Goosen looks set to start
25 Sep 2012
Johan Goosen spent Tuesday’s training session running at flyhalf, indicating strongly that he is likely to run-on against Australia at Loftus on Saturday.
In my experience, because of time constraints in terms of preparation, Springbok coaches have had to show their selection hand in the Tuesday session. Goosen lined up in what is almost certainly the starting side, while Morne Steyn worked defence with the players opposing them.
Goosen made good impressions in his short stints off the bench against the Wallabies in Perth and All Blacks in Dunedin. He has been the man most have called for to replace the struggling Steyn and it appears coach Heyneke Meyer will entrust him with a big part of the responsibility for galvanising the team’s attack.
Meanwhile, it appears Frans Steyn will recover from a rolled ankle in time for the Test. He made significant improvements overnight, and while he was still on crutches at the session as a precaution, my understanding is that he will play.
‘The X-rays were clear and the swelling has settled nicely. We’re hoping to get him to do some training on Wednesday,’ said Springbok team doctor Craig Roberts.
Flip van der Merwe (lock, calf), Jacques Potgieter (flank, groin) and Lwazi Mvovo (wing, hamstring) did not train with the squad on Tuesday and will be managed accordingly. A final call on their availability will be made later in the week.
Elsewhere in the team, Eben Etzebeth looks set to return to action after a suspension and will partner Andries Bekker in what appears to be the only other change from the side that lost to the Blacks in Dunedin.
Likely Springboks XV- 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Francois Hougaard, 13 Jean de Villiers, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Read last week’s exclusive interview with Johan Goosen here
By Ryan Vrede, in Johannesburg

443 Comments
25 Sep 2012, 16:36 pm
Immediately looks like a better side. More balanced.
I just hope Goosen is given even a small amount of freedom to express himself.
This weekend will tell us all we need to know.
Will be very interesting to see who plays off the bench as well.
25 Sep 2012, 16:41 pm
Since Morne is a human being, I expect him to be named on the bench.
25 Sep 2012, 16:42 pm
Hope Goosen shines and I still can’t understand how Crusty starts ahead of Lambie if Goosen is at FH… what a joke.
Marcel Coetzee will be great as impact again, but must be pretty peeved after all the hard work he has put in game after game (he could also do with a bit of a breather though – a lot of rugby for a young gun).
25 Sep 2012, 16:51 pm
i doubt it but if true then its very chancy of meyer.
25 Sep 2012, 16:58 pm
Thank the Angels and rugby G Ods……
I think I may have had a heart attack faced with the skop en jag artist again….
Grab this opportunity Goosen and be bold, brave and innovative young man….
What a great breath of fresh air….
Sanity restored…
25 Sep 2012, 17:03 pm
That looks like a much improved side, decent 10 and a fetcher. Only took you 7 games to come to your senses Meyer, not the fastest learner! Although still no Brussow in the squad – so jury still out on your ability to learn
I hope Elton is on the bench.
as a cynic…..will be a bit funny if goosen misses all his kicks and we dont convert opportunities.
who to blame then
Finally the Goose is loose.
Morne Steyn may your career for the Boks RIP.
25 Sep 2012, 17:06 pm
probably because brussouw is super ordinary for quite sometime and cant put 3 games together in a row without getting injured.
25 Sep 2012, 17:07 pm
I’m so happy I’m busting out the drinks cabinet an hour early. What odds on a mesmeric Goose try on his first proper start? Aussie about to get that long overdue klap. Yebo yes!!!
25 Sep 2012, 17:08 pm
Ja Meyer knows not to mess with ou pieletjie
25 Sep 2012, 17:09 pm
Damn it still Lambie not starting! He will most probably catch a 5 minutes at the end.
25 Sep 2012, 17:15 pm
@grant10-5: you saw that this was a LIKELY squad, meaning the “writer” is taking a WILD guess?
if goosen’s heel is still sore, be prepared to see MSteyn
@Brigadier Van Zyl-9:
Just like NikNaks
Now just hope we have aLambie on for 30 minutes at 15 and Elton instead of the skop en jag artist on the bench…
25 Sep 2012, 17:17 pm
Interesting fact:
On this day, in the year 275 – After the assassination of Aurelian, Tacitus was chosen by the Senate to succeed him as Roman emperor.
25 Sep 2012, 17:17 pm
@grant10-5: stuck record. for the last five years on keo you’re general contribution is to pick one or two players you dont like and everyday, the whole day, repeat your not so brilliant posts. time and time again.
you have used skop & jag artist 1000 thousand times.
you more senile than you think.
25 Sep 2012, 17:19 pm
I have a feeling that HM is lining Taute up as a future replacement for JdV at 13 as he’s a similar size and style to JF when Jake introduced him.
25 Sep 2012, 17:19 pm
No, I found Goossen.
25 Sep 2012, 17:20 pm
15-taute
12-steyn
10-goosen
9-hougaard please?
25 Sep 2012, 17:20 pm
I’ll believe it when I see it. Morne is too precious a son to Heyneke for to conclude Morne will be dropped by merely looking at a training session.
25 Sep 2012, 17:21 pm
@willievz-16:
That’s probably why our Tacitus has been so quiet lately. He’s been sitting next to the phone waiting for the call.
25 Sep 2012, 17:26 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-7: hahahaha yoh, you are bad!
25 Sep 2012, 17:29 pm
will you blame morne again….even if only watching from the stands and call for lambie next week and elton the week after that.
25 Sep 2012, 17:32 pm
If HM plays Lambie for another 6 mins or even worse, replaces him on the bench with Morne/Taute, how can he justify not letting him play CC rugby for the sharks. Lambie, Elton and Brussouw fronting up as the big losers of the new regime.
25 Sep 2012, 17:34 pm
@Pepe-12: now that that kak Morne is out we now set our scopes to target that other kak play – Kirchner!
He must go and Lambie or Taute in at 15.
Guys the plan is working, selection and villification through the blog and media.
JDV don’t get too comfortable cause after Kirchner you are next.
@Brigadier Van Zyl-24: SA aren’t likely to lose this test with or without M.Steyn but if they do and JG starts, Meyer will get the blame not the new 10. C’est la vie.
@Brigadier Van Zyl-24: the BLOODY gameplan and you know it…you’re just smarting cos you blou bulle favourite is universally kak @ the moment and has nowhere to hide
25 Sep 2012, 17:36 pm
@RL-26: HHAHAHAHAHAHHA
25 Sep 2012, 17:37 pm
@RL-26: @Transformation-29: Love it!!
25 Sep 2012, 17:38 pm
@Big Hit-27: and HM won’t get the credit if we win, Goossen will, funny old story
25 Sep 2012, 17:39 pm
@willievz-30: now the “national consciousness” is coaching the Boks.
delusionals.
25 Sep 2012, 17:47 pm
Agree with most blogs here – looks like a well-balanced and very promising side; hope to heck Frans stands up to ankle injury – he is KEY!
The game against the All Blacks (and also the Wallabies vs Argies) is most fascinating – the boot is finally on the other foot now and they are the ones with the evil travel plan; not least of all both sides will get hugely softened up before they cross another ocean and play again.
Time for payback.
25 Sep 2012, 17:50 pm
unless lamb or taute turn non white sharpish.
kirchener will still be starting with broken legs and cancer
3. is the magic number or is it 2
i forget.
oh…and dejkng and aplon are supershite cc heros only.
25 Sep 2012, 17:51 pm
@shooter-17: Morne is that you
25 Sep 2012, 17:52 pm
33. i completly agree.
i suspect the kiwis could catch a proper hiding at soccercity
25 Sep 2012, 17:56 pm
Pity.
The site is going to be so boring this week now.
25 Sep 2012, 17:58 pm
@PissAnt-37: Don’t be so sure.
We still need to get rid of Kirchner and JDV.
25 Sep 2012, 18:02 pm
I love watching the ebbs and flows of optimism on this site
Sun/Mon: Disgust and outrage at coach/ref/playerX
Tues/Wed: Glimmer of hope at change, optimism
Thurs/Fri: Confidence, even arrogance in some posters
Sat post game: See Sun/Mon
It almost mirrors the four year world cup cycle. Don’t fret guys, next year will be better
25 Sep 2012, 18:04 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-24:
Morne is K@k. Get over it. Omkeer!
25 Sep 2012, 18:04 pm
@willievz-38:
Not going to be the same, Sharks haven’t got a centre they can punt ahead of JDV
25 Sep 2012, 18:09 pm
Good luck to the Gooster.
Would be good to see Taute get a run at fullback.
25 Sep 2012, 18:15 pm
I hope Goosen ignores just about everything that Meyer tells him and plays as we know he can.
25 Sep 2012, 18:15 pm
Every team in the currie cup has got atleast 2 or 3 centres they can punt ahead of JDV.
25 Sep 2012, 18:17 pm
@PissAnt-41:
Jordaan?
25 Sep 2012, 18:18 pm
Hope the crims are ready for their poesklap.
25 Sep 2012, 18:19 pm
@PissAnt-41:
JP .
25 Sep 2012, 18:22 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-7: Or the opposite. Can you imagine the Boks come off a big victory here, score 4 or 5 tries etc. It will be THE END for Morne Steyn.
It will be the mercy shot for a dying horse. Exactly the same as when De Wet Barry and Marius Joubert were replaced by Jean De Villiers and Jacques Fourie and the Springboks donnered Australia at Ellis Park in that very game.
That was it…..there was the odd appearance of Barry and Joubert again but in essence it was the kill shot….the mercy shot for a dying horse….
I think all you Bulls must maar pray Goosen doesn’t play well this weekend, or your blou oog seuntjie is done. Finished. He must maar pack up and go play in Europe.
25 Sep 2012, 18:24 pm
Here’s something else to think about…
We lack depth at 13…. JP Pietersen could be the man to make that position his own in the near future. He is still relatively young and has had a great super rugby season this year – the first where he has played predominantly at outside center.
It seems to have given him a new perspective on how to attack and even his play on the wing has improved as a result.
Truthfully, his career at wing for the Boks has been mediocre. His overall try scoring record for the Boks has been average for a winger (24 tries in 45 caps)…. Before 2012, the last try he scored for the Boks was in 2010. As a regular starter who almost always plays the full 80, these figures are not electric…
However, at outside center, JP might be very well suited. At 6ft3, 100kgs, he is well within the physical requirements. Not only that, but his speed makes him a threat for any defense. He has an offloading game, good defense and a small but effective sidestep.
This would not only address the lack of depth at outside center, but would also mean we can keep a man of JP’s experience in the team, whilst making room for some young, exciting wingers who bring more unpredictability and electricity to the role.
25 Sep 2012, 18:32 pm
Looks like Beale could be starting at 10 this weekend instead of Barnes. Potential for an electric game
25 Sep 2012, 18:33 pm
@gunther-47: @David-45:
Aren’t they both injured?
25 Sep 2012, 18:42 pm
we do have big centers in the making…
12-f steyn 13-j de villiers-(2012)
12-f steyn 13-j taute
12-f steyn 13-jp pietersen
12-f steyn 13-jj engelbrecht
12-f steyn 13-l mapoe
12-f steyn 13-j de villiers in numerical order whom I’d prefer for the EOYT and forward…
To be very specific I’d play this 15 in dec…
25 Sep 2012, 18:58 pm
Yoh. When B?ssy and JPP are ava!lable we w!ll have a team that can beat anyone.
But lets wa!t t!ll the team !s announced. Th!s Keo mob was conv!nced Butch would be the flyhalf !n RWC 2011.
25 Sep 2012, 19:00 pm
@Xtremebull-52:
No room for midgets like De Jongh and Jordaan in your team?
25 Sep 2012, 19:04 pm
I just hope the Goose isn’t writing cheques that his body can’t cash! …..
Bazinga!
25 Sep 2012, 19:11 pm
Zulu are ignorant and prone to sorting out matters in violent way, they are also the greatest and most famous warriors in Africa. Xhosa’s have always regarded themselves superior to other blacks to their educated status and have a stigma of being stuck-up, the are also the most famous tribe that has given the world famous politicains and leaders like Cchris Hani,Nelson Mandela, O.R Thambo and many many more.South Aafrican english speakers affectionately labeled ‘die souties’ by Aafrikaaners briothers have always had their head up their own arses, but at the same time have always been level-headed and more liberal thinkers than their Aafrikaaners counterparts (kitch kristie, nick mallet, Jake White…..vs Strauli,Heineken etc).
Afrikaans people are close minded, ignorant and ultra-conservative, they are also the only white European group to create their own non-eurocentric identity that is based on their culture. Australians and new zealnders are really just Brits, Argentinians are Spanish etc.
Afrikaans people forged their own culture and language. every culture or people has it’s typical side and it’s positives. Heyneke Meyer is only showing us ONE typical aspect of Afrikaans people.
for the sake of the Boks and the country as a whole I hope we get thumped and he gets fired asap and gets replaced with another Afrikaner….Rassie Erasmus. or Even Mallett.. People who can’t rise above their immediate are what you call squares, if they were white ‘ffuck the kaffirrs’, if they’re black ‘kill the Boere’ if they’re women ‘ girl power’…typical squares. Heineke is as 4-sided as squares get.
25 Sep 2012, 19:11 pm
dusky….ozzies will lose even if i play flyhalf
the bulls at loftus ended barry joubert combo
ettienne botha and jp nel….lol
75-14
25 Sep 2012, 19:22 pm
@barcelonista-56:
You don’t mention Coloureds? South Africa’s original people. How would you describe us, and have we developed as leaders?
25 Sep 2012, 19:22 pm
@barcelonista-56
You are going around in circles.
Since when is Mallett an Afrikaner?
25 Sep 2012, 19:24 pm
25 Sep 2012, 19:26 pm
Back to the article or guess work of Ryan.
Just hope Ruan is not starting at 9. Goosen, if he starts, needs Hougaard to provide him with quick flat ball. In any event, Hougaard is wasted out on the wing.
25 Sep 2012, 19:31 pm
Village in Spain missing its idiot
25 Sep 2012, 19:47 pm
this dude is going to get his story straight by default not by design. Against his better judgments he’s going to be forced into playing the better balanced team through sheer weight of common sense realization over his dumb struck hard headed idiocy.
Already this team is a far cry from that dismally selected rubbish he set out with Spies, Potgieter, Coetsee, all his realization coming through trial and error and injury forcing his hand.
Now looks like the penny might ultimately drop that Steyn is hampering progress, except playing Pienaar at 9 and Kirchner at 15 is just as bad. Pity he continues to do the foxtrot with himself 1 step forward 2 steps back, 2 steps forward 1 step back. Why not just Fix all the problems once and for all and play the right setup up front instead of daydreaming round the rosemary bush trying out this then that, trial and error steps still unsure of himself.
25 Sep 2012, 19:48 pm
@stormersboy-55:
Your ego’s out of control.
25 Sep 2012, 19:57 pm
Kirtchner set for his TWENTIETH Bok cap. *Sigh*.
25 Sep 2012, 20:01 pm
@fitz1ella-63:
By default not by design. That is exactly what is happening, if he does in fact play Goosen.
When he announced that first squad of his with all the Bulle and no Brussow, I said at the time that there will be guys falling off the bus and others putting their hands up.
Potgieter and Spies have relinguished their places in the forwards. Same is about to happen in the backs. Kirchner needs a huge game on Saturday because all he is doing is denying Lambie much needed game time. Taute’s time will come – he needs to settle into the Bok set-up first – don’t expect to see him in the starting 22 this weekend.
25 Sep 2012, 20:04 pm
@Spiesisworthless1-65:
Best he grabs it with both hands. And not both feet.
25 Sep 2012, 20:07 pm
what these goddamn morons can’t realize is that between Fourie du Preez and Morne Steyn the Boks have been going headlong in REVERSE for 3 whole seasons already.. yet they STILL reckon these damn ropes around their necks deserve high accolades and hero worship..
Ever since that lucky packet daydream when Burger got injured or suspended for eye gouging and Brussow came on and revolutionized the go forward ball at the cutting edge of the breakdown and M. Steyn simply converted all the forced error 3 point penalties to take the 2009 Bil’s series and the 2009 3N Boks have STEADILY been going down a long spiral of regression under Morne Steyn and Fourie du Preez.. not to mention the other 2 supreme backward promo’s leading the retreat John Smit and Pierre Spies
Now that SLOWLY the cancer is getting cut OUT.. Smit GONE, FdP GONE, Spies GONE.. next up M. Steyn GONE and ultimately Kirchner to GO and Hougaard to partner Goosen at half back.. and FINALLY without these hindrances Spies, Potgieter, Steyn and Kirchner Boks will have the CORRECT modus operandi in place to turn the corner from retrograde to advance.
25 Sep 2012, 20:13 pm
@I am a stormer-66: pity he simply couldn’t get it right without being goaded and coerced into action.. why it takes so damn agonizing long for a donkey to get forced to the water and ultimately even forced to drink is beyond any rational simple common sense realization
25 Sep 2012, 20:13 pm
@Spiesisworthless1-65:
Why don’t you tell him to **** off some more.
See if that does the trick?
25 Sep 2012, 20:15 pm
@barcelonista-56: F.Off.Several Times.
25 Sep 2012, 20:17 pm
@I am a stormer-59: Thats the biggest problem you have with what he said???
25 Sep 2012, 20:17 pm
@ryecatcher-71: And then again.D oos
25 Sep 2012, 20:25 pm
@Kaizan-49: Pray tell the stats for all the bok wingers for that peiod?
25 Sep 2012, 20:39 pm
i left out coloreds as to not have a whole essay on the blog. personally I rate Cape-Malaysian-colored girls as easily the juiciest plump straight-up HOTTEST women in South Africa by a country mile. If you’re from Cape Town both you and your member will be ‘nodding’ in agreement…boere meisie kinders are too blond, those weaves on the ‘sista’s are a turn off, the less about soutie women the better…
25 Sep 2012, 20:43 pm
@trupisero-74: I accidentally wrote that JP had 24 tries in 45 games…. It’s meant to say 14 tries. My mistake!!
Most wingers in world rugby have a try-scoring record of just over 50% roughly (ie 1 try for every 2 games)… a 50% try-scoring record is considered average for a wing… JP’s record falls way below this benchmark.
25 Sep 2012, 21:14 pm
@barcelonista-75:
Given your propensity for insulting all race groups in SA*, the only juicy, plump thing getting close to your small d-ick would be your sweaty right hand
*- You’ve missed the Indians in your insults btw, but I’m sure you’d make that up in your next posts as soon as you swop the left foot out of your mouth for the right
25 Sep 2012, 21:33 pm
@56
wtf was that? hell I never thought Id see a post that is more k@k than Pielneus’ but you sir, you take the cake with that shite right there.
25 Sep 2012, 21:35 pm
@barcelonista-75:
so . you wan’t to pomp me, mr messi?
25 Sep 2012, 21:42 pm
The guy who really fcked our chances is Bismarck. By getting injured he basically sabotaged our entire Rugby Championship. If this were Iran they’d be fixing to hang him over lunch at a packed Moses Mabida. But we’re soft on these guys. We send them Get Well Soon cards from CNA, instead of imprisoning their families in labour camps.
25 Sep 2012, 21:48 pm
Hmmm,deviating from rugga very fast again???
25 Sep 2012, 21:50 pm
@katman-80: That’s soo dumb dude, you can’t control when you get injured!
And FFS, we had 3 teams in S15 finals, so 1 player out, we should’ve managed better than we’ve done so far!
25 Sep 2012, 21:54 pm
@KeurboomPark-79:
Hy sallie veel regkry nie, hy’s all show and no go
25 Sep 2012, 21:55 pm
@papaown-82: No, you’re right. Let’s get Josh Grobin to write him a get better song. How about Knee Of Hope?
25 Sep 2012, 21:57 pm
I Goosen has a ripper, I’d expect HM to sub him early in the 2nd half cause he is a dumb kant.
25 Sep 2012, 21:58 pm
Oh dear god, Kirchner is still there. What have I done to deserve this?
25 Sep 2012, 22:00 pm
@papaown-82: Katman MIGHT have been sarcastic with that comment. MiGHT.
25 Sep 2012, 22:06 pm
@garth-85:
> cause he is a dumb kant.
Koos vra ‘n Engelse meisie uit en sy sê dis reg vir Saterdagaand
Hy kan nie juis Engels praat nie en oefen heel week sy tenses, she is, they are
Hy laai haar toe op die aand en toe hy uit die driveway in die pad wil indraai, kan hy nie sien of daar karre aankom van links af nie
Hy vra haar toe:
“Are your kant clean?”
Einde van die date
25 Sep 2012, 22:07 pm
@kwas-87: Perhaps just a teeny bit.
25 Sep 2012, 22:14 pm
arme ou Koos hy wou so odentelik a nice impression gemaak het op sy first date met sy Engelse prom queen. . nou is die dom doos alweer uit in die woestyn… klink amper soos Heyneke .. dink jy hy sal dit regkry die naweek ..egte kant of regte kant of links…strike of mis .. bulls eye of nie?
25 Sep 2012, 22:16 pm
well it seems we all get our wish.
hope it works out.
the dumbasses now insisting elton must be on the bench instead of morne need to have a long think about things.
i see grant10 is banging his drum endlessly, repetitively again
25 Sep 2012, 22:17 pm
My main gripe with HM is that its soo obvious he’s deviant!
He has his favourites he wants to play, and if they’re injured he’ll keep Blue Bull players in the team till the player comes right, he won’t sub the Blue Bull player incase the interim players shine and then he can’t bring in the players he wants eg. Elton/Lambie while waiting for the Goose, also Lambie/Zane while waiting for Taute.
He coaches with soo much fear and its no wonder the players respond on the field with a lack of enthusiasm and enjoyment in what they are doing out there
25 Sep 2012, 22:19 pm
@gunther-64: If Goose is, well, Goose, I hope that Meyer isn’t Maverick. He strikes me more like the Captain of the Air-craft Carrier that was kukking them out after the fly-by.
I had Frans Steyn pegged as ice man.
25 Sep 2012, 22:23 pm
@fitz1ella-90:
Ons het min teen die Wallabies in SA verloor
Ek dink ons kon beide weg toetse verloor het, Beast en Dean en Morne het ons gekos
Hulle het ook nog interne struwelinge in die Wallabie kamp, Cooper se kritiek op die coach maak dit sekerlik nie makliker nie
Ons gaan hulle rol
25 Sep 2012, 22:29 pm
@papaown-92: sounds like tenuous provincialistic bs to me.
@barcelonista-75: you are quite amusing but please leave the racial insults off the blog ok?
gracias hijo.
25 Sep 2012, 22:32 pm
As Boks teen die klomp gemors soos die Wallabies die naweek uitdraf tog verloor.. dan is daar helse snot en trane op die horison wat volg..
Ons het baie teen die Wallabies onlangs verloor die laas paar jare.. net die een wen in 2010 en 3 keer verloor 2011 .. maar die keer is hulle heeltemaal sat deurmekaar .. as Boks die naweek in Loftus teen hulle verloor dan is HM se blou broekies sleg aan die brand Sondag in die koerant.
25 Sep 2012, 22:35 pm
reads like gibberish and thats before you consider the meaning.
like a shredder being used to carve a roast.
25 Sep 2012, 22:38 pm
@rangerman-95: Don’t even get me started as I support the Blue Bulls but am not blind to what is going on
I put the Boks 1st and its time HM did the same!
25 Sep 2012, 22:39 pm
i see keo calls steve hofmeyr “stevie”
thats sweet.
what a pair of winners.
25 Sep 2012, 22:40 pm
@papaown-98: ok, i would prefer not to get you going hehehe.
25 Sep 2012, 22:43 pm
@rangerman-100: Better not…who do you support?
25 Sep 2012, 22:46 pm
@papaown-92: this is heyneke’s reverse psychology on morne he wants to drop morne but is just extending the rope so that morne wraps it firmly around his own neck…
when meyer drops morne nobody in the whole country will wail except maybe some staunch bulle fans with blou knaters hanging off their bakkies.
foolproof plan dude!
25 Sep 2012, 22:48 pm
@papaown-101: come on papoose…squirrel hunter is a guppy!
25 Sep 2012, 22:51 pm
@fitz1ella-96:
> As Boks teen die klomp gemors soos die Wallabies die naweek uitdraf tog verloor.. dan is daar helse snot en trane op die horison wat volg..
As my Antie ballas gehad het was sy my Oom
Ons moet hulle net wen
As Goosen sy kans gebruik en speel soos hy kan sal ons
Die span is ook honger vir ‘n wen
Jy sal sien
25 Sep 2012, 22:52 pm
@Transformation-103: I’m not a professional blogger like you mate so I wouldn’t be able to keep track of everyone’s alegiance’s
I know you support the Kings and Grant WP…that’s about it
25 Sep 2012, 22:56 pm
@victoriabok-104: kan tog glad nie verloor die naweek nie.. dis eintlik heeltemaal ontmoontlik…. of is dit?
25 Sep 2012, 22:57 pm
@papaown-105: KWASIA BOY! wtf is a professional blogger hehehe
25 Sep 2012, 23:00 pm
@Transformation-107: Lmao!
Wow but you remember a lot hey
Professional blogger is someone who blogs 24/7. That’s you. Look I have a lot of respect for you cos sometimes these fools need to be put in their place by facts and logic…and you always bring it
Respect man
25 Sep 2012, 23:05 pm
@fitz1ella-106:
Enigiets is moontlik, soos ‘n besering vroeg in die wedstryd soos toe ons Bismarck verloor het of ‘n kaart as jy momentum bou
Maar as ons sonder Morne en Spies speel en Poukak speel nie kan ons wen
25 Sep 2012, 23:08 pm
wies Poukak?
25 Sep 2012, 23:08 pm
@papaown-108: i am just gonna ignore that rubbish on the other thread and chat to you like it never happened ok?
i am a shark.
25 Sep 2012, 23:14 pm
@rangerman-111: you’re such a nice guy AM
25 Sep 2012, 23:14 pm
@fitz1ella-110:
Pocock
25 Sep 2012, 23:15 pm
@Transformation-112: i actually am haha.
but i do like to test my skills here.
its a bit like dragons den.
25 Sep 2012, 23:20 pm
Ok eks gou uit.. seun te gaan haal.
26 Sep 2012, 00:04 am
BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!
Now I have heard it all!
BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!
Seriously, I can’t stop laughing, my sides are splitting!
BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!
Transformation brings “facts and logic”.
BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!
Now I’m crying from the laughter!
26 Sep 2012, 01:13 am
Copy from other thread – with auto correct typos sorted
As an all black fan, I find all the hand wringing about protecting this that or the other no10 extremely perplexing.
NZ rugby lore is that the no10 is the most important player on the field.
Morne steyn singlehandedly lost the boks the game in Dunedin. If he had kicked his kicks you would have won. It would be irrelevant to an AB coach that others also blew try scoring opportunities – morne himself could and should have won the game for you, or on a bad day would have kept you within a single penalty of the win and earned you field position in the AB 22. To fall so short of those requirements would mean only one thing for an AB No10 – immediately dropped.
It would not matter who was coming up behind, or how inexperienced they were, they would be dropped and someone else tried.
Poor form is less clear cut, but without a doubt morne’s extended run of poor form would have seen him dropped from the ab’s before Dunedin.
All of this would happen without consideration of who the alternatives were – the assumption being that trying someone new has to be better than the status quo.
It astounds me that bok rugby lacks this ruthless commitment to performance. But what astounds me even more is that you worry about dropping steyn for fear of the pressure this will put on either goosen or janties. This is ridiculous – you have frans steyn to kick the goals if need be, and two good no 10?s in the team already in the form of pienar and lambie their presence can be used to take pressure off the new guy (eg taking kick offs, doing more of the kicking in general play etc).
The all blacks used this system so effectively with weepu and cruden at the wc, until weepu injured his groin in the warm up for the final.
To put it in perspective, the boks have far better cover for no 10 in the match day 22 at Dunedin than the all blacks had available in Te whole of the World Cup. This is even excluding janties who wasn’t at Dunedin.
Honestly, it is beyond bizarre that you don’t drop steyn and start working with he incredible depth you have in the rest if the team.
Change isn’t a guarantee of immediate success, and this strategy has resulted in some terrible 10?s playing for the Ab’s (bachop, Donald),BUT overall this strategy has served the all blacks incredibly well over the last 20 years.
26 Sep 2012, 03:27 am
@corporal punishment-117: 100% accurate.
But kiwis build 2, 8,, 10, 15 – up through the middle.
Fitzy
Zinzan
Carter
Mils/Cullen/Dagg
Just my humble opinion.
Boks build
2. 5. 7 (6 for you). And 9.
26 Sep 2012, 03:29 am
I like the team. I think the forwards are good.
Concerns around JdV and Zane. Other than that, good to go.
Boks will win on Saturday.
26 Sep 2012, 03:54 am
@118 sodajoe – agreed. There is definitely a slightly different positional focus in AB to the boks. For example, for years, we were obsessed with having wingers who could score long range tries – kirwan, lomu, Wilson, sivi, rocks, and we looked down on the more defensively orientated wingers that the boks and the English employed. And we wondered why we lost world cups
. The boks showed us the error of our ways in 2009 with a right royal 3 nil thrashing, exploiting the weaknesses of our attack oriented wingers.
Since then, defensively orientated wingers like Jane and kahui have become the norm, and we won a World Cup. I can’t see us going back to the sivi or roks type player, although savea is a bit of a hybrid which surprises me a little.
Thanks South Africa for the 2009 lesson – we needed it!
26 Sep 2012, 04:00 am
Ps – the number 7 jersey (6 for you) is probably seen as the second most important behind the 10 in NZ rugby, as this is the player that secures the ball and is the link between the forward and backs ok that is a simplification, but we have been blessed with a succession of world class players in that position (Michael jones, kronfeld and McCaw) and we have tended to build our style of play around those players.
This has its problems however, as the abs can crumble when the front line no7 isn’t available, or when we are between great players (eg the period between kronfeld and McCaw was pretty bad for the abs)
26 Sep 2012, 04:01 am
Just placed a lazy $100 on the Bokke to win at Loftus 13 and over paying $2.80 GO BOKKE!!
26 Sep 2012, 04:10 am
I read on News24.com that M Steyn is set to start again
So which is correct?
26 Sep 2012, 04:23 am
@123 Coach if that is correct and Morne starts then Hm should be charged with cowardice and for bringing the bok Jersey into disrepute but surely it isn’t true
26 Sep 2012, 04:31 am
@Te Rangatira-124:
Ag he cant let M Steyn go
See he feels more secure with him there than an unknown in experienced 10 , who just happens to have a lot of talent .
The height of insanity is continuing to do the same thing over and over , and expecting a different result
lets see how mad HM is?
26 Sep 2012, 04:33 am
@CoachPete-123:
Aish news24 or Ryan…and the winner is? There are no winners, we all lose!
26 Sep 2012, 04:35 am
In my opinion (obviously) we wouldn’t do bad with the below in the future:
15 Jaco Taute, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Jean de Villiers, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Schalk Burger (c), 6 Francois Louw, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira
16 Deon Fourie, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Willem Alberts, 19 Siya Kolisi, 20 Francois Hougaard, 21 Elton Jantjies, 22 Juan de Jongh
26 Sep 2012, 04:35 am
C’mon we need the Goose to deliver this week.
26 Sep 2012, 04:38 am
@RugbyStudent-127:
Yeah decent
HM does not care for Aplon
I dont think Ruan is the answer Too slow poor defender and kicks too deep
I would have Hougaard with Goosen
26 Sep 2012, 04:41 am
@RugbyStudent-127:
Skalk may find it hard to win his place back
26 Sep 2012, 04:49 am
@CoachPete-129:
I find that funny as it was the selfsame Aplon who at times tortured his Bulls team. I think Heyneke needs to step back and ask, what’s Hougaard’s deal?! If he wants to be a wing, you’ve got to ask, is he the best option? Neither Ruan or Hougi would be my first choice. Both are a bit too individualistic for my taste. I like the scrumhalves in the Currie Cup who haven’t been overcoached or carry baggage.
@CoachPete-130:
Don’t think so, leaders in the pack are missing. Alberts is finding it a bit difficult to maintain his momentum throughout the game. You need guys like Schalk, Bismarck there to maintain the momentum throughout the game.
26 Sep 2012, 04:51 am
@Te Rangatira-124: @Slartibartfast-126:
Don’t worry boys, the Meyer has it all under control. Reading some comments on here it is obvious people have selective memory/reading abilities.
What we all need to understand is that there is actually a plan, unlike the potluck 4 years before Meyer. Go back and read what Goosen said about him and the coach, go further back and read what Tacie said about Meyer and his ranking of all players in all positions. Read what Ranger said yesterday about the 3 #10 and how they should be used.
Goosen is the man and he will get his time in the sun, probably this Saturday. Jantjes will get his chance probably EOYT, Krusty won’t be around much longer and Lambie and maybe Taute will get their chance…
Way too much panic and not enough logical thinking happening these days.
Moenie worry nie, watch net!
26 Sep 2012, 04:57 am
@Slartibartfast-132:
No thanks, we were hard on Pdivvie, and we will be hard on Meyer. Especially cause Meyer and the rest of the Bulls and Hoskins decided he is much better than Pdivvie. So, all we want is proof…not seven years.
26 Sep 2012, 05:03 am
There’s one thing that infuriates me about players like Lambie, Hougie, Pienaar, Frans Steyn, etc. They cannot decide which position suits them, so they always have something to fall back on. There’s no real incentive for them to be the best. Look at Hougie…if he’s no good at scrummie, the coach puts him on wing; meaning he doesn’t fight for his life like a Habana or Fourie du Preez would. Lambie the same. I’m not a big fan of Lambie at fullback..in fact the last time I saw Lambie play fullback, he jumped up to catch a ball then twisted his ankle…that’s it. Now suddenly everybody wants him at flyhalf…why?
26 Sep 2012, 05:07 am
Frans Steyn to me is still 10 Kgs overweight. There is no good reason a centre to be 110Kgs. His perceived strength through mass makes him think he can just run over people, which he rarely does. He was best when put into half gaps.
26 Sep 2012, 05:23 am
@RugbyStudent-133:
It is fine, be hard with him as much as you want to, he will come through.
@RugbyStudent-134:
Because every man and his dog seems to know better. Super coaches and the Bok coach have never been able to work together either…anyway, all backline fairies you talking about.
26 Sep 2012, 05:23 am
Anyone feel HM will start M Steyn and give him 40 min hoping we will be ahead with some better kicking at goal by steyn
And then give Goosen 2nd half
26 Sep 2012, 05:26 am
@RugbyStudent-134:
Yeah sorry Sharks fans i dont rate lambie too high especially at 10
possibly better bet than Kirshner at but not to HM
I have always liked Taute at 15
26 Sep 2012, 05:28 am
@Slartibartfast-132:
Yeah I just cant see us loosing either with steyn or goosen at 10
Oz not very strong no Genia no Cooper other players out,
long travel , playing at loftus , coaching issues too
We should win We better win
26 Sep 2012, 05:46 am
@CoachPete-137:
If Goosen’s heel is fine, he will start with Steyn on the bench. If he plays well expect Steyn to come on with a few minutes left…
@CoachPete-139:
Never write off the ******** Coach, but we should have enough to win.
26 Sep 2012, 05:53 am
@CoachPete-139:
Coach I think Bok should win comfortably on paper, but I feel the Aussies will give a good account of themselves and it will go down to the wire.
26 Sep 2012, 06:19 am
Loftus is a high scoring venue, the Ab’s average around 40 points there over the last 2 or 3 tests, Bokke should score at least 20 then.
26 Sep 2012, 06:23 am
@Te Rangatira-141:
We always look good on paper, just ask the keo muppits!
I do think that we will put up a good show this weekend and really hope it does NOT come down to the wire…it is the breaking of a new dawn for Bok rugby this Saturday!
26 Sep 2012, 06:32 am
@Slartibartfast-143:
Its going down to the wire…..both RC games this weekend.
26 Sep 2012, 06:44 am
@Te Rangatira-144:
Terang DC to control the show if he plays this weekend, Ab’s due for a complete performance 10 / 15 should do it.
26 Sep 2012, 06:49 am
@Te Rangatira-144:
Going down to the wire is the rule mind you, still hoping for the exception on the weekend.
May be close but the AB will cruise in after 60 minutes, no worries.
26 Sep 2012, 06:50 am
All we need is no cards, and the Goosestep: We will smash the Ockers.
26 Sep 2012, 06:58 am
@NZINCHINA-145:
Yes….willing to change my call to what you have stated…..Abs to win by 12 and Dan to control the tempo and shut the Argies outta the game
@Slartibartfast-146:
You on the other hand are going to fight it out for 79 minutes with Morne redeeming himself and kicking the winning goal.
26 Sep 2012, 07:03 am
@Te Rangatira-148:
If it wasn’t for the hurricane in Wellington it would have been around 25 points, away we are at least 10/15points better than them, no disrespect to the Argies though they have played superbly and are worthy opponents.
26 Sep 2012, 07:14 am
Would loved to have seen Lambie in the starting 15 (assuming this team is correct). Imagine Lambie at 12 and sliding Frans to 13, the barnyard (the Goose and the Lamb) together would go a long way to injecting some creativity and running to the midfield. I know there are those who would spaz-out at trying the Lamb at 12 but he isn’t getting game time at either 10 or 15, he has the skills and JDV is rather pedestrian at the moment.
26 Sep 2012, 07:19 am
JdV @ 12, Taute @ 13, and Steyn @ 15, Steyn is solid at 12, but in the past looked way better and more creative at 15.
26 Sep 2012, 07:20 am
@Te Rangatira-148:
Hahaha and straight back into the starting team for next week
Nope, not going to happen no matter how much you wish for it.
26 Sep 2012, 07:41 am
Still no brussouw?
@14261774-151: I agree with that.
We have a problem at fullback and F.Steyn will be the perfect guy to fill in there. His big boot will help with our battle for territory.
Even JDV and JdJ can be a centre partnership.
26 Sep 2012, 07:49 am
@RugbyStudent-127: JPP?
26 Sep 2012, 07:50 am
@Hammer-44: Would not go that far. Only centres I would play before hin is Jordaan ord JDJ and of course the Fourie!
26 Sep 2012, 07:51 am
My ideal loose trio at the moment will be
6. Brussouw
7. Alberts
8. Vermeulen
19. Flo/Coetzee
26 Sep 2012, 07:52 am
@Sasuke-153: He doesn’t want to play 15, that is his beef all along, HM promised him; that if he plays for the boks he will play 12, only in emergencies will he play 15.
26 Sep 2012, 07:56 am
@NZINCHINA-149:
Our forwards need to muscle up too, the loss of Kaino and Bradley has had a far greater affect than I anticipated but the good players come and go and the new guys just have to man up. I’m not one to blame the conditions because an Ab team should be able to front in any weather.
26 Sep 2012, 07:59 am
@Sasuke-153:
When I think of the weapons the Bok possess, the boot of Frans Steyn always comes to mind……..it is an asset that seems wasted in the midfield.
26 Sep 2012, 08:08 am
Flo is clocking up the air miles. Can believe he went back to England to play for Bath.
This month hes gone from Bath to Sa to Aus to NZ back to SA to Bath then back to Sa and in 9 days he will go back to Bath wow.
26 Sep 2012, 08:10 am
@goodstuff-157: this is an emergency lol
26 Sep 2012, 08:11 am
@KeurboomPark-58: Snor is your leader!
26 Sep 2012, 08:12 am
@Sasuke-153: I would like the look of Goosen at 10, Lambie at 12, JDV at 13 and Frans Steyn at 15.
26 Sep 2012, 08:13 am
@goodstuff-157: I wonder why he doesn’t like 15? He will get more space to attack and he can put that big boot to use.
26 Sep 2012, 08:15 am
There seems to be a consistent belief that Heinecke has promised certain players certain things. I certainly (see what I did there?) hope that he hasn’t and is now caught in some “honor” dilemma when really, it should be whatever is best for the team and the badge at any given time.
lf we need Frans to play 15 then he should do whatever is required.
That may explain why Morne seems to stick around longer than is welcome.
I hope it’s not the case.
26 Sep 2012, 08:16 am
@Sasuke-156:
6 Brussouw
7. Flo
8. Burger (Vermeulen in while he is injured)
This loose trio would rule the breakdown and are all great all round forwards. All have played the fetcher role and been successful. All of them can carry a ball. All of them are mobile enough for test rugby. My only concern is that Schalk has not played much at 8, but he definitely suites that position. I’d suggest having Vermeulen and Albert’s come on as impact players at 60min. Both have the ability to run over tired players and cause overlaps.
26 Sep 2012, 08:17 am
@Skeppie-163: JDV at 13? Why? Either he should play at 12 or 14 or get off the field.
26 Sep 2012, 08:20 am
@garth-166: We will still lose a bit of ball carrying ability with these guys and won’t have as strong a lineout. I would prefer Vermeulen at 8, Schalla at blindside and Brussow/Flo at 6.
26 Sep 2012, 08:22 am
@stormersboy-165: the plank Jacque Potgieter was promised a Bok jersey by Heineken – true story.
No way in hell that that brick should be playing test rugby for any rugby nation.
26 Sep 2012, 08:25 am
@Sasuke-153: guys a BIG BOOT at the back is not what we’re missing, zane for all his faults has kicked us into good field position especially against Aus.
Francois is not in the caliber of dagg, jane, beale, foden, andre taylor @ 15, he doesn’t have the pace to be that lethal counter-attacking threat.
he is ok @ FB
26 Sep 2012, 08:28 am
@stormersboy-165: do you subscribe to the apparent “consistent belief”?
26 Sep 2012, 08:29 am
@Skeppie-168: nope, I agree with previous – 2 open siders could a revolution. Less T-rex’s, more Raptors
of course bekker would have to be on top form in line outs; and I’d move alberts into lock to keep a strong ball carrier as well
loosies:
flo
brussow
vermeulen
26 Sep 2012, 08:33 am
@RL-169:
How do you know it’s true?
26 Sep 2012, 08:35 am
@Skeppie-164:
I reckon Frans wants to be involved far more than he would at 15.
26 Sep 2012, 08:35 am
@RL-169: Ja he is an obvious candidate if there’s any truth to the assumption.
26 Sep 2012, 08:36 am
@Transformation-170:
I see Frans in the Gavin Hastings mould at fullback, getting up steam and smashing through oncoming traffic, different method to those you mentioned but same effect.Coupled with his big boot, you cannot go wrong and unlike Kirchner, Frans is willing to put his body on the line when that last tackle has to be made.
26 Sep 2012, 08:37 am
@Transformation-171: Not sure, but it fits a few scenarios. Another alternative (and there are others) is that he is just very “Bulls” – minded.
What is your opinion?
26 Sep 2012, 08:38 am
@Skeppie-168: That can work ja. I hope Schalk comes back to his best. I think the Boks missed him this year.
26 Sep 2012, 08:39 am
@RL-169:
if you continue with this behaviour i will be forced to withdraw my support for the lions rugby union.
26 Sep 2012, 08:45 am
i am working very hard on getting you guys into a new anglo-african or euro-afro competition and all you have time for is cheap shots for laughs.
typical problems with the lions, no priorities for the real issues.
@David-173: It was Tacitus who ratted out the deal and besides how do you explain his selection?
i dont need this
26 Sep 2012, 08:49 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-180:
try harder Bakkies, all words and no action is making me mal.
26 Sep 2012, 08:52 am
@Te Rangatira-176:
15 stone of prime scottish beef on the hoooooff.
RIP Bill Mclaren.
26 Sep 2012, 08:52 am
@j59-172: Nah that will compromise our set piece, Alberts is a 1.93cm loosie, making him our lock with essentially two fetchers will weaken our set piece too much.
26 Sep 2012, 08:53 am
@Sasuke-178: I agree, we have missed that bit of mongrel mixed with experience.
26 Sep 2012, 08:55 am
@RL-169:
I see the Lions are donating money to Corrie’s family.
Lets hope the cheque doesn’t bounce.
26 Sep 2012, 08:55 am
@RL-183:
26 Sep 2012, 08:56 am
No lion should come close to a bok jersey…they are supershite. Pretenders. Relegationists. Part timers
26 Sep 2012, 08:58 am
@gunther-187:
its a nice gesture, gunth
besides, they only bounce the ‘preferential’ cheques.
26 Sep 2012, 09:00 am
@RL-181:
HM signed him as one of his players to rebuild the Bulls. I reckon he’s just persisting with his initial idea that Potgieter was a potential Bok. HM seems to believe that in Sadie, JJ and Potgieter he was adding future Boks to the Bulls squad.
26 Sep 2012, 09:03 am
@stormersboy-165: All you need to do is take a look at the players who up and ‘left’ for the Bulls last year……. (I include those still in nappies, the schoolkids, the Baby Boks, 99% of the Craven week teams 2011 and 2012) etc etc.
Did you know that it was Meyer who “suggested” that Dawie Theron include Pollard in the Baby Bok squad at the expense of Zelinga? Now granted Pollard is a massive talent and all that, but can you connect all the other dots?
Vermaak, Potgieter, JJ kaching (Sadie WOULD have been a Bok if he had somehow managed to put together just ONE half decent performance in the S15…..)
What you are saying about Meyer making promises, was even mentioned on the Bulls website by a poster.
Said it from day 1 – the blue illuminati running Bok rugby.
26 Sep 2012, 09:05 am
m @Te Rangatira-176: “smashing through”? hehehe who is he going to smash? francois tactical kicking is not accurate, when he gets it right, fine it gains you mad metres but he is not consistent, ask the sharks.
26 Sep 2012, 09:07 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-190:
it’s a lovely gesture.
I’m quite suprised that he was that hard up.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as
dog food-192:
You have been reading too much Harry Potter Ruckles.
Now go and wash your Hogwarts.
26 Sep 2012, 09:10 am
@stormersboy-177: my opinion is he is either afraid to try new things or comfortable in the “safe” be it gameplan, management and players.
pottie over keegan?
dean greyling?
26 Sep 2012, 09:11 am
@gunther-194:
ja, it is.
he won a few big fights in his day so i am surprised too, i suppose it comes down to what you do with the money once you have it.
26 Sep 2012, 09:12 am
@Transformation-195:
why make a compasiron between pottie and daniel?
neither of them belongs in the bok squad at present.
26 Sep 2012, 09:14 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-192:
anonymous bloogers on the bulls websites are your sauces..?..
good grief…
are you in front of the pc with a glass of wine?
26 Sep 2012, 09:14 am
@gunther-194: Gunther, I stand firm in my view. What you have called my ‘Bulls/Meyer conspiracy fetish’ since June………is now named “The truth”.
That stupendously fuckingthick Potgieter, the woefully out of form Morne & the king of mediocrity Kirchner are all very weak links, in your “stop seeing shadows & conspiracy” argument
26 Sep 2012, 09:15 am
@David-191: ja. vermaak too, he was nowhere near Bok colours at the Lions and as only played about 50min overall for the Bulls and he has been with the Boks since June…
come to the bulls i’ll make you a Bok
26 Sep 2012, 09:16 am
http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2012/sep/25/rfu-premiership-clubs-rugby-tv-deal
http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2012/sep/17/european-rugby-heineken-cup-tv-deal?INTCMP=ILCNETTXT3487
http://www.espnscrum.com/heineken-cup-2012-13/rugby/story/170344.html
http://www.thisissouthwales.co.uk/Regions-offered-share-pound-100m/story-16919991-detail/story.html
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/rugbyunion/article-2204722/English-rugby-clubs-hold-showdown-talks-demand-rethink-European-competition-pay-chasm.html
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/rugbyunion/article-2202903/English-clubs-face-Euro-battle-RFU-launch-probe-152m-TV-deal.html?ito=feeds-newsxml
http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2012/sep/14/rfu-premiership-tv-deal
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/rugby/showdown-in-dublin-for-europes-powerbrokers-207962.html
yourview@sarugby.co.za
we can do this people
26 Sep 2012, 09:17 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-198: Not at this stage Bakkies. I expect that to change dramatically when the Bok starting team is announced
Bakkies, it is up to you fellows to prove those of us who DOUBT; wrong……..
Let’s wait for the team announcement shall we.
26 Sep 2012, 09:18 am
@Transformation-200:
oh please, if anything its been more a case of ‘come to the boks, i’ll make you a bull’.
26 Sep 2012, 09:20 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-202:
and if they win both games convincingly with the players you dont rate
then what…
26 Sep 2012, 09:26 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-201: jeeez boet my eyes are bleeding…..
26 Sep 2012, 09:27 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-202:
nonononono.
it’s up to people who make accusations to prove them.
Unless we are talking about Juju and tax evasion.
26 Sep 2012, 09:31 am
@stormersboy-205:
bleeding with excitement?
26 Sep 2012, 09:34 am
@stormersboy-205:
He’s worse than grantie.
26 Sep 2012, 09:36 am
English ‘can stand on own’ if other nations resist rugby TV deal
Premiership Rugby is adamant that English clubs will pull out of the Heineken Cup at the end of next season if their demands for change are not met and that they will be financially better off if they do so because of the £152m TV deal announced with BT Vision last week.
The six nations in the Heineken Cup meet in Dublin on Tuesday to discuss the future of a tournament that finds itself used as a political football every time a participation agreement nears the end of its life: the English clubs have pulled out of the tournament once and threatened to do so on two other occasions.
http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/rugby/rugby-union/club-rugby/english-can-stand-on-own-if-other-nations-resist-rugby-tv-deal-8145142.html
26 Sep 2012, 09:39 am
“We know it will get feisty on Tuesday,” said the Premiership Rugby chief executive, Mark McCafferty, “but people will get the opportunity to look closely at what is available. The deal we have signed with BT will stand whether the Heineken Cup remains or not and all our clubs will be 50% better off. We want to share with Europe, but we need change.”
The English and French clubs believe their combined worth to the Heineken Cup television contract is more than 80% but their clubs receive about a quarter of the money enjoyed by the Irish provinces. By getting each union to negotiate its own television deal, Premiership Rugby and the Top 14 hope to show who brings what to the collective pot, strengthening their argument for a greater share of the money and more of a say in how the tournament is run, which is why ERC has spent the past few days trying to get the Rugby Football Union to rein in its clubs in what is the biggest power battle yet in Europe.
26 Sep 2012, 09:40 am
@gunther-206: Potgieter, Morne, Kirchner, JJ, Vermaak, MEISEKIND vs England, Greyling, Kruger (anyone I’ve left out?). Not sure what one would call that…..proof?
26 Sep 2012, 09:41 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-207: Nope. On the contrary……
26 Sep 2012, 09:47 am
@stormersboy-212:
fair enough, but there’s a lot of really interesting stuff going on here and which could help our game immensely.
there are a lot of similarities in regard to sa rugby’s relationship with sanzar.
peter tom: “”There’s a lot of tribalism involved: in part, it’s the tribal aspect that gives rugby its special magic, but we can’t allow it to get in the way of cool-headed, sensible commercial decision-making. We have to understand that in this digital age, a lot of people – certainly a big proportion of people under 30 – watch their sport in new ways.”
26 Sep 2012, 09:56 am
213…aint that the truth.
Personally i would be very interested in seeing an anglo vs sa sort tournament.
Maybe that is the way the deat the antipodeanbaarbibrothers.
Devide and conquer.
Albeit, i would say that within a year ozzie o,neill would drop the kiwis like a hot potato and be trying to get the ozzie franchises on board.
Like i say…devide and conquer
26 Sep 2012, 10:07 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-214: The threat of going North is an attractive potentially bargaining chip to use with the antipodeans, but there are some problems with the idea, however much the idea appeals initially.
Firstly, the standard is at it’s highest against Aus and NZ, and if we want to stay consistently top 3 and challenge for no 1 on a regular basis then this is the place to be.
Secondly, we would come in as a major junior partner financially speaking if we teamed up with the old empire. So no improvement in bargaining power there.
The clincher is that we’ve bluffed before and they’ve called us on it and we’ve looked like idiots (not hard I know). They wouldn’t believe us if we used the threat, we have to be willing to do it and for reasons listed above I don’t think it’s a good idea,
Finally I don’t totally buy into this perception that we are somehow being shafted. Just because multi-choice pay most of the revenue doesn’t mean SARU gets to have any more say. 1/3 of the vote, that’s the spirit of a partnership.
Similarly the revenues are split in the ratio that it is earned (read earned, not paid). i don’t see an issue with that quite frankly.
The problem is not with the other 2 unions, but with SARU needing to harden up and play like big boys if they are to be taken seriously. If we go up North the same thing will happen for the same reasons.
26 Sep 2012, 10:08 am
Brig you might even win up north more than you lose, that would be a nice change for you
26 Sep 2012, 10:09 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-214:
i couldn’t agree more.
i think there would be a lot of interest in a anglo-sa tournament simply for its own merits, let alone for reasons to do with the unfairness and unprofessionalism of the anzac alliance comp.
more by peter tom (leicester chairman):
“We’re not going over there for a fist fight: we think we have something very attractive to offer. But when you’re trying to change something for the better, you have to accept there might be a scenario in which you find yourselves on your own. There is enough value in what we’ve negotiated with BT Vision to allow us to stand on our own for as long as we need to do so. I don’t think that will happen, mind you.”
26 Sep 2012, 10:09 am
3 titles from 17 seasons really says you cant cut it with the big boys, run along then.
26 Sep 2012, 10:15 am
@corporal punishment-117:
I totally share your sentiments. Out of all 4 southern nations we’re the only bunch that treats the bok 10 jersey like a staple underpant- whether skid marked, sweaty nut sack funked, torn…makes no difference, we still wear it!
I reckon about 5 flyhalves in the last decade have racked up bok caps they didn’t deserve. Think koen, van straaten, hougat, de beer, even percy @10. Each blessed with what is known as the holy grail in SA- a big boot but fokoll else. Meanwhile russel, pretorious, jaco and butch have all been thoroughly under utilized. Clearly HM doesn’t want to learn from Mallet, relying on 1 flyhalf. Had there been depth in ’99 to cover and manage Honiball, we would have won.
Wake up fool and pay homage!!
But let’s face it, in this case the rot is the HM plot, not just 1 player.
26 Sep 2012, 10:20 am
@stormersboy-215:
disagree on the financial aspect of us being a junior partner. why would we be?
26 Sep 2012, 10:22 am
Oh dear Bakkies you want to call the shots up north as well, news flash you don’t dominate world rugby.
26 Sep 2012, 10:24 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-220: I’m pretty sure the numbers that the UK networks would generate would be higher.
or am I wrong?
26 Sep 2012, 10:27 am
@NZINCHINA-221:
dont be an idiot china, he’s suggesting the broadcasting amount supersort has paid for super rugby and cc seperately are too little for us to have a meaningful say, yet added together this is a significant amount of money in us dollars.
also, sa has consistenly had the highest number of spectator support for the history of the competition.
26 Sep 2012, 10:30 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-201: Bakkies my Lions may even face Bakkies and his frog mates.
26 Sep 2012, 10:32 am
you should play amongst yourselves you’d always win and you’d get to keep all the money
26 Sep 2012, 10:34 am
@stormersboy-222:
be more specific, i dont understand?
do you mean numbers to the broadcasters in terms of profits derived? and do you mean because they’re making more money they would ‘offer’ to pay more for the product? how so?
you know well that rugby is multichoice/dstv’s cash cow and the only way in which they can charge their biggest subscriber base a premium for its product. the amount of money they are making out of it gives them some serious clout imo, and further if you consider the amounts they are paying for broadcasting rights to super rugby/4n and the cc together in us dollars i would think thet could compete equally with the english?
which is supposed to be the point isn’t it? a partnership of equals all standing to gain more or less equally from their association. something which quite clearly and patently does not exist in our relationship with the anzacs.
we are not equals, not at all.
26 Sep 2012, 10:36 am
@RL-224:
icing boet, icing…
26 Sep 2012, 10:38 am
saru has an obligation to make this work at the very least for the lions but there is potential here for a few of the cc unions too.
to me this is a win-win possibility.
26 Sep 2012, 10:42 am
Best thing for super rugby is 3 top teams of SA play super 12 (Sharks,Bulls,Stormers) worst 3 play up north( lions, Cheetahs, Kings)
26 Sep 2012, 10:43 am
Johan van Graans interview on supersports blitz:
Asked on the progress the boks are making he replied:
“I think the forwards worked hard…”
“I think a few combinations settled well…”
“I think the loose forward uh (pause)…”
“I think uhh (pause) the locks…”
“I think the front row…”
“I think uh…”
“I think our ball retention…”
“I think our contesting…”
Wow!! A total of 8 thoughts, maybe more. A journalist then overheard him ask for panado soon afterwards.
He should go to barcelona.., they’re far more inclined and knowledgeable there. Not to mention observant. I mean Cape Malay chicks are hot
Hey we could have champs in both competitions
SL leaving Sanzar is the gutless route hence Bakkies being its biggest cheerleader, funny when the Bulls were winning not a peep.
26 Sep 2012, 10:44 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-226:
Weren’t the domestic competitions like the CC excluded from the shared SANZAR pot during the S15 negotiations?
26 Sep 2012, 10:45 am
Why the hell is Adriann Strauss starting when there is a guy like Schalk Brits tearing up the opposition in the Aviva Premiership?
26 Sep 2012, 10:45 am
@fishdish-230: Van Graan is useless, whole of SA knows he is only there because of his Daddy!
26 Sep 2012, 10:47 am
@wandsworth_bok-234: Schalk is too flashy or out-of-the-box for some.
We are the only major rugby playing country that does not embrace players with the X-factor.
26 Sep 2012, 10:48 am
@NZINCHINA-232: Saru is the problem, Lions not being in Super rugby is not the fault of Sanzar
26 Sep 2012, 10:48 am
@sharks_lover-229:
three teams in a super12..? so 9 from anzac?
it could be the 3 worst performing super teams as well as a cc unions?
26 Sep 2012, 10:49 am
@sharks_lover-237: Hey fella hope you are well. Agreed 100% we are blaming the wrong crowd.
26 Sep 2012, 10:50 am
@wandsworth_bok-234: Because it is
Aviva….worth fackall
26 Sep 2012, 10:51 am
@David-233:
yes, they were which makes it more the point exactly when you consider this is money supersport paid to saru for the broadcast rights to cc. when you add it to the money they paid to news limited/news corp for the super rugby/4n rights it adds up to a significant amount in us dollars which they could be paying elsewhere?
26 Sep 2012, 10:52 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-238:
who could go north for the anglo-sa comp.
26 Sep 2012, 10:52 am
@stormersboy-239: hiyas bro, good and you???
26 Sep 2012, 10:53 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-242: Ok Bakkies so we all run North?? and if we are kak there who we gonna blame?? or we gonna run to the *** league???
26 Sep 2012, 10:53 am
SL SARU are to blame nobody else they should negotiate what you are worth, the naughty ANZACS are currently just better at it.
26 Sep 2012, 10:54 am
@NZINCHINA-232:
South Africa is not going anywhere and will not leave Sanzar.
Bakkies is just a blogger on Keo- he has no power, following or influence anywhere where it counts.
Sorry Bakkies
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-226: You see there I think, with respect you are being inconsistent in your argument.
You speak of the broadcaster paying more for rights, which is true, due of course to the fact that they have more viewers watching, so that makes commercial sense.
How do you extrapolate that to SARU being the senior partner or having more say? The two are separate. The revenue is generated by the players, 5 teams from each country. Equally since the competition relies on all of the countries participating.
So there is a clear distinction between who earns the revenue (The 3 unions) and who pays for the revenue (Multi-choice being the majority). The revenue is split between the earners equally.
*** = japan
26 Sep 2012, 10:55 am
@Robzim-246:
ur not really sorry Rob dont lie
26 Sep 2012, 10:57 am
@NZINCHINA-245:
@fishdish-230: And that’s all he says? Damn, I would love Supersport to pull him and the Messiah in to face a panel of Mallet, Campo and Mitchell
DSTV could put that on Box Office, and I would happily pay R25-00 to watch it over and over for 48 hours
Rob I appreciate that its fun chatting with him, if you did leave your rugby is finished in terms of being able to compete with us though.
26 Sep 2012, 10:58 am
@sharks_lover-244:
this is about more than just winning or losing the rugby itself, you know that.
sa has ben screwed over by the anzacs (mostly kiwis) since the inception of this unholy alliance with them.
its about a lot of things, fairness being one of them.
and i can pretty much guarantee you we wont be paying some dooses for the privilege of screwwing us filthily on the rugby pitch and off.
which is what we are doing at present. and i ask you, why..?.. why the fark, why..?.
215….i do not buy into the fact that the heineken cup is defacto of a lesser standard. Some of the supergames this year are superkak.
Likewise, being a junior partner but earning more money with a better travel route is still better than being a junior partner with kak money and kak travel. You,ve seen the away tours for next season.at least 4 weeks compared with the antipodean 3.
@sharks_lover-249:
OK, … it’s a (crude) attempt by me to be diplomatic
26 Sep 2012, 11:00 am
Grow a pair mate, negotiate what you’re worth then.
@sharks_lover-243: Lekker man.
So with the run on team only having 2 Bulls , we can now say that all the critics on HM being Bull biast , is now history ?
And that Vermeulen has no more excuses, to run 5m, make 4 takcles with 2 knocks and two steals ?
@Robzim-246:
just had an email exchange with altman.
26 Sep 2012, 11:02 am
@NZINCHINA-252: If the SARUdumfucks even entertain such a thought, there will be massive protest. It would be the end of Bok rugby. I would hope that the ‘smarter’ unions in SA would vote against any such fuckingrubbish.
If the Stormers even toyed with the idea, I would launch a Baghdad shock and awe type campaign on the WPRFU.
We are already behind both NZ and Aussie, ifuckingmagine just how far back we would slide if we moved up north?
Next stop: 8 on the IRB World rankings…..(with Argentina happily taking charge of the No 3 position)
26 Sep 2012, 11:03 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-259: was he the one teeling you that the Kings won’t be playing Super Rugby?
@capebull-258: Bud there can be zero Bulls in the team and some on here will still kak themselves.
@capebull-258: Ok, you don’t like Duane – we get it.
26 Sep 2012, 11:04 am
And the general kiwi attitude to us is even more reason to leave.
Why stay were we are seemingly not wanted anyway?
Could it be because they like our money?
Parasites.
26 Sep 2012, 11:04 am
@Transformation-261: Correction…..they will be there but I doubt wether they will be playing. Will more than like be ruining the grass behind the posts.
26 Sep 2012, 11:06 am
Pedigree agreed the rugby up north is substandard, your rugby would suffer, the northerners have played aprox 100 tests in NZ and won 10.
26 Sep 2012, 11:10 am
@capebull-258: duane made 22 metres with the ball from 5 runs = 4.4 m/run…alberts made 23 metres from 7 runs = 3.4 m/run, flo made 21 metres from 7 runs = 3 m/run.
#jussaying
26 Sep 2012, 11:12 am
Brig we love you and your money, please don’t go.
26 Sep 2012, 11:14 am
@stormersboy-247:
which is precisely the reason for the english pulling out of the heineken cup isn’t it?
knowing who generates the majority of the revenue derived to news limited and thus to sanzar we should have a larger share of the profits or revenues derived from sanzar, which we dont (at least not a big enough share).
as well the fact that the qualification system was/is biased against english clubs being another sticking point, now tell me this is not the case for the sa teams?
add in to this the travel schedule and refereeing/law givers manipulations and there is a compelling case.
26 Sep 2012, 11:15 am
@Transformation-261:
26 Sep 2012, 11:16 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-253: If SARU can’t handle negotiating with NZ (we play well on the field but not in the boardroom) and Australia, who talk a lot but don’t really have any chips to play with (sorry, i’m mixing metaphors here) then how will they deal with the English clubs?
But don’t worry mate, if in two years you get sick of complaining about the devious English, too much travel up north, and cheating kiwi imports, we’ll welcome you back with open arms
26 Sep 2012, 11:17 am
Run along then Bakkies with your tail between your legs, you’ll be rich but ranked 7th or 8th in the world within a few seasons.
26 Sep 2012, 11:20 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-254:
its stupid really.
at present we are the major financial contributor but the farking junior nobody partner taking it up the arse by the two kissing cousins..?.. huh…?..
not only do we suffer a sshitty travel schedule and less money earned to the teams than should be we are the farking major payers for the whole farking thing and since its in(farking)ception have been the only ones watching it in any meaningfull numbers.
unlike the kiwis who were just recently caught out for having lied about their ‘growing’ viewership numbers.
26 Sep 2012, 11:20 am
Brumbies sign South African giant Oosthuizen
Sapa-AFP | 26 September, 2012 10:170 Comments
Australia’s ACT Brumbies said on Wednesday they have signed towering South African lock Etienne Oosthuizen as their foreign development player for the next two years.
Oosthuizen, 19, was capped three times for the Golden Lions in 2012 and turned out at schoolboy level for the Springboks. Though young, he is powerful on the park, packing a hefty 120 kilograms (264 pounds) into his 1.98 metre frame.
He will take the Brumbies’ foreign development spot, vacated by Fijian winger Henry Speight who will be considered an Australian player from 2013.
Under current rules the Brumbies are allowed one developing foreign player, who must never have represented their home country at first-grade level and are prepared to one day play for Australia.
Oosthuizen said he was sad to leave Johannesburg but would relish the chance to train under Jake White and Laurie Fisher.
“As a South African, I realised the chance to move to Australia and join one of the world’s best rugby programs was a once in a lifetime opportunity,” said Oosthuizen.
“I’ve followed the Brumbies’ development this year and they were one of my favourite teams to watch. I know I can add to their style and look forward to the coaching staff improving my own game at the same time.”
Despite dominating the Australian conference for much of the Super 15 season, the Brumbies fell short at the final hurdle, losing to the lower-ranked Auckland Blues in the last round and missing out on the playoffs.
White has already lured injured Wallabies captain David Pocock to the Brumbies for 2013, along with former Australia winger Clyde Rathbone who is eyeing a comeback after chronic injuries saw him retire in 2009.
26 Sep 2012, 11:21 am
@Transformation-261:
some serious backstabbing at the last minute that went on there, transie.
26 Sep 2012, 11:21 am
272….
And you,ll be no.1 but playing front of two sets of coaching staff and a bloke with his dog.
No wait…it is almost like that already, hence the need for Sa,innit.
26 Sep 2012, 11:23 am
@gonzo-271:
the english are pulling out for exactly the same reason we are.
why would be repeat the same behaviour against one another?
this would be an alliance of equals more so that the alliance with you.
26 Sep 2012, 11:23 am
@Transformation-267: So there improvement, he was basically absent so far , he must run 104m, 14 tackles as a number 8. We were promissed so much more by all the bloggers on this site, so far not much delivered.
26 Sep 2012, 11:24 am
A lot of you Jaaps above sound like VICTIMS.
You are bitter because you regularly lose to NZ and Aus at rugby. Because of this you look for conspiracy theories……..must be the refs, they hate SA, must be the kissing cousins ganging up on us, must be the evil IRB. Pathetic , man! Grow up.
The real reason is that the unbelievably conservative culture dominating SA society has led to the development of an old fashioned, easy to read game that is some way behind where NZ and Aus are at. Because SA rugby is dominated by Afrikaner culture, this will not change. When SA teams start losing they become even more conservative and stubborn, desperately clinging to old fashioned methods. It as simple as that and bad management by SARFU vs Australasian efficiency.
26 Sep 2012, 11:24 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-259: Bakkies Altman is a doos! S.crewed Guma sideways with the help of his his agent Reyneke, cause he lost out to BBEEE. In the end he got shafted hard.
26 Sep 2012, 11:25 am
WHY WHY WHY is Kirchner still in the starting 15.
Lambie is a much better option HM.
That said, looks like a solid pack with Coenie in there, and Eben and Andries back.
Beast,Adriaan,Coenie,Eben,Andries,Flo,Willem,Duane – Thats a pretty big pack.
Lets hope we can roll them hard, and give Goosen fast flat ball to work with.
26 Sep 2012, 11:27 am
Cool, so you will not mind if we fokof then.
@gonzo-271:
besides, its really simple at present isn’t it.
sanzar is an alliance of three partners each with an equal vote but low and behold we know how the two australasian partners have voted for the entire history of the farking alliance.
which is what drove saru to threaten pulling out if there wasn’t meaningful agreement to some of its proposals in the run up to the last deal made.
funny how quickly you came round to agreeing to some of those and went against voting as a block once you realised your paymaster was at risk.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-263: Not really, but so far he has not set the world on fire , Yes and I know you said he ‘s only 25% fit , but by now he should be 60% fit , so we can expect a lot more from Vermeulen.
The highlights in his hair so far, over shaddows the highlights of his play.
26 Sep 2012, 11:28 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-276: Don’t include folk such as I in your ‘quest’. I hatefuckingmediocrity!!!!!!! You on the other hand seem to relish and embrace it, seeing it as some sort of sick up yours to the Aussies and Kiwis?
And your attitude Meneer, is exactly where Bok rugby’s CURRENT problems start.
“As long as Heyneke is running the show and selecting Bulls, and stamping a cultureofconservativekuk on the Boks you’re HAPPY with being 8th in the world”
2 Sets of coaching staff, a bloke and his dog would suit me fine, if the Boks were No 1, because after all, that is why rugby is played isn’t it – to win?
279….and just for the record, south african sides dominate thenplayoffs and have for the past 4 odd years or so.
@Delki-279: There is an element of truth in this racist post.
26 Sep 2012, 11:29 am
@RL-280:
better the doos you know, RL…. better the doos you know…
26 Sep 2012, 11:30 am
Transformation #274 – Jake White is an amazing character and coach. He i sbuilding a helluva legacy up at the Brumbies.
That is one big athlete i wish him all the best!
26 Sep 2012, 11:31 am
@capebull-284: I suggest you watch the Dunedin game again. If you don’t think he pulled his weight (even though he was 60% match fit then), then I fear nothing he does will make any impact on you. A loos trio can only dominate the way ours did, if all 3 loosies are rocking on in equal measure…..
You don’t have to like him,or rate him for that matter but by defauly you can admit he is not half as kak as what you were HOPING
How’s Spies’s finger?
26 Sep 2012, 11:32 am
If SA had to walk from SANZAR the Australasian game would suffer for a while financially but it wouldn’t take long for the clever ARU and NZRFU to come up with alternative funding models. Australasians are clever and creative.
Provincial rugby would become trans-tasman and would gain quite a large following and commercial interest. Regional rugby would include a professional team based in Japan, probably stacked with PI players and a few Japanese. There would also be more interaction with Europe and some kind of lesser interaction with SA.
Bring it on Jaapies!
26 Sep 2012, 11:34 am
@Jake_White-281: Hey ou , we need quotas , transformation, Af Action, so don’t blame HM for that.
26 Sep 2012, 11:34 am
@Delki-291: You sem to like calling people names, 6 about right when judging you age”??
26 Sep 2012, 11:35 am
@Jake_White-281: Andries has been useless the whole season. He was part of the reason our game turned south last week. I’ll stick to Flip on this one. He also gives us some extra scrumming power as Parkiepiel is useless in that department. The rest looks solid.
26 Sep 2012, 11:35 am
@Jake_White-281: as soon as we get confirmation that Morne is finished we will target Kircher – be patient my guppy mate.
26 Sep 2012, 11:36 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-290: I hatefuckingmediocrity!!!!!!! , yet you are happy with Vermeulen , 2 knocks in 1 game ??
26 Sep 2012, 11:37 am
Brigadier Van Zyl – SA’s biggest problem in the S15 etc is that they play their top players into the ground every year when they should be pencilling in appropriate rest bites.
I think that is a general problem in SA. They find a great player and then stick with him til kingdom come instead of finding decent backups like the ABs/OZ do. Then you would have players playing for positions.
But in SA we don’t have that we get our 22 and stick with them no matter what and when there are injuries, problems!!!
SA mindset has always mistrusted the unknown, they feel more confortable in what they know instead of looking outisde the box, HM being the classic case.
@Delki-279:
Don’t agree that it’s a cultural thing, the Aussies have been as poor as the Boks in the Rugby Championship, coached by a Kiwi nogal.
A certain mind set/mind shift is required to play and perform at the level of the current benchmark which is the AB’s.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-290: No you are wrong loosies can only dominate if T5 do their work.
26 Sep 2012, 11:38 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-275: tl tl tl “backstabbing” you say? HAHAHAHAHAHA
@Brigadier Van Zyl-282: The Bulls can fokkof with pleasure. Then both the Lions and Kings can play S15, along with the Cheetahs, Stormers and Sharks.
Good luck and enjoy your tournament.
‘I love Bakkies and the Wailers’ – a rugby reggae band, Menlyn Park style.
Stopfuckingwhinging.
@293 Sharks Lover
Sorry for my admitted childishness. Now read my post again on the culture problem SA rugby faces and tell me there is not a lot of truth in it??
26 Sep 2012, 11:39 am
285…..well, i will assume you would be the bloke with his dog then. Completely happy all by yourself.
26 Sep 2012, 11:39 am
Hawies Fourie is also Afrikaner yet teams under his watch has always performed with enough doses of flair and constructive back play.
26 Sep 2012, 11:40 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-290: So we can expect Vermeulen 100% fit , we will wait and see…
26 Sep 2012, 11:41 am
its all fun and games until someone bites and eye-gouges , feel sorry for my trans tasman mates for having to play this game at the field where clean rugby is anathemized . university of eye-gouging , akuzuqhawuka nobathana ngoku koqhawuka ilihlo andazi kushiyeka ntoni ke xa kunjalo .la manene azokhe achophe ayichaze
26 Sep 2012, 11:41 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-301: Dog fopod if you kick the Bulls out of competitions , who do you think will win anything , 2002 ??
26 Sep 2012, 11:42 am
@304 wpstormerbok not all Afrikaners are conservative and incredibly stubborn. Some are the opposite. But as a cultural trait (generalisation) it is certainly true. Very noticable and a major reason why SA rugby is struggling. In my opinion THE MAJOR reason.
26 Sep 2012, 11:42 am
@wpstormerbok-304: Yes.
He is an example of an enlightened Afrikaner.
26 Sep 2012, 11:43 am
Out of all ‘Australasian’ teams it’s only the NZ Rugby model that’s on level with the SA system but currently outperforming us in the boardroom and playing field.
Australia doesn’t even have a decent feeder system.
26 Sep 2012, 11:43 am
@Transformation-300:
yes, backstabbing
26 Sep 2012, 11:44 am
@capebull-299: For a loose trio to be effective on the ground, in defence and at collisions, EACH loosie needs to KNOW his role, and perform it effectively in order for the other 2 to do theirs.
Add the word “Balanced” to this and what you get is: a helluva effective back 3.
(The fatties and biggies define the effectiveness of the other 10 players, not just the loose trio……yet I have seen a few loose trios peform damn well even when their fatties are moving backwards….and NO, Spies has never been in one of those loose trios who manage to perform moving backwards….)
Our trio in Dunedin were good Meneer. They were very good. Spies won’t mind if you admit it.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-301:
careful what you wish my dear
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-301: Lions and Kings…..fokkit you cant be serious?
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-301:
You seem quite agitated today Ruckles.
Whassup?
26 Sep 2012, 11:45 am
Delki – I agree with your culture post. Which is why the Boks have only really flourished under english coaches ie Christie, Mallet and J White.
After re admission in 92 the Boks have done terribly under afrikaans coaches becuase of their conservative nature.
I hope i don’t sound rude because the players are mostly afrikaans!!
HM is the one afrikaans coach that should be able to change that trend but he has to show a different hand now not later!!!
26 Sep 2012, 11:45 am
@nkqo6-306:
you clearly know nothing about kiwi rugby.
26 Sep 2012, 11:46 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-314:
and she’ll even call it a super competition…
26 Sep 2012, 11:46 am
@capebull-307: On this site at least, it seems as though it’s the Bulls fans who are MOST eager to fuckkof.
In fact, the Brigadier doesn’t mind if the Boks are ranked 8th in the world – as long he gets to say a “fuckyou” to NZ and Australia by heading north…..
Pffffffffffffft.
26 Sep 2012, 11:47 am
@Delki-308:
If you narrowed it down to say “Afrikaners, supporting the Bulls, in Pretoria are…” then maybe you’d be on to something.
26 Sep 2012, 11:47 am
@Delki-308: 5 WC played…Won 2….40%….Ja we must be really kak.
26 Sep 2012, 11:48 am
@nkqo6-306: can’t understand, can someone translate on a soccer blog.
26 Sep 2012, 11:48 am
@wpstormerbok-304: it’s got nothing to do with being afrikaner…carel is afrikaner but he abhors stampkar
26 Sep 2012, 11:49 am
314…lol, when you read a comment like that there is no need to die wondering why wp cant win a trophy.
And this oke calls the bulls conservative.
Lol
26 Sep 2012, 11:50 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-317: and you the master of headbutting =D
26 Sep 2012, 11:52 am
@321 Kwagga you have done well at World Cups, no question. Somewhat lucky circumstances in 1995 and 2007 but hats off, SA stood up and performed when it counted.
BUT………..and its a huge BUT…………….. the Boks win-loss ratio against NZ and Aus is now VERY POOR and the angst among most fans is apparent on this site.
@bokgat1-322: inoba ucinga irugby yeyenu , Mzansi is not only english and afrikaans baas
320….and yet we win significantly more than any other union or cultural group?
Lol
Dude, i dont need to wait for the boks to be ranked 8th before telling the antipodeans to foff.
I can do it right now…..foff.
26 Sep 2012, 11:53 am
@nkqo6-325:
kiwi rugby is as filthy as it comes.
26 Sep 2012, 11:54 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-277: But it won’t be equal. I don’t have the stats but I would guess the English market is bigger and richer by far. And they certainly have better negotiating skills. They do have their club vs country issues but it is nothing compared to the circus in SA.
I get the feeling you are frustrated by SA’s poor performance over the years and want something else to feel good about. Not many fans would give up quality rugby for the sake of more money for their union. I’d be pissed if the Blues quit super rugby to play in Japan
26 Sep 2012, 11:54 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-312: Spies did not play against AB’s , so let’s discuss Vermeulen he was on the field , hopefully he will justify your blind faith in him Saturday. So far he did not do much, to support your view.
26 Sep 2012, 11:56 am
The Afrikaner culture thing severely SHACKLING SA rugby is not a popular theory because it seems politically incorrect.
But to an outsider who knows quite a bit about SA rugby and culture it is BLEEDING OBVIOUS and frustratingly for you guys probably will never change.
What was a strength under the old rules has become a terrible weakness.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-329: unfortunately my english is very limited , i cant think of a word stronger than filthy to describe the ‘japies’
@Transformation-323: Its schoolyard Bull mentality. Ek gaan jou doodmaak tot jy dood is **proud smiley face** (while I roll eyes)
@Brigadier Van Zyl-324: Tell us again why you would be happy being 8th on the IRB rankings? No shock that Kiwis and Aussies find it so easy to outsmart, outwit and outfuckingthink us……
26 Sep 2012, 11:57 am
@wpstormerbok-304: @willievz-309: Hawies on Rhule & Goosen
Fourie said another great attribute is that he remains calm, communicates well and is not scared to try anything.
“He has everything you need from a wing … including pace in abundance and great feet.”
Asked about the great talent, like Goosen and Rhule, coming through at the Cheetahs, Fourie said it is important to give guys like that the room to express themselves.
“You can so easily put them in a box and say you can only do this or that,” he said, adding: “That may be the safer option, because every now and then they will make mistakes.
“However, the great things they do far outweigh the occasional mistake that sneaks in.
“It is important to give them a green card to do what they feel, at that moment, is on and play what they see in front of them – that is when they are at their best.”
Rhule, a Ghanaian-born player, has come through the systems at the Cheetahs – playing for them at Under-18 (2010), Under-19 (2011) , Varsity Cup Young Guns (Shimlas 2012) and Cheetahs Under-21 (2012).
26 Sep 2012, 11:57 am
330…dude, we are in the same boat. You suport the Blues….you must also be unimpressed with your sides continued poor performance.
26 Sep 2012, 11:58 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-328:
Tongue firmly in cheek when I said that.
I support WP, the papsak drinking, snoek eating, AB wannabe’s in case you needed a comeback.
26 Sep 2012, 11:58 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-324: You okes are conservative because you don’t want to change or adapt to modern circumstances.
You think that what worked for you 3 years ago (and which worked very well, I might add) will necessarily work at present.
Times (and laws) have changed, and the opposition is intellectually better equipped to deal with the Boks’ gameplan.
Should WP necessarily employ the same gameplan they played in the mid-80s because it brought them 5 consecutive CC titles?
26 Sep 2012, 11:59 am
boks must have no chance of winning another competition..
hence all the p.ussies start calling to go north..
softc.ocks cant handle the heat, best you take your ball and run away
26 Sep 2012, 12:00 pm
@Transformation-335: Our very own Wayne Smith!
It’s guys like him that makes me proud to be an enlightened Afrikaner!
335…you love knitpicking comments that you agree with.
Ask hawies why they are last on the log….because he allows his players to express themselvestomuch maybe? Because they have no coherent play other than sommer. ?.give the ball to the wing?
@Transformation-335:
If only that could be the environment players experienced in the Bok camp.
Same principle applied to the Baby Boks earlier this year, as soon as the shackles came off the boys started to play.
26 Sep 2012, 12:01 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-341: Pot…kettle…
Weren’t you last on the log before last weekend?
26 Sep 2012, 12:01 pm
Oops correction.
Give it to the wing 1 time. That was the time rhule passed.
26 Sep 2012, 12:02 pm
@Delki-326: Delki when looking teams one generally tend to look at trophies won rather than win loss ratios. But yes I agree that for the few bloggers on here that actually knows rugby it is a bitter pill.
What makes me de moer in though is that this is all now being put squarely on HM by some. Yes the guy is not performing and he is rightly so under serious pressure but when talking ratios we need to take into account the clowns before him as well.
26 Sep 2012, 12:02 pm
@capebull-331: Spies has NEVER PLAYED against the AB’s…..although he has been on the field with them about 18 times. Until he has actually made physical contact with an AB player, he remains uncapped against NZ.
As I have said before, you’re welcome to your opinion on Duane’s performance in Dunedin, and on the man in general. Pierre would be soooperproud of you and his cheerleaders.
26 Sep 2012, 12:03 pm
I dont think you are enlighted…i think you are a braindeadhalf wit.
But that is just my opinion.
26 Sep 2012, 12:06 pm
343…yes we were and i have acknowleged that our cc side is kak for any number of valid or not reasons.
But i would still prefer a side with a coherent stratergy that sommer…..just give the ball to rhule mentality.
@Brigadier Van Zyl-341: hehehe why were the bulls last before last weekend whe you okes seemingly play to a “safe” pattern?
@poppa69-339: The Bulls would be free to leave (as it’s their girls who seem to want it most). I doubt anyone would try and stop them from going.
@Brigadier Van Zyl-336: Again I don’t have the TV stats by region but you are right, i would hazard a guess that Blues territory makes up a big big chunk of viewership. We could take our ball and play elsewhere, why not Japan and make more money and win every game. Then I could brag about how my union is richer than Waikato. But what would that get me?
26 Sep 2012, 12:08 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-347:
I won’t tumble down to your level and call my fellow bloggers any names, that is impolite.
26 Sep 2012, 12:08 pm
331…what bias kak. Spies has had plenty good performances against the kiwis and one man of the match cheque as well.
26 Sep 2012, 12:09 pm
Nerves screwed here waiting for Bok team announcement…..
Can Meyer cross the Rubicon?
Praying here….
26 Sep 2012, 12:09 pm
Why not…everyone does it around here.
26 Sep 2012, 12:10 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-319: I did not follow that thread , the same as I ignore, race and politics, that some many bloggers are so fond of.
Let’s talk rugby …
Thats why I am serious , Vermeulen has not delevered yet, If he does and we win AB’s and Auz , I will be glad to admit my mistake. Cause I want the Bokke to win and if he is the right player.
26 Sep 2012, 12:10 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-350: I am cheering for Morne to kick you guys to victory this weekend..
seriously.
26 Sep 2012, 12:11 pm
@grant10-354:
What time is the announcement?
26 Sep 2012, 12:11 pm
@poppa69-357: Hehe, only because you want him to start at Soccer City
Clever
26 Sep 2012, 12:12 pm
@grant10-354: MSteyn at 10
26 Sep 2012, 12:12 pm
@Transformation-360: @grant10-354:
Morne will be in the 22. And Zane at 15.
So no, Meyer will not cross the Rubicon.
26 Sep 2012, 12:13 pm
@John Galt-358:
Supposed to be at 12.00
26 Sep 2012, 12:14 pm
@Delki-332: what a load of ****…
@nkqo6-306:
….. and no spelling error is detected!
That’s commendable
iyingxaki ke lento yale midlalo idlala ebusuku umntu sefuna uyometsha , caba ndizogqibela nge ITM cup qha na madoda.kube zezi kaka zalapha zitshinca kakhulu
26 Sep 2012, 12:15 pm
@gonzo-330:
disagree.
the question is whether supersport has the money to offer for rights in mutlichoice/dstv territories, which it does. they have been able to pay considerable sums in us dollars to saru for the cc in sa and to news limited for super rugby/4n.
besides, any sharing of a pir would be in pounds and when exchanged to rands clearly is/would be immense amouts of money for the running operating of clubs in sa.
no, i do not like the deceit and manipulation of the kiwis and the clear unfairness of the competition so far with regard to how you have cheated us on and off the field around the way you play the game against us (dirt) and then get away with it through your refs/commisioners/judicial officers.
this is not quality rugby, it is a farce betwenn people who do not like one another or what they have to offer.
@grant10-354:
To be honest an SA side even with M Steyn in it should be beating this Ausie side by at least 10 -15 points.
They are without Cooper, OConner, Genia, Horwill, Moore. I mean, those 5 right there were the reason Ausies were so competitive last year.
They’re less than half the side without those players. And I’m not knocking the rest of the Aus side, its just that those 5 are that important to the Aus cause.
@Hondo-364: Hondo, who is the ref and touch judges for the weekend’s clash?
@John Galt-358: 12 30….live on supersport bitz
26 Sep 2012, 12:17 pm
@willievz-361: who needs enemies when you’ve got friends like brig van zyl who openly wished for meyer to play goosen and the for the Boks to lose so that he may somehow be childishly ‘vindicated’
@nkqo6-333:
the kiwis are filthiest of the lot.
‘head high’ tackle… need i say more…
@John Galt-367: Yes…..
but M Steyn will just do the same and even though we may win….we still lose…because we stuck in the mediocrity quagmire…..
We will know in next few minutes…..
lets see …
@Hondo-364: haha injalo tata , kuvele kuphixane intloko sisingesi
26 Sep 2012, 12:18 pm
tension hectic here man
26 Sep 2012, 12:19 pm
the Supersport team announcement page is TERRIBLE. why can’t they give organised live text updates like the BBC does
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-371: is that dirtier than biting and gouging eyes , need i say more?
M Steyn will start, Meyer needs to win this test… he wont entrust a newbie like Goosen in such a vital test
26 Sep 2012, 12:20 pm
@Transformation-370:
Yoh.
But if Meyer starts Goosen there’s no way the Boks are losing.
@grant10-372:
Well thats the fear I have.
Give him a chance at Loftus against a not very good Aus team. He does ok and suddenly faith is incorrectly restored in MS.
Problemville.
yeah shifted to 12:30, coach left his fullscap at home and had to postpone. Can’t remember without writing down – too many name changes and then those positions as well
@Delki-291: they would probably merge with RL
26 Sep 2012, 12:22 pm
@poppa69-377: dont wish that on us my man….
26 Sep 2012, 12:22 pm
@nkqo6-365: uxabise isidyolo ngaphezukombhoxo?
26 Sep 2012, 12:23 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-366: I won’t even try to discuss the ref issue as there is zero proof of it, no matter how convinced you are. I’ll agree to disagree.
Haven’t you been telling us that SA has more viewers and therefore should keep more of the pot? Doesn’t that mean the English clubs would get to divide up the GBP and the SA clubs the rands?
Goosen will start everyone, no need to panic
Interesting to note that Ladbrokes Betting house SUSPENDED all bets on the Boks – Wallabies Test at Loftus
It might mean – among other things – that Ladbrokes believe the Test is fixed?
26 Sep 2012, 12:24 pm
@nkqo6-376:
breaking shoulder blades? and getting away with it?
lifting players off their feet and dropping them on their backs putting them out for six months?
sa players who are accused of biting or gouging, innocently or guiltily, have been routinely punished and severely so for any such indiscretions so what your point?
kiwis do it and get away scott free
Bloody hell….cant remember being so wound up before a team selection…..
This is crucial for Bok rugby imo…..need to embrace the neccessary change…..
Farken big day for our rugby ….
Please Heyneke…..see the light my man..,.
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-345:
“Delki when looking teams one generally tend to look at trophies won rather than win loss ratios. ”
Bullshit!!!
“…when talking ratios we need to take into account the clowns before him as well.”
His ratio was about 2:1 (62%). That is nearly 2 wins for every loss.
What is HM’s ratio currently? 3 wins from 7 games (42%). Two draws included.
26 Sep 2012, 12:25 pm
European rugby should listen to the English clubs over the Heineken Cup, not fight with them
English delegations arriving in Dublin have rarely been greeted with open arms and there would appear to be little chance of that residual guardedness disappearing as the Premiership Rugby gang approach the Westbury Hotel in the city centre for Tuesday’s European Rugby Cup board meeting.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/rugbyunion/club/9548961/European-rugby-should-listen-to-the-English-clubs-over-the-Heineken-Cup-not-fight-with-them.html
@grant10-382: Goosen and L:ambie have had about 30 – 40 minutes of play in the whole TRC…
dont think that will change now mate.
Sky fighting hard to stop the sky from falling in following BT’s move into rugby rights
This is not just about the rugby — it is warfare, sports-broadcaster style.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/rugbyunion/club/9548961/European-rugby-should-listen-to-the-English-clubs-over-the-Heineken-Cup-not-fight-with-them.html
26 Sep 2012, 12:27 pm
@Hondo-386: betting suspensions happen when the prices are being re-evaluted, usually due to an event occuring which could lend further insight on the result, such as a team announcement.
I certainly did not say that, i did say it would be funny if goosen played and missed all his kicks.
Will he be blamed or morne.
Probably meyer
And if the boks win it will be because of goosen.
Funny stuff, hope the coach at least gets payed well.
Hope Goosen and Jantjes are the 2 10 s in squad….
26 Sep 2012, 12:28 pm
@capebull-356: He has delivered enough to show that his selection is a few years late in coming. I hope you fellows will be able to find it in your hearts to give him a fair chance, of let’s say about 50 games starting? Although I do believe Spies will be inserted back into position as soon as she is fit.
@bokgat1-380: Never been this edgy about a Bok team announcement. This defines our future or not.
26 Sep 2012, 12:28 pm
meyer said he would have dropped morne from squad to get a rest, but rules mean he’d have had to play currie cup. so he kept him in squad.
surely then he is picking goosen to start, and hopefully with jantjes on the bench. morne can rest with the squad and not play. morne apparently needs a break.
26 Sep 2012, 12:29 pm
388….feeling so wound up.
Why not takeyoyrself for a quick flick of the wrist?
That will settle the nerves.
26 Sep 2012, 12:29 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-394:
Nobody’s out to get Meyer.
We want him to wake the hell up, be brave in selection and strategy and we’ll back him even if we do stutter along the way.
26 Sep 2012, 12:30 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-387: making up stories , typical saffa if things dont go your way you wail. come up with something more substantial , thats some wack s hits ya givin me yo
@gonzo-384:
really? ‘get the japies’..? no proof..?..please, pull the other one.
not if the deal is in pounds? which is what supersport would pay for rights.
the money from such a deal when split IN POUNDS will translate to significantly more than we are getting at present under this ridiculous equal split in all likelyhood.
and this assuming the pound to rand conversion compard to the dollar to rand conversion of the two options.
That is how i see it.morne will sit on the bench and hopefully not need to come on.
26 Sep 2012, 12:31 pm
Bok team: Kirchner, Habana, De Villiers (c), Steyn/Taute, Hougaard, Goosen, Pienaar, Vermeulen, Alberts, Louw, Bekker, Etzebeth, Du Plessis, Strauss, Beast
@gonzo-384: save your breath, not worth it..
he sees ghosts everywhere..
here we go gents…..
Boks WILL win this test, no matter who the FH is.
Morne will most probably start. Goosen just going to get an extended run in the 2nd half. 30 minutes instead of 20.
26 Sep 2012, 12:32 pm
@Transformation-383: ebusuku mkhuluwa ndibalisoka , umbhoxo yinto yase mini malanga idlule . kodwa kuba kuli qela lam ndizokhe ndizithobe ndili xhase ngalo ixesha eli
26 Sep 2012, 12:33 pm
yessssssssssssssssssssssssssssss
M STEYN NOT I 22
yESSSSSSSSSS
@fantasticbarnsmell-403:
Taute leap frogging JdJ???
WOW!!!
What message is HM sending to JDJ?
26 Sep 2012, 12:34 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-396: For sure. If he benches10 & 15, all previous insults will be forgotten, providing we win, which we will.
@fantasticbarnsmell-403: Who’s on the bench?
.THANK THE ANGELS……….
rubicon crossed…
Goosen at 10
jantjes on bench
26 Sep 2012, 12:35 pm
399, oh please…you are the only wp oke not wanting it in for him then.
Hell, people are calling for his sacking with only 2 loses so far against the top 2 sides away from home.
For me, the only rugby of relevence this weekend is the argie game. If the argies can hold the kiwis to only 1 bonus point i still expect to see the boks take this rugby championship.
And i do not believe that to be behond the realm of possibilty seeing how the argies have gone so far.
In fact, our 16-all draw is not looking like to shabby a result.
@nkqo6-407: kutheni ungabukeli nowakwakho?
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Francois Hougaard, 13 Jean de Villiers (c), 12 Frans Steyn/Jaco Taute, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira. Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Marcell Coetzee, 20 Elton Jantjies, 21 Jaco Taute/Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie.
@nkqo6-400:
huh? what do you mean making up stories?
its the truth, dont you follow rugby?
@blik-412:
Bench: Liebenberg, Oosthuizen, Van der Merwe, Coetzee, Jantjies, Taute/De Jongh, Lambie
@nama1-410:
Taute or JdJ?
As I said yesterday, I suspect HM sees Taute as a JF replacement.
26 Sep 2012, 12:36 pm
So happy….no more M Steyn…..now we have 2 10s who are full of flair and innovation…
Slowly but surely we getting on the right track……
Thankyou thankyou…thankyou!!!
26 Sep 2012, 12:37 pm
419..i agree
well i think we can all be happy with that team. Zane is still hanging around somehow, but we can’t expect HM to drop all his favourites at once i suppose
@nama1-389: Who is ‘his’. Clowns refers to more than one. Feeling a bit anxious there poepsak.
That side will blow the ozzies off the park so it is as i said, can the argies do us a favour.
26 Sep 2012, 12:38 pm
so another test with a whole lot of new combinations?
Aussies by 12..
26 Sep 2012, 12:39 pm
Ok, Taute/JdJ means that if Frans can’t play Taute starts at 13 and JdJ on the bench.
@fantasticbarnsmell-418: Strong bench.
@Transformation-415: hahaha umaDlomo akadibananga nezemidlalo , uba ndifuna ukumdika ndivula u SS1 ndiyayazi akhonto iyobasalunga ndamncama mkhuluwa. ndikulonto ke
26 Sep 2012, 12:40 pm
A Bekker and Etsebeth…..
Whoa….hardly a Bull left…..only Kirchner now?
@nama1-406:
Well, well….
@grant10-420: i am geniunely excited for the game this weekend
@Brigadier Van Zyl-424: the same Aussies who have beaten you 7 out of the last 8 times?
I love it when dof supporters like you proclaim a victory before the game has commenced..
happens every time, but then, apparently to quite a few on here, you guys should have been owning the Aussies, but you havent..
26 Sep 2012, 12:41 pm
sorry…and Hougaard
26 Sep 2012, 12:42 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell-431: First time in a long time I am excited about watching the Boks again!
26 Sep 2012, 12:45 pm
Great stuff, Goosen at 10 and Jantjies on the bench. Brussouw should have been included in the 22 at least- Louw impressive in his last outing so he deserves another chance. Brussouw in, and Kirtchner needs to voetsek !
26 Sep 2012, 12:47 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-394: the guy can’t win. He wanted to blood Goosen vs the English but couldn’t. Perhaps it was always his plan to introduce him to the Bok set up, give him 20 mins each game on the road then start him SA. But if that happens, everyone will tell him he took to long to learn and just reacted to criticism.
Anyway, looks like there’s a Goosen thread opened so i’m probably talking to thin air right now
26 Sep 2012, 12:48 pm
@David-419:
But that’s at outside centre. Does that mean that if Frans is not available. JdV will move to I/C with Taute taking up his position at I/C?
At the start of the season it was said that HM is grooming JJE to take JF place.
26 Sep 2012, 12:52 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-417: what rugby is this ? take off 50 boks shades .yes i dont watch SA rugby thats why it looks like i dont watch rugby to you
26 Sep 2012, 12:53 pm
Morne being dropped feels like a huge ****** off the collective backs of all South Africans. I suddenly feel like I do not need Red Bull to grow wings. R – Kelly aint got nothing on me! I believe I can fly!!!!
26 Sep 2012, 12:56 pm
@rossoneri-439: hahahahaha but Tshwane is rather tense upon hearing those news
26 Sep 2012, 13:48 pm
@nama1-437:
“JdV will move to I/C with Taute taking up his position at I/C?”
JdV will move to I/C with Taute taking up his position at O/C?
26 Sep 2012, 14:19 pm
@rossoneri-439:
As a diehard All Black Supporter you should be gutted Lilly.
26 Sep 2012, 14:27 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-387:
matfield got away with shoulder charges and late hits.
Schalk got away with an eye gouge.
Stop being an idiot