Goosen looks set to start

Johan Goosen spent Tuesday’s training session running at flyhalf, indicating strongly that he is likely to run-on against Australia at Loftus on Saturday.

In my experience, because of time constraints in terms of preparation, Springbok coaches have had to show their selection hand in the Tuesday session. Goosen lined up in what is almost certainly the starting side, while Morne Steyn worked defence with the players opposing them.

Goosen made good impressions in his short stints off the bench against the Wallabies in Perth and All Blacks in Dunedin. He has been the man most have called for to replace the struggling Steyn and it appears coach Heyneke Meyer will entrust him with a big part of the responsibility for galvanising the team’s attack.

Meanwhile, it appears Frans Steyn will recover from a rolled ankle in time for the Test. He made significant improvements overnight, and while he was still on crutches at the session as a precaution, my understanding is that he will play.

‘The X-rays were clear and the swelling has settled nicely. We’re hoping to get him to do some training on Wednesday,’ said Springbok team doctor Craig Roberts.

Flip van der Merwe (lock, calf), Jacques Potgieter (flank, groin) and Lwazi Mvovo (wing, hamstring) did not train with the squad on Tuesday and will be managed accordingly. A final call on their availability will be made later in the week.

Elsewhere in the team, Eben Etzebeth looks set to return to action after a suspension and will partner Andries Bekker in what appears to be the only other change from the side that lost to the Blacks in Dunedin.

Likely Springboks XV- 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Francois Hougaard, 13 Jean de Villiers, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.

Read last week’s exclusive interview with Johan Goosen here

By Ryan Vrede, in Johannesburg

Follow Ryan on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

443 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 » Show All

• 251.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@fishdish-230: And that’s all he says? Damn, I would love Supersport to pull him and the Messiah in to face a panel of Mallet, Campo and Mitchell :)
    DSTV could put that on Box Office, and I would happily pay R25-00 to watch it over and over for 48 hours :)

• 252.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Rob I appreciate that its fun chatting with him, if you did leave your rugby is finished in terms of being able to compete with us though.

• 253.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-244:
    this is about more than just winning or losing the rugby itself, you know that.
    sa has ben screwed over by the anzacs (mostly kiwis) since the inception of this unholy alliance with them.

its about a lot of things, fairness being one of them.
    and i can pretty much guarantee you we wont be paying some dooses for the privilege of screwwing us filthily on the rugby pitch and off.

which is what we are doing at present. and i ask you, why..?.. why the fark, why..?.

• 254.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

215….i do not buy into the fact that the heineken cup is defacto of a lesser standard. Some of the supergames this year are superkak.

Likewise, being a junior partner but earning more money with a better travel route is still better than being a junior partner with kak money and kak travel. You,ve seen the away tours for next season.at least 4 weeks compared with the antipodean 3.

• 255.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-249:

OK, … it’s a (crude) attempt by me to be diplomatic :)

• 256.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Grow a pair mate, negotiate what you’re worth then.

• 257.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-243: Lekker man.

• 258.capebull: Reply to this comment

So with the run on team only having 2 Bulls , we can now say that all the critics on HM being Bull biast , is now history ?

And that Vermeulen has no more excuses, to run 5m, make 4 takcles with 2 knocks and two steals ?

• 259.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-246:
    just had an email exchange with altman.

• 260.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-252: If the SARUdumfucks even entertain such a thought, there will be massive protest. It would be the end of Bok rugby. I would hope that the ‘smarter’ unions in SA would vote against any such fuckingrubbish.
    If the Stormers even toyed with the idea, I would launch a Baghdad shock and awe type campaign on the WPRFU.
    We are already behind both NZ and Aussie, ifuckingmagine just how far back we would slide if we moved up north?

Next stop: 8 on the IRB World rankings…..(with Argentina happily taking charge of the No 3 position)

• 261.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-259: was he the one teeling you that the Kings won’t be playing Super Rugby? :D

• 262.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@capebull-258: Bud there can be zero Bulls in the team and some on here will still kak themselves.

• 263.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@capebull-258: Ok, you don’t like Duane – we get it.

• 264.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

And the general kiwi attitude to us is even more reason to leave.

Why stay were we are seemingly not wanted anyway?
    Could it be because they like our money?

Parasites.

• 265.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-261: Correction…..they will be there but I doubt wether they will be playing. Will more than like be ruining the grass behind the posts.

• 266.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Pedigree agreed the rugby up north is substandard, your rugby would suffer, the northerners have played aprox 100 tests in NZ and won 10.

• 267.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@capebull-258: duane made 22 metres with the ball from 5 runs = 4.4 m/run…alberts made 23 metres from 7 runs = 3.4 m/run, flo made 21 metres from 7 runs = 3 m/run.

#jussaying

• 268.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Brig we love you and your money, please don’t go.

• 269.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-247:
    which is precisely the reason for the english pulling out of the heineken cup isn’t it?

knowing who generates the majority of the revenue derived to news limited and thus to sanzar we should have a larger share of the profits or revenues derived from sanzar, which we dont (at least not a big enough share).

as well the fact that the qualification system was/is biased against english clubs being another sticking point, now tell me this is not the case for the sa teams?

add in to this the travel schedule and refereeing/law givers manipulations and there is a compelling case.

• 270.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-261:

• 271.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-253: If SARU can’t handle negotiating with NZ (we play well on the field but not in the boardroom) and Australia, who talk a lot but don’t really have any chips to play with (sorry, i’m mixing metaphors here) then how will they deal with the English clubs?

But don’t worry mate, if in two years you get sick of complaining about the devious English, too much travel up north, and cheating kiwi imports, we’ll welcome you back with open arms

• 272.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Run along then Bakkies with your tail between your legs, you’ll be rich but ranked 7th or 8th in the world within a few seasons.

• 273.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-254:
    its stupid really.
    at present we are the major financial contributor but the farking junior nobody partner taking it up the arse by the two kissing cousins..?.. huh…?..

not only do we suffer a sshitty travel schedule and less money earned to the teams than should be we are the farking major payers for the whole farking thing and since its in(farking)ception have been the only ones watching it in any meaningfull numbers.

unlike the kiwis who were just recently caught out for having lied about their ‘growing’ viewership numbers.

• 274.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Brumbies sign South African giant Oosthuizen
    Sapa-AFP | 26 September, 2012 10:170 Comments

Australia’s ACT Brumbies said on Wednesday they have signed towering South African lock Etienne Oosthuizen as their foreign development player for the next two years.

Oosthuizen, 19, was capped three times for the Golden Lions in 2012 and turned out at schoolboy level for the Springboks. Though young, he is powerful on the park, packing a hefty 120 kilograms (264 pounds) into his 1.98 metre frame.

He will take the Brumbies’ foreign development spot, vacated by Fijian winger Henry Speight who will be considered an Australian player from 2013.

Under current rules the Brumbies are allowed one developing foreign player, who must never have represented their home country at first-grade level and are prepared to one day play for Australia.

Oosthuizen said he was sad to leave Johannesburg but would relish the chance to train under Jake White and Laurie Fisher.

“As a South African, I realised the chance to move to Australia and join one of the world’s best rugby programs was a once in a lifetime opportunity,” said Oosthuizen.

“I’ve followed the Brumbies’ development this year and they were one of my favourite teams to watch. I know I can add to their style and look forward to the coaching staff improving my own game at the same time.”

Despite dominating the Australian conference for much of the Super 15 season, the Brumbies fell short at the final hurdle, losing to the lower-ranked Auckland Blues in the last round and missing out on the playoffs.

White has already lured injured Wallabies captain David Pocock to the Brumbies for 2013, along with former Australia winger Clyde Rathbone who is eyeing a comeback after chronic injuries saw him retire in 2009.

• 275.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-261:
    some serious backstabbing at the last minute that went on there, transie.

• 276.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

272….
    And you,ll be no.1 but playing front of two sets of coaching staff and a bloke with his dog.
    No wait…it is almost like that already, hence the need for Sa,innit.

• 277.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-271:
    the english are pulling out for exactly the same reason we are.
    why would be repeat the same behaviour against one another?
    this would be an alliance of equals more so that the alliance with you.

• 278.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-267: So there improvement, he was basically absent so far , he must run 104m, 14 tackles as a number 8. We were promissed so much more by all the bloggers on this site, so far not much delivered.

• 279.Delki: Reply to this comment

A lot of you Jaaps above sound like VICTIMS.

You are bitter because you regularly lose to NZ and Aus at rugby. Because of this you look for conspiracy theories……..must be the refs, they hate SA, must be the kissing cousins ganging up on us, must be the evil IRB. Pathetic , man! Grow up.

The real reason is that the unbelievably conservative culture dominating SA society has led to the development of an old fashioned, easy to read game that is some way behind where NZ and Aus are at. Because SA rugby is dominated by Afrikaner culture, this will not change. When SA teams start losing they become even more conservative and stubborn, desperately clinging to old fashioned methods. It as simple as that and bad management by SARFU vs Australasian efficiency.

• 280.RL: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-259: Bakkies Altman is a doos! S.crewed Guma sideways with the help of his his agent Reyneke, cause he lost out to BBEEE. In the end he got shafted hard.

• 281.Jake_White: Reply to this comment

WHY WHY WHY is Kirchner still in the starting 15.

Lambie is a much better option HM.

That said, looks like a solid pack with Coenie in there, and Eben and Andries back.

Beast,Adriaan,Coenie,Eben,Andries,Flo,Willem,Duane – Thats a pretty big pack.

Lets hope we can roll them hard, and give Goosen fast flat ball to work with.

• 282.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

Cool, so you will not mind if we fokof then.

• 283.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-271:
    besides, its really simple at present isn’t it.
    sanzar is an alliance of three partners each with an equal vote but low and behold we know how the two australasian partners have voted for the entire history of the farking alliance.

which is what drove saru to threaten pulling out if there wasn’t meaningful agreement to some of its proposals in the run up to the last deal made.

funny how quickly you came round to agreeing to some of those and went against voting as a block once you realised your paymaster was at risk.

• 284.capebull: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-263: Not really, but so far he has not set the world on fire , Yes and I know you said he ‘s only 25% fit , but by now he should be 60% fit , so we can expect a lot more from Vermeulen.

The highlights in his hair so far, over shaddows the highlights of his play.

• 285.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-276: Don’t include folk such as I in your ‘quest’. I hatefuckingmediocrity!!!!!!! You on the other hand seem to relish and embrace it, seeing it as some sort of sick up yours to the Aussies and Kiwis?

And your attitude Meneer, is exactly where Bok rugby’s CURRENT problems start.

“As long as Heyneke is running the show and selecting Bulls, and stamping a cultureofconservativekuk on the Boks you’re HAPPY with being 8th in the world”

2 Sets of coaching staff, a bloke and his dog would suit me fine, if the Boks were No 1, because after all, that is why rugby is played isn’t it – to win?

• 286.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

279….and just for the record, south african sides dominate thenplayoffs and have for the past 4 odd years or so.

• 287.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Delki-279: There is an element of truth in this racist post.

• 288.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@RL-280:
    better the doos you know, RL…. better the doos you know…

• 289.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Transformation #274 – Jake White is an amazing character and coach. He i sbuilding a helluva legacy up at the Brumbies.
    That is one big athlete i wish him all the best!

• 290.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@capebull-284: I suggest you watch the Dunedin game again. If you don’t think he pulled his weight (even though he was 60% match fit then), then I fear nothing he does will make any impact on you. A loos trio can only dominate the way ours did, if all 3 loosies are rocking on in equal measure…..

You don’t have to like him,or rate him for that matter but by defauly you can admit he is not half as kak as what you were HOPING :)

How’s Spies’s finger?

• 291.Delki: Reply to this comment

If SA had to walk from SANZAR the Australasian game would suffer for a while financially but it wouldn’t take long for the clever ARU and NZRFU to come up with alternative funding models. Australasians are clever and creative.

Provincial rugby would become trans-tasman and would gain quite a large following and commercial interest. Regional rugby would include a professional team based in Japan, probably stacked with PI players and a few Japanese. There would also be more interaction with Europe and some kind of lesser interaction with SA.

Bring it on Jaapies!

• 292.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Jake_White-281: Hey ou , we need quotas , transformation, Af Action, so don’t blame HM for that.

• 293.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Delki-291: You sem to like calling people names, 6 about right when judging you age”??

• 294.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Jake_White-281: Andries has been useless the whole season. He was part of the reason our game turned south last week. I’ll stick to Flip on this one. He also gives us some extra scrumming power as Parkiepiel is useless in that department. The rest looks solid.

• 295.RL: Reply to this comment

@Jake_White-281: as soon as we get confirmation that Morne is finished we will target Kircher – be patient my guppy mate.

• 296.capebull: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-290: I hatefuckingmediocrity!!!!!!! , yet you are happy with Vermeulen , 2 knocks in 1 game ??

• 297.race of tan: Reply to this comment

Brigadier Van Zyl – SA’s biggest problem in the S15 etc is that they play their top players into the ground every year when they should be pencilling in appropriate rest bites.

I think that is a general problem in SA. They find a great player and then stick with him til kingdom come instead of finding decent backups like the ABs/OZ do. Then you would have players playing for positions.

But in SA we don’t have that we get our 22 and stick with them no matter what and when there are injuries, problems!!!

SA mindset has always mistrusted the unknown, they feel more confortable in what they know instead of looking outisde the box, HM being the classic case.

• 298.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Delki-279:

Don’t agree that it’s a cultural thing, the Aussies have been as poor as the Boks in the Rugby Championship, coached by a Kiwi nogal.

A certain mind set/mind shift is required to play and perform at the level of the current benchmark which is the AB’s.

• 299.capebull: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-290: No you are wrong loosies can only dominate if T5 do their work.

• 300.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-275: tl tl tl “backstabbing” you say? HAHAHAHAHAHA

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.