Goosen looks set to start

Johan Goosen spent Tuesday’s training session running at flyhalf, indicating strongly that he is likely to run-on against Australia at Loftus on Saturday.

In my experience, because of time constraints in terms of preparation, Springbok coaches have had to show their selection hand in the Tuesday session. Goosen lined up in what is almost certainly the starting side, while Morne Steyn worked defence with the players opposing them.

Goosen made good impressions in his short stints off the bench against the Wallabies in Perth and All Blacks in Dunedin. He has been the man most have called for to replace the struggling Steyn and it appears coach Heyneke Meyer will entrust him with a big part of the responsibility for galvanising the team’s attack.

Meanwhile, it appears Frans Steyn will recover from a rolled ankle in time for the Test. He made significant improvements overnight, and while he was still on crutches at the session as a precaution, my understanding is that he will play.

‘The X-rays were clear and the swelling has settled nicely. We’re hoping to get him to do some training on Wednesday,’ said Springbok team doctor Craig Roberts.

Flip van der Merwe (lock, calf), Jacques Potgieter (flank, groin) and Lwazi Mvovo (wing, hamstring) did not train with the squad on Tuesday and will be managed accordingly. A final call on their availability will be made later in the week.

Elsewhere in the team, Eben Etzebeth looks set to return to action after a suspension and will partner Andries Bekker in what appears to be the only other change from the side that lost to the Blacks in Dunedin.

Likely Springboks XV- 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Francois Hougaard, 13 Jean de Villiers, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.

Read last week’s exclusive interview with Johan Goosen here

By Ryan Vrede, in Johannesburg

Follow Ryan on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

443 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All

• 351.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-336: Again I don’t have the TV stats by region but you are right, i would hazard a guess that Blues territory makes up a big big chunk of viewership. We could take our ball and play elsewhere, why not Japan and make more money and win every game. Then I could brag about how my union is richer than Waikato. But what would that get me?

• 352.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-347:

I won’t tumble down to your level and call my fellow bloggers any names, that is impolite.

• 353.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

331…what bias kak. Spies has had plenty good performances against the kiwis and one man of the match cheque as well.

• 354.grant10: Reply to this comment

Nerves screwed here waiting for Bok team announcement…..

Can Meyer cross the Rubicon?

Praying here….

• 355.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

Why not…everyone does it around here.

• 356.capebull: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-319: I did not follow that thread , the same as I ignore, race and politics, that some many bloggers are so fond of.

Let’s talk rugby …

Thats why I am serious , Vermeulen has not delevered yet, If he does and we win AB’s and Auz , I will be glad to admit my mistake. Cause I want the Bokke to win and if he is the right player.

• 357.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-350: I am cheering for Morne to kick you guys to victory this weekend..

seriously.

• 358.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@grant10-354:
    What time is the announcement?

• 359.willievz: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-357: Hehe, only because you want him to start at Soccer City ;)

Clever :lol:

• 360.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10-354: MSteyn at 10 :D

• 361.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-360: @grant10-354:

Morne will be in the 22. And Zane at 15.

So no, Meyer will not cross the Rubicon.

• 362.David: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-358:
    Supposed to be at 12.00

• 363.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Delki-332: what a load of ****

• 364.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@nkqo6-306:
    ….. and no spelling error is detected!
    That’s commendable :-D

• 365.nkqo6: Reply to this comment

iyingxaki ke lento yale midlalo idlala ebusuku umntu sefuna uyometsha , caba ndizogqibela nge ITM cup qha na madoda.kube zezi kaka zalapha zitshinca kakhulu

• 366.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-330:
    disagree.
    the question is whether supersport has the money to offer for rights in mutlichoice/dstv territories, which it does. they have been able to pay considerable sums in us dollars to saru for the cc in sa and to news limited for super rugby/4n.

besides, any sharing of a pir would be in pounds and when exchanged to rands clearly is/would be immense amouts of money for the running operating of clubs in sa.

no, i do not like the deceit and manipulation of the kiwis and the clear unfairness of the competition so far with regard to how you have cheated us on and off the field around the way you play the game against us (dirt) and then get away with it through your refs/commisioners/judicial officers.

this is not quality rugby, it is a farce betwenn people who do not like one another or what they have to offer.

• 367.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@grant10-354:
    To be honest an SA side even with M Steyn in it should be beating this Ausie side by at least 10 -15 points.
    They are without Cooper, OConner, Genia, Horwill, Moore. I mean, those 5 right there were the reason Ausies were so competitive last year.

They’re less than half the side without those players. And I’m not knocking the rest of the Aus side, its just that those 5 are that important to the Aus cause.

• 368.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-364: Hondo, who is the ref and touch judges for the weekend’s clash? ;)

• 369.grant10: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-358: 12 30….live on supersport bitz

• 370.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@willievz-361: who needs enemies when you’ve got friends like brig van zyl who openly wished for meyer to play goosen and the for the Boks to lose so that he may somehow be childishly ‘vindicated’ :mrgreen:

• 371.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nkqo6-333:
    the kiwis are filthiest of the lot.
    ‘head high’ tackle… need i say more…

• 372.grant10: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-367: Yes…..

but M Steyn will just do the same and even though we may win….we still lose…because we stuck in the mediocrity quagmire…..

We will know in next few minutes…..

lets see …

• 373.nkqo6: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-364: haha injalo tata , kuvele kuphixane intloko sisingesi

• 374.grant10: Reply to this comment

tension hectic here man

• 375.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

the Supersport team announcement page is TERRIBLE. why can’t they give organised live text updates like the BBC does

• 376.nkqo6: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-371: is that dirtier than biting and gouging eyes , need i say more?

• 377.poppa69: Reply to this comment

M Steyn will start, Meyer needs to win this test… he wont entrust a newbie like Goosen in such a vital test

• 378.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-370:

Yoh.

But if Meyer starts Goosen there’s no way the Boks are losing.

• 379.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@grant10-372:
    Well thats the fear I have.

Give him a chance at Loftus against a not very good Aus team. He does ok and suddenly faith is incorrectly restored in MS.

Problemville.

• 380.bokgat1: Reply to this comment

yeah shifted to 12:30, coach left his fullscap at home and had to postpone. Can’t remember without writing down – too many name changes and then those positions as well

• 381.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Delki-291: they would probably merge with RL

• 382.grant10: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-377: dont wish that on us my man….

• 383.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@nkqo6-365: uxabise isidyolo ngaphezukombhoxo?

• 384.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-366: I won’t even try to discuss the ref issue as there is zero proof of it, no matter how convinced you are. I’ll agree to disagree.

Haven’t you been telling us that SA has more viewers and therefore should keep more of the pot? Doesn’t that mean the English clubs would get to divide up the GBP and the SA clubs the rands?

• 385.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

Goosen will start everyone, no need to panic

• 386.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Interesting to note that Ladbrokes Betting house SUSPENDED all bets on the Boks – Wallabies Test at Loftus
    It might mean – among other things – that Ladbrokes believe the Test is fixed?
    :(

• 387.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nkqo6-376:
    breaking shoulder blades? and getting away with it?
    lifting players off their feet and dropping them on their backs putting them out for six months?

sa players who are accused of biting or gouging, innocently or guiltily, have been routinely punished and severely so for any such indiscretions so what your point?

kiwis do it and get away scott free

• 388.grant10: Reply to this comment

Bloody hell….cant remember being so wound up before a team selection…..

This is crucial for Bok rugby imo…..need to embrace the neccessary change…..

Farken big day for our rugby ….

Please Heyneke…..see the light my man..,.

• 389.nama1: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-345:
    “Delki when looking teams one generally tend to look at trophies won rather than win loss ratios. ”

Bullshit!!!

“…when talking ratios we need to take into account the clowns before him as well.”

His ratio was about 2:1 (62%). That is nearly 2 wins for every loss.

What is HM’s ratio currently? 3 wins from 7 games (42%). Two draws included.

• 390.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

European rugby should listen to the English clubs over the Heineken Cup, not fight with them

English delegations arriving in Dublin have rarely been greeted with open arms and there would appear to be little chance of that residual guardedness disappearing as the Premiership Rugby gang approach the Westbury Hotel in the city centre for Tuesday’s European Rugby Cup board meeting.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/rugbyunion/club/9548961/European-rugby-should-listen-to-the-English-clubs-over-the-Heineken-Cup-not-fight-with-them.html

• 391.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@grant10-382: Goosen and L:ambie have had about 30 – 40 minutes of play in the whole TRC…

dont think that will change now mate.

• 392.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

Sky fighting hard to stop the sky from falling in following BT’s move into rugby rights
    This is not just about the rugby — it is warfare, sports-broadcaster style.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/rugbyunion/club/9548961/European-rugby-should-listen-to-the-English-clubs-over-the-Heineken-Cup-not-fight-with-them.html

• 393.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-386: betting suspensions happen when the prices are being re-evaluted, usually due to an event occuring which could lend further insight on the result, such as a team announcement.

• 394.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

I certainly did not say that, i did say it would be funny if goosen played and missed all his kicks.
    Will he be blamed or morne.
    Probably meyer
    And if the boks win it will be because of goosen.
    Funny stuff, hope the coach at least gets payed well.

• 395.grant10: Reply to this comment

Hope Goosen and Jantjes are the 2 10 s in squad….

• 396.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@capebull-356: He has delivered enough to show that his selection is a few years late in coming. I hope you fellows will be able to find it in your hearts to give him a fair chance, of let’s say about 50 games starting? Although I do believe Spies will be inserted back into position as soon as she is fit.

@bokgat1-380: Never been this edgy about a Bok team announcement. This defines our future or not.

• 397.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

meyer said he would have dropped morne from squad to get a rest, but rules mean he’d have had to play currie cup. so he kept him in squad.

surely then he is picking goosen to start, and hopefully with jantjes on the bench. morne can rest with the squad and not play. morne apparently needs a break.

• 398.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

388….feeling so wound up.
    Why not takeyoyrself for a quick flick of the wrist?
    That will settle the nerves.

• 399.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-394:

Nobody’s out to get Meyer.

We want him to wake the hell up, be brave in selection and strategy and we’ll back him even if we do stutter along the way.

• 400.nkqo6: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-387: making up stories , typical saffa if things dont go your way you wail. come up with something more substantial , thats some wack s hits ya givin me yo

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.