Goosen looks set to start

Johan Goosen spent Tuesday’s training session running at flyhalf, indicating strongly that he is likely to run-on against Australia at Loftus on Saturday.

In my experience, because of time constraints in terms of preparation, Springbok coaches have had to show their selection hand in the Tuesday session. Goosen lined up in what is almost certainly the starting side, while Morne Steyn worked defence with the players opposing them.

Goosen made good impressions in his short stints off the bench against the Wallabies in Perth and All Blacks in Dunedin. He has been the man most have called for to replace the struggling Steyn and it appears coach Heyneke Meyer will entrust him with a big part of the responsibility for galvanising the team’s attack.

Meanwhile, it appears Frans Steyn will recover from a rolled ankle in time for the Test. He made significant improvements overnight, and while he was still on crutches at the session as a precaution, my understanding is that he will play.

‘The X-rays were clear and the swelling has settled nicely. We’re hoping to get him to do some training on Wednesday,’ said Springbok team doctor Craig Roberts.

Flip van der Merwe (lock, calf), Jacques Potgieter (flank, groin) and Lwazi Mvovo (wing, hamstring) did not train with the squad on Tuesday and will be managed accordingly. A final call on their availability will be made later in the week.

Elsewhere in the team, Eben Etzebeth looks set to return to action after a suspension and will partner Andries Bekker in what appears to be the only other change from the side that lost to the Blacks in Dunedin.

Likely Springboks XV- 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Francois Hougaard, 13 Jean de Villiers, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.

Read last week’s exclusive interview with Johan Goosen here

By Ryan Vrede, in Johannesburg

Follow Ryan on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

443 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] Show All

• 401.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-384:
    really? ‘get the japies’..? no proof..?..please, pull the other one.

not if the deal is in pounds? which is what supersport would pay for rights.
    the money from such a deal when split IN POUNDS will translate to significantly more than we are getting at present under this ridiculous equal split in all likelyhood.

and this assuming the pound to rand conversion compard to the dollar to rand conversion of the two options.

• 402.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

That is how i see it.morne will sit on the bench and hopefully not need to come on.

• 403.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

Bok team: Kirchner, Habana, De Villiers (c), Steyn/Taute, Hougaard, Goosen, Pienaar, Vermeulen, Alberts, Louw, Bekker, Etzebeth, Du Plessis, Strauss, Beast

• 404.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-384: save your breath, not worth it..

he sees ghosts everywhere..

• 405.grant10: Reply to this comment

here we go gents…..

• 406.nama1: Reply to this comment

Boks WILL win this test, no matter who the FH is.

Morne will most probably start. Goosen just going to get an extended run in the 2nd half. 30 minutes instead of 20. :lol:

• 407.nkqo6: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-383: ebusuku mkhuluwa ndibalisoka , umbhoxo yinto yase mini malanga idlule . kodwa kuba kuli qela lam ndizokhe ndizithobe ndili xhase ngalo ixesha eli

• 408.grant10: Reply to this comment

yessssssssssssssssssssssssssssss

• 409.grant10: Reply to this comment

M STEYN NOT I 22

yESSSSSSSSSS

• 410.nama1: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell-403:
    Taute leap frogging JdJ???

WOW!!!

What message is HM sending to JDJ?

• 411.bokgat1: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-396: For sure. If he benches10 & 15, all previous insults will be forgotten, providing we win, which we will.

• 412.blik: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell-403: Who’s on the bench?

• 413.grant10: Reply to this comment

.THANK THE ANGELS……….

rubicon crossed…

Goosen at 10
    jantjes on bench

• 414.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

399, oh please…you are the only wp oke not wanting it in for him then.
    Hell, people are calling for his sacking with only 2 loses so far against the top 2 sides away from home.

For me, the only rugby of relevence this weekend is the argie game. If the argies can hold the kiwis to only 1 bonus point i still expect to see the boks take this rugby championship.
    And i do not believe that to be behond the realm of possibilty seeing how the argies have gone so far.

In fact, our 16-all draw is not looking like to shabby a result.

• 415.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@nkqo6-407: kutheni ungabukeli nowakwakho? :lol:

• 416.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Francois Hougaard, 13 Jean de Villiers (c), 12 Frans Steyn/Jaco Taute, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira. Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Marcell Coetzee, 20 Elton Jantjies, 21 Jaco Taute/Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie.

• 417.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nkqo6-400:
    huh? what do you mean making up stories?
    its the truth, dont you follow rugby?

• 418.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@blik-412:

Bench: Liebenberg, Oosthuizen, Van der Merwe, Coetzee, Jantjies, Taute/De Jongh, Lambie

• 419.David: Reply to this comment

@nama1-410:
    Taute or JdJ?
    As I said yesterday, I suspect HM sees Taute as a JF replacement.

• 420.grant10: Reply to this comment

So happy….no more M Steyn…..now we have 2 10s who are full of flair and innovation…

Slowly but surely we getting on the right track……

Thankyou thankyou…thankyou!!!

• 421.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

419..i agree

• 422.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

well i think we can all be happy with that team. Zane is still hanging around somehow, but we can’t expect HM to drop all his favourites at once i suppose

• 423.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@nama1-389: Who is ‘his’. Clowns refers to more than one. Feeling a bit anxious there poepsak.

• 424.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

That side will blow the ozzies off the park so it is as i said, can the argies do us a favour.

• 425.poppa69: Reply to this comment

so another test with a whole lot of new combinations?

Aussies by 12..

• 426.David: Reply to this comment

Ok, Taute/JdJ means that if Frans can’t play Taute starts at 13 and JdJ on the bench.

• 427.willievz: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell-418: Strong bench.

• 428.nkqo6: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-415: hahaha umaDlomo akadibananga nezemidlalo , uba ndifuna ukumdika ndivula u SS1 ndiyayazi akhonto iyobasalunga ndamncama mkhuluwa. ndikulonto ke

• 429.grant10: Reply to this comment

A Bekker and Etsebeth…..

Whoa….hardly a Bull left…..only Kirchner now?

• 430.nama1: Reply to this comment

@nama1-406:
    Well, well…. :oops:

• 431.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@grant10-420: i am geniunely excited for the game this weekend

• 432.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-424: the same Aussies who have beaten you 7 out of the last 8 times?

I love it when dof supporters like you proclaim a victory before the game has commenced..

happens every time, but then, apparently to quite a few on here, you guys should have been owning the Aussies, but you havent..

• 433.grant10: Reply to this comment

sorry…and Hougaard

• 434.grant10: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell-431: First time in a long time I am excited about watching the Boks again!

• 435.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

Great stuff, Goosen at 10 and Jantjies on the bench. Brussouw should have been included in the 22 at least- Louw impressive in his last outing so he deserves another chance. Brussouw in, and Kirtchner needs to voetsek !

• 436.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-394: the guy can’t win. He wanted to blood Goosen vs the English but couldn’t. Perhaps it was always his plan to introduce him to the Bok set up, give him 20 mins each game on the road then start him SA. But if that happens, everyone will tell him he took to long to learn and just reacted to criticism.

Anyway, looks like there’s a Goosen thread opened so i’m probably talking to thin air right now

• 437.nama1: Reply to this comment

@David-419:
    But that’s at outside centre. Does that mean that if Frans is not available. JdV will move to I/C with Taute taking up his position at I/C?

At the start of the season it was said that HM is grooming JJE to take JF place. :lol:

• 438.nkqo6: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-417: what rugby is this ? take off 50 boks shades .yes i dont watch SA rugby thats why it looks like i dont watch rugby to you

• 439.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

Morne being dropped feels like a huge ****** off the collective backs of all South Africans. I suddenly feel like I do not need Red Bull to grow wings. R – Kelly aint got nothing on me! I believe I can fly!!!! :lol:

• 440.nkqo6: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri-439: hahahahaha but Tshwane is rather tense upon hearing those news

• 441.nama1: Reply to this comment

@nama1-437:
    “JdV will move to I/C with Taute taking up his position at I/C?”

JdV will move to I/C with Taute taking up his position at O/C?

• 442.gunther: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri-439:

As a diehard All Black Supporter you should be gutted Lilly.

• 443.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-387:
    matfield got away with shoulder charges and late hits.
    Schalk got away with an eye gouge.
    Stop being an idiot

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.