take any dry, uncut **** concerning Goosen. Let him do something first!!! For 80 minutes then by all means, tickle my tonsils.
Oh ya, and Blitzbok can eat a 7 foot d***
23 Sep 2012, 17:51 pm
The winning ratio of the Boks since their first test in1891 is 65%. The All blacks is 76%. So if you did not know the Blacks are consistenly the best in the world since 2 centuries ago. If you don’t belive check out today’s Sunday Times.
23 Sep 2012, 17:56 pm
@Peter Mkata-230: are you from one of the Eastern Cape South African Maori tribes?
23 Sep 2012, 17:56 pm
@youknowwho-141: I wasn’t justifying meyer’s selection, merely offering potential reasoning. My own view is that the SA team would be better served at this point going with a different flyhalf and possibly a more creative coach.
23 Sep 2012, 18:03 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-231:
Maori? Me? Mxhosa ongangxengwanga gwangqa ndini?
Just highlighting the fact that the Boks have consistently won two-thirds of their games. PDV, Jake White etc were on par except for the chosen one who so far is below average!! LOL.
23 Sep 2012, 18:16 pm
Ooo vok Blitzbok is back
23 Sep 2012, 18:30 pm
England being manhandled by India. So pretty.
23 Sep 2012, 18:35 pm
@cab-224: Fourie? No man….
@Dawn-234: is tomorrow braai day, heritage day or just nogge lekka langnawiek?
23 Sep 2012, 18:38 pm
Lekka langnaweek
23 Sep 2012, 18:41 pm
@Peter Mkata-233: hahahaha kutheni bekufanisa neMaori ngoku mntan exhego?
23 Sep 2012, 18:43 pm
@Dawn-237:
WTF is Snotgieter doing in this squad? Zibi still struggling to get his head out of the Loftus turf…
23 Sep 2012, 18:47 pm
Dunno what my heritage is!
Blitbok come back. You not done abusing Shaun yet.
23 Sep 2012, 18:47 pm
Heyneke is a Verkrampte Hypocrite
23 Sep 2012, 18:48 pm
Forget the fat lady. It’s over when the Harbajan Sings.
23 Sep 2012, 18:48 pm
JLP cut his hair so he’s OK to play
23 Sep 2012, 18:54 pm
Must buy himself a personality too. Acting like a schoolmaster at Orania Boys High
23 Sep 2012, 18:54 pm
@Dawn-243: is the other doos from uitenhage also jlp like the former sharks-bulle-cheetahs flyhalf?
talking about heritage, i’ ve appropriated sushi as part of xhosa culture & pino too
23 Sep 2012, 18:57 pm
Ok I will appropriate all the famous grouse!
23 Sep 2012, 19:04 pm
@Transformation-238:
Xhego, asile lamadlagusha. Afuna ukba ndithi iiAll Blacks azina recond intle ukudlula onke amanye amazwe!!
23 Sep 2012, 19:05 pm
Poms are useless against spin – useless!
23 Sep 2012, 19:07 pm
What Meyer did to Siya he is doing to Jantjies
23 Sep 2012, 19:09 pm
Poms are useless against spin – useless!
Biggy your team will drop to #4 in test rankings before the end of the year.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All