Barnes bats for Steyn
25 Sep 2012
Berrick Barnes says the Wallabies expect Morne Steyn to start at Loftus and believes the criticism he has endured is unfair.
Many expect Steyn to be dropped following his capitulation in Dunedin against the All Blacks. However, on Monday Springboks head coach Heyneke Meyer spoke sympathetically about the flyhalf’s plight, intimating that he may grant him a stay of execution.
Steyn’s continued selection is sure to be met with a vitriolic response from a large section of the South African rugby fraternity, particularly since he is struggling in the facet of his play he is primarily selected for – his goal-kicking – and is thought to offer little beyond that.
Barnes, however, was surprised that the extent of the heat Steyn was taking, pointing to what he believes is his history of exhibiting big match temperament.
‘I have a lot of respect for Morne, having played against him for the last six or seven years. Few players will come through with the clutch plays like he can,’ Barnes told keo.co.za.
‘One poor outing with the boot doesn’t make a bad player. I’ve been there. It will be interesting to see what Heyneke does in terms of his team selection. We’re expecting him to play. He has a lot of history in big games in Pretoria. But [Meyer] has other options with a number of young boys showing promise. We expect him to start but we’ll adapt if he doesn’t.’
Barnes is likely to start at flyhalf in the absence of Quade Cooper and must brace for a physical examination. The Springboks have relied heavily on their inside centre to get them momentum at the gainline in the flyhalf channel. Barnes predicts they will attempt to do so once more at Loftus, but warned their threat extended beyond that.
‘Frans Steyn is 108kg or 110kg, so he isn’t a small boy. It is like trying to tackle Ma’a [Nonu] or Sonny Bill [Williams] – it isn’t an easy task. Most 10s would struggle. But I pride myself on my defence, it’s an attitude thing. You can’t have any fear in that regard,’ he said.
‘I’m sure they’ll be looking to come down that channel again but you also have to be aware of the threats they pose outside of that with Bryan Habana for example. Jean de Villiers doesn’t get a lot of wraps but he is one of the best I’ve faced in terms of his ability to go past you.’
The Wallabies, through their media offerings, have made no secret of the fact that they look to shift the heavy Springboks pack around by consistently dominating the collisions and getting a quick recycle to their backline. However, Barnes pointed to the balance they exhibited in their approach in Perth by pinning the Springboks in their territory with good tactical kicks. He explained that striking that balance again would be central to any potential success.
‘Over here people have a real appreciation of the tactical kicking game. In Australia you get booed for kicking but it is a huge aspect of winning a Test. How well you exit your own half determines how much pressure you’re made to negotiate,’ he said.
‘Traditionally the Boks have been extremely good in that department and built their success on that. We’ve put a lot of focus on it and we’ll have to be good at countering them. The side that best deals with the kicking game is going to go a long way to winning. But that isn’t the be all and end all. We have to find ways through them with ball in hand as well.’
There is also plenty of talk about becoming the first Australia team to win at Loftus and there is certainly a feeling among their players that this is their year. Barnes speculated on why the Springboks were so hard to beat at the venue but also reiterated their desire to break their duck.
‘It is like when teams come to play us in Brisbane, there’s some elements that just work for us. I’m not sure exactly what those are,’ he said. ‘There’s a big Bulls contingent in the Springboks’ squad and they’ve grown up playing there. You build that record over time and players have good associations with the venue and that gives them confidence.
‘I’m not sure what’s in the water up there but it has been tough for us to win there. I’ve gone there three times and come close but never been able to get the result. We want to be the first Australia side to win there. We’re under no illusions as to how much pressure the Boks’ boys are under and how much they would want to rectify the last few results, so it is going to be a big ask.’
By Ryan Vrede, in Johannesburg

51 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
25 Sep 2012, 14:51 pm
*facepalm*
25 Sep 2012, 15:02 pm
“‘One poor outing with the boot doesn’t make a bad player”
one poor outing hey berrick?
keep to things you’re certain about, mate!
your own teammate kutley beale played KAK and was dropped and you moved to 15, didn’t ya? now why must we tolerate rubbish?
25 Sep 2012, 15:22 pm
@Lions_Soutie-1: *facepalm* Dragons!
25 Sep 2012, 15:26 pm
@Transformation-2: Well Berrick is in a similar situation, so he would speak like that!
I wish it was just 1 poor outing! Seesh, we all waited for an entire season of poor outings before we really started complaining!
25 Sep 2012, 15:41 pm
Of course the wallabies want steyn there. They know that if Goosen starts they are in kak
25 Sep 2012, 15:41 pm
windgat these ozzies
25 Sep 2012, 15:51 pm
The million dollar question is….will the Loftus faithful turn against their hero.
“Gee vir Morne ‘n nogga kans, maar as hy weer kak skop, dan gooi ek hom met my vrot naatjie”.
I’ve been there a few times and you always get that feeling that if you just look at anybody skeef you’ll get a moerse PK.
25 Sep 2012, 15:56 pm
There is this perception that if Morne’s general game is still good despite his kicking woes.
His general game is NOT good.
25 Sep 2012, 15:59 pm
When is the team announcement?
25 Sep 2012, 16:01 pm
@willievz-8: “not good” accoriding to whose standards or what plan?
it seems as far as meyer is concerned if morne kicked and kicked well both for posts and tactically that’s ALL he wants from a flyhalf, otherwise he must just be another link when the ball is being shifted sideways…
25 Sep 2012, 16:03 pm
@Transformation-10: Not good according to Springbok standards.
25 Sep 2012, 16:13 pm
@willievz-11: are you suggesting that our coach was misguided when he said this on the 5th of August?
South Africa
‘I can coach Morné back to his best’
Sun, 05 Aug 2012 15:14
PrevNextYou can’t pick a different player every week… throw him out and get a new player
Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has said he takes full responsibility for out-of-form flyhalf Morné Steyn and believes the No.10 will soon be back to his brilliant best.
Meyer, speaking in Worcester at the weekend after naming his 30-man squad for the opening leg of the inaugural Rugby Championship, said he believes in “coaching” players back to form… not axing them
Steyn, like his Bulls halfback partner Francois Hougaard, struggled with his form this year and has been nowhere near the match-winner that saw him set a host of world records since his Test debut in 2009.
After having secured a series win over the 2009 B&I Lions, as well as having played a major role in the Boks’ Tri-Nations triumph, Steyn has suffered a dramatic slump in form – especially the last 12 months.
In the recent three-Test series against England his goal-kicking hardly reached the 50 percent margin, prompting a chorus of calls for him to be replaced as Bok pivot.
The tendentious Cape media wanted Peter Grant, from Durban there was a deafening outcry for Patrick Lambie to be the flyhalf, in Bloemfontein they believed only injury prevent Johann Goosen from replacing Steyn and there have also been suggestions from Johannesburg that the Lions’ Elton Jantjies should start in the Bok No.10 jersey.
However, Meyer stood his ground and at the weekend defended his selection of the 37-Test match-winner.
“What I have seen, and what we saw again this [Saturday] morning, is that you need a No.9 and No.10 that can kick tactically… that can control the game,” Meyer said in reference to the Sharks’ 6-37 loss to the Chiefs in the Super Rugby Final.
Meyer admitted that the 27-year-old Steyn needed to make a drastic step up in terms of the quality of his game.
“Obviously Morné [Steyn] hasn’t played to his best and Francois [Hougaard] as well,” the Bok mentor said, adding: “That is something we need to work on.
“I really did think about the halfbacks, but you need some sort of continuity. I have always been a coach that believe you fix something by coaching.
“You can’t pick a different player every week… throw him out and get a new player.
“They know they have to step up to the plate and they know I wasn’t happy with their performances. They are quality players and they have proved themselves in the past.”
Meyer said he expected the youngsters in the country to give the incumbents the wake-up call they need. “The great things is there are as lot of youngsters coming through in those positions,” he said.
“They know they have two games [against Argentina in at Newlands on August 18 and in Mendoza a week later] to prove themselves and then we will look at the squad again.”
Meyer also dismissed suggestions that Steyn’s poor goal-kicking form meant his overall game had suffered.
“Morné played good rugby at times, even though he didn’t kick so well,” the coach said, “Morné is a player that is mentally very tough and it is just a matter of time before he is back to his best.
“It is my job to get him back to his best and I am confident I will get him back there [to his best].
you reckon Morne and Hougaard proved themselves against the Argies?
25 Sep 2012, 16:13 pm
@willievz-11:
Morne kicking form is probably at lowest point of his career, which has affected his general play. But HM knew this during the Super Rugby season already.
He has been a servant of Bok rugby for a while and he probably deserves a graceful exit. Maybe Loftus will offer him that opportunity.
HM knows that if Morne gets dropped, he won’t make it back again.
25 Sep 2012, 16:19 pm
4. morne has 4 kiwi scalps
thats probably better than any flyhalf to have ever played for sa.
more than wilkenson probably and just a couple short of larkham
but apparently morne has never offered anything.
go figure
25 Sep 2012, 16:19 pm
@Jeraldjay-7: so what, we must suffer because of meyer’s blatant favouritism?
25 Sep 2012, 16:25 pm
@Transformation-15:
Transie, I hope they start with Goosen on Saturday but It is Loftus and these Bulle normally step up to the plate in their own backyard.
25 Sep 2012, 16:36 pm
believes the No.10 will soon be back to his brilliant best.
I sincerely hopes he’s just referring to Mornes kicking. As for coaching a player back to form, that doesn’t stand at international level where you have the whole country to choose a replacement from, unlike provincial level where you rarely have a choice between two quality players in a position.
25 Sep 2012, 16:42 pm
@Transformation-12: You are winding me up now…
25 Sep 2012, 16:51 pm
@willievz-18: no wind up
meyer also repeated the same statement yesterday 24th September 2012
‘Obviously if you do stupid things there’s no sympathy [Meyer would later suggest that Dean Greyling wouldn't play Test rugby again because of his cowardly assault Richie McCaw]. But Morne’s general play was good, it was his kicking that was poor and we have to work on that. It is great to have him in the group, especially with Johan Goosen not being 100% fit [bruised heel]. I can already see being back home has helped him.’
25 Sep 2012, 17:12 pm
@Transformation-15: Transie, your becoming boring now too.
Bolding sentences left right and centre is not really accomplishing anything really.
You call it favouritism. The next guy calls it backing the guy you know.
How many – and since you’re the browse guru here — – please give us the definitive answer – - – coaches before have chosen any number of players week in and week out in any position.
EVERY coach will persist with certain players they think or feel is good enough.
By becoming the National coach, they have earned that right! FFS. Are you going to be the cheerleader for the anti Meyer campaign now?
I don’t see gross contradictions in what Meyer is saying.. in fact, I see alot of consistency.
25 Sep 2012, 17:44 pm
They just know that goosen will cause them problems… THATS WHY barnes
25 Sep 2012, 21:52 pm
@Jeraldjay-16: Hopefully there won’t be that many Bulls in the team anyway.
25 Sep 2012, 22:07 pm
@Transformation-12: You forget to add the best line…
“Morne is a WARRIOR”
25 Sep 2012, 22:10 pm
@shooter-20: **** that Shi t!
No1 earns the right to have HM’s current record without earnest public disbelief in that the team can do better.
So we should just sit in silence cos he’s “earned” the right to take the Boks backwards???
Delusional you are
25 Sep 2012, 22:30 pm
these aussies are sneaky b a stards.
25 Sep 2012, 22:32 pm
@shooter-20: dude, quit trying to define me! believe what you want and not concern with what you brain can’t comprehend.
i told you yesterday, heyneke meyer is the national coach of MY BLOODY COUNTRY! his decisions, selections & utterances are fair game to me who spends thousands travelling the country & R450 or R500 to enter at the stadium ro watch the Boks!
i’m no pro or anti anyone, i just want WIN! so when meyer backs morne who has been KAK the whole season i will have something to say about it whether it is palatable to you or not!
deal with your sycophantic tendencies elsewhere!
25 Sep 2012, 22:37 pm
@Transformation-26: the bad day goes on eh?
why dont you tell us all you are going to gym and then watch for comments
25 Sep 2012, 22:40 pm
@rangerman-27: i’ve been to gym already chap.
i’m starting to wonder how you read my comments, everything i say you’re always trying to contextualise & redefine…
25 Sep 2012, 22:42 pm
@rangerman-27: Shame, its late and you’re just trying to rile people up hey?
25 Sep 2012, 23:07 pm
@Transformation-28: kuuuuk buddy
you are projecting there lol.
@papaown-29: ag what are you, transies bodyguard? i am just having a laugh man, chill.
25 Sep 2012, 23:08 pm
@rangerman-30: projecting?
25 Sep 2012, 23:14 pm
@Transformation-31: lets just say you may be confused
25 Sep 2012, 23:23 pm
@rangerman-32: there you go again…typical know-it-all syndrome…
25 Sep 2012, 23:27 pm
@Transformation-33: ag ok, you just seemed a bit grumpy today bud.
hope you are well.
25 Sep 2012, 23:31 pm
@papaown-24: at 7 games all that changes with one or two wins. the percentage jumps from 45 to 60.
@Transformation-26: where in the post am i defining you? i’m saying what i’m saying on what you’re saying. ..opinion of opinion yerrs..
sycophantic? Lol. so now you can deride all and everything HM does, and when one blogger states an opposing view, he is now a psycopant? duplicitious line of argument there hardtrier.
25 Sep 2012, 23:35 pm
@shooter-35:
28.Transformation: Reply to this comment
25 Sep 2012, 22:40 pm
@rangerman-27: i’ve been to gym already chap.
i’m starting to wonder how you read my comments, everything i say you’re always trying to contextualise & redefine…
and he wonders why i think he is projecting haha.
25 Sep 2012, 23:38 pm
Barnes WANTS Steyn to play because he knows the Aussies would be guaranteed a win FFS!
25 Sep 2012, 23:38 pm
@rangerman-36: i think he is despairing that people are not trying to definne him. and its been 7 years or what. something like a midbloggerlife crisis is on hands
25 Sep 2012, 23:40 pm
@Soda-37: what Barnes says HM does? No. he is saying the public has got no clue.
@rangerman-36: i have no time for pseudo analytical m.asturbation…
mathongo amnandi
@shooter-38:
25 Sep 2012, 23:41 pm
@Transformation-40: seems like you do
25 Sep 2012, 23:42 pm
@Soda-37: your one stop gaurantee. I will take your R1000 bucks bet, that if Morne starts on Saturday, we will still pummel the Oz.
If Goossen starts, I’ll bet you R500 that we will win.
25 Sep 2012, 23:44 pm
@Transformation-40: i’ve reached the top and had to stop and thats whats bothering meeeee.
25 Sep 2012, 23:45 pm
25 Sep 2012, 23:51 pm
@shooter-35: i posted two quotes by meyer where he suggested that morne’s game is “good” & only his kicking is wack – trying to show willievz that over a period of two months the coach thinks differently sees things differently from willie THEN here you come with a defensive stance and asking me if i’m an “anti-meyer cheerleader” wtf?
if i’m anti him then maybe you’re the toady, no?
26 Sep 2012, 00:41 am
yeah, yeah…..whatever Barnes, you’d like to see him start and miss his kicks at poles and sit in the pocket and play aimless 10 man skop en jag BS rugby
Go play your faarking mind games elsewhere knobend!
26 Sep 2012, 03:37 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-6: Maybe when you pass matric you will say something with intelligence and maturity.
26 Sep 2012, 07:21 am
@SodaJoe-48:
why dont you just scroll on by
doos
seriously
i dont care
26 Sep 2012, 08:15 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-49:
Seems as Soda is another one that seems to be sickof some of your posts.
I recall you have alot to say about individuals,like McCaw, Dagg, Nonu ….actually all the crusaders and Chiefs players, all scum and cheats, yet you dont want someone commenting about you.
Man up little fella. If you are going to start throwing things about others, at least handle it when it gets tossed back at you.
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All