Goosen looks set to start

Johan Goosen spent Tuesday’s training session running at flyhalf, indicating strongly that he is likely to run-on against Australia at Loftus on Saturday.

In my experience, because of time constraints in terms of preparation, Springbok coaches have had to show their selection hand in the Tuesday session. Goosen lined up in what is almost certainly the starting side, while Morne Steyn worked defence with the players opposing them.

Goosen made good impressions in his short stints off the bench against the Wallabies in Perth and All Blacks in Dunedin. He has been the man most have called for to replace the struggling Steyn and it appears coach Heyneke Meyer will entrust him with a big part of the responsibility for galvanising the team’s attack.

Meanwhile, it appears Frans Steyn will recover from a rolled ankle in time for the Test. He made significant improvements overnight, and while he was still on crutches at the session as a precaution, my understanding is that he will play.

‘The X-rays were clear and the swelling has settled nicely. We’re hoping to get him to do some training on Wednesday,’ said Springbok team doctor Craig Roberts.

Flip van der Merwe (lock, calf), Jacques Potgieter (flank, groin) and Lwazi Mvovo (wing, hamstring) did not train with the squad on Tuesday and will be managed accordingly. A final call on their availability will be made later in the week.

Elsewhere in the team, Eben Etzebeth looks set to return to action after a suspension and will partner Andries Bekker in what appears to be the only other change from the side that lost to the Blacks in Dunedin.

Likely Springboks XV- 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Francois Hougaard, 13 Jean de Villiers, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.

Read last week’s exclusive interview with Johan Goosen here

By Ryan Vrede, in Johannesburg

Follow Ryan on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

443 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 » Show All

• 201.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2012/sep/25/rfu-premiership-clubs-rugby-tv-deal

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2012/sep/17/european-rugby-heineken-cup-tv-deal?INTCMP=ILCNETTXT3487

http://www.espnscrum.com/heineken-cup-2012-13/rugby/story/170344.html

http://www.thisissouthwales.co.uk/Regions-offered-share-pound-100m/story-16919991-detail/story.html

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/rugbyunion/article-2204722/English-rugby-clubs-hold-showdown-talks-demand-rethink-European-competition-pay-chasm.html

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/rugbyunion/article-2202903/English-clubs-face-Euro-battle-RFU-launch-probe-152m-TV-deal.html?ito=feeds-newsxml

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2012/sep/14/rfu-premiership-tv-deal

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/rugby/showdown-in-dublin-for-europes-powerbrokers-207962.html

yourview@sarugby.co.za

we can do this people

• 202.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-198: Not at this stage Bakkies. I expect that to change dramatically when the Bok starting team is announced :)

Bakkies, it is up to you fellows to prove those of us who DOUBT; wrong……..

Let’s wait for the team announcement shall we.

• 203.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-200:
    oh please, if anything its been more a case of ‘come to the boks, i’ll make you a bull’.

• 204.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-202:
    and if they win both games convincingly with the players you dont rate

then what…

• 205.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-201: jeeez boet my eyes are bleeding…..

• 206.gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-202:

nonononono.

it’s up to people who make accusations to prove them.

Unless we are talking about Juju and tax evasion.

• 207.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-205:
    bleeding with excitement?

• 208.gunther: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-205:

He’s worse than grantie.

• 209.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

English ‘can stand on own’ if other nations resist rugby TV deal

Premiership Rugby is adamant that English clubs will pull out of the Heineken Cup at the end of next season if their demands for change are not met and that they will be financially better off if they do so because of the £152m TV deal announced with BT Vision last week.

The six nations in the Heineken Cup meet in Dublin on Tuesday to discuss the future of a tournament that finds itself used as a political football every time a participation agreement nears the end of its life: the English clubs have pulled out of the tournament once and threatened to do so on two other occasions.

http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/rugby/rugby-union/club-rugby/english-can-stand-on-own-if-other-nations-resist-rugby-tv-deal-8145142.html

• 210.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

“We know it will get feisty on Tuesday,” said the Premiership Rugby chief executive, Mark McCafferty, “but people will get the opportunity to look closely at what is available. The deal we have signed with BT will stand whether the Heineken Cup remains or not and all our clubs will be 50% better off. We want to share with Europe, but we need change.”

The English and French clubs believe their combined worth to the Heineken Cup television contract is more than 80% but their clubs receive about a quarter of the money enjoyed by the Irish provinces. By getting each union to negotiate its own television deal, Premiership Rugby and the Top 14 hope to show who brings what to the collective pot, strengthening their argument for a greater share of the money and more of a say in how the tournament is run, which is why ERC has spent the past few days trying to get the Rugby Football Union to rein in its clubs in what is the biggest power battle yet in Europe.

• 211.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@gunther-206: Potgieter, Morne, Kirchner, JJ, Vermaak, MEISEKIND vs England, Greyling, Kruger (anyone I’ve left out?). Not sure what one would call that…..proof? :)

• 212.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-207: Nope. On the contrary……

• 213.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-212:
    fair enough, but there’s a lot of really interesting stuff going on here and which could help our game immensely.
    there are a lot of similarities in regard to sa rugby’s relationship with sanzar.

peter tom: “”There’s a lot of tribalism involved: in part, it’s the tribal aspect that gives rugby its special magic, but we can’t allow it to get in the way of cool-headed, sensible commercial decision-making. We have to understand that in this digital age, a lot of people – certainly a big proportion of people under 30 – watch their sport in new ways.”

• 214.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

213…aint that the truth.
    Personally i would be very interested in seeing an anglo vs sa sort tournament.

Maybe that is the way the deat the antipodeanbaarbibrothers.
    Devide and conquer.

Albeit, i would say that within a year ozzie o,neill would drop the kiwis like a hot potato and be trying to get the ozzie franchises on board.

Like i say…devide and conquer

• 215.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-214: The threat of going North is an attractive potentially bargaining chip to use with the antipodeans, but there are some problems with the idea, however much the idea appeals initially.

Firstly, the standard is at it’s highest against Aus and NZ, and if we want to stay consistently top 3 and challenge for no 1 on a regular basis then this is the place to be.

Secondly, we would come in as a major junior partner financially speaking if we teamed up with the old empire. So no improvement in bargaining power there.

The clincher is that we’ve bluffed before and they’ve called us on it and we’ve looked like idiots (not hard I know). They wouldn’t believe us if we used the threat, we have to be willing to do it and for reasons listed above I don’t think it’s a good idea,

Finally I don’t totally buy into this perception that we are somehow being shafted. Just because multi-choice pay most of the revenue doesn’t mean SARU gets to have any more say. 1/3 of the vote, that’s the spirit of a partnership.

Similarly the revenues are split in the ratio that it is earned (read earned, not paid). i don’t see an issue with that quite frankly.

The problem is not with the other 2 unions, but with SARU needing to harden up and play like big boys if they are to be taken seriously. If we go up North the same thing will happen for the same reasons.

• 216.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Brig you might even win up north more than you lose, that would be a nice change for you

• 217.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-214:
    i couldn’t agree more.
    i think there would be a lot of interest in a anglo-sa tournament simply for its own merits, let alone for reasons to do with the unfairness and unprofessionalism of the anzac alliance comp.

more by peter tom (leicester chairman):

“We’re not going over there for a fist fight: we think we have something very attractive to offer. But when you’re trying to change something for the better, you have to accept there might be a scenario in which you find yourselves on your own. There is enough value in what we’ve negotiated with BT Vision to allow us to stand on our own for as long as we need to do so. I don’t think that will happen, mind you.”

• 218.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

3 titles from 17 seasons really says you cant cut it with the big boys, run along then.

• 219.fishdish: Reply to this comment

@corporal punishment-117:
    I totally share your sentiments. Out of all 4 southern nations we’re the only bunch that treats the bok 10 jersey like a staple underpant- whether skid marked, sweaty nut sack funked, torn…makes no difference, we still wear it!

I reckon about 5 flyhalves in the last decade have racked up bok caps they didn’t deserve. Think koen, van straaten, hougat, de beer, even percy @10. Each blessed with what is known as the holy grail in SA- a big boot but fokoll else. Meanwhile russel, pretorious, jaco and butch have all been thoroughly under utilized. Clearly HM doesn’t want to learn from Mallet, relying on 1 flyhalf. Had there been depth in ’99 to cover and manage Honiball, we would have won.

Wake up fool and pay homage!!

But let’s face it, in this case the rot is the HM plot, not just 1 player.

• 220.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-215:
    disagree on the financial aspect of us being a junior partner. why would we be?

• 221.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Oh dear Bakkies you want to call the shots up north as well, news flash you don’t dominate world rugby.

• 222.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-220: I’m pretty sure the numbers that the UK networks would generate would be higher.

or am I wrong?

• 223.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-221:
    dont be an idiot china, he’s suggesting the broadcasting amount supersort has paid for super rugby and cc seperately are too little for us to have a meaningful say, yet added together this is a significant amount of money in us dollars.

also, sa has consistenly had the highest number of spectator support for the history of the competition.

• 224.RL: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-201: Bakkies my Lions may even face Bakkies and his frog mates.

• 225.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

you should play amongst yourselves you’d always win and you’d get to keep all the money

• 226.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-222:
    be more specific, i dont understand?
    do you mean numbers to the broadcasters in terms of profits derived? and do you mean because they’re making more money they would ‘offer’ to pay more for the product? how so?

you know well that rugby is multichoice/dstv’s cash cow and the only way in which they can charge their biggest subscriber base a premium for its product. the amount of money they are making out of it gives them some serious clout imo, and further if you consider the amounts they are paying for broadcasting rights to super rugby/4n and the cc together in us dollars i would think thet could compete equally with the english?

which is supposed to be the point isn’t it? a partnership of equals all standing to gain more or less equally from their association. something which quite clearly and patently does not exist in our relationship with the anzacs.

we are not equals, not at all.

• 227.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@RL-224:

icing boet, icing…

• 228.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

saru has an obligation to make this work at the very least for the lions but there is potential here for a few of the cc unions too.
    to me this is a win-win possibility.

• 229.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Best thing for super rugby is 3 top teams of SA play super 12 (Sharks,Bulls,Stormers) worst 3 play up north( lions, Cheetahs, Kings)

• 230.fishdish: Reply to this comment

Johan van Graans interview on supersports blitz:

Asked on the progress the boks are making he replied:

“I think the forwards worked hard…”
    “I think a few combinations settled well…”
    “I think the loose forward uh (pause)…”
    “I think uhh (pause) the locks…”
    “I think the front row…”
    “I think uh…”
    “I think our ball retention…”
    “I think our contesting…”

Wow!! A total of 8 thoughts, maybe more. A journalist then overheard him ask for panado soon afterwards.

He should go to barcelona.., they’re far more inclined and knowledgeable there. Not to mention observant. I mean Cape Malay chicks are hot

• 231.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Hey we could have champs in both competitions :mrgreen: :lol:

• 232.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

SL leaving Sanzar is the gutless route hence Bakkies being its biggest cheerleader, funny when the Bulls were winning not a peep.

• 233.David: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-226:
    Weren’t the domestic competitions like the CC excluded from the shared SANZAR pot during the S15 negotiations?

• 234.wandsworth_bok: Reply to this comment

Why the hell is Adriann Strauss starting when there is a guy like Schalk Brits tearing up the opposition in the Aviva Premiership?

• 235.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@fishdish-230: Van Graan is useless, whole of SA knows he is only there because of his Daddy!

• 236.willievz: Reply to this comment

@wandsworth_bok-234: Schalk is too flashy or out-of-the-box for some.

We are the only major rugby playing country that does not embrace players with the X-factor.

• 237.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-232: Saru is the problem, Lions not being in Super rugby is not the fault of Sanzar

• 238.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-229:
    three teams in a super12..? so 9 from anzac?

it could be the 3 worst performing super teams as well as a cc unions?

• 239.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-237: Hey fella hope you are well. Agreed 100% we are blaming the wrong crowd.

• 240.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@wandsworth_bok-234: Because it is
    Aviva….worth fackall

• 241.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@David-233:
    yes, they were which makes it more the point exactly when you consider this is money supersport paid to saru for the broadcast rights to cc. when you add it to the money they paid to news limited/news corp for the super rugby/4n rights it adds up to a significant amount in us dollars which they could be paying elsewhere?

• 242.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-238:
    who could go north for the anglo-sa comp.

• 243.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-239: hiyas bro, good and you???

• 244.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-242: Ok Bakkies so we all run North?? and if we are kak there who we gonna blame?? or we gonna run to the *** league???

• 245.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

SL SARU are to blame nobody else they should negotiate what you are worth, the naughty ANZACS are currently just better at it.

• 246.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-232:

South Africa is not going anywhere and will not leave Sanzar.

Bakkies is just a blogger on Keo- he has no power, following or influence anywhere where it counts.

Sorry Bakkies :)

• 247.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-226: You see there I think, with respect you are being inconsistent in your argument.

You speak of the broadcaster paying more for rights, which is true, due of course to the fact that they have more viewers watching, so that makes commercial sense.

How do you extrapolate that to SARU being the senior partner or having more say? The two are separate. The revenue is generated by the players, 5 teams from each country. Equally since the competition relies on all of the countries participating.

So there is a clear distinction between who earns the revenue (The 3 unions) and who pays for the revenue (Multi-choice being the majority). The revenue is split between the earners equally.

• 248.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

*** = japan

• 249.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-246: :roll: ur not really sorry Rob dont lie :lol:

• 250.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-245: :lol:

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.