More grey matter at gainline

Eddie Jones says Springbok players have the intellectual and technical skills to generate a quick turnaround of their sterile attacking play but stressed their tactics, particularly at the gainline, have to improve.

There has been widespread dismay at the Springboks’ perceived attacking conservatism. The bulk of the criticism has been aimed at predictable forward punches at the gainline and a heavy focus on tactical kicking.

There certainly hasn’t been a lack of time spent in the opposition’s 22m, but their play in that zone has largely been uninspiring and lacking a clear plan or consistently good option taking.

There is virtually no chance of the Springboks winning the Rugby Championship title, but there have to be significant improvements across the board, with their attack a focal point.

Jones speaks with authority on this subject given his success in his role as an attack consultant with the World Cup winning Springboks of 2007.

The team were the top try scorers at the tournament in France, winning many admirers with the fluent and potent style. There wasn’t a dramatic departure from their traditional strengths, but Jones refined and added subtle dimensions to their attacking play. The two combined to be a potent cocktail which the former Australia head coach believes this generation of Springboks can rediscover if they make some changes.

‘The basic problem at the moment is a lack of [a discernible] attacking philosophy in terms of how they want to play,’ Jones, now Japan head coach, told keo.co.za. ‘Their play at the moment is early 2000 Bulls forward attack – one-off runners that rely on brute strength to win the gainline.’

Meyer’s early Bulls teams (to whom Jones refers) were predictable and struggled as a result, losing heavily in their formative years. They gradually improved their attacking repertoire and became one of Super Rugby’s most prolific try-scorers, particularly in their three championship-winning campaigns.

Time, however, is not a commodity Meyer has in abundance. His team have lost two and drawn two of their seven Tests, testing the faith of even Meyer’s most ardent supporters. Jones, however, is optimistic. The improvements he was the catalyst for happened off the back of only a couple of weeks with the team. He said there has to be a purposeful shift towards adding greater variation though.

‘South African players are skilful and good learners, so a quick turnaround is there. [But] they need to get a cohesive attacking philosophy based on approaching and hitting the gainline with options. [If they do] the team’s attack will improve considerably.’

164 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All

• 101.cane: Reply to this comment

@blik-99:

No blik…………………………………………………I have only ever pointed the finger once.

What ……………………… did you Okes get different TV coverage from the rest of the world?

Was that part of the conspiracy.

• 102.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-100:

SA have beaten NZ 14 Times since 89.

For a winning percentage of 29%.

You are digging yourself into a deep dark hole here Bakkies.

• 103.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-102:
    17 times cane.

• 104.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

since the advent of legalised cheating and fixed outcomes

naturally you have the wood over us.

• 105.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-103:

NZ vs SA…………………….1989 to 2012

Played 47
    Wins 32
    Losses 14
    Draws 1

New Zealand’s Trophy Cabinet (at end of 2013)

• 106.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-104:

Since the advent of Neutral Referees,
    naturally the playing field has been leveled.

• 107.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-105:
    yes, you’re right.
    i was counting since 86 when you lost 3 from 4 against us.

so to correct 17 from 86 and not 89.

• 108.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-106:
    you wouldn’t know the first thing about neutral refs or level fields.

• 109.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-107: now whose cheating?

86 wasnt a sanctioned test series, apart from IN SA..

thats so laughable… like saying you would have won 87 because of those 86 results..

dumb delusional; knuckle dragging neanderthals like yourself should really just fck off from our game..

you ruin it for everyone..

• 110.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-108:

“ja listen boys you can go home after the series but I have to live here” Houston you’re looking foolish again.

• 111.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-108:

Level is my middle name.

• 112.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@cane-105: 14 tests in 23 years? considering how often we play each other that is embarrassing from a SA perspective..

• 113.blik: Reply to this comment

@cane-101: Quit your self importance. I am talking about Laurie Mains

• 114.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-109:
    your game..?.. haha that is larfable

say what you like they were here with your peoples consent, from top to bottom

you know it

@NZINCHINA-110:
    honestly china, is there nothing to do in hainan province?
    china’s such a wonderful sounding place, you should get out.
    i for one would love to travel its countryside.

• 115.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-111:
    and whats your first and last..?..

‘fark’ and ‘fields’..?..

• 116.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-109:
    we would have beaten you shittless in 87.
    god forbid we did’nt make it.

imagine that, the world would never be the same.

1 wc in 7 attempts…

• 117.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-114:

until you display some honesty and admit that the majority of tests played in SA were stacked with cheating refs like Gerty it will continue – goodnight

• 118.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

cripes pops, is this you? you lot getup to strange things:

http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=10835890

• 119.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-117:
    goodnight china,
    and get out for a bit.

• 120.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Bakkied.

obviously showing you have no intelligence. I live in Susney idiot.

I think I’ll look for a rape bews story and insinuate that it was you and your homies

you’re really pathetic. the fact you go scouring NZ news sites continuously shows just how damaged your psyche ideally is

nothing like a sore loser, knuckle dragging dumb **** with a serious chip on his shoulde

are you the SA that got caught having *** with the bodies in the morgue? or do you go around giving people burning tyre necklaces?

• 121.poppa69: Reply to this comment

farking predictive text

• 122.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Jimmy Cowan got “Bakkied” :)

• 123.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-120:
    alweer dronk..?..

tiepies…

• 124.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

predictive drinking more like it

• 125.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-120:
    did i touch you on your studio?

• 126.poppa69: Reply to this comment

I’m not a deluded ignorant fool like you Bakkies. you’re one useless fcked up mamparra.

have you raped anyone today?

• 127.cane: Reply to this comment

Eddie…………………………………..remember Eddie.
    This is a thread about Eddie.

Lets not forget that.

Eddie was a loser.
    Eddie is a loser.

Eddie now coaches Japan.
    Eddie will remain a loser.

Saffas love Eddie.
    Eddie loves Saffas.

See the pattern.

• 128.Neilanate: Reply to this comment

Jonesy, have you forgotten you are an Aussie, mate?

Grey matter? Grey? On this Day of Heritage, do you not realise it is a colour that is fifty shades of grey too dark for the rugby ‘boertjie’? Poor fools only believe in the white stuff which they in their deluded fashion think is the “Right Stuff”.
    Little are they aware that their preference, white matter, is really just fatty matter which is there to absorb all the shock their ‘stampkar’ rugby demands of them..

• 129.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-126:
    no, have you beaten the shitt out of your maori b i t c h ..?..

• 130.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

you sound grumpy

is she not making the man some farking eggs..?..

• 131.willievz: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-109: I believe we would have won 87 because of those 86 results.

• 132.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-127:
    god knows cane, if i could put all these kiwi lovers on a boat and pay their way over there tomorrow i would do it in a heartbeat. so many bitterbekkies and gatkruipertjies on thise site.

ja, eddie hey… i could say the same for john.
    only without the losers.

• 133.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@cane-105: ’89? Seriously? ’89 was pre post-isolation bud.

• 134.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-112: Less than 23 years considering we never played you in ’89 or 1990. While the results are embarrassing, remember recently under PdV it was virtually 50/50 and Meyer will correct his mistakes eventually. What is embarrassing too is you guys getting your dates hopelessly wrong :-)

• 135.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-126:
    “have you raped anyone today?”
    Good god. This is a new low, even for a scumbag like you.

• 136.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-134:
    considering the extent of their cheating on and off the pitch its a miracle we’ve won anything at all.

• 137.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-136: We’re our own worst enemies. By trying to bash over them all the time in a predictive fashion, we give them countless opportunities to cheat. We need to be smarter in our play.

• 138.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-137:
    the refereeing also needs to be fixed.
    thank god those two dooses are out.
    its small compensation i suppose now that they’re done ‘fixing’.

• 139.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-137:
    meyer’s approach is clearly to first establish a set level of playing execution and once perfected to build on this with little smart touches.

• 140.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

We have to win at Soccercity otherwise they’ll break the winning streak record.

They’ll take it to 16 and probably win everything on their EOYT.

So that win is vital.

• 141.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-139:
    Yes, you first have to get through the “wax on, wax off” phase before you get to the fancy part.
    Problem is can he win during this teething phase.

• 142.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-141:
    i will certainly be putting my money on my mouth at the bookies in this regard.
    considering how hard and close the away squad pushed them i would say the home squad will win both tests, pretty or ugly but win it they will.

• 143.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-142:
    I hope so. Bok teams shouldn’t lose on the highveld.

Next year I reckon we should do well in the Championship. Hopefully most of the senior players will be back: Schalk, Juan Smith, JPP, and FDP…..

An 80% win ratio in is non-negotiable.

• 144.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-139: The plan does array without winning and causes confusion when the same players demonstrate better degrees of skills back at their franchises. Meyer has made a mistake, particularly with his selections. Hope he corrects them.

• 145.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-138: Fixing the refereeing is a lost cause from the inside. We need to force our wins on other sides.

@Jeraldjay-141: They must beat the ABs, if only to stop Poppa from being even more insufferable than what he is now.
    I doubt Juan Smith will be back at international level and even if he does, whether it will be for long. Schalk will return as will JPP. As for FdP, doubt it.

• 146.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-143:
    agreed.
    somehow i’ve got a feeling that meyer’s gonna build up momentum with the boks and go on a winning run similar to mallets.

@mikeybrass-144:
    lets agree its a bit of both then, a few poor selections but also players not executing under pressure.

@mikeybrass-145:
    agreed, but if we’re not going to fix refereeing from the inside like the kiwis did and instead are going to do it from the outside, then there’s only two ways to do that.
    there’s the high road which requires moering the dirty inclinations out of opposition ala the bulls and there’s the low road which involves playing a filthy cynical game like the kiiwis.

i will only support the former and will never support the latter.

• 147.David: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-144:
    HM is only interested in ensuring that his forwards and halfbacks perfect his tactics with the centres providing 2nd phase ball if it manages to get to them.

• 148.papaown: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-143: I’d only agree with you if our teams had not done so well in S15 this year
    Meyer has shown himself to be really thick in the way the team has reversed this year and I don’t buy into the school of thought that we’d play better if those players were not injured.

We dominated the aussies in S15 this year and shoulda shut them out 2 love this year, but for stupid selections!

• 149.papaown: Reply to this comment

@David-147: HM needs to balance his need to be a coach and the fact that he’s now a manager!

PdV drifted too much into managing and inspiring his players to perform, HM is trying too hard to “coach” the warrior Morne Steyn back to from

Fark tht man

• 150.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-126: Word of advice sunshine, and you’ve heard it before.

Carry on with this type of filth and you’ll find it starts becoming a little bit more personal, and you know exactly what i mean.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.