Boks sweat on Steyn
24 Sep 2012
Frans Steyn rolled his ankle at training on Monday and could miss the Springboks’ Rugby Championship Test against Australia at Loftus.
Steyn was one of six players who missed training, with promising flyhalf Johan Goosen among those.
Steyn sustained the injury five minutes into the team’s morning session and missed the afternoon run. Scans have shown no serious damage, but team doctor Craig Roberts said the midfielder would be managed conservatively.
‘We’ll have to make a call in his availability depending on how he responds to treatment overnight. I think the coach will make a call later in the week but we’ll give him every opportunity to recover,’ Roberts said.
Goosen has bruised the heel of his planting foot (left) and only played a limited role in training. Roberts is optimistic about his recovery. Goosen could start in place of Morne Steyn, although head coach Heyneke Meyer was non-committal when probed on this issue.
The other players who are being treated are Coenie Oosthuizen (stiffness), Jacques Potgieter (groin strain), Lwazi Mvovo (hamstring strain) and Flip van der Merwe (calf strain). They are all, however, expected to be available for selection.
Meyer lamented the injury list. ‘I’m disappointed to have that many guys out, I wanted a hard session today with all 30 guys,’ he said. ‘There was a number of attacking things I wanted to work on.’
The Springboks name their side to face the Wallabies on Wednesday.

58 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
24 Sep 2012, 17:43 pm
Great!
Hopefully all the Shark’s players have cause to miss the Bok teams.
May they return to the Sharks and have a miraculous recovery.
Nothing for them to look forward to in this mob anyway.
24 Sep 2012, 17:46 pm
This is a chance to try Pat Lambie at 12.
I think Lambie could be a great selection at 12.
24 Sep 2012, 17:54 pm
what is mvovo doing there?
24 Sep 2012, 17:55 pm
on that note, what is jacque potgieter doing there?
24 Sep 2012, 18:03 pm
How the hell can Coenie be stiff? Did he not warm up before running on the field.
As for Steyn no problem, bring in JDJ and move JDV to 12. The wrong Steyn is out man, the wrong Steyn now Meyer will just have to axe him.
24 Sep 2012, 18:03 pm
JdV to 12, JdJ to 13 and Goosen to start.
Then you’ll see what our backline can really do.
Wouldn’t even then mind Nik Naks to start
24 Sep 2012, 18:04 pm
How bad is it we were all hoping it was the other Steyn??
24 Sep 2012, 18:06 pm
Goosen couldn’t train? Dammit, this decreases his chances of starting. GGGGGGGRRRRRRRRR
24 Sep 2012, 18:21 pm
HM wanted to try some new attacking moves with the backs and now he can’t? Yeah, pull the other one.
24 Sep 2012, 18:26 pm
I’m saying it now – I will not be happy if Wynand get’s called up.
24 Sep 2012, 18:29 pm
2. well halleluia…we agree on something
24 Sep 2012, 18:31 pm
@David-9:
once again the players have let him down.
24 Sep 2012, 18:34 pm
It doesn’t matter
24 Sep 2012, 18:36 pm
Attacking things to work on you say?
24 Sep 2012, 18:42 pm
NikNaks anyone?
24 Sep 2012, 18:50 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-12:
Yup, he got lucky.
24 Sep 2012, 18:53 pm
@Kaizan-10:
HMs job isn’t to make us happy. Just prove that he’s right.
24 Sep 2012, 18:57 pm
Like Spies, before his little pinky inury, *** Stain just doesn’t injured. Bunch of softcocks who only exist to inflict misery on Springbok fans.
24 Sep 2012, 19:00 pm
nows the opportunity to overhaul the backline. Completely. They haven’t worked and thats no secret.
24 Sep 2012, 19:04 pm
At first glane the headline was misleading. Then it was crystal clear that it was Frans as nobody would sweat over Stain.
As for Zibi planning to try some attacking moves….jafukkenright.
24 Sep 2012, 19:12 pm
Why has that absoluteuselessfucktwat Potgieter cut off his locks? Was that his way of showing the Messiah he is serious about rugby? Fukkitman – that oke is sofuckinguseless….I know he doesn’t select himself but goeiefokkenhel man.
24 Sep 2012, 19:13 pm
@David-16:
well, you cant blame the coach for getting the donkeys to the water
24 Sep 2012, 19:16 pm
@Spiesisworthless1-18:
i get the feeling you have a bone to pick….
24 Sep 2012, 19:16 pm
maybe the coach has achieved someting with the forwards. One needs to give him credit where its due. But the backline is an embarassment and needs to be fixed as a matter of urgency. The materials there. Just change the management.
24 Sep 2012, 19:19 pm
Almal is gevok
24 Sep 2012, 19:19 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-21:
i think it was smart and prudent of him to do so, and while i have no high regard for him at the present i will say he was unfairly pinged twice on saturday.
24 Sep 2012, 19:20 pm
@TASSIES-24: The forwards have not been any major problem for years, bar some stupid selections.
The backline however has been kak for how long now?
Hang on, when did Stain start?
24 Sep 2012, 19:21 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-22: well actually you can Bak.
24 Sep 2012, 19:23 pm
@trupisero-27: question is why? Are our guys dof. Don’t think so. Are our coaches limited? Now there’s a thing.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-26: Those were the only 2 times I noticed he was on the field….when he was blown up. Meyer must have paid the ref to ‘draw attention’ to Potgieter, so that it looked as though he was actually doing something…….**rollingrollingrollingmyfuckingeyes**
@David-9: lol…i saw that comment & laugh my gat af…
24 Sep 2012, 19:24 pm
@Dawn-25: hey dawn, thats quite a profound statement don’t yopu think??
24 Sep 2012, 19:24 pm
@Dawn-25:
what do you have against amla?
he’s a good cricketer.
24 Sep 2012, 19:25 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-23: only a bone???
24 Sep 2012, 19:25 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-26: unfairly pinged?
how about being poesklapped by brussow?
24 Sep 2012, 19:26 pm
@TASSIES-28:
stupid water
they wont drink
24 Sep 2012, 19:28 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-30:
my problems with him is his effectiveness for such a big ball carrier.
he does so much wrong too often, i think its an issue of sterner coaching needed.
i could list the things he does wrong but i have before.
24 Sep 2012, 19:29 pm
@TASSIES-34:
i was being civil
24 Sep 2012, 19:29 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-12: you serious Bak? Suspect you are. Meyer is a forwards coach. He’s not a coach. Read: team coach. After seven Tests can you see any evidence of backline coaching? Because I can’t. And I suspect most of the rest of the world can’t either.
24 Sep 2012, 19:31 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-38: okay. Maybe not.
24 Sep 2012, 19:31 pm
@Transformation-35:
haha
too bad that was about all brussow managed in the game. he’s not looking sharp at all and if form is the criteria i would certainly not pick him for a bok squad right now.
not one of his best games but i do hope he picks up steam.
is one of my favourites.
24 Sep 2012, 19:33 pm
@TASSIES-39:
no man, of course i’m joking.
24 Sep 2012, 19:35 pm
you people wait for day jacques potgieter sets the world alight
just you wait
24 Sep 2012, 19:36 pm
The nest two home Tests will tell us plenty. It wont be about the winning. It will be about the how. I believe we all buy into the ‘rebuilding’ idea. That’s not the issue. What I and most others will be watching out for is; the overall process towards total rugby, which by its very nature, translates into winning rugby when the Boks are involved. Nine times out of ten that is. When we field a **** coach and limited talent obviously that doesn’t happen. But we actually have the talent. Even sensible Kiwis(and there are many) will acknowledge that the Boks are a force when the cards are correctly played. And we all love a Bok/AB match-up.
24 Sep 2012, 19:39 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-43: Henry Higgins. No doubt.
24 Sep 2012, 19:41 pm
warming to the subject; I think Meyer will eventually require a rethink in terms of his support staff. Much like White did with Jones(at the last minute) HM should take a leaf and bring in some creative specialists to inform the backline. Right now they might a well not pitch for the game.
24 Sep 2012, 19:44 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-43:
We need rugby players, not arsonists.
24 Sep 2012, 19:44 pm
@TASSIES-44:
this time next year is going to a rude awakening for the world
@TASSIES-45:
24 Sep 2012, 19:48 pm
@David-47:
burn baby burn…
24 Sep 2012, 19:49 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-43: Hope the wait is not as long as we waited for the best 8 onthe planet to arrive.
#seenthatfukkenmoviebefore
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All